Proton Suprima S – Preve Hatchback name confirmed

proton-suprima

The upcoming Proton P3-22A, or the Preve Hatchback as we know it, will officially be called the Proton Suprima S, as this picture confirms. Proton filed to trademark the name, without the ‘S’ suffix, in January this year.

The car above appears to be a showroom test drive unit being rolled out, so the official launch date must be really soon. Nothing new about the new national car other than the name, as we’ve already seen it in full here before, caught uncovered during a TVC shoot in KL Sentral.

What do you think of the new Proton Suprima’s name? Do you think Proton should have stuck with the Preve name? Let us know your thoughts in the comments, and stay tuned for the full Proton Suprima S reveal here soon.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• MHaffiezMNazri on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:39 pm

So where is Suprima? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
    • YUCK!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 691 Thumb down 250
      • alberry on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:07 pm

that suits you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 58
      • VS Suck on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:53 pm

dude, please stop using auto-like on your own comment. Isn’t it obvious when a pointless comment gets few hundred likes while other comment get only tens of likes? Grow up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 185 Thumb down 26
        • Don’t Siau sendiri or act smart yea, i never like my own comments! u think i’m so free heh like u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 140
      • what kind of loser uses auto-like..

btw..nice rims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
      • kadajawa on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:42 am

Yes Proton never failed to make jokes

Sup Limau / Lemon Soup

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
      • paparazi on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:00 am

proton always think they are clever ma….
        what a brilliant ordinary name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • kenapa p1 suka introduce nama2 baru? aku prefer preve hatchback, like most other manufacturer buat, lancer sportback, focus hatchback, fiesta sedan etc etc. pendapat aku jelah kan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawa on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:46 am

SUPRIMA itu jenama brand seluar dalam. kah kah kah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 18
      • OMG…This name match this ugly car perfectly…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
      • end user on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Masa Wira, keluar Satria tiada siapa kata apa, masa preve keluar suprima, semua orang jiwa kacau :)

• Abg Razi on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:02 am

Sounds better than pervert..lol proton never grow up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
      • Welkam back DLI on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:18 am

Sounds better than Pervert? Sperma is better than Pervert?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Google Suprima Image on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:27 am

Everyone, try google “suprima” on Google Images. See what you see… good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Petrolhead on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:06 am

Maybe Proton try to make it sounds like Toyota Supra but wanna emphasise on its rims, so supRIMa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • lantak korg la nak ckp pa pe pun…(i hope u all especially the sepet one understand what i write..huhu)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 48
      • Masih pakai Proton ke? Kesian

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 27
      • dirtyoldmen on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:03 am

sepet?…. racist much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • Hadi75 on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:58 am

Bro….nie blog pasal kereta la….takyah la nak komen yg berbau perkauman…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • hafiz on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Please keep your racism comment among your Umno monkeys. Non Malays do understand what sepet means.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
      • Bryan on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:50 pm

“lantak korg la nak ckp pa pe pun…(i hope u all especially the sepet one understand what i write..huhu)”

KZM, Ni Bahasa Malaysia ke Bahasa Pasar? Bahasa Malaysia yang saya belajar kat sekolah kebangsaan bukan macam ni.

Ini blog kereta, tolonglah. Tak habis habis suka buat kenyataan perkauman sahaja.

“U all, especially the sepet one” – penyataan ini untuk Admin & kakitangan blog ni ker?

• shame_Loo on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:01 pm

A new hot hatch to beat Megane RS 265, Golf R & A250?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • OMG…First saw the colour and name, I thought was Subaru, but is Preve hatchback…Frankly, the rear and side view of this car betul betul ugly & the name too

• 4shared on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:27 am

proton dah register nama Suprima kt MyIPO. Abis tu wat pe nk buat peraduan nama kereta proton…klu dah register nama and tentukan pemenang…tipu jer mcm tipu kereta…PROTON…Powerwindow Rosak Oooo Tidak Oooo No…

• Tu utk kereta p1 yg lain la bro.. bukan yg ini.

• Proton tipu on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:51 pm

sblm ni masa peraduan namakn mpv proton, syaratnya mesti bukan nama haiwan atau tumbuhan. tup2 nama exora (nama bunga) yg dipilih. so, peraduan yg baru ni, mmg aku xhingin nk masuk. dh tau proton ni kaki penipu dan kencing mcm UMNGOK!

• sup rima….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
    • Rima Belang on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Sup rima (of Terengganu dialect–Sup Harimau a.k.a Tiger Soup)

Anyone wants tiger soup here?

Hence, I don’t see any needs of renaming this hatcback. Why not let it be Preve S (S means Sport anyway) or something? Or retaining the old ‘Aeroback’ name like previous Iswara Aeroback/Wira Aeroback… But make it trendier and more up-to-date like with Preve Aero or something? Anyone agree?? :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 0
  • Vento on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Suprima reminds me of Pizza Hut, somehow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 48
    • LOL. Hawaiian Supreme. Hopefully price and specs would be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 45
    • super supreme la bro..
      hawaiian chicken :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
      • http://www.pizzahut.com.my/dining/menu-pizza-supremes.html

All three supremes also exists lah bro. Hawaiian, Chicken, Super, Island.

From automobiles to food. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 40
    • flat_tire on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Proton might just do a joint venture with Pizza Hut in the future.. delivering their Super Supremes.. with a Suprima.. :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
      • dstl1128 on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:05 am

Proton, Honda, KFC and Pizza Hut already under the same big boss.

• Bongcs on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Buy yours Proton Suprima now, and stand a chance to get a FREE 18″inch Hawaiian Chicken Supreme !

• Joseph on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm

suprima s.. appetite gone la weih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Yeah I think Proton ‘technically’ failed in naming their cars again, same as Gen.2 and Persona even though those are basically the same car, only different body trim. Why not just Preve hatchback? Save the Suprima name for another whole new model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 1
      • sonny on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Than rename division will lose their job mate ….

• Bidin al-Zaifa on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Well, what about Mirage and Attrage? Apa ada pada nama…. We still call all Proton cars as Proton only regardless of their model, aren’t we?

• Although I’m not going against Proton on purpose, but seriously i think they should just stick with Preve and add in another hatchback word behind. And please don’t compare with other makes as no one should think that it’s okay to practice a what others practice. Takkan you wanna say it’s okay for Proton cars to be ugly since all Mitsubishi cars are ugly?

