2017 Mazda 3 facelift launched in Malaysia – now with G-Vectoring Control; three variants, from RM111k

At long last, the facelifted Mazda 3 has been launched in Malaysia, available in both sedan and hatchback body styles. Three locally-assembled (CKD) variants are on offer here – Sedan GL, Sedan High and Hatchback – with four exterior paint colours to choose from – Artic White, Blue Reflex, Meteor Grey and Aluminium Metallic.

The changes from the pre-facelift model are pretty subtle to say the least, starting with a bolder front grille that blends into the headlights. There’s also a redesigned bumper with a wider lower intake, sleeker-looking LED-type fog lamps to match, and the Mazda logo has been shifted slightly downwards as well.

Along the sides, the 3’s profile remains as before, with the only modification being the side mirrors, whereby the indicators are now a thin LED strip rather than the corner-mounted ones previously. Similarly, the alterations at the back are limited to a new design for the reflector and rear fog lamp units on the hatchback, while the sedan gains a low-mounted fog lamp.

As for the inside, the new 3 now comes with an electronic parking brake that frees up space in the centre console for a covered stowage space (with two cupholders within). Elsewhere, there is a new steering wheel lifted from the CX-9; new graphics and font type for the instrument cluster; and the improved Active Driving Display (heads-up display) now displays information in full colour. The latter is only available for the Sedan High and Hatchback.

Under the hood, the all variants of the 3 continue to employ the familiar 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine with 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 210 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The high-compression mill sends drive to the front wheels via a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. Mazda’s idling stop (i-Stop) and drive select (Sport mode) systems are also present here.

A big upgrade here is the addition of Mazda’s SkyActiv-Vehicle Dynamics suite that includes the new G-Vectoring Control system. The system, which is already available on the latest CX-3 and 6, varies engine torque in response to steering inputs, subtly controlling lateral and longitudinal acceleration forces to ensure a more direct and responsive drive. We sampled the system back in September 2016, and you can find out more about how it works, here.

In terms of equipment, all three variants receive the MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen display, Commander Control and six speakers; reverse camera; six airbags; Dynamic Stability Control; traction control; ABS with EBD; Isofix child seat anchors and brake assist.

Individually, the base-spec Sedan GL comes with halogen headlights, bulb-type rear taillights, 16-inch alloy wheels (with 205/60 tyres), fabric seats, a manual air-conditioning system, manually adjustable front seats and 60:40 split-folding rear seats.

Moving up the ranks, the Sedan High and Hatchback gain four-diode, adaptive LED automatic headlights (with DRLs), LED-type rear taillights, 18-inch alloys (with 215/45 tyres), leather seats, a single-zone automatic air-conditioning system, paddle shifters, an electrically adjustable driver’s seat, automatic wipers, cruise control and keyless entry.

The Sedan High and Hatchback also receive a bump in the safety department with the i-Activsense suite, which includes a Lane Departure Warning System, Rear Cross Traffic Alert, Smart City Brake Support and blind spot monitoring system.

Pricing wise, the Sedan GL retails at RM110,804, the Sedan High at RM125,804, and the Hatchback at RM128,804. The prices listed are on-the-road without insurance and for models paired with a solid exterior paint colour. Those who prefer a metallic paint finish will need to top up an additional RM400 (all variants).

Among the optional extras include a Sports Kit for RM2,645, which tags on a front lip and side skirts finished in black gloss, a body-coloured rear lip and a rear spoiler (sedan only). Other items include illuminated door sill plates (RM300), boot tray (RM200), SkyTint film (RM1,900) and navigation system (RM1,270). The latter is standard on the Sedan High and Hatchback.

Each purchase includes a five-year/100,000 km manufacturer’s warranty as well as a three-year/60,000 km free maintenance package (inclusive of labour, parts and lubricants). For more information and a detailed list of specifications, head on over to CarBase.my (hatchback here).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Why still single zone aircon? Can save a lot of cost not bringing the dual zone? Where is radar cruise control? Where is lane keep assist? Where is front sensor?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Where is lane keep assist? – The Sedan High/Hatchback receive a bump in the safety department with the i-Activsense suite, which includes a Lane Departure Warning System.
      I hope it answered your question DT. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
      • lane keep assist and lan departure warning is 2 different thing. Warning just warn you, lane keep assist will assist to steer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Mikey on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:43 am

U mean that LKA which is available in the latest CX-5. Thanks DT. Now I’ve learned something from U. Cheers… to a long weekend bro.

• Maazda tries to sell sth that does not work. Like those defective takata airbags. Go and read about Smart City Brake Support

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Abd jumaat on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:27 pm

Rainy night, but feeling hothot…car model.

• Tipah Tertipu on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:39 pm

RM120k = SGD38k. Unbelievable….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • K Kinte on Apr 28, 2017 at 6:29 am

Have you wondered why you hardly see the Mazda 3 but got so many Honda Civis on the road?

Nobody is buying Mazda in Malaysia anymore. This is because, last year alone, Bermaz increased their car prices on 3 different occasions. So, 2017 alone, 3 times it went higher and higher and higher.

This is despite Bermaz knowing Malaysians are suffering. Ringgit is plummeting and most people are hand to mouth trying to survive. On ethical grounds, people now refuse to buy Mazda, albeit it maybe a good product.

To make matters worse, they did a conjob, one rise, they blamed the Japanese Yen. Then the other rise, they blamed the US dollar.

As of last year, Bermaz sales was so bad. They don’t learn their lesson. In the 80s Mazda was a big seller.

But they were arrogant and wanted to perah the consumer for more money. That is why in the 90s, the brand completely died in Malaysia until 2012 when the CX5 revived the brand.

