More than 70% of local university grads choose to buy foreign vehicles rather than the national car – Proton

Some 70% of local university graduates who have completed their studies choose to buy foreign-made cars because they think Proton is not comparable to foreign brands, according to recently-appointed Proton Edar CEO Abdul Rashid Musa.

Less than 10% of graduates bought a model from the national carmaker, he said, adding that these statistics were obtained through a detailed study commissioned by the company to increase the level of user confidence in its cars, Harian Metro reports.

“About 70% of graduates choose to buy foreign cars because they think the national car is not comparable to foreign brands, despite not having experienced driving the national car. In fact, some university graduates make a comparison between the national car with luxury brands, which is not fair,” he said.

Abdul Rashid said Proton was among 14 car manufacturing companies in the world producing vehicles, and that was something to be proud of. “Being one of the 14 companies that are able to produce cars at the international level is not easy. Many of the world’s major companies have been forced to close, and to survive in this industry is difficult, especially with an economic situation that is currently not stable,” he explained.

He was speaking at a presentation in Arau, Perlis, where the automaker presented a Proton Suprima S to the Auto and Motor Sports Club of Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Ayoyoyoyoyo kesian…

I am a fresh graduate and I own/bought a BMW 325i

“Some 70% of local university graduates who have completed their studies choose to buy foreign-made cars because they think Proton is not comparable to foreign brands”
    – Correct I am one of the fresh graduate.

“some university graduates make a comparison between the national car with luxury brands”
    – That’s right, I bought a used BMW 325i

“Being one of the 14 companies that are able to produce cars at the international level is not easy.”
    – Adapt, stay relevant or die lor

Many of the world’s major companies have been forced to close, and to survive in this industry is difficult, especially with an economic situation that is currently not stable,”
    – Correct! When are y’all gonna close shop since Malaysians and international markets do not want your cars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 243 Thumb down 98
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:06 pm

LOL.. So you bought a BMW that’s more than 10 years old for the price of a preve. Big deal. Good luck with the gearbox and rust problems. Another example of an ego-feeder with no financial intelligence

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 168 Thumb down 202
      • Bash Basher on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:14 pm

You for got to add automotive intelligence too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
        • Kelab Pencinta Kunta on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Our Ministers all say our Proton quality is the SAME or BETTER than Volvo and BMW. They say Proton handling BETTER than BMW.

But do you see any Minister having a Proton in their home? The same with this CEO.

Do you have a Proton in your home?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 10
          • Even BMW camo better than P1 on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:29 pm

First basher bashed minister who compared it with BMW , later they themselves compare P1 camo with BMW.

That’s basherlogic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
          • Michael Goh on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:38 pm

Got 141 comments. Nearly all the comments are negative. This alone shows Malaysians are fed up with Proton.

For 30 years, Proton made other car prices go up. We all suffered for 30 years because Proton refused to go bankrupt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
          • Ah Kow on Mar 22, 2017 at 8:13 am

I believe he probably has one but seldom or never drive it. And probably for free too?

• Open Letter to Edar CEO on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:51 am

Do you know why Proton sales are so bad?

Go to any mall. You always see Honda, Toyota and Mercedes doing roadshow. The sales people work hard. They stand the whole day long for 3 days.

I have never seen any roadshow by Proton in any mall. Proton sales in Edar whole day sit in showroom and play whatsapp. Never pro-active. Lazy

Edar staff lazy now you come here blame young graduates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
          • Sama L00 on Mar 22, 2017 at 3:29 pm

You don’t need to taste a cyanide to know it is poison. Same as the university graduates don’t have to own a Proton to know it is junk.
            Junk should not cost a sen.

• Bayar la on Mar 22, 2017 at 12:48 pm

I’m a frequent traveller for business and holiday.Everytime i saw many study loan defaulters stranded in airports unable to fly out.Few of my office mates among of those defaulters.Funny thing is they drive a brand new A class,330i and Audi A4.What?

• Ya Preve doesn’t rust. Hence your name donkeykong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 19
        • Michael Goh on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:41 pm

It has been so long since we got an article with 140 comments. Nothing can irritate people more than dumb statements from Proton.

For 30 years we have tolerated AP and Proton nonsense. Malaysians cannot take it anymore. Proton, pls read all 140 comments and see where you stand in society.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • ducatiscrambler on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:00 pm

I don’t recall yourself having any sort of financial intelligence. You failed to grasp the concept of supply and demand. So stop extrapolating that and dictate other people’s choices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • Nasi Lemak 2.0 on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:13 pm

My bmw 20 years old still no problem. He made a clever choice you idiot.. malaysians becoming an idiot to buy potong cars… beta buy 2nd merz or bmw.. worth the money and less worry and maintenance

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 26
        • Kelab Pencinta Kunta on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:52 pm

This CEO got drive Proton?

Proton CEO got drive Proton?

Proton CFO got drive Proton?

Tun M got drive Proton?

There it is….you got your answer!. He himself don’t drive Proton, his wife also don’t drive Proton, his kids also don’t drive Proton.

Apa lagi Proton Edar CEO mau?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 11
          • xxxxx on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:32 pm

You cannot force rich men to drive P1. So work hard lor, it’s your fault if you have poor life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • B. Unggul on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:12 pm

…errr, 2-decades old car, not expecting any issues nor maintenence?

Atau propaganda je ni, maybe people are deep-pocketed enough to not care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 40
          • Michael Goh on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:45 pm

So shameful Edar complain like this despite 90% of all orders come from the Government. Government money is our money.

Proton get so much of help from Government purchases also and yet, they make noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • tokmoh. on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:39 am

You’d be surprised, an old Conti can be bloody durable mechanically, especially if it’s manual transmission.

Same rule still applies, this is more a hobby, weekend car, but they’re hardy enough to be used daily. Though its higher fc and parts cost (slightly) makes it not suitable for that task.

Hence, many usually have 2nd car, usually perodua or toyota. Janji save fc, low maintenance cost, tak yah pening, tak yah fikir, peace of mind.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:16 am

exactly…my 230E still going strong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Hahaha on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:52 pm

perception is the name of the game… how to change that is the question. 60 years ago, no one wanted a Japanese products and that has changed. 30 years ago no one want to Korean products that’s too changed. 10-15 years ago, most people wanted Chinese products. That too is slowly changing. Malaysian national car has been around for more than 30 years and has, let’s be honest here, progressed insufficiently, especially in this modern world. We need to adapt and adopt new technologies quicker than our competition to get ahead. (and pls no new sport bumper, limited exhaust rubbish we rolling out).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
        • Kelab Pencinta Kunta on Mar 21, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Nothing to do with quality. Malaysians younger generation are angry. Angry that 50% of their pay goes to paying car loans.

