Perodua D18D to launch on 10th May 2007

Perodua XX06 Concept

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

Perodua will be launching the new replacement for both the Perodua Kancil and Perodua Kelisa on the 10th of May 2007. Word on the street is the new car codenamed Perodua D18D will be called the Perodua Viva, but let’s wait until the launch to find out full details on the new car that’s set to take the budget car market to new levels.

Perodua’s production targets for the new car is between 7,000 to 8,000 units, and already 2,000 units of stock are ready to be delivered by the launch date. Three engine sizes are available – 660cc, 850cc and the top of the line 1,000cc, and all three engines will have electronic fuel injection and DVVT variable valve timing.

Booking for the new Perodua D18D (Perodua Viva) starts today, on the 1st of May 2007. If you visit the showrooms, some of them should have details on the car and will be giving you a sales pitch for pre-launch booking already.

Source: Business Times

As a recap, here are some of the previous posts covering the Perodua Viva. Check them out to view all the spyshots and juicy details previously posted about the car!

Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:45 am

Horror ! wish 10th of may never comes !

• albagmane (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:53 am

hmm… i wonder if they will put LED on rear lights, signal on side mirrors and optitron meter display… since so many ppl say this car has some gene from the myvi, lets juz wish these features are not excluded as well…

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:58 am

10 may?! i thought it was 12 may? oh well………….cheers for those who will buy it!

• sarawakguy (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:00 am

Sure P2 showroom will be crowded one niaa…

• volvolover (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:04 am

Perodua cars are always so boxy. So damn fugly, on the bright side it's better quality than proton and the fuel consumption is good because of the engine, but I believe perodua is more milo tin than proton.

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:06 am

it is always like that maa……..u know those p@ guys put a banner that says "P1 NEW MODEL FOR BOOKING " SILLY ISNT IT? BOOK before u even see it? oh come on!

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:56 am

wanna know detail about this ah soo/ladies car???

visit here

credit to savoc.net

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:58 am

volvolover said,

May 1, 2007 @ 10:04 pm

Perodua cars are always so boxy. So damn fugly, on the bright side it’s better quality than proton and the fuel consumption is good because of the engine, but I believe perodua is more milo tin than proton.

========================

Better FC because of DVVT engine???

prrrfthh japs never claim about it..

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:02 am

Mira 660 price in Japan is Yen85man=RM20k

lets see how much perodua making profit with no passion (as mentioned by Jeremy clarson Top gear) sells this car..

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:09 am

I'm wondering how solid Viva versus Kelisa…. If Viva cost above RM30k for 1000cc… then shall people go for RM27k Iswara 1300cc???

Seems like Viva is not so "special" compare to Kancil…

Really dissaponted on Viva…

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:10 am

In Japan, They claim mira FC is 25.5km/l

see what perodua salesman say about Viva's FC

still remember they claim and conned ppl say that myvi FC around 21km/l just because passo/boon FC is 21km/l in Japan…

prrrfthh

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:12 am

People will get a Myvi instead of Viva if the price above RM30k…..

Siapa mau beli….!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:13 am

McQueen_CARz said,

May 1, 2007 @ 11:09 pm

I’m wondering how solid Viva versus Kelisa…. If Viva cost above RM30k for 1000cc… then shall people go for RM27k Iswara 1300cc???

Seems like Viva is not so “special” compare to Kancil…

Really dissaponted on Viva…

========================

Just imagine.. small car, small boot space,660 cc, milo tin mtrl, no airbag

and they sell it at RM28k..????

even Mira ,assembled in Japan(higher labour cost), better quality can sell at RM20k

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:17 am

McQueen_CARz said,

May 1, 2007 @ 11:12 pm

People will get a Myvi instead of Viva if the price above RM30k…..

Siapa mau beli….!!!!!!!!!!!!!

=====================

i reckon.. perodua over confident, they believe they can sell this car without ppl seeing the car first

• infinity (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:53 am

finally..it is happening…ppl criticize perodua and gave positive remarks on proton..haha..

• nizam80 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:10 am

The body is quite big to be crammed in with a 660cc engine underneath the bonnet. Should come up with only 2 variants 850cc and 1000cc. Just my 2 cents.

Guess, this is a direct competitor with the Savvy. Hmm… many people will buy it i guess, but maybe this time the sales figures will not rocket sky high as with the Myvi.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:13 am

How many maximum horses will the 660cc DVVT engine make? The original 660cc carburetor engine in the old Kancil made about 35hp. This time around… maybe slightly more than that??? What do u guys think??

• the man (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:28 am

DVVT??? yeah…sound cool and high tech huh…but I think most malaysian want cheap car….this car I heard cost more than current kelisa and kancil….don't expect too much for cheaper car from p2….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:10 am

http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/mira/1… http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/mira/2… http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/mira/1…

They already selling mira with DVVT since 1998… And they have Turbo and CVT tranmission. YAHOO, I gonna have a Half-Cut turbo for my new VIVA!

In CVT, They have the second generation of EF-VE2 engine, Which is certified as LEV in Japan. Check this out: http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/mira/2…

In Japan spec their 660 DVVT (N/A) mira is 58 ps (42.66 kw) / 7600 rpm, 6.5 kg*m (63.74 N*m) / 4000 rpm,Fuel consumption at 10-15 (Manual) modes / 4.4 L/100km.

Turbo EF-DET is 64 ps (47.07 kw) / 6400 rpm, 10.9 kg*m (106.89 N*m) / 3600 rpm, Fuel consumption at 10-15 modes (Manual)/ 5 L/100km.

