SPYSHOTS: Proton Persona facelift, X70-style grille?

It’s not just the Proton Iriz that’s gearing up for a mid-life refresh; its sedan sister, the Proton Persona is also set for a facelift. Reader Faiz Suparman sent in these shots of a taped-up Proton Persona roaming the streets, with camouflage on the front and rear ends.

It appears like the entire Persona front end – grille and lower bumper – will be new for the facelift, with only the headlamp cluster carried over. While the current car’s grille is akin to a straight bridge connecting the lights, the grille shape we see here is more of a V, with a separate letterbox slot below.

The grille insert appears similar to the “Infinite Weave” motif seen on the Proton X70 SUV. Note that the grille on this Persona mule differs from the grille on the Iriz facelift mule – that one has long chrome strips flowing from the top of the headlamps into the grille, meeting at the Proton badge.

The Persona facelift is set to have a new grille and lower bumper

The arrangement of the elements in the lower bumper is more conventional here, compared to today’s Persona. The “mouth” appears to be smaller, and could very well end up in-line with the side air intakes, which are in turn larger. The latter houses horizontal LED daytime running light strips, which are a new addition. The overall look has similarities with the X70.

From what we can see so far, the Persona will have a more conventional front end design, whereas Proton might be going for a more sporty/bold look for the Iriz, which fits in with the B-segment duo’s sedan and hatchback identities. The wheels, which are masked, have eight spokes versus the 10 on the Iriz mule.

At the back, the prototype looks to have retained the current Persona’s tail lamps, slim bootlid spoiler and horizontal trim bridging the lights. The lowest floor of the tall butt appears to have been renovated – currently, the rear fog lamp and reflectors are on the same plane, but it’s not so in these pics.

The Persona was launched in August 2016, which makes it nearly two and a half years old, ripe for a facelift. Malaysia’s B-segment sedan leader Honda City was facelifted in March 2017, and a new-generation Toyota Vios will surface very soon, having been officially previewed at KLIMS 2018.

Will the facelifted Persona and Iriz persist with today’s 1.6L CVT combo, or will there powertrain updates? Like what you see?

GALLERY: Proton Persona

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• C’mon, even myvi got reflective LEDs upfront
    Step up proton, step up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Poor Prootn. They still think their Saga, Persona, Perdana and Exora will live on.

They are so naive. They don’t know Geely’s Master Plan. Hello Proton, Geely intends to wipe out all Proton cars for good. The Saga, Persona, Exora, Suprima, Iriz, Perdana, Ertiga all will be history.

They want Proton to market ALL their Geely cars and not just the X70. X70 is just the start. Look at world history and see how China colonises and takes over businesses. It is mainly to sell their own products.

So Proton can syiok sendiri with all they want with existing Proton models, but in 5 years time, Proton will just be an official rebadger for the whole fleet of Geely models in China now. And Proton cars will be Classic Collector cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 28
      • Azlano on Dec 03, 2018 at 5:03 pm

Persona is about expressing executive sportiness design. Has bold and distinctive face, with sweeping roofline, tall glasshouse and sculptured bodyside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 13
      • Hey…Teh Tarik if you dont like Proton…dont downgrade la..if you proud of China products please berambus la go to China tongsan maaa…

• What?? on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Give them a break lah, specs not even out yet and already people complain don’t have this don’t have that.

You need to step up your patience, step up please

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
    • John Bin Dedak on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Proton don’t bother about safety features upgrade. Cause Malaysians life not important to Proton. Janji can sell.

This is why nobody buys Persona and Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 54
      • Dylan Ch'ng on Dec 03, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Excuses me, Proton’s are very safe. They’re just shocked like many of other makes that Perodua have managed to install AEB into they’re Myvi. Just give Proton some time and even the Saga will have AEB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) (Member) on Dec 03, 2018 at 4:51 pm

But at least it did not felt like tin milo like Citi, Bios and Mivi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • loler on Dec 03, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Lol if p1 dun put VSC until now myvi also dun have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Rightwinger on Dec 03, 2018 at 6:58 pm

5 bintan ASEAN NCAP n still you claim ‘dont bother abot safety’?
        what in heavens are you smoking la? it dumbing you down la rodent..

• Abdul Ghani on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:40 am

5 star also still cannot sell. Only feeble people bilip in Proton 5 star.

Preve and Iriz also 5 star. But still cannot sell. Rakyat know Proton 5 star is actually 2 star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Yeah, like you so “hardworking” bullshit here and there, but still no sales. All Rush prospects went to book X70. What is the problem?

• Phaser on Dec 04, 2018 at 10:33 am

So Myvi 5-star is also 2-star correct? It’s the same testing protocol done by the same independent body so they must be lying about everyone right? I hope you get a brain from Santa for Christmas. You need it.

• Proton owner on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:18 am

I’m proton owner.5 Bintang because they are using new car to do testing. My car After 1year safety belt rosak, cermin not functioning , not sure airbag can use or not because you won’t know until accident happened.