Car prices went up because of Proton. In the 80s, Toyota Corolla was RM20k. Nissan 130Y was RM20k.

Now in Japan, car prices of Toyota Corolla from 1985 to 2016 only gone up 40%

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 21, 2017 at 8:13 pm

No la DonkeyKong bro, 1995 E36 325i la bro. RM18k only. Kereta reliability solid bro. Maintenance very easy, banyak kereta potong parts, found good honest ‘passion over profit’ BMW workshop. Insurance valued the car very low, roadtax mahal sikit but in 2020 can get vintage car status with 80% discount. Manyak shok it 6-cylinder engine, rear wheel drive, all disc brakes and bau real nappa leather. Roadtax and insurance both less than RM1400 per year. Yearly major service and change parts RM1,500-1,800.

My everyday car is a 15 year old Kelisa. My college/uni car last time. Dam syiok bro. 3-cylinder bagi return minyak very jimat, service pun murah – Perodua people tak tipu and part tak overpriced macam Proton. Roadtax and insurance less than RM750. Yearly major service less than RM500.

These two cars costs way less than a brand new Iriz.

Tak payah beli proton la bro. My next target nak angkat used Isuzu D-Max. Pick up truck lasak DonkeyKong bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
        • bmwsuck on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:35 pm

You are left behind so far, nowadays Vios oso cannot get amoi. At least you must drive new A klasse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:03 am

You are left behind so far, nowadays A klasse oso cannot get amoi. At least you must drive new Bentley Bentayga

For the same price as the A-Class, better get Volvo V40. Amoi suka real leather interior, not fake ones in A-Class. Aircond also digital dual zone, not like A-Class rotary ones like in Peroduas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Michael Goh on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Most graduates buy their first car with money from their parents. This is no secret. The parents have all been bitten and cheated by Proton. The parents have seen how Toyota Corolla in the 80s was RM20k suddenly jump to RM139k in 2016.

They know it is solely Proton’s protectionism that car prices went skyrocket high.

So, parents tell their kids, don’t ever buy Proton.

Moral of story is this. If Proton did not cause car prices to go up to today’s levels, people would be forgiving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • tokmoh. on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:55 am

Brofist!

I got a used Volvo 240. Aside from being a long ass car, a pain to drive/park around city, it’s just heavenly to drive when on highway. It’s even more refined and quieter than Iriz (just shows how fail proton is). And very easy on maintenance.

Screw proton. Get a used Volvo/bmw/merc, and a used perodua. Best of both world, one for daily driving with low fc and maintenance cost.

The other only slightly higher maintenance cost, but absolute pleasure to drive. And always good to have 2 cars whenever either has a breakdown.

Far better than stuck with a single new car, rugi depreciation, and when breakdown, patah kaki have to rely on uber/grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 22, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Totally man! Been itching to get a W124

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:17 am

Can share details and location of your “passion over profit” BMW workshop bro? The E36 is my favourite BMW of all time.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 24, 2017 at 11:13 am

Hey #heybadigol Sure! It is called Bluegreen Motor Werks near Western Digital Kelana Jaya. Google them

• DonkeyDong on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:47 am

What? where did he say he bought a 10 year old BMW? He got the new E90 BMW 325i with iDrive for the same price as the Proton Perdana. Year 2010 that’s hardly 10 years. Also it is a much safer car. Would you want to die in a Perdana when the brake line fails due to bad QC at the factory whilst going down Genting Highlands?

You also based his/her Financial Intelligence over the choice of car? Are you serious? He could be 10 times richer than you at the same age for all I care.

Proton is a political mess. How do you think they keep afloat even after bad sales? Money come from heaven or your pockets? Do you want to support a company that steals from the nation?

• King Steven on Mar 22, 2017 at 12:38 pm

I’ll never buy a local made brand.As an Australian university fresh graduate with starting salary or RM5,500 i am afford a foreign brand.Last month my position was confirmed and salary increment of another RM1,800.Why should i get a cheap car if my standard is way higher than a SPM leavers? I deserved better than lower rank citizen.My income getting bigger every year for sure.In less than 2 years time it will be 5 figure and those people under my accomplishment will be no match to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Jangan pula dijadikan alasan potongan gaji untuk kereta import menyebabkan gaji tidak cukup untuk membayar hutang PTPTN.
      SETIAP kali membaca berita peminjam PTPTN enggan membayar balik hutang mereka, saya berasa sedih memikirkan begitu ramai tidak bersyukur di negara ini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 37
      • Bonogd on Mar 21, 2017 at 8:34 pm

Jadi salahkan orang sbb taknak beli? Sbb nak lindung proton – tax kaw2 kereta import.. Bila diorng balas balik.. Proton pun tinggal nyawa2 ikan.. Dlm filem pun org tak pakai proton.. Menteri pun tak pakai proton.. Dah dekat 40 tahun umur proton..dah beli lotus.. Tapi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • Plotek on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:43 pm

Plotektion is everywhere in the world, the different is in other countries they have much bigger market

• Org lain plotek boleh jual tapi Proton plotek 32 tahun jual apa? Nasi Lemak kah?

• Michael Goh on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:22 pm

People stop buying Proton because Proton never help themselves. It is sucking so much of the rakyat money but have the directors and CEO ever taken a pay cut?

This is why Malaysians are angry. Proton takes billions of our money, money which can be used to build more hospitals and schools. But does Proton help themselves?

Proton directors and management refuse to take a single sen pay cut despite company losing so much of money.

This is the MAIN reason why people buy non Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 10
      • Jimmy on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Electron: Your aftersales is worst than your cars.

Good CEOs are entitled for multimillion annual revenue; the reverse should be true.

• tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:45 pm

That straight six hnngghh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • safet 1st on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:32 pm

my proton neo center console was cracked after i sent the car for normal service at proton appointed service centre in ampang, i notified the branch technician and they agreed to get it replaced under warranty, guess how long do i have to wait for the part to arrive? after 1 mth i went to the shop they said part still on its way, then after a few mth, the shop relocated, then after a few more months, i sold my neo… in conclusion, tanjung malim or shah alam or wherever the part is made from, is much2 far away from germany or tokyo coz if your car is a bmw or toyota, i bet you dont have to wait that long for the parts to arrive right…. that was the last proton for me ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • HAHAHAHAHA

• dont syiok sendiri P1 on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:21 pm

The power of perception towards a brand. Never underestimate the perception of consumers even if it just a university student.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • Michael Goh on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:26 pm

I feel so ashamed the CEO have to come publicly to say this. What kind of CEO is this? Come here and complain about graduates not buying his product.

