Proton MPV design registered with UK patent office!

Proton MPV
Proton MPV
Proton MPVProton filed the design of the new Proton MPV with the UK Intellectual Property Office on the 24th of October 2008 and it was approved on the 4th of November 2008. We can now see in full detail of how the new Proton MPV will look like, though it’s only the low resolution sketches that are available from the public UK IPO website. It looks pretty much similiar to the images of the model that appeared to be snapped in a Proton facility. Everything matches, including the chrome bar at the rear. The Proton MPV is scheduled to be released in early 2009.

For more spyshots and details, please visit the related links listed below.

Proton MPV exclusive initial details revealed!
SPYSHOT: Proton MPV next to a Nissan Grand Livina
SPYSHOT: Proton MPV on the road
VIDEO: Not one, but TWO Proton MPVs on the PLUS highway
VIDEO: 2009 Proton MPV on the MRR2
Undisguised Proton MPV spyshots

Thanks to moha774 for the tip!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Im the first here?

• pausch (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Not bad..

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Can’t they register their patent with 3D-rendered photo-_-?or they prefer a traditional way? At least, we’ll see something rather real if they register a rendered photo.

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Wah this document also leak til here ah. Paul your antenna very long :p

• adil2008 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:06 pm

Good news for Malaysian, next time we can own our NATIONAL MPV, more cheaper than the foreigh autimaker. (as i hope)
    Well Done, Proton.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:13 pm

LOOKS TERRIBLE

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:14 pm

Bashers…i think u all can start doing ur job now officially!!… u already know the engine..n now u have the drawning kan!! wish u very gud luck!!

SPIRIT OF ACHIEVEMENT

• jazzer (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:27 pm

wow,look like people so eager to wait this cute baby to launch….haha until at ipo website they try to find the picture….good new to proton…hope the final final product will not disappointed us

• freeze (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:27 pm

I’m waiting for my fee MPV….

The one I WILL win in the naming contest…

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:33 pm

er…dont really like the rear of the sketches…looks complicated..

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:59 pm

1st Proton model with side mirror indicator lights ?? Can’t wait to see the Perodua MPV.

• Croc (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 5:59 pm

Any comment sifu or ….???? btw im really like this mpv and if the price is in our target, sure ill buy 1 to replace my kelisa!!!

• cars-addict (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:01 pm

wow!!! this new baby is making the malaysians “tak senang duduk” la…it looks very similar to the clay model..but a little bit different from the spyshots…anyway, i hope it will be a great hit from proton!!

proton, i support u 100%!!!!u go proton…

• cars-addict (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:04 pm

my dad want to buy a mpv next year..but he does not sure whether to wait for this mpv or just buy toyota wish…i really want him ti buy this mpv rather than buying a wish…sifu,can u give me the true price for this mpv???

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:06 pm

Why registered in UK but not in Malaysia ?? Launching the MPV in UK before launching in Malaysia ??

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:44 pm

well, at least we have the rough idea how the rear looks like. maybe we’ll have TC to do his expertise in this patent?

• waja2000 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:44 pm

the head lamp really look like ford focus , and front bumper not nice, specially the double below heat lamp.

overall size is look good, hopefully compro cps enought power to carry this car.

• waja2000 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:44 pm

the head lamp really look like ford focus , and front bumper not nice, specially the double line below heat lamp.

overall size is look good, hopefully compro cps enought power to carry this car.

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:47 pm

Cool.. the drawing just nice & now we can imagine how the real MPV about. If can get to see the real picture.. Anyone..Only saw the spyshots..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 6:54 pm

My previous Proton Journey MPV impression chop, is not THAT far off this sketches, especially the rear *wink*

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:01 pm

Wah! This is bad! It’s supposed to be a suprise, but nvm…at least give u guys a jist of the MPV, it might look great in the sketches since it is only a sketch…hehehehehehe. Sorry guys, cant reveal the price now, nanti mampus woo! But the price would be ‘attractive’!

Cheers!

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:05 pm

TC, hehe ur previous chop looks quite good for a mpv actually ;)

si-fu, ur words “it might look great in the sketches since it is only a sketch” makes me think mayb the real thing is worse than the sketch -.-“

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Sorry mistake, it suppose to be it might not look great in the skecthes

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:10 pm

Anyway who want’ s their pattern anyway, other’s country had produced MPV long time ago and more professional, who want their pattern anyway even china is much better than ours, even more we had so many broken cars created. Don’t bet on tis cars.

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:10 pm

hehe thx for clarifying ;)

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:11 pm

whiteeye, when i see ur comments my eyes also turn white…no eye see

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:18 pm

is there a video pattern for any new model registered? they should start one.
    in HD please.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:49 pm

Please make it ganas. More angle on the lights. Make it look more wish and less avanza

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 7:56 pm

i’m just telling the truth even Proton get the Lotus engine but it doesn’t make any changes from 1st car Proton Saga produced is ok but slower and slower when come to the wira and waja getting worst accept for Perdana. When they have the Lotus engineering they can’t have all, in this world say if you have good things would you sell to other’s? Is just the same as Maybank buying the Indonesia bank. Plus even Singapore is a small country they did not develop their own cars and still their currency is better than ours and sending ” angkasawan” to space, and what a joke if China can get many Gold N Silver medal than they must be getting a lots of Datuk ship at China just a silver medal wat to proud of? In reality i just telling the truth, how many up coming design also useless where you have non quality control on ur product, I can’t c a proton with less problem additional wat i heart when Lotus Engineering they use plus New design car like Proton Persona, Gen 2 and saga as well 2 weeks you will hv problem after you brought a new car. Buying a national car = depending own ur luck. If you buy a car tat’s cheap but with high maintaining of repairing and with a expensive car with less problem i rather get the expensive want. To me i m noy looking down on national car but if i come out with this money give a good quality. Plus Malaysia car hv no value at not only in local but in international stage also the same how far do they make profit at the International stage where over MR G hv helping them a lot foe the past 10 to 20 years, all just corruption the money that MR G support, the fact is the NATION money to R&D and produced something like tis?

• awak (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:05 pm

ok you have a car,
    and you have the manual handbook as well,
    how is your car drawn in the manual, its a line face drawing, isnt it,
    ok, which is nicer ,actual car or line drawing of your car?

so i bet some of this drawing/figure will be put in its manual handbook

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:05 pm

Spyshot and this sketches already makes me sweat. Fuuuh give me 2 of these, please! with kelabu asap and hijau katak colour. :wink:

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:09 pm

And do you think import cars very expensive, think again if not the high tax 200 to 300 % actually with 50 to 60 k you can get a good quality car like HONDA CITY, TOYOTA VIOS and much more. Additional news do you think Honda and other import cars really make high profit? The answer NO thanks to MR G import cars increase value damn high and you are getting a expensive MILO tin car, do you think it is worth it to get a national car? In other country they are a lots of damn nice car y they did not come in? Wellif you are getting a Lamborghini Reventon it just cost RM 4 million but after tax 10 to 12 million thanks to MR G, the bank also making money. Can you c the different us with Brunei they also hv oil like us, y our car damn damn damn expensive?

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:24 pm

Has anyone ever thought that the new proton MPV would be just a rebadged mitsubishi grandis? Go google the car and see. It has all the simliarities of the car from the front headlamps to the led lights at the back.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:37 pm

dodgeviper88 said,
    November 7, 2008 @ 8:24 pm

Has anyone ever thought that the new proton MPV would be just a rebadged mitsubishi grandis? Go google the car and see. It has all the simliarities of the car from the front headlamps to the led lights at the back.
    —————————————————————-
    The rear dosen’t looks like

• nd (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:45 pm

Whiteeye,

You’re still singing the same song as other proton bashers. Still judging present proton quality as same as models produce prior to TSZ management. In addition, may I asked how do you just a product is bad in quality just by looking at the sketch or spy photos of camouflage model?

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:45 pm

But the front looks like.
    http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/gfx/grandis_features_ext_front.jpg

• Bbingbong (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 8:59 pm

welcome our magician, Whiteeye @[email protected] can predict the future @_@..

• szw (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:01 pm

all these people haven’t wake up yet , got some even think lotus made engines.
    c’mon man…
    lotus never made engines
    u all like to talk bad bout proton , den u might as well , don talk at all.
    don’t buy…
    go buy something else u think u will spend your money on.
    things like expensive peroduas…
    i think u all will be happy to do so…

• ameen (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:18 pm

agree..
    i`m not a person who support proton so much..
    but still, both of my cars are protons..
    i do see lots of improvement in their current cars..
    at least they try a bit rather than doing nothing..
    u cant compare our national car to other makers like honda, toyota or even hyundai..
    Hyundai started making car 20 years ago (same like proton) but, they have good financial status, lots of money, n wit that, nothing seem impossible to them..
    go proton go..
    make us proud..
    i`m looking for a third car(mpv)..
    so.. impress me.. pls..
    i would love to have proton mpv in my own yard..
    hehe..

• yippi33 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:18 pm

seriously..sketching a car is not as easy as you think…and whiteeye..wakeup dude..its 2008 already..

• sky (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:20 pm

not as sporty as expected. seem like proton is going for a more decent design. a lot of people would expect it to be better.
    hope the actual design will be a “surprise” for all of us.

• ntsc (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:21 pm

Register at UK?
    Can this Proton MPV pass the NCAP test?

• ameen (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:24 pm

it just a sketch.. wait for a real one..
    it should be interesting. :)

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:28 pm

whiteeye….please go away, if u want to talk about G and everything please go to politics blog, ….dun blame the G, PROTON, bank, tax and etc if u cannot afford to buy other car than PROTON…..if u want to buy lamborghini work harder la….u cannot change our G u can only change yourself la bro…..what a loser

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:29 pm

The sketch not so bad, anyway can’t wait to see when it is launching. Hopefully the price is ok. Real one please…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:30 pm

whiteeye said,
    November 7, 2008 @ 8:09 pm

And do you think import cars very expensive, think again if not the high tax 200 to 300 % actually with 50 to 60 k you can get a good quality car like HONDA CITY, TOYOTA VIOS and much more. Additional news do you think Honda and other import cars really make high profit? The answer NO thanks to MR G import cars increase value damn high and you are getting a expensive MILO tin car, do you think it is worth it to get a national car? In other country they are a lots of damn nice car y they did not come in? Wellif you are getting a Lamborghini Reventon it just cost RM 4 million but after tax 10 to 12 million thanks to MR G, the bank also making money. Can you c the different us with Brunei they also hv oil like us, y our car damn damn damn expensive?

i dont know where u get all this fact or dumb ideas….

firstly if the G is charging 200 to 300% tax…and u say without the tax we can get it for rm 50000 to RM60000..then calculate and see for urself…

if 200% tax(that the minimum tax value you have given) toyota vios should be around RM 150000 already..first GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT before saying something and make yourself look dumb..

a tax free honda city is rm 53000 in langkawi and 79800 in peninsular!!

minus both you get rm 26800=tax= 50% tax… but they never show a full price list because now our G is only taking about 30% tax…so Honda should make about RM 10000 profit per car for city and more for JAZZ and etc..

learn how to calculate and get your facts right..Lamborghini Reventon is not even in the market and not even 1 % of our population can afford it..so why giving such a stupid example???

the FACT is our NAP is higher than usual if compare to other countries…but it only when purchasing the car..not like UK where you have to pay so many taxes or when in US you have to pay 30% income tax…in japan cars have lifetime limits..in certain country you have to pay tax when selling the cars and all..

why people here cant afford car is in because our income is too low…that the real fact and profit makers such as honda,toyota and all make us believe NAP is the main cause..

i did not say the NAP is ok,NAP is high but still reasonable if our salary/income is on par with then rest of the national and world development..

we are almost earning a 3rd world country salary in a developing nation!!

and which country have you see bank interest around 3 to 5 % on purchasing the car??its still very low so it can compensate the NAP…but we dont earn enough to compensate NAP and thats the fact.

and bout brunei another useless example from you…

just assume you have a coke bottle full of oil…and share it with 2 million people and another coke bottle full of oil and share it with 27 million of people..who will get more???simple example will make you understand i guess…if not..too bad…

if you say honda dont make high profit..you are wrong again…just look at honda jazz…why would they want to import it from japan when it shares chassis and components with honda city??and honda city a sedan with same engine and interior sell about rm 20K cheaper than JAZZ…why??cause honda want to make profit..and again they blame it on NAP..why import when you have CKD honda JAZZ??tell me??

get your fact right then write..if you dont then please dont waste time

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:42 pm

ameen,

hyundai and and Kia(Koreans) didnt start 20 years ago..hyundai and kia started around 1940s in heavy industry and had all expertise in production,manufacturing and etc plus they even build ships..large once…so car production was nothing for them….

proton is one of the youngest automotive company in large scale production who started from scratch…

• carfan888 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 9:59 pm

Quite disappointed! It too bulky! No aero-dynamic at all like Toyota Wish! Besides that only 1.6cc!
    Sorry Proton!
    I rather like P2 Viva MPV artist’s impression than this-lah!

• ameen (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 10:10 pm

i know there are making ship for years.. hehe.. but i tot they start producing cars since 20 years ago(i read it somewhere).. sorry 4my mistake.. :)

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 10:27 pm

omg, this is just a sketch carfan888. THINK.

• shamel (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 10:27 pm

The price should start from (HIGHEST) RM69k for basic model, otherwise people will buy “very very much better and superior” mpVanza, Avanza. Toyota mah? Even with 1.3l people will regard avanza better than anything even new Proton MPV.

Even Grandis, Odyssey also can’t on par with another ToyOTAk UNSER, let alone Innovan.

Toyota numero uno=must be best brand????

• kancildriver (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 10:29 pm

1. if they make it sleek, sporty like wish or stream, then someone will say “hey too small! i cannot fit an adult on the last row…”

2. if they make it to roundish, extreme style like picasso, people will say “huduh”…

3. if they put in 2.0L engine, people will say, “huyyoo, high tax, dont want to buy lorrr” “sure drink fuel like hell”

4. dont be sad if it is does not look like wish or stream, that is not the market they’re looking at. more likely targeting RM80k and below range.

5. perhaps, if they design it similar to those, you guys will say “copycat copycat copycat….”

best is to make it big enough (not as big as naza ria), sleek enough (as sleek as livina or citra at least), and cheap enough (cheaper than citra, livina, avanza), it will be a success.

prem3377, dont understand your comment to ameen….

• awak (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:11 pm

proton mpv is made to compromise every aspect, interm of functionality, style, engine capacity and affordability,
    therefore it has to go within its formula,

dont ask for something of alphard, or espace,
    dont ask for something of zafira OPC

that will implicate the equation of the formula,

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:11 pm

People, if it looks like any other better looking MPVs, Stream or Wish or C4 Picasso, people, basher or not, will comment it’s a copy cat.

If it does look different, people say “ugly” or “boring”.

And these comparison with Perodua’s coming MPV… how many times is it necessary to remind that they are of DIFFERENT CATEGORY!

Please!

shamel, are you brusli – the eternal Proton supporter cum Toyota basher infamous in mototrader forum? Just curious, your “Toyota mah” got me to suspect.