• jackie on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm

I do think that the blue color looks good.. and the rim too..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 8
    • Rima Belang on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:56 pm

It means we need to standby another 3k for better rims bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 31
  • NZain on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:45 pm

suprima stand for what??sounds ugly..if Proton Prima might b fine rather than suprima more to supreme

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • kakak on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:45 pm

it say fully loaded with built in…??
    could not read the last few sentences

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • driver on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:47 pm

design-wise.. well done! except the wheel arc gap is quite noticeable.

yet to know:
    1) pricing
    2) powertrain
    3) safety
    4) interior built quality

anybody has an idea of the launching date?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Ninja Siam on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:06 pm

rumors say this saturday…

• bolehland guy on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:20 pm

its this saturday 17th July at Matrade Exhibition Centre

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:14 pm

139ps, 6air bag, DRL, 240 top speed, Turbo, Lotus Handling, 17″ Aloy,….. Bla. Bla.. Bla

Priced below Exora Bold CFE

Bye to my BLM 1.6 M…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Spark on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:09 am

i asked one of their agent, its price should be equal with preve prime, 72k.only 1 spec offered, quite same with preve prime.

• why not just name it “Preve Hatchback”? weird la Proton…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 5
    • LOL PROTON on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:57 pm

If Aeroback still acceptable.

But why with a name not Malay word nor English? This just show how rojak is our language in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • driver on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:01 pm

nobody makes a fuss when honda rename city hatchback as jazz.. when toyota calls their vios hatchback as yaris..

having different name minimises carryover effect from it’s brother. maybe there’s a significant personality different this car has that it’s brother hasn’t..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 220 Thumb down 25
      • oh really on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:59 pm

At least City and Jazz uses different chassis and have different design majorly.
        For Toyota, we only have Vios distributed by UMW. In the US, the Vios is called Yaris Sedan.
        For Proton case, the Suprima S is clearly the same model as Preve, only different body style, just like Prius and Prius C; Mazda 3 Sedan and Hatchback; Audi A4 and A4 Avant.
        So, your comparison is invalid here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
      • walker on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:21 pm

if you could differentiate between Jazz or City by it’s front view, it looks different and it doesn’t look alike or maybe alike up to 10~20%. They look almost the same, and yet not the same because parts differ.

With this Proton, the front is exactly the same as Preve, and I assume that it’s body parts are interchangeable between this Suprima and Preve. Most likely it’s the same case with Gen2 5-door and Persona 4-door, Wira the sedan 4-door and 5-door, Satria the 2-door hatch, Putra the coupe and Arena the pick-up.

But anyway typical driver will always call it Proton than it’s model name when they saw these car’s headlight.

• driver on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:24 am

I appreciate your input.

But depending on generation of which city and jazz you are comparing, the result varies. Indeed the latest city and jazz are easily distinguishable, but that argument is inaccurate when used against the previous generations.

On other note, what do you think of audi A3 and A4?

• OMG…A3 and A4 are different cars. If you do a google search on A3 and A4, you will see that A3 is less superior than A4. And A3 has soprtback, sedan, convertible. And A4 has its own sedan, convertible, avant, quattro.

• cool cake on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:09 am

What about bmw 3-series and 4-series then? different name but same car what.

• True. Why Proton like to come out with so many names. Just call it Preve. Like Mazda 3 same whether its sedan or hatch,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • Agreed. Same as Gen.2 and Persona. The Gen.2 is just Persona Aeroback, or Persona is actually a Gen.2 Sedan.
      Suprima and Suprima S are a good name, should be saved for another model. Perdana replacement maybe?

• Or Preve S?

• In the “Nama Siapa Hebat” competition, the rule states that the name could only have Maximum 6 characters.

if the name was chosen from one of the submission, i said it’s pretty unfair for the those who follow the rules.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • Okay so, it seems like the competition is meant for the smaller announced model car.

Sorry if there’s a misunderstanding on my part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • fridzmax on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:01 pm

That Nama Siapa Hebat competition is for their new small car lah..Not for this Preve aeroback..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 2
    • bolehland guy on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:15 pm

that contest was not intended for this model la bro…
      that is for another model completely. apada..

• NZain on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:26 pm

that competition is for their new compact car but this is hatchback car…get the picture??

• thedarkside on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:04 am

dulu masa proton MPV competition, the rule clearly states the name must not be animal/flower based…end up they picked EXORA(based from IXORA which is a type of flowering plant)…what a joke la proton.
      p/s-i owned an exora cfe bold…good car i must say..haha..

• noname on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Suprima? what a lame name -.-

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 11
  • Wait …..
    Not 20 inch rims
    Too long and too tall
    Is that 1.5 turbo, 2.0 Or 291 horsepower / more than that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 44
  • Ninja Siam on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:49 pm

sporty looks…
    nice job…hope more improvement with small issue..
    can’t wait this saturday.. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Who are the winner for naming this car? ><

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • mustanks on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:55 pm

no contest for naming this model..

contest “Nama Siapa Hebat” is for latter smaller model.. maybe Savvy replacement..

• oic, I thought the name contest is for this car. thx for ur clarification. :)

• supreme on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:55 pm

of course government people name it maa….. better put “supr1ma”…haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • VDread on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:50 pm

I am seriously hoping the car will deliver on its hype / public expectation. If it doesn’t, the name itself can be made the butt of all auto related jokes.

And did anyone in Proton marketing did their homework right? Suprima, in Portuguese, means ‘Suppress’. This is going to be one heck of a PR horror if the car does not deliver its touted ‘global standards’.

Here’s to hoping (really hoping) the car will end up surpassing expectations, and earns the ‘Supreme’ name.

• Did anyone in Proton did their homework right?

No obviously not, they just sleep there. All those people at Proton Centre of Excellence, they just sleep there. Really really. I’ve seen them sleep countless of times.

All sleep but no work, would love to work for Proton. I applied there a couple of times but they didn’t call me for interview.

But let’s say they did call me for interview and hired me, and I end up becoming their marketing manager, I’ll work a wee bit harder to push for this name – Preve5.

Tada….!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 18
      • butthurt failed applicant, pls work harder

inb4 : I have better paid work now
        inb4 : I’m a boss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • niceone on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Preve5? no wonder they didn’t hire you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • dirtyoldmen on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:10 am

“All sleep but no work, would LOVE to work for Proton. I applied there a COUPLE OF TIMES…”

So, we can safely say you’re lazy and a hypocrite. Continue to incriminate yourself. So clever. Don’t cry, OK. I give you Gold star sticker.

