Geely may pull out of Proton partnership bid – report

Frontrunner for Proton’s foreign strategic partner (FSP), Zhejiang Geely, may make a shock exit from negotiations, if a report by The Star is to be believed. The English language daily, quoting Bloomberg, states that the Chinese carmaker’s chairman Li Shufu is planning to pull its bid due to the national carmaker’s parent company DRB-Hicom’s indecision regarding the partnership.

According to the original report by the business publication, Li said that this was because DRB-Hicom kept changing its plans. “They keep changing, today it’s this, tomorrow’s it’s that,” he said in an interview in Beijing today. “They haven’t decided what they want.”

Reports have placed Geely and France’s Groupe PSA as leading parties to become Proton’s partner, with the former said to have previously promised DRB-Hicom some of the latest vehicle technologies it has developed with Volvo’s input as part of the deal. Sources claimed that Geely was looking to break into right-hand-drive (RHD) markets with the partnership, tapping it via Proton.

Both Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali and a company spokesperson declined to comment on this development, Bloomberg reported. On the other side, PSA reportedly confirmed last week that it had submitted an offer for the partnership, which would allow access to Proton’s underutilised facilities to serve as a production and export base, expanding the company’s presence in the South East Asian region.

For its part, DRB-Hicom has already stated that Proton’s strategic partner will only be announced by end of the first half of 2017, pending detailed negotiations with the bidders to ensure that they meet three key criteria – a strategic, operational and cultural fit. It also said that it will maintain a significant equity in Proton as it is the first national and ASEAN’s only car manufacturer.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• alldisc on Mar 03, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Yeay. PSA may assemble Peugeot and Citroen in tg malim. As well as Vauxhall and Opel too all for ASEAN market.

• Donal Dedak on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:38 pm

40% komisen. Not 1 cent less.

• Suhaimi Sulaiman on Mar 04, 2017 at 12:36 pm

See below and you will know why Proton CANNOT marry Geely

China workers :
        “We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other China car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers:
        “Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? Malas lah nak keje dengan Geely ni”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 14
        • Mustafa Kamal on Mar 05, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Proton sure sign with French cause the French same like Proton staff attitude….make love and french kissing. (dalam bilik stor)

Geely is all hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Cool story brahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • These bloated Proton workers are more eyesore than the cars they produce

• John Wick on Mar 04, 2017 at 1:23 pm

I have a question:

If Proton does not find a partner, does it mean that it will not receive the RM1.5B from our Gov and hence close down?

• Geely on Mar 04, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Proton Logo looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • putrjayanti on Mar 03, 2017 at 9:51 pm

New Tiara coming soon! LOL

• What an eyesore… The Proton badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • onlyyou on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:23 am

Only you said that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • everyoneknows on Mar 06, 2017 at 11:32 am

Proton has been an eyesore for Malaysians for sucking their money for 30 years. Now what’s left is a white elephant. You say is not eyesore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 04, 2017 at 1:03 am

Good idea…always think positive

• Club pesakit kunta on Mar 04, 2017 at 11:09 am

As expected. No surprise if this is true

• Hazmin on Mar 04, 2017 at 12:41 pm

Proton need to realise it is running a business. Geely told Proton that it has to do many VSS once Geely take over. Proton say cannot. Proton say Malaysian Gomen also employ 1.6 million people although just needed 400,000 civil servants.

• Kelab Kunta on Mar 04, 2017 at 12:41 pm

I cannot stop laughing. All my predictions have come true.

• Burong on Mar 05, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Proton make a clever decision. Else Malaysia will be one step closer to become new China teritory.

• AcerMan on Mar 03, 2017 at 5:45 pm

P1 prefer BMW as partner rather then Geely….:-p

• AcerMan on Mar 03, 2017 at 5:51 pm

*than

• Suhaimi Sulaiman on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:05 pm

This is so expected. The same thing happened with VW. VW wanted to deal with Proton years ago. But Proton asked VW to abide with tongkat policy.