• newme on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:30 pm

Actually they do not need any facelift. The current model is still fresh due to low sales volume. You only see them once a while.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Good one! You are right, seeing a Persona is like seeing a Porsche 911 Carrera in KL. I think I see more Porsche Carrera in KL than Personas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
    • John Bin Dedak on Dec 03, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Why even buying Persona? Buy today, within one year, want to sell, to get RM30k also you will be lucky

2018 Persona RM60k
      2018 Myvi RM55k

Two years later you want to sell

2020 Persona RM25k
      2020 Myvi RM48k

When the bank ask you to top up the loan by few thousand ringgit, you will ask yourself this, “What have I been paying for the past 48x months?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • 2016 PROTON PERSONA PREMIUM SEDAN 1597CC
        Market Value RM 39,900
        Original Price RM 59,350

2016 PERODUA MYVI ADVANCE HATCHBACK 1495CC
        Market Value RM 36,300
        Original Price RM 57,968

What are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • newme on Dec 04, 2018 at 10:53 am

Highest brand new persona is only RM54K. Where got RM59K. Nak tipu pun agak-agak lah.

• JLT8119 on Dec 03, 2018 at 8:31 pm

2018 buy myvi 55K, 2020 sell your 3 year old myvi for 48K? Really? Please share with me which used car dealer will take a 2 year old myvi for 7K lower than a brand new unit. Dumb comments…

• myvifan on Dec 03, 2018 at 9:23 pm

Myvi you can cheap in mudah, 2016 – 20k

• Yeah right on Dec 04, 2018 at 3:21 am

Another lie! Where can a 2 years old Myvi get 48k? It would be lucky to get 40k. Want to bullshit also need to think first, troll.

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) (Member) on Dec 03, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Where do you live in KL bro? I live in KL too and I have seen lots of Persona on the highway on my way to office. And at least 5 Persona are in my neighbourhood. But Kia and Hyundai are a rare sight to me. Hardly seen one except for Starex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • I had thought the facelift was to get rid of the dugongness, of which only the Toyota Vios has managed to pull off. This seems pretty pointless… just to align the design motifs with the X70?

Shortsighted.

• Projohn telah habis on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:32 pm

Habisla Plontong! Everyone already booked Vios. This one too late for sure no sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
    • I heard only 500 booking only, where got everyone?

• Toyota salesmen nothing to do in empty showroom, so come here to tokok.

• vioser on Dec 03, 2018 at 9:38 pm

Because “new” vios is crampy like A segment car

• Nowadays, so difficult to see newly-registered Vios on the road. Only Hilux is selling for UMW, other models are half past dead. Ask how many the new Rush they sold since launch, they will be embarrassed to tell.

• I predict :
      Perodua 14755 units; actual: 19528 units
      Honda 7616 units; actual: 7246 units
      Proton 5093 units (confirmed)
      Toyota 4760 units; actual: 4757 units
      Nissan 3332 units; actual 2500 units

• Ksatria on Dec 03, 2018 at 3:42 pm

No safety features upgrade?

• kenot on Dec 03, 2018 at 4:17 pm

This persona is difficult to make it beauty. need to accept it.

• Mr Hakim on Dec 03, 2018 at 4:18 pm

Make the interior like the X70-ish also la Proton, sure hot.

• Bernard on Dec 03, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Do so little insignificant nonsense but make it seemed like they built a Ferrari like car from ground up!

Pity….

• Eh, these are spyshots lah. Not official from P1 to promote “to build a Ferrari”. You so sensitive for what? Pity…

• Owner on Dec 03, 2018 at 9:18 pm

PROTON better solve the rattling dashboard, plastic krik-krok sound instead of facelifts.

• omg look at the tiny wheel.

cars that look like these u probably find in india as budget car

• Selvam on Dec 13, 2018 at 11:35 pm

Please don’t downgrade cars in India.Have you been to India or driven a car there?

• Suriya Sankaran on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:41 am

wished Proton will incorporate some of intelligent electronic functions as we have seen from X70

Proton should also allow its R3 Motorsport division to produce a performance tune variant and options off stayling kit.

It would certainly be a good leverage to promote the base cars

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 04, 2018 at 8:00 am

No matter how hard the Proton attempt to rectify the design of Persona I still feel the body is bulky with smaller wheel. It is like an elephant riding on small wheel.

In fact the new Persona design not that bad overall, if Proton can make it longer and wider, lower down the car height to look thinner (now is consider very thick) and enlarge the wheel frame to fit in 16 inch I bet it will look greater.

• That wud be on a totally diff chassis alredi, which defeats the purpose of this Persona2 which is to sharing platform with Iriz. Hopefully new Persona3 or Preve2 will be based on Bin Rui.

• passion on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:27 am

how about QC issues? any ownwers here?

• Dying to get local turbo car on Dec 04, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Please bring gkui, lotus handling and 2.0 or 1.5 turbo option

• Jason on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:50 pm

The ugliest car ever

• Exterior look better than new Vios, only the interior part not stunning but just same as new Vios boring interior design. Hope new facelift got major change interior with no price hikes.

• Vios MinumX8 has no shape on Dec 06, 2018 at 4:31 pm

Wrong Jason!
      Vios is the ugliest car ever
      Then it is correct Jason!

• Derrick Goh on Jan 25, 2019 at 8:48 pm

Nice look. Improve the interior finishing (premium feel plastic & chrome please). Improve the fuel consumption (+5-10% efficiency). Persona is again hot cake ady.