• szw (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:12 pm

work harder for those who thinks proton sux…
    or make your own car…
    let me comment on how sux u are…
    if people wan it to look like wish , den go buy a wish…
    stop crying over here dat da car tax all dis dat crap…
    u all can spend time in earning more money rather than sitting in front of comp and comment…
    i bet u proton will score way better than a perodua…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:17 pm

the sketch REALLY looks ALOT like the ford galaxy sold in the UK….the grill…the front lights…..very very similar

• car_craze (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:21 pm

Whiteye – where/when were you born? Still describing the metal sheet of the car as ‘Tin Milo’? Go and do a google on Wikipedia about cars – maybe you can learn a thing or two. You do know how to ‘google’?

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:32 pm

e-nabilll said,

November 7, 2008 @ 11:17 pm

the sketch REALLY looks ALOT like the ford galaxy sold in the UK….the grill…the front lights…..very very similar
    ————————————————–
    the galaxy and s-max looks cool, this sucks

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:36 pm

szw said,
    November 7, 2008 @ 9:01 pm
    c’mon man… lotus never made engines

FYI you blind basher..

LOTUS DID MADE ENGINE.
    not 1, but many!
    It’s on their legendary lotus esprit.
    And in their early day, they won several F1 with their own engine too..
    get your fact right!

ameen said,
    November 7, 2008 @ 9:18 pm
    Hyundai started making car 20 years ago (same like proton) but, they have good financial status, lots of money, n wit that, nothing seem impossible to them..
    —-

AGAIN!.. GET YOUR FACT RIGHT!.

Yes.. Hyundai existence was back in 40’s , but they start make car was EARLIER FAR AWAY from proton. They did start build a car in 1968. And that’s plus-minus 16 years earlier than proton!. In total plus-minus is 35 – 40years ago!. That’s almost twice.

The had their Blackday in past 10 years.. just now they revive back after merging in 98 ( Hyundai Kia Motor). PLUS their gov also did bailout or so called grant just to make them survive too!.

BTW.. Im not work for proton. Nor proton CEO.
    But YES i hate blind bashers much!. Because 99% of them are stupid and blind with emotional, no fact at all comments..

The right thing must be right. The wrong thing remain wrong. so get your fact right first!

No heart feeling.. TQ.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:38 pm

kancildriver,

ameen told proton was started at the similar to hyundai motors..which is about 20 years plus..

actually proton started with no engineering background..started out of nothing…they didnt even build bicycle before..

but hyundai which started hyundai motors at 1975 had a good engineering background..they build ships,engines,and raw material like steel and etc…

so they were not new in terms of manufacturing and building in larger scale unlike proton..thats what i meant!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:51 pm

bmpower, i agree with you.

Off topic… my idea car will have a BMW 3 liter diesel engine hybrid mode. Recently facelifted 3-series has a 3 liter diesel engine that’s capable of 242 bhp, 384 lb ft of torque, 0-60 mph sprint of 6 seconds (60 mph is about 98 km/h – note for bashers), AND fuel consumption of 39.6 mpg.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:56 pm

mpg = miles per gallon (basher please note), do your proper conversion to km per litre then you’ll know the benefits.

• madimat (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 11:59 pm

whiteye & bernal they are from the same person; a politician cum economists cum defense analyst cum sociologist cum car designer cum engineer cum fashion freak cum fabric tester cum cigarette maker cum champion driver cum suspension analyst cum Best Opinion Maker cum part time badut sarkis cum here and cum there cum everywhere.

I wonder what kind of car he is driving now…. should be a very very expensive car but for sure he will never buy a Proton. Bad Proton, .. Badd..!! he he he

• hvannees (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:05 am

wow.. now i can read TC comment also. (before this only can see TC photoshop work) so when you will start your photoshop work for this sketch TC? eager to see! cannot wait untill next year la..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:13 am

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,

November 7, 2008 @ 11:32 pm

e-nabilll said,

November 7, 2008 @ 11:17 pm

————————————————–
    the galaxy and s-max looks cool, this sucks

——————————————

you definitely have highly tuned powers of perception and imagination. you’re actually comparing 2 actual cars that you can see in real life, or in the the thousands of pics of actual cars online to a rough line drawing.

• ameen (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:45 am

hahaha.. rili sori for my mistake.. Prem3377 already told me :)
    i just wish that i can drive this car home with pride n joy..
    support malaysian product..

• ameen (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:47 am

not car, but mpv. :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:58 am

bmpower,

rilex bro, ur wife just cheated u ka?

what szw meant was maybe lotus didn’t build engine for proton (ok la they got help to build campro la, but I def think they dun spoonfeed), n he may not be aware esprit uses own engine cuz even I only know exige n elise now use toyota engine supercharged.

n plz dun scare ameen so much, he currently own 2 proton n might want to buy proton mpv, so he’s IMPOSSIBLE to be a proton basher/hater for now. Thnx for the useful info abt hyundai though I’d tell him to just wiki it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Motor_Company

>>>

madimat,

lol, n I wouldn’t smoke cigarettes they roll cuz it’ll def taste sux, just like their opinion on cars.

• bmx (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 1:33 am

register in UK or register in Ulu Klang doesnt make any difference….our people in this country are still slaved to buy Proton, with hefty tax/duty of 40% to 300% on imported cars, and public transport is so bad, we almost have no choice….proton survived all this 25 year out of our own countrymen and goverment grants, or else already bankrupt long time ago, what a shame…..if this MPV works well without quality and reliability issue is good enough, dare not to expect value for money….

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 1:45 am

To (nd,Bbingbong,szw,ameen,car_craze,yippi33,PROTONiaN,Prem3377,car_craze,madimat) I’m not predicting,i’ m just telling the truth. I will not walk away just like this, the important point is do you think that Proton is worth it for you to buy? I’m not saying anything stupid but as well your HARD OWN MONEY? What if you keep repairing and stopped at the highway? You have to know if not for Mr G protecting it, even my calculation is wrong but they are still protecting it, the import cars sure will a lot’s of people buying it. If G taking it out how much Proton will cost you? Can you imagine a bit? In Japan car’s like Honda and Toyota and other’s national car, is in reasonable price, Imagine a Proton that can cost you around 50k to 60k worth it? Jeremy is a car fans or profesional as well, won’t simply predicting unless is a useless car, but you have to know if you are spending your hard own money just for low quality control and keep repairing it? You have to know once you take a loan you have to pay. If not just toll and go, rmb your profile will be black listed in bank. You say that is in the old days, this days just look at Proton when you buy it 2 weeks later got problem, what is your feeling? Are you the lucky 1 who get good Proton manufacturing car? May be yes is in 10 over 100 %. R&D is important and as well as quality control. So you know how to say that our salary is low, u still want to get a problem car go ahead, is up to u all. Than can i ask you wat is Proton car value in our market for second hand? Down to the drain? I’ m not predicting, if you will like your money just fly away just go ahead. As for the (MILO TIN) AS I SAY IS SOFT dude can’t you just learn the language. Nvr mind many people have their own angle and right to say is in my opinion anyway, y you all take it so straight? And as for Perodua, my cousin brought it giving less problem to him, in our market Perodua although have join venture with Daihatsu/ Toyota but their quality make up to the standard although is a bit expensive but giving less problem. I ask you back, why i want to say it this way? Coz Proton does not give a trust to customer. And heard many complaint about it, if i didn’t heard it y i say it. If i’m not mistaken Perodua have their problem in Kancil 1st or second batch but there after keep going well in their engineering. Proton and Perodua is make in local, 2 company also using Malaysian worker, y Perodua have less problem compare to Proton? May be Perodua have god? OOOOOI than the god say Perodua you have talent than Proton. Wat a joke come on this is the reality, we are talking about management why can’t give proton consumer a trust? U say Perodua is join venture company but Proton as well get backup from MR G during Mahathir time, Proton begin 1983 and Perodua begin 1993 between 10 years 2 company, y Perodua giving less problem than Proton? A word say that if your head is not big to fit the hat might self don’t wear it. Lets c the 1st 3 years Proton and Perodua MPV who will make the successful sells in our own Malaysia. I’m not judging around just wanted to see the truth only, where you all say PROTON BOLEH. N not forgetting Proton do take Mitsubishi and Lotus engineering so is fare to Perodua as well don’t ever say that Perodua always joint venture.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 1:54 am

Sorry to say and I’m not predicting it but just c the truth, if you are the supporter might self bet your money and test is where you say Proton Boleh.

• samsung (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 2:09 am

Is it really not a COPY from CHERRY?..it surely look like it, well maybe not..and i make a mistake..but most of design really look like it, i dun say it bad..its good effort by proton..congratulations..but hmm hope the quality is there..i wouldnt put my money (again) on a car that not reliable enough..and i hope the proton Quality is improved…
    Congratulation proton.

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:01 am

whiteeye, 1st thing 1st, automobile isnt necessity. its ur desire to get better car n show off, n mayb u say for safety, but at over 100km/h ur talking trash. if that’s ur desire to own those dream cars of ur’s, its up to ur own ability to earn it! y cry like baby when gov tax it? isnt ur attitude is similar with ur fantasized proton’s protection? what kind of truth is tat?

“What if you keep repairing and stopped at the highway?” er, that car u mentioned is from which era? do u see much new proton keep repairing n stopped at the highway due to mechanical failure? i saw couple of camry, vios, and avanza with bonnet opened stopped beside highway before, is that what u meant?

“You have to know if not for Mr G protecting it, even my calculation is wrong but they are still protecting it, the import cars sure will a lot’s of people buying it.” which country that doesn’t give any incentive or protection to their own kind? give me COLD HARD PROVE. 10~100% of tax, but not 200~300% as u mentioned b4, do your math pls, importer dont need to earn is it? logistic? kastam? all those combined? so u just slam all those % into G tax to add up ur 200~300% is it?

“You say that is in the old days, this days just look at Proton when you buy it 2 weeks later got problem, what is your feeling?”, any current proton owner wan2 voice out? i for 1 i’ll talk about this, my neo served me for over 2yrs, i bought it on july 2006! i invite u to my ride if u really need prove. its freaking 2yrs, im sure u’ll say im lucky. come to our club gathering n c actually how many really have issue?

“Than can i ask you wat is Proton car value in our market for second hand?”, when things r abundant, value will not be that good, especially u talking about discontinued models…is tat a valid argument?u keep on talking about T n H, this whole world arent just about them! there r many other brands, some of them dont have good 2nd hand value even when there arent many in the market. your beloved BMW rings any bell? if u see cars as just tools, then u’ll keep on thinking about investment n shit, basically a car never is a good investment be it with good 2nd hand value or not. if that car really is dull as T’s, u might not understand y some other ppl willingly pay for a BMW which also have bad 2nd hand value.

“And as for Perodua, my cousin brought it giving less problem to him, in our market Perodua although have join venture with Daihatsu/ Toyota but their quality make up to the standard although is a bit expensive but giving less problem. I ask you back, why i want to say it this way? Coz Proton does not give a trust to customer. And heard many complaint about it, if i didn’t heard it y i say it.”, ok here is another very good classic example, u r talking 1’s opinion, n reflect on the others misadventures. proton’s quality can be bad, my friend’s less than 3months old myvi reli gives her headache after a week of owning it! should i generalise it to all perodua? pls look at bigger picture when u wan2 talk BIG.

“U say Perodua is join venture company but Proton as well get backup from MR G during Mahathir time, Proton begin 1983 and Perodua begin 1993 between 10 years 2 company, y Perodua giving less problem than Proton?”, what a joke, where have u been the last 3years? still talking about mahathir era?

“N not forgetting Proton do take Mitsubishi and Lotus engineering so is fare to Perodua as well don’t ever say that Perodua always joint venture.”, p2 is more like assembler, at least proton tries to do develop even after mitsu’s era, they din J.V. with lotus, they own it…its a different story! p2’s most manufacturing control power is in T&D’s hand, basically D is control by T if u dont know about their company’s share.

like i said earlier, when i saw ur comment, my eyes turn white…n really, if any1 still thinks open market is good for our own country…give me logical answer, v import stuff more than export! its more like a gimmick compares to proton’s car slap on “tuned by lotus” badge! pls dont looks at something from 1 angle, study some politics 1st, then economy…stop taking authority as fact…internet is full of info to answer most of ur questions, stop sitting infront of ur com whining n waste our time explain to u. if u wan2 fulfill ur desire, earn it! dont point ur finger at 3rd party for ur own failure

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:16 am

if u still wan2 talks about G, i really need to ask u, y they even bother wat’s ur desire? basically G is like a big company, when u wan something, propose to them, show them the damn benefit y they need to follow what u ask for. thats democracy! u asked for it anyway. basically what i see is most malaysian just rely on G to do something…doesnt tat sound like u guy’s argument? proton need G’s protection to survive? so basically means malaysian cant survive if G dont support their desire? i keep on talking about desire, not need.

another question arise, y many malaysian arent initiative? v still can see some exotic cars in malaysia right? v still can see some aunty drive BMW right? n some rich chinese drive z4? ferrari? if any1 goes to aman suria on friday nights, notice those cars? dont tell me they r dato datin, they arent. y they can make it while ur whining infront of your com with your tiny little kancil sitting outside ur house?

u can talk about “truth”, “facts” all u want, all i read is “yap yap yap, yada yada yada”(miraculously i understand :P i yap too much now, time to rest, tomorrow still have friendly go-kart race hehe). go out n earn yourself some moolah, afterall, money was created out of thin air by national bank, if u value “null”, so much n yap about it, i bet u’ll miss the joy of ur life! dude, let it go la, malaysian law still hv lots of loopholes, n lots of needs available for u to fulfill! go out n do something about it la, mayb u can make a big buck out of it ;)

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:21 am

whiteeye said,
    ==============
    when ppl talking about past 3 years story… this guy keep talking about wira, old saga era..
    perodua gives less promblem????

prrrfthh typical ******

• chap_de_x (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:48 am

to the topic first…looks exactly like i saw…hahaha but you can xpect several more feature at the front design…its not appear on the drawing…

to mr whiteye plzz do your reality check…if you bash proton 3-4 years back maybe you have a lot of supporter…but your argument is so boring and “basi” already…the fact is p1 is improve day by day…and people start to trust p1 again…plz dun live in the past..let past be a past…plz move forward…

Paul neo cps is coming out on december right…any news when the exact date…next project for p1 must be the persona FL….they are moving fast…gluck p1

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:10 am

1st, I m mentioning how come proton gen 2 burst at the road side but not Perodua soon to ur perception as u hv a neo i can’t say anything, Do you know this? may be not coz there cover thier ass buy giving the owner brand new waja to shup their mouth off. And i also a Proton Persona at the road, but other cars don’t really get much problem compare to Proton.

2nd, y u just repeating smthing stupid as i say tat my calculation is wrong y u still saying it i told u tat..As i say earlier 10 over 100 % some owner will get good car but not the other rest. U might be the lucky 1 but not other’s.

3rd, about the second hand value

“Than can i ask you wat is Proton car value in our market for second hand?”, when things r abundant, value will not be that good, especially u talking about discontinued models…is tat a valid argument?u keep on talking about T n H, this whole world arent just about them! there r many other brands, some of them dont have good 2nd hand value even when there arent many in the market. your beloved BMW rings any bell? if u see cars as just tools, then u’ll keep on thinking about investment n shit, basically a car never is a good investment be it with good 2nd hand value or not. if that car really is dull as T’s, u might not understand y some other ppl willingly pay for a BMW which also have bad 2nd hand value…..

