Proton records 9,643 registrations in November – Saga is A-segment sedan leader, with over 35,000 bookings

National carmaker Proton has announced its sales performance numbers for November 2019, reporting that it sold 9,643 units last month, a slight improvement over the 9,503 units it managed in October. Given that the figures released by the company sometimes includes both domestic sales as well as exports (the numbers last month were accurate), the final figure should be revealed when the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) releases its vehicle sales data for November.

The cumulative volume for the year stands at 89,476 units, which the automaker says marks a 50.1% growth in total year-on-year numbers. It added that its market share has also grown and is estimated to now be at 16.2%.

With the company having said that it is confident of hitting the 100,000 unit mark in 2019, the figure above means that sales in the final month of the year will need to go well past the 10,500 unit mark. What’s more certain is it finishing in second place in the overall sales table for the year, the company now well ahead of third-placed Honda.

Sales of the Saga continue to propel the company along. Last month saw 4,091 units being delivered, the third consecutive month that sales have breached the 4k unit barrier. While it has all been good enough to put the model back at the top of the A-segment sedan sales table, Proton CEO Li Chunrong says that the company aims to churn out more Sagas next year.

“In just four months, we have already achieved more than 35,000 bookings and currently, every unit our factory can deliver has been spoken for. Our challenge therefore is to increase our production capacity for the Saga and we have had intensive discussions with our vendors to work towards a volume increase next year,” he said.

The X70 has also continued to perform strongly, according to Li. “As the first anniversary of its market introduction approaches, sales have picked up in volume and in November more than 2,000 units were sold. The uptrend shows customers are still keenly interested in the most intelligent SUV on sale, and we target to grow that interest in the coming year,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kipidap on Dec 03, 2019 at 8:40 pm

Congrats Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • YB Albert on Dec 03, 2019 at 10:12 pm

The only new product is X70..which is the main cash cow.The rest are facelifts.
      Apart from X70,why are the old DRB mgmt managers not able to uplift proton from near bankruptcy?In fact,it is already insolvent without massive bailouts.
      My question is: why do we need Tongsan tai heng to step in?
      The answer : Bad work ethics and cronism in DRB dudes,which cause Proton to be a money pit for taxpayers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 42
      • rally_fan (Member) on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:33 pm

doesnt matter if the rest are facelifts(but with many improvements and better priced).. what matters is, new management, new model (X70), upgraded dealers, etc. have all created a new halo affect for proton. this has brought neww found confidence in the brand which is why these “mere facelifts” are now selling even stronger than they have ever been in the past. and why bring up the past history? proton is already wwriting its new story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
        • Char koey teow on Dec 04, 2019 at 7:56 am

Nothing to be proud of from Proton since it became a Geely Reseller today. 30 years of game over motoring Proton learnt nothing and now just selling Geely’s car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
          • redpilled on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:14 am

nothing to be proud of P2 since the beginning. 20 years of game over rebadging, learnt nothing new. until today no plans to produce own powertrain or chassis. just pakai bulat2 what japanese masters throw to them. hardworking but no brains and malas to think for them selves some more too chicken to take risk and be original because have to kowotow and siphon money from malaysia to foreign masters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
          • Tikusut on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:56 pm

As if words from a tikus like you mean anything. Pfft!

• He living in past

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:58 pm

Local CEOs cannot manage Proton well, it is seen from their 10,000 workers with lazy and lepak attitude, which is totally different from Perodua game changing hard-working ethic. With this kind of bad working ethic, Proton became a game over carmaker by selling lousy cars with terrible quality, ugly design, fuel-sucking engine and problematic power window. Worse, Proton used rakyat’s money to bailout countless times!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 38
        • redpilled on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:26 am

Perodua CEO is Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad. Konpom local. Using you logic, P2 shouldn’t/couldn’t/wouldn’t be where there are today because CEO is local, workers osso local, so therefore, by your logic, they should be how siaow, like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Hitcharide on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:59 pm

Let Japan CEO and staff manage p2 u will see 300k+++ YTD sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • Safety First on Dec 04, 2019 at 5:10 pm

You mean 300k airbags need to be replace or else have to compensate 300k families.

