SPIED: Proton Prevé P3-22A hatchback again!

proton-preve-hatchback-p3-22a-1

Another sighting of the upcoming Proton Prevé hatchback, or P3-22A. This time we get to see the front, albeit not head-on. Like the back end, the front is masked, but we can see what appears to be a small grille opening instead of the full-length one on the sedan. Would this mean a revised front end for the hatchback, or is it merely a form of camouflage?

Other details that are apparent include what seems to be xenon headlamps and a new wheel design with seven spokes (sedan‘s standard wheels have 10 spokes). The wheels look bigger than the sedan’s 16s too, which wouldn’t be surprising since the hatchback’s meant to be the sportier of the two.

proton-preve-hatchback-p3-22a-2

At the Thai and Australian launches of the Prevé, Proton said that we can expect the hatchback variant to debut sometime next year. Meanwhile, you can check out another spyshot here, or Theophilus Chin‘s rendering here.

As always, more info and sightings will pour in as time goes by, so watch this space. Cheers to reader Colin Chia for these shots. Keep ’em coming!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 293

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 181
      • blardy on Dec 22, 2012 at 7:09 pm

When camouflaged it looks like savvy, this is going to be a real hothatch, unlike faux advertisement made by certain brand here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 32
        • i see preve cfe 67k at oto.my..quite cheap. how much is preve dealer price actually? from the look at least rm10-15k cheaper than sale price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
          • sweet on Dec 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm

they are just trying to attract potential buyer to buy from them.

in the end.. RM67k is the price without the insurance and etc. they will sell preve on the road with insurance at RM70k+ consider now got promotion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
          • mizzuddin on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:33 am

noo… rm67k is OTR price

the rm5k less which is suppose to be higher is considered as the car value depreciation. even the car is registered in December, on the next January, the car value dropped as a year…

when buying new car at the end of a year, you must bring up this fact..!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • TRDriver on Dec 23, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 162
          • that car not even worth RM67k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 41
        • I see proton just fail to put a nice rear light. why? so half backed.

Front light is good, for both Saga Flx and Preve, and Exora.

Rear light for Saga Flx and Preve is too small.

It would be good if Proton realized that a Generously Big designed Rear light with LED Diffuser will attract a lot buyer.

Dont cut cost on the design, it brings u big disadvantage.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 17
          • Jonathan Lee on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:34 am

What on earth’s an LED diffuser?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
          • _xXx_ on Dec 23, 2012 at 7:41 pm

LED diffuser…
            similarly, u shall see halogen spoiler on earth too hehee…

• alldisc on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:47 am

at 140hp, the car is like lukewarm..

hot hatch nowadays boast something like 180-220bhp.

look at focus RS/ST, Volvo C30, Renault Megane, Vauxhall Astra VXR, Citroen DS4, Civic Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
          • Bujang Lapuk on Dec 25, 2012 at 11:16 am

That said, is this meant to be a hot hatch, or a basic hatch? Subsequent sport versions can get more power

• you forgot the original hot hatch, golf gti. c30 is not a hot hatch in any sense.

• alldisc on Dec 26, 2012 at 11:04 am

i was referring to Blardy statement above quoting ‘When camouflaged it looks like savvy, this is going to be a real hothatch, unlike faux advertisement made by certain brand here’

Volvo C30 is a hot hatch in its own way. its a 3 door hatchback, and in T4 or T5 form, produces between 220-230hp.

Satria GTI was the closest Proton got to the hot hatch sector with 137hp. At that time the competitors were toyying around with 180-200hp. cars like Golf GTI MkIV, Peug 306 GTI 6 sp, Seat Ibiza Cupra R, Rebault Clio Williams, Ford Escort RS2000 & Cosworth… and the early 90s like Vauxhall Astra GTE and GSi, Renault 19 16V and Citroen ZX 16V

• Love proton on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:14 pm

i dont care bout ho good this car is !
          what i know is Preve selling lower price tag in Austraia.
          $16,990 Aus with four airbags and stability control staff…
          feel stupid to get one here !
          lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Mozilla Chrome on Dec 22, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Since it is hatchback..sell it RM55k for 1.6 CFE please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 19
      • sweet on Dec 22, 2012 at 8:24 pm

considering Savvy was cheaper than Saga!
        meaning proton hatchback can be cheaper than sedan.

your point is legit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • mayonis on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:53 pm

it wont be cheap compare to sedan version. cos it will consider 5 door. not 4 door. price will be bit higher.

• sweet on Dec 22, 2012 at 7:07 pm

RM70k! for high line!

DRB hicom, dont so arrogant, always keep in mind that Almera is at 69k to 79k Impul.

New Vios is coming 2013 also.
      Be bold in your pricing. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 25
      • Vios no turbo, boring

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 21

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 160
          • Jonathan Lee on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:36 am

The Vios doesn’t need a turbo, lots of people buy it even though it is underpowered.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 15
          • I dun know and I dun care, what i want is turbo engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
          • Yea, actually you’re right. Vios don’t need anything, airbag, abs, vsc, just need 4 tayar and that’s what it is.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 7
          • Vios doesnt need turbo because the chassis cant handle the power..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 11
          • Peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Yeah… Vios doesnt need 3 airbags n esp as well… Body too solid like tank… Handling superb no need esp

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 19
          • Wo wo wo wo chill guys. Amoi, i tell you i believe readers here are enlightened enough about cars. If you want to criticize something please ensure it’s the right one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
          • MatLimMutu on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm

vios is so yesterday.

• Vios is so yesterday and yet pathetic car maker need to use a C-segment car to compete with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
          • atuk_kau on Dec 25, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Who cares, better equipped car get my money

• Ireen on Jan 05, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Vios so underpowered. My Saga 1.5I year 1989 easily smoked it.

• Hello,

Boring statement.

CFE = BOT

Vios can get turbo la. Vios II Complete Turbo Kit with ECU and Exhaust System RM8,000.00. You can search the net.

OPEN YOUR EYES, BRO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
          • wembley on Dec 26, 2012 at 2:49 am

CFE is not bolt on turbo engine (BOT). It’s a dedicated one like in European marque. How many years of warranty you get with that kit, 5 years? It’s not only about it can be done or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • ak4747 on Jan 06, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Haha Vios user sucks…sore loser

• zenx80 on Dec 22, 2012 at 9:29 pm

I would not choose Vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 15
      • peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:24 am

vios no 4 airbags, no ESP, no CVT… boring

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 11
        • sharon on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:12 am

Not to say Vios. Even 2012 Camry Malaysia doesn’t have VSC (also known as ESP for other manufacturers)?

People still buy. Because they buy brand and don’t understand about important tech for the car. Come to Proton, people always bash “blindly”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 4
      • hajihalef on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:08 am

vios/city is B segment. Preve is C segment with Civic/Forte/Elantra.

And vios/city don’t have ESP, 4 airbags, turbocharged.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
        • alehluyah on Dec 23, 2012 at 4:00 pm

are u sure City dun have ESP??? please double check before bashing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
          • Jonathan Lee on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:26 am

True, the City has Vehicle Stability Assist (Honda’s version of ESP), but it’s only on the top-spec E model, which costs upwards of RM90k.

• so city DOES have vehicle stability control! BITCH please!