U are talking about the BMW and i m talking a waja tat use for 1 yrs, a friend of mine, hv no choice to sold it off with lot’s of problem and lost about 20k for a yrs i think this model still available right? Wat’s the value than u can risk so much a yrs. Even a second hand import cars don’t risk so much per yrs.

4, But i can’t hear tat much problem compare Perodua to Proton wat is the percentage of the market that saying that Perodua have many problem compare to Proton percentage?

5, Even though Mahathir era had pass but how about Badawi era?Is still the same nth had changes untill MR G had say want to stop cover just in between this 2 to 3 yrs. But i think the up coming new Honda City is much more expensive that sold in Malaysia than Thailand around 20kdifferent more. Thailand just for around 60 k to 79 k around there, how about the current city 70 k to 85k.

6, U call that develop by owning other tech? Just like Maybank buying an Indonesia bank, for this 25 yrs and in Mahathir era you can’t have a standard and acceptable R&D result? You just throw the money to the sea, wat use?

Mr fastcx, may be our opinion is different wat i m saying do you think you worth it to buy a Proton with this amount? Is it reasonable to get this kind of quality, even Japan hv their own national car and yet in reasonable price good condition quality. As you say don’t look at 1 angle, if you can’t except my opinion tat’s mean u are looking in 1 angle there, U own a Neo, c how long it can takes for it?

As i say i’m not predicting or wat’ Malaysian average car user will be more than 10 yrs may be less or more, so that by producing a car is not easy i know can’t there just give a standard? In Malaysian everybody want to own a car but some really can’t afford to buy or buy cheaper car, imagine how disappointed is it? Specially for the lower class income. Wat I’m trying to say pls give a customer a trust where their money might be hard own money, where a product will described the company itself.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:14 am

peYno said

whiteeye said,
    ==============
    when ppl talking about past 3 years story… this guy keep talking about wira, old saga era..
    perodua gives less promblem????

prrrfthh typical ******

wait a minute i’m talking these 2 to 3 years have u mistaken a bit.
    !

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:22 am

chap_de_x

to the topic first…looks exactly like i saw…hahaha but you can xpect several more feature at the front design…its not appear on the drawing…

to mr whiteye plzz do your reality check…if you bash proton 3-4 years back maybe you have a lot of supporter…but your argument is so boring and “basi” already…the fact is p1 is improve day by day…and people start to trust p1 again…plz dun live in the past..let past be a past…plz move forward…

Paul neo cps is coming out on december right…any news when the exact date…next project for p1 must be the persona FL….they are moving fast…gluck p1

ok nvr mind since u want to say like this just be it lets c Proton MPV better or Perodua MPV better since u want to die on it, die urself.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:33 am

To Whiteeye Helliwel, @_@
    that y i say u predict the future, because u use old time proton car cases( info basi) as ur useless bash, i think most of old proton prob already well known by paultan forumer.. and u talk like u so sure the same mistake happen in 2008, hello wake up r u in year 2008 not in year 90’s…pls la do more reading.. perodua is just car assembler/rebadging/bumper and logo maker/pion of toyota…proton are car manufacturer coz proton build up car from scratch..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:11 am

shit..i made a big mistake replying mr whiteeye!!!

i thought u were wrong..but now i know..u were always right cause u live in ur own world,own assumption and own prediction…

please MR whiteeye..be cool..have a good sleep and wake up in the morning and try to get out of your imaginary world and come back to reality…

Proton Waja was having bad quality..very true..power window failure,suspension noises, and so many if you to complain about..but it was YEAR 2000!!!

then came proton Gen2,again power window problem,campro engine torque dip,headroom and the thing i really hate about the gen2 was the button on the dash..but that was year 2004!!

then satria neo came out and proton savvy..lesser quality issue but proton savvy has some engine issue but being a renault engine..we can treat it like japanese,korean or malaysian..so leave that

then came Persona and SAga..both is selling extremely well and both doing great..with production at full rate but defects at minimum rate..no power window issue..no torque dip,no problem with suspension and etc..but since persona is based on Gen2 there is some problems which we cant really eliminate such as the dash buttons..but overall its improving..the KEYWORD here is there is IMPROVEMENT..

i dont want to compare with perodua cause they are assemblers..

but look at other car companies..they have similar stories like proton..simple that most of us has seen in our time is korean cars…

15 years ago..people rather choose a proton that a kia..but now things has change so much that people rather choose a kia instead of a honda or toyota…(i am talking about people who has the neutral mentality unlike most malaysian who think foreign product is the best)

read other car manufacturers history..then compare with proton..even if toyota is so good in manufacturing cars..look at formula 1?can they win??they cant!!look at honda??

next go to youtube..type bmw burning,alfa burning,honda burning or whatever car you want to see burning..and you will get the picture..just because a few gen2 or satria burning doesnt means all proton is like that

next..check if waja which was made on year 2000 is still running or not..if they do and in one piece i guess proton is not bad after all..my dads waja still running..my frens one still running…

ok i m tired of typing already..no point answering you since i dont get it yet how u relate things and i already having your patern..so i better stop…

please come back to reality…dont keep on assuming…

many people who buy persona and saga still have trust on proton because they are similarly priced as myvi and viva both which are badge engineered japanese cars…so proton is not doing bad and they are competing well..dont you realise that???

and more that 100000 thousand malaysians..few thousand thai people and few thousand indonesian plus a few more from UK has choosen proton..so proton still can compete but all they need is time and experience..dont say people loose trust on proton because by end this year they would hv sold more cars that perodua(japanese) in malaysia..so there is trust in protons product!!so dont crap here..simple facts will show you..

secondhand value is determined by dump people who feels toyota is great even after 7 years and will to pay so much for an old car…and this cycle of dump people will continue until proton can stop malaysian from buying japanese products..so proton should be aiming for that…

• dewasemut (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 6:05 am

whiteeye.. lu boring laaa mat!!!

we have read enuff comments similar to yours… pls type something else laa…

Prem3377… my 2002 Waja only still running! NEVER got stranded by roadside/ highway… ops there is one time when the tyre got burst… but hey every car in this world had their tyres punctured… dunno la if anybody fitted their cars with tayar kereta kebal.

The most important thing is proper maintenance, no matter what brand of cars you own…. if you maintain your car on schedule, replace the wear and tear parts when you are supposed to, it will give you less problems. I am doing that to my Waja… and hey it has already clocked close to 160,000km withour giving me any major serious problem.

Then I have my friend owning a Perodua Kelisa, always skip the maintenance… with regular engine oil.. try to stretch the maintenance up to 14,000km… so there you have it laa… meragam laa always.

Cars like humans la…. if you don’t have enuff vitamins in your body, sure problem one…

What ever problem Proton car may experienced, other makes also can…. no cars are perfect 100% laa… 2 of my friends bought Honda City at the same time, the power window fails on BOTH cars within the 1st year itself… Another friend of mine owned a Honda Civic, the paint at dashboard also chipped off after less than 2 years.

Any non-national car owners wanted to share their experience? Or perhaps they are too proud to admit it?

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 7:00 am

whiteeye kata,
    -ok nvr mind since u want to say like this just be it lets c Proton MPV better or Perodua MPV better since u want to die on it, die urself.-

Very pity la this whiteeye fellow…kesian bebeno…let him buy the p2 mpv laa…got dvvt maa….kang mati le pulak kalau terbeli p1…

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 7:05 am

eh, lupa plak…
    this is my first comment ever on Paul Tan, so, greetings everybody…

• abtm (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 7:49 am

everyone knows that Proton keeps improving, but at what rate? This has become an excuse from Proton to Malaysian, oh we stuffed up this one, we promise the next will be better, sorry. Well they are, slowly but not sometimes…if proton could make a car that proves at least the quality and reliability of a jap car everyone would buy em, because we would like to own sth local that we can be proud of (do u think Aussies will keep buying Falcons and Commodores if they’re hopeless?- same story with us)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 7:57 am

You all keep on defending proton here proton there, in the end what proves all? Sales!!!

I dont even see Proton win over perodua sales now… What about oversea sales? Did anyone dig the news in Gen.2 rebadge in China?!? Do you know the sales sucks?!?

If Proton is very good, we are already famous in the world! But sadly we always have to use lotus engineering name to do marketing..

Anyway if you all say Proton bla bla bla very young, dont know everything, no money… Then where is all the money that buy Lotus in the first place? If a 20 year old company can buy over Lotus?!? You can imagine it must be very advance in financial right?!? Lotus has longer history then Proton, Proton didnt utilize the technology from them?!? WTF is going from my TAX money!!!

Dont be naive, think at a greater box! Proton have already a big financial backing by the G! Still remember the valuecap case?!? Huh..

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 8:04 am

I am quite surprised with how many people are backing up proton. Let me reiterate this, the idea of a national car was a disaster, period. Because of this stupid idea we’re still driving substandard quality cars or spend the rest of your life paying installments for a decent car. I am very surprised that a lot of people love proton, but I would like to see how many of them would still buy Proton once all taxes on cars are removed.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 8:48 am

dodgeviper8, As you can c so many people will cover their ass, Nvr Mind when times comes as all tax removed see their big mouth will them keep supporting National car. As i say many people hv different thinking either 10 years later or now keep cover things will nvr changes, is just an excuse. So what for we hv this R&D department, my self just cancel it, wasting time and money, about the Proton if you keep feeding bottle like this until 1 day is still the same,other cars manufacture had started on the next move as oil starting to be less, if Proton wanted to impress give Jeremy Jackson to critic it as it you all think that we have no right to judge our own make national car, as i say until now although we came to 2008 but wat happen our technology wise? If you say like this i rather choose China as the country that success from the begin they have their own Rocket we just tumpang other same goes to Proton, just buy other tech n say how proud it is, y not produced your own engine and this is the way should be proud of. As i say may people still very proud of it nth less c how the New MPV will works?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 8:51 am

to prem3377 n whiteeye…

u guys gave a same story again n again…im pretty sure many of us know abt it..so..no nd to waste ur energy n time to defend n to give explanation of wut is goin on btwn proton n perodua..dats ur both opinion…so..we dun give a damn abt it…im tired to hear frm u guyz abt the same thing..im pretty sure most of the ppl who are visiting this page also tired to hear this thing over and over again..same goes to other proton and perodua defender also..no nd to repeat wut prob proton n perodua hv…wut u guyz hv to do is comment n discussing on the topic above…not bashing each other….jz my 2 cent…btw..i would like to remind u guys dat dis is nt proton n perodua forum..this is an automotive forum…so..plz dun relate every topic with proton n perodua thingy…peace

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:42 am

LittleFire85 said,
    November 8, 2008 @ 7:57 am

You all keep on defending proton here proton there, in the end what proves all? Sales!!!

I dont even see Proton win over perodua sales now… What about oversea sales? Did anyone dig the news in Gen.2 rebadge in China?!? Do you know the sales sucks?!?

If Proton is very good, we are already famous in the world! But sadly we always have to use lotus engineering name to do marketing..
    ===================
    little fire 85
    let me give a simple anology
    if u say car manufacture main target is “SALES”.. then our gorv. aerospace also had already acheived their main target (send malaysian to space).. and we make laugh at india , china or other countries spending alot of money and time develope rocket to send their ppl to space, yet malaysia already completed their mission sending ppl to space.. u must be proud of our angkasawan as well as perodua acheivement .. right???

prrrfrthhhhhh

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:45 am

someone looking for local p2 guys/engineers???
    prrrfthhh they do exist but they couldn’t answer u guys questions
    why?
    coz everthing done by japs, direction planned by japs..
    what they know, how to down grade this ori japs car and rnd the bumper/bodykit like brother shop does

if p2 doesn’t exist oso better.. why we need this perodua MPV car if toyota plant in Indonesia also produce this MPV and sell it much cheaper than peroduas??

take a look Toyota avanza and Rush assembled in Indonesia..
    we can still buy a”toyota brand” product

prrrfthhhhhhhhhhhhh

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:51 am

from my observation, those ppl who bash proton and praise perodua is the ppl who can’t afford real JDM car.. own 2nd grade ASEAN japs car like vios or city or perodua ( toyota’s son maaaa)..
    previously they owned 20years old saga or old wira.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:55 am

anyway when i see Mr whiteeye comments,
    it just reminds me when i was a proton basher 5 years ago.
    coomon dude, pls study more and change your mindset..
    your “thinking” is outdated oredi

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:03 am

Its good that Proton is attempting to get its act together and finally release some new models. Its good that it finally realises that unless they put up a good show, they will be relagated to a has been (more like never-been).

But we will see how well it does.

I wont buy this MPV for the sole reason its a Proton due to bad experience and personal preference, but I am hopeful they will make it good and price it cheap, so that it will increase competition, and competition is always good for consumers. The only reason why other marques can jack up the price is that they can command the extra premiums from people that would just like to “not buy a Proton”. Thats pretty bad reputation if you ask me.

The fact is, most malaysians will have difficulty affording a new Proton, let alone foreign marques. And to make matters worst, we have no form of serviceable public transport system in most of the country.

That is already an indication that something has gone really wrong with the country’s automotive policy (or should I put it, “Private transportation policy”).

It would be blind and naive to claim that there is no form of protectionism going on. There is. But the problem is, it isn’t proton that is benefiting from the protectionism. It just made them lazy and inefficient.

being patriotic fine and nice, but it is naive when it comes to this, you are only enriching the pockets of the select few. Its far from enriching the country.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:11 am

4G63T DSM said,
    November 8, 2008 @ 10:03 am

I wont buy this MPV for the sole reason its a Proton due to bad experience and personal preference, but I am hopeful they will make it good and price it cheap, so that it will increase competition, and competition is always good for
    ================
    so u are kinda ppl as below? u used to own old saga rite?prrrthh
    from my observation, those ppl who bash proton and praise perodua is the ppl who can’t afford real JDM car.. own 2nd grade ASEAN japs car like vios or city or perodua ( toyota’s son maaaa)..
    previously they owned 20years old saga or old wira.

• alamak (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:19 am

Its a MPV for the masses. As long as it doesn’t look too hideous (Juara), good fuel efficiency, and spacious, and competitive price point, it will be a success for Proton.

You want to buy a great looking car, go get something else like Civic, E39, 350z

• alamak (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:22 am

So here’s a happy proton customer story.

i used to own a 1999 wira 1.5 GLI. automatic, underpowered, but heck its my first car and i love it that i can afford a car and maintain it cheaply as well.

I had it for 5 years did 90,000+ KM and nothing broke. Only regular maintenance and change whatever i’m suppose to change as stated in car manual. Do i like the car? OK la, it’s not a Honda or BMW… it’s just a mode of transportation. It is not a dream car. But it is reliable and ANYWHERE you breakdown for whatever reason, guaranteed got parts..

Will i buy another Proton? Most likely not.

I strive for achievement and aim for what i want and i got my dream car… now to target the next dream car Audi RS4!

