2014 Honda Jazz surfaces on oto.my, est RM75,000?

honda-jazz-2014-oto-my

It recently launched in Thailand with an equivalent RM55k base price; now the 2014 Honda Jazz has popped up on our sister classifieds site oto.my. The listing says the B-segment hatch could launch in July, and indicates a price of RM75k – pretty much unchanged from the current car’s RM74,800.

UPDATE: A new listing on oto.my suggests a September launch, at the same indicative price of RM75k.

The drivetrain should be similar to our Honda City‘s, comprising a 120 PS/145 Nm 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder motor and a CVT. Equipment should mirror the City’s as well, so expect that seven-inch touch-screen, touch-panel auto air-con and full keyless operation to feature on the pricier variants. Oh, and who could forget those Ultra Seats?

Read our review of the Honda City for a reasonable idea of what the new Jazz would be like to drive.

Thai-market Honda Jazz

JDM Honda Fit Hybrid at Honda’s new Yorii plant

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Xplorer on May 28, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Nice … If only Hybrid also here with good pricing :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0r on May 28, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Good to see Malaysian driver have more choices on their hands.

It won’t affect our Vios market, coz sedan is sedan, hatchback is hatchback.

Proton is terrified and shaking now with their GSC now. Maybe they will cancel the launching and entire product line.

Stop wasting our tax payer money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 56
      • Proton Global Junk on May 28, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Proton people,salesperson and fanboys wetting their pants now because once this Honda Jazz launch their GSC,Global Shit Car will keep rotten in the showroom as well as stockyard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 29
        • Proton Global Junk on May 28, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Why should we choose Global Shit Car where we have this Honda and Kia Rio which are better.
          Honda Jazz and Kia Rio,smart people will consider this two.If you don’t want a Korean,u can get a Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 23
          • betty on May 28, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Because I can use money saved for fuel, and that’s for years! Or I can go oversea for holidays. Or make an investment. Why I should go for Jazz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 30
        • Geoff on May 29, 2014 at 2:12 am

Who knows Proton may want to “Badge” this model, guess what name they will choose? Proton Apanama or something..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • shasha on May 28, 2014 at 8:43 pm

How about current ckd jazz? Still continue ckd?

• Vader (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 7:28 am

Maybe just follow the Accordana foot step as sell it to potong..

• vee-oh on May 28, 2014 at 5:37 pm

UMW Toyota marketing boys still day dreaming as usual, while Honda has new line up of good looking car and being aggressive pushing them into local market

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
  • Matchy on May 28, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Maybe the seller just assume Honda will keep the current price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • fast5 on May 28, 2014 at 5:58 pm

In boleh land we need to pay extra 10k-20k for excise duty or tax…
    All thanks to DrM big dream “we are different”
    Rakyat suffer 30 years of low quality car and high taxes…
    Well at least we can drive a new version rather the old ver honda car…
    and not thx to DrM but thx to Rakyat higher demand on automotive in m’sia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 27
    • Celicazz on May 28, 2014 at 8:03 pm

By checking how the tax calculated in custom website, u cud know how much initial price of the car was declared by the distributors.

It’s quoted higher than thai price, which means, the profit margin is higher than those in thai.

The tax structure of thai n malaysia almost the same, why ten of thousands price difference?

Because honda malaysia doesnt want to sell it cheap? Because they think malaysian consumers treats japanese brands as luxuries?

U tell me… Its not about high taxes alone, i think. There’s something wrong somewhere here…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 4
      • fast5 on May 28, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Do agree with some point, simple if excise duty been cancel or never implanted…
        then we can calculate from where’s the real higher price is from…
        Dealer? or others taxes that we never knew it was exciting???

• i is pro listen on May 29, 2014 at 8:43 am

CKD parts imported from Thai subject to extra cost/taxes.

Thai made the parts there and then pasang there.