• Rendang on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:04 am

Such a shame that after 30 years of automotive experience, Proton still need to rely on foreign’s help just to survive. This is all because of Proton’s game over workers with lazy mentallity that caused Proton to go down into the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
        • redpilled on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:39 am

Such a shame after all these years, P2 can’t even build their own engine, chassis/platform and still need to be slave to foreign master, because of game over lazy mentality and malas to own R&D and cowardly stance because don’t dare to create indigenous tech because fear of failing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Achew on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Such a shame p1 can build own engine but a failure engine telan minyak, alot problem, cam tak pro, too many regret p1 user now a day have to keep their car cos cannot sell of, RV too too bad too too poor. Some even donate gv away to friend n relatives. P1 user now alot turn to p2 n honda. Now p1 no choice have to pakai hyundai gearbox pulak. Proton gearbox jual besi buruk saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Vincent on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:26 am

If you read proton financial report carefully, You will notice that Proton failure is not really the worker lazy issues! Before X70 was introduce, 80+% of proton sales is Saga, and yet, they spend MYR1 billions on R&D. You might interested to check who is the one billed the R&D cost! It is just a $$ distribution tools!

• redpilled on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:06 am

yes!!! id like to know the answer to that too.

• Shame p1 on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:15 pm

Owh u mean the borrow n soft loan govt money rm1.5bil in 2016 and another rm1.25bil just for r&d? Thats a shame move by p1. Hav to borrow money from govt. Not once but twice borrow, but still cannot survive. So where all the money gone? What new product did p1 manage to produce after that soft loan from gov? Well just a “FACELIFTED” existing model. Hahahaha what a shame.
            Lastly have to lelong to geely china pulak, thats the most shame. No money to survive already. CEO belanja staff minum teh n kopi saja.
            Luckily govt wanna borrow last 2016 n 2017, if no, then p1 already tutup kedai 5 yrs ago.

• That borrowing was requested by Proton Senior Mentor Advisor but it was a cover for something else. When Najib gave it to Proton directly, it was to Proton’s benefit but it wasn’t the intended purpose of that requested “bailout”. Go figure what happened next.

• Rob the Robber on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:26 pm

P1 almost bancrupt have to borrow gov money to cover all loses and then gadai themselve to geely after that. All soft loan from gov proton bosses use to go clubbing, drink beer n liquor.

• Rosman on Dec 05, 2019 at 11:13 am

Proton bosses are mostly muslim. Go see in mirror who the one clubbing, drinking beer n liquor. Bodoh.

• john Al tikus on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:11 am

Proton is being too optimistic. With the 100,000 units target, I am sure Proton will not be able to achieve it with this kind of result, especially by selling their game over cars. This is why Proton still needs to learn a lot from Perodua since Perodua game changing sales is 4X more than Proton sales. So I suggest Proton to send Rombongan Sambil Belajar to Perodua office to learn their game changing working ethics and how to create game changers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
        • redpilled on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:48 am

I suggest P2 send rombongan sambil belajar to P1 and learn how to grow a pair of balls to try things on their own instead of being spoon-fed with foreign tech since the beginning. Learn how to have own goals and take risks Instead of being slave assemble foreign designed technology, learn to use own brains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • Hahahaha on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:05 pm

I suggest p1 send rombongan to p2 and learn how to pump tyre. P1 should be survive on its own by now if they send rombongan to p2 earlier on. But thanks to no brain p1 willing to gafai their esses to china becos of high egois and denial no brainer. Willing to be slave by china than own local. P2 can teach u better how to sell 200k cars a year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Real LLort on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:46 pm

“P2 can teach u better how to sell 200k cars a year.” now.. this is the joke of the year! I nominate!

• SK Lim on Dec 04, 2019 at 6:07 pm

Any idiot can sell 200k of crap as long you price it cheap enough. Try selling 100k of good cars with good safety which customers don’t need to change so often.

• SK Lim Teh Otak Kosong on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:32 pm

From saga, iriz n persona, low spec to high spec models, are all cheaper than axia, myvi n bezza low n high spec models, but why p1 still cant sell 200k a year? Or u just like talking crap like an idiot for urself. Its simply ur p1 cars are all craps. Oh waiii.
            Oh yah and p1 too good safety…konon…but still cant sell 100k cars a year. Oh waiii.