• Still a better name than Perodua Jaguh… lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 50
  • evardo woo on Aug 14, 2013 at 5:56 pm

PIZZA ka Kereta???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 93
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 238
    • bolehland guy on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:17 pm

try tell that to the guy who made the Mazda 3 hatchback bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • driver on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:28 pm

yeah.. go ahead.. keep judging the book by its cover. that’s a good mentality to succeed. #sarcasm

Audi q3 q5 q7.. they all have similar look. don’t forget VW and BMW. A car is more then just what meets the eye – you could have similar skin with different suspension, powertrain, performance, safey, etc.

… and the other way around as well, i.e. different skin, but still using the damn same old tech, like 4-speed tranny. sounds familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 58
  • BribesForCompromises on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Another product of compromises from Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Lee Moo Eez on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:02 pm

BRAVO!
    we gave high expectation for this model..
    kepada rakyat malaysia yang lain…bagilah komen bernas sikit…benda yang tak patut dikutuk pun=_=
    majukan minda dulu kalau nak negara maju..PEACE!
    kalo asyik bash tak kemana…nama tu memang ok..nama lain sebab tanak dibayangkan dengan bayang2 Preve kot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 35
    • Lee Moo Eez on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:04 pm

We wait, see dengan kepala sendiri n pakai..baru layak nak kritik..^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Lee Moo Eez on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:14 pm

but3…haha…to be honest…this design will be better if the car is bigger…maybe SUV version…

#as what we can see on the first picture(on the truck)

• driver on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:30 pm

good point! maybe they could adapt for an SUV, like how audi did with A1 and their suv lines.. A3 etc.

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:05 am

SUV is not a huge market, unless such a company is well established with its model line-ups.

Example Audi has A3, A4, A6 and A8 before coming up with Q series.

BMW has 1,3,5,6 and 7 series before coming up with X series.

Ford has Fiesta, Escort/Focus, Sierra/Mondeo before coming up with other varieties like Escape and MPV series Max.

Proton has yet to establish in any market except Malaysia and little known in (in terms of market share) countries where its cars are sold like GB, Singapore, New Zealand and Australia.

Preve is known as Global project car for Proton. let this model go through first and measure its success rate.

• gdntsk on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:03 pm

if you type “suprima” in Google Translate and let the word itself be detected, you’re in for laughs!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Stay with Proton Preve hatchback pls ;)

• Aiyo you guys, the naming contest was held for the 2014 “P2-30/Savvy replacement/EMAS production model” lah. Not for this car.

DRB wanted a different name for this one because:
    1: They don’t like the name Prevé
    2: Many people pronounced Prevé wrong, even in official event
    3: Most likely they will return to old Malay-sounding naming scheme

P/S: CFE (Charged Fuel Efficiency) brand name now dropped and changed to just “Turbo”. Probably because typical Malaysians don’t care what the heck “CFE” is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • powershot on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:03 pm

maybe the CFE (charged fuel efficiency) brand name can potentially misleading since the engine is not as fuel efficient as the name suggest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • junker on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:27 pm

it’s fuel efficient, when it’s turbocharged you get the power of 2.0l engine. CFE fuek consumption is lesser than normal 2.0l engine but of course more than 1.6l one.

pls correct the perception

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • powershot on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:14 pm

hence the name change. to prevent the wrong perception & confusion from the public; maybe that was why proton just simply chnage the name CFE to Turbo.

make it simple & easier to accept

• I wonder what the new Perdana will be called… hmmm. Anyway, I hope Proton comes up with a better name for the export markets.

I just hope the Suprima comes with the maximum 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, TC, ESC and BA for the highest spec (if possible, ALL specs, but that’s asking for a bit too much, even at this stage).

The whole of Malaysia is watching you DRB-HICOM, please don’t disappoint us, do the right thing for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • odd job worker on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Suprima will come with all the specs you mentioned…… in overseas market….. and at lower price compared to Malaysia with ‘K’ Spec.
      K stands for Kosong

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 5
      • pirlo on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:01 pm

unfortunately, you are wrong bro. Malaysia will have the highest specs only (6 airbags, esc, 17″ rims, android media player, hill hold assist, front sensor, leather seat).

there will be medium specs as well but only for export market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • U absolutely wrong…looser…its come with six6 airbags…GTH basher!!!

• Leak “brosur :-D” show curtain airbag..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Keep on hoping lah encik mat jenin!

• Malik Ayob on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:08 pm

I think they should have maintained the Prevè brand rather than renaming it. It’s after all the same car.

• well Proton thinks the front looks different from Preve, (like what they have done with Satria and Putra)…….

and looks aside i would like to sing …… UNDERWEARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!~~~~~~~~~
    (just googled SUPRIMA oh god WHY GOD WHYYYYYY!!!!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • powershot on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:11 pm

this will be awkward.

“hey, what car do you drive?”

“I drive a suprima”

“……”

heck, time will tell if its a good car or not.

if it does come with 6 speed manual, might consider buying this one as a weekend car.

just for the fun of it.

• Sup Harimau on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Sup Harimau

• Hmmm… how about Preve Aeroback…

classic….

• Chow 1 on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Now they realized Preve is not a good name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • odd job worker on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Preve and Subprima both are not good names. It does not reflect Malaysia identity. What happened to Malay names like Wira,Perdana,Persona etc.
    Ultra-conservative people will say their faith is being eroded, u know what I mean.
    They should be charged for sedition

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
    • Roy Mustang on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:27 am

then u wan wat? Proton Bunga Raya?

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:09 am

something that is more commercial and easy to market. easy to pronounce and understandable.

lots of examples.. like Focus and Golf. or Escort and Swift. or Forte.

simple name that is understood internationally.

• CARtoon on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:34 pm

First it is a n awful new name and two it just goes to show how clueless proton is with their brand strategy. For reasons better known to them they have decided to give a spin off a new name , just like how movies do it. But I guess a car is more than just a show. Whatever it is, I wish proton the best. All the best that they could ever need.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
  • Hope Proton will improve the sound proofing, plastic and texture quality. If they can solve these small issues, the ride quality would be better than any Korean and Japanese car. =)

• chikaro on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:46 pm

When the name “preve” is officially announce some times ago, everybody act like yucks!, eeeww, wtf?, wth?, what the fish?, pervert? and etc..& now what happen? everybody wants that suprima to stick with that “preve” name..I bet when this suprima will convert to mpv version in future, everyone wants that suprima nme back instead of a new name..typical malaysian..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • suprima plus..