You can complain about the tax / govt etc etc (i used to) or do something about it and achieve your dreams by your own sweat and blood…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:24 am

peyno…

‘from my observation, those ppl who bash proton and praise perodua is the ppl who can’t afford real JDM car.. own 2nd grade ASEAN japs car like vios or city or perodua ( toyota’s son maaaa)..
    previously they owned 20years old saga or old wira.’

can u enlighten ur word a bit???are u really sure about that??do u hv a fact???i dun like dis kind of ppl who downgraded other ppl…so..ure really successful to own a new proton or perodua car??izit???

or if u said dat is base on ur observation…so u cant bash other ppl who said a bad things abt proton/perodua cars…so..dats their opinion…u knw wut i mean rite???so..dun pretend to be so smart n downgraded the others here..u nvr know wut car they own etc…so…plz mind ur words…

• DRC (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:27 am

Looks like going to be CANTIK. But quality and reliability? No more kokkokke sounds please, Proton.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:29 am

alamak said,
    November 8, 2008 @ 10:22 am

============================
    i used to think like you before… no more proton car in my life.. proton is the car for those just finished study, economy not establish yet..
    but.. when u oredi managed own your dream car, then you will think to have your 2nd car, 3rd car or 4th car..a car for your child etc.
    neway proton is my 2nd car.. and off coz my 1st car is*****

• peYno (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:40 am

raybrig85 said,
    =============
    category of proton basher
    1.Perodua owner- ppl who can’t afford buying 2nd grade ASEAN Japanese car

2- 2nd grade ASEAN japs car owner-ppl who can’t afford JDM or at least camry or accord

3.ppl who previously owned old saga.. now just upgrade to myvi or vios.

4. Japanese wannabe- easily conned by Japanishh.. raybrig ka, mugen ka, oso japanese brand rite..prrrfthhhh

so u are under which cat???

• alamak (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:43 am

PeYno,

You got a point there.. especially 3rd car… not going to spoil my future kids with bmw / honda / etc rite… last time i drive Proton i feel proud i bought with my own savings and installment.. so i guess, they gotta buy their own Proton!

thanks for the tips!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:54 am

peyno…

ooo…dats ur facts aite n ur observation…so.wut abt perodua basher???i really want to know???….do u hv anything to tell me??coz i would like to know on both..nt only proton basher cat….

me??im nt under all cat u stated abv…pity u….

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:19 am

I doesn’t see any problem with any basher, why’re u so keen about these bashers? Just because u were one of them? or u’re agreed with them, yet u want to show how pro’re u bashing ppl who bashed proton? Well, tell me u never bash Malaysia public transport or anything in M’sia? It’s personal opinion, well said past experience? We’re not uniting the whole Malaysian to see the best side, well the good side of Proton nor asking them to standardize their visual towards a product. This is so called communist, ‘re u one of them? Dang, if u’re not, stop f-ing basher who have their own idea about Proton car. Free thinker, not f-ing them to stop bashing, u communist.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:21 am

peYno said,
    November 8, 2008 @ 10:11 am

so u are kinda ppl as below? u used to own old saga rite?prrrthh

—-

Wow peYno…very mature.

FYI. I never owned a Saga.

If you must know, in my driveway now?
    A Wira, a modified Satria, a Tiara. And looking for an MPV to replace one of them.

3 Protons (well almost).

I guess I qualify to bash Proton for its (Lack of) quality if I choose to. But I choose not to bash in this post about the new MPV because I haven’t driven it.

Just because I don’t drive a Japanese marque doesn’t mean I can’t afford to. I just don’t see the justification to spend on a new car – even
    Protons or Peroduas. I can use the money better elsewhere. AND Just because I don’t spend on NEW cars is the reason why I have a house in a prime location big enough to park 6. No house loan, no car loan outstanding.

My priorities lay elsewhere, my friend.

One more thing Peyno…Grow up.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:23 am

Peyno,

I’m under “owing a new Satria, having difficulties in sending my car to fix ONCE A MONTH, thinking of selling it, and the 2nd hand price is way too low than my financial due to the bank(Quarterly).
    ‘e.g, 2nd hand value 25k, still owing bank 35k..’

Well, I don’t know whether have u ever experience that or not.

• kai_stereo (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:32 am

i just wait n see. i hope the price of this mpv more cheap n good quality. =)

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:35 am

2nd, y u just repeating smthing stupid as i say tat my calculation is wrong y u still saying it i told u tat..As i say earlier 10 over 100 % some owner will get good car but not the other rest. U might be the lucky 1 but not other’s
    ————
    Because ppl always do not listen. Well, he’s the 1/10 who get good car, and he want other to see wat he saw.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:39 am

the future of malaysia is bleak

• madimat (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:46 am

forum kereta dah jadi debat politik. semua orang perasan dia je yang betul. lantak korang lah. baik aku gi lepak tepi tembok join mat rempit.

hampehh..

• bmx (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:47 am

dodgeviper88 said,
    November 8, 2008 @ 8:04 am

I am quite surprised with how many people are backing up proton. Let me reiterate this, the idea of a national car was a disaster, period. Because of this stupid idea we’re still driving substandard quality cars or spend the rest of your life paying installments for a decent car. I am very surprised that a lot of people love proton, but I would like to see how many of them would still buy Proton once all taxes on cars are removed.

Becarefull, these are the people linked to P and G………they are here………

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:52 am

dodgeviper88 said,

Sure, I’d like to see who’d want to buy a p2 too. Also, I’d love to see how the rate of money outflow rises exponentially so that all you toyotard fanboys can fulfill ur selfish indulgence and cause our country to go well on its way to bankruptcy.

Put simply, if u guys look up thailand (or whatever country you look up to) so much, I DARE you to become their citizen starting from today. Yes, our country’s political and automotive scene isn’t as rosy as one might ideally want it to be, but Thailand’s makes me laugh at how pathetic they are to still want to idolise that corrupted baistard who’s seeking asylum in London.

Then of course there’s other countries like Japan, US, UK, Aussie, God knows what else, well go ahead. I’ll encourage you to experience what a country in recession is like. I’ll sincerely congratulate u guys if u can become a Lamborghini Reventon owner in those countries.

Funnily some ppl like to take “most malaysians will have difficulty affording a new Proton” as a fact. So explain to me why I keep seeing more mini coopers in subang jaya than ever? Heck, my neighbour just got one, while another one got himself an orange lambor gallardo. September car sales meanwhile surprisingly increased over August’s sales.

• szw (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:54 am

i still see alot people crying over proton poor quality…
    y u wan cry here ?
    go work harder and get urself a better car, AH !
    im driving a 6 yr old waja and it never fail me…
    if u’re dat unlucky in owning some cheap quality car , u will continue to be 1…
    u all should try owning a french car…
    maybe they will help u understand how much better did a proton fair against a french car…
    i don see y u all wanna comment bout it…
    unsatisfied go bang your head on the wall , MAYBE it will help…
    whiteeye , if u think u so pro , BUILD your own car…
    i wanna see how good u are…
    or else SU !!!

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:01 pm

dodgeviper88 said,

——————
    Ppl tend to forget easily, especially Malaysian. ‘Some’, they’re too young to know anything about ‘disaster period’. Well, when all taxes are removed, Payne will buy the whole collection of proton in his garage. Agreed?

Well, the baby boomer experienced 5k-9k/ Corrola, or Gallen?
    0 tax when we were back before Proton were to produce. (Belief me, u can’t get this info thru search engine, only from books, probably someone erase it from the internet?)

• DRC (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:04 pm

n8cky said: … having difficulties sending NEW NEW NEW car to fix the problem ONCE A MONTH.  That’s what happened to me too previously, with my brand NEW  two-week old Waja 2005.  The proton technician is qualified or not?  Are they properly trained in structure of proton cars???  Of course there will be many people who can tolerate kokkokke in ther NEW NEW NEW cars but I don’t, and please don’t blame me because it is my hard-earned money and not your money and Proton deserve my kutuk.

• torque (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:12 pm

Wooooooooooooooooooooo…PANASSSSSSS!!!!! :-)

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:15 pm

peYno said,

November 8, 2008 @ 9:42 am

LittleFire85 said,
    November 8, 2008 @ 7:57 am

===================
    little fire 85
    if u say car manufacture main target is “SALES”.. then our gorv. aerospace also had already acheived their main target (send malaysian to space).. and we make laugh at india , china or other countries spending alot of money and time develope rocket to send their ppl to space, yet malaysia already completed their mission sending ppl to space.. u must be proud of our angkasawan as well as perodua acheivement .. right???

prrrfrthhhhhh

peYno,peYno,peYno omg.
    Do you know how Mr G waste our nation money just to send him to space does it really help our country economic or just to get a empty shell with no fill inside? Than y tax keep increase every year where we have plantation, petrol, manufacturing car, and dude some more we need to pay gov tax to eat a Mc D wat so ever? Plus there already get 30% from each company who invest in Malaysia, putting a chairman in each company, plus who’s the one who giving lot’s of taxes, and do you think Malaysia is fair enough or just take people hard own money, in the fact from the white side to the foreign Malaysia is good bla bla bla how about the black side you can see how poor is it in other state of people, do you think this will help the economic grow, and do you think life getting hard in Malaysia, as in a lot of people in their age had no job plus when you retired or old do you get money from MR G, Australia they do care for their older age citizen. And y tac keep increasing? Coz to cover their over spending they just increase the tax, to cover their ass. Do you really think our country have no money, answer is no, coz of corruption, mis spending, and make worst our life in Malaysia that u think our country is good, best. Did you know that Malaysia owe other country money, if i’ m not mistaken we do borrow money from China, even our currency is higher we still need to borrow money, in petrol wise we have y our petrol in sold in expensive proce, on the last Rm 2.70 it boost all the good to higher price and now drop a bit you are statiesfied with it. I can tell you if 1 day, China currency upper than us, than you know wat will happen. In China during last 10 to 20 years they are poor to damn is like hell but when come to this year Olympic you c how successful is them, do you know how develop Shanghai and Shen Zhen is? If u just stay in 1 angle view might self you just c how good is Proton is, in other angle you had run out.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:22 pm

4G63T DSM,

Wake up bro. I suggest u shud try the persona n new saga, den go to some persona n saga owners’ tea talk and interview them on their experience of owning those models nden come back here n tell us ur discovery.

>>>

alamak,

Well that’s a wonderful thing to hear. My dad’s 1991 proton saga (which I normally use to drive ard) is still going strong too, very reliable, decent fuel consumption, cheap spare parts if ever, and next year perhaps it might get replaced with the new saga hopefully. But it’ll be with my sister’s money, while for me? Well….I have my own dream car too, hehe. Hopefully, someday I’ll b able to become the owner of the upcoming Ford Focus RS, yeah!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:24 pm

SO MUCH CRAP TALK LA……be civilised abit..we should jus listen to pplz opinion rather than force ours upon them…geez

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:27 pm

Well said DRC, my dad..hmm, well earned baby boomer..used to own an Atos, my satria will add into his ‘resume’ too(coz he bloody suggested me to buy tat). He told me, it’s normal to have those kind of sound, EVEN you pay much for a car, SAME. Typical m’sia thinking, ‘normal la’…’It’s ok la’…Even they are used to it until they’re ok with it, saying:’ it’s normal la..’..

Now i know M’sian are good in tolerate. well, even my cousin’s Neo also did the same thing.kekokketukkentok,the technician said:’ We can’t do anything about it, it was manufactured THAT WAY’..zzz

E.g: My 12 years friend own a Iswara 1st handed, few years back. Well, i jump in for a ride, worst than my Satria, I asked why not send to fix? He said, “Hallow, this is normal for a ‘machine’, every ‘machine’ makes sound”, DANG!

Well, i get my chance to kick my dad ass when he bought a Harrier, speechless..
    p/s: And tat’s the reason i bought my Altis. no hard feeling w dad anymore.

• szw (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:28 pm

well , work harder then…
    im sure u wan to get the best out of wat u pay 4…
    i don see y u should come here and cry and not go to work ur heart out to get a better car…
    i also don understand all dis people , not grateful wif wat dey got…
    do they actually know that any car companies will definitely produce a faulty car no matter how good a company is…
    take BMW for instance , u know theres this E60 owner got his car a few minutes den return to ask for refund ?
    the gearbox can spoil just like that…
    its by chance man…
    i think those who had such a problem , sure its because of their luck…
    because they keep crying over what problems they have…
    is there a problem if i say my family used to own 4 different proton ?
    all 4 cars has served my family well.
    somemore my dad used it to go to sites…
    the worst proton should be the perdana .
    the gearbox broke down.
    but at least the car has been with us 7 yrs b4 such thing happen.
    so let me tell u , u all are damn unlucky group of people .
    so go work harder and buy yourself a better car…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:35 pm

peyno…

i dun care wut u wanna say..bt i care when u dwngraded other ppl…n i would like to ask u…did they hv to be a japanese wannabe or did they hv to own an old perodua or proton to be a basher???do u think those who bash perodua/proton cant afford new perodua/proton cars???

• cincai (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:37 pm

I love my country because i m malaysian, i buoght national car and sing negaraku. But my countries betray me by paying more money for national car with very low quality. With 20 over experience, never see any impressive improvement……………. where is my contribution to the company.

very sad

• kennytan70 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:48 pm

My family has at one time or another, owned 6 protons. One thing for sure they are reliable. The worse one was Tiara. Actually, it is reliable but my dad decided to trade it in for a saga aeroback. Currently, I am using Gen 2 CPS and so far, so good. I am looking forward to the new MPV.

• realALPINAowner (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 12:56 pm

I still kept my blue Megavalve in the stable.it served as a reminder to myself of how all the glory achieved now begins.affordability do play important role in decision making…

• fastcx (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 2:16 pm

-.-” another flame feast…yawn…still, i think the sketches shows the rear is kind of busy, dont really like it that way

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 2:41 pm

ya the rear kinda messy, kinds like Mitsubishi Space Wagen.

• kazai (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:18 pm

Theophilus Chin, will you draw a 3D image based on this drawing?

• ilmondo (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:25 pm

i think it looks like nissan presage.. a smaller one of course..
    hope it handles :)

happy motoring!!

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:49 pm

haiyaa… boring… ppl talk about japs car, korean car price, just like they really know how the tax at those country works.. how the protection at those country works…

do they ever live in those country at the time japan or korea start to build their car…? just like they know how things work at other country…

prffff…

• TOM MAPHOTER IV (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 3:56 pm

have u guys ever think,

maybe because most of malaysian can only afford proton thats why we heard so much comments and many un satsified customer for their product…. lets say that 60% of malaysian can only afford PROTON and the other 40% others (toyota, mitsu, honda, merc,bmw etc) the higher the percentage the higher chance we get faulty car….other brand also produce faulty car but just because the percentage of malaysian owner is low thats why we tot they are better that PROTON…… .make sense ka??….if we malaysian dun want to support our own product, who else???……..

• cars-addict (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:18 pm

dodgeviper88 said,

yeah, i also think the same.i thought proton has a collaboration with mitsubishi..this car is quite similar with mitsubishi grandis..

anyway,i support proton 100%!!!!

• cars-addict (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:35 pm

hey,be cool man…just wait until the launch day…then,u can say anything u want about this mpv…its still in progress la…be patient and wait for the final product…

support proton 100%!!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:52 pm

it looks promising tho…so jz wait till the launch date…btw..from the sketches n several spyshot…the back reminds me of mazda 5 abit…

• mohamad629 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Haha I had owned 2nd hand kancil and 2nd hand satria and sold both already. Now I am driving jap cbu but 2nd hand also. Yes, buy wht u afford. Support proton.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:15 pm

how to compare P1 and P2 as they aim for diff targets. and yet we still see more of P2 cars on the road. yes, ppl will still buy P1 not because they desire the cars, its the only AFFORDABLE bigger saloon/sedan in malaysia. yes, great improvement, but the technology we’re getting, in 2008…

lets make a rough comparison with jap cars as continental makes is out of their league.

satria/savvy vs jazz/yaris. class: hatchback.
    saga/gen.2 vs city/vios. class: entry level compact sedan.
    waja/persona vs civic/altis. class: sedan/saloon.
    perdana vs accord/camry. class: luxury sedan/saloon.