• Edwin L on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:57 pm

It seems like @SK Lim had triggered you. Why? For finding out what you did with the multiple user names? Grow some balls and own up, or just tuck your tail between the legs and drop the act yea. I have seen your argument spiel by Kunta, word for word –which tells me clearly who you really are– and I can refuted you that Perodua majority sales are from Axia & Myvi. Bezza sales lost out to Saga & Persona, Alza sales lost to Exora, and surprisingly Aruz sales still lags X70. Other than these 2 models, Perodua sales had been disappointing.

• redpilled on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:10 am

SK Lim Teh Otak Kosong, you’re the otak kosong. Doesn’t matter if P2 sell a gazillion cars per second, none of it is their own product. The whole idea of a ‘national car’ program was to nurture local talents to produce indigenous products, not to be just another assembler for another foreign brand. Say what you want about the inferiority of P1 power train, they’re going through the same steps all other established car makers are going through, the hard-knock school of car building, and they’ve failed in some aspects, it’s part of growing, Ford went through it, Ferrari went through it, Harley-Davidson went through it – to fail and and then rise again- every other established car maker went through that phase at some point of another. P1 has hit it’s low point, suffered and learned a lot of lessons and now is regaining it’s foothold. I’m curious to see how bad P2 is going be when they hit their low point in the future.

• Lepaking on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:49 am

X70 is not even Proton car. It is a fully china car geely boyue sold as proton x70, just change of badge only, tampal logo proton only. CKD not even launch yet. Minus x70, other proton cars worst as ever, p1 performance worst as usual as every year goes by. Btw, still need to thanks Mr. LiChunrong rather than thanks those kaki lepak goyang kaki local.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
        • redpilled on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:52 am

None of P2 products are their own, all are either from Dsihatsu or Toyota. Just change badge only, from day one. Hardworking hands but brain asleep, cannot come with own engine,chassis, chassis tuning. Very good at being slave to make money for foreign master.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • BOYRACER on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:26 pm

I have to agree with you.Proton was self manage from day 1 until recently.Unlike P2 which is a subsidiary if Toyota/daihatsu(sort of)In the beginning Proton was doing well until complacency got over them while P2 persevere. It’s not the workers fault.It is the management fault.Poor management equal poor performance.Poor performance equal poor products.
            So by those bashers saying that the workers attitude of lepaking, teh tarik and so on is very unfair.
            And the only thing P2 ever did on their own was designing the Bezza and Myvi and by this I mean the designing the looks only.The rest is from Toyota/daihatsu parts bin.
            In the end of the day all we want is a good quality car at a reasonable price. Doesn’t matter who make them..local or foreign..

• Karam Singh on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Perodua never denied it is a fully fledged car manufacturer. Daihatsu owns about 40% in p2.. If not mistaken, while Toyota owns daihatsu.

So yes, perodua does qualify as a division of Toyota/perodua but still has its image to be considered as national car. Similar to VW-seat-skoda relationship and Suzuki-Maruti

• Then Perodua certainly DOESN’T QUALIFY TO BE CALLED AS NATIONAL CAR MAKER, because they don’t make their cars. Purely just a reskinning and assembly plant.

• Muahaha on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:35 pm

Still p2 best selling car every year for the past 14 years. So what u gonna say dude? Muahahaha! Those number dont lie but u are the biggest liar of all time.

• Edwin L on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:48 pm

You been best selling cheap cr@p for 14 years and you are proud of that? Boy you sure have a very low self esteemed and self worth. Have more confidence and truly aim to achieve something that you can really be proud of, not just producing more cheap cr@p.

• Gongxi2! Proton CEO Li Chunrong !!

• Gabriel on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:26 am

Kudos to Najib for having the vision to propel Proton forward by psuhing ahead with Geely joint venture. Even though he was getting criticism from PH back then, he still pushed through and we are now reaping the reward.
        Kudos to him and the government back then.
        I’m moving my vote away from PH in the next GE, since this new government is showing how incapable they are in managing this country. We are now the worst stock market in the world as highlighted by Bloomberg, we have sink so low that I think we need to UBAH again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Habislah Bezza!

• Bezza will be fine..