• Chikakolopa on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:38 am

Stop it with the ‘typical Malaysian’. Stop critisising on your own people.

Not that we hate the Suprima name, or the Preve name. Its all because it is essentially a preve but name got changed because its buttless. People were not supportive of Preve as it meant something by far, no Malaysians or anyone else in this world has heard or used. But we, as car enthusiast, have no power to ask Proton to change their name.

But we expect this to be a Preve. A 3 syllabus name is usually difficult to pronounce and it does slip out from your tongue.

Even if the Preve Sedan was called Proton Durian, we expect the hatchback to be a Durian or any other fruit similarly pronounced or similar meaning.

Proton should really use original names as this would show progress of the brand even more, rather than changing names that looks like its just another product. Its confusing, looking back at Proton’s history of names is a pain in the butt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Roy Mustang on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:29 am

“But we, as car enthusiast, have no power to ask Proton to change their name.”

BURN~~

• After all those months of testing for God knows what since its the same exact spec car just without a butt. Wth. So lame.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 8
  • mantop on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:54 pm

preve n suprima….a name intended for global marketing strategy? What global market? How many countries has preve entered? The same overseas markets that we see other proton models like persona, satria n exora being marketed….no expansion except a few ASEAN neighbours….UK, Australia, Singapore, China are proton’s regular markets n poroton is not yet a household name in those countries after many years. So what can this new hatch do to uplift proton ‘s global image? Suprima? Just another name in proton line up….no more no less

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:27 am

it is so obvious that even proton itself doesnt have confidence in its product.

it it does, the savvy will remain as Tiara. r maybe Saga Aeroback.

Gen2 and Pesona Combo will remain as Wira and Wira A/Back. While Inspira should be named as Waja.

there are too many ambitious ppl over there.

• kpopsux on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:56 pm

From google translate …

suprimir-verb

remove eliminar, quitar, retirar, suprimir, extirpar, destituir

delete borrar, suprimir, cancelar, tachar, cesar, invalidar

cancel cancelar, anular, suprimir, abolir, realizar anulación, dar anulación

suppress reprimir, suprimir, contener, ahogar, disimular

lift levantar, elevar, alzar, levantarse, suprimir, alzarse

annul anular, suprimir, cancelar, abolir, invalidar, viciar

omit omitir, suprimir, olvidar, descuidar

leave out dejar fuera, dejar, omitir, prescindir,
    olvidar, suprimir

do away with acabar con, eliminar, terminar con, suprimir, abolir, sacrificar

cut out cortar, recortar, eliminar, cortarse, suprimir, extirpar

abate disminuir, suprimir, rebajar, menguar, acabar con, bajar

put down poner, dejar, sofocar, reprimir, acabar con, suprimir

sit down on suprimir

• In spanish suprima mean to “delete” – “remove”

Korando in N9 slang mean keranda
      Pajero in spanish mean wanker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • odd job worker on Aug 14, 2013 at 6:57 pm

wow, when you google for ‘suprima’, pictures of male underwear will pop up.
    What a good way to describe this new car

• odd job worker 2 on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:28 am

Do a Google image search, you’ll find adult diapers too! What, protong getting us ready to shit our pants when we drive this hunkajunk?

• Lpost on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Proton will be lunching preve in australia with starting price tag A$15,999.

• fd2r_vtec on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:04 pm

sup rimau ???
    preve sport kan lebih baik…mcm ford focus sport
    boleh lawan ker ngan GOLF MK7 ? i dont thing soo…

• odd job worker on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:05 pm

when you google for the word ‘suprima’, pictures of male under wear will pop up.
    cheers!!

• Don’t be over criticized over the name though I myself think that the name is not umpph enough..

But, to separate this model from preve is a strategy of their own I think.. well, you know how proton does the advertisement…

believe me, in future there will be many variant of preve, preve turbo, preve bold, preve this preve that… meanwhile this suprima maybe will get few more alphabet from a to z in its family…

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:29 am

preve R3, preve knight, preve Istimewa, preve executive, preve EV (enhanced)…. preve limosine.

• reader on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Reminds me of the subprime mortgage crisis. ..

• Absolute Rider on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:19 pm

May I know why there is no reflector on the bumper?

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:33 am

newbie is it?

refelctor is a standard compulsory component. it can be integrated with the rear combination lamp or separate.

this time proton did the former, just like saga, wira, waja and gen2. as long as it shines by reflection from any angle from behind the car, it does the job properly.

• Really ugly name, sound like indonesian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • odd job worker on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:21 pm

please try and google for the word ‘suprima’ and see what comes out as image.
    It really explains a lot about this car

• Norman on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:49 pm

To hell with the name,now we want to know what’s the engine spec,gadgets and quality..

• iluvmalediaper on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:52 pm

hmmm… perhaps buy proton free male diaper? it all make sense now…

• Absolute Rider on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Please redesign the rear bumper. The black area is too flar. Should design good diffuser. You (Proton) got good design with your Satria Neo. Why this new product design such a way?

Thank you.

• Absolute Rider on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Amendment: The black area is too “flar”. “FLAT”

• Hadi75 on Aug 14, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Why proton always need to give new name to their new car???

• Idontgetproton on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:06 pm

I am still stunned they did not use the Preve name, atleast use it with ‘S’ or something after, like Preve S. why need different names for different body styles??? I understand Mirage changes to Attrage but 1) they sound similar and 2) Attrage exteriors actually look different than Mirage, so having new name would fit, not this! Front same, inside same, side same, just no butt and call a new name that does not even mean anything close to Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • tiadaid on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Gen-2 and Persona – one with but, one without.

It’s not really unprecedented, so why should anybody be surprised?

• Idontgetproton on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:25 am

Gen2 was created not as a replacement model, but a new model to showcase Protons new design route. As with the Persona (3 years after Gen2) it was to replace the Wira, but used the UK name instead. Although the Persona was to replace the ever lasting Wira, to cut down costs, used the Gen2 as their base thus the similarities.

I believe it was the same with Wira and Satria, but as Proton is evolving to suit better with newer and more international markets, these name changes can easily confuse people and expect different specs compared to the latter. But i still can’t get over the meaning of Suprima.