Does Maggi CEO come here and complain that consumers are buying Kimball tomato sauce?

Does Cadbury CEO come here and complain that consumers are buying Kit Kat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 10
      • B. Unggul on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Those are just excerpts of his speech there. He’s not even complaining, merely stating the statistics from their own study.

But yeah, okay. If they said ‘99% grads chose Proton from our research’, people will say they are ‘syiok sendiri’

Guess that you can’t ever win if you are Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
        • tokmoh. on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:59 am

If they can just shut up and work hard like Perodua, maybe the statistics will be kinder.

Instead, syok sendiri, MAI claim they understand market needs, but none of their product meets market needs.

People want car with good fc, cheap service, easy to drive. Like perodua.

People don’t want fuel guzzler, conti-like service cost, laggy, jerky drive. Like proton.

• accountant on Mar 23, 2017 at 1:33 pm

If you don’t understand the market, you will blame statictics

• Albert on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:25 pm

The 30 percent who end up buying P1 is cos they r still unemployed….parents kesian them.Graduates,woh…..must give them a car.If not,nanti balik kampung…..orang tanya,Kenapa budak ini still unemployed,kesian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • You gave perfect example for twisting remark. Just took some and leave the rest explanation

• passion on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:51 pm

With remaining 30% of total market share, Proton emerge as Top-selling carmaker again!!!

• Chris on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:22 pm

If you asked Monash University, the answer sure “Hell NO”. But if u ask some or selected University they will definitely said “SURE WILL BUY”. After all, it’s better than Motorbike rite!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Kacakhitam on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Kawan sy minum Starbucks, Sy pun nak minum Starbucks. Kawan sy beli iPhone, Sy pun nak beli iPhone.
      Kawan sy pandu Jazz, takkan Sy nak pandu Proton.. heheheh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
      • Prevek on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:50 pm

I dowan to drive jazz coz it’s underpower compared with my racechipped preve tebu. Heheh

• Michael Goh on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:32 pm

This is the reason why fresh grads buy non national. All listen to their parents about this. Our parents have told us about the below when we were young.

2017 Proton Persona RM60k
      3 year later….
      2020 the Proton Persona become RM20k

2017 Toyota Vious RM78k
      3 years later….
      2020 the Toyota Vios become RM60k

2017 Honda City RM78k
      3 years later……
      2020 the Honda City become RM63k

Who is going to top up my loan when i buy a new car 5 years later?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 11
      • So right. Children most likely listen to their parents. Rem in the old days, proton is king and we are all slaves…take it or leave it.. The older generations remember it well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • alldisc on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:03 pm

very true. the same way we listened to our parents say – become a doctor. or laywer. or engineer. because of goo earnings. now that isnt the case.fresh graduate doctors and lawyers work under pressure and dont get paid as much

• Kelab Pencinta Kunta on Mar 21, 2017 at 6:50 pm

Children always listen to their parents. Our parents told us, their hands were tied. Put gun on their head and told either drive Proton or you are unpatriotic.

they told us how they suffered when jap cars went 8 fold in cost.

“Son, we had no choice but to buy Proton”

• safet 1st on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:37 pm

you are soo wrong bro….. 2017 persona…. can drive until 2030… it will still be the “current” model unlike other car maker who will come out with new design every 7-8 yr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Even jepunis cars dun have good RV nowadays. Haiz

• Kelab talkok kunta on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Sat in new persona Uber car. The car feels solid and steady

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 17
    • ducatiscrambler on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Same here. It’s not solidly put together though, as in the material choices : HARD SHELL PLASTIC ALL ROUND. The ride is indeed composed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • At that price though, what are you expecting? The city I have is full with cheap hard plastic as well and it cost almost 50% more than a Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • So heavily protected proton is talking on fairness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
    • Idross on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Salah satu sebab industri automobil di Korea Selatan berkembang maju adalah kerana sokongan daripada rakyat mereka sendiri. Rakyat Korea sangat menyokong kereta buatan tempatan.
      Hal ini berbeza dengan perkembangan yang berlaku di negara kita. Sebagai negara yang mengeluarkan kereta nasional, prioriti seharusnya diberikan kepada kereta keluaran Proton.
      Sebab kita bercakap tentang 60,000 orang pekerja yang bergantung pada ekosistem Proton. Dari pekerja kilang Proton, sampailah ke vendor. Proton adalah kepentingan negara. Kalau betul Proton kolos kedai, apa jadi pada mereka ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 107
      • Bash Basher on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Cari kerja lain la.
        Rakyat Korea menyokong kereta tempatan kerana ada kualiti.

P1 memang tidak boleh berbanding dengan kereta buatan korea. Oleh itu rakyat Malaysia sokong P2 :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 8
      • lilytan on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Unlike protong, korean manufacturers NEVER take their korean customers for granted. They sell their latest fully loaded high quality cars for cheap to fellow koreans. Unlike here in msia, they sell us expensive scraps and sell the better export models to foreigners for cheap, subsidized by msian. Gave us crap n ask for support?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 5
        • B. Unggul on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Errrr, better export model? Which decade we are now, 90’s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
        • Amran on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:25 am

Which model are Proton export? Which country? Haha! All close shop la..

• Sub_zero on Mar 22, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Are you sure about your statement? Korea also as if not the same situation as us (heavily protected) hence their own car also just as expensive as proton was here

Different is they can afford due to high ppp compare to us which is far cry

• A car user on Mar 21, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Kia & Hyundai are top 5 car manufacturer in the world.You think they can achieve this level with only the support from local koreans?If the quality of their cars are not good, you think koreans will still buy them?Don’t just talk without facts.If you think people should continue to buy proton to just to ensure that those people working for proton could keep their jobs, you should make sure you buy 100k cars from them yearly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
        • Ltkan on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:56 pm

No, before they sold it cheap enough in USA and other countries, not because it is good

• Truth Hurts on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:29 pm

Proton Edar CEO Abdul Rashid Musa is right. Its not fair to compare with luxury brands.I wont start with European brands. Lets not compare to the Japanese too because they are old players, so we compare to Koreans? Koreans have grown and move on (Look at the cars they have) So what else can we compare? Cherry, BYD, Tata? These brands are growing so rapidly. If proton stays comfortable and settle for mediocrity, you will always be left behind. You are only special in this small place in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 1
    • Ahmad on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:01 pm

If it wasn’t for the National Automotive Policy, the common Japanese brands will be priced lower or the same as P1.

