Future Perodua Myvi owners should take interest in this thread in the Perodua Myvi Forum where owners have gathered together to discuss about the problems they have with their Perodua Myvi.
Some of the problems:
- Alarm system not functioning
- Central locking not functioning
- Cabin light switch problem
- Strange sounds from door hinges
- Steering vibration under braking (ABS?)
- Water leaking into the passanger cabin
- Reverse sensor malfunction
some new generation cars just can't take the real-life pressure. haih….
lol water leaking?? Perodua better rectify the problems fast before people cancel their bookings…
good to hear that , atleast ppl should reliaze its not so rosy for myvi , savvy looks a beter prospect now!!
E-Nabill,
I'm not sure if I'm right about what you're implying, but from my point of view there's nothing 'good to hear' about this issue, apart from the fact that Myvi owners have banded together for support. The Savvy shouldn't depend on failing Myvis in order to look like 'a better prospect'. Nobody who buys a car should have to face defects, and so none of us should be gloating over this. Anyway, Perodua have shown that they are willing to recall and rectify publicly, so they seem to go about dealing with this sort of thing better than Proton.
holy_cow,
Perodua have shown that they are willing to recall and rectify publicly, so they seem to go about dealing with this sort of thing better than Proton.
By E-Nabill comment I believe he only implies that with the current safety features added to the current Savvy, that is why Savvy is more desirable and trusted in terms of its safety features that complied to international safety standards as oppose to other locally manufactured cars that only complied to domestic safety standards.
Sorry to say. That Public should know that Proton Savvy was launch since 2004 and I was the first owner. My warranty already expired. When Proton call back Savvy, it’s becouse Proton New Saga are using New rear tyre spinner. Proton with generousity give me the new spinner althought my warranty already expired. From the Service Advisor explaination the spinner is parts of the wear & tear parts like adsorber, if the parts foulty after warranty period it’s like you buy any 2nd hand car and you need to buy yourself any parts when it foult. Proton found that the saga new spinner has a better quality and last long compare to savvy spinner thats why they call back all Savvy. I’m very happy for that. WE ALL SHOULD KNOW car are made by human and any problem happen becouse off many reason. Most off the reason besouse we ourself abuse the car, we drove perodua and proton car like FERRARI, we service our car not following the service scheduled. I give example that my father still using his wira 1.6 auto 1995 and never had problem with the gearbox becouse he take cares the car and always service it on time. tq
DIE MYVI DIE !!!! hidup Savvy !!!! LMAO!!
Luckily P2 are willingly to repair unlikely other local car manufacturer.please make complaint to P2 so their management n Daihatsu n Toyota take notice on these problem.rather than they puas hati on current condition(xmurah sgt pun?? 5-7 yrs gak buat loan :-( )
holy_cow :
it was a msg to all those myvi fans who were bashing proton n savvy in particular , it was sickening for a while,bashing left n rite ,bt atleast thy can eat their own words now , somehow i feel the myvi issues hav been very subdued ,i bet there wd be some hysteria going on if it was savvy dat had the problem! oh btw, i dono dis guy who hav een driving his myvi for a mnth now,n he complained about the handrake n rear drum problem,not sure if that is a common issue there…
Wahhh , abit scared liao lor. Haven't get my car yet but… Still looking forward to it , Hopefully these can be rectified and fixed before it's my turn to get my Car.
All hopes on P2.
savvy better? heheheee… there is so pity booking help improve savvy QC, can take longer time for checking to avoid nothing to do after finish the production =)
Good to know that they are ready to acknowledge their shortcomings… if this forum of theirs works exactly like customer's feedback and they do take serious action in this, there wouldnt be any issues with future models… now its a challenge to proton to have their own forum to look into their product defects…
Just found this link:
http://toyota.jp/customize/passo/trdsportsm/style…
Check it out… awesome facelift and tuning… good thing we can fit it in myvi easily… wooo…
hey guys,
nobody can make 100 pairs of shoes can make it perfect for 100 pairs of tapak kaki for the first time. Of course there are some defects here and there..
but what really concerns is what they are going to do to settle this mess?
call some Men In Black poeple flash some light to wipe of your memory?
from 1987 to 2002, all my car is around 2-3 year on the market before i did make a purchase. Just to play safe
corect i guess it all boils down to how many defects are there… certainly there would be quality issues which are common but how many are there ? and what are the percentage of defects over the number of cars that have been made?
btw i dont believe in 100 % perfection as well haha
i guess i can accept if it is 100 in 10 000 produced have problem, 1% defects …
but the real problem is obviously the problems seems to be coming from the latest batch of deliveries, is the QA being sacrifice for the sake "speedy" deliveries….