As stated by other users, Suprima means to cancel out, nothing about being ‘supreme’. I believe its cancelling the car’s butt. And Preve means to Prove. To prove proton can develop an internationally recognisable car.

This should also prove Proton is capable of building real hatches that is proportinally well and can compete against Opel Astra/Holden Astra, basic spec Golf in EU/AU. Plus suprima just sounds cheesy.

• wiser on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:48 am

you got it all wrong on the gen2 not being a replacement model.. i used to work with a proton vendor and got involved in the gen2 project.. it used to be known by the code name wrm which stands for wira replacement model.. unlike wira time where they introduced the sedan first then the aeroback (it’s because it was based on lancer platform back then), since they already had the chance of designing their own platform they decided to start with hatchback first because they want to maintain strong presence in europe market especially uk.. the development for sedan aka persona was already began even before dsz joined proton..

• wynter on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Is very obviously totally same with Preve just the backside different Why not just Straight away call ‘Preve Hatchback’.
    ‘Suprima’just make confusing don’t know is Malay word or English word.

• stone on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Luckily proton dropped the “s” from suprima or it will sound like “supreme my ass”

• tHe^CuLpRit on Aug 14, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Google Image “Suprima”.

• Proton naming their models getting worse, should stick to one name like wira ka so got continuity..

• naharom on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:04 pm

paul, we want the brochure!! it may leak already somewhere

• kpopsux on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Some latest images …

http://i.imgur.com/2nv6el7.png

http://i412.photobucket.com/albums/pp207/bizzforex/xxx-2.png

• powershot on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:45 am

is that a dual clutch transmission i see in the first picture?

• amhfia on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:11 pm

its true indeed….that proton have improved a lot… bravo preve….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • amhfia on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:17 pm

name OK….sounds nice… Suprima…!!!!….Go Suprima….Go…!!!!….

people cant afford to own one…sure feel jeolous one…..very sporty car….and powerful…weeee wiiittttt….!!!!…

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:22 pm

If Honda can call their City hatch a Jazz and Toyota call their Vios hatch a Yaris, I guess Proton can call their Preve hatch a Suprima. But i’d rather it be just Preve. It is too short to be an aeroback though. Long hatches like the Mondeo hatch, telstar tx5 and 3GT can be called aerobacks.

• kadajawi on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:23 pm

I dare you to do a google image search for Suprima.

This is what you’ll probably get:
    http://www.inkosafe.de/out/pictures/master/product/1/sol_suprima_1265_1.jpg

• downsys on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:23 pm

I think it would’ve made more sense to continue using Prevé name. Maybe Prevé S/Sport. Anyway, I proposed the name Proton Prima for their Nama Siapa Hebat competition. Chances of winning is pretty low now.

• Rossie on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Did Rosmah name that car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
  • Potong on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Good name in suck car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • suptongkatali on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Whatever name they put it , superman, superwomen, supekor, super viagra lah, nothing change still the same it is potong, or they should put its name SpermS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Voices from the Deep on Aug 14, 2013 at 9:53 pm

I think Proton have just redefined ugliness and tackiness with their yet to be released hatch. Looks like functionality and aesthetics have taken a long holiday from the proton camp and the klutz are at it again……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Voices From The Deep on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Forgot to mentioned that it probably comes with a bucket to collect all the loose nut and bolts as the car rattle along on the roads. Probably the only reason to buy if it come with shatterproof windows to deter the robbers……Then again the robbers might think twice…..LOL.

The only buyers who will be potentially looking to buy this car will probably be Cinderella step sisters looking for a bug to rival their sister’s ride.

A good name for the car – Incognito.
      Tagline for advertisements – You will not want to bee seen in this car.

• Preve S sound better, isn’t it? How weird u promote itto oversea market?

• I think the “underwear-related” name issue is just a small matter. It’s no worse than Triumph bike brand and Triumph women bra/lingerie.

Lol.

• sunsun on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:21 pm

IF it is to launch soon, which mean our waiting list likes new vios, new fiesta, new picanto or others had to delay until Q4 of this year. Why? because our government say want to protect our local maker like proton… really unfair for us had to buy local ugly car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • POTONG on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Surprima???? Sounds like a pizza…..

• kancildriver on Aug 14, 2013 at 10:41 pm

suprima? sounds like pizza…

• what a crappy name. Duh..

• firecloud on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:10 pm

For me it a trademark for proton for using different name for new model. Same like before… It no different still proton… but don’t get me wrong, i’m preve user and I very like it. It feel more better than previous proton car that i ever drive especially about it performance… Suprima (hermmm not bad) … By theoretically it handling and ride will be better than PREVE (that my opinion) … Sorry to say I think it will be better than MAZDA 3 Hatchback(not MPS model) and maybe can compete with satria neo…

• Peloton on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Who doesnt like the name suprima s just change the emblem and put preve s or whatever you want.and dont forget to change the proton logo to mitsubishi also.typical malaysian proton owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • retard on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:22 pm

suprima is really a retarded name. they shud follow China ways of naming a product. for exampeler :
    Bosch = Bosuh
    Sony = Sunny
    Silent = Sailun – tyre brand
    and my suggestion……proton….siti….
    City = Siti
    and luckily still no one ciplak the Makita power tools name to emakkita.

• Get the car, rip-off Suprima

• nadim on Aug 14, 2013 at 11:29 pm

suprima~underwear~sperma
    but please don’t offer the “tend to hairy water repellent wannabe seat” again

• I bet they will announce syok sindili statement claiming 4000++ bookings

• I thought the names supposely hv 6 characters as per “namasiapahebat” T&C contest. But here it shows have 7 characters. I still have the contest form. Need someone to check on this pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • pirlo on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:57 am

woi! hang reti baca ke tak? hang cuba scroll page atas sikit, ada explanation pasal contest ‘nama siapa hebat’

contest itu untuk model lain! model lain! bukan model ini!

letih la kalau semua orang nak spoon feed hari-hari.

malaysian, come on. give an effort, at least. google first. aduhhh!

• Jefferson Lim on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:15 am

Rear lreminds me of Proton Tiara (lights) cross bred with Ford Lynx 1.6S Sportswagon (tailgate)

• Jefferson Lim on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:21 am

Suprima: google search results:
    Adult Diapers, plastic pants, vinyl pants, cloth diapers!
    As seen in b4ns.com

• Ahmad Ihsan Bin Fazri on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:24 am

just stick with Preve hatchbacklah. more good. common proton why !