At 58 ps is a lot compare to old kancil 40ps with better torque and less fuel consuption… 4.4L with 5L at 10-15 modes.

First generation of kancil 660cc..

http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/mira/1… http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/mira/1…

• silverfish (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:26 am

If priced properly, watch it fly off the shelf.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:32 am

Yeah! Exactly perfect on what you said.

P2 cars are very expensive and even low on quality.

But still a lot better than P1. AT least Malaysian have more choice.

Same old Perodua. All cars look like this. No tail. Boring.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:44 am

u call this a choice? the car looks like a retarded frog…the problem is ppl wil actually buy bases on the initial euphoria..i hav no comment !

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:57 am

I read some comments here and some of them don't make any sense at all. Of course it's not going to have no "tail" (sedan boot). Its a K-Car!

30K may be hefty yes to some people, but have you ever thought that Perodua would have to work off the cost from the initial purchase of the chassis blueprint , technology or moulds from Daihatsu? Nobody makes a profit on day one.

If people only knew how much the moulds for a car cost. Even Toyota Malaysia spent millions and millions of ringgit just to buy the mould from Toyota Japan. I know so because my friend's mom works for the Toyota Corporation here in M'sia.

Don't expect everything to be cheap. If everything was cheap, we wouldn't be working so hard at our jobs anymore.

• silverfish (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:04 am

Beggars can't be choosers.

Besides, Perodua has the happier customers and the better reputation compared to you-know-who.

If Proton had never existed, Perodua won't as well and everybody here will all be happy buying Japanese or Korean cars for half the price.

Perodua builds small compact cars. They are essentially Daihatsu in all but name. So stop expecting them to build family sedans all of a sudden.

Speaking of Daihatsu, as most may already know, the Viva is a current Daihatsu model, which has its benefits. It will have a sound design which is current and therefore will meet current crash test regulations (provided they come with all the required safety equipment, so stop with all that milo tin business). It will also have an updated engine which also means all the newer emissions regulations are met. Basically, it isn't ancient like the Saga (or even the Wira or the Kancil).

• Paul Tan on May 02, 2007 at 11:01 am

silverfish: i think – the viva is a previous daihatsu mira model with the previous generation engine, the latest mira has just been launched either this year or late last year and also carries daihatsu's latest engine family (Topaz engine) with auto start-stop in traffic function

• Illuminate (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:36 am

I'd have to say that the design seen here is not too appealing. But then to call it a blasphemy is.. too much?

I think it's quite nice.. Ahaha.. But that's only my 2 cents. Bash off if you want.

I only hope that Perodua would start making more capable engines.. Hmm.. =D

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 2:08 pm

Well, well. Maybe i have posted something wrong.

But do you know that i previously worked in SxNY in Prai and currently in 1 of the world top 5 PC vendors, DxLL. Have you ever been in a motivation course.

Sometimes, in order to be successful revolution is needed. Change something.

Just like if you eat rice with egg everyday. Don't you feel boring. I will.

Just look at the other motor company. Why they are so sucessful?

From family cars to SUVs and even trackers.

So you are willing to spent more to buy this crap. 30k for K-car! But i can tell you, I WON'T

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 2:12 pm

In Japan… most popular K car r Suzuki wagon R and Honda life..

lets see how the perodua salesman cheat u, saying that this mira very2 popular in JApan

prrrfthhh

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 3:35 pm

cbljkkj said,

Don’t expect everything to be cheap. If everything was cheap, we wouldn’t be working so hard at our jobs anymore.

——————————————

I'm agreed everything will not be cheap but it wont go beyond than other countries are selling… Is Msia automobile market is the costlies in the market?

Everyone knows how much we "RAKYAT JELIAT" paying for our "JALIA-TA NATIONAL CAR".

By the way,Toyota mau untung….. UMW mau untung… and going thru so many people… A RINGGIT piece of bread will end up RM10….

say "TAK NAK" to "AUTO MARKET VENDALISME"!!!!

• haroldz (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:32 pm

all of a sudden u disprove P2

funny lar…..

of course cars r more expensive, protection 2 P1 la…

dat y we must b a slave 2 own a good car

hehehehhe

at least we hv choices 4 compact car….

suria, naza sutera, chery qq, myvi, viva, savvy…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:23 pm

http://www.crashtest.com/daihatsu/index.htm This is the crash test compare to old mira.. It is ACCEPTABLE!.. Our new Viva is based on Mira 99-02, compare to old kancil mira 90-96. So it has improved. Do some research peYno..
    http://www.crashtest.com/mitsubishi/index.htm compare to old saga, which is either lancer 84-89. Tredia 85-88 (Which i think it is Saga rebadge) the ovarall is worst the Daihatsu mira.. Both ovarall rating are POOR AND MARGINAL!

So this prove that VIVA are better then SAGE in term of SAFETY!

• albagmane (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:20 pm

i don see any sedans from p2 yet… or maybe not even in the future… maybe they are juz only focusing on cheap yet small objective… so i wonder this DVVT technology will be used for the next 10 years? 20 years maybe? juz like the proton saga which is able to "live" in the 21st century?

• silverfish (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Paul; I beg your pardon, I don't pay much attention to small car news updates, mainly just supercars :)

But I did have a look at the Daihatsu UK website and apparently they are still selling this model (the one the Viva is based on). So it ain't too shabby.

