VIDEO: 2019 Proton Saga in the 1-Tank Adventure – driven 650 km from KL to Johor Bahru to Melaka

Proton has been saddled with the kuat makan minyak reputation for years now, and the Proton 1-Tank Adventure contest is the carmaker’s riposte. Like last year’s inaugural edition, the 2019 event saw participants experience the sights, sounds and cuisine of Malaysia while trying to squeeze out as many kilometres possible from a tank of petrol.

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure 2019 kicked off in Peninsular Malaysia (there were also also rounds in Sabah and Sarawak) over the recent Malaysia Day long weekend. A total of 60 participants in 30 cars comprising the 2019 Proton Iriz, Persona and Saga set off on a route that covered 650 km from Proton’s Centre Of Excellence HQ in Shah Alam to Johor Bahru and back.

Our Hafriz Shah was part of the drive, and while he didn’t win, our man managed to coax out a decent set of figures from the Saga 1.3 Premium – how about 36.7 litres of fuel to cover 651.8 km? That’s 5.6 litres per 100 km (17.76 km/l) or 11.7 sen per kilometre at today’s RON 95 price of RM2.08 per litre.

By the way, the top FC figures for the Peninsular Malaysia round of the 1-Tank Adventure were 4.98 litres per 100 km (20.1 km/l) for the Saga, 5.43 litres per 100 km (18.4 km/l) for the Persona and an event best 4.94 litres per 100 km (20.2 km/l) for the Iriz.

Hafriz said that around 70% of the route was off the highway, and packed with traffic typical of a long weekend. With videographer Kamal in the passenger seat (you would have seen our resident funnyman in Driven’s #KemonCrew videos), he followed the traffic flow (as opposed to crawling along) and had the air con on the entire time. Highway cruising was done at 80-90 km/h. The conditions weren’t extreme, as it sometimes can be in “eco challenge” events targeted at the media.

“Proton has carried this kuat makan minyak reputation for ages now. Having actual Proton owners driving their own cars through the long journey, with all of them not only reaching the destination but also averaging impressive fuel economy figures, goes a long way to set the record straight,” Hafriz said.

“Personally, I’ve already done the 1-Tank Adventure last year, so the fuel consumption part is not new to me. What is a genuine surprise however, is the 2019 Saga’s improved comfort and refinement qualities. It far exceeded my own expectations of what an affordable entry-level car can be,” he added.

Watch the video for Hafriz’s full account. Of course, driving the 2019 Saga from KL to JB and back also gave him the chance to experience the recently refreshed budget sedan, which now has a Hyundai-sourced four-speed automatic in place of the old CVT, among many changes. Inside, the main highlights are the new instrument cluster and an Android-base touchscreen head unit, presented in a Mercedes/Mazda “floating” style.

You’ve already read our full written review of the latest Saga, now watch the video for additional notes on the Saga’s drive.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Saga is a good car, but i prefer to buy Bezza. got higher RV and TIME PROVEN japanese engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
    • Ayam percik on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:48 pm

The biggest problem with Saga is the game over low RV. You buy Saga for RM39,800, then 2 years later RV will drop to RM12,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • Fauzzury on Oct 01, 2019 at 7:34 am

I just sell my 2013 saga flx mid-spec and got RM12.5k. thats a fac4. The fact after 6 years.

• granny on Sep 30, 2019 at 7:22 pm

Imagine Proton Saga going to launch the ‘LMST’ version.
      RM26,888 1.3AT.

People who buying Proton Saga soon will get the RV butthurt. They should aware it’s totally possible, Exora (2008-2019) 1.6Turbo AT only RM59k.

https://paultan.org/2019/05/28/2019-proton-exora-rc-launched-mpv-updated-with-hi-proton-new-kit-lowered-price-from-rm59800/

https://paultan.org/2009/04/15/proton-exora-malaysias-first-mpv-from-rm69998/

over the years, small modification from CPS, to CFE..
      already many cost saving for 11 years old chasis, old torsion beam set up with floaty handling today.

RM59k! it’s defintely a super value today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Pak Toh on Sep 30, 2019 at 7:26 pm

Proton Saga – BLM – FLX – today.
      2008 to 2019.

Market oversupplied same platform Campro Saga.
      RV easily very low, that’s natural.
      but if RM26k bought, 5 years later can sell RM12 to RM13k it’s only 50% drop. it’s still good RV.

colleague just trade in his 2014 (5years old) Saga SV 1.3AT- RM38k bought, @ sub RM14k.

• 2017 Bezza 1.3X Premium only cost RM27500, got resale value ka?

• Korean Fan on Sep 30, 2019 at 8:45 pm

For all the saga, the Picanto 4AT is simply best

• jibby on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:00 pm

proton can always be jimat minyak. tak macam kancil, hisap minyak, myvi pun kuat makan minyak. semua perodua tipu all the FC, never tell the truth. dahlah copycat, proton the best. perodua never make their own engine or car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • Sam KK Loo on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:33 pm

@jibby… Jimat or makan minyak is subjective, but the undeniable fact is Proton aircond, handling and even manual gearbox always the best unlike Poodua (when carbuyer ask for manual version from Poodua, they will get bombarded and insulting word from their salesperson), from top to bottom, everything already BUSUK, no bloody temperature gauge already bad enough, their FC also tipu, also lied that their cars cannot fit ESC just to earn more profits. And their newer cars also have steering locking up while driving, their best selling car now having fuel pump and gearbox issue (so many complaints by owners on social media).

