Proton sells 9,623 units in June; gains 69.5% month-on-month over May, increased 26.3% from June 2019

Proton has recorded 9,623 vehicle sales for the month of June 2020, which the national carmaker says is its second-best monthly sales performance seen so far this year. This represents a 69.5% growth over the preceding month, and a 26.3% gain over the same month last year, it said.

The carmaker claims a year-to-date market share of 21.2%, which it says is a 6.5% increase over that charted in the same period last year. Driving sales volume was the Saga, posting its best sales performance in 70 months according to the company, charting sales of 4,447 units in the month of June. This tops the sedan’s previous best sales figure of 4,275 units sold in October 2019, said the company.

Meanwhile, the Proton X70 continues to be the best-selling C-segment SUV in the country with 1,909 units sold last month, and which made it the best-selling SUV overall in the country for the first half of this year, said Proton. The Persona also held on as the best-selling B-segment sedan in Malaysia for two months in a row, the company said.

The Exora continues to be the top-selling C-segment MPV in the country, while the Iriz managed to reach third in the ranks of most popular B-segment hatchbacks in Malaysia, says Proton.

“Proton’s sales in the first full month of business since February have been encouraging. While we remain cautiously optimistic for the second half of 2020, the demand for Malaysian cars in general and Proton vehicles in particular points towards increased consumer confidence in our products,” said CEO of Proton Edar Roslan Abdullah.

This interest has also been buoyed by the recently-announced sales tax holiday which has stimulated demand, the company said. Looking forward, Proton expects to see further volume increase in the second half of the year with the 35th anniversary of the Proton Saga, which will springboard other activities set for 2020, said Roslan.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Congrats P1 and P2.

• Ehh? Not reach 21k meh?
      10k oso so hard to reach. Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • Engineer on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:29 pm

Thanks superb Geely engineers for the Saga FL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Nasi goreng on Jul 02, 2020 at 3:11 pm

Well done Geely! Your management and knowledge have made Proton to achieve something like this. Therefore, we have to thank Geely and China for guiding our Game Over Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
      • 9,623 x RM 10,560 (average profit) = Rm 101,618,880
        Not bad already, company earn money.

• Safety First on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:54 pm

21k with questionable safety standards, some models never came with stability control and none with more that 6 airbags. Is our lives so cheap for Perodua? Do you not care for our safety?

#MalaysianLivesMatter

• Frozen on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:53 pm

Proton? Ha ha. Cannot trust lah! Confirm 99% are sold to driving schools. How I know. Just go see how many X70 going around. Bukan main diorang jerit X70 sales every month but we see so little of them, even P Aruz are more visible. Who they want to fool with shiok sendiri car sales numbers which cannot be independently verified.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 43
      • Wow u so that butt hurt?
        I kesian u lah.

• Well sori to say, what i see is, in 10 cars, suprisingly 2 are aruz and 8 are x70. Aruz on the road is like aruz sungai skejap saja ada. While x70 tumpang tsunami forever changing the scene.

• Lollapalooza on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:42 pm

I never bought a Proton and have already bought a Perodua twice but even I know your claim is nonsense. Firstly, (since you like to exaggerate) ALL driving schools are using Perodua. And the second thing is, I don’t know which area you live but I see X70 here every single day.. not just once or twice a day.. it’s already very common to see them on the road.

• Kuinosan on Jul 02, 2020 at 7:19 pm

Confirm 99% Proton X70 sold to PDRM,

• ThankYou on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:04 pm

Without geely help and hardwork, proton close shop by now. Thanks to geely.

• Lolwhut? on Jul 02, 2020 at 12:58 pm

Hahahahahahahahaha!
    P2 fan got buttsohurt reading this.

Best ever p1 yeahhhh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • I would proud if p1 can beat p2 sales. But p1 to sell 10k unit also so so diffcult to reach, wat else 20k? Have to wait another 30years myb. Good luck. Let p1 fan keep on dreaming 1st hohoho!
      D55L coming soon habislah proton kolos shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Frozen on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:45 pm

Perodua? Ha ha. Cannot trust lah! Confirm 99% are sold to driving schools. How I know. Just go see how many Aruz going around. Bukan main diorang jerit Aruz sales every month but we see so little of them, even P X70 are more visible. Who they want to fool with shiok sendiri car sales numbers which cannot be independently verified.