*note: put aside the c.c. due to diff demands in local market.

now, if they are selling side by side, at the same price, which do you all DESIRE more? notice at least the differences in the quality, features and even safety?

i also cant seem to get my mindset to support proton, since it already has G’s supports for over 20 years, lots of R&D, bought over lots of techs, engines, handling…etc and still offering crappy cars. i wonder how can ppl be happy with entry level compact sedan proton saga that has ntg in it. maybe its comforting to think, ‘oh ok, at least its BETTER than the old saga’.

looking at proton cars always keep me thinking, G has been supporting it as it is our glorified national product, but how come it never really meant for us, the citizen, after all, we the one paying taxes. but instead it comes with better equipments in overseas. talking about double standards. i never will respect proton as long the NAP still in effect. its not a fair competition, i pity those who has no extra moolah but to buy proton, and even sympathies those who have love for proton.

• justice (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:16 pm

szw said,
    November 7, 2008 @ 9:01 pm

c’mon man…
    lotus never made engines
    u all like to talk bad bout proton , den u might as well , don talk at all.
    don’t buy…
    go buy something else u think u will spend your money on.
    things like expensive peroduas…
    i think u all will be happy to do so…
    —————————————————————-
    highly agree with this fella, all you proton car bashers, get off from this particular forum or any other national car forum. Go get yourselves some Mercedeses, Beemers, Honda, Toyota and shun all Protons out on the highway. Otherwise, stop sitting in front of your computer and give bulls.

Honestly, not all Protons are nice but given the opportunity, would you be able to create or assemble your own line of ‘quality’ cars? Don’t buy Malaysian made products la! Don’t forget you’re staying in a Malaysian made home. What? If you can’t accept it as well, then migrate la…I think Malaysia is happier without you bashers.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:22 pm

dodgeviper88 said,

___________________________________–

all mpv’s i think have a general similarity about their looks.. besides that, there are some commenters here who are 100% certain its a chery as well and some who think its a wish.

but its definitely not a grandis, read somewhere that its a brand new proton platform, and why not, since they have the capability to do so.. no point in wasting all that R&D equipment they have in their factory.

• justice (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:26 pm

Ignas said “i pity those who has no extra moolah but to buy proton, and even sympathies those who have love for proton.”

you said so yourself. So what do you think we poor folks can do?Beggars can be choosers but losers. I stand for Proton not because I have love or passion for it but its the senseless things that those bashers throw around.

I’d opt for the Vios but it costs more than the Saga. I’m money concious, do you think paying for a much lesser priced Saga would get me the same quality and feel as Vios?

Ignas, you’re thinking right but we of lesser financial ability can’t be choosers. But of course, we have to understand the consequences of cheaper priced products.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:27 pm

justice said,

November 8, 2008 @ 5:16 pm

lol “dun like it, get lost.” thats pretty arrogant. and because of that attitude, our national car industry never grows. there never will be improvement if there were no criticisms, yes? oh well, competition is not even in their book, so why bothered lol.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:32 pm

justice said,

November 8, 2008 @ 5:26 pm

no, i dont meant to look down on poorer people. im just saying we malaysian are unfortunate, thats all.

• justice (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:42 pm

yes, indeed without criticisms, there’s no improvement. But who are we or to whom are we criticizing Proton’s weaknesses to in here? Surely there must be a way rather than throwing words around here (for those bashers). Sadly, with the attitudes of some Malaysians, a lot of things are never accomplished. So hence the “dun like it, get lost”. You get what I meant? To me, thats the best way to get Proton to realize. If sales drop, I’m sure their marketing department would investigate the problem.

Seriously, Proton is not competiting but Proton is actually conforming to the trend. Come on lah, be realistic, Proton competiting with who? Toyota meh? Maybe what Proton has always aimed for is budgetted vehicles like Saga (poor man’s Vios, hmmm?).

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:43 pm

ignas said,
    November 8, 2008 @ 5:15 pm

i also cant seem to get my mindset to support proton, since it already has G’s supports for over 20 years, lots of R&D, bought over lots of techs, engines, handling…etc and still offering crappy cars. i wonder how can ppl be happy with entry level compact sedan proton saga that has ntg in it. maybe its comforting to think, ‘oh ok, at least its BETTER than the old saga’.

looking at proton cars always keep me thinking, G has been supporting it as it is our glorified national product, but how come it never really meant for us, the citizen, after all, we the one paying taxes. but instead it comes with better equipments in overseas. talking about double standards. i never will respect proton as long the NAP still in effect. its not a fair competition, i pity those who has no extra moolah but to buy proton, and even sympathies those who have love for proton.
    =============================

but your facts are wrong, and you’re living in the past.. for one.. i think the days of protection for proton are over. they only have 30 odd percent market share. is 30% the sign of a dominant and protected company? shouldnt it be like 60 or 70%? the competition today sell more cars than they are. and lets not forget they do have an export market.

better equipment? you should also check the internet for spec sheets of cars sold in the UK as an example.. they’re exactly the same as the hiline cars sold in malaysia.. so yes.. i suppose those days are gone as well..

and no, proton has only had R&D for about 10 years i think. not 20. before that, they were just rebadging like perodua.

and having driven a saga, i actually went and bought one as a town runabout. and it has been a great little car.. no problems whatsoever. and it handles a lot more better than cars in our market costing twice its price.. nothing wrong with the quality as well.. honestly, have you driven a new proton?

and no thanks.. just coz i like my proton, i’m not looking for your sympathy.

• justice (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 5:47 pm

ignas, i understand your point. you weren’t putting down or in any way giving any look down points. I just wished those bashers would learn to give proper comments such as yours. Some bashers are so stern with their words that I think they would even swear to their statements.it embarasses me to think that these are Malaysians as well. we gotta look things on realistic point of view. cheers man.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 6:30 pm

szw said,

November 8, 2008 @ 11:54 am

i still see alot people crying over proton poor quality…
    y u wan cry here ?
    go work harder and get urself a better car, AH !
    im driving a 6 yr old waja and it never fail me…
    if u’re dat unlucky in owning some cheap quality car , u will continue to be 1…
    u all should try owning a french car…
    maybe they will help u understand how much better did a proton fair against a french car…
    i don see y u all wanna comment bout it…
    unsatisfied go bang your head on the wall , MAYBE it will help…
    whiteeye , if u think u so pro , BUILD your own car…
    i wanna see how good u are…
    or else SU !!!
    —————————————————-
    i drove a french car, called the citroen C6 , its probably one of the best car in the world.

• shamel (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 6:40 pm

To basher:

All depend on luck. Some got very decent quality but some far from it.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 6:52 pm

justice said,

November 8, 2008 @ 5:47 pm

ya, no worries, cheers too ;)

——————
    BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

November 8, 2008 @ 5:43 pm

no, i must admit i havent drive the new proton cars, and i am too, sry for the outdated facts that might caused misleading. for me, i have already given up on proton. some might think im not qualify to comment, i only wish to express my opinions in layman terms.

im happy that you are satisfy with your town runabout saga. i suppose it is doing its job great. but to me who can only manage to own one car, i have slightly stricter requirements.

those ‘ppl’ who are to blame for screwing proton previously have gone for a ‘better’ life somewhere else, but it does not change the facts that proton has ‘once’ reaped us off, even it is now under the new direction.

so i hope proton can do much better than this, if is to repent (for its brand) and regaining confident among the consumers, proton haters/basher. so, we shall this how well they come out with this MPV.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 7:09 pm

TOM MAPHOTER IV said,

November 8, 2008 @ 3:56 pm

have u guys ever think,

maybe because most of malaysian can only afford proton thats why we heard so much comments and many un satsified customer for their product…. lets say that 60% of malaysian can only afford PROTON and the other 40% others (toyota, mitsu, honda, merc,bmw etc) the higher the percentage the higher chance we get faulty car….other brand also produce faulty car but just because the percentage of malaysian owner is low thats why we tot they are better that PROTON…… .make sense ka??….if we malaysian dun want to support our own product, who else???……..
    ————————
    Well, I would rather say, if it’s 100% import car, then we calculate how much car/ which car we’re dissatisfy on. Well, I’m very proud of Malaysian, coz no one on earth can afford extra-over priced import car like us do. If, there’s no local car, the fresh grads can all afford at least a Vios/ Swtich. Unless, u’re talking those can only afford kancil.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Well, i will call AgendaDaily for a debate between pro-proton and proton bashers. I dont care who will win as long as i will earn some $$$$.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 8:24 pm

wah too many comments and too many to comment…

my conclusion is many malaysians are very confused people..but i dont blame them..the entire system is bad frm the beginning..

but we complain more about our products than the rest and we are too demanding at times but lazy to work for it..or make it happen or make things better for us…

we are like british people in UK…

when they had rover as national car..complain everyday..never buy a rover and made the company close…but when they tutup they say the G was stupid to let all its national cars to be sold to foreigner…

if we dont have proton..i am sure our country will be dominated by japanese makes but the problem is..when a foreigner come here and have control of you..will he car to offer you the best price??

and about taxes..its too high but protecting proton is not a wrong thing..

our only problem is we are never in the real world situation..and we all defer so much in opinion and a bunch of cowards who never take things into our own hands..

petrol price naik,make some noise then learn to live with it,price naik,complain in mamak shop..then continue buying as if we are forced to!!politician not good…next election still win..

so how can we expect our nation to be better when we dont really contribute anything more that these kinda comments??

think again..look thailand..when they dont like their PM they didnt sit queitly and wait..they took things in their own hands…

if we dont push for changes or for better living..no1 else will do it for us!!

many people do agree the astronaut mission was something stupid..and a waste of money…why??cause we paid some1 else and used other people technology..cause we dont learn anything..and money not well spent..

but when you look at it..relate perodua..and the same people say its worthy investment buying a perodua but again we paying some to build for us cars to drive and we still dont learn anything..yet for these people..perodua is something good..

and when proton take the effort to do it all on its own..the same people will say proton is a waste of money??what the hell???

so it is clearly showing most malaysians are short sighted,confused and dont really know what they want or need!!

• mohamad629 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:28 pm

Persona/gen2 cps vs vios/city (new n same price), I would buy persona/gen2 cps haha… Proton already improved their quality. Say no to vios made in indon or city made in melaka. Top speed=persona/gen2. Cornering also persona/gen2. I just saw AFOS recently in astro. Proton neo AXEL beat all eg, vios, ek n also mirage.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:40 pm

prem3377…

bro…sorry to disturb u…bt i still dun understand y u said dat the angkasawan thing is similar with perodua case???ya..i know dat u alwiz repeat it dat using other tech n we paid to foreigner bla bla bla….but…i thing dat is not a strong point….wut abt ‘keuntungan kepada rakyat n pengguna’???is dat similar for both cases???i mean kite rase ke keuntunganb ape mamat angkasawan tu buat kat angkasa if we compare wut perodua gv to malaysian????i mean a car n at least we cn afford…

dun talk our money paid to someone else…dats one point u alwiz repeat it…but i would like to know the other point dat makes u think both cases are similar….

ok…i hope u can explain to me in detail y u said like dat coz i dun c its to related n sori im not as smart as u…bcoz i see from the begining dat ure too smart n u alwiz explain alot with a longest comment of all..so..can u explain me in detail y u relate the angkasawan thing with the perodua case???

btw…dun think dat im a proton basher..im not…im not a proton basher nor perodua basher…im proud of both marques n im d ex owner of both marques…peace..

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:51 pm

prem3377…good point….i have to agree with u lah…

but i wonder why whiteeye comment about the tax at McDonald’s….Increase in tax here and there?…which tax that increase that affect him/her? as far as i know, since 2004, some tax had been cut down..pasal tax turun dia tak sentuh la pulak…hehehe….did whiteeye know that malaysian is one of the country that impose a very low flexible personal tax for the middle class ppl? Abih tu, dah personal tax rendah, G have to make an income somewhere else la…Apart from protecting the National Car, the tax impose on foreign car can cover the G income laa..satu contoh je la ni..hehehe….just my opinion laaa….takde fact pon…

Back to the topic, i also agree with some of the comments, the back of the MPV look awkward….but, we have to wait for the finish product first laa….
    The front quite nice…looks typical MPV, but at least typical latest MPV, not some old lame MPV….The price?…anybody know what it will be?..baru boleh budget….kalau murah dr foreign cars…maybe it will be a famous choice…
    Dont have time to think about the tax impose on the foreign cars here…buang masa saja….its not like when we bark here, G will reduce the tax…Just buy what u can afford….If can only afford proton, buy it, then live with it…kalau beli peh tu dalam kepala dok marah sini, marah sana…tak guna juga….buang karan…hehehe…But i heard from some bankers that there will be a price restructuring for all the foreign cars at the end of this year…i mean that the price will be reduced due to the tax decreased…is it true?..can anybody comments on this? this is just a hearsay….i cannot give any evidence on this..just some of my friends in the HP dept in some banks told me about this…maybe just a rumours, also i heard from them that proton already has the price for their latest SUV( maybe the APX) that will be below 80K….or maybe i got kencing by my friends…hehehe..mana tau…

apa pon…no hard feelings….whiteeye, does Jeremy Clarkson is a certified car tester?..isn’t he’s just a journalist? Lots of people dont like him because he only have eyes for the expensive cars…so his expectation is very high..i dont know about this..pls correct me…and he did crush a Perodua Kelisa with a jackhamer…that is a fact….

• arie1968 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:52 pm

hope proton will give discount or promotion to proton old owner( 10 years above ) to trade in for buying this MPV. ‘Scrap policy’. shows your generous to all proton owner that support proton all this years.

More technical leaked please…………..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:55 pm

n8cky said,

November 8, 2008 @ 7:09 pm

TOM MAPHOTER IV said,

November 8, 2008 @ 3:56 pm

have u guys ever think,

————————
    Well, I would rather say, if it’s 100% import car, then we calculate how much car/ which car we’re dissatisfy on. Well, I’m very proud of Malaysian, coz no one on earth can afford extra-over priced import car like us do. If, there’s no local car, the fresh grads can all afford at least a Vios/ Swtich. Unless, u’re talking those can only afford kancil.
    ——————————————————–
    All the stupid gwei lo from europe and us&a come malaysia can only afford to buy proton and perodua, unless they’re diplomat.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 9:58 pm

Prem3377 said,

November 8, 2008 @ 8:24 pm

i smell reformasi… lol.

ok, space technology and car technology are 2 different things. G has spent dono how many mil just to send one handsome monkey for sight seeing in space and come back with dono what contribution. heck, they even conferred him a datukship. our country is still not properly developed yet they already planning vacation on moon.

cars, at least the technology perodua brought over are tested by japs. so its a decent car with reliability other than ‘made in malaysia’ issues. it benefits us as consumers. or you rather pay rm90k for a toyota passo/daihatsu sirion? so i dono how u actually relate it to space.

as for proton, it is not really a bad idea. it was just a person by the name dr ma-hai-ti-u who has implemented cronies system, and let those maggots rotted proton to the core. that explains the bad quality and their previous direction.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:19 pm

n the other thing dat i think it is weird is abt patrotism thingy…y u guyz raise dis thing…n izit wrong of wut perodua is doin???dat is nt patriotic???i think mabe u guyz hv to look on d other angle…mabe wut they are doin is for our own good…im nt blaming perodua of doin dis..mabe it is for our own gd..n if we look at proton b4 dis..it is d same thing tho..so..mabe nearly future they can stand on their own….

i can say dat both parties(proton basher n perodua basher) is nt patriotism at all..it is bcoz u guyz are not fully support both of our national marques…n u guyz seems like bcome enemy n set a barrier..is dat call patriotism????n i would like to ask u guyz do we hv to buy all malaysian made to bcome patriotic???i mean all..electrical gd etc..ok..soo..dun buy sony etc….pioneer,blaupunk(u name it) for ur car if u are so patriotic..i mean is dat a definition of patriotism???n those who did nt own proton or perodua is nt patriotic???