• kadajawi on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:34 pm

The Preve is already very competitively priced. It should be around 100k or more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • datsun 1200 on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:20 am

hahaha..competitive price? and it should be around 100k? rubbish..malaysian market is all controlled by the G. so, there is so many overpriced rubbish otr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • How can you say it’s ”boring” when you’ve only seen half the car ? That’s like saying Pamela Anderson is hot just because she has… well… you know what I mean. It’s not a fair judgement lah, seriously.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 7
    • Cloudye on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:06 am

Hmmm… U boring. Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
    • pc.ang on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Proton still Timing belt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Chow1 on Dec 26, 2012 at 10:06 am

Wow, this is ‘exciting’

• pathfinder on Dec 22, 2012 at 5:39 pm

actually i’m hoping it will be Satria replacement than Preve hacthback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • I hope not. Preve seems to have higher center of gravity compared to Satria.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • nazri on Dec 22, 2012 at 6:46 pm

why malaysian need 2 doors car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 91
      • mr jem on Dec 22, 2012 at 7:11 pm

see it clearer maaa… blakang ada itu pintu jugaaa… another basher… pantang nmpak seket…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
      • Have you ever heard the word “Export”?

“Small” sedans are not too popular in i.e. Europe.

• ammar on Dec 22, 2012 at 9:48 pm

you dont want to feel 2 door malaysian car ka?? dont buy la! we all want to feel 2 door malaysian car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • this is more like “wira aeroback” rather than satria replacement…

it has 4 doors..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • problem on Dec 27, 2012 at 3:37 pm

wira aeroback? come on la.. it don’t even got a rear flat trunk.. it looks more like a ford focus style.

• intermilan on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:28 am

Proton is going in the right path to offer C-segment hatchback. Same segment as golf, 308, focus et. al.

There is a market for something slightly bigger and with more functionality then the b-segment Satria Neo.

But I reckon it will be a smaller market compared to its sibling.

• mizzuddin on Dec 22, 2012 at 5:41 pm

why no interior pics..?

need to see the tranny stick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 59
    • i think not sempat to take interior in the middle of busy road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • So you want to stop your car in the middle of the road, chase the Preve and knock2 the window then ask them, “Can I take some interior pictures?”. >_>

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 8
    • Jonathan Lee on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:38 am

Also, I don’t think the gearstick is different in the hatchback than in the saloon.

• back end reminiscence of ford focus… i like..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Exactly what I thought. Looks just like the 2006 Ford Focus ST.

• sutheshkumar on Dec 22, 2012 at 5:51 pm

that is the rims of Insipra’s 2.0P.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • witchy on Dec 22, 2012 at 6:39 pm

yea agree, looks pretty decent at times. But they should have got a new design

• kivatt0024 on Dec 22, 2012 at 7:17 pm

17 inch maa…..

• I don’t really mind the rims as they are one of the best from proton currently. I am a little worried about the rear bumper design though. Looks a little big. Rear lights looks promising.

• spyshotX on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:26 pm

no worries.. any cars with heavy camouflage will always look bulkier than the unmasked one.. it’s bcoz all the effect of the sculptured shapes and surfaces that define the visual volume of the product have been hidden.. it’s called optical illusion..

even preve last time during spy shot takes also looks bulkier than the unmasked one..

• Support !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Jimmy on Dec 22, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Big rims, big tyres, and you get a mini ‘SUV’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • 17″ or 18″ rims and low profile tires will look good on this car.

• Woww…i saw audi style tail lamp..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • wow 6 speed manual tranny ftw!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • mystvearn on Dec 22, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Must be Preve hatchback HL?

• faiz akmal on Dec 22, 2012 at 6:34 pm

….how much does it cost maybe?80-90k??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • It will be entering the inspira price range.
      Most likely in the mid to high 70k. Or follow the Myvi price strategy, by making it a differentiating it like the Myvi 1.3 and 1.5.
      2 different specs with one at mid to high 60k for the low spec hatch and mid to high 70k for the high spec hatch.

• kudaberlari on Dec 22, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Yeah..preve h/bck with 6mt..waiting for it..next for P3-30A gsc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • I thought the current Preve is almost a hatchback, i dont see the need to waste resources to produce a true hatchback…again wrong priorty n marketing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 62
    • Kalun on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:07 am

People like you cause a good and potential car not to be sold in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • I actually agree with kudaberlari. Proton should focus on beating its no.1 rival in malaysia, Myvi. Not only can it steal sales from the myvi but the market for small cars are good in foreign countries.

• spyshotX on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:01 pm

nowadays car makers design their sedans especially for b & c segments to be hatchback-like style.. last time heard proton design head azlano call it a two-and-a-half box design style for the preve..

my guess is that drb had given the green light to proceed with the hatchback version since they already announced their plan in re-entering UK market soon.. since the europeans love hatchback so much, what better way to jump start proton presence there..

nevertheless, i do agree that if drb wants proton to regain local market share domination in shortest time.. they should focus in gaining back market shares in segments where currently dominated by little brother perodua.. what even worse is they already pulled themselves out of the game when they decided to end savvy production without having any successor to compete in the b-segment hatchback..

• I can forgive the preve sedan half-done ass if they fit in a 5/6 speed manual in the CFE model with the same spec, than it would almost be perfect ,i really do dislike CVT, even T&H are beginning to replace their CVT in some of the line up, overseas models that is. If you are reading this proton , also try to replace that faux wood on the dash with a ‘brush-aluminium’ texture.
    Although some what, I really want proton to make Juke-size SUV. But I guess that will only happen in my dream and the back pages of my notes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • Peyno on Dec 22, 2012 at 11:03 pm

Bro… I think u got wrong info… Toyota japan is going to focus cvt n smsllsized turbo engine for thier next product.. Do research .. I hv read this article here paultan .. In japan.. Jdm car using cvt such daihatsu… But in asean they dumb old 4at

• Actually I based my research on American car market.
        CVT will continue to dominate the small car market that dominates Japan.
        It was a report saying that the new Toyota Avalon was to be a CVT, same goes for the new accord (the hybrid is a CVT) , there were surprises when Toyota stick to the normal autos after. With a peddle shift (a peddle shift in a big Toyota sedan, LOL, not very toyota-ish)
        Honda says they are trying to produce a lighter dual-clutch for future hybrid in a 2009 report, I think they’ve done it in bikes already. The Current city ditch the cvt of the previous gen for a 5 speed auto.
        I dun think these Japanese brands will let go of cvt for quite a while. I said some, I apologize, i shoild say very few of their models.

• peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 5:05 pm

http://paultan.org/2012/11/14/toyota-plays-catch-up-in-direct-injection-and-downsizing-new-turbocharged-engine-out-in-2014/

• qindao on Dec 23, 2012 at 1:10 am

even hontai uses cvt for their sporty (NOT SPORT) car – crz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • People want their CRZ ‘sporty’ .They get the manual car, the cvt is a hairdresser car. I like this differentiation bcuz it differentiate the real car enthusiast and a show off .
          The CRZ also is one of the few cars out there with a fully spacced manual version

• sepul on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:18 am

agree with u, crz is also the only manual tranny car here with auto cruise, besides megane rs

• ng.y.s on Dec 22, 2012 at 7:30 pm

come with h i d?

• its gonna rock the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Absolute Rider on Dec 22, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Firstly, thanks for the second time spy photos of P3-22A!

My opinion:

1) Hopefully this is not the rim to be installed for P3-22A. Not nice, not suitable. Really.

2) CCFL rear combination lights? Cool. At least LED lights and brakes lights. Not like Preve as brake lights still use normal bulb.

3)Xenon head lights? Really? That’s good. Approved stock HID? Haha…. Whiter beams instead yellowish beams. Follow current automotive trend and standards, please!

4) Redesigned front grill and more aggressive front bumper are welcome. Area near fog lamps can use some design from Preve Sapphire Concept’s! Coolest!

5) Rear bumper with muffler? If yes, colour plays very important role. Can be black for any colours for car body EXCEPT black colour body car. Try to use, Titanium colour for muffler. Just my thought.

6)I have other idea for meter cluster SID. Can use black colour, white dial (number) for lights. Such for 2013 Kia Forte (K3), then you know what I mean. Better and clearer than red lights for SID.