I dont know why P2 can't make a schedule or planning for the deliveries, P2 SA all over the country can only shake their head at you and ask you to pray to God for your car delivery, if not, you want it immediately, can, but pay 3K in cash under table…. and by sheer magic you can get your car within the week !
sorry for my complains…
rainbow7j
JB
revenge time? like savvy lover did?
to all p2 fanatic lover only : BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH (Laugh at very loud!) ..
that why i told you all.. not tooooo fanatic.. see now? ..
as expected.. QC getting poor to fullfill the booking order hah!? what so stupidlah..
but i really can accept LEAKED .. no waterproff ka? what's car for if cannot resist hujan aa? so better buy a motorcycle lah.. minyak pun nak naik lagi nih.. :D
// my friend also got a problem with her myvi (2nd month now) .. the same problem as listed there.. door problem.. proton is better .. only window..myvi is serious then.. the DOOR..
no matter how.. undertable.. fast production bla bla bla.. IT's POOOOOORRRR P2!
i only own proton. don't know about p2. but for my waja ev case, until now 97% satisfaction, 3% due to my minor reverse sensor prob but rectified already. the proton guy even come directly to my house when they found out there are some waja ev have problem with the rims and check it out for me straight away. mine ok, if not i will get brand new sport rims hehe…
all i'm trying to say. proton did their job to rectify their problem too. maybe not publicly but good enough they came directly to my house and check it out for me.
better than make an announcement in paper/tv and we ourself have to make the appointment and go to the SC. Until, my experience with P1 is good. With p2 none yet ekekeke…
folks….there's too much comment about Myvi. Too little about Savvy. Paul, u gotta strike a balance of comments here dude.
every cars has its problems….the thing that makes the difference is the after sales service. That is how fast and how effective that car company fixes the problem and to MAKE SURE that these problems do not found in the future production car. Also, the attitude of the staffs from the car company and also in the service centres makes the difference.
I'm sure you wouldn't look up to a 20 year old car company with the most sophisticated high tech factory that couldn't even fix a damn power window problem. Also, I'm sure you would not be happy if every mechanic and the staffs from the car company kept on telling you "You bought the cheapest car in the market, what do you expect….live with the problems". What kind of treatment is this??
Well, these are the things that makes P1 and P2 so different.
Cheers.
dear fellow readers,
I am a proud owner of a MyVi 1.3EZ standard.
It scared me to read the problem listed above, BUT I did not have THAT problem. Probably I am the lucky one.
I REPEAT, I DID NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM LISTED ABOVE.
HE HE HA HA :)
but .. sometimes the locking is a bit wierd… like.. the back door goes "DEK DEK DEK …" sound and the door cannot be opened.
ANYONE WHO HAD THIS PROBLEM, it is the number plate that had been making those "dek dek dek" noise. perodua sercive added tape behind the number plate to solve my problem.
PAUL,
did you check those problem with the perodua office, (click the link) the problem listed only by an individual person, plus, P2 have a "pre-deliver inspection" that would had found this problem, and my SA also did inspect my car before she deliver to me.
I was at the service centre, spoke to the SA, no complain on the MyVi. I have spoken to the machanic, all they had done is oil change now.!
funny !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
At an organization, people quality is very important to make it a better company.
If u were to deal with those at Perodua e-shoppe, they are acting like " tidak apa "
attitude, they don't really look into your problem and answer to your call.
Don't because of MYVI is sold like a piece of hot cake, you can treat your customer like a big fool. Hereby , l can tell you answering to your client's call is a part of your service to customer.Didn't your company tell you when you join the company????
When I call up e-shoppe (always no body pick up the phone) to check the status of my car which l booked early June, this year. One of the e-shoppe staff answered didn’t answer my question and said this –“you can report this to my officer, manager or newspaper as u likeâ€
Oh god, l just ask u to check my car delivery status and u said this to me.
Water leakage in the car cabin??? So funny arr!!
I thought all vehicle (including POTONG cars lah) need to run through SHOWER TEST (HEAVY RAIN Like HELL) on the production line (100% checked) before hand over to dealers. WHAT a surprise to me, MAYBE all the P2 car did not run through that test to save production time KAH? If tested why NOT detected FUNNY……Lei??
WHO Decided it lei??? Unbelievable!!! So P2 buyer please ask your dealer to wash your car at showroom before take it back, if leak occur then change other car at the same time or don't take the car back.
proton owner! saya juga PE servis dtg terus rumah bila komplen walau minor problem… even at 11pm, servis bagus tapi tak ramai yang tahu.. patut iklan lebih benda2 mcm tuh.. after sales, bukan iklan raksaksa…
Oh Boy. Proton Fanboys will love this!!! :D
a car got 20 to 30 thousand components, it is common to have some minor problem; the most important things is………………….. the after sales service & the warranty.
remarks : BMW, TOYOTA, HONDA & all car manufacturer also have quality problemes & call back the vehicle.
Now we can conclude that no one or no manufacturer is perfect. Belive me there is no car factory can deploy 100% no defects product, at least 0.01%. Fully automated factory or even the fully handmade cars. only god and his creation is perfect….
Paul, one more problem on MYVI…. >
At all, Savvy seems no problem (at least have no problem which MYVI have). Proton, change your designer…, they're S**K(s)….!! If Savvy is aka C2 or C4 from Citron design, i can't see why Proton should lost this battle with P2.
Aiyo luckily man, when we mentioned Savvy is a good car, unfair bashers already 'kutuk' like hell… imagine if these problems happened to Savvy, I guess Paul's forum will 'exploded' with bashers comments :)
So no need to defend lah, I guess Savvy Owners out there understand it too, NO car is perfect but next time… go slow and with facts when 'kutuk…ing'
Hope P2 will solve u guys problems ASAP.
Cheers
SOLUTION to those problems:
Alarm system not functioning-change it lor.BTW local original alarm sytem can be trusted de meh???
Central locking not functioning-change it again lor.Can consider as minor problem for proton owners.sap sap suiz lar
Cabin light switch problem-change it again.Have so many types of cabin light out there lar.Go to www.brothers.com.my and check it.Some pplz purposely change it.