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Copy paste: “Go ahead and support your preferred brand, but why do you need to do it by spreading fake news on other brands? Please guys, enough of this nonsense.”

• Rosman on Jul 02, 2020 at 3:17 pm

I too would be proud if my durian sales outsold my rambutan competitor but as it is, I am focus more on quality of my produces, not selling masses of boring fruits. My customers still say my fruit is the best despite them buying more rambutans because it is cheaper. That is the only reason why the rambutan seller can outsell me. But in their hearts, my fruit is KING.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Not necessary, earn more money and reduce overhead will do.

• tokmoh. on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:50 pm

Guess you’re blind about 26% increase vs June 2019.

Proton’s march is unstoppable! Soon, my child, soon!

• Fist bump bro!

• Tokok sister on Jul 05, 2020 at 4:01 pm

Aruz is still a much reliable and premium SUV. Hope P1 quality can improve and catch up.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 05, 2020 at 4:06 pm

Let’s not start an endless fanboy war here now.

• Detected on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:34 pm

Mehhhhh. 21k vs 9k? Mehhhh.
      Butthurt p1 fan detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Yes our assess hurted a little la but not much! Today is you lucky day for you and your associate frens here John!!!!

• Lolz! I dun really wanna comment & just savour ur salty tears but whatever reasons for ur sores I wanna say sori I hurt ur guys feelings!

It really sucks to be a P2 fanboy & worse for a P2 salesman but I complement ur guys for staying with P2 dwindling sales on the face of P1 juggernaut. I see the desperado situation u guys are in & the saltiness in ur comments. I really feels sori I really do. (Lolz!)

Its a horrible time to buy any cars right now yet nearly 10k sapots P1. I remembers someone here was proudly shouting P1 will only sell 3k this year. So it sucks to be proven wrong again & again. (double lolz!)

P1 constantly been pushing affordable features & safety, and customers r responding positively. P1 upcoming X50 might even be the first hybrid or PHEV or perhaps semi-autonomous driven national car compared to P2 still selling ancient dinosars. (triple lolz!)

But whatever the case, I thank P2 for making P1 looking gud now. A true hero alwiz rises from failure & P1 is rising like a Phoenix. Their futures will be amazing…. tenkiu P2!

Great username choice btw, u must be fun at parties ;)

• You savaged him bro!

• Mario (apology for last year) on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:38 am

Well, john. Same with me, obviously. I also felt that I have been hurting to all of you guys especially to these salesmen such as Hyundai, Nissan, Toyota and Mazda. Everyone should know that it is my fault too. I know that I felt myself that I was too stressed about my works. And I felt very depressed sometimes when it is not a good day. And of course, it is not very nice to bash and fight with no real facts. My critic sometime depends on the mood, i posted several moderately acceptable views, some are logical and others.

Even though Kunta is not that good but I am very sure that he had already changed his attitude and will not doing the same thing again, since he also came to apologize to all of us for what he has done wrong earlier this year. Anyway, Let’s all be friends, however except that we knew that only one troll BUT NOT FROM KUNTA who came from honda salesmen that hates mazda.

The fact is why Honda is not worth to buy anymore. Obviously, we knew that honda is not so reliable and give ancient specs which Honda in here are still selling as if they are back in 2013 which they never move on, as only selling basic specs to more honda models without any lacking of safety. Besides that, we also heard that service is not that cheap nowadays and yet car price is also too expensive for buyers to buy.

But then, I still remember that two of the trolls from honda salesmen that one of the troll always said that honda is good performance and i think he also mentioned that honda rv is also good value unlike other brands while another troll BUT NOT FROM KUNTA who keep on liking for more than 2000 votes in one of Toyota/Lexus recalls here as well as he also use his more dupes and bashing other brands as well like Hyundai/Mazda/Toyota/p1/others. So it has to be proven wrong again & again.

