2022 Perodua Alza video teaser – 360 panoramic view monitor shown, activated from steering button

Perodua continues to release teaser videos for the new 2022 Perodua Alza, and today’s video features the car’s 360 degree panoramic view monitor, which is available on the top 1.5 AV model.

The teaser video shows a Perodua Alza 1.5 AV in the new Vintage Brown paintjob driving past a goods lorry being unloaded. The driver presses the camera button on the left spoke of the steering wheel to activate the 360 degree panoramic view monitor feature, which then allows her to easily see how close she is to the lorry next to her as she drives past it.

Personally I feel the steering wheel is the preferred position to place this button – there are some cars that put it on somewhere on the dashboard requiring you to remove one hand from the steering wheel to activate it. If you’re in a situation that needs the monitor in the first place, you might feel a little kelam kabut looking for the button if it’s not easily within reach like on the steering wheel.

Of course there are also some systems that are even more advanced and integrated – the 360 camera comes on automatically if the parking sensors detect an obstacle around the car at low speeds so you can immediately look at what’s going on.

The tentative RRP for the new Alza is RM62,000 for the X, RM68,000 for the H and RM75,000 for the AV. These prices are on-the-road, without insurance for Peninsular Malaysia. The actual prices will be revealed during the official launch, which is set to happen next month. Check out our full first details report and spec-by-spec comparo piece to learn more about the new Alza.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sohai on Jun 25, 2022 at 4:03 pm

People has just 1 week before 30jun to make a decision and order… why teased?
    I for one won’t order without Apple car play.
    Toyota is more generous in letting us know the specs and look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 28
    • coming from 2005 Honda Odyssey,
      Lucky i dont bother to use Apple Car play,

easy decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Unker so outdate 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • Sohai on Jun 26, 2022 at 1:37 pm

The source of playlist, entertainment and navigation are all much better with Apple car play. Otherwise, however big the screen is not much use. I consider entertainment and navigation are very big part of a car user experience, much more important than things like sequential signal, or even 360 camera.

• use Phone/Tablet Holder.
      run on proper flagship phones/tablet OS, better.

not just rely on dowgraded AA/AC apps.

• Mr Unknown on Jun 25, 2022 at 5:12 pm

The head unit looks like aftermarket android player TBH

Hopefully still got android auto/carplay lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • MarkX on Jun 25, 2022 at 8:05 pm

It probably looks like a Kenwood Android Units.

Instead of those cheaper china Androids.
      Here, you get much longer warranty covered too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Celup King on Jun 26, 2022 at 12:15 pm

Still looks cheap and aftermarket plus doubtful support on the features or any OTA updates. Just a deadend system.

• OTA updates also not much Improvement, not focused on upgrades.
          You have slow processor, less ram a low spec android unit @ cars.
          2 time OS upgrade to this low spec Car Android Units- getting more lag.

IPad 2015 also a lag tablet for today standard with continuous OS upgrades.
          Today iPad Pro is powerful when up to 16gb ram @ iPad pro, not those old iPad with 1gb/2gb ram – lag iPad.

Without OTA, you still get 6 months update interval @ service center, mostly focus on updates, not upgrade.

• alza must be damn nice to drive, hence the mata stim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Ghani on Jun 26, 2022 at 11:28 am

Perodua alza kereta sejuta umat Malaysia. ayuh pakat2 angkat P2, terbaekkk

• Frozen on Jun 25, 2022 at 6:04 pm

“Do you wanna build a snowman~”.

Sing by Elsa’ my son’s favorite song..
    He also like this Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Perodua make hi-tech safety for all,

Well done. A “DNGA Corolla Cross” for all.
    Traded in my 2005 Honda Oddysey to this, still feel berbaloi,
    Even Honda Oddysey having Torsion Beam, lebih kurang saja.

Save the petrol, get the spaces, get the technology,
    Balik kampung finally can self driving.
    Can’t wait to get it before more SST chaos..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • DNGA only a platform, we didnt know how much safe of this car got hit

• Go see YouTube. Indonesia equivalent Toyota veloz cannot climb 17 degree slope Hill with 7peiple total 436kg human. Car just stuck. Cannot move climb hill with this silly gear box. He open bonnet cool the engine gear box. Hmmmmmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • this is not a Hilux/Fortuner maa, why go rev it that way?

D-CVT designed form Japan, running at Japan roads,
      Ativa and Myvi also went Genting Hill 14% slope without issue, follow regulated speed with ease.

• jellybins on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:29 pm

With your current car, or any other car, how many times in your life you’ve ever encountered a situation where you got full occupancy and in a static position on 17deg slope? Btw do you know Jalan Kimanis slope, old alza can tapau that slope with full occupancy. It is driving experience that is lacking, not the car. Driving around KL only wanna talk 17deg slope. Pffftt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • U think everyone fatty like u meh

• Elon Fanboi on Jun 26, 2022 at 7:24 am

What are u talking about? Even my 1000cc axia can climb genting with 5 adults people on board. Please dont talk nonsense.

• Putri on Jun 26, 2022 at 8:54 am

They also have another video. For the Nissan Xtrail CVT,

Same – failed the hill climb when loaded.

• Raja Celup on Jun 27, 2022 at 8:53 am

Your Proton Ertiga also semput naik bukit.

• Honda on Jun 26, 2022 at 10:25 am

Better buy Honda BRV…engine more power.

• Not worth it! on Jun 26, 2022 at 4:33 pm

How to buy honda when new car but got recall. Sorry! Interior looks too cheap, using classic meter and back looks fuglier

• Santai on Jun 26, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Now Malaysia BR-V only has 2 airbags, Comparable to Exora.
      Exora is better value than BR-V.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 26, 2022 at 10:59 am

What, people need front view cameras to drive now? Whatever happened to driving schools? :D

• Cindy on Jun 27, 2022 at 9:13 am

It’s very useful. Cuz a kids easily shorter/lower than your front visibility.

When you are moving out from car park, slowly driving and 360cam visibility + pedal misoperation control helps/Rear Cross Traffic Alert helps.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 26, 2022 at 1:21 pm

better than x50’s 360 camera, but not x70

• Ismail Ras on Jun 27, 2022 at 7:20 am

apa la nak dirahsiakan sangat

• GadgetFreQ on Jun 27, 2022 at 10:04 am

Play safe la… nanti kalau cannot deliver Apple Carplay takde la kena tibai… Toyota Veloz dah confirm Apple Carplay sure berani exposed all the specs. Perodua is helping Toyota to push booking… ni just small features jer. Ramai ke yg nak Apple Carplay? hehehe

• jagat malaysia on Jun 27, 2022 at 12:01 pm

High tech indeed 480p screen resolution

• Kapchai on Jun 27, 2022 at 2:14 pm

It’s brighter and clearer than Honda Lane Watch,
      So it’s a more expensive tech.