7) ICE (In Car Entertainment). Custom design to maximize the usage of space. Lots of space left behind for Preve LCD ICE! Can fit bigger screen or better button design with some chrome finish.

Just my opinion. TQ.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • 6) Proton uses red backlit colour because they wanted Preve to look sporty as in BMW and Audi. I know it sometimes looks disturbing with that kind of colour but I agree with you, white backlit colour will actually make the car looks expensive and premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Absolute Rider on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:29 am

Well, many new Audi models (upcoming too) starting to use colour LCD with conventional display and blacklit lights.

Looks expensive and premium as you said. FF :)

• My opinion,

0) Sell this at max 60k full-kitted.

• tenine99 on Dec 22, 2012 at 8:26 pm

if the price be around 50k-60k. Surely can beat myvi 1.5 sales..but it will be back to basic, do this car reliable compare to myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Peyno on Dec 22, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Prffthhh myvi??? This carbis not comparable to compact car la.. This iis hatchback car. And target higher group n overseas msrket… Myvi target just for ah soos, fresh graduated liw income ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
      • That junk sedan launched months ago … still cannot sell much. Ada hati nak target higher group konon.. high on drug ada la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 62
        • Peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 2:22 pm

2nd national car salesman butthurt… Talking psl nap, anti cronies. Keta import mahal.. Ppl tot u r import car salesman.. Rupanya perodua keta gomen kedua
          Prffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
          • Still better than P1. Nama saja P1 tapi sales bukan no 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • pak long on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Still cannot sell much?? Dah 25k + atas jalan. Kau buta ke hape??

• myvier on Dec 23, 2012 at 1:19 am

my myvi smokes civic 2.0 anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 69
      • was the civic stuck in 5th gear?? if not, you wont stand a chance.

• gOOsh on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:08 pm

i think you’ve smoked a stalled civic 2.0… or you rode on emergency lane PLUS highway during last festive season… patut larrr…

• tenine99 on Dec 22, 2012 at 8:39 pm

and maybe one of the big surprise is if they replace the current campro engine to petronas e01 engine. Then it will boost up the sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Malaysian believed in Petronas. but if it’s not fuel saving, sales terus jatuh in 6 months time after lauch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • casey on Dec 22, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Wake up, I cannot understand why Proton need to buy the Engine and the property rights from Petronas. Those Engine was over – + 10 years and in developed countries, sudah obsolete! I suspect it MAY not meet EURO 4 standard. Wasting money..with such engine how to boost sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 59
      • Kalun on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:13 am

Do you know how old is Toyota engine that are currently in the market?

From my research, Toyota Hilux commonrail is 18 years old. Your Toyota camry and vios is 15 yeaes old. The same zz engine.
        All these engine is aging but they modded it to fit the current emission.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
        • Haters gonna be haters..

• gen y on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Well said. Even if its 100 years the will still buy it. Verrrry reliable coz proven for sooooo long.

• hermmm… x mungkin dalam masa terdekat ni proton memuatkan enjin petronas… banyak yg nak kene buat tuh… tp cfe + 6 speed MT tu mungkin…

• nicovo on Dec 22, 2012 at 9:19 pm

I think Proton should really focus on QC rather than selling new cars. Preve is a good effort but miles away from the koreans..Preve is not as refined as many would like to believe. Its sluggish when u r starting off,engine noise is quite rough as well,the after sales service is terrible,most of the time they dun know wats goin on with the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 24
    • peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:28 am

i could say.. preve QC more on exaggerating and ppl love to spread … actually QC wise more less same with entry level fake japs ASEAN MADE… it is matter ppl just shy to share..

hehe

• Allen on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:36 am

Do tell after you try the Prevé with latest ecu/tcu remap. Tell us how sluggish it is.

QC? I have to admit they do have much room for improvement.

Service centre? Everywhere brand have their bad share, no? Service dealers n branches, we have option in that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • hajihalef on Dec 23, 2012 at 4:05 pm

check videos on youtube. 0-100 less than 10 sec. New ECU is damn quick.

• gOOsh on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:12 pm

continuous improvement… sure they will put the quality as their 1st priority…

• chris on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Evolution of a company:

Be bold and come out with new tech, or diff from the masses/ competitors. Price it competitively but with loads of gadgets.

Continuous improvement on quality and tech. Copying from the best. Quality issues cannot be eliminated 100%..its how fast the company will react to those issues and rectify it.

Then one day this company will be up thr.

So proton with preve and koreans are doing it very well.

The japs are still “dont change if its not broken..” but pricing change upwards for average products.ie camry, vios, etc

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:06 am

Make sure Proton ada telinga kah tidak mau dengar. That’s the real problem lah.

• MoveOn on Dec 22, 2012 at 9:30 pm

rims looks like ford fiesta’s, back looks like the previous gen Ford Focus! yay!

• Honda lover on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Thats what I said.This useless junk Protonng copy here n there.Rims copy Ford,back copy Ford,rear lights copy Audi.Junk is junk.Believe me,Honda Civic is better,or the new Focus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • gOOsh on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:01 pm

i currently owned a fd1 civic… design is good but quality is questioned…

• crtlv on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Which cars don’t look like others? Bat mobile?

• Those people drawing salaries from Proton still think this junk will take Malaysian auto industry by storm. More like taking Malaysians into storm.
    They really belive at their own prowness that other car makers will shiver when they see this junk car. BMW? hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 45
    • amoi_suck on Dec 23, 2012 at 12:00 pm

go back and bolt on turbo your under powered car lol

• Peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Rich ppl buy real japs car… Poor ppl but pretending to be jdm owner end up with perodua .. Rakyat are forced to buy protected perodua.. Otherwise ppl will go for import compact cars such jazz, swift , freed etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Rich people buy BMW. Pathetic car maker decieves poor people that their cars are BMW equivalent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Peyno on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:53 am

Rich ppl buy jdm , poor ppl buy perodua n believe it is jdm car
          Prffthhh

• Oh it still better than trying to fool people that they are getting a lancer at a cheapest price. Best part is it failed badly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • aspire on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Failed? Got many Inspira on road

• Honda lover on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Right.And dun forget premium cars like recond Estima,Alphard,Alphard-Vellfire,these r the coolest Jap cars.

• Reminiscence of Pug 308 tail. Ever last beauty look.

• Proton38 Türkiye on Dec 23, 2012 at 6:20 am

Hello from the European continent..
    And whats with Station Wagon of the Preve?
    Thinks DRB-Hicom to come back to Germany or France??? These are Kombi-Nations. Kombi is Wagon in Germany, if you read the spelling is combination.. Isn’t it interesting? :))
    Proton come on baby, Diesel. Do not want to much, Diesel only!

P.S.:If you click on the above my ‘website’ can see the used proton’s in Turkey!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Greetings to Turkey. I’d be interesting to see if Proton wants to enter the German market again. The Preve could probably do it, although pricing will be difficult. Skoda and the Koreans have taken the market where the Preve would fit in, but they are proven. The Preve isn’t. So it has to be cheaper and give long warranty (like the Koreans do). And then there is Dacia. But of course the Preve is clearly above Dacia models.

I agree, a station wagon version would be very important if they want to enter Europe. We’ll see.

• kadajawi on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Oh, and obviously a manual version is a must for Europe. Diesel would be good too, but I think Proton will have to source that from another manufacturer. Perhaps Renault, Proton has used Renault engines before…

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:09 am

Why the hell you Turkey folks buy Proton anyway?