• Jefferson Lim on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:25 am

Rear looks like a cross breed of Ford Lynx S Sportswagon 2001 (tailgate) & Proton Tiara (lights)

• Pondan sepi on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:28 am

Another tin milo will be born…haihhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 27
    • say who? on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:56 am

wow, very ancient comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • If you think is milo tin, just go buy BMW and Mercedes, or toyota /honda if you think their steel is much thicker and is accident free

• jeffry on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:39 am

awesome

• I already own preve CFE, handling-superb,
    acceleration-superb, ID-boleh laahh,
    I hope this model will be much better,
    just preve S dah laaaaa…. too weird laaa.. haiaa DRB-Hicom, what u all thinking, maybe I think somebody got this name from their wife…. I minat nama ni, boleh la bang!!!

• yanes on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:28 am

Personally I don’t think it’s a good name. But hey, even LaFerrari is also considered by many as a bad name either. Anyway, as long as it’s cool looking and perform well, I don’t mind. Go Proton!

• I support those who support Proton, I even test drive Preve and it is really good compare to vios or altis 1.6 or even sentra. I still don’t know why people still bash their local car and pay so much to support Japs car.

• Sounds like a swear word to me ie ‘ Supri my a#%’

• Richard on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:37 am

Proton started with Sag”a”, Iswar”a” Wir”a” Perdan”a” then Waj”a”. After that Gen 2, Person”a” Exor”a” and Preve.

I think Proton wants to name future models end with “a”. so – Suprim”a”.

Not many Proton clients know how to pronounce Preve. But most of the non-target market here pronounce it 100% perfect.

To make the potential clients happy – Suprima is better choice.

Suggest – Su pre ma (Super Pretty Malaysia) and the variant name – Suprema 1M

• look better than almera. when almera climbs speed bump u can see its undercarriage. Something like seeing women under skirt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Pokcik Ding on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:22 am

Suprima – Should save it for Perdana replacement. Very nice shape. Clever slot in between Satri Neo & Myvi while upgrading from Viva/Saga.

• Stupidcar on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:31 am

Preve, great car, styling, haters gotta hate.
    But hey, majority of stereotypes hate Proton anyway.
    Test drive first! I ask u to eat shit, u eat?
    Same theory!
    Preve Hatch, sounds nice.
    Suddenly, a wild name appeared. Suprima. DAFUQ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawa on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:50 am

You know it’s shit, but you still wanna eat shit. Bodoh lagi bahlol!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
  • kpgboy on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:41 am

Apa ni… jaguh kpg kembali dgn nama yg lucu lagi?

• kadajawa on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:48 am

Kalau boleh sila hantar sample car ke Top Gear.

Sama2 lah kita bergelak ketawa lagi Ha Ha Ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • TheTruth on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Poyo ar kau.. Setakat pakai keta murah pastu nak kondem2 keta Malaysia.. Kecoh sial lu

• Tunggu DRB rencana masa depan Proton, no longer di bela oleh khazanah, Honda dan sebagainya dipasang di tanjung malim, akan bertambah pengalaman dan sumber teknologi,
    Proton kene bangun, cari jati diri, pegang pada kualiti, regardless pda model yang kamu kluarkan, berape bnyak setahun, yang penting kualiti unit,

Jangan banyak berkabel2, hire anak2 Malaysia yang betol2 layak, replace staff2 lama dan supplier2 lama yang menjadi punca jatuh kualiti cara berperingkat dan bijak. Sumber manusia sangat penting untuk pastikan integriti hasil kerja.

BTW model ni memang menyedihkan, Preve da ok dah, hatchback macam ape ntah

• lasapka on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:32 am

notice proton like to name their model end with “a”, why not just name it – inikalila…lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
  • Bobomarley on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:40 am

This is the story of proton ..why no continous of preve brand …very simple every boss wanted to leave a mark on the product so they can tell their grand children or golf buddy ..hey I am the one who out the name ha ha…I know their enginner which pretty good actually but many was let down by bosses decision on syok sendiri which bring many disastrous result to proton…now new car came out..still old front bumper old grilll old dash board only new rear ..after hundred of million spend whyyyy never facelift the fugly front…typical proton ..they never learn ….never let accountant do engineers job laaa

• Sparcov on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:45 am

Proton introduce many name but using Preve front end.

Can’t they just stick to Preve Hatchback or Preve sportsback? like what lancer did to its hatch?

correct me if I’m wrong, except the rear boot, is actually derive from preve….where Preve slowly gain its name locally and abroad, to prove whatever. You introduce new name will only kill the previous name….Please stick to one name with different variation. Taking example from Honda and toyota, BMW or benz, They stick to 1 name e.g. civic. last 20 years people know civic. after generation people also know civic.

• clement8115 on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:50 am

True enough of your say. This indirectly killing the legacy of each name of the car as there is no continuation of the models.

Buyers will be confused of car models variation in from the manufacturer.

Sad enough to say that…

• kadajawa on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:53 am

This whole week I’m gonna laugh and laugh at this Proton! You folks join me OK let us all laugh together hah ha ha ha ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • Dr Cooper on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:10 am

I still want to call it preve hatchback because that’s make me happy more that calling it proton suprima s

• cool cake on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:10 am

i think maybe this car called suprima s because preve will be rename to suprima

• wakmustar on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:20 am

Why not Supriman? Cam nama jawa sket

• Mamat on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:20 am

such a STUPID name there ~ the car also got STUPID design ~ suits the name..

• mofisa on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:22 am

Wow after months of hypes, this is what they decide to call it.. Suprima, well done Proton. All I saw is ‘tiger soup’, ‘underwear’ & even ‘sperma’ (sperm) come out from that name.. for now. Let face it, people will make fun of names.. lame name in particular. Take Preve.. it’s just plain wrong, despite all of the bombastic translation & interpretation by Proton of it, people teases it as ‘Pervert’. No to bash but Proton need to do more research & do it hard (part of it they need to read blogs too – to gather the people’s opinion). Nak bagi nama anak pun kena bagi nama yg baik2.. after all it’s their baby right. Welcome Suprima & best of luck!

• I think proton will be like modenas under DRB HICOM management, didn’t go no where, poor proton, after DSZ, didn’t see any bright plan

• suprima? whatever.. better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Roy Mustang on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:42 am

so much butthurting~ haha

• Ah Beng on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:49 am

Sounds like a Pizza Name.