Now, we will see Mazda die again due to arrogance and no feelings for the rakyat.

Btw, where are all the Mazda fanboys who say Mazda is a PREIMUM product and it is far far far higher than Toyota, Honda and Nissan?

The always look down on Toyota, Honda and Nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 44
      • andrw on Apr 28, 2017 at 3:34 pm

honda also same same arrogant. emphasizing more on quantity rather than quality. all my friends who own latest honda is facing quality and build issue. i would rather choose this 3 over the over-rated civic which floods the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
        • honda is tin can on May 04, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Honda is such a plastic car. Just look at in interior and u will realise just how much cheap plastic they use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • mind to tell which mazda model’s price increased 3 times last year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • James Malaysia May on Apr 29, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Even after all those increments still rm10k cheaper than Civic, yet has more safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Still looks like a kimchi car. How can this compete same price with Civic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 59
  • Maria on Apr 27, 2017 at 8:11 pm

The only mazda model that is great value for money with what they offer on 3 besides cx5. Other than that is crap fullstop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • JasonT on Apr 27, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Why at 125k Mazda 3 are equipped with Lane Departure Warning, Autonomous Braking, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Blind Spot Monitoring but so many German makes selling over 200k so stingy on these specs?????????????????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
    • Pau kaya on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:25 pm

German logo itself cost 200k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
    • Ya la even C200 (RM250K) got no keyless entry….

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Dey, Hyundai Ioniq Got all these and Priced RM117k only. It have more… Like Smart Cruise Control, LKAS, Rear A/c vents, Passenger Airbag Off switch (put your toddler in front). FULL HYBRID… Similar Prius…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2017 at 8:21 pm

macam sama aje…still no memory seat no dual zone climate control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • The interior look very different from overseas facelift model? Very disappointed with what they’ve done to it.

• Kunta Zakar Naik on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Much better than an old outdated Toyota in my humble opinion buy my money goes toward a VW Jetta or Honda Civic Turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
    • But Jetta got DSGgate while CivicT got teboleakinggate. Better buy my Biza, u can get free last ride in Mesidis or Beemer wagon (u cannot choose which thou).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Graduan bijak on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:41 pm

Taknak DSG kong or Turbocor.

• Elchino on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:25 pm

So, when are we getting the new 2017 Mazda CX-5?

• Mikey on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:50 pm

Fu-Yoh! What a beauty. I mean the RED one.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Car manufacturers, can you guys offer us a decent specs. No need la 17 or 18 inch. Damn painful to ride on Malaysian roads and expensive to change. Give us 15-16 inch. No need touch idrive multimedia stuffs, just give us 6 speakers with usb cukup, bluetooth also no need. No need those ah beng body kits. All around disc brakes, vsc stability control and six airbags. No need cruise control. Then sell it between RM85k-95k. I know some of u guys will say Renault Fluence or Proton Preve. I am hoping Toyota, Honda, Mazda, Nissan yang masih tidur will do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • thefact on Apr 29, 2017 at 5:17 pm

i think there is. all the low lines of Honda and Toyotas. Even the Mazda 3 has a cheaper 103k variant. so what say u?

• Why no soul red wtf

• fooyc on Apr 28, 2017 at 4:32 am

Dear Editor,

I’m not quite sure I can attest to your notes when you mentioned once or twice on some features are retained or new addition are valid. Last I recalled there was no drive select mode in M-3; I could be wrong. Are those iActive Sense suite are “bumped up” ? I recalled those was there in the high spec sedan model unsure on hatch. Did they removed the TPMS? I notice the button is missing. No sweat I’m not a M-3 owner.

Suggest you could review the content with the past specifications first.

• ccy7218 on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:00 am

More photos of the red shirt chick pls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Old design still the best looking! wont regret with it but facelift interior is better than previous.

Mazda 3 is the most powerful NA engine in 2.0l class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • On paper it does look powerful, sure. When i test drive the car itself in the city, it doesn’t feel all that powerful because the auto gearbox keep upshifting unnecessarily as if i cannot afford to pay for the fuel when i can afford to drive a car of this size. It is not running in the optimal engine powerband. Even the smaller Mazda 2 feels alot more powerful than the 3 when i test drove the car.

• Ford Focus 2.0 is/was the most powerful 2.0 in C segment

• MazdaSpeedo on Apr 28, 2017 at 10:25 am

This car is for orang baru mau jadi kaya not for below 6K salary. If u think expensive go and buy other car like Bezza, Vios or Plotong….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Ben Yap on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:58 am

civic is a better buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • But civic doesn’t come with some advance safety features like blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, lane departure warning, adaptive type headlight even on full spec civic, and yet full.spec civic is more expensive. Not to mention on practicality side, civic rear seat can’t be folded down to carry some big or long items.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Mazda is crampy inside, buy mazda3 but inside like mazda2, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Dey, Hyundai Ioniq Got all these and Priced RM117k only. It have more… Like Smart Cruise Control, LKAS, Rear A/c vents, Passenger Airbag Off switch (put your toddler in front). FULL HYBRID… Similar Prius…

• Absolutely right, Ioniq get more safety features, the only concern is the dry dual clutch gearbox for hot weather in Malaysia

• But Ioniq back seat not that comfortable and limited head room. Reliability still a question mark.

• anutta on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Hi ED,
    Is there i-ELOOP included in Mazda3?

• Nightduke on May 16, 2017 at 11:17 am

the interior is really bad.
    even my 2010 CBU Mazda 3 has dual zone aircon and much better interior.

• Is the high spec sedan genuine leather or PU leather?

• Passerger on Jan 04, 2018 at 1:55 am

Sad man.. seriously this model has a MT..but not for malaysia. Would so buy it if its MT