Proton outlines quality, after-sales improvement initiatives; aims to top CSI rankings within three years

National carmaker Proton announced its quality improvement initiatives at the official opening of its just-upgraded 3S (sales, service and spares) centre in Kapar, Klang earlier today, encompassing aspects of its business value chain. This includes design, suppliers, manufacturing and the aftermarket, in order to ensure end-to-end and continuous product and quality improvements, according to the company.

The automaker is aspiring to attain the top spot in Customer Service Index (CSI) rankings in the country within three years. On the design aspect, an Engineering Quality Department has been established in order to provide Critical to Quality (CTQ) input to designers and engineers. Benchmarking, as well as the JD Power Initial Quality Study (IQS) are sourced as the primary inputs for improvement, it said.

Parts supplies will be subject to stringent control of Incoming Parts Quality and a new Quality Assurance System Audit (QASA). Meanwhile, manufacturing processes will have an indicator for defects per unit (DPU) in order to measure the plant’s consistency of quality, and a Process Audit will determine the effectiveness of processes which have been aligned with parent company Geely’s process audit standard. A task force will also look into daily market issues for efforts towards reducing top warranty claims, Proton added.

The Global Customer Product Audit (GCPA) is used as a benchmark for Proton to conduct its product quality audits, and it is a system also used for Geely and Volvo cars in tandem with global standards, says the national car company. The audit system is one that rates issues encountered on the production line based on their severity.

A system will give points of 300, 100, 50 and 30 depending on the severity of the issue; the higher the score the more serious it is, and any area with a score of 300 is deemed critical enough to stop production while corrective measures are implemented. Proton aims to achieve a score of 1,500 in the GCPA by the end of this year; as of June, the company has managed a score of 1,763.

Proton has also invested in a new, state-of-the-art production plant that is currently under construction in Tanjung Malim, which is progressing as scheduled and the forthcoming SUV will be the first to emerge from the new facility. Beyond that, it will also serve to assemble all future models co-developed by Geely and Proton, the company said.

The national automaker will also introduce a Visual Quality System (VQS) at the new facility, which according to Proton is the same as the one used by Geely in China. To ensure that the quality improvement initiatives remain on target, the quality improvement team meets weekly to discuss implementation issues and deadlines, and milestones are checked off as they are achieved in order to keep the final goal in focus.

Proton auditors are also sent to Geely in China for upskilling and to be familiarised with GCPA, product, aftersales and supplier quality, which are foreseen to pay off in the long term towards achieving and maintaining the scores targeted by the company, it said.

hdr

Aftersales support also gains its own set of improvement initiatives. First up in this area is the upgrading of more outlets to 3S or 4S centres to serve as one-stop locations that will better serve its customers, particularly to have the convenience of sales and service at the same time, said Proton.

Customers returning for service needs is recognised as part of customer retention, and the company endeavours to better understand its customers’ needs and vehicle history. It also recognises the need to be consistent with deliveries to its customers, and ultimately to build long-term relationships with them by continuously meeting their expectations.

In the efforts towards changing customer perception of the brand, Proton identified eight drivers of internal processes at the front line of customer service and at the workshop stage.

Firstly, service appointments are to be scheduled proactively, apportioned to 80% for set appointments and the remaining 20% for walk-in customers. Next, service standard practices and customer service index improvement activities are put in place for the standardising of communication and handling of customers’ complaints.

Service advisors will need to adhere to a standard set in order to ensure customers get the required attention and service, while technicians will need to maximise productivity in order to meet all customers’ technical needs. All front-line and workshop positions should be sufficiently staffed and with the necessary quality, which is to be knowledgeable and skilled for the job at hand.

For vehicles about to be returned to customers, the 4M (Man, Machine, Method & Material) and 5S (Seiri, Seiton, Seiso, Seiketsu & Shitsuke) items have to be complied with in order to ensure the optimal condition of the vehicles. Parts are to be kept at a fill rate of 90% and above by referring to the average monthly demand quantity, and by monitoring back orders. Finally, Vehicle Off-Road (VOR) cases are to be monitored daily, and cases requiring head office assistance will be raised by the Market Investigation Report (MIR).

GALLERY: Geely Boyue facelift

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 11, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Bravo Proton. You are doing well. Best of luck okay.