Should have been called Suprimsai

• matkota on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:59 am

Suprima makes> SUPR1MA..

still have gov’t thingy in it..

• more lapsap on malaysian road

• don’t like the name seriously but heck, proton will defend it anyway. But hey, when does Proton came up with good names anyway?!

• WALASiZO on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:07 am

it should be named PREVE-5 (FIVE) habis cerita.

• bongeks on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:15 am

Your guys can keep on debating its name hehehe. There will be buyers who chose this car merely for its spec. I still hate the look but loves its spec.

• why give a good name to a lousy car anyways ??

• clemenza on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:20 am

basher2 boleh berkata apa sahaja..yg penting, proton xde masalah DSG(damned stupid gearbox) mcm VW..very funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Bataman on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:22 am

Proton marketing dumbass….always change name…when have a good series, keep the farking name….always change name until people dunno what is what. Only name they ever kept was Saga. They should do like other companies….each segment, A,B,C,D, MPV a unique name and keep at it. Don’t suka suka go and change…one day Lembu, next day Flower name, next day dunno what.

Btw, i thought Suprima is reserved for the Honda Accord facelift….

• Bataman on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:23 am

Oh yeah….Suprima S is stupid name. It means “Supreme Stupidity”!!! BODOH MARKETING!!!!

Just keep the Preve name lah! Preve is moderately successful!!

• clutch_plate on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:24 am

Does this model use the Petronas engine? errr…

• Dudester on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:47 am

Didn’t they run a competition for naming this car and one of the rules was it has to be a name in BM?

Suprima is not even a word let alone a BM one.

• wiser on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:59 am

dude.. obviously you didn’t go thru all the earlier comments.. what to do.. when it comes to proton related entries, too much useless comments to read on..

• odd job worker on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:31 am

the competition is for another car, not this SubPar car.

• junaidi on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:50 pm

There’s no rule that says a cars name has to be an actual word.

• M4C41 on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:50 am

SUPR1MA

• aanaoana on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:59 am

Nice exterior design, terrible name.

• jilbaber on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:04 am

I think this body is more suitable if made into crossover, thumb me down if agree!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Leyna on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:08 am

From outside,Preve looks more elegant than Suprima..Nothing surprise me.

• ernie on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:37 am

nice exterior design. thats all. test drove the preve 3 times and OMG what a terrible car. super heavy steering and the dash vibrates when we floor the accelerator. and of course we have the 3d effect of all the loose things in the car. ergonomics also very bad. so very sad. was sure to buy the car. will test the hatch and see. may be the same? time to move on to other makes i guess.

• zakwan on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:41 am

Is ok to named Suprima but the exterior should be totally new and different from Preve.

• Amarjie on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:58 am

I remember watching a documentary how Harley Davidson cracking their heads in choosing a new name for the then-new bike V-Rod… The print all the suggested names on the card together with all the possible connection or stories behind it… One cool name that came out turn out to be a detergent name in Japan… In short they try as best as they can to find a name that hasn’t been used anywhere in the world before, especially that reflected something awful… Reading a couple of post here regarding Suprima name that been used as diaper brand at a different part of the world really made me wish Proton should have done what have been done by Harley davidson…

What a pity…

• junaidi on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:48 pm

they also have a line called Fatboy. Are you suggesting we should have Proton Fei Lau/Boroi?

• mat top on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:00 am

They don’t want to use Preve, because they don’t like Dato Seri Syed Zainal

• odd job worker on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:02 am

Should sack the whole Potong management from top to down. Can’t even name a car properly. How the kampung folks going to pronouce ‘Suprima’? Kampung folks already have a mouthful to pronouce ‘Preve’.
    Global image my foot.
    Proton Jagung is easier to pronounce, anybody still remember Proton Jaguh?

• bvc100 on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Proton Jaguh?
      Nope, doesn’t ring a bell.
      Unless you’re talking of a bike or a hoax

• matkota on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:53 am

the kampung folks cannot afford this model..does they still care of the kampung folks?..

• uhlala on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:04 am

“Proton filed to trademark the name, without the ‘S’ suffix, in January this year.” yayaya…. already got the name and why still open the naming contest?

• car man on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:12 am

Not interesting at all with the quality offered – I am talking based on my experience.

• car man on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:18 am

within 6 years I have changed so many of the car parts I lose track – the worse is the engine block leakage.

• powershot on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:06 pm

which car are you talking about? I thought preve was launched last year?

• Suprima is a brand of adult diapers!

• Jason Lim on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:22 am

should stick with the name preve la. we just get used to the name preve, now they come out with suprima S

cmon, at least call it preve S or preve hatchback la

• syar-fix on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:31 am

Beautiful! i wanna get this one…

• odd job worker on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:32 am

Suprima sounds like indian to me.
    Proton Sivakumar might show even more Malaysia identity compared to Proton Suprima

• SUPRIMA – SUper PRoton 1MAlaysia

• v-power on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:55 am

Here we go again…Proton’s infamous name-changing exercise…Ever since they updated Saga to Iswara (just minor cosmetics, SAME model – not new car) it seems they can’t even get the basics right, can they…

Dear Proton…since you’re always in the habit of regularly shooting yourself in the foot…here are some examples of proper model line-up designation: BMW 3-series sedan, coupe, wagon/estate or Honda Civic sedan, hatchback, coupe, etc…

ONE model denomination, NO confusion…get it?!

I can only imagine the conversation;
    ‘I drive a Preve!’…
    ‘Well, I drive a Suprima S!
    ‘Hey…it’s just a Preve with a bigger boot…don’t action lah!’

But then, why do I even bother with Proton…I know I will be repeating the same comment in the very near future anyway…

• ntahla on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:59 am

when the name is international, people condemn why la not use “bahasa kebangsaan melambangkan malaysia”, but when use bahasa, people also condemn why la use this meleis word..
    haters always find a ways to condemn.

• Joe Radzif on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Lama kelamaan, dah boring plak tengok model nih…
    hihihi…

bigger wheel please…
    hihihi

• The name suprima tends to like drain out the quality of the brand Proton even more… think proton should just stick with Preve hatchback

• junaidi on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:43 pm

one does not simply name a car Hatchback these days.
      Its not the 80s anymore dude.

• Babazil on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Suprima ni macam supir ade la.