Anyway, back to the point of cars in Malaysia. If there wasn't a Proton, there wouldn't be protectionism, then there wouldn't be Perodua and car prices will also be much cheaper. How much cars costs around ain't the fault of Perodua. They haven't been bouncing around claiming to fly the Malaysian flag either, just making cars and selling them.

For all I care, they are selling Daihatsu cars, at slightly cheaper prices than if it was Daihatsu badged. Some of you wouldn't be making stupid comments if it was Daihatsu badged though, but the cars would be more expensive.

• normaluser (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:19 pm

I heard that the top of the line 1.0L Viva will sell to near RM40K. If that's so, then I hope P2 can go to GRAVE, just like P1. Small super-compact cars (1.0L & below) should never breach the RM30K line, as they should be affordable to the mass market. Affordable means that the car should be priced less than average workers salary for 2 years.

In other countries, a Honda Accord sized/class car is one year's fresh grad salary. In our country, a Kancil is 3+ years above.

• bmpower (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:00 pm

for me, this car look VERY UGLY.

i don't know what on earth you're if you said this car is beauty.

Please! no no, big no no for 660cc engine. If proton car use 660 engine.. die bashed laa.. but p2, dun worry.. the salesman will goreng you about save fuel cosumption. :D

Anyway.. my brothers BIKES HAD 1100 engine.. so? this car actually is..

"A car body with a bike engine".

Surely underpower and will kill thousands more people next raya days. even fitted with srs airbag is USELESS. You can't overtake 1 ton lorry with 660cc :o

• MyBoy (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:07 pm

"normaluser said,

I heard that the top of the line 1.0L Viva will sell to near RM40K. If that’s so, then I hope P2 can go to GRAVE, just like P1. Small super-compact cars (1.0L & below) should never breach the RM30K line, as they should be affordable to the mass market. Affordable means that the car should be priced less than average workers salary for 2 years.

In other countries, a Honda Accord sized/class car is one year’s fresh grad salary. In our country, a Kancil is 3+ years above."

I cant agree more.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:10 pm

"silverfish said,

But I did have a look at the Daihatsu UK website and apparently they are still selling this model (the one the Viva is based on). So it ain’t too shabby."

Yes, they are still selling the same car that Viva based on. However they will move to all-new model very soon. From what i heard, its July 2007 at the latest.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:25 pm

"silverfish said,

Speaking of Daihatsu, as most may already know, the Viva is a current Daihatsu model, which has its benefits. It will have a sound design which is current and therefore will meet current crash test regulations (provided they come with all the required safety equipment, so stop with all that milo tin business). It will also have an updated engine which also means all the newer emissions regulations are met. Basically, it isn’t ancient like the Saga (or even the Wira or the Kancil)."

Viva based on current model??? Dont be so sure! Daihatsu already launched all-new mira at the end of last year. So your current model is not so current anymore. Perodua will launch Viva this month, basicly what? 5-6 years? After Daihatsu launched this model (which Viva based on).

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:11 pm

p2 trend is using the model after 2 years daihatsu launches it.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:28 pm

"kei9 said,

p2 trend is using the model after 2 years daihatsu launches it."

Thats for MyVy. For Viva, its after 5-6 years.

• silverfish (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:55 pm

Regarding the "current" model business, I've already corrected myself. It isn't the latest, but they are still selling it in other markets. Same goes for the Myvi and the model on which it is based. We are never going to get the "latest" latest models as in Japan. Very few markets will. Just be thankful it isn't obsolete.

Back to car prices again, I'll be as happy as everyone if protectionist automotive policies are removed and we all get better, cheaper cars, aight? But as it is ALL cars sold in Malaysia are at inflated prices. But as it is, apart from wishing for the end of these policies and ridiculous taxes, when you look at the bottom end of the market, Perodua sells the cheapest cars (apart from the ancient Saga). For people who can only afford cars in that price range, they haven't many choices. If you can or if you wish to take up huge, financially disastrous loans, by all means do so and buy something else.

As it is, for the average Malaysian (not you who can afford something else obviously), Daihatsu Malaysian Edition is the choice to go for when a new car is concerned.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:19 am

Well actually the first Daihatsu engine is used from Yamaha superbike motor… And if you want to know, Yamaha used to join venture with toyota to design engine.. If u stumble with the old 2.5 twin turbo supra, you can see the Yamaha word printed on the timing belt cover.. So? Surprise? And 1 thing, if the tax are removed i think the Viva is less then RM25k, but since P2 sells better then P1.. i think the G wont help P2 to drop his prices.. Politics leh.. Even the Nissan Sentra 1.6 (A) SG spec without tax (base) only RM45k… So if G remove tax.. i think P1 is worst compare to others..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:27 am

Well in tern of safety.. Even a tree stump S-class merc driver collide also die laa… (MBF directer died at 1999 at high way, terbabas then langgar pokok.) And i dont think a P1 perdana will survive with 1 ton lorry run over it… So next time if u want to critic the car, think of ur car first.. If your can can survive a C4 bomb blast under it.. Congratz ur car is the safest car in the world.. Each car has his limit.. At first ppl critic P1, now P2 also kena.. Which car u support in Malaysia? But overall quality and service, i prefer P2 then P1 coz of Toyota quality control..

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:43 am

"silverfish said,

Regarding the “current” model business, I’ve already corrected myself. It isn’t the latest, but they are still selling it in other markets. Same goes for the Myvi and the model on which it is based. We are never going to get the “latest” latest models as in Japan. Very few markets will. Just be thankful it isn’t obsolete."

