GALLERY: 2019 Proton Saga 1.3 Standard AT – RM36k

The facelifted 2019 Proton Saga was launched just last night, but unfortunately the national carmaker only showcased the top-spec RM39,800 1.3 Premium AT model at the event. However, we then found out that the flagship Centre of Excellence showroom had the mid-range RM35,800 Standard AT on display, so we headed over earlier today to bring you the first proper images of the car.

Of course, we would’ve liked to feature the base Standard MT as well, which kicks off the renewed range at RM32,800. But Proton has yet to produce a single display unit of that particular variant, we were told, and in any case the automatic models are expected to make up the lion’s share of sales.

Back to the car you see here. Firstly, we should point out that while this variant does carry the Standard moniker, the addition of alloy wheels and ABS brings it closer in spec to the previous Executive model, even though there are a couple of omissions that come with the associated price drop.

So, for the RM4,000 you save over the Premium, what exactly do you miss out on? Well, for a start you don’t get LED daytime running lights, and the fog lights on the outgoing Executive has also been removed. The alloys have also shrunk from 15 inches in diameter to 14, and they too come in a new design for 2019. As before, the Standard MT rides on steel wheels, but they’ve been upsized to 14 inches.

Meanwhile, the door mirrors and handles are finished in unpainted black plastic here instead of body colour, and it’s the other way around for the B-pillars. Lastly, front parking sensors are no longer standard equipment – they’re now only fitted to the Premium model.

Inside, the biggest change is that the Premium’s Android-based infotainment system and its accompanying seven-inch touchscreen have given way to a simple radio, still mounted on a freestanding panel. The new design features a flush design with touch-operated buttons instead of physical switches and knobs, and while it still features Bluetooth connectivity, the CD player has been omitted.

Other items that are Premium-only are the multifunction controls on the steering wheel and four speakers – the Standard models only get two speakers. Crucially, these variants still get the new, more legible instrument cluster and the monochrome multi-info display.

The automatic version also receives the plusher tricot headlining, damped grab handles and LED map lights that elude the manual. The seats on the lower-end models are covered in a rougher fabric upholstery compared to the Premium’s more, um, premium-feeling cloth trim.

As for safety, you lose out on the Premium model’s stability control and hill start assist, but all models finally get ABS with EBD and brake assist (previously missing on the Standard models), which is a big plus in my book. Dual airbags and rear ISOFIX child seat anchors continue to be standard fare here.

Mechanically, all models are pretty much identical, retaining the use of a 1.3 litre naturally-aspirated VVT four-cylinder petrol engine that makes 95 PS at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm at 4,000 rpm. One big change introduced on the facelifted Saga is a Hyundai-sourced four-speed automatic gearbox to replace the infamous Punch CVT. The Standard MT variant soldiers on with the same Getrag five-speed manual as before.

Browse full specifications and equipment of the facelifted 2019 Proton Saga on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Saga 1.3 Premium AT

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 07, 2019 at 10:11 pm

Photographing the manual variant will probably near impossible unless one track down a owner. Doubt there will be ever show units of this.

• Likely will have plenty. This car is perfect for taxis and Grab driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Wilsen on Aug 08, 2019 at 12:50 am

That and the gooder looks esp their elder brother Mesidis-inspired front and rear bumpers

• Disappointed Saga Owner on Aug 08, 2019 at 11:05 am

In the event of an accident, the car wont kill you but the interior hard plastics will

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
          • Edwin L on Aug 08, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Goes the same for virtually every you can find under RM100k, except for Proton X70.

• Faker on Aug 10, 2019 at 10:49 pm

No shame driving a Proton … But shameless driving a fake Proton

• Sama Kunta Loo on Aug 11, 2019 at 2:00 pm

No shame driving a Toyota or even Proton … But bloody shameless driving a ‘fake Toyotaik’ junkmaker (i heard their so-called dino 4AT go big gearbox issue, try order manual and you will get heavy insult from their junk car salesman)

• Lulu meme on Aug 07, 2019 at 10:42 pm

Ini proton saga ahhh… “kereta semadi takda kereta”. Pilihan terakhir baru semadi semadi bili ini saga.

• WTFSAGA on Aug 07, 2019 at 10:17 pm

Dunno whether to laff or kry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Danial Md on Aug 08, 2019 at 7:58 am

(Like) P1 Saga
      (Dislike) P2 Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 26
      • Those vote “dislike” dunno Bezza is RM14000 expensive than Saga.

• Stupid, idiot, where got RM14000 expensive than Saga? Pls do homework first before make any comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Saga 1.3 RM32800, Bezza 1.3 RM46800, different RM14000. Stupid and idiot copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • You should laff because it is cheaper car to own and far better than expensive Axia & Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • Wally on Aug 08, 2019 at 11:16 am

You should cry then, if your sole evaluation is price only .. better you take MRT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • English Teacher on Aug 08, 2019 at 4:33 pm

“…far better than expensive Axia & Bezza.”
          You should learn to read complete sentences before jumping to conclusions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
          • Yes, understood teacher. In fact, should used tremendous advantage.

• RM14000 different not good enough? Bought the lower spec Saga can save the money for petrol usage or …ya, can take so many times MRT

• Ah meng on Aug 08, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Proton can sale cheap coz they can begging gov money to cover their loss.. Perodua can not do that.. If loss, gov don wan to gip tongkat loorrr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • Idiot. Your left your brain at LRT right?

• Is truth, only your eyes blind cannot believe what you see. I think is your brain left at wc

• Laugh if you are looking to get the Saga, because it is now improved with lower prices. Cry if you just bought the pre-facelift Saga or Bezza.