• lonewuzz on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:03 pm

I think Proton want to insert 1 Malaysia element in their car’s name to bodek Mr Najib. thats why they gave the name supr1Ma. DRB is Mr najib kaki bodek..

• BLT CLUB on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:23 pm

lipstick on a pig lol

• Anti K-Pop Car on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Suprima S = Sup Rima (Harimau in kelantanese) Ass … kekekek ….

• Dalton Hamann on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Luckily it ain’t Proton Najib or Rosmah or Mahathir. Muahahahhaha

• kakak on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:34 pm

like this car but not its name. i will call my car preve hatchback instead of suprima.lol

ugh pls la dont give weird name.very ugly tahu T_T

• not angry but love.. on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm

I think, thats more will come from Proton for us soon… Give Proton n DRB some chances.. Opposition should push proton n govt harder.. Kali inilah proton kene berubah!

• Leonardo on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Proton’s top management never learn – why open yourself for ridicule when you give ‘names’ as opposed to just ‘numbers or codes’ like A4, 325, 850, c180, etc.
    It will be easier to manage and you don’t have to change the name when you sell to other markets as some local names might have a negative connotation in other countries.

• Pathetic Malaysians.
    When choosing a car, condemn to the max esp on Proton.
    When doing or opening business and try to penetrate market you damn willing to say “please do business with us, we are local, we can also do the job, pls support local, bla bla bla”
    Cheh!

• ntahla on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:51 pm

peoples are ridiculous!
    when gives ‘names’ to the products, they want to change to number lah, code lah..
    so when that plotong put number or code, they will say “aiya.. why la plotong tiru sama itu merc, audi ploduk luar negala??”
    haters always find a ways to condemn.

• Proton user on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:27 pm

waiting for it to launch this saturday. but true, the name does not represent Proton. but lately proton name does not follow it older name. I prefer Prima better. atleast its malay word as it older brothers&sisters saga, wira, satria, juara, perdana, inspira etc. Proton need to rethink the name of the car.

• izack04 on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Preve S should be better

• han lue chai on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:58 pm

they do a contest to name the car using bm but in the end they using name in englisg plak?, mmm

• ntahla on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:43 am

this is another example. blindfire! recent contest naming the car is for the new compact car from plotong!! you go check now true or not..
      haters always find a way to condemn.

• gundah on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Proton Suprima S for Shit

• Sharkfish on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Wow…almost 300 comments and we are still discussing the name of the car? never knew that name is so high in the priority list of buying/owning a car.

since we are discussing names, pajero means wanker in spanish. no wonder we see lots of wankers around these days… :D

now can we move o to discuss the other ‘less’ important specs of the car, such as expected fuel consumption, boot space, legroom etc…

but then again, you would rather discuss the name, right? i know you do…

• iskhalifah on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:14 pm

go to images.google.com. Type ‘suprima’.
    Jeng Jeng Jeng.. hehehe

• I cannot understand why we critic almost everything about Proton. While for Korean, they support KIA Hyundai very much. For me, Preve or Suprima S are just names. More important is the high specs and low price offered so many of us can afford to buy..

• watever on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:36 am

Most of d ppl here are bashing proton.. to me..other than d nt so awesome name.. from d picture.. it seems tat it will b much more spacious than myvi.. with jz a little bit of us/europe design.. nice try though.. hope tat it wont b priced higher than myvi se 1.5.. it shud make sum gud competition.. jz hopefully it wont hav qc issues tat seriously jeopardizing its brand bac 3/4 yrs ago..

• lahir d msia on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:45 am

bila keluar je kereta baru … kutuk …
    bila ada je nama baru … kutuk …
    tak tau la nak kata apa lagi … ish ish ish ….
    kesian ….

• Lancang Kuning on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Hok alooh ! Apasal la letak nama Suprima … Letak la nama lain … Supayam ke .. Suptulang ke … Supekor ke … Baru sedap !

• Higashi-SR on Aug 16, 2013 at 1:09 pm

The name ‘Suprima’, this is a bad name. VERY BAD.
    While G-Image shows reference to adult diaper, the intention of the word ‘Suprima’ itself sounds & looks wrong for marketability and disgracing the P3-22A. It doesn’t have the ‘hip’ factor to whom this car is intended for (and I believe for young uns below 30yrs old), and probably the owners will have to face some rounds of ridiculing from peeps. I have some jokes I can pull on it, but lets just keep it at bay.

Suprima? Sounds plainly stupid for a good looking hatch. Reminds me of Pizza Hut’s Supreme pizza…

• safwan on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:05 pm

mentality Malaysian people :)

• nizam on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:00 am

aku rase kalau lambang proton tu tukar lambang toyota mesti skit je komen2 negatif dekat sini.
    toyota prius c yang kecik tu rupa macam katak tapi ramai gila yang beli. why? sebab lambang toyota kat depan tu. kalau letak proton mesti xlaku. orang malaysia pandai cakap je, xpandai nak menilai.

• Hafiz on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:27 am

hmm..dgn harga sebegini..ramai yg berpaling ke toyota vios n honda jazz

• Ok la. Take it positively, its a one step ahead at least. on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:37 pm

People are condemning on this car. Well I guess, Proton. You’re doing it right. Just keep it coming. Its a slow development. Just keep looking forward and compete. One way or another I’d like to keep myself this naive attitude and believe that Malaysia.. boleh.

• Mslim on Aug 18, 2013 at 1:40 am

I wanna book new swift, but look at suprima spec much better!! any comment for this two before i procced.TQ

• rayyah amanee abdullah dekalb county jail on Aug 18, 2013 at 3:34 pm

This design is spectacular! You definitely know how
    to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

Too cool!

• juuvi on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:01 pm

to those who only know how to critic proton..let me ask you something – do you think you can do a whole lot better at designing proton cars? if so, go to proton and ask for the post of head designer of proton..but before asking for the post, try to come up with the best sketch you can think of..let’s see how that goes..

• the rise of khilafah on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:21 pm

hmmm….baru balik proton showroom. tak on pun enjin, baru bukak pintu, lampu enjin berkelip-kelip, salesman kata bateri kong. ????????
    nak bukak bonet blkg, tarik suis kat tepi sit driver, panelnya tercabut. berbaloi ke 80K, papan panel suis semua cap ayam. dari zaman wira sampai le suprima ni, panel suis asyik tercabut je, kroni sape la punya supplyer. bonet belakang tak boleh bukak, kalau bateri kong. itu saja yang kantoi buat masa ni.