UMW Toyota recalls 41k units of Vios, Camry, Corolla Altis, Yaris built from 2001-2013 over Takata airbags

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has announced a recall for approximately 41,000 Toyota vehicles for the replacement of the airbag inflator module in these vehicles. The vehicles involved were subjected to a previous Takata airbag inflator recall and repaired between 2014 and 2019, with the modules in a certain number of vehicles being replaced with a non-desiccated airbag inflator produced by Takata.

Under the current recall, those airbag inflators will be replaced with a further improved airbag inflator component. The company says that the vehicles affected by the issue were manufactured from 2001 to 2013.

Affected models are the Toyota Vios (produced from May 2003 to Aug 2007, and Sept 2007 to July 2013), Toyota Corolla Altis (produced from July 2001 to July 2007), Toyota Camry (produced from June 2002 to Dec 2005) and the Toyota Yaris (produced from Jan 2006 to Aug 2007).

The company says it will officially notify all owners of affected vehicles to bring their cars in, adding that the replacement of the airbag inflator module will be carried out at no charge to the owners. Owners of the involved vehicles can contact any authorised Toyota service centre or call the Toyota Freephone at 1800-8-TOYOTA (869682).

They can also visit Toyota’s Special Service Campaign webpage to check whether their vehicle is involved, doing so via the online Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) checker.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sohai on Aug 30, 2019 at 10:28 am

Wah lau, UMW sleeping on the job is it? Took you so long to issue recall? What the f…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Latuk Bandar on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:25 am

fully agree. muz boikot umw toyota, tukar2..

• Awang Selamat on Aug 30, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Now all the AP Alphards and Vellfire owners all will suffer. This is the result we get protecting the abang abang AP guys and giving them business the past 20 years.

Past GOvernment always protect the AP holders. Now, see who suffers. Rakyat Malaysia suffer. Hundreds of thousands of recon Toyotas on our roads and they have no avenue for redress.

• potato on Aug 31, 2019 at 10:47 pm

do a mass petition and send to Toyota Japan HQ surely they will ask Toyota Malaysia to do the replacement and maybe compensate them.

• Awang Selamat on Aug 30, 2019 at 1:09 pm

You are right. It is the same type of people as in Putrajaya. Very slow at their work and always expecting bantuan kerajaan and privileges and discounts.

UMW should have done this long ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Avenger on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Someone had mentioned this, so very appropriate in this context:
      It’s like a car where the airbags would only work 80% of the time but were 30% cheaper for the manufacturer. No big deal, let’s just keep using them until the media makes a big deal out of it. In fact I seem to vaguely recall some Japanese brand suffering an incident like that…

• Sambal udang on Aug 30, 2019 at 10:49 am

Nice move UMW Toyota. Customers safety is the most important aspect for carmakers and UMW have done a good job in recalling their problematic cars. This is why game over Proton must learn a lot from Toyota as Proton haven’t done a single recall to their problematic cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
    • Calvin on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:32 am

Took Toyota 18 years to come out with the recall. Why so slow? People can die because of this. Oh wait! People HAS died because of this! Don’t go blaming Proton because your Toyota bosses were greedy and incompetent. Even Proton car recalls never took 18 years to reach.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • It’s useless to talk about the importance of saving lives with the P2 troll. He is glad to sell overpriced and unsafe cars like Perodua and Toyota. He called it RV, ‘Regret Value.’

• Calvin on Aug 30, 2019 at 4:35 pm

People believe trolls when no one calls them out for their nonsense. Not everyone who follows these or any forums are educated enough to not get pulled in and believe the pure fabrication that comes out of people like (sic) sambal udang and many of his other fake identities.

• Awang Selamat on Aug 30, 2019 at 4:56 pm

The same people who run UMW, a GLC, is the same people like the 1.6 million Government Servants.

All work slow slow with very low productivity levels.

So, dont expect much from Toyota in Malaysia pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Safety First on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:15 pm

The people created this unsafe airbags isn’t UMW, government servants, or Putrajaya. It is Takata Japan. I don’t expect much from Toyota in Malaysia but i had expected much more from Toyota Japan. Disgust doesn’t even begin to describe how i felt about Toyota Japan.

• T is risking their Customers safety while taking their time to complete the campaign… Before this their affected cust are being keep in dark and drive at their own risk

• Regard this airbags issue, Proton recall Proton Perdana rebadge from Honda Accord earlier than Toyota, why you so SH talking Toyota done good job?