Strange sounds from door hinges-WD-40 oil may be can help.NASA proven technolgy lai de.If still cannot make it to 2-doors car.hehe
Steering vibration under braking (ABS?)-As a Camry owner i also found this problem.But after Toyota mechanics fixed it,wah lau yeh now damn smooth.Fit Fit man.Dun worry!This happened 2 years ago.
Water leaking into the passanger cabin-Wah this one cannot liao.I hate this problem.DAMN how to solve this har???
Reverse sensor malfunction-Use your own eyes for while lor.May be 6th or 7th sense can help other than your eye.Damn rear sensor made pplz become lazy.Me 2.
Will this help????
central locking not functioning right, 1,even after off the engine,one door open,central locking function 2,when open the door, before start engine ,central lock function. can let me know,what is the best central lock to replace or the myvi central lock can repair
riiiight… so what would you like him to do?
1. would you like him to delete some of the myvi comments?
or
2. would you like him to assume a few aliases and post some proton comments?
Dude, have you taken your medication today?
seriously… *roll eyes*
Paul, great job on the blog so far…
As I said before (Long long time ago….CANNOT REMEMBER when lah, check the previous BLOG lah), buying a new car with good conditions is a LUCK, like KENA one digit of EMPAT EKOR (Magnam or Big sheep). Buying a Good BRAND (EVEN MB or TOYOTA) car only can reduce your chances to get a BAD one. No guarantee good my friends! ……..No kidding man.
too many problem .. so that's mean?
i still can't accpet cabin leaking.. :D
why aa?
when :
savvy = aiya… proton maaa.. biasa laa..
myvi = every car had a problem..
why dont just kutuk = Myvi is s*ck?
no wonder people gonna judge through the 'COVER' first.. forget the inside..
alexc (fanatic p2 lover) ..
aiyahh.. almost car also had modification laar aiyohh..
www.nitrodesigns.net = there's a savvy modification.. custom made bumper..
HumanSanzz :
1. Alarm , Central Locking , Light , really is sap sap suiz to repair onli mar.
2. ABS ar , Toyota mia ABS can be trusted de meh? U c Honda ppl de lar , No nid fix mia. Thats y Perodua shud learn from other Japanese maker.
3. Maybe loh , the sounds from door 1 , My Wira dun have meh? Alot somore , too much noise from the Aeroback until my ears maybe need repair oso. X-1R oso NASA tech mar , Y dun put in old engine see can work anot?
4. Water Leaking – This 1 sei tak lor , whu so damn lucky get a car like that must get replacement from P2. (No Comment.)
5. Reverse sensor – Told you this is needed , if rely on the sixth sense then some ppl wont BANG THEIR REAR LIGHT OFF LOR.
That is all .. Informative?
what mitsu galant said some how quite true to me.
when proton announce savvy, it already got a nick name, sawi. and people bash everything come across their mind about it, even some of them never really even touch the car yet. p2 better qc, better this and that, proton more on handling p2 on quality. but when this issue come out. suddenly i hear not all cars perfect, even BMW and such. i realize this quite a long time ago, therefore i took a step buying 1 proton and luckily i'm lucky. my p1 car only prob is the reverse sensor and the build quality also good.
stop doing this guys, u r hurting yourself.
To mitsu_galant_2000,
:) Agreed.. but why ah?
It looks like some bashers try to soften the actual impact, some try to change their stands and some regretted their decision.
Anyway, 'mitsu_galant_2000' forgive them lah.
As long they know, No Car Is A Perfect Car…
Cheers
To:
eRis-Aeir4s
Do u know how i drive my camry????? U think i drive this big car in a gentle way???? U had been in my car b4 de lar.Yesterday u juzz baru went out yam char wit my wira. The way i treat my camry also same as how i treat my wira.Do u think Honda Accord can TAHAN mar? Called u come to race wit me u said cannot.Haizzz.This conclude that neither u r suk or ur honda cannot leh??? Can u answer me????
Actually , cars are bulit to be reliable and useful. Who wants to buy a car to have problems later and send it back to the SC? Do I have to send the Accord back to the factory if there is no problem at all?
I don't think I will want to go to a SC after buying a 170k++ car. How about this for an answer?
Is there any service charges when u get ur MYVI for service???? I mean do they charge for the black oil change when ur car hit 1st 1000km??? Coz my fren acknowledge me tat HONDA din charge a single sen when u send ur car back to service including black oil hor.Not only for the 1st 1000km, but until the warranty void.Is this true?? If they make it free, where could honda make benefit from??? Eventhough i service my camry break within the warranty period,TOYOTA still charged me Labour.
May be this special service is only for ACCORD. Any Honda drivers can answer this??
Hmm.. Overbooking. Production capacity fill to the blim. P2 is currently handling 2 overbooked models: Avanza & Myvi.
P2 may hv underestimated their car's appeal. Well for one thing they cannot work at
their usual pace.(Myvi waiting period may reach those of Avanza; my fren waited 9months
for her Avanza!!) In my opinion, they compromised work procedure in order to
cut short the waiting time. Risky gamble. Their reputation is at stake.
But I agree with Mango about the other factor that cos this windfall( or downfall for some ppl) to P2=> Potong really screw up their design. (They have good chassis, engine & handling) But what really matter to car buyer this day is LOOK. Park Savvy next to any European car and u can spot from miles it's really an eye sore. (I do like certain elements of Savvy but the rear Logo throw everything into the drain.) Maybe certain ppl inside Potong really enjoy it. Not the car buyer obviously. Learn Potong Learn
CHiQ said,
September 2, 2005 @ 12:42 pm
riiiight… so what would you like him to do?