CEO Li has turnaround this company in 6 months what the past local CEOs could not do in 20 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • YB Albert on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Well ,only half the battle is won.The other half has to do with the product range of proton.
      Apart from Saga and persona…if u r hoping for Boyue to save Protong…we will be totally disappointed.It may bring in sales of 5 to 10 thousand units per month.The Exora,Suprima,preve and Ertiga are not selling well.The Hondana hardly moving except for gomen orders.
      Just ask yourself.If Mercedes Benz are of inferior quality with a big price tag and 7 star showroom,u think people will order?
      A nice showroom is just a plus point.As pointed out countless times,the campro engine and Punch CVT gearbox are outdated.DR.Li must ship them out to the Yangtse River and dump them.Bring in some smaller Volvo engines,just a suggestion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:04 pm

1. When the rocket-speed Red Ferrari starts to become a blue cam-takpro Gen2 ….
        2. Giving you posts of CEO or Deputy CEO is indirectly asking you to shut up, keep you mouth shut
        3. Delaying your case unsolved is to hold your nose to make sure you only say coconuts and bottles.
        4. Remember that Proton pun pernah memenangi majority car market share many years ago.
        5. Real changes towards better tomorrow of Protons needs real reformation and keadilan towards customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Same old same old story of repeating what they said 2 years ago…

https://paultan.org/2016/01/14/proton-2016-plans-four-new-models-emphasis-on-improving-aftersales-new-turning-point-for-carmaker/

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:29 pm

Pity that for 30 years Malaysia did not learn how to run a car company properly and that we needed China to save our National car maker.

Anyway good for Proton, we need foreign brains to bring us forward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 12, 2018 at 6:27 am

I am confident with the Boyue and the efforts by Geely to introduce their range of cars, especially their EV cars.

From now on, Proton will do well. Good we kept the company going.

Proud to be a Proton owner!

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 11, 2018 at 6:48 pm

We must thank two people for Proton’s success. Tun M and CEO Li.

Lucky these two individuals are steering the Proton ship to greater heights.

Proton is destined to do well from now on because both the Captains have brains. Thank you Tun. Thank you Li

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:04 pm

Tun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:33 pm

Tun is cleaning up the country from the mess the previous corrupted regime left us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
        • M.Hamzah on Jul 12, 2018 at 12:48 am

Perhaps Hafriz can remind this bloke about what he said in the previous article.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 12, 2018 at 10:00 am

He reminded you, so no need to remind twice. Behave yeah?

• M.Hamzah on Jul 12, 2018 at 2:17 pm

Does “you folks” specifically only points to me? Do you know English vocab or are you plain stupid?
            Look in the mirror because your comment above just reflected your poor attitude to respect the wishes of those running this site.

• Uhh what did Tun M actually did?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Darren on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:01 pm

Crippled Proton so much that it needed to find Geely for help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:31 pm

Lucky China saved Proton and also Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • lilytan on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:50 am

Luckily ahjib intervened and stop the rot. But until we see tangible results dont take the bait. Proton had screwed many pledges over the years and turn out to be empty cans.

• Precisely

• If not for him, u will still be paying GST for ur goods. Why would sales of Proton increased? It’s becoz of him kicking out the corrupted one and restoring economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:38 pm

Yes, we must thank P1 success solely to China. Lucky China has saved all the above failing brands.

• Znnsjz on Jul 11, 2018 at 7:20 pm

Starting 2019 to 2035 it’s return back to become Proton time. Their downfall are over.
    Hidup seperti roda.

Mark my word.
    Proton in 2020 will hit 20k unit per month car sold and become top1 again .

Mark my word…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • Gov oso go Back to the Future to the 90s, so P1 oso can go Back to the Future to the 90s, yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Paddlepop on Jul 11, 2018 at 7:49 pm

Being left to rot for so long.
      Malaysia & Proton, together we will rise again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • is it apply for old proton car? I want to restore my waja. no workshop can solve the kriuk2 sound.

• Sure can. Just look at what they did here:
      https://paultan.org/2011/09/14/my-proton-makeover-1992-saga-handed-back-to-fadly/
      and
      https://paultan.org/2012/05/24/my-proton-makeover-madam-lees-1991-saga-revealed/
      and
      https://paultan.org/2012/02/22/my-proton-makeover-iswara-goes-back-to-norzamzarini/
      and
      http://paultan.org/2011/12/21/my-proton-makeover-sashideran-gets-his-reworked-wira/
      and
      http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/my-proton-makeover-the-satria-gti-goes-back-to-hafiz/
      and
      http://paultan.org/2012/05/17/my-proton-makeover-amirul-reunited-with-his-satria-1-3/

• swee leong on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Great plan , but Malaysia typically sucks at execution , so lets see ..