Who is not playing “FAIRLY” now?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
      • iamnora on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Open approved permits (APs) for imported used cars around since 1980s.. MITI said open APs be continued to allow the public to continue to have the opportunity to buy luxury imported second hand cars at competitive prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Tomyam on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Go to Thai you still wont get it cheap lor

• Compare with China made cars la. Soon they will also overtake Proton in terms of design and quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • Sarah on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Proton CEO you’re NOT surviving. You’re sucking tax payers money to keep your lousy company afloat. The creator imposed high tax on foreign cars so as to force buyers to buy your cars. But not anymore. Your end is very near. It’s time to face your consequence

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 5
  • P1 cleaner than your church shoes on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Prove them wrong and continue to impress them I guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Brendan on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Every local uni parking lots are filled with Myvis, so just where did he get his statistics?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
    • Bash Basher on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:03 pm

He said “grads”. Probably left the local U’s and started working already.

Haha this means before graduating also got a Myvi and not a P1.

Where are the buyers of P1 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Manual Swift Sporter on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:33 pm

Majority of local car buyers do not base their purchase on choice, but on capability. He inadvertently admitted that once a person is more empowered and informed, he/she will prefer not to buy Proton.

So Mr. CEO, may I suggest you put a shoe in that mouth of yours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • I am well informed that takata airbags killed pipu so i wont buy non local car. Shoes back to your feet

• alldisc on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:14 pm

myvi is actually a daihatsu. that makes it a foreign brand. :)

• isuzuki on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:36 pm

Well…obvious, right?

• thomasNOTMYname on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Being one of the 14 companies that are able to produce cars at the >> international level << is not easy…

Said who? Your family?

Many of the world’s major companies have been forced to close, and to survive in this industry is difficult, especially with an economic situation that is currently not stable…

They are smart to closed down their companies and build a new one with new investment… not like yours demand Gov support again and again and again and again…

Our economy are suffering this pass years. Buy P1 cars will not help the ecomony anywhere. Why not buy foreign made cars to enjoy our life, while we still can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • ahmad on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Fair or not fair? Just ask yourself. You Proton also talk big that you is the national car but you are only belongs to a private local company. It is just like many other local car manufacturers in China who design their own cars, but they don’t call themselves national car.
    Why your Protons cannot sell? ask yourself…poor design, hopeless engine performance, lousy gearbox, hopeless after sales support, poor quality. Yes you should be proud. Your Proton has all the defects and complaints that should land Proton top in the international world….Top on poorest quality.
    Till today, the power window problem still unresolved….PROTON = Potential Risk Of Tingkap Otomatik Non-functional.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
  • Fresh Grads who can afford foreign made cars are of difference income bracket or even well-to-do family background to begin with while they may not have a Nationals car among family members as well. Proton image that was previously tarnished by poor QC is now facing greater challenges when other manufacturers are bring it to the next level. Proton should consider streamlining their model and go mainstream with their finest product to build back the brand.

• tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Proton datang lagiiiii

Why people don’t want to buy our car eh? I know, rakyat not patriotic punya pasal! If drive honda, they feel atas, if drive proton, they feel like dirty peasants.

No wonder Geely tulan edi. They found out they’re trying to deal with the most syok sendiri leeches, and not allowed to get rid of them, nor the shitty vendor cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • horrayooi on Mar 21, 2017 at 1:58 pm

They don’t want to buy because Proton is stagnant, keep on using the same timing belt campro family engine and out of date non-torque converter cvt for all the models. Most foreign brands are using timing chain engines with latest transmissions. Exterior designs of Proton is not bad.
    The engineers of Proton didn’t upgrade their skills and technology for the mechanicals. Is it so hard to design engines? Other Asian countries like Korea and Japan can do it. Something is wrong with the working attitudes and culture at Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • “In fact, some university graduates make a comparison between the national car with luxury brands, which is not fair,” he said”

Well with statement such as ‘proton as good as BMW’ and ‘modern proton just as safe as volvo’ I guess is only fair that we compare to such. proton treats its creations like school projects, you can be proud that it comes together and from your own hard work. But that’s not how business works especially in a relatively capatilist society, ask Plymouth, numerous British Laylans car companies and DMC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:56 pm

When want to syok sendiri : “We are as good as BMW, as safe as Volvo”

When we do compare with those brand : “It’s not fair to compare us with them”

Topkek proton. Tu la mulut suka celupar, Perodua tak pernah claim they’re “Toyota of Msia”, even if they literally are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • Bluiod on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Not good as but better, you buy used bmw then you sell kidney to change spare parts

• applegreen on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Nak banding suprima S kenalah banding dengan mazda3 atau civic bukannya banding dengan honda city/mazda2. Ingat budak lepasan universiti tak bijak kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • vios fan on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Most people own few cars over the period of their lifetime. These young graduate are thinking to own an expensive foreign marque even before they start working. Have they been illusioned to think the country’s economy is really good?

• quit yapping and start improving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Fool me once, shame on you; Fool me twice, shame on me.

Before asking people to give you a chance, as CEO, you should lead the team to revamp proton end-to-end as a whole. Prove it by firing those bloated incompetent workforce and supplier.

Otherwise, Proton is a parasite and does not deserve sympathy. Please RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Noah Thiruchelvan on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:09 pm

When I graduated, I did get a Proton Saga. It was an amazing thing for the price of course, but then as years pass by and the expected failures started coming in. It hurts the wallet. Very deeply. With current economic state, you expect fresh grads to buy local meh. they rather invest more and get more in debt with banks for their peace of mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • 4G63T DSM on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Not sure which is more sad.

The fact is Proton has fallen so far out of favour with fresh grads;

or

They are so poor in financial planning that 70% of them choose to buy a new foreign car and saddle themselves in debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:51 pm

GST has reduced cost of living so much, 70% of freshies now can afford Honda. No wonder honda sell more than Proton! Cukur!

• tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Anyway, they never said new foreign car, just foreign car.

Frankly I’d be far more confident in a used Toyota than a new Proton. Learnt my lesson to never again touch another new proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • wkaka on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Could be a used foreign make. When I first graduated, I bought an old Honda junk, which I traded in for a new Proton a few years later.

Needless to say, I’ll never buy a Proton again. My current car, even though people say it’s expensive to maintain, always go work shop etc, has not given me any issues (touch wood), and the feeling of RWD is so much better.