1. would you like him to delete some of the myvi comments?
or
2. would you like him to assume a few aliases and post some proton comments?
Dude, have you taken your medication today?
seriously… *roll eyes*
Paul, great job on the blog so far
Never meant to say Paul are not doing a good job. HE IS DOING A SUPFANTASTIC JOB!! Perhaps just a more comment from Savvy owners like those of Myvi owners.
No….i dont have medication to take. thank you.
Thanks Paul. For all the great info. I learning a great deal from you without having to dig my pocket money for car mags.
heard about Myvi's aircond compressor burnt at perodua factory? I heard from my friend working in denso. Denso supply their air cond system to perodua (including myvi 100%). when they test the compressor to certain rpm, the compressor burnt out. this caused by design mistake (denso). Hope you guys got myvi which already repaired one heh.
there is a joke at denso " if you want to smoke while driving myvi, just on the air cond and you get a light from compressor muahaha"….
My dear HumanSanzz ,
As you can see , Honda does provide free service , for a certain amount of times , that is , which I forgot. However , do NOT expect free service for 2 years straight. And , btw , the free service is the service that comes with the booklet (eg. 2k Km service , 20k km service.)
And Honda will make profit from services , because you plan to use the car for a long time , don't you? If you are like people that doesn't care about their car and are not planning to use your car for a long period , Go ahead. Don't service it , just see how long it can survive before you die of frustration.
However , from my friend HumanSanzz , I acknowledge that Toyota owners ( like Himself) are not caring towards their cars? Am I right? Who knows , time will tell , when the list of the car awards and the reports of car reliabilty comes out. I hope that no Japanese model will suffer the insult of Proton , being awarded the worst car of the year in the past via their Proton Gen2. This is found @ Autozone.
Finally I have another question , do many of you have to pay for labour when it is still in your warranty period for repairs? I sense this is rather Off-Topic , but this is what I have to say , and what our friend has to answer.
Good day.
It is normal when a new model rolled out from factory for the, at least first 10,000 units sure have minor problems. we must understand perodua not like other branded cars which default only happens 1 or 2 per 10 cars. But anyway Myvi sure 100% better than Savvy in looks, capacity dan "RELIABLE".
wakaka……MYVI fans, stop insulting SAVVY sucks!!! You're not soooooo gooodddd either!
actually Proton is also willing to repair, but possibly if pressured upon. The juara was recalled regarding the automatic gearbox, which comes from the mitsubishi town box. there was a case of a japanese dude shifting from drive to neutral 100 times in a day, causing the thing to malfunction. mitsubishi ordered a recall, and proton replaced all the gearboxes foc. all new juaras have this replaced…
umm who actually buys a juara?
talk like u have 1, just talk cock in your dream. where have all this problem that u all talking about in mivy, crazy!. dont b happy whit savvy, when u sale then u know in future. savvy need timing change every 600000km compare whit other car manufacturing that 100000km to change. i hear that savvy part is expensive then myvi and 1 thing the clutch is heavy to compare to other. then myvi is timing change la how u think about that compare to savvy.
so happy to have your savvy your money for future ha!.
I booked myvi but i still think savvy is a good buy if u dont mind the design
My dear eRis-Aeir4s,
1st of all,I hope that u could hold back ur statement regarding don't send the car back for services.
(Don’t service it , just see how long it can survive before you die of frustration.)
As we known,every single car in this earth needs services but there are many ways to do so.
As example,I did send my car back to the manufacturer SC within the warranty period.This is becoz the warranty stated that warranty will be automatically void if u didn't send the car back to service.These services included changing black oil,engine inspection,tyres allignment and many more.OF CAUSE,charges including labour fess.Before sending back to manufacturer SC,we have to make appointment and wait and wait.(UMW Toyota service centre).But after the warranty period or milleage 100000km which one comes first,i stopped sending my car back to the SC.I rather leave it to the mechanic shop situated downstairs my office.This could save a lot of time and i know them.
2nd of all,I do take care of my Camry lar.PLZ think before making any statements.I know lar Honda Accord offer free service but also don't fully rely on it.Small problems also send back meh???So free ar???
However , from my friend HumanSanzz , I acknowledge that Toyota owners ( like Himself) are not caring towards their cars?
Lastly regarding Proton Gen2 had been awarded worst car of the year in Autozone.Is this statement true since u r making so many FAKE statement about me??
PLZ reply
you all know actually, it is PERODUA car with PERODUA quality, althougt it is rebadged from daihatsu car!
myvi owners, don't dream on your car are DAIHATSU or TOYOTA!
it is call PERODUA! accept it! man!
we not a dream but we know is a same platforms daihatsun n Toyota that we used now in pro2 myvi. but how about savvy do there r renauly o Rojak india made of, Renault o proton ? Renault engine n body is from where? lotus o Ferrari sport car.
Lim Said:
It is normal when a new model rolled out from factory for the, at least first 10,000 units sure have minor problems. we must understand perodua not like other branded cars which default only happens 1 or 2 per 10 cars. But anyway Myvi sure 100% better than Savvy in looks, capacity dan “RELIABLEâ€.