It (Viva) isn't obsolete? Are you kidding?

Daihatsu already launched all-new Mira at the end of last year. Even UK will also phase out your "current" Charade/Mira (Viva) pretty soon. i can think of no better term other than obsolete (for Viva).

As for MyVy, its quite different story. P2 launched it when Sirion/Boon or whatever still quite new, not even reached its midlife.

• sbjess (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:08 am

most of u here complaining before u even see the car right infront of ur eyes and test-drive it.. WHy don't u go to any P2 showroom and test-drive it after May 10th and see what r u going to say afterwards.. We here in p2 do know this one won't be giving great impact on the market but lets see how it goes.. As for people booking it before it being launched, the same thing we did for MyVI too..

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:09 am

Maybe your definition of obsolete is different from mine. By your definition, many makes on sale in Malaysia now are obsolete (not just from Proton and Perodua), even the current Vios. And you'll have to say to a guy who just bought a new Charade in the UK that he is driving an obsolete model (a little extreme choice of word is it not?). Obsolete, for me is something like the Wira or Saga or Kancil or Kelisa (you get the picture).

Furthermore, there's the timing of things. A recently just launched Daihatsu model isn't going to be rebadged. If the new model was launched a year or 2 earlier, perhaps. Anyway, I'm not going to continue on this further as it doesn't serve any purpose whatsoever.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:12 am

"sbjess said,

most of u here complaining before u even see the car right infront of ur eyes and test-drive it.. WHy don’t u go to any P2 showroom and test-drive it after May 10th and see what r u going to say afterwards.. We here in p2 do know this one won’t be giving great impact on the market but lets see how it goes.. As for people booking it before it being launched, the same thing we did for MyVI too.."

Why don't you guys for once admit that Viva is based on an obsolete Mira?

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:16 am

LittleFire85, even for Mercedes, the crash test ratings are markedly improved from a new model to an older model. A 1997 C Class scores just 2 stars on EuroNCAP. Whereas the subsequent models fare much better (4 stars in 2001).

This tell you brand and make doesn't ensure the crash-worthiness of a car. The time when it is built tells more because of the need to comply with crash test regulations.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:19 am

MyBoy; if somehow that makes you happy, sure why not.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:21 am

"silverfish said,

Maybe your definition of obsolete is different from mine. By your definition, many makes on sale in Malaysia now are obsolete (not just from Proton and Perodua), even the current Vios. And you’ll have to say to a guy who just bought a new Charade in the UK that he is driving an obsolete model (a little extreme choice of word is it not?). Obsolete, for me is something like the Wira or Saga or Kancil or Kelisa (you get the picture)."

For UK, its not that bad because your "current" Charade will be replaced in a few months time. Its not bad, really. It just a matter of month delay in phasing out exercise.

The thing about Viva is very, very diffrent. Because its being "LAUNCHED" after Daihatsu introduce its replacement for almost 6 months. So how you going justify that?

We can tolerate delay in phasing out old model. But can we tolerate when an obsolete model being launched as all-new?

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:26 am

silverfish said,

LittleFire85, even for Mercedes, the crash test ratings are markedly improved from a new model to an older model. A 1997 C Class scores just 2 stars on EuroNCAP. Whereas the subsequent models fare much better (4 stars in 2001).

This tell you brand and make doesn’t ensure the crash-worthiness of a car. The time when it is built tells more because of the need to comply with crash test regulations.

I agree with you on that.

By the same logic, generally 5-6 years old (obsolete) model cant be any better than is newly launched (end of last year, to be precise) successor.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:26 am

How's that make any difference. You are labelling the current Charade (still sold in the UK) obsolete. If I just bought one there, you are saying it is obsolete, isn't it? What does a new model coming soon make any difference to what I am already driving? Obsolete is just an unsuitable word in this case. You may use it if you wish, if it makes you happy, but we are just arguing semantics and I see no further point in bringing this further.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:27 am

MyBoy said;

"I agree with you on that.

By the same logic, generally 5-6 years old (obsolete) model cant be any better than is newly launched (end of last year, to be precise) successor."

—-

True, but that's not the point I'm making.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:29 am

"silverfish said,

How’s that make any difference. You are labelling the current Charade (still sold in the UK) obsolete. If I just bought one there, you are saying it is obsolete, isn’t it? What does a new model coming soon make any difference to what I am already driving? Obsolete is just an unsuitable word in this case. You may use it if you wish, if it makes you happy, but we are just arguing semantics and I see no further point in bringing this further."

In UK, its about to be phase out. But here in Malaysia, its about to be LAUNCH. Ain't it funny?

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:33 am

silverfish,

This coming July, your "current" Charade will be replaced by an all-new car. By that time it will truly be an obsolete model.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:37 am

MyBoy said;

"In UK, its about to be phase out. But here in Malaysia, its about to be LAUNCH. Ain’t it funny?"

————-

The ancient Saga is still being sold as a new car. Proton sells a whole stable of pretty old models. Perodua still sells the Kancil, Kelisa, Kenari, Kembara.

I'm well past the phase of being amused or surprised. This is what we have to make do with in Malaysia.

Instead of complaining about the effects, why don't we hope for the demise of Proton and with it the current policies, which is the true source.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:40 am

"silverfish said,

Instead of complaining about the effects, why don’t we hope for the demise of Proton and with it the current policies, which is the true source."