• Jackey on Mar 22, 2017 at 8:34 am

Actually if you consider resale value then you’re getting pretty close depreciation

• What is not fair? Dont blame the customers, if proton can comesl up with value for money cars like perodua , customers will come back. Now proton cars known for not being fuel efficient, and pricy too fot its standard. You better value with perodua..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • What safety? on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:50 pm

They already come up with good products, the new Proton Saga and Proton Persona. Both cars get good reviews from our local car reviewers.
      Having driven many cars (including those new Proton Saga and Proton Persona), and me myself own the new Persona and a Honda HRV (sold my old Ford Fiesta to get the new Persona), I have to say both new Saga and Persona are on par with their Japanese same-segment competitors.
      Saga and Persona’s fuel efficiency is good too. The new Proton Saga and Persona are worth it. (But older Proton models? Avoid them).
      Who said they aren’t improving? Newer Proton models have better safety than their same-segment competitors. New engines are arriving too next year. And after their new technical partners arrived, things are going to improve much more too (pretty sure their partners won’t tolerate any bullshits from Proton).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • lcmbryan on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:16 pm

We don’t see any value in your product. That why people don’t buy. Example Honda people know it design and also interior speedometer is nice. Now interior space is better. Toyota people buy because of reliable. Perodua because it cheap. Hyundai because it contain so many gadget. Proton value in the pass is high resale value and cheap. Now it is not cheap compare to others.

• Phishball on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:11 am

Heyheyhey bro, a correction here. “Perodua because it’s affordable**” . It’s nkt cheap enough to be said cheap. Peace :3

• Ah Kow on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Many of the world’s major companies have been forced to close, and to survive in this industry is difficult, especially with an economic situation that is currently not stable,” he explained.

They closed down with DIGNITY without any financial aid and policy from gomen.

P1 survived with “embarrassment” with financial aid and National Automotive Policy from gomen.

Adding on more burden to the public, forcing the public to work harder in order to afford a foreign car.
    And burden to the gomen which the gomen could have invest the RM1.5 billion to make profits or to help the public.

Isn’t 10% obvious enough? And I assume the remaining 20% goes to P2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Perodua is foreign vehicle?

• Raja Celup on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Yes just like Proton Ertiga, kereta Jepun import dari Jokowi.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:18 pm

“Being one of the 14 companies that are able to produce cars at the international level is not easy”

There are way more than 14 companies that build cars in CHINA ALONE. And a good number of them can produce cars at an international level. Quros, Great Wall, Dongfeng, Chery, BYD, SAIC, BAIC, just to name a few.

Besides. Proton isn’t very successful internationally is it?

Shiok sendiri again trying to compare oneself to the more hardworking players. Then, making excuses when it fumbles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Economies of scale on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:23 pm

Compare small bolehland with chainaland? Apa sarahan ini?

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:18 am

Proton wants to compare to the world. Whats your beef with only comparing with ONE single country?

“BMW of ASIA”, “As safe as Volvo”

Ring a bell?

Proton would have a hard time holding a flame against the China automotive tsunami….let alone the rest of the world. Next up India.

• Here come the keyboard warriors bashing the national carmaker in 3.. 2.. 1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 51
    • KenJi on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:09 pm

Sorry sir. We are not keyboard warriors but consumers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Apa salahan keyboard warriors?

When don’t buy proton, say we tok kok.

When buy proton, still cannot criticize.

Proton think they so perfect, yet look at reality. Sila meninggal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Gaviny on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Admirable quality as leader to point fingers and blame others for their poor sales

• azrai on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:20 pm

It is because the old saying “Biar papa, asal bergaya” principal of life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • They only surveyed students from middle-class and above? Of coz 70%

• superbird #43 on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:27 pm

its because Proton manufactures no proper rwd car that I or many of us can choose from.
    Proton has been relying to generate profit on that bottom end market for way too long…

• Jackey on Mar 22, 2017 at 8:31 am

Would you buy a 250k proton or a 250k Mercedes. Think about that

• Err no P1 has 250k price, and why compare with mesidis?

• I will buy a 250k Proton if the car and engine reliability, built quality, safety features, luxury accessories, etc. exceeds that of a Merc. But I guess it may never happen.

• Teehee on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:29 pm

Hey, if you’re selling, you’re selling. Don’t blame on customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • mate, you must be smokin’ something alright. if it wasn’t for the very understanding and lovely gov protecting P1 while P1 still sucks their thumb like a baby for the past 34yrs (and still sucking your thumb), would have been closed down long ago.
    is all because of the tidak apa attitude and crappy vendors period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:30 pm

Its called living beyond ur means…

• Bernard on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:31 pm

I guess our graduates are getting smarter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Henry on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:32 pm

There is such a thing called choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • john is otak batu on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:35 pm

There u have it! Another whammy from fresh graduate!
    Eh, pls don’t blame them not supporting local product!
    Event orang asli also knew Proton have bad reputation!
    BTW, pls sell the stakes off to chinaman for god sake!
    Rakyat have “alami” enough of >30years of this “Chucky” product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Unknown on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:40 pm

“In fact, some university graduates make a comparison between the national car with luxury brands, which is not fair,”. Eh, I thought you say proton is the BMW of asia? How is it not fair LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Yolde on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Yeah even bashers compare BMW with proton too, the irony is orang lain tak boleh pulak. How it is fair?

• Shamsul Anwar on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Cannot believe the CEO is like a cry baby. Already goem buy about 90% of all Protons to help Proton out. Now they expect the rakyat also to give their whole life and soul to Proton?

Let me remind the CEO, every Malaysian have helped Proton and given Proton a chance. Most of us have bought 3 or 4 Protons in our life. It is Proton that have disappointed us all 3 or 4 occasions.

Our children, who are now starting to work, have seen their parents suffering with Proton. They don’t want to repeat the same mistakes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • Memang Betol! on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:50 pm

Exactly spot on hit bulls eye! Smart people will always stay away from Proton!

• Billionaire on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:36 pm

Smart pipu will invest on property not spending too much money on those steel junk!

• komarad on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:40 pm

same here, we prefer overseas undergrads than local undergrads…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:52 pm

if i want a reliable fuel efficient car….local is not the way to go. then again, a lot of “foreign brands” are locally made/assembled….so they are still supporting the malaysian industry right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:36 pm

clearly proton engineers never tried to drive toyota vios (just one good example). with good power-to-weight ratio, feather sensitive throttle gives superior response for a 1.5 litre car. 4 speed auto? u can still achieve 200kmh (out meter) and able to do more than 600km per full tank of abt 40 litres on long trips.

• Fadli on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Well rather than complaining, they should done a SWOT analysis, fine tuning what’s lacking. That is basic in business study right. They should innovate themselves to attract the young to buy Proton car.