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:24 pm

plus..if ure so so patriotic mabe u dun hv to buy hp made by nokia,motorola etc….or buy ur grocerries at carefour,giant which is nt own by malaysian…i mean all things…

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 10:41 pm

To all through everybody comment, they are supporter for it, may be they really proud of home made things, but as a reminder Just wait until the duty tax had taken away and c weather Malaysian will very have the heart to support Proton. In this point some critic our MR G have a fair tax, may be u did not sent your tax to Lembaga Hasil Tanah, but in reality MR G is asking more and more and more per year in every sector, although you get rebate but they had earn more to cover their ass, will Mr G really care about the nation? I would like to c a change if another Obama in Malaysia had born or just like Thailand mogok, as a point in Malaysia tax is every where.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:10 pm

raybrig85,

i dunno if you are sarcastic or what but i was showing examples of how malaysians get confused..

let me explain..why do we build klcc??to show off to the world we are already up and coming..same goes to sepang F1, and etc..
    this is all promotion purpose when the nation is doing good..am i right?

if not for klcc malaysia would be as famous as it is now..we can consider it as advertisement..

if not for sepang circuit we would not have alex young,bmw junior F1..MME race and development of so many motorsport related development

putting a man in space should generate the same amount of hype and it show we are willing to explore(i m not supporting it because it came at the wrong time!!when the nation was suffering and we are not really ready yet) and can create more creative minds and ambition for young people..but there is a positive side of this..to tell the world malaysia exist and we are willing to go to space..and space industry can grow..

now why i relate…proton was already a car maker..and malaysia is a small market and why have perodua??

perodua started of well and they should actually produce their own car or even attempt..why do malaysian invest in a company why it makes a japanese company rich??tell me?atleast let proton eat up perodua market share so that proton can do better instead of competing with each other and letting a japanese country rich..

yah you can afford cars at cheaper price but you are just weaking ur economy and end of the day when sum day daihatsu or toyota die..perodua die too…unlike proton..and we need to generate enough R&D to be a developed country

if you dont know how to produce you own light bulb how can you expect you future to be bright????

just some cronies who came up with perodua idea same like naza gets rich but most malaysians dont!!you can afford a car today but when economic is bad and our currency drops perodua cant sell the car at that price to you but proton can!!

so when someone who feel sending some guy to space is stupid(cause it not on the right time and we are not really ready yet) why support perodua when we are not really ready to have to automotive industry competing with each other..and why make a japanese company rich and malaysian engineers,machinist, and all out of job since no R&D and malaysian not creating creative mind which has the capabilities to come up with thing with their own ability rather than relying on others??

do you get it????my point is..when we do something..we must consider the benefit towards us first then to rest of the world..not let a japanese company stronger with the expense of killing a malaysian company and creative malaysian minds…if our R&D is poor we will remain as a developing nation forever..

dont just think on step ahead..think far beyond it!!!then our country will be better..

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:56 pm

I might be too young when the national Proton car first came up. However, my dad used to tell me that during the good old days of pre-proton cars were cheap and contrary to many of malaysian’s believes the birth of proton really screwed up the country royally, making our buying power akin to third world countries.
    I can understand a lot of proton/perodua out there. We have the highest death roads because of substandard cars. If you compare the ratio of an accident to a death due to an accident, it is considerably much higher as compared to other countries. But still we are one of the very few countries who has the highest car prices in the world. Imagine having to pay double for a car that is half the quality as compared to other countries, how would you feel. I for one am lucky not driving a proton/perodua but I hear many horror stories from my friends who drive them.
    In short, if the government really cares and place malaysians as their top priority proton would have been sold off when they have the chance. To all those who support proton, please analyze properly what you want to say. You have all the right to bash people, but that only reveals how much a person you are.

• outspoken (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:57 pm

Just to straighten things a bit. Lotus Engineering do have the capability to design their own engine. However, since they only sell sportscar at a very limited quantity, hence they had to resort to buying other engines for their car ( Toyota engine for the Elise, evora etc). it is all about economies of scale. Having said that, the Porsche cam switching technology was designed by lotus, and I heard that lotus still hold the IP rights for that. Hence, that is why the CamPro engine do have the CPS variance designed by lotus which is similar in concept with the Porche (correctly if I’m wrong).

In terms of quantity, Proton is not “there” yet with the big boys. However, I do see a lot of improvements in the last 3-4 years, especially in terms of built quality. Again, before you bash me, the quality of Proton cars is not “acceptable” but getting there. For that, I must praise the effort done by the current managment led by Syed Zainal.

The MPV might not be everyone’s cup of tea. However, i must say the size of it is HUGE. The pics circlulating in the internet show a lot of resemblance to grandis. I do not see the MPV lack space, but it might need a more punchier engine. But I do feel we need to hold our judgement until the thing finally launched.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:02 am

mr prem3377..

im nt being sarcastic…btw..im tired of hearing those thing..still the same thing…which i can see the point is still d same as u mentioned b4…except for the skills etc dat ure mentioned…yeah..agree with dat will cost malaysian with less creativity if this remain for a long time..btw..im pretty sure nearly future mabe perodua can stand alone..at least produced their own dsg..like seat n vw…they shared tech n so forth..bt they produce their own dsg…hopefully perodua will b like dat…rite??btw..we nvr know wut they are heading to…so…thanx for ur answer…peace

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:40 am

Well, if the tax were to remove. a City=RM53,800.00 (as shown in Langkawi)
    a Gen2=RM53,888.00.. Which would u take? Touch ur heart and ask urself..no answer is required.Answer to urself.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:44 am

Prem3377 said,

November 8, 2008 @ 11:10 pm

again, i have no idea where u got all ur facts from. really for the lulz.

1. ur sure we’re really ready? guess u don’t know what really happened about the rebuild of KLCC after halfway construction back then huh? tat alone has already eaten up lotsa of our national resources fyi.

2. lol sepang F1 and KLIA, guess to whom we owe the money again? u know?

3. for your info, even the monorial and our highways, its all debts where future generations are paying for it. that explains the crazy tolls + maintenances. u know?

3. why put a man in space where space industry doesnt even concern with us, 3rd world country? what to explore? bring few rocks from moon back as souvenirs? o why, because they’re sending you next?

4. promotes malaysia…with the expenses of….do you even know what you’re talking about? advertisements…you actually really bought it? speaking about ‘think far beyond’ prrrrffftttt….

5. perodua and proton target different segment of buyers for your god’s sake. what is the matter with you?

6. so your saying proton should make myvi, kenari, kerncil…etc? or their own versions, even after they’re still struggling right now?

6. proton cronies versus perodua cronies? perodua cronies….?! oh my…

7. economy…jap takes all the money, weaken malaysia ringgit…zzZZzzZZzz… again what the f@#k you’re yapping about? u really believe if everyone buys proton, our country will bloom into golden era? u know how to talk about perodua cronies, how bout proton cronies?

8. i guess to you, R&D just drops down from tress in the land of malaysia. we dont need foreigners expertises to help us in R&D eh? do you know how mitsubishi helps proton to walk its first step back then?

9. your conclusion of ‘think beyond’: close down perodua and send more monkeys like you to space, so that the whole world knows the existence of malaysia. then bring back R&D from space and send all the japs, ang mo, bangla, indon back, we dont need them. because they’re draining our economy.

10. my conclusion: stop your naiveness here and go back continue sucking ur mama’s milk in your fantasy malaysia boleh land. dun talk like you know everything. when you dont even know how earn money yourself. you’re making yourself looks stupid and we malaysians look bad.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:09 am

o i forgot to tell you, above the facts that i mentioned, malaysia do owes japan a lot of money one way or the other with the ‘advertisements’ projects. and P2 cars are assembled by malaysian engineers and serviced by malaysian mechanics, that gives malaysians jobs. only a handful of japs are here to supervise, guide and educate them. oh boy…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:20 am

whose crapping me or you???wtf wrong with you??people reading your comment will know how stupid and dumb you are..you dont get what people say..so dont talk as if you know..shows how dumb naive you are..

1. rebuild KLCC??when on earth they rebuild KLCC? 20 million plus foreigner coming to malaysia and most of them take pic at klcc as memory..an example for stupid moron like you..if 20 million foreigner spend rm 1 in malaysia we already earn 20 milion and KLCC is fully rented and occupied..1 square feet of land worth rm 2000 plus..so by now they would have enough cash to build another klcc..where got ppls money..unless they give free rental at klcc la you stupid….otherwise its not tax payer money.(so proven you stupidity here)

2.sepang and klia who we owe??your grandfather funded the property and we owe him???airport tax and airlines companies are taking care of KLIA and f1 races contribute more than half a billion years so enough to pay up you grandfather(not tax payers money cause only those who use airport has to pay tax..not all malaysian k dumb donkey)

3.monorail and highways are not depts..people who use it pay for it..do you pay toll when you dont use a road?bodohnya kau!!again this time who we owe???even if toll rates are high in our country but only people who use the highway pay k!!!dont use highway or monorail la you moron…and who do we owe??uncle sam?or your dad??

you wrote no 3 twice..tak tahu mengira??

who say space technology does not concern us???so your family communicate using strings and paper cups?satellite is in outer space my boy..GPS navigation,weather reports,astro,sports,live telecast and all based on satelite la..that space technology…understand..you frm stone age i guess so sorry k if you think space technology is just for collecting rock…you think NASA and all spend so much for nothing is it??do some reading la k…

4.advertising is not for selling malaysia la mangkuk..you think advertising is for selling only ar??to make the world know we exist..to make us the tourism destination..to make us famous..so childish la you thinking advertisement just for selling…which school you went??

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:41 am

5. perodua and proton target different market ar??haha which year are you in??remember perodua’s promise of making only up to 1litre cc only??

now viva and myvi competing with saga la..different class both of them???savvy competing with viva la..different class ke????

tell me la..same of different?at the begining yah la..but now already canceling out each other….this is year 2008 la..check you calendar again.

6.proton cronies or perodua cronies..all cronies are cronies and do us no good…and i am always against it…why wana vs??

7.each perodua you buy..toyota atleast makes 50% profit out it…each proton you but mitsubishi makes 7 % out of it…

for budak tadika like you must explain in tadika way la for EXAMPLE..if you have 10 apple(frm malaysia)..and sold it in malaysia..10 malaysian will get the apple.. but you have 10 apple and must give 5 to japanese since apple from japan..only 5 malaysian will get the apple..so each 10 apple you sell from japan…5 japanese are gaining and 5 malaysians are losing their chance to get a bite from the apple??sekarang you faham tak adik??

so buying perodua is like we malaysian investing in japanese FDI and making toyota stonger and proton weaker!!so yen will eventually get stronger with good economic growth…understand??

8. R&D will never drop from tree la i m not so stupid but you showing you 8 times more dumb with each num passing..

yes we do need foreign expertise like you say..and they dont come for free..we pay them huge amount of money..but end of the day we gain some knowledge…and later use what we learn to help 3rd world country and gain back the amount of money we invested!!

again budak sekolah style example..when you go college..u pay high college fees..and learn from lecturers right??and after you finish you degree and have enough knowledge..you earn back you investment by getting a job…and when ur earning tally with you college fees..rest is profit..so you dont loose anything…

and maybe you can use your knowledge to teach others or earn more..still you profit since you have KNOWLEDGE!!proton has knowledge and perodua doesnt)

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:49 am

9. what crap??how do i reply you??malas dy…by now people can judge how dumb you are..

10. better watch you words because i also can be equally rude..give respect and take respect…morons like you wont understand..

sorry PAUL…no other place to counter this lame guy…dont delete those comments k!!leat him read 1st

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:56 am

ignas said,
    November 9, 2008 @ 1:09 am

o i forgot to tell you, above the facts that i mentioned, malaysia do owes japan a lot of money one way or the other with the ‘advertisements’ projects. and P2 cars are assembled by malaysian engineers and serviced by malaysian mechanics, that gives malaysians jobs. only a handful of japs are here to supervise, guide and educate them. oh boy…

about fact you told????correct your sentence..about craps you told!!why malaysia owe japan??your grandfather japanese??

oh boy,many engineers and mechanics do earn by workin in perodua..but perodua dont charge rm 51000 for myvi just for the cost of raw materials boy!!!R&D,Design and testing all done in japan(by few hundred engineers) and the cost is included in the RIGGIT MALAYSIA 51000…so paying about 2000 malaysian does not help 27 million people in anyway…but the few hundred engineers in japan will be paid by us!!!!!oh boy……

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 1:57 am

raybrig85 said,
    November 9, 2008 @ 12:02 am

mr prem3377..

im nt being sarcastic…btw..im tired of hearing those thing..still the same thing…which i can see the point is still d same as u mentioned b4…except for the skills etc dat ure mentioned…yeah..agree with dat will cost malaysian with less creativity if this remain for a long time..btw..im pretty sure nearly future mabe perodua can stand alone..at least produced their own dsg..like seat n vw…they shared tech n so forth..bt they produce their own dsg…hopefully perodua will b like dat…rite??btw..we nvr know wut they are heading to…so…thanx for ur answer…peace

yah bro..same old things cause FACTS dont change mah??

peace and cheers..haha

• cecibo (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:01 am

ughh!!!! designer of this crap must’ve sketch this inside the toilet, using wasted toilet papers

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:15 am

this will be another car for jeremy clarkson’s heaven and hell series, there will be a special episode for all proton cars where he dumps them on an island going to be blown up by a nuclear bomb

• Bbingbong (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:27 am

from all the post i read..ignas absolutely dun understand what Prem3377 word about..Prem3377 maybe ur english to high maa, hehe jk jk.. harap lepas ni ignas faham la..sbb Prem3377 dah ajar cara budak tadika..if not understand i duno la prem, what =.=” what type person ignas is.?…..