Never heard of Skoda, SEAT or Lada cars before?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • says says on Dec 23, 2012 at 6:45 am

Tune enjin tu dulu…ni…turun bukit ada high rev engine braking pehal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
    • betul la mcm tu kalau gearbox auto. turun bukit mmg patut guna gear rendah. do you even know how to shift to proper gear at the right time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • say who on Dec 23, 2012 at 7:25 pm

lol… kereta lagi pandai dari pemnadu kot… you are definitely rite GT3

• Dey Thamby on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Sebab pemandu ramai yang x pandai la engineer kna fikir nk buat kreta mcm tu… kalau pemandu semua dh pandai2, xde la kreta terjun gaung

• spyshotX on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:27 pm

hahaha.. lol.. spot on GT3.. they dont even know the function of engine braking but still keep on bashing..

• Garfield on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Sori la bro tapi kalau kat kampung, aku kata kau ni jakun sikit, tapi kesian pulak orang Jakun kena compare dgn kau lah. Preve pakai CVT. Kalau kat sekolah dulu sempat pakai internet, bolehlah tau engine braking tu characteristic enjin CVT. Sebab the principle is you’re always at the right ratio. Opps! Nanti tak faham lak aku tercakap broken nih….

• peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:25 am

preve hatchback
    come to papa

Rakyat sayang preve hatchback

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Khairin on Dec 23, 2012 at 8:56 am

Well at least the rims are now nicer than current Preve…

• I personally agree with what many people comment abt the current preve. Quite a number of flaws such as boring dashboard and rear. Nevertheless, i believe that malaysians are very concern abt this car, they want to be proud and tell the world that.. Hey we malaysian also have a world class car.. Just look this latest snapshot.. Everyone wants to give their opinion..so, proton good luck , hope this new hatch can give a good impression on preve n proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Jonathan Lee on Dec 23, 2012 at 11:45 am

Here’s hoping there will be a higher spec level for the Prevé sedan to go with the hatch launch. 17-inch wheels, xenon headlights, a better satnav screen (as on the Thai models) and extra side airbags.

• agree. Hope they will launch a Preve Sapphaire along with the Preve Hatchback, too boost the marketing effect of preve on malaysian.

• gkl83 on Dec 23, 2012 at 4:10 pm

I also looking forward with leather seat packages offered for new Preve sedan.

• darker marker on Dec 23, 2012 at 1:12 pm

boleh la…..cant expect much from P1

• To all the proton supporters, I know many of u are patriots. However try to think what really a good car means. It is not the fancy gadgets such as clutch control, foldable wing mirrors, beautiful rims or all the electronic gadgets but a good engine and body construction. For proton engineers sorry to say that they are already brain dead in this two aspects . Don’t mention the campro engine. They are oringinated from lotus, a compony which bought by proton using Malaysian money. Try to look at Hyundai same age with proton, they Korean’s car is all over the world now. Where are our proton? One of my Brunei friend said who ever bought proton in Brunei is an idiot. This is really embarrassing. And to our preve fans, don’t u think that this car has the worst rear lamp design even saga is better than it. I wonder whose idea is that. Oops! One more thing don’t speak about the prices. If u want the real price for Japanese and all other foreign car try to have a look for the price at labuan and langkawi. Not after the heavy tax by our semua boleh government. Wakeout Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 57
    • gkl83 on Dec 23, 2012 at 4:47 pm

It is most afforadable car INSIDE Malaysia. What choices we have?

• peyno on Dec 23, 2012 at 5:12 pm

if u buy entry level fake japs car ASEAN made.. u oso patriots .. support local comp UMW, Tan choong, Sime darby, DRB,

u r not patriots if u buy REal JDM in Japan..
      prrrtfhhh

• wake up malaysian.
      toyota camry without tax = RM100k.. Government is taking RM50k from us to buy 1 new car.. and we have to take loan for that!
      without the tax, we can reduce loan burden.. itu baru 1Malaysia scheme.

Wake up Malaysian.
      Vios at Langkawi only RM55k. here sell at RM79k…. lol.
      Why la.. We have to take the extra RM20k loan to feed the GOV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • false patriots on Dec 23, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Patriots dun make engine tat drink 30% more petrol than its equivalent and wast fuel subsidiy paid by taxpayers.

• Ononimos on Dec 23, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Since when Hyundai is the same age as Proton?? Get your facts right.
      10 years back, who ever bought hyudai and kia car in malaysia is considered as not so smart.
      U may not fancy the gadgets but it may be difference for others. I do fancy those stuff.
      yes, I do believe that the chasis is not on par with the conti car but, it is better than the Sampan T and some japs batch car.
      Lastly, you should stop arguing about the tax. Different country has different tax structure. Should also consider the amount of road tax, insurance and bla bla bla. Never ending story. U want to drive conti car, go earn more money. It is easier to change yourself for better compare to change the whole country. The improvement of the country will come later after you have improved your self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:12 am

Yes smart guys get Inspira…But smartest guys always get Original Lancer. Problem bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • Ononimos on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Since when Labu change his name pulak nih? You, can change what ever name you want to use, but people can still recognize you from the way you wrote all the negative and blind bash comments. Too Obvious.

• You should read more, newer high line proton cars have turbo engines (CFE) under the hoods

• Hello,

Do you understand what you read? CFE is just bolt-on-turbo. Any car can get it done with any local car tuners.

CFE IS NOT BIG DEAL, COMPREHENDO!!!!

• hendri on Dec 26, 2012 at 3:07 am

No, if you say like that, TSI and Prince also bolt-on turbo. Please read more ok?

• If we reduce tax or the best remove it. which one you pick ?. assume the Toyota altis 1.6 RM 50k and Preve RM20k

• toyolta_sucks on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:29 am

I definitely choose Toyota ALTIS?

NAH!! What i get is torsion beam, come on sampan handling car needs better suspension setup. And the look, duh, it’s not attractive at all.

Better i save the monthly installment for some long term investment or for holidays.

• you must not have watch the videos about preve. nasty body construction? how about RESS? hurmmm

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:16 am

Apa pasal bunyi serupa RISE mitsubishi? Proton ada bagitau Mitsubishi kah itu RESS copy RISE He He He

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • have you ever hear heard about technology collaboration? hahaha

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:49 am

Let me guess, you’re one of those people who knocks on the body panels of cars to hear if the body is stiff.

Reviewers from major media outlets (including this one) have heaped praise onto the car’s ride and handling capabilities, which have certainly got as much to do with the body’s inherent stiffness as with the suspension tuning. Proton is aiming for five stars in ANCAP tests, so let’s hold judgement until the results are released.

The engine bit is debatable. Sure, it could do with more power, but it is impressive nonetheless, considering that the CFE model produces more power than a 1.6-litre Kia Forte. The partnership it has with Honda may yet strengthen its expertise in engine development.

I don’t know where people got the notion that Hyundai is the same age as Proton. Hyundai only started building cars in 1968, by then already a multinational construction company. In contrast, state-owned Proton built the Saga in 1985. I’ll save you the math — that’s 17 years of difference between the two.

I have a Hyundai Matrix from ten years ago and honestly I’d rather have a Prevé or an Exora. Those two aren’t quite up there with the latest cars from Hyundai or Kia, but they’re nowhere near as far behind as they could have been. Of course, the Preve’s nowhere near as good as it could be (the CVT is rubbish, the engine’s not all that quick, it looks cheap and dull from the back and that’s a horrible satnav unit on the CFE models), but Proton’s come a long way in the past six or seven years and the least you could do is acknowledge that.

(By the way, I’m pretty sure you meant “wake up”)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • it takes century sprint in 9.6 sec, still not quick? If you mean the movement from idle then there is new ecu mapping to solve the problem. No one complaints about conti cars which share similar characteristics, i wonder why

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:56 pm

It is quick, but it could be quicker still. Ford’s 1.6-litre EcoBoost engine develops ten more horsepower than the CFE (148 bhp, to be precise). Proton has to be commended for having the foresight to develop a turbocharged model, but it’s still lagging in a few areas such as direct injection. Which is why I said it’s good, but not as good as it could be.