—
booolllll…..shiiiitttt… still don't want to face the reality. still try to pretend. face it man, myvi sucks… big time…. how come u call water leaking into cabin normal. during heavy rain next time, i would like to see 'aquarium' on the road buahahaha… or should i buy guppies and put in those aquariums, buahahahaha…..
worst car of the year
last year gen.2 = good design worst quality,
this year worst car of the year: MyVi = so so design, terrible quality.
:P:P:P
Wow , straight on war , HumanSanzz, why don't you admit it that what i'm saying is nothing but the truth. Go check the worst car of the year for 2004 i think , or 2005… by Autozone (I guess).
And why don't Honda owners have to book for service? We too have to book for service , but why we don't have to pay for the first few services? That you better ask the management of Toyota. Try asking them ' Why you wanna charge for services under warranty period? ' and lets hear the answer.
And who really cares what do you do after the Warranty period?
Not me definitely. But I opt to send the car back to the original manufacturer in case of a faulty part or damaged equipment. I don't really trust garages , unless it is someone I know. And Honda do provice services in a few hrs time , Why not ?
It's all JUST A COINCIDENCE that the Honda SC is near to the company my dad works for. Haha , I guess not everyone gets a SC near to the place you work , do they?
About false claims you claim i made , Please state. You might wanna clear your brain out first and reclaim information . Do post back when you find yourself cured .
That is all , Good day.
My dear eRis-Aeir4s,
I found that i am in a healthy condition all the way so to when i reply u.So i no need any cure ok??? About the worst car or best car cannot determined by a single party only.I can as-sure that Proton Gen2 would not be the best car but it also cannot be the worst car.There are lots of new cars produced every months from this world.Now China is manufacturing cars too.Do u dare to buy their cars??May be in next few years u also won't buy lar.The example is Hafei Lobo 1.1 top speed only 130km/h-Design of the car wah lau yeh worst den Savvy.If proton gen2 classified as worst car.How abt this car?Sampah ar???
It was so unbelievable when u told me that Honda really din charge u a sen for any services within the warranty period.May be Honda did not realize that this is the most profitable part.In addition,I found that any charges for services are reasonable and no doubt i will pay for it willingly.Perhaps Mercedes,BMW and many more car SC are doing this as well.Dun tell me that Honda also did not charge u for changing your worn out tyres.
It can be considered COINCIDENCE to me too since i can juzz take 5 mins walkfrom my home and can reach the puchong UMW toyota.Why am i not sending back my car back to service after warranty because this SC is packed with cars everyday.May be malaysia has too many toyota cars.?This can be proven by monthly sales compared to Honda.Am i ride??I read this from newspaper.I don't know whether this is true coz i SINGLE ONE read this at HOME.I could be wrong,blind or too old.Muahaha
Lastly i come in PEACE.
Guys,plz dont jump to othr topics , jus keep it within the myvi boundaries,n btw,i do admire the savvy million times over myvi , seriously,savvy has been in the works since 2001 i believe,thers is so much engineering in this car,bt myvi is a complete copycat daihatsu/toyota , no effor to atleast make it look abit diff , as a customer, i dont appreciate that really….n 2day i had a ride in the myvi,first time,abt 1mnth old,red color,seriously guys,this car if ful of ruttles , at the dashboard and the door,n at highway speed,it really feels floaty,at LDP driving around 90 to 100,u get the feeling this car is made for uncle/antie and ladies ONLY,no mater wat skirting n big rims u put ,hundereds of stickers! it jus doesnt look that sporty ,jus my opinion……..may be the only part p2 did on the myvi was the poblems created above!!
dear E-Nabill,
go… GO and buy that sawwi. why talk so much bullshit.
lets meet 2 or 3 years down the road, see your sawwi re-sell value is below you loan, price depreation >70%, spare part price is >70% of the general cars spare parts.
the history will repeat, remember Tiara.
here i read the topic of this blog which is about the problems faced/contained in the 1st badge of Myvi, and you people here are bashing up each other about Savvy and Myvi. both are totally different cars, totally targeted at different markets and built differently. all i can say is that Myvi is a Passo/Boon produced locally without APs, which means a Passo/Boon in a cheaper but lower quality. if u people want perfect cars, go BUILD YOUR OWN CAR! even lexus's cars have problems, just that there are very very few. 1st badge cars are always full of problems, but after a few badges, they'l be fine.
this topic is about Perodua Myvi, NOT PROTON GEN2 NOR SAVVY! so stop going off-topic! Paul, plz moderate, if possible.
anyway, back to the topic, in my opinion, 1st badge cars are always full of problems. but to some people who are lucky, they don face it, others who r not will be suffering at the SC. that's all. Perodua has been very moderate and concious of these issues faced and have been giving their best to tackle these issues.
Dear E-Nabill, juz for your info, i used to own a satria and a Tiara, i can't recall how much i pay for those EXACTLY, but wad i remember fresh is that i sold my satria at Rm10,000 and my Tiara at 8,000. do u know… the tiara's gearbox got lose on week 3 of my drivin, i can't shift gears, and the air-cond, bloody hell, combined with many other issues! and the satria? it fell down when i was pulling the handbrake on a slope coz of traffic jam, and hit the cars behind, same goes to my tiara at a carpark lot. now i owned a kenari, can u tell me the resell value? and till now the only problem is the front disc brake which makes sounds becoz i've been using it for almost.. no, more than 5 yrs! it all depends on ho lucky u r in getting a car. a new bmw 7 series broke down as engine died suddenly on a traffic jam, what can u say? 7 mercedez stop due to overheat at the bridge from jb to sg, is that becoz merz is no good? NO! becoz they are not suitable for our hot weather although they've been modified to run in equator countries, though now this issue has been fewer. judge that!