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:29 am

soh chai, we borrow huge money from foreign banks to build those buildings and highways la, paying back with interest la. u think house loan meh. it takes very long time to settle la. lol tourisms, 20 millions? your own facts again ar? recession coming lo, no ppl come, who pay the debts? btw, klcc is not build with millions, soh chai, its billion k, with many more figures undisclosed. millions of u also not enuf to settle it lol.

when ppl use highway baru pay ar, ur datuk so generous ar, build the road first from pocket money and ask ppl to pay later ar. again, highway costs billions to build k. go figure how many years to pay back. u think our country so rich can afford to build them? looool really for the laugh.

haha so now your talking about space technologies, satellites. boy u never ceased to amuse me. sending one man to space can gain all those knowledges? btw, we already have those technologies edi la.1 satellites in space, god knows what happen to the other one, without even sending any man to space before. so why now? enlighten me please with your vast space knowledge.

lol apples from japan? boy, they are delicious. btw, your example is lame. that is not the way economy works, so shallow and simple minded. perodua cars are made in malaysia, materials from malaysia, why pay 50%? ur own facts again ar? and if its not because of japan’s brilliant mind of marketing strategy, u think perodua sells?

haih…not going to argue with P1, P2, cronies. sien jor hear from you. repeating the same thing.

lol now u amuse me with your own investment theory in education. how lucky ur mama n papa can afford to invest in you. heck, in malaysia so many starts their own sdn bhd without ‘paper’. guess you already decided to be slave of the white collar eh? but with ur shallow minded, i bet u be crushed in no time. not everything is about degree k, its about how u blend into working life and experiences. wait a minute, do u have even have one? really for the lulzzz.

• qozhx (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:30 am

all about sketches of d MPV and come all of this fuzz….
    get a life u guys.. as though u ppl r build or macnufacturing cars…. build ur own cars& prove it to d world… i’ll bet more half of u guys can’t even dismantle a car & put it back again in one piece… idiotic crapos!

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:41 am

Bbingbong said,

November 9, 2008 @ 2:27 am

i welcome any kind of bash. dont know if i can reply them all or not. besides, i read all of Prem3377’s comments. he trying to express something by giving irrelevant examples, even he is ganas a bit, but doesnt prove he is right.

and paul, real sorry for ruining this thread.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:56 am

this one make my day. p1 rebadge mistubishi cars give 7%, p2 rebadge daihatsu cars give 50%. lolz. ok, i continue this with you tomolo. good night!

• Bbingbong (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:58 am

ignas.. but from my observation..you ‘re the one that become ganas by using harsh/rude word..

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:03 am

hehehe….bengong….

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:05 am

i admit i was first doing it, because i cant stand the facts his naiveness of thinking he knows everything by reading it from wikipedia. he has no real knowledge yet talks like he knows everything. that i have no respect for him. to be honest, do u really agree with his examples? vios for rm150k? he doesnt even understand the basic import structure yet he asked ppl to get their facts right. and among other things he wrote….really for the lulz.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:27 am

btw, why they patent the design, like who’s going to copy their design

• geejun2 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:00 am

looks like a ford the front…. but doesn’t look extra sporty..

• peYno (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:43 am

to raybrig85,ignas

why we need perodua car if toyota plant in Indonesia also can produce the same car and sell it much cheaper than peroduas??
    just becoz to pretend the name of “2nd national car yet just assemble the down grade version of japanese car?”and malaysian hv to pay royalty to japanese

take a look Toyota avanza and Rush assembled in Indonesia..
    we can still buy a”toyota brand” product

neway
    i do agree wit prem3377 regards space angkawasan project and perodua
    if u say car manufacturer main target is “SALES and profit”.. then our gorv. aerospace also had already acheived their main target (send malaysian to space).. and we can laugh at india , china or other countries spending alot of money and time develope rocket to send their ppl to space, yet malaysia already completed their mission sending ppl to space.. u must be proud of our angkasawan as well as perodua acheivement .. right???
    we make laugh at P1 spending money and time on RnD develope own car.. yet not selling well and could not cater malaysia market, but p2.. just use other ppl technology and can acheive tthe sales and profit.. angkasawan and P2 project as easy as ABC

prrrfthhhh

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 5:04 am

ah….now i get it..about the angkasawan i mean….

• Bbingbong (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 5:19 am

i duno la if still got ppl not understand eventhough prem and peyno already told in the easiest way..maybe they pretend not to understand..coz their ego..dun wan to hear ppl opinion @_@..

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 5:27 am

-maybe they pretend not to understand..coz their ego..dun wan to hear ppl opinion @[email protected]
    dont say like that laa….a lot have been debated, so maybe it mislead ppl..thats why some ppl find it hard to understand..or just malas nak baca panjang2….quite rude la the statement….

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 6:48 am

Hai!

Perhaps if we have some eccentric people among us, who happens to have a very sensitive 6th sense, they would appreciate these blue-print-toilet paper sketches even better. Not to mention, maybe they would even put it into display at some expensive art gallery. With more eccentric people gather and observe. And eureka! As one of them might say; it’s actually a well refined refrigerator, better than the previous Proton Juara. I do hope the actual Proton MPV is way better than this toilet paper sketches. So I hold on my bashing till then. Huhuhu.

Owh yeah, a lot of political bashing up there as well. I guess I’ve just passed this one for now or maybe just a little bit, hoho. Owh, somebody just complained about Highways, KLCC, F1 Sepang, Angkasawan Programme and etc. I can see Pros and Cons with these super-structures and space pioneering programme. But to be honest with you guys, I see more good than harm with these mega projects.

These ‘monuments’ most of them were inspired by Tun Dr. Mahathir are the very reason why Malaysia is a force to be reckon with. Putting Malaysia into the world map in just 20 years is not something a regular guy could do. Why the Pharaoh of Egypt can sustain a 3000 years old empire? Because they have monuments such as the Pyramids to symbolize their nation’s wealth and power. Why China is seen as a formidable forces by their neighbours? Its because of their monuments, wealth, power and knowledge. But bear in mind it took thousand of years for these civilization to prosper and grow. The idea of introducing these monuments (KLCC, F1 Sepang, KLIA etc.), car manufacturing-pioneering programme (Proton), Angkasawan Programme and many more is to create a basic layout foundation to accelerate the country’s growth in economy, science and technology.

With that, we could have achieved things faster than the usual pace. The Angkasawan Programme is mend to trigger local interest among our younger generation to become rocket scientist, astronauts, space engineers and so on. It is obviously not mend for us, the older generation. Maybe our grandsons or granddaughters could achieve this dream. So I could understand the sentiment why they are some Malaysians are against this idea from the beginning. It’s just because they’re not patriotic inside-out and selfish living beings. You need to think further ahead, at least 100 years ahead to be a good leader. They ain’t a lot of people with that kind of caliber.

Just points to ponder; in 1969, NASA moon-astronaut Neil Armstrong of the Apollo 11 mission once said, “We are going to the moon”. The reply they’ve got; the entire USA citizens and the rest of the world laughs at them. Telling them its a waste of tax-payers’ money and a suicidal mission. Heck, what’s science without sacrifice? When Neil Armstrong, manage to land on the moon, I guess it must have been his turn to laugh at them back way up there. Funny, how twist of fate works. Guys, please look at the bright side as well la~ If its good, carry on then. If its bad, well, try harder next time!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:07 am

peyno..

i know u want to show ur big knowledge abt dat oso..no needla..prem already xplain all..so jz keep quiet..n plz read all the comment btwn me n prem..did i said dat im really proud of angkasawan thing n i agree wit dat??????…read it properly n im nt argue wit wut did the point he(prem)stat abv…haiya..u arr..if u want to bash other ppl…x payahla repeat bnde yg same..pity u la peyno..when everyone tells their opinion…and if u dun like it..u said dat person is proton basher eh???plz think wisely la peyno..grow up…i know ure really smart…n nt everybody is smart like u la…we are here to discuss….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:10 am

eyh geejun…

yala…mabe the headlamps reminds u of the ford aite…btw…jz wait n c…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:41 am

some malaysian just want imported cars… image man, image! plus some reputation for the girls to see… haha…

owning a national car somewhat is a shame for them… maybe for them just normal car.. it has nothing to be brag about… some people can afford it, and some people dont, some people has some sort of proud of owning proton, some dont, some reallyy like to buy malaysian product and some dont…

so, be respect with others…. talk about the mpv.. not tax, or G that u never know how it really works…. haiyaa…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:53 am

owh… if u r the policy maker.. than u r excluded…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:59 am

wut abt myvi n neo..i think both cars become trend for teenager to own…am i rite???dats wut i knowla coz my nephew alwiz ask their parent to buy them one of the cars…

• awak (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 8:20 am

this is a 2d and isoplane view at probally 5 an 25 degree angle.

so of course this figure not realistic to the eye in perspective view. so the judgement to look it in flesh,

• awak (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 8:22 am

this is a 2d and isoplane view at probally 5 an 25 degree angle.

– of course this figure not realistic to the eye in perspective view. so the best judgement is to look it in flesh,

• peYno (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 8:46 am

raybrig ( wow japanese brand ooo)prrrfthhh
    r u referring to angkasawan thingy??you should read my earlier post .. i did mentioned analogy btw angkawasan and P2 earlier before prem highlighed it

peYno said,
    ==================
    little fire 85

prrrfrthhhhhh

• peYno (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 9:20 am

raybrig85 said,
    November 9, 2008 @ 7:59 am

wut abt myvi n neo..i think both cars become trend for teenager to own…am i rite???dats wut i knowla coz my nephew alwiz ask their parent to buy them one of the cars…

===================
    myvi for teenager??? prrrfthhh
    even makcik pasar mlm own myvi wat..

so maybe ur young nephew has same minded and taste as makcik pasar malam

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 9:47 am

yes..yes my dear peyno..i know…ok…we stop here..dun repeat the same thing….peace…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 9:57 am

peYno said,

November 9, 2008 @ 8:46 am

raybrig ( wow japanese brand ooo)prrrfthhh
    r u referring to angkasawan thingy??you should read my earlier post .. i did mentioned analogy btw angkawasan and P2 earlier before prem highlighed it

peYno said,
    ==================
    little fire 85

prrrfrthhhhhh
    ——————————————-
    but people’s country astronaut not as handsome as ours. malaysia astronaut is part time model, dont play play

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 10:37 am

peYno said,
    ==================
    little fire 85

prrrfrthhhhhh

—————————————————–

what the f*ck man, im speechless here…… I will f**k off our G if they proud of sending that so-called astrounouts to space and make laugh at other country like india, japan and so on !!!! I even wonder how much corruption might be involved between russia and our G in sending our “SO-CALLED” astronout !!!! Fu*k OFF YOU G !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 10:41 am

I WILL SHUT THE F**K OFF ON G if they mention ” MALAYSIA BOLEH” !!!!! again….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 10:42 am

Guyz….. may i know what is the meaning of P1 and P2 please ????? I cant find the meaning 4 this short form !!!!

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:01 am

P1=proton, P2=perodua.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:01 am

November 9, 2008 @ 9:57 am

but people’s country astronaut not as handsome as ours. malaysia astronaut is part time model, dont play play
    ===========================
    haha
    same goes to P2 maaa..
    toyota plant in Indon n Thai not as good as P2. P2 can make bodykit and new emblem ooo.. don’t play2..

prrrfthhh

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:18 am

Whiteeye, i brought my Waja (3rd car) on 20/11/2002… Until now, it’s never giving me any major problem or breakdown… the only problem of my Waja since 6years ago is, power windows switch, fuel pump(it’s not broken anyway, just 1 of its wire snaping off from it place), radiator fan motor, broken door handle and changing a few bulbs, and that it…

The past bad issue about proton, just leaves it left behind…

• alamak (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:39 am

it really easy.. Anyone here from Langkawi?

Do you see more protons / perodua on the road or more “imported cars” since Langkawi is tax free ?

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:46 am

SY0H said,

November 9, 2008 @ 6:48 am
    —–
    now tats wut i call it intelligent debate. ya agree with the monuments, but egypt built it with the expenses and scarifying their citizens. malaysia built it with future generation’s money.

its good that you’re able to see the positive side of the astrology expedition. but i see it going to be like the first malaysia team reached mont everest, or the first malaysian sailed across the world…soon all going to be forgotten. but us left to pay the gazillions debt of the wutever BN cronies programs they organized.

anyway, i rest my case. its pointless to debate about this anymore. Prem3377 also takla layan me already, im disappointed. happy motoring guys.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:04 pm

peYno said,

November 9, 2008 @ 11:01 am

haha
    same goes to P2 maaa..
    toyota plant in Indon n Thai not as good as P2. P2 can make bodykit and new emblem ooo.. don’t play2..

prrrfthhh
    —————————————————–
    u want sport model, just put skirting then become myvi SE, why can’t you asians think about tuning and turbocharging the engine(look lotus omega/bonkers opel omega) instead of putting spoilers, sport rims, skirting

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:17 pm

when it is about proton… then ppl will talk about astronaut, oil price, kj, pak lah, bla…bla…

nothing really on the car…. sad. sad…. always off topic…

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:56 pm

of course. proton isnt interesting at all. more just about a struggling car maker with no competition to protect it. and would you imagine how desireble that mpv is. all u need to know is that nobody outside malaysia wants it.

by the way, no malaysian is an astronaut. just because u drive a car doesnt make you a racng driver.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 12:56 pm

yea, off topic. super off. i think the mpv looks pretty cool despite the sketch is not that very detail.

• niomr1 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:01 pm

Try comparing: remove tax for honda civic – rm72000 (listed price in langkawi) vs proton waja – rm68000.
    Which one would you choose? Do not answer, just think.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:09 pm

topgunthang said,
    November 9, 2008 @ 12:56 pm

of course. proton isnt interesting at all. more just about a struggling car maker with no competition to protect it. and would you imagine how desireble that mpv is. all u need to know is that nobody outside malaysia wants it.

by the way, no malaysian is an astronaut. just because u drive a car doesnt make you a racng driver.

======================
    yeah agree.. P2 is not interesting at all, more just about a bodykit and headlamp maker with protection by gov

by da way, no malaysian is an astraonaut. just becoz P2 sell and assemble the car doesnt mean they are car maker

prrrfthhhhhhhhhhhhh

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:23 pm

niomr1 said,

November 9, 2008 @ 2:01 pm

Try comparing: remove tax for honda civic – rm72000 (listed price in langkawi) vs proton waja – rm68000.
    —————————————————–
    if you want to distinguish as how much of an idiot you are, go buy a proton waja today, lol…..langkawi so good civic so cheap

• mukhri88 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 2:53 pm

Market research showed that this design is favoured by Malaysians, NOT like the sleek designs that you motorheads like. If it’s not, why would they make it, right? This design will generate sales. Not the cramped, low roof, Mercedes R-class design. Quality? Well, it’s a protected market, even if some say it doesn’t look like it. Volkswagen Group at this time will not be helping us get top quality parts at super cheap price. Nuff said.

Someday, when our kids are all grown up, maybe, just maybe we can experience a world class fully loaded car. It’s worth the wait. C’mon Proton, I know you can do it in 17 years time….. A time where ‘Asean market only Japanese cars’ no longer exist, coz Proton is world class. Pretty picture. No more bashing.

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:34 pm

wah so many comment,
    i think if you want to buy MPV, better buy now,latest one, after proton MPV keluar, NAP tax for MPV will be higher, so your MPV will have better 2nd hand value.
    take this MPV project positively, hehehe,,stupid people will blame others, smrt people will be oppurtunist.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:39 pm

ignas,

no point arguing with you man..you dont know what you are talking about..debts and all that crap..i really dont get you..and please dont take the trouble making understand cause you dont have fact at all..even SYOH gave you superb explaination also you stilll faham..kesian you man!!peYno pun agree,Bbingbong pun agree,saki77 pun agree…but you still tak faham..

i dont want to argue with you already cause if you dont explain your so called facts please dont write!!!and read peoples comment twice or more before you comment!!!!!sorry if i was harsh to you yesterday but you started…sorry again!!

