No retrenchments at Proton, workforce set to increase

Proton says that there will be no downsizing of its workforce following its tie-up with Geely, theSundaily reports. The automaker is set to retain its entire workforce of 9,600 personnel, deputy international trade and industry minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan told the Dewan Rakyat yesterday.

He said that the new Proton management has decided not to retrench any employees. “The government can give an assurance that none of the 9,600 employees of Proton would be retrenched,” he said in response to a question about management and employment risk following the strategic partnership.

“The entire Proton workforce will be well utilised efficiently to ensure Proton achieves short-term and long-term goals,” he said. He explained that the company’s internal transformation plan will be implemented through a cross-functional team programme.

Ahmad Maslan said that Proton staff will also be given opportunities to join human capital development programmes organised by Geely at its various design R&D centres across the globe, including China, Sweden and the United States.

He added that the carmaker aims to expand its workforce to 20,000 in the next 10 years, and sales are also expected to climb to 500,000 units per year within the next decade.

The increased volume will benefit more than 230 of Proton’s vendors, Ahmad Maslan said. He added that the number of vendors is also set to increase. “Geely also aims to increase the number of Proton vendors and enhance their capacity in their quest to produce better quality products,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Madnor on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Bagus Geely prihatin. P1 baru ada HARAPAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Nov 10, 2017 at 11:10 pm

If I can think five steps ahead, the smart people in Geely and Government probably can think ten.

A ‘stupid’ guy can either be: 1) truly stupid, or 2) very clever. Donald is one of these.

• Md Shahab on Nov 11, 2017 at 7:54 am

Does Geely know about this? Cause China Geely is very trim and hardworking workforce. They don’t bilip in keeping unnecessary overbloated staff.

See, this is already one example where Proton aka DRB has made a decision that is going to anger and make China Geely boil angry

China policy is very simple. Lean and trim workforce with maximum productivity.

• John Tongsan on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:12 am

Proton staffs are attending Mandarin classes.

• I hope everyone here supports Proton cause Proton is our National car maker. We need to help the company stay alive.

Remember Proton is our national heritage. Perodua is celup Jepunis overlords and is not tulen Malaysian company like Proton.

I am confident Proton will sell 500000 cars every year soon. Tak payah tunggu 10 tahun. 2 atau 3 tahun dah dapat 500k sales! Go Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Thorque on Nov 13, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Proton exports to bangladesh, turkey, iran, chile, burma growing stronk.. Go Proton!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Fantastic news! This proves Geely is the right business partner for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • lolpanda on Nov 11, 2017 at 5:49 am

it doesn’t matter if a cat is black or white so long as it catches dedak mice

• John Tongsan on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:18 am

Better sell or rent empty factory for Perodua to meet the demand 1 million units new Myvi.

• Nocturnal Animals on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Proton is even better than Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 38
  • I miss Ohwai on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:58 pm

This is the biggest joke of the century. Firstly, why is the Minister announcing this? Didn’t they tell us many many years ago that Proton was in PRIVATE hands and Gomen had no interest in it?

Then they further said it was DRB’s concern and that Proton was FULLY private.

Now, even better, Proton is half China company and yet, our Ministers are making announcements for Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 11, 2017 at 12:02 am

it is obvious someone from parliament asking him bout that.

• Nasser on Nov 11, 2017 at 6:13 am

Kudos to the new Geely management. Maslan mentioned “The entire Proton workforce will be well utilised efficiently”.

Proton workforce last time not efficient?
      #maslanbingung.gif

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 11, 2017 at 2:10 pm

I suppose you don’t know where the question was asked and where the minister spoke, and even how the parliamentary system works. Silly.

• 50k to 500k in 10 years??? on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Are you serious Proton? Now, from 50k….can jump to 500k?

Don’t forget 90% of current Proton sales come from Government departments and Ministries.

Government going to increase more purchases? Whilst our hospitals still have lack of funding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • Ruslan Bahari on Nov 11, 2017 at 2:12 pm

If you had bothered to follow the tie up story from the beginning, you would have known the fact that 500,000 was the target regionally by 2027. Bacalah, jangan sibuk nak kutuk aja.

• Karam Singh on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:14 pm

It will be almost impossible to sell 500k cars per mth for proton if the after sales service standard is not there. This is where the first point that you had failed for years…hmm.. I mean decades. The reason you had failed in many international markets as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • shahrulnizar on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Comment coming from Datuk Ahmad Maslan.
    Thank you Datuk for the reassurance.
    BTW are you the management spokesman for Geely ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Medic on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Be like a phoenix, proton. Rise from ashes and give us superb cars, just like how volvo did. Make the automobile market more competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Good. Unlike others C&M always come out bad comments.

• Like we all diehards always say, Goodluck proton! hope won’t end up a spring chicken in the end.

• fanofthisite on Nov 12, 2017 at 12:36 am

IF they can recover from the new assault of the myvi

• That is the problem with p1. Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • ccy7218 on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Kerjasama yg agak lembab rasanya… Entahlah, mungkin p1 sekarang tengah kerja kuat kut, nanti shocked everyone with excellent product just like p2….

• farghmee on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:17 am

Sapot sapot… yg dh lembab 30tahun tak kene retrench. ingat maslan tau magik ker.

• When is the new turbo coming out?? After 2 years, still testing?? Or, scrap everything?? Since last year, no more open day??

• Next year baru ada, skrg jgn tanya bukan bukan

• Malaysian Driver on Nov 11, 2017 at 3:49 pm

You can forget the turbo already. Chinaman says use their engine instead, save money, reduce cost, habis cerita.

• counterKKK on Nov 13, 2017 at 8:10 am

hahaha…. Triple KKK… still waiting for P1 open day…hahaha… deep inside ur heart still interested in P1. “P1 di hatiku….”

• Retrench the chief designer will do

• chopper2 on Nov 10, 2017 at 11:43 pm

Time to remove the cancer & start a new.
    Bloated workforce needs to be trimmed.
    Automation & robotics replacing humans
    and increase in productivity minus the numerous tea breaks throughout the day.
    I just passed the Shah Alam plant today.
    4.50 pm and everyone is already sow-kong leaving for home.
    No use making empty promises to appease the staff of Proton , Datuk. Though measures needs to be taken in these desperate times.
    Proton is bleeding. Let the management of Proton make the decision. Not you Datuk.

• pondan4 on Nov 11, 2017 at 5:44 am

Firstly, gov better hands off from mingling with Proton. It’s a private company not your toy. Secondly, keeping or retrenching is under company management discretion in order to make a company more efficient. Thirdly, underperform employees and suppliers should be discontinued. It’s a profit driven company, not glc and not charity.

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:05 am

China and some countries have a strategy to go electric in the future. I believe the reason for the no-retrenchment is that the Proton plants are for non-electric countries.

• Nasi Brani on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:25 am

Malu lah…..needing Ahmad Maslan 3.85 to do free “advertisment” for Proton….

• Letstorque on Nov 11, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Come on, this statement coming from Ahmad Maslan….

You guys still believe in him?

• No proton no basher on Nov 11, 2017 at 9:09 pm

Coming from the minister that said “GST Akan turunkan harga barang”

And now proton will sell 500k unit in 10 years

His word is very assuring I must say…

• ccy7218 on Nov 11, 2017 at 11:20 pm

The dawn of between Geely and p1…

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 12, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Didn’t this Mini-star also said that post GST prices will not increase but may even decrease?

P1 staff, if you believe his statement then you must also believe in fairies and unicorns.

• Alson P on Nov 13, 2017 at 2:56 am

Can see the bright future for Proton.. Go go go