Here, Geely also was asked to abide by tongkat policy. Geely don’t tolerate all this nonsense lah

• Hahaha on Mar 04, 2017 at 6:42 am

Proton idea of partnership is give us money, no questions pls

• What the hack? Like a single lady already 50 years old, proposed by a rich handsome guy, still undecided want to accept or not. Split the rice out from mouth and say YES! For god sake.

• Albert on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Protong is the everlasting perlindungan BUJANG of the century.
      P1 is worst than Elizabeth Taylor…the divorce specialist.
      Thats why I suspect,not many want to marry protong.Now ,left with the French firm.
      Maybe they want a DOWRY of rm 3 Billion to pay the cry baby suppliers and start with some working capital.
      What a shame.If the French pull out,all taxpayers will have to be ready for another huge bailout again.
      YAB Nazri..betul betul correct…P1 is a white elephant mega project.

• Suhaimi Sulaiman on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:06 pm

DRB wants Geely to keep ALL Proton workers. Geely say, how to keep? Company losing money, how to keep?

• Hazmin on Mar 04, 2017 at 9:16 am

Geely ask Proton to change all the cheating suppliers. Proton say cannot.

Proton’s main problem is suppliers and vendors who overcharge Proton with low quality parts.

• Very convenient to blame the suppliers. Most suppliers also supply to other car brands. So why only proton having problem? Don’t blame other people for your own incompetency.

• tyron on Mar 05, 2017 at 5:09 am

amoi u bodo. where supply to other car brands. these r contract specified middlemen.. not real suppliers. protong must by from them.

• Not real supplier? Then where these middlemen got their supplies from? belakang rumah? Who are the suppliers? Delloyed? Permintex? They also supplied to other brands. Why only Proton got problem?

• potong on Mar 06, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Clearly the problem lies with management of Proton

• Driving Retarded Boys Hykum on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:01 pm

The story goes like this…There’s a junkie selling off his daughter, but every now and then keep coming back harassing and asking more monies..

• John Cooper on Mar 03, 2017 at 5:54 pm

Not surprise if the report is true, remember the flip flop Proton had with the VW deal few years back? afterall flip flop is the habit of some locals, including the leaders LOL.

• I cannot decide, I have go back ask my mother, father, uncle……

• Insider on Mar 03, 2017 at 6:18 pm

After VW, Peugeot and Geely …. finally Inokom got P1. Cukurr

• john is otak batu on Mar 03, 2017 at 6:02 pm

If chinaman also cannot get this “junk company”, sigh… better dispose & close up…sorry “Potong” employees. The whole world have lost hope 4 U

• Jumlah kakitangan awam di Malaysia adalah tertinggi di dunia dan Proton berfungsi serupa jabatan kerajaan. Memang biasa apabila datang berurusan pada waktu pagi, diminta oleh pegawai di kaunter untuk datang pada sebelah petang, dan apabila datang pada sebelah petang, diminta untuk datang pada keesokan hari semata-mata kerana pegawai pergi minum.
      Dan dalam perjalanan nak pulang, memang betul kami bertemu dengan pegawai di kedai tomyam tengah sibuk minum sambil ‘bergebang’. Esok hari kami terus mencuba nasib..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Facto on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:51 pm

Get your fact right, in other countries armies and some other group dun count as gomen servants. That’s why the number is wayyy different

• 1.6 Million Gomen Servants. on Mar 04, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Minister himself said so. He said 1.6 mil gomen servants too much for gomen to handle. Are you saying Minister made mistake not counting army?

Don’t defend gomen servants. It is bloated. And it is bankrupting the country. RM80 bil last year just to pay gomen servants.

You saying other countries, army is not paid by their gomen also?

• In MY they r considered Gov servants cuz they can draw pensen when retire.
            In others, these jobs dun have pensen when retire deswai not considered Gov servants.