History already shown when you fail to always improve and follow the flow..someday you will go down drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Rommie on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:54 pm

It’s a FACT that Proton is not comparable to foreign brands.

Which brand failed to progress even after all the protection it received? Other companies have done it, why not Proton?

I’d rather pay more than drive a piece of junk that’s supporting a useless company that hired way too many under qualified staff and only appoints vendors that will give them kick-backs.

• Ah Kow's Brother on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:58 pm

“About 70% of graduates choose to buy foreign cars because they think the national car is not comparable to foreign brands, despite not having experienced driving the national car. In fact, some university graduates make a comparison between the national car with luxury brands, which is not fair,” he said.

Dear P1, please do market research, go study about the market, survey and see what the market wants. And after you have done your research, go create products that suits the market’s demand and expectation.

Don’t waste time and talk nonsense blaming the market for not buying your product. It is clearly P1’s fault for offering products that did not meet the majority of the market’s expectation.

Simple business rule:
    High end product, expensive price tag = Upper class market(Upmarket) demand
    Good product, affordable price tag = High market demand
    Cheap product, cheap price tag= Lower class market demand

For P1, what I personally see;
    Product sits between Good and Cheap product, but price tag is almost the same as a Good Product’s price tag. For sure la only 10% local U grads buy your product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • I’d think most of these remarks are not expressed based on stereotypical attributions alone, but also from personal experiences or from stories by ones they know. Remember when Toyotas were killing people because of their stuck accelerator pedal? You don’t because instead of whining and talking cow’s backside they went back to the drawing board, focused on whats important, making better and safer cars to correct the public perception of the brand. Guess what? They’re now back on the top of their game. Can probably learn a thing or two from them.

• najebmansur on Mar 21, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Proton Edar CEO Abdul Rashid Musa, what car you use now? PROTON or BMW? cakap tak serupa bikin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:53 pm

He’ll claim he use Proton, but actually outdated Honda accord underneath. Punde tada otak ptuik.

• donaltrum on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:49 am

of course he drives proton, but only to work only la. weekend i don’t know la..wink wink

• KenJi on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Dear proton. Produces good product, surely they will buy. Thanks

• DonkeyKong on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:05 pm

No wonder fresh graduates also happen to be the demographic with the worst debt levels and increasing bankruptcy statistics. Fresh graduate these days have no financial intelligence and only live to stroke their own egos.. Willing to spend half their salaries in a rapidly depreciating liability. Serves them right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • Henry on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:18 pm

They should start by taking the train or bus. Two to three years later then can think about buying a car. Remember, many of them still have a study loan to repay.

• aloha on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:31 pm

budak baru nak up.. biasa la… half payslip bayar keter. worse few make personal loan buy secondhand vios or city. just contract, not yet permanent staff already langsi.

• TokGuru on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Proton should not self create negative publicity by publishing things like this and then blaming the public for poor sales. Maybe they should just focus on making good cars instead.

• Normal Guy on Mar 21, 2017 at 3:44 pm

When i came back from the US after graduation i bought the FMC Saga after 2 years working. I had it for 8 years and it served me adequately (2x engine failure and multiple plastic parts failure notwithstanding). During that time my friends bought more expensive foreign brands and laughed at me for driving a local car. I paid low installments during the first 7 years while my friends suffered with high loans. Now they are still driving their original cars while I’ve upgraded from a proton to a premium japanese make by putting in a good dp thanks to years of saving.

Lesson of the story: start slow, save first then enjoy later. Sikit x2 lama x2 jadi bukit. Forget about ego and “face”, what’s more important is cash in pocket. Kids these days don’t have such financial thinking capability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • MrLocalGraduate on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:02 pm

“70% of local graduates bought foreign cars” incl. japanese car, which ironically, the price is similar to our local cars under the same segment.. If our local car makers, can produce a car under similar segment, with a price tag deserves to be called as *local*, I seriously think our people will consider buying them. It is a contradicting statement, because the price for our proton car in overseas, even after conversion of rate, with full spec, is cheaper than the proton’s car price set locally. This totally exhibit how our local car makers are trying to monopolise our local car price and demands.

• therevs on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:03 pm

This Proton and Perodua cheapskates both should just cease operations forever. Both are Pure Terminal disease brands to the car industry worldwide. Better dead than sorry:(
    Graduates or not the 1st choice will forever be a Honda, Nissan or Toyota.
    Rich parents or self-made business people will choose the German brands like Mercedes-Benz, Audi or VW.
    Proton should help the poor people instead or manufacture clothes or something related to kitchenware perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Eh hello, Proton is memang a national embarrassment but P2 is a solid market leader not burdening the govt at all. Itulah balik sekolah kena rajin membaca.

• CarOwner on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:08 pm

Will you buy a Myvi or a Saga?

• Phishball on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:24 am

Saga chasis and handling with myvi engine and reliability? Perhaps? haha. Jz coming around.

• kampungEGGpower! on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:17 pm

actually harr rich ppl only buy proton to avoid being a kidnap victim…

• pai3355 on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Local uni grads for sure choose foreign vehicles. Nanti nak datang meminang pun bila bakal mertua tengok kereta honda, senyum lebar dia

• ae101 on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Seriously time is running out for P1. They must have felt it since GST time and this year it will be worst because gomen themselves also barely hanging with so many scandals. Jaguh kampung no is longer jaguh now because it loses steam and competitors are far cry beyond chase. Geely approaches and they missed it. Bad decision and bad move from management. Now proton can only sit at corner with both hands throw up waiting for help. What a shame company.

• proton oh proton on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Please do further research around, what is favourable top 10 in the list of fresh graduate purchase n why?

what is the reason choose foreign car instead of Proton. And publish out to all… its will answer all the questions and doubt.

• Funny Proton on Mar 21, 2017 at 4:49 pm

I remembered someone says Proton quality is the same as BMW why now it’s not fair? Funny though. Haha

• Did that guy just implied these grads never driven ‘national cars’?
    Who cares. They graduated, got jobs, could afford loans, can get imported vehicles.
    That’s free market, their rights to purchase.
    Don’t drag ‘nationalism’ into it just because the statistic isn’t in your favor.

• Dear CEO Abdul Rashid Musa, have you ever thought that the current crop of graduates are likely to be children of families that have probably owned Proton Wira, Iswara, Waja, Savvy, or Perdana in the past, in other words Protons that are known for from repeating power window failures, upper body panels and roof that rust prematurely, roof lining that come loose too easily, failing meter clusters that require speed/temperature/balanced fuel guessing, overheating transmissions, brittle door handles and painful-to-operate power window switches, or sensitive AMTs?