• Yeah direct injection may burst more output, i believe it’s in the pipeline, maybe with e01

• Encik Jurutera on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:44 am

i seriously dont understand why people is stupid enuf to compare NA engine with forced induction engine, its like comparing a electric blender with pebble&mortar

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Of course I know a turbocharged engine is very different from a naturally aspirated one. But the Prevé CFE and the Forte 1.6 are about the same price, aren’t they?

• Rulered on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:49 pm

At this point, enough has been said about Proton from both basher and praiser alike, to me, buying a car base on what other people think of you (especially from other country like Brunei) speaks volumes of the level of your thinking maturity. Happy holidays guys!

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:00 pm

“One of my Brunei friend said who ever bought proton in Brunei is an idiot. This is really embarrassing”

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • Rafidah on Dec 23, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Most importantly a fair and reasonable price for the majority of Malaysian’s standard

• Kipidap Proton!!!

• Expatriate VN on Dec 23, 2012 at 7:28 pm

@nd generation Savvy but bigger ssize on the way!!!!! Good luck Jaguh Kampung No. 2 and see which blind supporter buy it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • I’m waiting for the top variant of this Preve with
    – R3 engine tuning boost up atleast 200hp.. The number of torque on current CFE just fine which come early at 2000rpm.. ahh 6 speed MT soo delicious.. Yummy~
    – R3 engine cover
    – R3 brake caliper.. No need those expensive braking system just like Satria Neo Lotus
    – R3 suspension tuning with 17? 6 spokes gun metal rim with GT Radial 17/225/45
    – R3 emblem on glossy black grill, at the bottom of the steering (flat-bottom) , and at the hatch
    – semi bucket front seats with red stitching, R3 emboss or embroidery.. Of course the theme of the interior should be black and red
    – color choices could be fire red, black, S2000 yellow with blacken roof top.. Sunroof or moonroof could be nice.. decals are just too over..
    – make it dual tips exhaust.. one for each side.. dont make it centre seems it is a big hatch not like satria..
    – last but not least fine finishing and just let the PREVE name alone.. Dont add any extra name behind PREVE.. Just like both Ford Focus sedan and hatchback
    Maybe this is just too much of hoping.. Well atleast in my dream.. I believe Proton can make it better beyond my hopes and expectations.. Well hey~.. Hatchback meant to be sporty right ? Hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:58 am

Banyak lah lu punya mimpi. Nanti jatuh macam Mat Jenin tidor atas pokok kelapa baru tau!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • yes, i agree with the naming. Hopefully just Preve or maybe Preve R3, but pls, no Preve Bold or Elegance.

• Truth on Dec 23, 2012 at 10:14 pm

1947: Hyundai engineering and construction firm was founded.
    1967: Hyundai Motor was founded.
    1968: Hyundai 1st model, Cortina in cooperation with Ford.
    1975: Hyundai’s 1st self-developed model, Pony.
    1983: Proton was officially incorporated.
    1984: Hyundai Pony entered Canadian market.
    1985: Proton’s first model officially launched.
    1986: Hyundai began selling cars in the United States.
    1998: Hyundai Motor Group was formed with Kia.

Besides, they also have Hyundai Mobis, Hyundai Steel, Hyundai Hysco, Hyundai Wia, Hyundai Rotem, Hyundai Capital, Hyundai Card, Hyundai Motor Group University..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:54 am

Hyundai entered USA year 1986. Proton refused. Why? USA kafir nation but not UK?

Now Hyundai beating the crap out of Toyota, Honda in USA for fun. For Proton they still wet dream become global car firm LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Jonathan Lee on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:18 pm

The US have much more stringent regulations that require substantial reengineering that is costly and time-consuming. Also, Americans are notoriously averse to cheap, small cars and are incredibly image-conscious.

Let’s start with your example. The Excel came into America and was initially successful. But then serious problems cropped up and sales fell off the cliff. Hyundai as a brand became a butt of many a joke in the US and it struggled for almost 20 years to climb out of that hole. So you can see the trepidation when car makers try to enter the US market.

And it’s not just Proton that have baulked from selling in America. Peugeot, Renault, Citroën, Alfa Romeo, they’ve all pulled out from the market. Even Suzuki shied away recently after its American arm went bust. Of course Proton have to start selling in America at some point in time, but I’d rather they have a foothold in other markets first.

• Ononimous on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Kalau berani Proton go to USA market lah. Apa takut? Don’t give excuses. Itu hari cakap Preve will get NAP 5 star crash rating soon konon. For what then?

Stop bully own rakyat here. Try bully & fool the American car buyers.

Very typical Jagoh kampong mentality. Once exposed to global market, suddenly Proton become afraid of its own shadow. Takut bayang-bayang sendiri. Give 1,001 alasan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • start-a-figt on Dec 26, 2012 at 9:37 am

korea car is LHD and US is LHD.. so the next step after developed a car is just put it on the next ship to USA and you got a car in USA..

malaysia car is RHD and UK is RHD… so the next step after developed a car is just put it on the next ship to UK and you got a car in UK..

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 27, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Look, I’m all for Proton selling more of their stuff overseas, but you have to be realistic.

Putting a car on sale in America is far more than just loading up a ship with left-hand drive models and sending them over (Proton do make left-hand drive cars, by the way).

Crash safety was not what I meant when I was talking about more stringent regulations (yes, they have regulations for that and they’re tough, but they’re similar to safety regulations elsewhere in the world). It’s got more to do with bumpers (they have tougher low-speed impact tests), lights (they have different illumination regulations compared to international standards, require side marker lights and forbid rear fog lights) and number plates (theirs are taller and require a taller housing to fit). Little things, sure, but it’s enough to make homologating a car for US regulations a substantial expense for a market you’re not even sure is going to be receptive to your products. That’s why the other manufacturers I’ve mentioned also stopped selling in America, because they sell too few cars there to justify the expense and the effort.

I want Proton to sell their cars in America, I really do. But I understand why they haven’t.

• wan0ne on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm

What’s your best achievement? Talk is cheap, anyone can say anything

• alldisc on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:24 pm

and south korea’s population of 50 million makes it easier for the car companies with economies of scale (produce at high volume to allow cheaper cost and thus selling price)

• DewaSemut on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:00 pm

not to mention that Koreans are very supportive of their homegrown products…

• shawal on Dec 23, 2012 at 10:15 pm

hope they release an updated version of d preve
    – improve d NVH n fit n finish of d dash , it vibrates alot when u press hard on d throttle at low speeds
    – at soft touch materials on d rear doors too
    – leather wrap on d handbrake
    – bigger screen for d satnav
    – on d se model , leather seats, 2 more speakers n curtain airbags..

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:37 pm

You mau letak toilet dalam Proton pun boleh. Semua boleh. Lu bayar saja extra lah. Kasi itu Kroni supplier kaya sikit lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • 6MT? Yummy…

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Orang makan nasi, you gila makan besi gearbox. Nantilah saya kasi telefon itu Hotel Tanjung Rambutan pergi tangkap sama lu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • danedz on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:35 am

Hopefully this model fitted with sunroof..that’s all i need..

• er…does the sunroof is really necessary? i think malaysia here is “hot” now and i don`t think we`ll need sun roof…need more heat proof

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:57 am

Boleh. Tambah RM15K dulu lah. Kroni supplier mau makan sikit jugak lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Lagi satu, you tak takut itu hantu pocong masuk sunroof kereta kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • flat_tire on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:38 am

it looks as if it got cursed or something..

• azrai on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:03 am

The rim actually came from the new Inspira. I guess it just for testing purpose only. While the grille soething like reincarnation of Tiara’s one. The rear light seem like an i30 Hyundai’s tailgate.

