GALLERY: Honda CR-V – new 1.5L Turbo vs old 2.4L

With bookings for the 2017 Honda CR-V now open, Honda Malaysia recently invited members of the media to sample the fifth-generation SUV alongside the soon-to-be outgoing fourth-generation model. Thankfully, this provides us with the perfect opportunity to compare both generations of the CR-V to see what has changed.

For some clarity, the 2017 CR-V (in silver) is the 1.5L Turbo Premium 2WD variant, which is one of four likely options that will be offered in Malaysia at launch. As for the fourth-generation model (in white), well that is the range-topping CR-V 2.4 4WD i-VTEC, which is familiar to all.

From the front, the new CR-V appears to have a wider stance than before, which is accentuated by more prominent wheel arches. The new face also features LED headlights, a larger chrome bar across the upper grille and LED fog light arrays. Also note the monocular camera, which is integral to the first-in-Malaysia Honda Sensing suite of safety systems.

While both CR-Vs appear to retain a similar profile when viewed from the side, the window line on the newer model sports a slight kink near the D-pillar. Shuriken-style, 18-inch wheels are also new here, as is the chrome trim piece near the sills.

The rear is where the differences are even more obvious, with the new CR-V’s vertical taillights now extending towards the centre of the tailgate, beneath the straightened chrome trim piece. The tailgate also gets a redesign here, which sees the hatch release button, number plate and reverse camera being positioned lower. Proceed further down, and you’ll see the dual exhaust setup that is unique to Turbo variants.

Under the hood, the turbocharged CR-V uses a 1.5 litre direct injection turbocharged engine with 190 hp and 243 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm, paired with an Earth Dreams CVT. By comparison, the 2.4 litre powerplant in the previous CR-V makes 187 hp at 7,000 rpm and 222 Nm at 4,400 rpm, mated to a five-speed automatic transmission.

As with the previous generation CR-V, the new one will be a five-seater only (Indonesia market gets a seven seat option), with Honda Malaysia revealing that buyers in the target market preferred space and features to extra seats, when surveyed. Unfortunately, we aren’t allowed to publish interior photos of the new CR-V due to a strict embargo placed upon the preview, but stay tuned to paultan.org for further updates

2017 Honda CR-V 1.5L VTEC Turbo 2WD (fifth-generation)
Honda CR-V 2.4 4WD i-VTEC (fourth-generation)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Redliner on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:55 am

No replacement for VTEC displacement.

• Born Ugly on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:23 am

It has got the Ford EcoSport face!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Most Malaysians are asking the most important question, how much will this car be?

Will gomen give Malaysians the 30% car price reduction it promised 4 years ago? Or is the gomen not going to honour its promise?

Simple promise like this also the gomen cannot honour, what more bigger promises?

In Australia, the CRV is at RM94k. Comes with Honda Sensing as STANDARD.

A fresh graduate in the Australia earns AUD$4500. (RM15k)

In US, the CRV is US$22k. Comes with Honda sensing as STANDARD.

A fresh graduate there earns US$4500 also. (RM21k)

In Malaysia, a fresh graduate earns RM2500. And according to EPF statistics, 78.3% of all EPF contributors earn ONLY RM1500 and below.

The Honda CRV car is at RM150k to RM170k.

Let us hope gomen keeps their 30% price reduction promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 44
        • kzm (Member) on Jun 16, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Why don’t u try compare with neighboring country? a lot more sense don’t u think?
          Let force govt to increase min salary to RM4.5k for grads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
          Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2017 at 6:09 pm

john you keep on posting the same thing. Obviously you cannot understand English. Tolong belajar ye.

No point gomen reduce X5 from RM588k to RM388k. How many people can afford X5?

It would be better if gomen reduce cars like Saga, Myvi, Persona and Axia. Most people can afford this.

Pls learn English

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios/ city/ fiesta!

But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well, try ukur baju di badan sendri…

• Kopi paste kunta on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Please price at RM135k and give 5 years warranty.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:54 am

Look the same. I rather buy old model. RV sure collapse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:04 pm

Few days back used car dealer beg me to take 6 months old CRV 2.0 for RM90k. Only clock 20,000km and accident free. Still got 4 yrs warranty left

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
        • Now why does it sounds familar like a certain used car salesman here… ohhh, now I geddit…

• mitlanevo on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:04 pm

Current 2.4 model, RM20,000 Raya promo !

• Mr. Octopus on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:09 pm

No action like forced induction…

• Wuntun on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:58 am

Embargo interior pictures for what? You can already see them online. Unless the Malaysia models are ultra special with alien technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • isengard12 on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:11 am

Well liked!!!

• idross on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:47 am

Typical tunnel mndset. many in rural kampung constituencies only read local newspaper & tv media, no online access.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • kuriang on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:11 pm

it is true? my mother at kampung also know about whatsapp. The peoples who dont know about online will not concern about this kind of car.