I am 100% with you bro. Let us vote wisely :)

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:45 am

Let's get back to the topic proper;

By Daihatsu's own tests and claims, this model gets the equivalent of 4 stars in EuroNCAP. This is obviously, with the full complement of airbags.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:46 am

"LittleFire85 said,

So? Surprise? And 1 thing, if the tax are removed i think the Viva is less then RM25k, but since P2 sells better then P1.. i think the G wont help P2 to drop his prices.. Politics leh.. Even the Nissan Sentra 1.6 (A) SG spec without tax (base) only RM45k… So if G remove tax.. i think P1 is worst compare to others.."

Not surprise at all. Yamaha do make engine for cars.

As for the tax thingy, i am with you all the way.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:52 am

Back on the crash test ratings. To give you guys some perspective, the really large Kia Carnival/Naza Ria only gets 2 stars from EuroNCAP. So big cars are safer is it? Not necessarily so, so think again.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:53 am

"silverfish said,

Let’s get back to the topic proper;

By Daihatsu’s own tests and claims, this model gets the equivalent of 4 stars in EuroNCAP. This is obviously, with the full complement of airbags."

I believe its internal equivalent test. But Sirion is proven 4 Stars BTW.

Have anyone remember P1 overzealous add for Savvy (internally only 3 Stars). Make me throw up. :)

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:54 am

"silverfish said,

Back on the crash test ratings. To give you guys some perspective, the really large Kia Carnival/Naza Ria only gets 2 stars from EuroNCAP. So big cars are safer is it? Not necessarily so, so think again."

It is safer, don't believe me?

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:56 am

MyBoy said;

"It is safer, don’t believe me?"

————————

Not according to EuroNCAP.

• bmpower (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:57 am

the UNDERPOWER car is good? Duhhhh!!!!

many died already in underpower kancil.

tell me, does this car brake can GRIP well when you're speed at 100kmh?

it bouching right? I knew it!

• bmpower (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:58 am

i mean the 660cc (must be ban from market lah. 1.0 is okay)

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:01 am

"silverfish said,

Not according to EuroNCAP."

I'm not in the mood to talk on technical side. So i give you a simple rule of thumb when comparing the Stars Rating.

You can only do the comparison within the same category (weight). You dont compare across category.

I believe you are smart enough to figure out why.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:10 am

MyBoy said;

"I’m not in the mood to talk on technical side. So i give you a simple rule of thumb when comparing the Stars Rating.

You can only do the comparison within the same category (weight). You dont compare across category.

I believe you are smart enough to figure out why."

———————————–

You are right only when it involves a collisions between 2 different sized vehicles. Whereas, for example, if you are talking about a frontal collision into a stationary object (ie wall perhaps), the frontal barrier tests and subsequent ratings tells us that you are safer in the higher rated vehicle.

Furthermore, manufacturers are now putting a lot more attention into crashes involving different sized vehicles.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:21 am

"silverfish said,

You are right only when it involves a collisions between 2 different sized vehicles. Whereas, for example, if you are talking about a frontal collision into a stationary object (ie wall perhaps), the frontal barrier tests and subsequent ratings tells us that you are safer in the higher rated vehicle.

Furthermore, manufacturers are now putting a lot more attention into crashes involving different sized vehicles."

Single-vehicle accident is rare compared to 2 vehicle collision. Hope you see where im heading. I however do agree with you on vehicle with high rating. Generally its safer. But just now you comparing size when you talking about safety.

As for crashes involving different sized vehicle, thats what they called "compatibly issue". Volvo is one of the earliest manufacturer that managed to improved this situation by (among other) lowering crash member for its SUVs.

I believe techie like you allready know about this. But its always good to discuss this nonetheless.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:33 am

I know what you're saying.

"Crash compatibility" sounds cool but many people probably won't have a clue what I'm on about if I used that term.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:50 am

"silverfish said,

I know what you’re saying.

“Crash compatibility” sounds cool but many people probably won’t have a clue what I’m on about if I used that term."

Dont worry. Most of the people here are tech savvy and many of them have better understanding on auto tech then we do.

• silverfish (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:00 am

MyBoy said;

"Dont worry. Most of the people here are tech savvy and many of them have better understanding on auto tech then we do."

————-

You sure bout that? From the mindless bashing that goes on here sometimes, I'm not so sure.

BTW, I'm no techie or auto expert. I just know a little bit.

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:06 am

aiyoo guys.. u compare EuroNCAP sirion and mira with the downgraded myvi and Viva???

eventho mira and viva or myvi and sirion r sharing same platform.. it does not mean the crash test result will be the same..

perodua RnD??? invest and spend a lot of time and money downgraded and (cut cost) to make more profit..

come on la… u think mira=viva???..u r totally wrong

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:14 am

LittleFire85 said,

May 2, 2007 @ 10:23 am

http://www.crashtest.com/daihatsu/index.htm This is the crash test compare to old mira.. It is ACCEPTABLE!.. Our new Viva is based on Mira 99-02, compare to old kancil mira 90-96. So it has improved. Do some research peYno..
    http://www.crashtest.com/mitsubishi/index.htm compare to old saga, which is either lancer 84-89. Tredia 85-88 (Which i think it is Saga rebadge) the ovarall is worst the Daihatsu mira.. Both ovarall rating are POOR AND MARGINAL!

So this prove that VIVA are better then SAGE in term of SAFETY!

=============================

Dear LittleFire85

U ask me to do some reseach?? just like wat u doing a research from Internet only???

prrrfthh

Based on my experience 6 years staying in Japan… and used to drive this Mira car( no choice.. that was my company car during my part time job delivery the newspaper.)…. just ask me about my japanese friends… wat they will say about Mira …

Most of them r used for company car and Ah soo's car..