Dun mix both, Albert

• Facto on Mar 04, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Bolehland counts armies as gomen servants, some countries dun thus the number is much smaller. Why you want to twist here and there? Even simple english cannot understand aiya

• Mustafa Kamal on Mar 05, 2017 at 12:25 pm

army hardly 200,000 personnel. Still got 1.4 million gomen servants. Even at 1.4 mil, it is highest in the world civil service

• Abg deris on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:02 pm

To all Proton Hod , tolong pantau your start from now , banyak melepak di kedai mamak in working time , especially management staff , high paid tapi tak ada hasil

• lamka on Mar 04, 2017 at 7:37 am

Kurang membaca ni…kakitangan awam di Malaysia termasuk Tentera dan Polis. Sebab tu tinggi

• Facto on Mar 04, 2017 at 8:47 pm

Yup including doctors, that’s why the number og bolehland gomen servants are higher than other countries.

• Facto on Mar 04, 2017 at 8:48 pm

And of course even kindergarten child knows their teachers are working for gomen

• Albert on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:24 pm

My dream of VOLVO turbo charged GEETON cars evaporated.
      protong….the POWER OF EVAPORATED DREAMS!!!

• Anonymous on Mar 03, 2017 at 6:03 pm

hmmmm… sounds typical of Proton mgmt… undecided n uncomitted until the very last hour.

Then again… Geely is also playing hard to get whilst knowing that everyone is aware that Geely doesn’t really need Proton nor its manufacturing facilities… Geely can bring in their cars cheaper made in China… what Geely is really eyeing is the stake in Lotus. Proton might be the loser in this tie-up.

Where as… PSA doesn’t care much for Lotus n might want to use the local manufacturing facilities to assemble its cars, to make M’sia as its entryway hub into the ASEAN market… but what is in it for Proton?

Back to the main question… what does Proton want from these suitors?

• Sonyman1 on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:52 pm

So naza will mampus la if PSA toe with proton

• alldisc on Mar 04, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Naza will continue to sell Peugoet and Citroen cars, and easier for them and maybe cheaper too. But certain models proton nay rebadge. Maybe the C3 or Peugeot commercial vans.

Peugoet may want to rebadge proton iriz, saga and persona as budget Peugoets for Asian countries.

• Low Budget on Mar 03, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Geely can now go Thailand or Indonesia.

• Selling majority stake is like changing driver. After sale proton can only act as irritating mother in law in the back seat. New owner decide on new direction which can include changing the company tainted brand name.

• Typical marketing strategy to force a hasty decision (preferably in Geelys favour). But then again, if P1 dun make a decision soon, Gov might liquidate P1 assets to pay back 1.5B.

Choices, choices, choices.

• If I were PSA, I will pull out too. See how the beggar cries.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 03, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Already adult still can not decide. What a shame. Look at Volvo under Geely.

Now, China companies have plenty of money to buy, invest and form a company in short time not like old days. Check how much Geely pump in money to Volvo.

Look at the smartphone businesses and many others.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2017 at 5:11 am

Problem is Proton doesn’t need money. It needs a boss that can clean up the mess AND invest a bit. They need someone like Carlos Ghosn to fix everything, but the problem is there will be resistance, unlike in Japan where everyone saw something was wrong, and followed Ghosns lead once he proposed his plan, eve if that meant they had to suffer. Will egocentric and entitled Malaysians do the same?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 03, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Proton is a bitch. First marriage with mitsubishi, then citroen then honda then suzuki and now luring geely.

Proton is a scam. All marriage turn sour.

• Tracks on Mar 03, 2017 at 9:59 pm

You missed the marriage with Renault for the 1.8L Engine used in Proton Waja.

• Probably DRB keep changing on their decisions to sell their controlling stake. I believe both Geely and PSA will only buy if they can get more than 50% of Proton stake. Having controlling stake will be their key criteria. They know only by having control they will have any chance of turning it around and make profit. Without the power to reform Proton, the current corruption, inefficient and political practice in the company will continue and all the money they pump in will never be enough for them to lose. What Proton really need is immediate reform instead of more money. Geely or PSA might provide the solutions here only if they are given the controlling stake.