• Mr. Octopus on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:04 pm

The embargo is not meant to hide the design. It is to refrain from revealing what features will be available for the local market till the very last minute. It’s important that the competition does not get hold of such info ahead of any launch.

• Uncle Simin on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Really ar? Like the competition in Malaysia will be so fast to react? What can they do with the knowledge – launch free carry bag and 5k off promo?

• Soccer dad on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:40 am

Looking for a 7-seater so I’m striking the CR-V off the list. Any suggestions? If I want a 5-seater might as well wait for the C-HR.

• Ollie on Jun 16, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Why so many kids?

Why is there no FC figures published?

The 1,5 T and 2,0 have similar FC. So why force forced induction?

Is it cos its cheaper to produce 1.5 T engines?

What’s the tangible benefit in 1.5T vs 2.0 NA?

• chimagan on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Mitsubishi Outlander!

• arowana on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:44 am

i’m interested to know if our market CR-V will have the gear knob or not… or isit like the NSX type

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:55 am

It has a traditional gearknob. The NSX-like buttons are for the Thai diesel version’s nine-speed automatic only.

• jinggo on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:05 pm

HM really playsafe? Wanna protect the BRV.. come on.. not confident with 7 seater CRV kah? If HM launch the 7 seater as facelift model, it just too late already becoz consumer already bought all new Xtrail / Rav4 / Forester

• totota on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:09 pm

jokes of the day:
    Honda Malaysia revealing that buyers in the target market preferred space and features to extra seats, when surveyed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Prospect Buyer on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:41 pm

It is not a joke… I prefer space rather than cramped and extra weight 3rd row.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
      • totota on Jun 16, 2017 at 2:36 pm

the 3th row can fold if u not need it. it wont affect your space..with 3th row, it is useful if you need to carry more passenger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Just opinion on Jun 16, 2017 at 3:29 pm

I’m owned an x-trail. I had 3 kids. I never used the third row seats when i’m in kl. But when i’m coming back to my home town, it becomes one added advantage coz i can carry my father, mother and my sister for an outing or makan2 without have to used two cars.

It really convinienced to move in one car compared of two bcoz we can chat together while moving and you can gave full concentration on the road compared when convoy bcoz u also need to gave attention to the other cars that are following u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • Fully agreed. It is truly disappointed that it not come with 7 seater option. Now I hv look for others. Sad case.

• Shady on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:24 pm

I also own one. The 3rd is not usable unless your kids are below 6. Adults are out of question. Can’t imagine how you can travel more than 5km with 7 people inside unless all are kids.

• Just opinion on Jun 17, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Dont fool others. 2nd row seat can be slide forward to give more space and legroom for the 3rd row.

• What’s the reason behind 2WD 1.5 turbo as the range topper?

• I’m interested to know if the new CRV has paddle shift?

• Human on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:47 pm

Why not acceleration u put side by side hafriz?. No point talk talk talk, people want to see, the differences. Braking and slalom u can test different time, but not acceleration. So dissapointed. Ya, not much difference like what u said, but at what extend, people cannot see, can only use imagination only. Duh..

• Bernard on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:52 pm

They are both ugly but it’s a Honda so it will sell. The tech is too sophisticated for most …

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:26 pm

When comparing 2 objects, it should be “which is faster”, not “which is fastest”. great video. Nice walking camera work.

• vincent on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:35 pm

All design by Honda Malaysia????

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:52 pm

so disappointed… no drag race to compare.

• arowana on Jun 16, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Dude you must be on weed… SUV aren’t for drag race. As you might not know, SUVs ARE NOT performance vehicles, they are FAMILY ORIENTED VEHICLES.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jun 16, 2017 at 2:24 pm

the old one rear look better than the new one. For the real driving situation i guess the 2.4 with be more fuel economic on Highway drive compare to the 1.5 one.

• on highway..horsepower figures dont mean much for small cc blown engines (unless it’s high boost or competition engine)….displacement advantage means top speed 2.4 gonna be better…bigger engines outperform smaller engines on open roads most of the time for standard spec cars…

• HON-TAH OWNER on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Why bad mouth the old CRV ?????
    You really offending the current owner! I boought this just 18months ago!
    The new one look so owful from the rear!

• RONALD on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:33 pm

Stupid still same old same old no new details….
    Those who book good luck guarantee have shell & 4 wheels….
    Engine…. err did u see any on the display unit….
    Not even talk about the price…
    What price no 1 knows…..
    You are no Tesla or Bentley…..
    All the marketing $$$$ waste…

• lets not worry about the 3rd row seat, is only suite for kids, not suite for adults.its small

• Safety first on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:18 pm

One advise to keep you alive bro. Don’t be along or near the driveway. It looks awfully dangerous. You trusted the driver but sometime you can trust the machine.. live is once only bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Alman on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:33 pm

Ingatkan 7 seater rupanya 5 sja.. Penat tunggu.. Terpaksa lepaskan crv dan beli x-trail