• Carlover on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:31 pm

Nothing is new about quality, infact proton has got its quality system in place already for a long time. What most important is the final car presented to customers. With less defects and good efficient n reliable engine etc n also cheap servicing cost. Thats all average people want. How u control ur quality, i dont care, just deliver a value for money car. U see honda, they got many quality issues like the airbags etc, but yet people still buy their car. Even more sales than proton. People died in their car because of defective airbags. Well, in Malaysia, we can say, most important thing, is the power of brand. Anyway proton cars not that bad at all especially the new persona.

• Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:53 pm

Bravo campro & punch cvt.

• Its good to dream…..

• Ahmad on Jul 12, 2018 at 3:33 am

Still a failure company no matter what.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 12, 2018 at 7:19 am

The weakest link in all these QC QA is the MAN on the job. The typical infamous Proton “Tidak Apa” attitude, the “Macam itu punya, Abang” “couldn’t care less” laziness & the long running super poor build & assembly quality.

If the staff are still psychologically having the above attitude & mind set, then Proton will fail, irrespective of any QAQC systems in place. Just like the unappetising kangkung incident, the Malaysian psyche & way of fixing the problem is ignoring and hoping the complaint will go away. No initiative to proactively find a solution to fix the problem, pray the complaint will forget about it & best of all, pretend to never heard of the complaint at all.

Typical Malaysian thinks that some high tech hardware can solve all their problems & by investing money to buy these hardwares, the problems will go away. Time to change those attitude, mind set & thinking.

• azrai on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:47 am

So buy Proton in only 3 years later la that way…

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:52 am

If only proton can at least do something especially about fuel efficiency..

Let me make this clear..FOR EXAMPLE :
    U pay rm600-700 monthly for new persona VS rm700-800 for new city or vios…which one u choose ?

1. Even though national car rm100 cheaper.. but fuel consumption wins at import cars..
    2. The interest rate for national never be less than 3%.. mostly at 3.4-3.5%.. but imported cars, u only being charged 2.5%
    2. After 5-9 years… the resale value drop too much for proton but toyota and honda still have high value.. perodua however wins bcoz their listen well to their customers.. ( fuel saver cars , cheap maintainance and maybe ‘cute’.. )…i’m using this word mybe bco too many myvi in malaysia.. haha.. oh.. and perodua alza.. really value buy especially if u bought the full spec with tv inside..

*this is based on my humble opinion.. mid-entry level salaries.. , well even if i’m not… i would’nt pay too much for depreciation things..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Nationalcarowner on Jul 12, 2018 at 10:10 am

You got the points but actually city or vios monthly are sadly nearing rm 1k as the price are 40% more than the proton. Honda toyota service maintainances fees almost doubled of the proton.

Talking about resale value after 9 years:
      proton rm50k sell for rm10k u lost rm40k
      vios rm80k sell for rm25k u lost rm55k

Perodua car yes cheap, fuel efficient and resale value not bad. But the safety and car interior quality so so only, the new myvi nvh are lousy.

The summary are city or vios a not bad buy lah for mid range incomers. Buy before september to save the few thousands tax.

• Persona owner on Jul 12, 2018 at 11:50 am

My dear Muhammad Arshad , no need la to compare P1 with Toyota or Honda , you opinion was good but if just can afford vios dugong or honda city kotak or jazz kontot , no need to be proud , Honda car after 9 years maintenanance like bela biawak hidup

• improve within 3 years? why don’t 30 years? you have been pulling the legs of the people for 30 plus years, what is another 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • At least P1 is improving. Toyota pulak is deteriorating, what with FCgate, airbaggate, carpetgate, steelgate, QCgate, axlegate, dunno-what-else-gate.

• Improve what? All we can see is sales dropping lower and lower. Probably next year will fight with nissan for insignificant spot.

• Persona owner on Jul 12, 2018 at 11:52 am

My dear Muhammad Arshad , no need la to compare P1 with Toyota or Honda , you opinion was good but if just can afford vios dugong or honda city kotak or jazz kontot , no need to be proud , Honda car after 9 years maintenanance like bela biawak hidup

• Mike Khoh on Jul 12, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Potong 20 years failed and in the red.Now new CEO bring life back.quality and after sales service very important. Hope all well like before.cheers