These brands like Toyota, Mazda, Nissan, Hyundai including national carmakers like Proton are always pushing to be affordable features and safety including quality that makes customers are more attractive. This is similar luxurious car brands like BMW too. Anyway, Not to forget that, even though hyundai is not giving safety features in Malaysia which happens in the past, they will change their ways very soon to make the customers more affordable by bringing more features.

Lastly, I would say sorry and thanks to all Mazda & Hyundai salesmen especially for Toyota salesmen and many others sensible readers including Kunta whom given me a curse/sinister msg. Again, thanks to anyone in the past, patiencely adviced me to stop and change my way.

Million Sorry Guys and Thanks To All Of You and Kunta

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:05 pm

Tak payah pening, tak payah susah. Beli jer…Proton. Hepi bila beli, hepi bila jual. Syukurrr….

• Habislah Perodua! Their latest models Bezza facelift & Aruz still cannot dethrone Persona & X70 as the best sellers. Expect Perodua’s D55L too won’t compare well against X50 when they come to our market.

Habislah Perodua! Better close shop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Habislah proton! Even their x70 was launched 1 year earlylier than Aruz, but Aruz sales already overtake and outsell x70 since last year dude. U still dreaming ah? Now can say bye bye to ur x70.

• Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 11:22 pm

Copy paste: “even I know your claim is nonsense. Firstly, (since you like to exaggerate) ALL driving schools are using Perodua. And the second thing is, I don’t know which area you live but I see X70 here every single day.. not just once or twice a day.. it’s already very common to see them on the road.”

• Copy Paste on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:48 pm

Copy paste: “Meanwhile, the Proton X70 continues to be the best-selling C-segment SUV in the country with 1,909 units sold last month, and which made it the best-selling SUV overall in the country for the first half of this year”

• https://paultan.org/2020/07/02/perodua-sells-21250-cars-in-june-2020-best-month-yet/#comments

Maju Perodua and Proton
    Axia, Bezza, Myvi, Aruz All full spec have Autonomous E.Brake, Push Start, Project/LED headlamp and rear light for night visibility.
    Bezza top spec leather is alcantara like and grippy.

Perodua and Proton Maju.
    X50 and D55L is coming.
    Storm the B-segment with Turbo, 17″ sport rim.

National Car Champion now.

• MyNewToy on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:58 pm

Can we say all CKD Hyundai, Toyota, Mazda, BMW and Mercedes are national car?

• Datuk R on Jul 03, 2020 at 10:38 am

They can be, as long as achieve high local contents per regulation.
        And high local manpower percentage.

Then can. Don’t import and assemble here.
        Be like Proton and Perodua, manufacture Campro and Dual VVt-i engine in Malaysia.
        Even Perodua manufacture 4-eAT in MLaysia.

Geely binyue X70 will slowly adapt

• X70 premium tunggu 3 bulan..mau cancel la on Jul 02, 2020 at 1:42 pm

MR PT..X70 1.9k units sold means wht..delivered or just booking nos..or backlog of orders mco time..how many units can the produce in a month, anyone knows.

• Saleskatak on Jul 02, 2020 at 3:04 pm

Sales man talk only. Got enug budget buy jepunis is much better choice

• 1.9k is not high. Its lower than x70 cbu 6AT. If its delivered nothing surprised too, whether its new booking or backlog. Earlier x70 cbu above 2k sales

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:09 pm

Can everyone please just calm down? Go ahead and support your preferred brand, but why do you need to do it by spreading fake news on other brands? Please guys, enough of this nonsense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • Copy Paste on Jul 02, 2020 at 2:57 pm

Copy paste: “Now I know Haf bro is a real P1 fan. The confidence in him to buy 2 P1 cars is very gud sign of things to come. Enjoys ur cars bro!”

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 02, 2020 at 3:03 pm

Much agreed Friz. We gotta enjoy our own ride.