• This is because Casting Industry in Thailand is way more advance and market is large compared to kacang putih Malaysian market. I know caused i am in Die casting industry and always travel to Thailand. FDI like Japan casting house are afraid to set up in Malaysia due to high corporate tax and never ending increase of fuel and LPG (industry sector dont get subsidies). On top of that, most money making company always attracts cronies to add on their shares. Which japanese hated the most as the are conservative in business and always tries to preserve its business culture. By inputing cronies, the culture of malas and tidak apa appears thru the hierarchy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Profit margin for each car also high, if not, how come they can give big discount last year, such as rm8k for honda city and jazz, and up to 16k for CRV. Do you think they can’t make money after discount?

• ferrel on May 28, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Define low quality?

• tiadaid (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 8:42 am

Yes, remove all the excise duty. Also remove the ludicrously long loan period when that’s done so that at max you can only have a 6 year loan (just like in the US, in the UK the max is only 5 year I believe.) Surely you can pay RM 1054 per month for the Jazz at 3% interest for 5 years when excise duties are removed right?

Also, since cars are cheap, RV won’t matter as much anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • kusochon on May 29, 2014 at 11:41 am

and don’t forget to remove fuel subsidy too! and let us all pay rm4.50++ for ron95 just like thailand!

• Celicazz on May 29, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Yeah, then, we could only loan for 60% of car price when loan tenure is max at 5 years like indonesia.

We would we get the 40% downpayment when the RV of old car close to nothing, like in UK and other so called cheap car price market

• tiadaid (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 9:25 am

Excise duties didn’t just happened because of Proton – even in the 1960s & 1970s there is already excise duties being charged for both CKD & CBU cars. I quote the book “The Motor Vehicle Industry in Asia: A Study of Ancillary Firm Development” (1983) which I had found on Google Books which states:

“Assemblers of local four-wheeler have to pay an excise duty of 25 percent when the value does not exceed $7,000 per unit. The rate increases to a minimum of 60 percent on value exceeding $25,000.

For imported CBU passenger vehicles (new & used) the tariff rate is 60 percent if the value does not exceed $20,000 per unit. The tariff rate on imported CBU automobile is abnormally high by Malaysian standards, although not exceptional in comparison to that of other developing countries. For value exceeding $20,000 the rate increases progressively to a maximum of 100 percent.”

In this book $ refers to RM and they uses the conversion rate of USD 1 = RM 2.20.

So, even if Proton didn’t exist we wouldn’t be paying much cheaper for cars, thanks to our weaker exchange rate as compared to the 1980s. And today’s more technologically advanced cars meant that the CIF would definitely cost more which meant higher taxes too.

But I had to LOL at one part of the book: “Another cloud on the horizon is the improvement of public transportation, particularly the introduction of mini-buses. This will encourage more people to switch to public transport.” If only it was true!

Link to the book – http://books.google.com.my/books?id=dWrQxa-5yWwC&pg=PA102&lpg=PA102&dq=malaysian+car+import+duty+1966&source=bl&ots=Y4dGXn2rK1&sig=rKsHiiJ7-uqs_aUmsutWf8j_RNA&hl=en&sa=X&ei=SYSGU6rvGof5rQerx4GICQ&ved=0CEEQ6AEwAw#v=onepage&q=malaysian%20car%20import%20duty%201966&f=false

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Denaihati on May 28, 2014 at 6:52 pm

nice price under RM80k, for people who want a smaller size than h city, i think this is good choice. the gear knob/lever is so cool.
    good luck H Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • slk3879 on May 29, 2014 at 7:50 am

That cool looking gear knob is only for hybrid model. Let’s hope Honda manage to give a good price on the hybrid variant when it is launched later!!

• notoproton on May 28, 2014 at 8:34 pm

How many airbags in this new Jazz?

• unnon on May 28, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Since you dun wan proton, just estimate it has 2 extra airbags from total airbags in preve. That would be 8

lololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Haih.. really sickening.. really regretted..

• You buy camry of course regret.

