Perodua hails the NAP 2020 as consistent govt policy

The National Automotive Policy 2020 (NAP 2020) was officially launched in KL this morning by prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. It aims to push the country towards becoming a regional leader in automotive manufacturing, engineering and technology, and is very much an enhancement of NAP 2014, expanding on the outlines seen previously.

In a nutshell, NAP 2020 consists of three directional thrusts and three strategies as well as seven roadmaps/blueprints to be implemented to the year 2030. The directions include a focus on Next Generation Vehicles (NxGVs), Mobility as a Service (MaaS) and Industry 4.0, and the plan will incorporate the development of Automated, Autonomous, Connected Vehicles (AACV), light weight material tech as well as hybrid, electric and fuel cell vehicles.

Market leader Perodua has hailed the NAP 2020 as consistent government policy. “NAP 2020 sees consistency in the government’s policies to advance the Malaysian automotive eco-system to the next level. This is apparent in the continued support for component localisation, which is the backbone of the country’s automotive industry,” said Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad, president and CEO of Perodua.

He points out that over the past decade, Perodua has purchased a total of RM43.5 billion worth of components from local suppliers, including RM5.4 billion in last year alone. This year, P2 expects to spend nearly RM6 billion on locally-sourced components. “This volume sustains and fortifies the Malaysian automotive eco-system, contributing to the economy, jobs and nation-building,” Zainal Abidin said.

The P2 chief also said that the government’s commitment to further the Energy-Efficient Vehicle (EEV) programme, in which many players have invested in, is consistent. He pointed out that Perodua is Malaysia’s first and largest EEV manufacturer with over 800,000 EEVs sold to date.

“On autonomous technology, Perodua, guided by our technical and technology partner Daihatsu Motor Company of Japan, has laid the foundation with its Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite of driver assistance systems and crucially, we have made it accessible to the masses. This technology will be further improved in line with our aim to provide Malaysians with mobility that offers even greater safety and value,” Zainal Abidin added. More on the NAP 2020 here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:29 pm

With DreamEdge why do we still have Perodua? Better close down this company! For 30 years they been calling themselves national car maker and getting incentives & tax deductions but throughout the 30 years they have been giving us subpar and unsafe cars, plus the very fact they had cheated our country of 30 years tax revenue by declaring losses after sending all profits back to their Japanese lords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
    • The profits actually ends up in tax haven like singapore or hong kong.

• Meh! Rakyat still loses out on taxes

• History Bender on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:14 pm

Perodua oh Perodua. 30 year of enriching Japan, Singapore and HK. Meanwhile we become poorer and poorer thanks to Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • Kunta Terhalang and Roti John Gelisah on Feb 23, 2020 at 10:35 am

Geely technology may even better than daihatsu, since they bought volvo, merc, proton lotus and more… They already have full range of cars from normal to plug in hybrid and electric cars. Perodua already dealing with daihatsu for more than 30 years? I personally don’t see the point why need another similar to 2nd Perodua brand? Protiga? Tun, can I suggest you something? Cancel the project and Reduce all car price by 30% (CBU and CKD).

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:06 pm

Perodua has never been a true Malaysian National Car maker. I don’t know why they are still not closed yet and continue to rob us of our hard-earned money. Without Perodua we would have better quality and safer cars.

• P2 pls on Feb 21, 2020 at 6:46 pm

They never forced you to buy, at least perodua offered affordable and reliable cars.

• Avenger on Feb 21, 2020 at 8:10 pm

Becoz of Perodua, we cannot get really affordable and much better Honda Brio. Instead we get totally unsafe Perodua cars that always goes into the longkang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • nameless on Feb 21, 2020 at 9:02 pm

Honda Brio??? thats even more of a tin milo lmao
            and the space is even worse than a Viva. its too freaking small

• Safety First on Feb 22, 2020 at 1:02 am

But it is safer than Axia. That is all that matters, which we don’t get because of Perodua

• Gulai ayam kampung on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:33 pm

Perodua is such an amazing national carmaker! Not only Perodua have given us Game Changers, Perodua also contributes to the economy by purchasing parts from local suppliers and paying tax to build the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • Celup King on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:56 pm

Someone been telling us how gamechanging Perodua but all they do is gameover people with their accident prone cars, they gameover the country by sending all profits back to Japan leaving us nothing and they gameover by promising gamechanging Kenari Hybrid since 2003 but 17 years later we still don’t see this car. With Dreamedge coming, Perodua is soon to gameover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Nasi goreng on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:08 pm

I really Hate you and your Celup’s dupes here John!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Engineer on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:33 pm

Likewise we hate your game-over copypasting dupes. Alas we don’t get what we want in reality.

• Lol... on Feb 21, 2020 at 6:50 pm

Proton now is same.. But Malaysia since like love proton cars after they Rebage Geely… This is call business bro… Win win solution…

• vivizurianti on Feb 21, 2020 at 3:38 pm

Well, Malaysian….brace yourself tighter, and here we go again….

• Singapore, thailand doing the same thing.

• Ghani on Feb 21, 2020 at 4:24 pm

SG don’t have 2 new national automakers to protect though…

• Truth on Feb 21, 2020 at 5:13 pm

perodua should be banned