• Anti Spambot on Jul 02, 2020 at 3:25 pm

Absolutely correct Hafriz, it is time to clear all the Anti Honda, P1 P2 fanboys and PH cybertrooper spambots from this site. Mario, Kunta, Roti John and John does not belong here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
      • Dear Hafriz Shah, firstly thank you for an excellent blog and car review and always up to date news. Yes, please keep all unlated comments to one self. Here comments should be constructive, not personal destructive because of brand preference. There is no such thing as the perfect brand. Each brand has its strength and weaknesses, respect each persons valid choice of brand and model. And for goodness sake, please learn how to compare models as in apple to apple. You cannot compare Aruz to X70. Please stay within each segment/price range. Time to change the way we comment.

• Get Rid Honda Supporters on Jul 02, 2020 at 3:57 pm

Dear Hafriz, time also to clear all anti-toyota supporter, anti-continental car supporter, anti P1 Supporters are known as Honda supporters as soon as possible. They are absolutely coming here to talk nonsense without reading their research.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Reenok on Jul 03, 2020 at 10:22 am

Agreed! I don’t know why honda fans always coming here to talk badmouth about kimchi cars and mazda. But good suggestion. So paultan please remove all honda salesmen ASAP

• Kekok on Jul 02, 2020 at 3:57 pm

Becos alot of butthurt proton fan and salesman here love bashing around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • I think it is time to clear all most auto bashers who are absolutely coming from either honda salesmen/P2 salesmen. We have enough all these nonsense as we want to have better peace in here. These honda salesmen/P2 salesmen are trying making these auto sales such as proton, toyota, mazda, nissan, bmw, Volvo, China cars, mercedes to bring down. Please do it as soon as possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Lolz! Dun mind the basher Haf bro. The more bollocks they tokok, the more P1 sales. Just be happy that smart consumers like u knows which to go for and more pipu r becoming smarter like u.

• Peaceful on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:26 pm

That’s right, do it rather than bit too late and abolish all honda cybertroopers that are unwelcome for attacking other brands. Enough is enough for fighting. We want to make more peace. You can see how many honda fans are fighting against other brands. They think that they are the champion and have good achievement but not for us. That’s really unfair and biased. Right guys?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Engineer on Jul 02, 2020 at 6:33 pm

Just want to state my view as a regular reader that while I am not for or against Proton, I want to highlight the fact that P2 trolls had been repeatedly shouting confidently P1 car sales will soon drop to 3000 and game over and blah blah blah.

Evidently fate didn’t side with them and now they are furiously venting their frustrations here. Apa nak buat, takdir tak menentu mereka menang. Hanya boleh komplen kat sini je.

• Lollapalooza on Jul 02, 2020 at 4:50 pm

I once see someone suggested using some comment services that linked the user with their fb account or such. I think it’s time PaulTan do something like that. Because you know people will keep on using fake names to spread such nonsense but if the comment is linked with a real person fb account, it might’ve been different. Also, before anyone say that “they will create fake fb anyway”, have you tried creating a fake fb account nowadays? It’s compulsory to add mobile number for verification! In short, it’s not that easy

• While the Persona design is a nice one, the base Campro engine under the hood should be EOL-ed.

• I don’t know where you get that info bro but base Campro have long since been EOL since the first gen Persona got replaced. Current engines are Campro VVT in Saga, Persona & Iriz, CFE & CPS in Exora & Preve/Suprima, and 4G18TDB in X70.

• Truth on Jul 02, 2020 at 9:15 pm

for those fighting proton vs perodua, cars from both makes are craps, people buy it out of no option due to price factor so nothing to shout about both

• Not really no. While people buy Perodua cars because there is nothing cheaper what about Proton X70? The topline is quite near to Honda CR-V and yet still outsold the Honda. When Preve was stil selling, they would outsold all Vios, City & Almera sales combined. So with Proton cars, people do choose Proton cars because of Proton.

• China number 1 on Jul 05, 2020 at 4:05 pm

china car will need at least next 20 years to catch up with Japanese. Work hard proton. All the best