• Ismail saad on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:16 am

Harap belakang jangan jadi mcm tiara dah lah..

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:26 pm

You tak pernah tengok Savvy punya belakang kah? Lagi cantekkkk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Peyno on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:04 am

Preve hatchback.. Full spec 85k
    Pls come to papa
    Rakyat sayang preve

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:17 am

Nothing more than just a bigger version of Savvy. If priced more than sedan Preve, sorry lah better buy Fiesta. Atau top up sikit beli itu Cherry Eastar satu kampung boleh masuk LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • jingjing on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Belum buka habis lagi dah tau rupa savvy?
      Preve is not bigger version of savvy lah samdol, how can it be same. I thought you can afford Camry lol

• Seriously, not trying to defame proton or anything, even though vios doesnt have turbocharged, airbags (lower spec) and any other goodies, i’ve tried both cars and i felt that vios is a little better compared to Preve. When i was driving the Preve, i don’t have the oomph feel to it. its sort of a little mechanical. Again, this is my 2 cents, so before you bash me for not being a fan of proton, its better to test drive it and judge it yourself.

Yes, even with turbo, Preve doesnt fully utilise the potential of it. When i was flooring it, the rev doesn’t go as high as quick when you need it, its sort of passive (due to the CVT i think). Meaning it will take a long stretch to actually reached the 7th-speed. This to me, makes me feel like i am driving an electric car, you accelerate but you dont have the feeling you are going faster.

Like i said, this is from a novice’s viewpoint. I do applaud the interior of the preve, which is a leap and bound compared to the older Protons (beautiful steering wheel and material for the dash). Hopefully, they use a better intuitive touchscreen panel for this hatchback, as the one used by current Preve looks somewhat aftermarket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Much better if Proton give whole car Life Time Warranty with free service whole life too. Peace of mind forever.

Baru kepala tidak pening, bayar bulanan pun sedap berbaloi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • hajihalef on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Dah tak suka proton lagi nak beli proton? Ko sendiri bukak kilang kereta bagi lifetime warranty la.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:33 pm

I’m sorry, did you say lifetime warranty and free servicing? Have you gone completely out of your mind? Do you know how much it would cost for Proton to maintain all the cars it has ever sold (and will continue to sell)?

Jeez, the kind of drivel some people sprout out without even thinking…

As for me I think Proton’s five-year extended warranty seems very reasonable.

• Garfield on Dec 24, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Good that you have tested both cars. At least better than some who just listen and really are just armchair critics. My take on the performance however is different. You’re right on the CVT. But need also understand the CFE bit that comes alive only at 2K rpm. I’ve learned that the paddle shifts are actually there to be used. Use it during take-off and you’ll soon change ur mind. Then there’s the chassis, Vios is nowhere near. Me? I own cars at both spectrum which is a 2L CVT and 1.4TSi DSG which makes me appreciate the Preve if budget comes to play. It’s not perfect but it sure is over and above the Dugongs.

• Ononimous on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:52 pm

Why keep compare Preve with Vios? Compare Preve with same segment Civic, Altis, Forte, Elantra lah.

For Saga, compare it with Vios, City. OK lah too much then compare Saga with Brio Sedan or Etios.

Apple with apple comparison lah

• youbodok on Dec 25, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Itu proton punya non-official basher lah advise. Cuba buat baru tau susah senang

• Garfield on Dec 25, 2012 at 6:13 pm

So sorry bro but I’m only referencing to our fellow Malaysian (sirt) who typically compare using affordability as a yardstick (price vs price), not by segment or class. As good as it can be now though, as a package Preve is still below that of Civic and Altis (which is why Proton has Inspira). Open our eyes and accept the reality. But it is, to me, better than the Vios, City and current Forte (Elantra is on a different scale already and new Forte would soon join its ranks).

I was saluting sirt who compared the cars based on some objectivity and not blind passion. Test drives are free. Car dealers are desperate to move their stocks and many offer “extended” test drives nowadays, even to the extent of taking the car to your place. Don’t just listen to what the majority says but evaluate, it’s your own money. I do agree however, when things are equal, in the end you should listen to your heart and passion too….

• Yes, sorry for not stating earlier on the comparison.

Sometimes, you cannot compare the cars between segments in Malaysia. If I am comparing segments, the opinion will be skewed due to the pricing advantage of national brand (Proton, P2) compared non-local brands.

And I salute you Garfield for your calmness in assessing others’ opinions instead of downright bashing and framing.

• Danny on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:40 am

DRB-Hicom should hire a guy like Peter Schreyer to revamp the design and give Proton their own signature look. Instead of firing certain head.

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Chris Bangle is jobless now. Proton better hire him. If Proton can waste billions to Lotus, then what is salary cost to Chris Bangle. Peanut lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • No need, just look at tuah, original preve just as good what

• Ononimous on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Good design? Then Proton should be able to settle that RM1 Billion hutang lah.

• Danny on Dec 25, 2012 at 5:36 am

yes thats true, but the problem is, concepts are concepts, they need to walk the talk. I agree Tuah looks absolutely gorgeous, but it never came to fruition. Which is a bit sad and disappointing.

• jhoon on Dec 28, 2012 at 1:31 am

Tell me the production car that looks much better than its concept. Kizashi? Camry? Latio/Tilda?

• chris on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Very good comments from some of you above- unlike those who bash proton based on past issues.

Say proton offers you the best package, a 4 star product vs a Jap 1 star car. Which would you choose? . Majority of Msians will go for the jap.

Preve is a good package. Im not saying persona or gen was. Thr are improvements- so do judge fairly. Its definitely better than more expensive basic cars t n h are offering. The handling, etc.

The tech, the whole package is for all to compare.

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:18 pm

If you stay in Langkawi duty free, you also sure choose original Lancer and not fake Inspira…betol tidak? HE HE HE

Jangan cakap tarak serupa bikin lah brader!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • ridra on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Lancer is without superb proton ride and handling, i choose inspira anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Masih jugak you tukar logo taruk Mitsubishi sticker Ralliart. Tapi dalam stereng masih logo Proton. Kenape? Takut bukak stereng nanti airbag kaboom kah He He He

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • Ononimous on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Really? How many times Proton won WRC title? Jangan kasi Tommi Makinen laugh at Proton lah.

• hajihalef on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Betul tu. Sebab proton tak dapat duty free sebab bukan kereta import. Kesian proton dkt langkawi.

Kereta import kat langkawi duty free, tapi masih lagi mahal berbanding harga dkt dock. Heheheh..

• Peyno on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:18 pm

If we hv original passo.. We dont buy crappy myvi rite?

• lincoln on Dec 25, 2012 at 1:00 am

of course I’ll choose Inspira with superb handling….lotus handling maaaa….

• Azlanoh on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:05 pm

LOL! This is truly the Quote Of The Year:

“One of my Brunei friend said who ever bought proton in Brunei is an idiot. This is really embarrassing”

• Hoi Labu on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Stop commenting on everypost la. It makes you look like a retard

• lincoln on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:58 am

anyone can said that la bro…one of my friend,,,,my friend of my friend…..bla bla bla….talk with no prove is nothing….give your name of your Brunei friend la bro…hehehe

• start-a-figt on Dec 26, 2012 at 9:46 am

in Brunei, you get money for buying a car from the dealer… so U are an idiot not to try and apply as rakyat there.. (if they want you)

• Slenderman on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:06 pm

I heard this from a Brunei friend, “One of my Brunei friend said who ever bought proton in Brunei is a genius. This is really enlightening”

• Yes, because Brunei auto tax is very low compared to Malaysia, so their cars are cheaper therefore there’s many better choices for the people of average income to choose.