• Ha Ha Ha

• Absolute Rider on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:04 pm

For me, I will absolutely go for Geely.

PSA, France cars, the maintenance costs are higher, parts are more expensive,

and Proton you should know, when you with Peugeot for your Waja and Citroen for your Tiara. Remember the history.

• And China car would be a lot easier to maintain, yeaa

• Tracks on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:01 pm

Both Proton Waja 1.8L and Savvy are using tech from Renault, not from Peugeot.

• volvo, it's for life on Mar 04, 2017 at 11:40 am

Wrong, to have a volvo tech, means you’re marrying its tagline, it’s for life. As volvo owner, you got to understand & bear the ever high maintenance cost.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2017 at 5:13 am

Parts are more expensive because there is less demand, because they have to shipped from distant places… That can easily change when PSA is shipping more cars, making them in Malaysia (not just assembling), etc.

• nasrudeen on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:09 pm

This is why Idris Jala should call the shots and not let Proton & DRB be at the driver’s seat.
    Of course self interest and “what’s in for me” during this negotiations will set in.
    Don’t be bodoh sombong Proton.
    Time to chuck the pride & ego for the sake of your survival.

• In Mesia, all must flip flop a few times first.
    Nincompoops running the show mah

• joelton on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:26 pm

I believed after all 2 potential partner company will let go the bid. After all, still remain the same that ask for more. I think the history will remain the same as per VW.

• True bulu on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:28 pm

No surprises there. Drb hicom is not run by true blue businessmen but by political appointees.

• Henry on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:33 pm

How to play football when one side keep shifting the goalposts?

• lpost on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Back to the root cause why cant decide, the answer is politicians interference.

• Kevin Henry on Mar 03, 2017 at 7:48 pm

The stumbling block here are the brainless so called business leaders who don’t use their head. Do they think Proton is in a position to make demands?????? I hope we pull the plug and wait for them to drown. Blood suckers. They need a Mueller to come and chop chop

• horrayooi on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Hope both Geely and PSA better not get involved with these peoples (Proton). Better take their money to invest in
    business friendly and less bureaucracy country like Thailand. Proton never learn their lessons. They also did
    the same attitude to VW some years back. Productivity in Malaysia also very low (you know what I mean).

• gaban on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:28 pm

its seems that proton/drb is preferring psa

• Mypost on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:32 pm

The reason behind cant make decision is politician interference.

• Sonyman1 on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:54 pm

Nasib baik tak jadi. Else I have to put a proton badge on my xc90.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 03, 2017 at 9:17 pm

DRB flip flop because will affect Honda…

• Y U Fuk on Mar 03, 2017 at 9:34 pm

Geely has escaped disaster. Now all that PSA can benefit is from the use of the Proton factories/staff, and preferential excise duties ! Otherwise, what has Proton got to offer PSA ? This exercise is going to be like flogging a bad penny. Not any takers, only PSA with their. Querky Frogy keretas.

• pondan on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:08 pm

hahahaha “indecision”…. old story repeating… what’s new!

• PROTON having a weird management, they do not know what people/market want, and the people/market also do not know what Proton want……

• Johny on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:19 pm

Dono what to do and tak tahu is the standard.

• The idea was there only the implementation. Don’t mix politic and business.

• Botak on Mar 03, 2017 at 11:25 pm

“They keep changing, today it’s this, tomorrow’s it’s that,” he said in an interview in Beijing today. “They haven’t decided what they want.”

Malaysia Mar……

• Sparcov on Mar 04, 2017 at 8:52 am

Protect protect…..

• Geely, didnt you know our Bolehland pattern? Forever changing answer, indecisive. Look at how our government solve political & civil issue then you will get the idea out of it.. Nvr ever trust pirates in business deals.