• s.Ibrahim on Dec 04, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Bezza will be fine, I can’t say the same for its occupants after being in an accident. Not with its Milo tin supersoft body.

• Accumulated 89476 units, market share 16.2%.
    TIV Jan’19 to Nov’19 = 552321 units
    Jan’19 to Oct’19 = 496861 units, Nov’19 = 55460 units.

Estimate 2019 November sales by brand will be:-
    1. Perodua 21000 units
    2. Proton 9500 units
    3. Honda 7200 units
    4. Toyota 6600 units
    5. Nissan 2200 units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • The Rocky Is Coming on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:52 am

Wowwww perodua always far ahead. 2 kali ganda fuhhh. Congrates perodua. All the way up perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • HoToyo on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:18 am

89476 units including non p1 car boyue a.k.a. x70. I couldnt agree more that alot saying x70 is not actually a p1 car. It just a change of name and logo by p1. Average monthly x70 sales let say 2000 units per month. 12 months will be 24000 units. P1 has said they sold over 24k x70 so far.
      89476 – 24000 (not a p1 car boyue / x70) = 65476 original p1 cars only sold.
      Only a little bit inprovement from last year. P1 CEO still have to work hard for this.
      Anyway toyota and honda still fhe best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Real LLort on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:00 pm

X70 sold 24000 units?? My oh my, what a “game-changing” SUV .. has any other SUV sold this much since 1970? Btw, I agree, X70 not really proton car.. If we take out all rebadge, proton is already number 1 in sales volume. You agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Kah kah kah kah on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:44 pm

Dude, u didnt realize Aruz SUV has outsold x70 months ago. Has any other SUV sold this much than Aruz SUV dude? And yet x70 is most n highest problematic car now. While Aruz the most less problem. CRV is alot better less problem than x70. Do u agree dude?

• Lenny on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:50 pm

well yeah there nothing to break if the car has nothing in it (tin kosong)

• Real LLort on Dec 04, 2019 at 5:12 pm

Well, if Aruz does outsold X70, that’s a good thing right? I don’t agree with the survey because I don’t depend on ONE survey to buy a car, in fact I don’t depend on any survey at all. I buy based on how I feel about the car inside out plus if the price is right, that’s why I bought two Perodua cars.
            Also, I was replying to the previous comment saying that X70 shouldn’t be included in the total sales volume as it’s not really a Proton car so I ask, if we go on and remove all rebadge model and instead just sum up the total sales from these manufacturers’ own model, where will the other manufacturers position be?

• Edwin L on Dec 04, 2019 at 6:04 pm

Where did you get that figure which Aruz outsold X70? From Perodua? Real joke. Aruz the most less problem? Oh yeah, when there is less owners there is less noise about their problems. and why you picked out CR-V but did you didn’t know in car forums, FB and even casual sites like Paul Tan, plenty of CR-V owners are venting their frustration here. Why, because Honda isn’t LISTENING!!! They don’t care as long got ignoramus like you who believed in paid surveys. Do you agree?

• Bro, if we exclude all rebadges, P2 total sales would tally to a grand total of ZERO, Kosong, 0, yelek.

• Can Proton sell 5,000 units Saga in December, 3500 units X70 and 2500 units PIE (Persona, Iriz & Exora)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Thank U Mr. Li on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:55 am

U should thanks alot to mr. Li chunrong for p1 success. Without mr. Li chungrong p1 tutup kedai by now. Local ceo cannot harap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Odear on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:45 pm

Now plotong PIE is an expired PIE.

• Avenger on Dec 04, 2019 at 5:09 pm

Expired PIE is still better than the stinking crap that is coming out of Perodua.

• Bezza lose to Saga in A segment sedan competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • Bezza delivered over 5000 units in October, I guess Proton assumed Bezza is a Bsegment now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Lets See on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:26 pm

You obvious must have slept thru November and chalked it of your memory. How does it feel to live with 11 months of the year? BTW have you heard of November?

• Actually 7000 units Axia, 3800 units Bezza, 6000 units Myvi, 2500 units Alza and 3500 units Aruz in October 2019.