• Abdul Manap Bin Kusaini on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:18 pm

No point showing optimum driving conditions FC. Try and do town driving. Saga cannot even do 400KM in city driving.

Anyway, don’t talk about petrol. Talk about RV. No point saving petrol when your RV depreciates like crazy.

Every Proton owner, when they want to sell their car 3 years later get a shock of their lives. The banks ask them to TOP UP their loan.

Every Proton owners ask the same question, “What have I been paying the past 36 months?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
    • NEVER on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:49 pm

These P2 sales trolls are so funny and pathetic at the same time. Always using things that they can’t prove like fuel economy and RV to justify their cars are above junk status.

Do whatever you want, but know that it would be useless. The rise of P1 is a good way to stem the arrogance of P2. Pfft, I still remember P2 CEO blatantly lied about ESC just to save a few ringgit. A company with no credibility, just like its salesman trolls.

• Dupe buster on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:56 pm

You talking as if P2 owners are getting cash back from trade in. The truth is P2 owners need to top up their hire purchase loan too, because most loan for 9 years and P2 RV is not as good as you imagined. You can put selling price as high as you want for your used P2, but whether people are going to buy or not is another matter.

• Aura89 on Sep 30, 2019 at 7:54 pm

Here comes the Perodua Fanboys posting useless BS in an Proton thread with no actual content.

• 2016 Saga 1.3 Premium cost RM29800

• Syer1n on Sep 30, 2019 at 9:04 pm

They did 70% town driving and 30% highway. Did you actually read?

• Read before u bash lor. Otherwise u wun look so stupid. Ah but P2 never paid u to use brains to bash isit? P1 has evolved, P1 sapoters have evolved, but P2 sapoters like you still remain in dinosar copy pasta age just like ur cars. Which why u so easily got found out everytime.

• Typical Malaysian on Oct 01, 2019 at 11:01 am

You too poor meh to always bark about RV? means you have to trade in to get new car? which means most if not all p2 owners buy p2 buy because it is the only brand they can afford? because salesman pun asyik promote RV? p2 should put in brochures la like this.. “Perodua…features=high RV” LOL…

• Clear, concise, unbiased, unparalleled, irrefutable, repoting Haf bro! Gud job at dispelling all those bollocks from P1 bashers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Sep 30, 2019 at 7:14 pm

Yea, and yet someone seems to be unsatisfied, he accused P1 of lying.

Which part of eco challenge he don’t understand? There’s also owners driving their own cars in this challenge, so how to lie?

The ones verifying the fc are independent 3rd party, the Malaysian Speed Festival people. He saying they were complicit?

He claimed P2 do their test in lab as per NEDC standard, yet vast majority of owners never achieved 21km/L. I’m not saying they lied, maybe they actually did achieve that during the test, but the fact vast majority cannot get that figure proves it is impractical, yet they gladly advertises it everywhere, all the time.

P1 never promised anything about fc, they just made a challenge, and people got up to 20km/L in real world.

The liar is him, and when cornered, use r&r card, such lowly enemy of Geely.

• They can lie here but sales figures speaks the truth and P1 sales is skyrocketing. I expect anytime this year, monthly sales wud breach 10k.

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2019 at 6:43 pm

September sales for Saga has surpassed Bezza, 3,994 units were sold for Saga!

Little by little, Geely Empire marches onward to greatness!

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 01, 2019 at 9:23 am

Haiya… that man is just upset with Proton for whatever reason. Let him be la because in the end, those who know, knows.

He is the only one that thinks P1 will always be using 100% China parts, despite Proton openly stating their local content target for the X70. He is the only one that believes only China vendors will be used for even the domestic models such as Saga, Persona and Iriz, when all Proton is doing is getting the best price for THEIR CUSTOMERS.

Business is business. Am so glad P1 is now run like a business and not some crony-riching father Christmas set-up.

Proton will rise, and the beneficiary are Malaysians.

• Chavez on Oct 01, 2019 at 10:26 am

That dude was upset because he is a Perodua salesman. The more Proton sells, the more fury he vents.

• Well said! The truth can never be further.

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2019 at 6:51 pm

Well said. Not his money easy to tok kok la.

Wanna be local vendor’s warrior konon. Like the warehouse landlords that Dr Li cut down from 16 to 4, what logic is there to rent so much warehouses when they don’t need so much? U know I know, wanna pity the warehouses that got cut? No way jose.

Facts are out there, if he refuses to acknowledge, it’s his problem. To go as far as lying to get attention, truly uncivilised behaviour.