• Haha lol on Aug 08, 2019 at 11:12 am

U should larf cos still many people buy perodua cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Nice looking and cheap but well equipped, a hallmark of Proton cars. Good job Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • mbakri on Aug 08, 2019 at 1:34 pm

Thats the spirit mang! Proton penambahbaikan berterusan kaizen. Servis aftersales pulak pasni

Segera capai cita yang satu.
      Di alam Malaysia baru!

• ProProton on Aug 07, 2019 at 11:52 pm

What a negative written article concentrating on shortcomings of the Standard as compared to the Premium model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 08, 2019 at 9:19 am

The whole point of the article is to tell you the difference between the Standard and Premium models – what you get (or do not get) for paying RM4,000 less. We write for our readers first and foremost, not Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
      • Relax, Mr Englishman. Some people can only see the glass half full. LoL

• Baguus on Aug 08, 2019 at 7:20 am

Be honest, with this price and this product equipment list, what else can v ask for ? I must say bravo to Proton this round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • No mention anywhere on the fuel consumption. They must have knew they screwed up by reverting back to the Archaic 4AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • Claimed fuel economy figures are never accurate anyway. You think Bezza and can get anywhere near it’s claimed figures? Perodua owners will tell you it is far worse.

• Shakri on Aug 08, 2019 at 10:24 am

Spot on. Should put in the 7-spd DCT instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Ruslan Bahari on Aug 08, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Yes, that’s why the launched it. Because they screwed up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • A Malaysian only. on Aug 08, 2019 at 10:07 am

It really surprised me.. I’m a owner of a saga flx sv, this model really make much difference compared to my own model, and it was more cheaper than my own model too. What i can said is, proton really did hear out what was malaysian need finally. This is the real people’s car. BTW, this price is really cheap, but the problem is, the bank loan not that easy to approve.

• Campro vvt + 4AT is good.

Campro vvt + punch cvt… Eeeeuuuwww!!

• Amran on Aug 08, 2019 at 10:59 am

Like saga cvt
    Dislike saga 4at

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • eskeymouer on Aug 08, 2019 at 11:22 am

thanks paultan.org team who travel far for photographing every single feature to highlight what one would miss when you select the lower variant. Even the angles of the photograph are same between Standard and Premium! Bravo!
    Something this important that even sales training teams do not do! (listen to SA mumble, refer back to leaflet, and keep pushing high spec variant for higher commi.) keep up the fantastic work!

• tatu880 on Aug 08, 2019 at 11:27 am

The Saga Standard looks much better with 14 inch rims now. But they should have painted the door handles and side mirrors like the facelifted Persona and Iriz Standard models. It would make the car look more premium.

• His Friend on Aug 08, 2019 at 5:24 pm

If you wanted more premium look then go get Premium lor. If everyone starts adding wishlists upon Standard variant then price became exactly like Premium variant, are you going to complain it became expensive then? Pikir sikit lor!

• Ben Yap on Aug 08, 2019 at 12:12 pm

if you are willing to top up with only RM1,000 a month, you can get the Honda Civic 1.5 turbo with additional 77 horsepower, 6 airbags, hillstart assist, VSC, walk-away autolock, LED headlights and DRL, paddle shifters, 17″ wheels, 5 star safety, leather seats, power adjustable seats, better display, dual zone auto climate control, more spacious and a honda badge. the list is so long that it makes the RM1,000 top up so negligible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
    • His Friend on Aug 08, 2019 at 5:27 pm

A Saga monthly cost RM500 only. You are asking prospective buyers to top up DOUBLE just for Civic turbo? Where do you think they going to get money from? You???

• Pyraxle on Aug 08, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Hi Ben. We meet again bro. People who looking to buy a Saga definitely don’t have the budget to pay 1300/month for a car. Lain la your civic your dad sponsor one. Without your dad maybe you can buy cars under 50k only hahaha

• Yeah, he might as well say those looking for Saga should top up another 2k a month can drive a BMW already. Just shown how out of loop with reality he is.

• kusochon on Aug 08, 2019 at 1:00 pm

front look nice but really don’t like the P R O T O N at the back. the previous one back is better. this one just look too “empty”. facelift iriz and persona also same.

• Ok la.. Campro + 4AT..
    If campro + punch cvt.. Eeeuuuwww!

• Sama Kunta Loo on Aug 08, 2019 at 10:59 pm

Still if recycled dupe vvti engine + scrap 4AT belongs to another national junkmaker.. HaaarrkTui

• Predict vehicle sales data in July 2019:-
        1) Perodua 18400 units
        2) Proton 8700 units
        3) Honda 7200 units
        4) Toyota 5800 units
        5) Nissan 2400 units

• syok sendiri on Aug 09, 2019 at 8:33 am

whatever you said, sales figure will show how good the product it is…anyway still 2 airbags?why everyone complaining on vsc but no one complaint it still have 2 airbags, kunci cucuk, 4 star ASEAN NCAP and not EEV certified. FOr long term,it’s better to buy real ECONOMICAL car with proven engine performance…why need to have a risk. you are not buying audi/bmw which you able to pay the breakdown cost.

• Calvin on Aug 09, 2019 at 3:17 pm

Well if you don’t like it you can still buy the older Saga with its real ECONOMICAL and proven engine performance. But you’d better be quick.

• I like the manual version. It still uses gatrag gear box similar to mercedes.

• What about fuel consumption, will there be an improvement over the CVT trans?