• MatLimMutu on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm

proton cars are better now but if proton wants to beat the japs, koreans.. proton must hires the best!! work double hard!! faster proton!! if not, proton will b left behind..

• BEST marketing strategy now:
    1. touch up on REAR light Preve.

2. Launch Preve Hatchback along with 1st minor Facelifted Preve.

• Ononimous on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:28 pm

3. Close shop and stop bully, cheating own local car buyers. Rakyat suffer enough already. No more Proton jokes on Top Gear, ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • preve 7/10 on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:45 am

the funny thg is those who drives a dugong or citi will condemn preve.
    But ppl like Garfield above who drives a German car with TSI and DSG thinks Preve is good value for the tech offered. So it seems like ppl who knows cars will appreciate what preve has to offer vs Jap fans who drive cars that are so basic and overated.

Im driving a fiesta and tsi 1.4 too. I think Preve is a good car for the money. It has good intentions- but it does not have the reputation.

If one day Tata the great Indian company were to come up with a superb car priced below RM80k, many of you jap fans will still buy a dugong priced say at 85k with nothing to offer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • I own a 1.4 tsi and civ 1.8 too, but I prefer the dugong over Preve. It’s really to each his own I guess. Like I really dislike the civic handling but I love the rigid handling of the Preve. Its really a matter of acquired taste and preference.

• Azlanoh on Dec 27, 2012 at 3:53 pm

How about Altis, Civic, Forte, Elantra vs. Preve? (Similar segment comparison lah)

For Dugong, compare it with Saga, City, Almera too. (Same group)

OK to be fair compare Perdana with Camry, Accord, Optima, Sonata also lah.

Sekarang baru tau Proton not the middle of universe kah?

• falcon on Dec 27, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Perdana is out of comparison. Old car.

• Azlanoh, would you like to first justify the pricing difference between Preve, Civ, Elantra, Altis?

Sekarang baru tau how shallow you sounded kah? This is not EU, NA or other country.

• BOOOOST it to above 180bhp!!! (and please, we dont want a crappy CVT, give us a proper 6 speed manual or auto or DCT)

• Ononimous on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Puji Preve still you don’t buy it. Walk te talk lah. HYPOCRITE. Exactly like Dr Mamak also. MAHA HIPOKRIT.

Kalau berani pergi jual Proton Savvy at India lah. Go & try fool 1 billion Indians there…let’s see they trust Tata Nano or Savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Ononimos on Dec 25, 2012 at 9:11 pm

Do people need to buy a car that they believe is good? What is the basic behind your argument?? Weird.

• JOurnalists also puji tapi don’t buy, are they hypocrite?

• Topgears on Dec 26, 2012 at 8:20 am

Yes. Jeremy Clarkson bought Lamborghini to prove his words with wallet on the steering.

• tapir on Dec 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

Just one? Buy every cars he praised then he prove ALL his words.

• fazzurri on Dec 26, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Hello brother.. Lu tahuke Jeremy Clarkson dapat dalam £3M income tahun ni? Tu sebab selamba je beli Lambo.. Kalau Paul Tan dapat income separuh dari Jeremy Clarkson comfirm ada sebijik lambo bayar ansurans 9 tahun kat rumah dia skrg…

• Obese on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Dear proton, pls do your testing at these location; kuala lipis-merapoh-gua musang. The road is so bad and winding. My uncle’s exora is put to real test there and trust me you would want to know all the rattling after this road trips.

• Obese on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Dear proton, you should hv brought in the electric steering as you intend with preve..bcos this is where customers hv been promised last time. And those rims shud be replaced i hope..

• Father on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm

hey my son and daughter.

Preve Hatchback will be below RM70k.
    Reason?

Exora = same platform = Preve
    Proton wont so dumb go price it at RM75k or above.

Considering
    Saga= Same platform = Savvy
    Savvy hatchback = cheaper than Saga

So.. 3.
    conclusion = Preve Hatchback will be cheaper than Preve CFE and it’s below RM70k.

• Ononimous on Dec 25, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Wrong lah. It’s like this:
      …No.3
      Conclusion = It’s even cheaper half price in Saudi Arabia RM35K with Full-spec also!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Father on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm

EXORA CFE vs Preve Hatchback CFE
    RM80k vs RM70k..

Legit.

• Ononimous on Dec 25, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Mediocrity is at best performed in closed non-competitive market.

• sharon on Dec 25, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Korean, they like their own products. At the beginning, even though nothing can compare with Japanese, but they still like it! When you like something, you will go for it. Learn from others. Make changes and create a better one. Right?

That’s why today, many Korean products comparable with Japanese, just like Hyundai cars comparable with Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi…. even some look fresh and better equip than Japanese.

Now here in blogger, as Malaysian, you like to condemn Proton cars even the model not yet out and you want to complaint and compare Proton and Hyundai. Come on, own people like to condemn own products. How to improve? Speechless :(

People like to put Proton in politic too. They say with Proton car prices expensive because of taxes. Let me tell you, without Proton car prices also the same expensive because got PERO-2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Ononimous on Dec 25, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Sharon:”Come on, own people like to condemn own products. How to improve? Speechless”

Bapak Proton enjoy drive Porsche. Anak bapak Proton drive Bugatti.

Rakyat sendiri? Drive junk Proton. Memang speechless!

• Conclusion = Tak boleh drive Porsche or Bugatti in Malaysia?

• roadrunner on Dec 26, 2012 at 10:35 am

keyboard warrior.

• sharon on Dec 26, 2012 at 7:18 pm

I said “CONDEMN” not driving what car! It shows what type of person you are. “BLIND comment and complaint”!!!

• wish they would have a cfe manual varient. maybe turbo charged they haven developed a good enough gearbox. haha

• Preve CVT gearbox is good. It’s just that CVT doesn’t normally go well with turbocharger.

• Read somewhere the gearbox manufacturer also supplied to BMW and VW, so Preve’s gear box is excellent.

• Pumpkinss on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:26 am

I do think that Preve is a better car than the sampan vios and almera.

Labu: u mad??

• Preve Savvy on Dec 26, 2012 at 8:10 am

This new hatch official name must be PREVE SAVVY. Very beautiful name isn’t it?? As pretty cantik menawan as Savvy lah.

• Preve Savvy on Dec 26, 2012 at 8:14 am

OK, Let’s vote the name as PREVE SAVVY

1. Yes
    2. No

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • start-a-figt on Dec 26, 2012 at 9:52 am

to proton: just make sure the boot is still usable to store stuff inside, at least for a month worth of groceries… 380l min?

• Preve Savvy on Dec 26, 2012 at 11:36 am

You better buy Proton Arena. Biggest boot. Taruk dua tiga ekor kambing also no problem.

• Around 300 litre is easy with that size. Just like pug 308

• I’ve been reading a lot of comments regarding Preve quality, as far as i know, most of the comments highlighted about the dashboard and tail light design. I do realized that there are minimal comments on the quality of the new preve and new saga FLX, it proved that proton is getting better with their QC, give them another few years, i bet we will start bashing proton for more new products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Love proton on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:12 pm

i dont care bout ho good this car is !
    what i know is Preve selling lower price tag in Austraia.
    $16,990 Aus with four airbags and stability control staff…
    feel stupid to get one here !
    lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • witjak on Dec 26, 2012 at 1:02 pm

They have different tax structure lah Pumpkins

• Medic on Dec 27, 2012 at 2:02 pm

So rambutan,u happy with the tax structure here issit?Our own product is cheaper overseas than to buy it here.Does it make sense?

• bongok on Dec 27, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Kejap proton kejap preve kejap tax structure kejap Tun. Takde pendirian langsung!

• jhoon on Dec 28, 2012 at 1:28 am

Reading many childish comments like this, i wonder what level your education is

• Different country have different tax structure.