SYOH,

good explaination man..

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 3:57 pm

cecibo said,

November 9, 2008 @ 2:01 am

ughh!!!! designer of this crap must’ve sketch this inside the toilet, using wasted toilet papers
    —————–
    LOL

• ignas (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Prem3377,

oh you’re back! yup, you’re rite. its gonna take very long to elaborate my facts and its not something government will reveal anyway. so why bothered rite. my bottom line, everything is not what it seems in malaysia.

and what SYOH said is from the positive perspective, im just merely debating briefly the negative side. lol its great that you have P1 supporters, im sure you all get along fine. so i suppose this is the end then. btw, theres no need to apologies man. take it easy lol.

• rapidbumi (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 5:34 pm

wow, so many comment already… anyway some engineer dude from p1 recommend me this mpv… better wait till the real thing come out first b4 i pass my judgement…

• chap_de_x (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 5:37 pm

wah so many comment in one night…hahahah…p1 thread always create attention huh…i though people always said p1 is not interesting at all but why bothered click the “read more” hahahah so funny..

then all politics/off topic issue will arise…tax…G…cronies…astronout…etc…so i just want to debate this unrelated topic as an addition

firstly tax..i come from low-middle class income family…and tax never bothered my family..why…because “Mr G” you hate so much really protect low-middle class family like me…never in my life see tax make our family struggle in life to pay tax…tax in malaysia only impose to high income family…because you have so much money why dun want to pay tax…you should be a shame because even my family not rich still can afford to pay tax every year without complaining…it just a simple math the higher your earning the higher you pay for tax..i think the concept is implement to all other country. but all the tax never make someone poor right…its the way G earn money..and its also the way you contribute back to the nation that give you the opportunity to used your talent and knowledge to get high salary every month…looks at india even with good talent and knowledge it useless bcoz no job…its the same to car…my family only afford to buy a p1 or p2 currently but never complain because that wut we deserved…but i always work hard to improve my family and one day i will buy dream car that i can afford but not forgetting where i came from and will not stop buy a p1 because p1 realize my family dream to own a car.

then go to astronout…i agree with syOH and i already comment about this long time ago…for those is still dun understand wit the astronout program purpose i suggest u ask this question to your young son/daugther or nephew…”dear wut u want to be when u grow up” i think you will get your answer clearly.good future for your child start when they have imagination of aim for their future. just we “grown up” mind are already clouded with money ans stupid politicians.

everybody talk about cronies nowdays…dont u ever try to understand wut cronies meant..dont be fooled by fool politicians…they dun even know wut they talking about…for me cronies is everywhere in our life..as an example at uni…when u have group project of 5 people…which group members u will choose…your closest friend or people you dun know…you choose them because u know them very well and trusr they can do the task given…its the same when u have the power to decide in any organization…u will choose a friend that u trust to do the task…for me its normal to use cronies to get the job done just it become not good when u cannot control your cronies well like our G recently…but for me if you talk cronies here cronies there witout even know what it meant i want to ask something…if the PR gain control of this nation…r u so sure they dun use cronies…because for me politcians is always politicians…

as a conclusion…politics is a must in our life but plzz dun mix politics in every subject matters…because that will make us not focus on the subject and cannot move forward..furthermore will make us not unite and outsider wil take advantage on us..if that happen we just like a slave to them that time…peace…hapy motoring

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 6:30 pm

nyte_skater said,

P1=proton, P2=perodua.

———————————–

thanx for the info Bro !!!!!
    haPpy MoToRiNg !!!!!!!!!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 6:35 pm

November 9, 2008 @ 2:23 pm

niomr1 said,

—————————————————–
    if you want to distinguish as how much of an idiot you are, go buy a proton waja today, lol…..langkawi so good civic so cheap

————————————-

u noe what, i’ll f**k those guyz off if someone in Langkawi chose to buy a proton perdana V6 instead of Toyota Camry, Honda Accord or bla…bla..bla…. LoL…. hahaha….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 6:39 pm

November 9, 2008 @ 12:04 pm

peYno said,

haha
    same goes to P2 maaa..

prrrfthhh
    —————————————————–
    u want sport model, just put skirting then become myvi SE, why can’t you asians think about tuning and turbocharging the engine(look lotus omega/bonkers opel omega) instead of putting spoilers, sport rims, skirting

———————————————

Yo Bro…. they cant simply tune the engine or turbo charge it because i think they themself knows it that the Engine will explode in the long run…. hahahahahahaha……. unlike continental cars !!!!!

• oodane (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:22 pm

hi all..pls do not include anything related to politics here..this is an automotive blog..

good luck proton!
    may the force be with you..

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 7:55 pm

SIFU, how is the mpv going on so far? is it ready for production? or need to tune more in performance?

• szw (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 8:59 pm

haiyo…
    u all really know how to comment and attack each other…
    don’t u all had better things to do in life ?
    seriously , y wanna make such a big fuss…
    proton never made this MPV just for u…
    they made it for those who need it , not for those who complain from top to bottom but don give any contribution.
    seriously , if those who think dis car sux then try to make your own car…
    i think some of the people who comment inside here don’t even know how to service their cars…
    well , im not here offend anyone.
    i’m just saying , this car never did anything wrong to u all.
    well , someone said that 50% of da P2’s earning sort of go to toyota it MIGHT be true.
    because u see, the from the powertrain to overall design of da car is from toyota…
    perodua just assemble it or make a few different parts to differentiate from their product and toyota’s product…
    we might buy our own materials…
    but we still need to pay a certain amount to toyota due to copyright reason.
    anyhow , quit arguing.
    wats da point ?
    as if it will make the world a better place…
    lolz !!!
    peace man…
    chill…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 9:35 pm

the biggest problem i see here with the negative comments is, many dont even realise the age of protectionism for proton is practically at an end. the japenese continue to price their cars upwards even though duties have been reduced.. end of the day, we will probably never see “cheap” foreign makes in malaysia and should probably learn to accept that fact.

when this mpv comes out, it will be in the thick of competition.. there will easily be at least 4-5 other mpv models near the expected price bracket of this mpv from countries like toyota, korea..etc.

if proton as as crap as you guys say it is, this mpv will fail, likewise the company and it will closedown… ( I cant understand why their cars are still selling well and why they are making money though.. coz if they’re so crap, they should have closed down yesterday)

but when that day comes, do you think cheap foreign makes will flood our shores? i’m not holding my breath thats for sure.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 10:57 pm

To bashers (esp whiteeye),
    Talk kok is easy. Get a life u prick.
    I bet u all flock down to your nearest Proton showroom when they announce the price.

• git70 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:28 pm

niomr1 said,

====================
    Err.. where u get the RM68k from?
    Waja Premium CPS not even RM65kOTR in Peninsular Msia including excise and sales tax. Tax free in Langkawi only RM56k.
    U wanna make a point no need to lie lah

• mohamad629 (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:45 pm

Hahaha gotcha! Good try to bash proton…

• ckalex (Member) on Nov 09, 2008 at 11:54 pm

OK here is a true story:

I’ve had the privilege of working with Proton R&D for years and have seen the development of vehicles from scratch. I know another R&D engineer from Perodua who has worked for years and does not even know if the current P2 model is drive by wire (electronic throttle) or drive by cable (mechanical throttle).

Fact: You can conclude yourself which company staff has been learning and which company staff have been copying.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:17 am

niomr1 said,

>>>

Then tell me why in tomyam land proton sold pretty good? I’ve been hearing news of savvy selling well there, despite they hv cheap vios n city. That’s Thailand for you.

Recently, I saw a Singaporean food show focused on going ard Msia in search of great Msian foods. Geass what they’re driving? A Proton Gen2 with Singaporean plate number, despite they could’ve get a say, altis or civic? That’s Singapore for you.

Me? I’d take the waja between those two, rm7k saved is rm7k earned (waja auto now below rm65k la, so rm72k – rm65k = rm7k). But given more choice, I’d take the Ford Focus. So my order: Ford Focus > Waja > Civic. No idea though how much it cost in langkawi sory.

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:24 am

git70 said,

November 9, 2008 @ 11:28 pm

Ahh, so its rm56k tax free? That’s better. I get to save more.

• mct (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:32 am

git70?
    1.8 civic vs 1.6 waja
    civic spec are way too ahead from waja

a altis 1.6 would price more near to waja
    it cost around 60k +-
    which will you choose ,
    dun compare handling lah ,handling is the only thing that proton is good in :lol:

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 12:57 am

Latest update,

The connectors (for wiring purposes) that will be used in this mpv will be the same as those used on Toyota. TYCO.

No power window problem i guess. God i miss that.

• git70 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 9:07 am

git70?
    1.8 civic vs 1.6 waja

it cost around 60k +-
    which will you choose ,
    dun compare handling lah ,handling is the only thing that proton is good in :lol:

====================
    It was niomr1 who first mention Honda Civic. Not me. RM68k and 56k is big difference. That is why I reply.

Altis 1.6 price is RM64k++ in Langkawi. Why u say RM60k? For RM8k less and better spec, I think some will still choose Waja.

• scottloeb (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 9:10 am

Wisdom,
    Is it true the connectors from Tyco again? The Vios alarm issue circa 2006-2007 (sudden engine die while driving + alarm) is caused by the Tyco fail parts from Cobra Italy.. less issue foir Merc & Honda, but dunno why Vios kena…

• catchcart (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 10:49 am

git70, Tokmoh,

Proton cars are being tax like other makes. I guess only Saga (new) is not being taxed, because it is priced for Basic at 31k. I don’t understand why the G still imposed tax on most of Proton’s car where it has a direct investment through Khazanah, Petronas and EPF.

I remember when i bought Satria (brand new) in 2001, the quotation I received clearly shows it is being taxed. On the road price include tax and sales duty.

Check this site http://www.proton2020.com/waja-price.asp

Waja MT without tax is RM42,813.53, Excise Duty is RM6,379.50 and sales tax
    is RM3,771.32 while on the road price is at RM56,108.55.
    Compare RM64K (no tax – Altis) with RM42K (no tax – Waja), Which one is cheaper? I’m talking about Waja
    1.6MT the older one not the CPS version which is priced at RM61K (with tax). You can
    calculate how much is the Excise Duty and sales tax imposed on the CPS
    version manually.
    No need to go to Langkawi to know the price without tax (for Proton’s car). Get it on the net.

So, stop assuming all the Proton’s car are not being taxed in Malaysia. It is baseless assumption.

And for Proton Management/Sales, please quote the price clearly in any of your brochure or price list to indicate the tax and the price without tax. So people will know exactly what is the real thing about the price of Proton’s car, so as to eliminate blind assumption towards Proton Car’s Price. Currently I can see most of the brochure do not state the tax clearly.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:20 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 9, 2008 @ 6:35 pm

November 9, 2008 @ 2:23 pm

niomr1 said,

—————————————————–

————————————-

u noe what, i’ll f**k those guyz off if someone in Langkawi chose to buy a proton perdana V6 instead of Toyota Camry, Honda Accord or bla…bla..bla…. LoL…. hahaha….
    ——————————————
    langkawi should be the monaco of asia, anyone want start a casino there, then maybe can attract some bugattis here

• dzat46 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:56 am

dodgeviper88 said,

—————————————————————-

Rebadge Mitsu Grandis?….Wow, I want one if it’s price at 60-80K…A cheaper Grandis would definately be greater than a totally new product by P1(u know ler)……Proven design/reliable + all the bugs had been taken care off…would want the diesel engine as per UK spec, very gud review & frugal

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 1:46 pm

fuhhh~finished reading all the arguments here..

from the sketches, i don’t like the front bumper.
    i think it is (was) not ergonomically suit to the overall exterior look of the mpv.
    ahh~bumper is easy to design right? ;)

aerodynamics? i don’t know the Cd of the mpv.
    handling? proton can do best in this.
    power? i’m waiting…

offtopic>>
    * u got money, go buy what u want.
    * thinking too much leads to nowhere.
    * claims may be true, but not always right.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:22 pm

i ve looked in to the mpv today… huhu

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Wah!!! really autojohndoe? me too!! haha

• myadlan (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:04 pm

the drawing looks weird. i wanna see a full rendering version..

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:01 pm

autojohndoe, describe it!

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:07 pm

git70 said,
    November 9, 2008 @ 11:28 pm

niomr1 said,

====================
    Err.. where u get the RM68k from?
    Waja Premium CPS not even RM65kOTR in Peninsular Msia including excise and sales tax. Tax free in Langkawi only RM56k.
    U wanna make a point no need to lie lah
    —————————————————————-
    aenz said:-
    i will choose waja if it really RM56k in Langkawi…
    =============================================

mct said,
    November 10, 2008 @ 12:32 am

1.8 civic vs 1.6 waja

it cost around 60k +-
    which will you choose ,
    dun compare handling lah ,handling is the only thing that proton is good in
    —————————————————————-
    aenz said:-
    waja is RM56k and altis is RM68k as what git70 said for langkawi tax free prices… so, i will choose for waja and save more that RM10k… why?? i’m already take a ride in new waja cps and realise that waja cps interiror quality improvement was superb if it compared with my 2002 waja.. RM56k for a great interior quality, a great superb handling and the most wanted is.. a great improvement of campro cps engine…. that was my opinion… my 2 ringgit and 2 cents

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:31 am

correction-> waja RM56k and altis was RM72k in langkawi tax free price and will save RM 16k….

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Wisdom said,

November 9, 2008 @ 10:57 pm

To bashers (esp whiteeye),
    Talk kok is easy. Get a life u prick.
    I bet u all flock down to your nearest Proton showroom when they announce the price.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:55 pm

haha… weird malaysian…

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:21 pm

hhmmm…
    mmg weird.period.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 4:55 pm

very hot…n very dirty too!! haha…yeah…weird!

so autojondoe…what r u looking at the mpv? the interior? i know u ha… huhu..

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:01 pm

this is getting weird..we should ask paul to block this commentary box..

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Nakal said,
    November 7, 2008 @ 5:03 pm

Im the first here?
    —————————————————————-
    And you are leading 250 comments

• szw (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:35 pm

so many opinions ?

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:52 am

corollaaltis said,

November 11, 2008 @ 9:31 pm

Nakal said,
    November 7, 2008 @ 5:03 pm

Im the first here?
    —————————————————————-
    And you are leading 250 comments

————————————-

i wonder who will lead the next proton topic..maybe whiteeye or wisdom..
    huhhu

• Realeyes (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:14 am

The diagonal front look scares me, maybe its just my eyes playing trick on me..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:20 pm

out of propotion car

• dzulcar9 (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:22 pm

Very Good Move for Proton…

For the Malaysian

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:13 pm

what so good for malaysian?

• awak (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 7:11 pm

every country have their good and bad,

its a state of equalibrium,
    if you understand the concept,

• afkar (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:00 pm

dear proton,
    u got me excited when u launched persona
    then u got my parents when u reborn the saga(my father is 1st-day buyer)
    n great, u once again got me enamoured with the new mpv..
    hope 2 feel the same 4 the next models

• hidayatmohamed (Member) on Feb 09, 2009 at 1:56 am

I heard thIS MPV name will be PROTON ‘PERSADA’.