Proton X50 now available with ATLAS OS by ACO Tech – here’s a guide on how to perform the OTA update

The infotainment system in the Proton X50 can now be updated to the ATLAS (an acronym for ACO Tech Local Automotive Services) operating system, which you can do at home without having to visit a service centre.

According to a recent post on Proton’s Facebook page, the update promises a refined user interface design for personal customization, an improved voice command experience and intelligent alerts, an enhanced navigation experience as well as new experiences with an app marketplace.

There’s also a set of instructions on how to get the over-the-air (OTA) update. Firstly, users with the older Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI) operating system will need to enter the “Settings” menu and click on “System.”

An “Update available” message will be shown if the OTA update is ready for your vehicle, after which you’ll need to click on “GKUI 19” to continue, followed by “Speed first” to begin downloading the new operating system.

Once that’s done, click on “Install” and confirm the process by clicking “Sure” on the pop-up message. While the software is being installed, you’ll be unable to interact with the infotainment system and you’ll want to make sure to keep the engine running in a safe space until the process is completed – this will take approximately 10-15 minutes.

Once the update is complete, the head unit will restart itself and you can check if you have the latest update by entering “Settings” and clicking on “System.” For Standard and Executive variants of the X50, the software version should read “SW0SXRA0616L5170.00582,” while it’s “SW0SXRA0616H5170.00581” for the Premium and Flagship.

With that, you can now enjoy all the benefits of ATLAS in your X50. If you’re curious about what’s new with the operating system, do check out our video tour where Hafriz Shah takes you through all the features and improvements of ATLAS. Share your experience in the comments below.

GALLERY: Proton X50 with ACO Tech Atlas OS

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• There’s no instructions on how to do the settings. Eg, there’s a voice alert every single time after switching off the engine, the system will announce the weather. Also, when the door is open, there’s a continuous voice alert that the door is opened and must be kept close ……. is there anyway to switch off these voice alerts? It can get quite annoying.

• Same problem here, asked the service centre, they say cannot do anything. The voice alert to announce the wrong weather forecast everytime switching off the engine is so loud and cannot adjust the volume at all.

• Great job by Proton. X50 is really a superb car.

• Mr Mar on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:29 am

Nice update !

• Johnny sainz on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:50 am

No CarPlay or Android auto why even bother updating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Lets See on Jul 26, 2022 at 6:01 pm

But this is better than Carplay and Androidauto

• Autodriver on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:07 pm

Haha, better than AA and AC. You are a big fans boy of proton. Can’t use Google map and Waze how can it better than the duo?

• Celup King on Jul 27, 2022 at 3:30 pm

For one, Atlas maps can still use in rural kampung roads with spotty network. Can google or waze run without internet connection?

• frustrated on Jul 26, 2022 at 12:26 pm

hi gerard, probably you can check with ACO tech,

1. believe the interface was initially designed for persona/iriz, whereby their HU has a physical back button. in x50 find it difficult to go back to previous menu without one
    2. unable to log into the HU, thus can’t use some of the features
    3. outdated maps, some new roads are not available
    4. feel a bit laggy

• Wonder how much Atlas is paying you to promote this, when there are issues with the Atlas OS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Kea Was on Jul 26, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Also where is the Spotify and the online store as promised until today it is offline come on man how can you update a untested and uncompleted.

• Sangria on Jul 26, 2022 at 7:09 pm

How much you guys being paid to promote

• David on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:52 pm

Junk

• This update totally break the navigation app. Can’t even auto reroute, how can you promote a problematic update??? It actually worse than the previous version. Now I can’t even use the navigation thanks to the update.

• David on Jul 27, 2022 at 11:46 am

The map is a disaster as it wont re route and difficult to set home office etc.
    also need to be able to turn voice off when you switch off as very annoying

• Monnie Foo on Jul 27, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Just checked mine, no update for my X50 yet :(

• CP Rajah on Feb 01, 2023 at 12:30 pm

There a weather update when i turn off the engine. Hw do i off the weather report?

• Faizal on Jun 20, 2023 at 7:05 pm

Atlas on X50- total rubbish.
    Updating to Atlas is my biggest regret.
    And no rollback option.