The problem is totally the fault of P2. The claim good quality, but we don't see it. It is unacceptable to have water leakage. This is the 1st time i heard of such a thing. Totally ridiculous.
My friend booked a Savvy after hearing so many problems with MyVi. But I booked MyVi (Before knowing MyVi problem). Juz have to pray to have a good car. (Hope they build it when P2 engineers and operators in good mood).
Do you know why i'll not buy the savvy or the myvi?
Savvy: Too small and will give me constant visits to Proton service centre in Glenmarie..
Myvi: Too clumsy…doesn't have the handling I require…..and might also have to send to Perodua service centre often…
So what car I will buy? I will buy Mitsubishi Outlander….CBU, Fully Imported, Powerful 2.4 MIVEC engine, 5 YEARS WARRANTY and after sales service. Don't know about the Handling tho..heheh..then again…BMW X5 will do better in that offroad department..Hmmmm
Ok i'm gonna be bashed after this…ahhaahah
absolutely! you WILL be bashed! who wanna buy a Myvi or even a Waja when he/she can afford to buy Outlander?
P2 did not claim GOOD QUALITY, did they? i didn hear THAT! i juz heard they claim its a passion, does that mean "MYVI IS SO GREAT"? no, its just a passion for them to build a decent car, anyway, 1st badge car, what can u expect?
Myvi is NOT a rebadge car , Please , PLEASE do some research before posting.
It was a joint project with Daihatsu and Toyota where Perodua engineers are sent to Japan to develop a new car from scratch.
Sorry if I went off-topic, back to the topic , I'll admit P1's resell value sucks hell. Just look at the price of Wira/Satria/Tiara etc. Compared to Kenari , Kancil etc.
Just look at the depreciation rate and you'll know which car you wanna buy if you wanna sell it later on. And i'd say , if you don't plan on selling the Savvy later , get ready to make friends with the Proton Service Center guys. Good day.
Yes, Myvi is not a rebadged car. In 2002, 80 engineeers went to Japan to develop Myvi too. Boon and Passo were launched last year.
" DOG THE WAN said,
September 2, 2005 @ 9:54 am
Water leakage in the car cabin??? So funny arr!!
I thought all vehicle (including POTONG cars lah) need to run through SHOWER TEST (HEAVY RAIN Like HELL) on the production line (100% checked) before hand over to dealers. WHAT a surprise to me, MAYBE all the P2 car did not run through that test to save production time KAH? If tested why NOT detected FUNNY……Lei?? "
Didn't you know ?… Proton guys dip Savvy in a pool to make sure no water leakage. hehehe…J.kidding…:)
Actually both of p1 and p2 cars resale value are low.
for example
Waja year 2000 1.6(M) still can sell at ard 40k/New car price ard 60k
Kenari EZ 2000 still can sell at ard 28k/New car price ard 43k
If u compare this 2 cars,you will find that both of them will cause u lose out quite a lot.Am i ride???But i cannot deny that Proton Tiara resale value really damn low leh.It is because in this market really hardly can find spare part for this car.Damn kelian.To conclude this,i think that proton savvy will face this problem soon because the sales for savvy so low.Proton also had made the wrong move when promote this car as replacement for proton tiara.I heard tiara this word also scared aledi.
im jus comparing savvy n myvi NOT bcos i believe those two cars are in the same segments,bt the market hav decided they r to compete head on since the price and date of launch was almost similar,obviously thy r totally different cars for two very diferent customers,bt u go everywer n ppl all thy can do is to compare myvi n savvy,i dont tink resale vaLUE is important izzit?if it is,thn beter buy second hand car,u will lose much less,
regarding EDW , i dont tink i nd to coment on wat u said , we all know very wel that savvy is NOT tiara,i believe proton names it tiara replacement model,jus to let the market know that,proton will lunch a car that had the same charecterstics as the tiara,ie , small capacity engine car,4 doors,for a small family , at that time,proton wanted the public know that there will be alternative to the kenari and kelisa,i tink that wat proton intended to do …so in my opinion,its a waste of time to talk about tiara n wat it did n how bad was it ,n i tink the savvy wil hav a beter resale value few yrs time,myvi is becoming like a wira , too many in the market,i dont tink dealers are wiling to take at a high price,bt i tink savvy ,bcos it wont be as common as myvi,it will hold its value beter , abot more exclusive , again,jus my opinion,corect me if im wrong….
ya~ and u missing something, wat Malaysian engineers involved? engine? handling? oh~ maybe the door handle, bonet, bla bla some unimportant parts? does Perodua enginners took a limelight place in tat project? why the press conference of launching the BOON and PASSO never mentioned PERODUA's team name?
let us compare the Perodua MYVI model and Japanese model, which one up to your mind?
franky said, MYVI was PERODUA's quality car.
do not thougt it is Daihatsu Boon or Toyota Passo.
that's all.
i wonder is savvy that perfect withuot any prob in first batch? or too less ppl driving so not yet fig out? as i know some ppl have their first service of savvy they claim it have 11 kind of "update". i believe if the part working well they wont "update" it without any reason for free of charge.