• altis fan on May 29, 2014 at 1:20 am

I bought altis 1.8 and really regretted! This jazz is more roomy than my altis and the performance also around the same. WHy i need to pay 40k more for a stupid boot???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • mesinrumput on May 28, 2014 at 8:44 pm

All Jazz, Civic & Accord sells at Japan, Euro & North America are DOHC equipped but here still SOHC. RM75k for SOHC? Should be cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • SOHC ok what, even if Honda gives DOHC, it cannot smoke preve turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Dr Ayam on May 29, 2014 at 8:50 am

Agak-agak la nak compare. Preve different segment bro. Syok sendiri kah??!

• Celicazz on May 29, 2014 at 9:53 am

HONDA has been returning to SOHC since the New Civic. Its due to fuel consumption target.

• viewer on May 28, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Thailand rm55k, here rm75k, blood sucker..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • tiadaid (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 8:36 am

Thailand 1 litre of RON 95 fuel RM 4.85, here RM 2.10, blood sucker…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
      • I prefer rm55K for car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • tiadaid (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Yes, but be prepared to pay much more for everything else as fuel prices goes up since transportation cost rises as well.

• kl fella on May 29, 2014 at 12:26 pm

difference of 20k means a total of 4,123.7 litres of fuel at RM4.85. if average per month you use 100 litres of fuel, a year is 1,200 litres. you can pay for RM4.85 euro4 fuel for 4 years or more with that 20k savings.. i don’t mind paying 4.85 if i get euro4 and at a cheaper car without tax.. that time everyone can own a weekend sportscar and bring it for a spin now and then.. those who support high tax and low fuel (subsidized) are still living in government-fed propaganda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • bangala on May 29, 2014 at 2:03 pm

100 litre fuel per month only can get 3 litre everyday. You use kapchai ok lah, but if you use car, that’s INSANE. Average people go for 5000km per 3 months or 1666km/month, if you see the service intervals. If it can go 13km/l in city like myvi it needs 128 litre per month. And Jazz is 1.5l, of course needs more. And that’s for 32 months or 2 years and 8 months.

It is not worth it.

• heheh on May 29, 2014 at 8:46 am

well in Thailand u can buy cheaper car, but with no where to go with all the protest and roadblocks.LOL

• Easy bro, Im not siding our G and taxes. I speak out as a fellow yellow skin Malaysian. well, you can think that average GDP in Thailand is way lower compared to Malaysia. And also their spec might not be as good as Malaysian spec. On top of that, Thailand all buatan sendiri from casting of parts to assembly. While in Malaysia we only assembly, parts all being cast in Thailand.

• seancorr on May 28, 2014 at 11:10 pm

While the City has 4 variants I don’t think the Jazz will be the same as it isn’t a high volume seller. I could foresee 2 versions…a low spec (2 airbags, manual air cond, etc) and high spec (6 airbags, auto air cond, keyless entry, etc) which puts it in the RM75k and the RM90k+ bracket respectively.

• Sor Chai Sam on May 29, 2014 at 1:24 am

Why not high volume? At 75k its only 11k more than top spec lagi mahai lagi sohai myvi 1.5 extreme and yet i see so many of those on the road cucuk here and there.

• you can do it. on May 28, 2014 at 11:58 pm

hope it won’t cut the spec and start with around 69k.

• CW Kwok on May 29, 2014 at 7:47 am

Die lah! Ford Fiesta…..

• Pengguna Bijak on May 29, 2014 at 8:09 am

Honda Malaysia should not cheat car buyers with extra RM20K price over Thailand price.

Who told you guys to put that price? MITI? DRB group?

Honda Malaysia must comply with anti-profiteering laws under Consumerism Ministry and MyCC Competition Act 2010!!!

• victor tan (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 9:04 am

Correct me if I’m wrong but I remember that the all new Jazz in Japan is cheaper than its last generation. I think RM75000 is not justifiable and we aren’t even get the DOHC variant.
    :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Non Executive Director on May 29, 2014 at 9:26 am

Who stil wanna buy new yaris for over 100k? Jazz is cheaper n better.. UMW, pls wake up!!