So although this might not apply to all potential Proton customer, how much confidence would this group of young adults have towards products that their parents have complained in the past.

I do however agree that a large number of fresh graduates would choose brand power when they get their fresh pay check.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Menyusahkan Rakyat on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:46 pm

Graduates rather pay extra to avoid Proton is already a telling sign that Proton is beyond hopeless to be entertained anymore.

If a fruit tree failed to bear fruit after 30 years better chop it off as bbq wood charcoal instead.

• in 2010, I initially looks for new Saga BLM. 2 kali cuba submit loan tapi both dealer P1 lemau tak follow up gila-gila dengan bank. at last, I take Alza instead.

• Bash Basher on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Abdul Rashid said Proton was among 14 car manufacturing companies in the world producing vehicles, and that was something to be proud of.

Nothing to be proud of if you’re going to continue selling outdated cars to the customers. You all are merely copycats rebadging experts. Be proud being the best Rebadger in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Say no to weed on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:57 pm

Outdated with 5 stars ANCAP? Copycat with home grown cars? You high?

• Being one of the 14 is indeed something to proud of.

Being the only company that is relying on public funds as life support for decades and yet so arrogant is something to be honoured.

• hafiz on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:07 pm

this is stupid. first u say people choose foreign brand instead of proton cuz they think its not comparable to foreign brand. next u say its unfair to compare cuz foreign brand is luxury brand. what r u trying to imply? if u think that proton is comparable to foreign brand, why u say its unfair? I’ll say proton is better than perodua in terms of safety, chassis and handling, so good job on this. but engine is worse than perodua, even perodua lose globally when comes to engine tech. instead of blaming the public, please invest in education. our education system till now is unable to produce good automotive engineers. that is achievable in usa, germany, japan n korea.

• This newly minted CEO have to understand. The graduates have to get a job to work. Unlike Proton lazy bums, the grad need to work hard to perform. If everyday got to send car to service centre to claim warranty, how to perform?

• “About 70% of graduates choose to buy foreign cars because they think the national car is not comparable to foreign brands, despite not having experienced driving the national car. In fact, some university graduates make a comparison between the national car with luxury brands, which is not fair,” he said.”

Hahaha … see who have the audacity to talk about fairness.

• The question is why? If proton have the correct answer then you should react.

• C. P. MOHAN on Mar 21, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Fresh graduates are not earning much thus they consider what is important now and in the future therefore resale value and reliability is important unfortunately Proton scores badly here and the survey proves it.

• So with the fuel price keep increasing, buying a fuel guzzler engine in P1 car will help me saving my money? A big no. Until now P2 got no proper sedan, Bezza is not a good sedan. At least we need 1.5 myvi sedan not a 1.3 bezza.

• Not buying national car or not buying proton? I have to admit my siblings buy P2 when we graduated. We also using Kancil in University. Fuel saver and easy maintenance much more important compare to good handling, and some say good looking P1.

• gringo1313 on Mar 21, 2017 at 6:03 pm

by the way the new proton saga look like an old peugeot.this is a democratic and a free market country suka hati oranglah nak beli apa .By the way the customer is Always right he3

• nasha on Mar 21, 2017 at 6:14 pm

During my days buying my 1st own car in 2010, loan interest for national car was around 4.XX%, non national cars were definitely significatly lower than 4.XX%. that’s why i bought a non national car. a 9 year loan for Myvi SE at that time was around rm670 per month while a 9 year loan for Swift was around rm800 per month. my Swift is trouble free even after year 6. however i do admit that Swift spare parts are slightly expensive eg: electronic side mirror costs around rm800-1000 per piece.

• So more than 90% of the local university graduates are quite intelligent? Wow, Malaysia will see a bright future with these graduates, their education is well deserved. Can consider sending my kids to local unis now seeing the standard must have improved.

The less than 10% ones are probably the least smart ones, probably flunked and resit papers for a few semesters.

• Lister on Mar 22, 2017 at 12:12 am

With your logical thinking no wonder bashers comparing P1 and BMW any way they want!

• Jackey on Mar 22, 2017 at 8:21 am

Actually the 10 percent confirm got myvi wan as first cars that they paid for themselves

• Ootai on Mar 21, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Being one of the 14 car manufacturing companies but your export is nothing to be shout of. You are losing ground in your traditional market in uk, turkey and even indon. In home country, you syiok sendiri. P2 is overtaking you light years ago. There is no viable turnaround plan. Better close shop. Sell log, stock & barrel. No competitive edge. Better waive the import duties.

• Looking at the price of non local car and loan period that people have to take for owning it, ya.. it is fair to to say non local are luxury. But people still buy it. Lu fikir sendiri. Topkek.

• smokey on Mar 21, 2017 at 7:54 pm

guess im in the 30% group
    my first proton was full of problems that need DIY to fix

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 21, 2017 at 8:24 pm

The survey severely lacks insight just like the company that commisioned it. Most graduates buy car with help from parent’s money. They also listen to their parents on choice of car. This this the senior group of people that Proton screwed over the last 30 years. The answer speaks for itself now.

• Faris on Mar 21, 2017 at 10:35 pm

The Preve & Suprima S looks outdated … Your Persona looks awkward … The Proton Perdana looks good but it’s interior does not and it lacks in terms of safety and modern equipment … The Exora is super old … The Ertiga shouldn’t have existed in my opinion …

We’re expecting a lot from you Proton .. not just the look of the car, but also the quality and it seriously need to be good to satisfy the customers for a long long time ..

• old horse on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:02 pm

means you are not doing your job la…CEO complain about market …maybe should collaborate with north korea so the only car can sell there is protong..

• Greedy Star on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:18 pm

Dear Proton,

i would suggest strongly to cooperate with Tesla and ditch the freakin old engine and models.

Proton become pure electric car company and continue monopoly..hell yeah.. sound good right. Ask Petronas to install charger across all the fuel station.

i think this is the only way out or die!

• the doctor on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:28 pm

so who bought all the peroduas?

• Aero (Member) on Mar 21, 2017 at 11:40 pm

In just a short few weeks, En. Rashid has pinpointed one of the biggest problems plaguing Proton. I knew he would not disappoint ! Can’t wait to see what he does next later this year.

It’s true that most young Malaysians have no faith in Proton. Why ? Because their parents have told them since 12 years old ” Study hard sayang, get a good job… Then you don’t have to drive a Proton and suffer like we did. ”

And what happens 12 years later ? Proton’s new cars have improved tremendously. But unfortunately, the public perception is still stuck in 2005.