• Apam balik on Dec 03, 2019 at 9:36 pm

Everyone have to thank Geely for Proton success. Without them, Proton are already totally game over and won’t be able to achieve such sales. This is why we have to thank Geely, Li Chunrong and China for managing Proton very well. I also hope that the game over fanboys won’t come here and syiok sendiri that Proton did these alone without any help from foreign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 25
    • To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!
      Begone with u and ur bollocks!!!!

• Unknown on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:21 am

How dumb can you be when you don’t even bother to read. I bet you didn’t do that and just came to throw your shits as usual.
      Or else, you wouldn’t be sounding so stupid when you see their breakdown figures, the overwhelming majority of sales are from Proton’s legacy models which still are alive and kicking, even kicking pitiful Bezza asses. Sorry to be your killjoy but Proton is hand your asses back to you on a golden platter. Please enjoy the rear pain.

• Pakulupapito on Dec 03, 2019 at 10:08 pm

But proton haters said saga is a game over car……

• That guy is game over dy. He tried to sell Perodua but game over. He tried to sell PH but also game over. He is totally game over.

• Their little heads think that sales of 5000 biji rambutans are better than 4000 biji durians.

• C.P. MOHAN on Dec 03, 2019 at 10:13 pm

Better to show numbers sold (not booking) and value-type of product/vehicle sold, if not it is like assuming that ten sen is equivalent to one ringgit, know what i mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • Celup King on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:12 am

9643 registrations meant 9643 cars sold lah! You can’t register a car unless it is sold to someone.

• Silthice on Dec 03, 2019 at 10:27 pm

10,524 vehicles to reach 100,000 not 11,500…

• Ordinary ctz on Dec 04, 2019 at 5:35 am

Quietly Perodua wil launch its SUV before X50 next year and Proton stil waiting to roll out locally assemble X50.

• Ya, Perodua no need test the car on the road, sure can launch earlier.

• Real LLort on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:06 pm

And Perodua will also “quietly” recall the car during your first service. Did you know that Bezza 1.0 model had a recall? You didn’t? Well, it got a recall because there’s a small part in the engine need to change if not the car will start “jerking”. Meanwhile, Proton being bashed for power window problem..

• azrai on Dec 04, 2019 at 8:26 am

Dr. M- Father of Thailand’s Automotive
    Li Chunrong – Malaysia Father of Digital Automotive

• azrai on Dec 04, 2019 at 8:28 am

P2 has fulfilling about 13,000 or 52% of the bookings received for for the Aruz seven-seater SUV.

• Truckers on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:32 pm

Too low. As X70 has 24,000 accounted for during the same period. X70 is still the best selling SUV as of today.

• Vincent on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:32 am

Saga should be a B segment car selling at A segment price. If any one of you has test drive a new saga (2018 pre facelift and current post facelift), you will agreed with me that Saga build quality, safety, handling is better than P2 MYVI 1.3.

Proton Iriz also a very good car, after the CVT program improvement!. I always think of getting one used 1.6M for fun!

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:59 am

Indeed.

The Saga in indeed a better riding car than the average A segmenter like the Bezza, due largely to the fact it is actually a B segment car.

I had a grab ride from the airport this weekend in the new saga, which was leagues better than the Bezza. The driver dropped her Bezza for the new Saga and despite the fuel consumption hit, said she prefers driving the Saga instead.

Sure its an old platform, but if Proton can make a decent affordable car for Malaysian’s I’m not complaining.

• Vincent on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Yes, FC is what people is consider when they buy car, especially the A, B segment car. Saga could cost additional 30% on FC for city drive.

However, if you are travel with your family, please get Saga instead of Brezza. Some might say, drive slow the safer solution, but we really cannot predict what happen in highway in just few second times.

• Real LLort on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:09 pm

I’ve driven the 1st Gen Iriz and I was impressed already. Now you said like this makes me wanna want one also but my heart already set on saga and the incoming x50

• Ex VGM staff on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:29 pm

By dimensions Saga is not in B segment, but not too small like Mitsubishi Attrage either.

Saga is A+.

Very similar with Honda City, almera and vios which are now B+ segment (B has 2550mm wheelbase. B+ has 2600-2650mm which what C segment used to have)

• Truckers on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Saga really is a Bsegmenter selling at Asegment level but providing with Bsegment level of drive, comfort, safety, features.