K car.. they will go for suzuki wagon R…

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:18 am

sbjess said,

May 2, 2007 @ 5:08 pm

most of u here complaining before u even see the car right infront of ur eyes and test-drive it.. WHy don’t u go to any P2 showroom and test-drive it after May 10th and see what r u going to say afterwards.. We here in p2 do know this one won’t be giving great impact on the market but lets see how it goes.. As for people booking it before it being launched, the same thing we did for MyVI too..

=================================

Dear sbjess

perodua not making new car ( all r rebadge).. and u know.. nowadays a lot of malaysian staying or studying in Japan and they hv more knowledge about Japs car ..and i reckon.. they know better than u ppl in perodua..

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:23 am

Pls list up.. perodua salesman's words..when promoting this new viva

1.Thiss 660 plus DVVT engine is equivalent to 1000 cc ooo..vely poweful

2. FC vely good.. 25.5km/l ooo ( actually this is for mira's FC in Japan)

3.This car vely2 popular in Japan lorrr…

• muenzo (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:57 am

i love the look ov d nu pro2 viva, im very sure i can make a lot ov money when it release soon…hahaha….

• haroldz (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:03 am

hey sbjess,

good 2 hv u here.

r u really from perodua? WHich department?

at least u can tell ur boss about market sentiment toward ur product.

we just tired of old model sold s new car here in msia..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:30 am

Oh sorry PeYno.. Actually K-car in Japan save a lot of tax, parking fees.. that why is a lot of company buy that car… Well my friend in Hokkaido Working as an engineer driving his company car which is a Subaru Forester to work in highlands to maintain power supply generators.. I don't think he complain so much, but he said to me Wow! You should get 1 and is cost cheap in Japan (But in reality in Malaysia, AP cars are $$$)…

Well when u and ur co-workers r bored on driving the stupid car, sure will say stupid things on it (Just like me bored driving my father's wira); Coz u cant drive something better in Japan is it? I know the Policeman who drive in town also used Suzuki Kei-sport Turbo, and the Cappuccino is nice to drive compare to the daihatsu copen. But in REALITY we r in Malaysia.. And we don't have so much option.. So look at the market in Malaysia then compare the cars within.. Dont compare to the rest of the world… If you have the $$$ why not buy a Roll Royce or Maybatch to sit on it?

And anywayz Suzuki Wagon R, Is a Wagon size which have more space compare to Daihatsu Mira.. In Malaysia do we have that kind of option to choose? Even if have, I dont think a lot of ppl will buy it also.. Anyway the new Wagon R RR are more better looking.. I like suzuki cars.. Just that we DONT HAVE THAT MUCH OPTION!… PeYno.. Look at our automobile market and then say..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:31 am

Oh sorry, My friend told me that the Suzuki Wagon R RR is against the Daihatsu Move in Japan.. So dont compare different classes..

• nocrid (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 10:33 am

Thanks LittleFire85 for the specs info. Good info to support your point. Not like those whose keep on nagging with old point views and doing bad comparison trying hard to justify their point of view.

Basically P2 is doing a great job. Let's see wonders this coming 10th. So kudos to P2 and as for P1, you are not even in a stupid ppl choice so dun count the smart one ok.

Not let me try… prfffffthhh… cough…cough… damm! I really have no talent on this, am I…sigh*

• aliBaPa (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:52 am

mini Avanza?

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:20 pm

LittleFire85 said,

May 2, 2007 @ 11:30 pm

Oh sorry PeYno.. Actually K-car in Japan save a lot of tax, parking fees.. that why is a lot of company buy that car… Well my friend in Hokkaido Working as an engineer driving his company car which is a Subaru Forester to work in highlands to maintain power supply generators.. I don’t think he complain so much, but he said to me Wow! You should get 1 and is cost cheap in Japan (But in reality in Malaysia, AP cars are $$$)…

===============

ur freind said "WOW" becoz he tot Mira =Viva… actually viva is DOWNGRADED version of mira… if i felt original Mira =cheapo plastic and crap car… the new viva wud be even teruk(a lot of cut cost terms will be done by perodua..localized parts etc)

ask ur friend… perodua seling Viva 660cc at 28kRM = near to Yen100man

…sure it will make his jaw drop

haha

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:25 pm

LittleFire85 said,

Well when u and ur co-workers r bored on driving the stupid car, sure will say stupid things on it (Just like me bored driving my father’s wira); Coz u cant drive something better in Japan is it?

=========================================

off topic,

i owned nissan silvia s14… that mira was my part time job' company car

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:31 pm

LittleFire85 said,

Oh sorry PeYno.. Actually K-car in Japan save a lot of tax, parking fees.. that why is a lot of company buy that car…

=======================

i was talking about Mira as compony car …

In Japan they hv alot of option (K car) .. why most of them choose Mira as company car and not other K cars???

because , most of japs ppl don't wanna own it ..prrrrfthhhh

• cipan (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 3:45 pm

look like hyundai ATOS for me….

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:27 pm

peYno said,

In Japan they hv alot of option (K car) .. why most of them choose Mira as company car and not other K cars???

because , most of japs ppl don’t wanna own it ..prrrrfthhhh

Are you sure?

• hondadriver (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:17 pm

>>(Just like me bored driving my father’s wira)

you don't even own a car?

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:29 pm

Viva, retarded frog with an identity dilemma……….