akari: yeaps no problems.. been driving for a month plus now.. no leaks watsoever.. for my first service i they just asked me to pay for oil filter n amoil.. face it.. u guys are in for too much bad rumours bout the car without exactly knowing the truth..
yes indeed that the P2 have to improve their QC part even as the car's orders is so much compare to savvy.
i hear so far from this forum that savvy hv no problem at all. but the fact is: how many units sold buy potong to this SAVVY? it reach 50% of myVI? don't think so. am i right?
so, do u think that the problems that currently myVI facing will happens at SAVVY if SAVVY have the same situation? i guess will be the same. guys, what we found here now, is the staff quality that do the QC. here, we, malaysian, still have a long way to improve ourself compare with US and others overseas countries.
my personal view, SAVVY is really sucks!!! myVi? sucks for some group of ppls. Y? just becoz we are HUMAN. we have different kind of TASTE.
nothing special.
kah..kah..kah..kah…can't help myself but to ROTFL!!!
when mawi got prob…so many excuses…first batch car normally lit dat la…Savvy not even on the road ppl oredi condemn it's quality….eat ur words la mawi fan..just accept it..it's a koklea-piercing fact rite…
just accept it…
1. racing tuned mawi lost battle with stock savvy….(whaaatt…stock car???..muahahaha)
2.quality suck big time
3.design do-so onli
4.a total rebadge car…dont claim 80 engineers sent to Japan la…for what..?makan angin aaa…or design the ah-beng skirting onli…muahahahah
5. a boring car….onli auntie and first time car owner will praise that car like hell..
accept it la…
whaaattt…flooded cabin due to water leaking….
and this is considered small prob…?muahahahha…good la
psssttt…do somebody saw mawi got burn on the road last nite at Jln Mahameru….?waahh..so fast got burn aaa?
savvy look sporty? so how about Ferrari look like what?, stupid. no wonder proton never improve cause have all this type of people to support like there family, think when break down next time proton will give u 1 free unit ka?!. so buy la savvy if u dont know about a car feel next time. full lone only la, no wonder! so many supporter.
"i guess will be the same" don't guess moron
myvi (the fat bull frog) is now also a very unhealthy and sick bull frog! HAHAHA!
To Nerd bro,
Nerd said,
September 3, 2005 @ 1:51 pm
I guess you are right man! No wonder Sawi has no complain at all. It is design to be water proof even during FLOOD occur! Therefore Sawi is highly recommended to MR. James Bond 007 for the next new movie. BOLEHLand BOLEH!! Sponsored by MALLYWOOD. KUAK..KUak…kuak!!!
To all POTONG Fan, Pro2 Fan and None POTONG & Pro2 Fan, Plus all Pualtan BLOG Fan.and None Paultan BLOG Fans…..
SHUT-UP!!! Diamlah!! SAU SHENG!!
HUMAN made NO perfect cars OKAY!! Stop Figthing lah!!
APA MAU LAWAN!!??? APA OBJECTIFNYA??? …….TAK FAHAM ……LANGSUNG. Ini macam sampai bila boleh HABIS!!
Bacalah Topic dulu, kereta Myvi sekarang ada problems. Tolong cuma beri maklumat Myvi dan sama-sama selesaikan masalah ini!! Betulkah Kawan-kawan? Bro? Sis? Uncle? Aunty? nenek? Dato? Datuk? Budak??Bayi? atau benda hidup?
SEE FU sangat Marahlah! Baru pergi JAMBAN sekejap Semua orang JOR FAN (Terbalik meja) Ar? …….YOUUU! Mau kena Pukulkah?
just like Michael Jackson (mawI) says Morgan Freeman black…at least Morgan Freeman does not have ah beng's face for facial surgery and have own identity
Far as I know , Proton's resell value is ALWAYS lower than Perodua's , trust me I've searched for a car for quite a long period now , and I know the prices. Wira's , Iswara's , Satria's are usually more oftenly found than Kenari's , Kelisa's , etc. One example , just look at the newspapers and look for the numbers of Proton's on the sale list, compare it to Perodua's and you shall find out.
To HumanSanzz : 5k is a lot of difference , try giving me 5k if you don't mind.The price for Waja 1.6(M) is Approx RM 60k. Which means 18k Depreciation , as compared to the 43k Kenari , which sells now at 30k , At 18k and 13k Depreciation , Would you like to lose more or less?
For some consumers (eg. me) I plan on using my car for a few years , then sell it off. Why is that? Because I don't want problems with the car , Gearbox problems , Engine problems , etc .
And i'm not really sure what the P2 engineers did , but at the very least Chips from Motor Trader complimented on the engineers P2 sent to Japan , and check out the Daihatsu's site for some little info on Myvi.
Given the choice and money , I'd take the Sirion/Boon of course , but hell, M'sian govt. is super-overprotective of P1 , thus the high taxes and everything about AP's , My dad liked the new Mercedes CLS but after conversion we figured it would be around RM280k w/o tax. That would be way too high after tax , which is exactly RM 688,888. Impossible now. Stupid Proton and its Policy.
Therefore , my choice is Myvi , after seeing the two cars and testing them in particular , Savvy is definitely the car to crash in , given its strong body and responsive handling + power , but as i am quite conservative in driving , I'd like a car which handles softly and have adequate power , hence , Myvi.