• vezeroth on Mar 04, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Same like VW issue last time, its all about feeding the cronies and which cronies get to eat and what not… so when dont agree flip and flop again… typical malaysian attitude…

First of all they need to decide if they really want to succeed or just want to feed some pockets make cronies happy score points with politicians while feeding their election. They arent able to make this decision yet.

• kiasu on Mar 04, 2017 at 4:08 pm

Oh my god! Is this mean we are close on getting affordable Proton 508!

• Silthice on Mar 05, 2017 at 1:42 am

That’s the main reason why Proton failed. It is because of the management.

• Abg ajis on Mar 05, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Hahaha , now Malaysian people know , why Proton becoming a loser , because of management staff , design syok sendiri car , always wasting time at kedai makan , always blaming own product

• RicoT on Mar 05, 2017 at 1:08 pm

Goodbye Proton V40, now no chance to drive rebadge Volvo already. I don’t want french car, Proton cars already not reliable, add in french into the equation, might as well close down proton.

• Patriot on Mar 05, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Can’t wait for proton to fall under.

• Proton here, Proton there. Everyday got stupid Proton news. Just sell Nasi Lemak instead of cars lah

• Takdulaku P1 on Mar 05, 2017 at 11:58 pm

Proton, just tutup kedai…..
    Nobody gonna miss you anyway, whatever the reason.

All this nego-nego wasting time, money and curry puff and teh tarik….

• Vincent on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:23 am

Investor is only interested on P1 plant, the asset, and the license of assembly cars.

Proton is only interested to get money to pay off their old friends $$$$$.. those long owed account.. and we all know they are urgently in need of money for coming GE14.

So…end up, there are only 2 possibility. either sell off 100% stake , or 0%.

I hope people will wake up, and don’t continue believe that P1 is a pride for Malaysia.. or care of it thousands employee….talk and do, is different thing!

• Here’s someone who realise what’s really happening rather than the sleeping P1 supporters

• “They keep changing, today it’s this, tomorrow’s it’s that,” he said in an interview in Beijing today. “They haven’t decided what they want.”
    Hah typical Gomen/GLC culture. Indecisive,not knowing what they want and always expecting the other party to think and implement everything for them. Then manager, director, CEO passing comments up and down, can you change this, my boss say change again etc..delaying everything.

• Sotong Kangkung on Mar 06, 2017 at 4:41 pm

It tickles me whenever PT comes up with a read that is bound to heavily scrutinized by mere keyboard warriors who really are just in it to taunt others or to prove wits. All these, a part of being a Malaysian, really. Now I’m not implying that I am better than any of you. I am just as guilty but give yourselves some time and really give it a deep thought. What is the problem of Malaysia? Malaysians! Each and every one of us have been living so comfortably right behind our monitors, feeding our minds with no basis daily news that are worth nothing more than just a kopitiam topic.
    How to excel if this keeps up? Our mouths can blab whatever we want, we sneer at people who litter yet we smoke right in the middle of a public area. The word bribery is often used in a sentence that involves politics yet we ourselves are always asking for leniences from authorities (runding).
    What Proton is, basically signifies the very attitude of a Malaysian.
    I’ll say, it’s time for Malaysians to try an improve ourselves but of course, this is just another bunch load of bull.

• Facto on Mar 06, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Get your facts right, Proton don’t represent all of us. It only represents a certain group of people. That’s why they keep needing Gov aid, same like Proton

• Pinin Maximus on Mar 06, 2017 at 9:59 pm

Today at 3pm, PSA just bought Opel & Vauxhall For 2.2bil euro

• Bernard on Mar 07, 2017 at 1:14 pm

The usual lah , what’s new?

• Amelia on Mar 08, 2017 at 3:02 am

From what I hear, it’s not Proton that kept changing the deal but it was Geely that was trying to cherry pick which part of Proton they want and which they don’t want.

The offer is either you take everything (whole Proton, including the factory, Lotus, etc.) or you take nothing. Geely wants to pick and choose – take only all the good stuff and dont want to take the rest.

This is not a fair business practice… so Geely is talking a lot of nonsense