• jibby on Oct 01, 2019 at 9:49 am

you are the one who lies claiming 20km/l. the old hybrid can manage 25km/l, tech from 2000 somemore and wanna say now P2 can do 20km/L is BS.

friend say they cough up near 400 per month from 300 km weekly trip. 20km/l my bum you tokmoh. stop spreading lies on P2 FC

• I think you read the comment wrongly jibby .. He (tokmoh) didn’t claim P2 FC is 20km/l, he was referring to “someone” elses claim

• newme on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:21 pm

Do you trust figure provided? Proton + China? No modification?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • EDITOR on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:51 pm

I trust Hafriz credibility as a journalist compared to a generic named troll that has no credibility whatsoever.

• newme has been a poster here since 2016 or 2017, he is in no way a troll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Vader on Oct 01, 2019 at 8:54 am

Sure bro. And who is newme compared to Hafriz? Kunta thru his various dupenames have been saying nonsense since 2016 and yet it still don’t make him anymore credible til today. The same goes for newme & co.

• I’ve actually seen kunta’s posts from as early as 2013. he got more active towards the end of 2014 onwards

• He was just a minor comical nuisance early on, but from 2016 he started ratcheting his spew of lies and fake news. He went from being a minor nuisance to pure toxic filth that he is today.

• dumbyou on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:52 pm

You forgot or pretend to forgot that real Proton owners are part of the challenge too. How idiotic can a stubborn and ignorant person be? You just showed us.

• Psychic on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:27 pm

I’m sensing “game changing” comments very soon.. oh wait.. maybe I’m too late

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 30, 2019 at 5:36 pm

Do the same just driving around KL and let us know the results please..

• EDITOR on Sep 30, 2019 at 6:52 pm

Majority of population doesn’t live in KL bub.

• Sabahan on Oct 01, 2019 at 9:39 am

You can refer to the 1 tank fuel challenge leg in Sabah. I can assure you that 90% of the road they drive on is nothing like the highways or even remotely close to the roads in KL city center. Especially the drive from Kudat to Kundasang whereby you only 1 lane for each side of the road at most times added with the elements of long-slow moving trucks and constant uphill drive from Tamparuli to Kundasang. Furthermore, from the city center (KK) itself, driving to Kudat you’ll be greeted with a LOT of traffic and traffic lights. Another point to take is, once you reach Tuaran (where the road juction leads to Kudat), you already in a slow traffic (around 1-2km long) because of the road transition from 2 lanes to 1 lane.

• Square About on Oct 01, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Don’t forget lots of roundabout too. Like everyday has new one. I can imagine the meeting like guy A saying “this place always jem2 bah” then other guy B will be like “oh I know! lets make roundabout here!”. Then other guys will put thumbs up or just nodding in agreement. Don’t know why they think roundabout can solve jem .. maybe it does? I don’t really notice the difference before and after but I notice a lot of roundabouts.

• I always said 4 speed auto is good. Even the last vios with 4 speed is also very economical. The secret is = as long as you have an overdrive ratio then it will be ok. All 4 speed auto gear on has OD ratio. 6 and 7 speed auto may have 2 OD ratios (5th and 6th)

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 30, 2019 at 7:58 pm

There was aparently a Saga MT in this challenge. Would have love to seen coverage on that.

• Eugene Gong Wei Lee on Sep 30, 2019 at 8:29 pm

Bought bezza 1.3x last month. Does over 18km/l at 100% city driving in Butterworth. Aircon on always.

• Spin Too Much on Oct 01, 2019 at 12:26 am

Show proof la. Easy for Perodua sales ppl to talk out of their asses.

• Dupe buster on Oct 01, 2019 at 10:38 am

Which poor guy’s name you are using as dupe now, tikus? I feel sorry for that guy being associated with a rat.

• ibnu bakrin on Sep 30, 2019 at 9:02 pm

Near Kampung Muda Jaya, Pagoh, the odo clock at 326.7KM and the fuel at red bar. You are refuel at Ayer Keroh R&R which is 76KM from Kampung Muda Jaya. Why you show the odo 651.8KM before refueling? It’s suppose the total KM is 326.7KM + 76KM = 402.7KM. The liter you fueling is 36.973L equal to 10.89km/ltr or 9.18ltr/100km.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:59 pm

That’s the total odometer, reading 3,236 km at the time, not the trip meter.

• Ibnu bakrin on Oct 01, 2019 at 10:38 pm

that will be my mistake. If it’s true, I shall let go my 2011 Persona and take a latest Persona.

• Toksahgaduh2larr.. on Oct 01, 2019 at 7:25 am

At the end the winner is quality, all of us in this forum are quarrels about value. There is a car have more value than the other even if it is more expensive and sometimes the cheaper also have some value to somebody’s else. So the value is subjective though- but we all agree that we want the best car from our hard earned money. And deep down all of us already know which one to buy, no fight – peace.

• AZAM SYAH on Oct 01, 2019 at 8:20 am

Ok. I can conclude that Proton VVT is efficient, but not up to EEV standard yet. Maybe almost there or just 2 or 3 digit below the EEV requirement ~ IRIZ 2019 owner