Kids nowadays prefer to buy Honda City, Toyota Vios etc.. on 9-year loans and yet TOTALLY FAIL to pay their PTPTN loans, don’t want to buy house (because renting is cheaper, duh), buy iPhone, iPad, MacBook etc.. … but why ?

To show off, of course… because what others think of you matters more than anything else. Isn’t that right ? sigh…

Admittedly, Proton made many mistakes in the past, but it’s not hard to see that Proton has well and truly learnt from many of their past mistakes. Sure, the new cars are still not ‘perfect’, but considering the circumstances, Proton has done well and they are closer than ever to some of the competition (in terms of product at least).

But hating Proton today because of what they did 10 or 15 years ago won’t change anything. What is done, is done, we can’t change the past. We can only forgive, and move on. But we must not forget… if we don’t want to repeat the same mistakes.

Hating Proton today is just like hating Japan today for they did in WW2. Yes, many people still do, but most have moved on. Constantly bringing up the issue will only create unnecessary tension.

Anyway, what Proton can and should do right now is to keep up the good work. Public perception of Proton will slowly but surely change over time. In fact, it already has… nowadays, people are buying Proton over Perodua because of safety. More people have become aware of things like stability control and hot press forming today.

The product will speak for itself, Proton need only speak through their products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • If starting salary oni 3k why bother buying new cars? Used car is ady decent for day to day needs. Better build savings and pay PTPTN loan. P1 is not being a popular car is better to be seen from bigger angle, people life, not only from long gone quality fiasco

• Sayonara Proton on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:16 am

“nowadays, people are buying Proton over Perodua because of safety. More people have become aware of things like stability control and hot press forming today.”

Stop fooling yourself.

Perodua to Proton sales ratio is always 3:1. Bezza also got 5-star ANCAP with traction control. New model soon Myvi, Alza will be geared to that direction too.

Wanna increase sales? Open up more export sales showroom at Bangladesh and Mauritius.

Oh and by the way, if Peugeot also failed the Proton deal better sell off factory to Perodua, Honda or Toyota. They need even more bigger extra factories to catch up with demand.

Bye Proton, Sayonara!!

• OMG.. you comparing ppl hating Proton with ppl hating the Japs during WW11. Wow sungguh mulia Proton di hati mu..
      Anyway since the product will speak for itself so tak payah lah bising2 if the uni grads want to choose whatever rides they want.

• Agree. A stigma or bad perception that has been created many years cannot be erased in a day or a year. It will be an uphill task to do so even though improvements have taken place.

• Jonkey Kong on Mar 22, 2017 at 8:07 am

Is their money, why bother

• Jackey on Mar 22, 2017 at 8:19 am

Empty words coming from empty minded people, one of the 14 global car manufacturers? Who gives a damn when your quality is worse than the cars India makes. Get your stuff together and make decent quality cars.

• Amran on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:15 am

Who want to buy CamPro Engine with Punch CVT gearbox now a day? We want I-Vtec, dual VVT-i, Mivec with torque converter CVT.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:56 am

Up to today, I have NEVER Ever see the new Proton Accord ONCE on road.

• for me its simple. those kids (fresh graduate) already see or heard the suffering/complaining of their parent, older sibling or someone close to them about proton cars and services. even tho proton already improved both in quality and services it still not enough to buried their past. its to stinky, way to stinky especially for their services. i still remember some what famous word from proton service centre ‘biasa la bang, proton.’

• for me its simple. those kids (fresh graduate) already see or heard the suffering/complaining of their parent, older sibling or someone close to them about proton cars and services. even tho proton already improved both in quality and services it still not enough to buried their past. its to stinky, way to stinky especially for their services. i still remember some what famous word from proton service centre ‘biasa la bang, proton.’ proton, u need to work hard to win malaysian heart back, not complaining!

• Graduan Bijak on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:18 am

Work hard or drive a Proton.

• Proton can only improve its built quality & handling. But the main problem is its laggy drive train. No amount of fine tuning / reduce mounting from 4 to 3 / heavy metal structure and renamed VVTi engine can mask the Campro DNA.
    Poor fuel consumption, poor driving experience , a heavy body coupled with a very poor after sales service & support.
    Look at the Saga / Persona forums.
    All complaining of rattling dashboard , lousy radio reception and a lag in engine response.
    Graduates not born yesterday Mr CEO.
    Go back to the drawing board & don’t waste anymore time finding a new stakeholder.
    You only have 2 choices so don’t sit on it.

• I must be one of the 70% then but I did considered Proton when I was looking to buy my very own first brand new car. 1.6 Turbo, bigger space, 2nd row pilot seats MPV…what’s not to like?
    At the time, having figured the amount that I’m willing to fork out every month and I thought it would be wise to get a car that has bigger space and seating capacity, I narrowed down to 2 models, Exora and Alza. Did considered other brands but obviously the prices and cost of maintenances had influenced my call.
    Anyway, I visited Proton twice and twice I viewed the Exora despite friends telling me how ugly it looked. I never test drove it cos I’m quite familiar with it’s engine performance and handling, everything else was fine but sit in it, the build and material qualities just put u off. Hence Exora failed and I settled for the later.

Proton had it going but in the end, sitting in one of it’s products gives u the feeling that Proton factory workers must be underpaid severely and it’s a company that simply glue everything together to form a product so they can stick around in the market. nothing about being competitive. period.

• munkay on Mar 22, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Mr Ceo Sir, you know what isn’t fair? Us consumers who have to pay extra in taxes and duties just to keep proton alive. We want to buy other makes, respect our choice!

• FFS. If the car comparison is ‘not fair’, this will make the survey invalid in the first place. Which means that the questions and answers aren’t specific enough.

If you choose to accept the result, then the conclusion is what it is as surveyed.

A classic case of not accepting reality.

• Nasi Lemak Proton on Mar 23, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Blame here, blame there like Nasi Lemak. Always

• Actually I wouldn’t mind having a Proton as a first car. I appreciate that Proton is trying to do something in the automative world, and I will contribute a bit. That being said, my second car would definitely not be a Proton. I’m actually in search of an Iriz 1.6 MT or a Satria Neo R3 MT, that is once I graduate and get a job. I know I won’t be getting much in return if I sell it, but, I’d probably will not selling back anyway as I’m sort of a sentimental person that likes to hold on to things. The Iriz, Satria, Suprima S don’t look too bad actually. Proton needs to keep their mojo up.

Just a neutral guy commenting along.

• I am the one of local university grads and bought Proton Saga. After 3 months the car got automatically lock door after a few minutes i unlock the door. After 1 year the power window got problem. Already complain and repaired those problems came back… after this i’ll never buy proton again