• Ajibkor on Aug 30, 2019 at 10:53 am

how about my CBU 2013 Vellfire affected?

• Cepat-cepat jual kereta yg bahaya tu, tak kira alphard atau vellfire, dua-dua pun tak dpt selamat jika terbabit kemalangan yg teruk.

• Calvin on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:29 am

Quality problems? What quality problems?

*airbags exploding in the rear*

• Jaguh on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:31 am

NOW ONLY RECALL??? Meantime is it SAFE to drive before replacing the recalled item???

• Safety First on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:05 pm

HELL NO!!!! http://paultan.org/2014/10/23/takata-explode-airbags-owners-urged-fix-immediately/
      You really want to bet your life on this?!?!?!

• Heng Lee on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:41 pm

It’s quite safe to drive it until you’re not involved in an accident. And then only your head and face are exposed to the explosion, so what?

• Calvin on Aug 30, 2019 at 4:37 pm

The point is, you can’t predict when an accident it is about to happen right? So is it still safe, maybe if it is not driven at all.

• newme on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:36 am

See Proton doesn’t have this problem… oh wait… Proton didn’t have airbag that time to begin with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • 2001 Proton high spec model got airbags

• newme on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:34 pm

High spec? Which high spec? Perdana?

• SH, google got those info. Dun tok kok or ask silly question. 2001 Waja higher spec got airbags dy.

• Safety First on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:10 pm

C’mon, you don’t have to come here and lie here for your Toyota masters. Readers here are auto enthusiasts so more knowledgeable than you’d give. Waja that came out same year (2001) already have airbags and none of them got recalled or suffer accidental explosions that killed persons.

• Proton had airbags but didn’t buy them from an incompetent supplier like Takata. Thats why there is no need to recall. Just because the airbags in your beloved Toyotas behave like a grenade doesn’t mean that all airbags are like that.

• dumbyou on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Yeah, Toyota has the best RV no matter what. Regret Value.

• Too late, the vios owner already reported at house underground.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:07 pm

Few months delay of recall, I would understand.

UMW Toyota need to explain officially to all Malaysian why a blardy long delay of the recall.
    This is from 2001. Ppl paying through their nose for their toyota and UMW see Malaysian life is katak-cheap.

I suggest Toyota car owners to sue UMW until their pants drop

• Kipidap on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:32 pm

I’m agree with you. Only care bout squeezing money…

• UMW fear that Toyota’s RV will drop if people know about those deadly airbags. RV is the main reason people still buying Toyota. Unfortunately, for some people that has lost their lives to those airbags, RV has become Regret Value a little too late.

• Henry on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:21 pm

My 2002 Altis 1.6A was recalled to change the passenger side airbag as early as 2012 via a letter. I have since sold the car.

• Kipidap on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:19 pm

So IRRESPONSIBLE! This has been such a critical issue worldwide since years ago.. and yet they just care bout making $$$

• Dong gor on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:38 pm

If u read properly it’s recall over a recall. Means the previous replacement is still not safe. Does either means Toyota really care about the ppls safety or he doesn’t know what he was doing!

• potato on Aug 31, 2019 at 10:52 pm

all they do is just replace the old dehumidifier with a fresh pack. like thisrty hippo, you have to replace them when they are full of moisture.

it’s more costly to replace the old airbag with a new design so they still used the old design but added the dehumidifier. 1 pack cost less than 10cent.

• Amazing…trying to evade all the responsibility! dishonest then, karma next

• klilk on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:52 pm

If I read correctly, I believe this is a 2nd recall for those already been replaced earlier, but with non-desiccated airbag inflator.

• potato on Aug 31, 2019 at 10:46 pm

I’ve said this before, all defect Takata airbags will be recalled eventually. They won’t do it altogether because it would be too costly and time consuming and hurts their reputation so they will recall in phase.

Older cars will get recalled first because those airbags have accumulated enough moisture to cause problems. Recent year models have yet get recalled because they aren’t old enough to accumulate so much moisture.

now it’s 2019 so it’s about time 2001-2013 cars get recalled.

and just fyi, the replacement unit will eventually end up with the same problem as the old one because all they did was added a humidifier pack inside to absorb moisture, which will eventually get full and no longer able to absorb more moisture, hence moisture will start to build up again in the new airbag.

but this is not car maker’s problem anymore because they don’t expect many 20-30 years old car to be on the road. the compensation payback would be more financially viable than the another mass recall.