Forza Ferrari……..

American muscles, conti cars, Japs speedsters, Koreans junkies, Msian tin milos, all crappppp……………make cars with passion, hehehe, JC think Britons are better manufacturer, talk kock only, no action, thats why all British manufacturers sold to foreigners, they talk talk talk only…………

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:20 pm

I own a Kancil turbo.. but it is modified as a track car.. not a very good move to drive in city.. Coz the Racing clutch is very hard to press.. So my father borrow me his old 1997 wira 1.6 (A) to drive.. since he is old and don't go anywhere i drive it loo..

peYno said,

because , most of japs ppl don’t wanna own it ..prrrrfthhhh

Well the company purchase and sales department has the decision to choose the best.. I don't think they are forced to buy it? But i think is the price war that determine the car's..

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 6:42 pm

LittleFire85,

Agree with you on "purchase and sales department".

As for Turbo Charged Kancil, Me to like to have one as my weekend ride. But that doesn't meant i must loose my right to complain on what Perodua is doing to Rakyat Malaysia (by launching obsolete model).

• nizam80 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:01 pm

The Hi-Line Savvy AMT (1.2 AMT, Dual Airbags, ABS) is priced at RM45K.

Naza Suria (1.1 Auto, I believe No Airbags, ABS) is also priced at RM45K.

I believe, the top-of-the-line Viva (1.0 Auto, Dual Airbags, ABS) will be priced around RM45K.

There are much cheaper Superminis out there (Sutera, QQ etc…)

In terms of pricing, lets see how this car is priced. We'll wait and see. But if it is priced at RM45K, it will almost be the same price as a Myvi 1.3 Manual. UGHHHHHHH!!!

• MyBoy (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:31 pm

Anything above 35K is insane.

• Infinitt (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:15 pm

Design yang tak comel.

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:45 am

QQ is not that good i may say……it dot 1star NCAP results……whoever plan to buy it…..take lots of info 1st.

• hondadriver (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:51 am

it will definitely be much cheaper than a myvi, dont make sense to compete with it.. it might have no airbags, or even ABS to keep the cost down, but who cares? I think people buying cars in that budget range usually do not care for those extra safety features. they just want a simple car that can get them from A to B.

• intermilan (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:59 am

It won't be pisang goreng panas like MyVI. that was a one-off coz people negative sentiments against potong and euphoria on availability of affordable 'latest' and 'amazing' tech i.e. VVT was very high.

but viva most probably gonna further canibalise sale of lower-end potong models like saga, iswara and wira if price competitively.

God luck potong on fighting the losing battle with P2.

• peYno (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 2:11 am

nocrid said,

May 3, 2007 @ 2:33 am

Thanks LittleFire85 for the specs info. Good info to support your point. Not like those whose keep on nagging with old point views and doing bad comparison trying hard to justify their point of view.

================================

Old point of view??

Yeah some ppl still comparing 20 years old saga with myyi and keep on talking about Power window problem..

prrrfthhhh

• peYno (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 2:21 am

intermilan said,

May 3, 2007 @ 4:59 pm

It won’t be pisang goreng panas like MyVI. that was a one-off coz people negative sentiments against potong and euphoria on availability of affordable ‘latest’ and ‘amazing’ tech i.e. VVT was very high.

=============================

agree w u.. if u ask perodua customer service.. Bad FC is the most complaint issue from customer..

Y??

Because ppl were expecting dvvt =Good FC ..Now they realise and feel like been cheated by perodua salesman..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 3:33 am

What i heard a lot of ppl complain is from the Auto users.. While manual users i dont heard many.. Anywayz i think myvi should be have turbo like the japan do.. boon X4. But i think the price will be higher.. But i support Supercharging and turbo.

A lot of ppl think that turbo=Bad FC, WRONG! low pressure turbo=Good FC! Coz they kick in a lot of Torque at low rpm, When u have a lot of power you dont need to push hard on the pedal to get the speed.. A lot of ppl complain turbo easy to spoil.. Have u seen a Volvo low pressure turbo car rosak turbo? If the turbo quality is good and regular service it can last more then 10 years.. I have driven my friend's daddy Volvo S60 2.0T, Well shocking is that his car is powerfull and more better FC then P1 Perdana.. his car only take 16-18 cents/KM. Using Rm20 i can get 150++KM on highways and city a bit low 110++KM.. Coz volvo cars are heavy to accelerate.. That why i want to mod my kancil to turbo.. In this website you can compare the VVT/Turbo technologies. Eventually turbo save more then VVT over vehicle lifetime by 600$US..
    http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/tech_engine_more.s…

I own a kancil turbo, and i can say the FC save more then the normal caburrated engine.. But i think myvi auto gearbox ratio must be altered or remapping of the ECU again to match Malaysian ppl driving style… Sometime P2 just take everything from Japan and used it.. that why some ppl don't like it.. But before seeing them complaining about FC, i saw a lot of ppl putting 17' big rims in their myvi.. Well for only 1.3L i dont think they have the performance like a Skyline izzit? Even Skyline only use 17' as standard..

well i have some website to show how to improve FC.. Driving habits is the one that can coz a lot of damage..

"Aggressive driving (speeding, rapid acceleration and braking) wastes gas. It can lower your gas mileage by 33 percent at highway speeds and by 5 percent around town. Sensible driving is also safer for you and others, so you may save more than gas money." http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/driveHabits.shtml

well see it? Aggressive driving can lower your gas mileage by 33%.. I don't make this out.. but is from the website..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 3:39 am

Anywayz VVT technology is old technology already.. I don't blame if their FC is worst compare to other new engine.. But compare to P1 Campro engine.. is more better then it, Timing chain+VVT. these 2 are already more better then P1 current Campro, unless P1 came out the new CPS engine to test..