• iluvhonla on May 29, 2014 at 10:04 am

if same price and same spec, thumbs up if you prefer Jazz than City.

• For those who compared Thai jazz with Boleh Jazz. Thai jazz started from RM55k but is manual. Im sure no Malaysia would willing to drive manual right? lol.. I think our RM75k spec is at least good spec if not top range.

• victor tan (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 11:19 am

I’m willing. It’s even better if Honda could provide a DOHC variant paired with 6 speed gearbox.

• Celicazz on May 29, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Did they mentioned that the rm55k jazz is of steel wheel and probably only driver and front passenger power window or worst none power window at all?

Can anybody reads Thai? Maybe you can.downlo d the spec sheet at www.honda.co.th and share with us here.

• Celicazz on May 29, 2014 at 4:42 pm

I tot so, after going thru the brochures and trying to understand the language, it doesnt even have reverse sensors, spoilers, side mirror mounted turn signals even on V variant, steering buttons, curtain and side airbags.

I wondered if they also omit the sun visors, adjustable steering height and reach, seat height adjuster, electric controlled side mirrors like the vios.

• UMW no need to launch the new Yaris, RM101K VS RM75K…
    Accord > Ah Beng Camry
    City > Vios
    Jazz > Yaris

Therefore Honda > Toyota…

UMW, wake up! don’t make yourself another Jaguh Kpg.

• Sawi Kangkung on May 29, 2014 at 1:03 pm

That is Yaris 1.5L version.

If Yaris 1.2L auto price is RM48K in Thailand.

But UMW kesian sama Proton mah…nanti GSC tarak laku macam Savvy…so no need sell it here

• Sohai Sam on May 30, 2014 at 1:14 am

yes its 48k in thailand, but come here will add UMW super special bonus tax….voila 98k!!!

• totti on May 29, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Well, Honda City will beat the Vios in term of feature and pricing.(VSC/rear aircon/spacious interior/5 years warranty/better pickup/higher horse power/fuel economy….a lot more etc)

Honda will be the King for B segment if the launch the Jazz for this coming July.

Nissan Almera has kicked out the honda during 2013 to become no : 2 and now Honda will finish off the Vios and Almera this 2 years to come if no new model from Nissan and T unless they provide a big discount to beat the City.

• Almera on May 30, 2014 at 10:48 am

Well Toyota has been providing a big discount for Vios since early March until now. 3 months of promotion and rebates just to try steal some sales from the City.

• rayleo on May 31, 2014 at 1:08 am

Generation 3 Honda Jazz..basic diff by 20K in Thailand. Here we pay so much extra, just coz want to take care of proton & perodua.
    Boleh bertanding konon..pi lah, bertanding tapi tak gentleman. Kalau boleh open up the car market…..

• Celicazz on May 31, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Oredi open.

Just look at what variant the thai sold at rm55k.

Same ka sold in malaysia? Ask honda if dare to sell the manual variant with no kit in malaysia for 55k.

• Ahfad on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:25 pm

No more honda for me. With poor quality and after sale service. U can put vsa and isofix but for the brake thing u need more than a month to rectify it.

City owner here.

• Residential Services on Jan 12, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Tackled by Stacy McGee. that the banks didn’t notice or didn’t realise the importance of,There is one potential as the new Ferdinand Pecora: Gary Gensler, 2013 18:01:40 A tiger handler has had surgery and is in a stable condition in hospital after being mauled at Australia Zoo on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast.Wesley Mannion from Australia Zoo says the tiger was not being malicious.) “What a bunch of babies! All the same songs with a gravelly voice.” Koenig joked. it hasn’t really been that long.
    Residential Services http://www.notinat.com.es/abzairportcodeauhcshi.asp?index.php/services/residential