No plans to rationalise RON95 subsidy yet – Anwar

No, the rationalisation of RON 95 petrol subsidy will not begin anytime soon. That’s what prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has reiterated, stating yet again that any plans for it remains off the table for now, as The Star reports.

He said that this was because the government wants to ensure the public fully understands the implementation of targeted diesel subsidies. “The matter has not been discussed. We will deal with the diesel issue first, to give better and the right explanation. This is necessary because sometimes, certain parties will spin the issue,” he said.

Earlier this month, Anwar had said that there was no policy paper yet on the implementation of the subsidy rationalisation of RON 95 petrol, but stated that the removal of subsidies for RON 95 petrol should have been carried out a long time ago, even though it was not easy to do so.

He said rationalisation of fuel subsidies was necessary to balance the need between increasing government revenue and paying off national debt. The removal of blanket subsidies are part of the various measures being taken to boost government revenue, including prudent spending and borrowing only when necessary for development purposes.

“Other efforts include more efficient manner of enforcing the law and taxation efforts. If we don’t do it, our revenue will not increase, but our debt will continue to rise,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• maybe RON95 close one eyes ? Diesel for Thais , RON 95 for Singaporeans ! whats the difference if want to curb the issue ?

• Sick & Tired on Jul 25, 2024 at 1:08 am

As expected after mentri visit to PT, semua kena diam.

• Ben Yap on Jul 23, 2024 at 11:16 am

PMX doing temperature check because people are angry at him. he is losing the non-bumi votes and low support from bumi and that’s the real reason for the delay.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jul 24, 2024 at 9:11 am

As above. Anwar sila jawab!

• Dah Menang Semua on Jul 24, 2024 at 9:58 pm

Yea because the non-Malays are forgetful
      They forgotten PN initiated the
      Targeted fuel subsidy system
      Azmin’s Kancil-BMW story

• ThePolygon on Jul 23, 2024 at 11:20 am

Oh man.. does this mean it’s actually this year?

• Sick & Tired on Jul 24, 2024 at 9:14 am

Dun worry. Rapepizi will make it a ‘surprise’ when he rapes millions of malaysians.

• Just do it la . Apa nak tunggu? Biar minyak Mahal , org tak racing mcm tak fikir . Tambah pula kurang kena yah curi minyak oleh makluk asing..

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan!! on Jul 23, 2024 at 11:30 am

He said rationalisation of fuel subsidies was necessary to balance the need between increasing government revenue and paying off national debt.

Wei, give us facts not bullshit.
    Firstly… the national debt was created by politicians and not the rakyat..why are you taxing the rakyat.
    Why have you not seized the assest of all those politicians and MFs who created this national debt?

You very well know that Edisisiasat highlighted the fact that PDRM was leaking 17,000 litres of RON95 but until now you have not taken action… why??… bloody a…hole

• Contradicting statement from u and your minister that good-for-nothing Rafizi. U two want to ambush the rakyat, rakyat will teach u two a lesson in next GE

• By next GE too late ady lar! 5 years since Gomen change and all progress we made up to 2018 have gone backwards 10 years, now Vietnam & Pinoy are competing with us while Thailand & Indon long marched past us when during under BN we were on par with each other. WKS was correct, the country & rakyat was much better off under Pak Najib then.

• Janji Dicapati on Jul 23, 2024 at 12:22 pm

Refer my name

• Nurul Izzah on Jul 23, 2024 at 12:22 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

• TinKosong on Jul 23, 2024 at 12:56 pm

formula yet ready?

• One term pm on Jul 23, 2024 at 1:51 pm

Sunak Rishi,Joe Biden,Who is next?

• ANTI EV on Jul 23, 2024 at 4:13 pm

“paying off national debt”.

Why call it national debt when the nation did not create this debt… this debt is caused by / because of politikus who are thieves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Of course la you say like that. Uncle Rapizi said it will be a surprise.

• So tell me again how much you spent Malaysian’s hard earn tax money on developing Madani and now it’s completely useless.

• Pro-Palestine on Jul 24, 2024 at 9:03 am

How about doing business and deals with/in other countries to make money for Malaysia instead?? Too hard and need too much brain for that?

• Obviously duh!
    KKB voters voted him, he raised diesel prices.
    Then Sg Bakap voters rejected him, he not dare raise RON95 yet.
    So lets see in Nengiri if voters want to raise RON95 prices or totally reject PH to send him a strong message: Give Us Back Our Subsidies!!!

• Malay proverb on Jul 24, 2024 at 3:17 pm

Takut dengan bayang bayang sendiri