Honda Malaysia airbag inflator replacement status – 81.2% for driver’s side, 59.5% for front passenger

Honda Malaysia has provided a status update on its Takata airbag inflator replacement programme, revealing the overall completion rate for both driver and passenger front airbag inflators replacement is at 70% as of August 8, 2017.

Individually, the completion rate for driver front airbag inflators is at 81.2%, whereas it is 59.5% for front passenger airbag inflators. Both figures represent an increase from those disclosed by HM in the month of July (80.2% for driver and 55.9% for front passenger).

Stock availability for both driver and front passenger airbag inflators continues to remain at 100% to ensure customers are able to have their affected Takata airbag inflators replaced. As part of ongoing efforts, HM will provide airbag replacement activities at Mobile Hubs in selected shopping malls, available every weekend in the month of August.

Customers can also have their affected Takata airbag inflators replaced at selected Petronas stations. For more information on locations and operating hours of the replacement activities, you can refer to the attached tables here.

For airbag replacements at Honda authorised service centres, an appointment will have to be made beforehand. However, those done at Mobile Hubs and selected Petronas stations, an advance appointment is not required, and walk-ins are welcomed.

Once again, it is imperative for customers to replace their potentially defective Takata airbag inflators. You can check your Honda’s update status by calling 1-800-88-2020 or by visiting any authorised Honda dealer. You can also use the company’s online VIN checker to see if your vehicle is affected.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• In another words, front driver has 18.8% chance and front passenger has 40.5% chance of byebye. So if u dun like someone, put them in front passenger seat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Kevin on Aug 09, 2017 at 8:04 am

Mine Toyota still pending for airbag replacement.
    Customer service said no stock for my Altis 2012.
    Waited almost 6 months.

• Basher salesman says: why worry? Superior RV quality and T badge will save u in case airbags become killbags. If not, its cuz of user problem, not superior jepunis quality.

• anonymous on Aug 09, 2017 at 9:42 am

I have been waiting for more than 9 months

• sam12345 on Aug 09, 2017 at 10:19 am

same for mazda 2.. im still not sure gonna wait until when.. btw congrats honda

• old horse on Aug 09, 2017 at 6:16 pm

that is a different when you have a Honda malaysia and running by UMW..Honda was as bad before Honda malaysia came in to manage DRB

• anonymous on Aug 09, 2017 at 9:40 am

HM, please don’t bullshit, are you sure 100% stock availability? Why i was told currently stock unavailable by Honda SC?

• transformer on Aug 09, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Honda M is doing a great job and very transparent.

Nissan Tan Chong M on the other hand only replace Driver Airbag for Grand Livina. No replacement for passenger side. And Tan Chong never ever publish their stats of percentage completed replaced. Same goes to UMW Toyota about their Vios recall completion.