• Colin on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:48 am

A company that is well managed will always prevail. This speaks volume of previous management of Proton. Oh ya Perodua management should check their rear view mirror because Proton is catching up.

• alldisc on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:25 pm

So actually Proton can sell more cars by itself. Its obvious that proton can produce cars that are attractive to the market. Saga is easily the biggest sales contributor (about half of the cake) and not the Geely sourced X70 prided at the middle upper price segment. Not every one like SUV, mind you.

It sums up Proton doesn’t actually really need Geely. Not unless it is willing to think outside the box and make radical changes like

1. Improve Sales and service quality
    2. Make a facelift before the cars gets too old @ not more than 2.5 years. Never again do the same like Iswara (10 years before LMSS came,/11 years before LMST) or Wira (8 years since first facelift in 95 to first Wira SE in 03/04.
    3. Never again use good handling as a selling point. None of perodua cars have good handling but every time proton sells 1 car, p2 put 2 cars in the road. Ask yourself why. If proton handling is really outstanding, it could have outsold VW golf, Ford focus, peugoet 308, Vauxhall astra and Renault.megane in UK or europe.

20 years ago most cars were using 13-14″ inc wheels just like Wira. When Proton went for 15″ wheels in Waja and improved the handling department most other car companies were doing the same thing.

4. See where are you in JD power CSI. Dead last. It seems you still carry many useless service personnel giving bad impacts to your image. And seems like going 3S/4S direction does not solve the problem either. Proton owners are not looking for exclusive level of service like Lexus or BMW. They just want ppl to listen to their concerns and to have solutions rather than replying – Ini normal lah bang. Proton.

If 2019 is the last JD power survey for Malaysia than you will be very lucky indeed.

• I disagree with the last statement. JD Power is no longer a reliable benchmark anymore, they are even pulling out of ASIA for godsakes! Many of those brands scoring higher are really just making it difficult for owners to make complaints (Honda is a prime example), so it reflects on an artificial lower levels of complaints. Go look at HM FB and you will be bombarded by tons of complaints not captured by JD Power.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:20 am

You don’t need JD Power to tell you proton after sales and reliability is dead last. All you need is to own one from 2000 to 2010 and you can experience it yourself.

During that time, proton just didn’t bother to put cars together well or care about what happens to the customers after the cars left the factory.

• I dun need u to tell me how reliable is my Gen2 CPS manual. I am still driving daily since 2008 and I have no problems and still satisfy with the drive. Dun need to bollocks to me with ur hearsays.

• Vincent on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:55 pm

No, Proton do need Geely, and Geely need Lotus and Proton. Their marriage is a good combine. This is the best contribution by Ah Jib during all years of his PM terms.

A) Proton need Geely:
      1) You need the Chinese man to be the bad guy to kill off those blood sucker coni inside Proton!
      2) Some might thing X70 will end up contribute less than 10% of proton sales. However, X70 is story builder.. a successful model that bush Proton branding! In lay man term, X70 make people see the new Proton is no longer the poor quality and safety Proton!
      3) In long term, Geely will bring in more model to rebadge it as Proton! Proton no longer need to spend billions in R&D. Just need few piece of facelift items to make it a Proton! Do not dream of Tun M claimed.. “The technology you can learn from R&D”! You read more and will know that R&D money will only worth to spend for EV and Fuel efficient car… that’s not the game of our automotive industries! We just rebadge it, do it better quality and make it cheaper! That’s all!

B) Geely need Proton
      1) They need Lotus chassis technology for Volvo and Geely car. Without a good handling performance, Volvo brand will not able to complete with Germany cars!
      2) If proton really cannot work, Tanjung Malim plant can be converted to build Volvo car for Asian. That’s the best option Geely can have, instead of building brand new factory!
      3) Proton distribution network, 5S centre can add value to Volvo. You will see it in another 2 years time!

• P1 and Geely partnership is synergistic which works both ways and this is what Bapak Najib was seeking to find when selecting marriage partner for his stepdaughter P1. Both coming from diff background and with diff agenda but both r working towards a common goal.

• hazri on Dec 07, 2019 at 2:46 am

yeahh..boleh la feeling2 naik city balik kampung after this. many said this saga look like city, i am so happy.