• JUNK CAR !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Preve Savvy on Dec 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Jangan cakap itu macam lah brader. Drive It To Repair It.

Eh salah sorry…! Drive It To Believe It!

• much better than those city, almera, vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • pro-kontra on Dec 26, 2012 at 7:00 pm

proton dah banyak kemajuan. Itu faktanya.

kereta luar negara yang lain pun banyak juga bermasalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • chris on Dec 27, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Still alot of ppl buying vios and its either they dont read, dont compare or have no taste and dont beleve in accidents.

Shud be considering a preve, fiesta sedan though its ugly or other korean makes.

As a consumer mk smart purchases so that companies are forced to offer better products and value.

Now most car mfgs are offering 5 yr warranty..the trend starts from vw n koreans. Japs are pressured to follow. Ppl just dont c this. Majority of malaysians hv cowherd mentality when it comes to buying car.

• Azlanoh on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Nope the trend probably started with Proton Australia’s 1 Million kilometer car warranty for Waja.

Even Toyota don’t give such long term warranty. Either Proton over-confident or simply insecure about own product quality.

Anyway, good reputable brand sells by itself easily lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • kiahonda on Dec 28, 2012 at 1:35 am

Reputation is built along the selling. You insist that it must come first then stop the selling for a while? And it could be like egg and chicken which is first. So now take the word : along

• Datuk Jack. on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:56 pm

car also want to fight.. dont like dont buy la.. u hate proton preve, its sold more than 20,000 d.. 1000 hate versus 20000 liked.. it tell u every thing..

• melbourne on Dec 28, 2012 at 1:40 am

Ha ha ha just look at how hatred bashing got so many thumb-downs.

• Nenek Jack on Dec 28, 2012 at 7:55 am

Yes 20,000 engine turbo bocor also? Drive it to believe it lah

• I see you have nothing to say now, hatred without reasons, pity you

• protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Dec 27, 2012 at 9:05 pm

proton $ucks bigtime…my car persona got engine problem…same goes to my newly-bought saga flx got engine problem also…already sent to SC need to wait 3 months? planning to buy almera now…

• protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Dec 27, 2012 at 9:08 pm

the fact that i cant accept, why on earth preve at Australia much cheaper than here with high spec etc?? we’ve been cheated man..wake up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • f22rapt on Dec 27, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Tax, next time please read

• ferio on Dec 28, 2012 at 1:44 am

indeed, cheated by YOU, lol

• Nenek Jack on Dec 28, 2012 at 7:58 am

Also with dirt cheap price in Australia, still Proton suffer low sales. Australians are very difficult to cheat kah???

• When expensive you said cheating. When dirt cheap you also said cheating. You contradicted yourself here. Why not you just say everyone should get cars for FREE?

• Like this proton kasi free pun you will say cheating lol

• unnon on Dec 28, 2012 at 11:49 am

nmpak lampu blakang lg garang dari preve sedan, hope it will have the cool looks on the road, and when you leave other cars behind.

• Love Proton on Dec 28, 2012 at 12:49 pm

I don’t care what kind of tax they impose here, make no sense when things better spec n local product selling cheaper in Aus !
    Good luck for those who paying installments for 9 years … Hehe !
    Better get Second hand viva and done with those Infiniti debts ! Now u feel good n belief it !

• blmer on Dec 28, 2012 at 5:32 pm

I cannot stand viva uncomfortable ride, saga much better. And the boot is not applicable for balik kampung purpose, too small

• Nenek Jack on Dec 28, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Look at Proton Holdings Bhd Facebook so sad lots of complaints yet Proton admin keep on putting motivation quotes. You call this as good first impression? Fail big time lah Proton.

The only common boring reply from Proton is:
    “Could you PM us your details so that we can get a representative to give you a call?
    Name
    Phone No
    Car No
    Model

Thanks”

He He He…Wonder the quotes for Proton for syok sendiri or mau lawan Karam Singh Walia ibarat mencurah air ke daun keladi segala komplen buat dunno saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Dec 28, 2012 at 7:08 pm

me one of them…

have decided to change the car with other brands… bye bye proton.. i will never buy you again until the quality satisfies me.

good luck to current proton owners. hope you’re doing well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Love Pero on Dec 28, 2012 at 5:03 pm

pero2 salesman detected

• Nenek Jack on Dec 29, 2012 at 8:57 am

Ex-Audi designer becomes first foreign president of Kia Motors
    December 28, 2012

SEOUL, Dec 28 — Peter Schreyer, known for his design contributions to the iconic Audi TT, became the first foreign president of Kia Motors Corp as the South Korean carmaker enters the next phase of its branding transformation.
    Schreyer, who joined Kia from Volkswagen AG in 2006 and was subsequently linked to the rise of the Hyundai Motor Co affiliate, was promoted from chief design officer and executive vice president today.

The promotion is a clear sign of Kia and Hyundai Motor’s ambition to outdo German rivals Volkswagen and BMW in design — a key part of a strategy that has helped the South Korean duo ramp up sales and gain market share even during the global economic downturn in 2009.

“We should not have let him go,” Volkswagen’s Chairman Ferdinand Piech told Automotive News in an interview in November.

Born in Germany in 1953, Schreyer was reportedly brought in by then Kia president Chung Eui-sun — the only son and heir apparent of the 74-year-old Hyundai Motor Chairman Chung Mong-koo.

Before joining Kia, Schreyer thought Kia’s designs were “neutral.”

“I thought I wanted to give Kia a character and a family feel… If you come to a country and you see a Kia, you should recognise it immediately, like you recognise a BMW or Mercedes immediately,” he said in an interview with Reuters in March.

Schreyer went on to create a “tiger-nose” grille for Kia, previously known for its nondescript but value-for-money image.

In one stroke, the former Audi designer gave a distinct face to Kia models ranging from the small Picanto to the Forte and Optima sedans.

Kia, acquired by Hyundai Motor in 1998 during the Asian financial crisis, has been expanding sales at a faster pace than Hyundai Motor in markets such as the US and Europe.

Combined, Kia and Hyundai Motor rank fifth in global car sales.

Inspired by Schreyer’s success, Hyundai Motor poached ex-BMW designer Christopher Chapman to head its US design centre this year.— Reuters

• another failure

• Johnny on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:55 pm

The Satria Neo R3 CPS will smoke this car. This is gonna be a family hatch (like the Kia Rondo), not expecting it to be a hot hatch.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 31, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Wait, 10 Jan 2013, Ex CFE Auto will be introduced, new ecu program will be next. E01e 2.2 TD the yummiest of all.

Hope there will be at least 10% tax reduction….

• seyed on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:09 pm

first: just fail to put a nice rear light
    second: 5-speed or 6 Transmission Automatic with Paddle Shift Control
    third: improvement dashboard Quality like MAZDA 3 or HONDA CIVIC

that’s all….!
    if proton want to car lovers and consumer think about proton and buy their product, must do something interesting….if not!!!
    japanes and Korean car brands now a day for automobile exterior and interior design They are winning in this car level segment
    competition….

• whatever technology you offer..please proton improve your material quality and fitting…dont simply use low quality material and please kick who ever vendors that incapable of producing quality parts. wake-up proton…

• faninrdidolavinge on Jan 03, 2013 at 10:42 am

yep, correct! makesure ur vendor give the quality materials. no tipu tipu lo..
      p/s : proton technician pls aware.
      otherwise proton cars will be rubbish forever.

• My Mum’s 73k Preve is a gem, high quality finishing with 7 speed CVT by Punch Powertrain (I think they supply top European makes). It is very comfortable and stable even in the train with traction control and ESP as standard. I want the hatchback.

• I like proton coz handling.even saga have better handling than vios.