• peYno (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 4:32 am

LittleFire85 said,

May 3, 2007 @ 7:39 pm

Anywayz VVT technology is old technology already.. I don’t blame if their FC is worst compare to other new engine.. But compare to P1 Campro engine.. is more better then it, Timing chain+VVT. these 2 are already more better then P1 current Campro, unless P1 came out the new CPS engine to test..

=========================

pls dont say VVti la…

u think ur myvi is toyota ka??? DVVt la

most of ppl know about it.. esp japs car followers.. but for those who never driven PURE Japanase car… like malyasian who just converting kancil to mira ..or myvito to passo.. surely will impressed w perodua products… pity malaysian japanese wannabe… this kind of ppl "kagum" with words of Dvvt /vvti/ whatever ( that y original passo/siriom/boom hv no DVVT /VVTi emblem sticker at the car.. but Myvi /Kembara does… they hv BIG DVVT emblem and u can see from 1 km fdistance..prrrfthhh)… and assuming this is new tech from Japan

anyway.. timing chain hs pro/con… old Toyota UNSER oso using Timing chain…prrrfthhh

• the man (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:16 am

I bet this car will not be like myvi….

not hot cake from the oven…..UNLESS it price high end grade with all the ABS and airbag inside below 30K….then maybe malaysian need to wait for another 6 months like Myvi last time…ops may be someone will write…hey P2 need to pay the blueprint,technology from daihatsu…that's may be right…but you can't get amortization in 2-3 years…stretch it for little longer…in fact P2 (and soon P1 after take over by VW) only rebadging….besides.. what the purpose of P1 and P2?…are to provide the rakyat jelata with a good car with a affordable price (also for rakyat jelata…not affordable for five figure salary-man and million ringgit businessman)..win-win….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:34 am

i tot u just say both toyota and daihatsu engine is the same.. Both passo and boon engine model also K3-VE.. only the toyota VVT-i closes the air-con when acceleration.. DVVT uses normal VVT function.. I no say their technology is new, actually is old already (Since 1990 20V silvertop use VVT).. Timing chain is a better way to go for ppl who want to use the car for a longer period with well maintain, i think the life span is 250,000km? But they have noice if not maintain well.. and their cam timing is not so flexible to change..

Timing belt are better for ppl who want performance. If u want to mode your cam into racing i prefer timing belt. But you need to change it every 100,000km. That the cost. Is what you need, for a toyota or daihatsu normal car i dont think you are gonna mode it into a stock racing car izzit? If u want to race why not buy sport cars to mode..

For normal user who want less fuss i prefer timing belt. Even you say the cost of changing it will be expensive.. but at 250,000km timing belt have to change 2 times already. So the expense add all is almost the same, just that maybe before you reach that amout of km.. the car already sell it or went to scrap already. And i found out that a lot of malaysian dont even know when to change timing belt.. I have saw a lot of car timing belt putus, cam rode spoils and even valve and piston crack… Well i just saw 1 Get.2 a few weeks back just clock 80,000km and his timing belt putus.. And cost him more then RM1000 to make his car running again.. So? Conclution, i prefer timing chain for normal used cars with less fuss.. If i not mistaken, Nissan engine also using timing chain izzit? How's ur S14? Their timing chain is the best in Japan..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:47 am

Oh sorry,

For normal user who want less fuss i prefer timing belt. Correction "timing chain"

i prefer timing chain..

• kawan2…dont la kutuk our malaysian car too much…milo tin car pun orang masih beli…u ingat m'sian people kaya raya ke???father mother je yang kaya…anak suma eksyen je lebih….by the way…d18d harga sudah keluar.660cc manual rm28400-28,800

850cc manual rm32500-32,900

1000cc manual standard rm36,800-37200

1000cc auto standard rm39800-40200

1000cc manual premium with abs and airbag rm40800-41200

1000cc auto premium with abs and airbag rm43800-44200.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:52 am

Aiyo expensive loo… Auto premiun RM44k… If full spec and less then 40K i buy it.. but now i should think again.. I think i better use RM17k buy an secondhand 93' 1.3 Toyota SEG Ae101, add another 5k for 1.6 4a-gze supercharge half-cut.. 2k for paint and 1k for 15' sport rim with trye.. The power should be better and the car are more larger then P2 kancil… And i can save nearly 20k of money.. But all i need is hard cold cash to play with..

• NoProbG2 (Member) on May 10, 2007 at 8:11 am

Hahaha.. for those who plan to buy any P2 car as your FIRST car, better forget it!.. I consider myself lucky when i cancel my plan buying MyVi last time.. most of my fren who bought Myvi are now complaining about not having big booth/space … and I can happily bring all my golf set, tennis raqket, badminton racqt ALWAYS without 'kacau' passenger at the back.. Problem?? huhh.. those who talk loud here are mostly 'cakap kosong.. habuk pun tarak!'.. so far no problm wt my P1 car (consider lucky, hehehe).. and i'm happy with my car..

And once again.. Never buy P2 as your FIRST car… you'll be regret especially during 'balik kampung' time… and have children at the back…

If as your second/city car… then ok.. cheers… P1 OK… P2 pun ok.. but with reasons… Your Money..You Decide!