Why don't we start up a poll on why people would choose Myvi? I would like to know the reasons too , so lets stop Myvi vs Savvy , and focus on Why Myvi or Why Savvy instead , I'm sure that would be informative and constructive rather than flammable ( as in flaming ). Some people just won't grow up , will they?
A tired (possible)Future Myvi Owner , Signing off.
Something interesting I found , read the forums here : http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp… , Mind you , it's the Savvy's forum.
Comments anyone?
Soo much for the touted higher quality from Perodua, hehehe… I have long suspect that all the bashing were not so much because of Proton's perceived quality problem but due to their frustation of higher fuel cost, higher car prices, etc..etc.
Do you really think without Proton car prices will plummeted? Please.. Proton has been made a black goat here.
Good luck to Myvi owners with your so called better quality cars.. hahaha…
SEE FU must be one of the Perodua fanatics.. now sudah frust his newly bought car got leak everywhere.. hahaha… pitifull.
CKS , I now can safely assume that either you have brain problems , OR you are not aware that the Govt. is protecting Proton , OR you chose to be ignorant of that because you are too much a Proton fanboy,
I may not be old or VERY knowledgable , but I do know that Proton have made the Govt agree to a protective policy that requires all CKS/ CBU cars to be heavily taxed. Imagine : a USD 64k Merc CLS being sold at RM 688,888 here in Malaysia , Who is it to blame ? Don't tell me Proton is merely a scapegoat now.
Proton is all the cause of High vehicle prices , What did Perodua do? Nothing , except for combining with Toyota and Daihatsu , Any more comments?
Good day.
"eRis-Aeir4s said,
CKS , I now can safely assume that either you have brain problems , OR you are not aware that the Govt. is protecting Proton , OR you chose to be ignorant of that because you are too much a Proton fanboy,"
so much for 'grown up'
sincerely, those bashers should just zap it bout proton's reputation.. yes i do agree it's fckin bad.. saying all the resale price all lower than p2.. but we're in for a new horizon of proton.. get that straight can't ya?
geez….i think lotsa malaysian are frustrated lot. so many comments here shows hatred and anger. why cant we give more positive comments which will do more good to national car industry instead of bashing each other. wanna talk about defection, sampai bila pun tak abis oii. we want value for money. if u want good car, give them feedback la. dont just whine and complain in here. if lotsa people do so, probably the automaker will listen more to us instead of syok sendiri.
myvi shares the same platform with sirion/boon. so what? C5 shares the same platform with 607. automaker shares platform to reduce cost. what matters here is we just want P1 and P2 to produce a quality car. manufacturing quality. doesnt matter if its a rebadge or platform sharing. value for money. less visit to the SC.
ps; i drove C5 and kelisa ltd edition. just sold the satria.
there is nothing good about either Proton and Perodua. Both cheap quality, cheap QC, cheap design, cheap…. etc. i'm sick of hearing ppl complains about their P1 P2 cars. For me they are just piece of SH*T!! that's why i nvr even have a glance on any proton or perodua cars because of their cheap desigh and quality not even worth to look at . Even that i'm poor at the start i save enough money to buy a toyota SEG. until now i nvr support any P1 P2 cars. Now i bought myself a Mazda 6 and 2 Hondas (city and accord) for my family. Proton?? Perodua?? F*CK OFF FROM MY SIGHT!!!
What's worst about Proton isn't about their quality control. It's their attitude for me.
Although lousy quality are still tolerable to me , their attitude of asking for support from the Government totally blew their reputation off , and now they want more support.
I don't want a CLS Class to be priced at 688,888 . And that would NOT happen if P1 is NOT here in Malaysia.
It's really pointless to continue P1 , Why don't they just shut down and offer services instead , or let VW become a majority shareholder , maybe that'll shed some light into the Darkest of abyss.
hi eRis-Aeir4s,
who and what is autozone? how credible are they? how did the cars on their "worst car list" get there? just wondering.
also, to hear that toyota and daihatsu would spend millions to develop and build a car just for perodua, is a pretty amazing piece of information.
Agreed with Gary, how credible err what… autozone??
Anyway, guys lets get back to Myvi problems.
Myvi owners out there please post the truth if you have experienced problems with Myvi. Post your problems so that other Myvi owners or P2 will know how to check and trace the problems before the situation is getting worst.
And for those who have followed the combat between Myvi vs Savvy, I guess you have heard a lot of people bashing Savvy without facts and even before it is OTR, while almost all credits go to Myvi.
IF you are the victims that misleaded by bashers biased opinion, I guess it is time to post the truth, so that fellow Myvi Owners and potential buyers out there will prepare things they have to deal with when getting their cars.
Cheers
heheh..
if i the myvi owner..
i'll never post the problem of my myvi.. even it leaked every rainy day.. :D
and you know why.. because we myvier is a ready to die.. even we're wrong..
haha!..
today.. i saw ..
that's also much savvy on the road.. and not so ugly as u all think..
from the front side is better.. and the backside.. personally i think it's nice than fat bumper on myvi.. i dont know why i look myvi like SOFT, the body, the lamp, the bumper.. just look so soft.. some of my friend owned myvie.. they said the font bonnet is SOFT! errkk..
dare to tell the truth myvi owner? of course neverlah!
I love to see people give their opion on our local car industry…
Just myself are wonder of some points…..
– why we need to pay so high price to get a dam low quality car….
– what's the benifit of geting sick to support "local car industry"…
–>more jobs? (there are many other way)
–>economic?(don't understand)
–>Car owner need to donote money to create more millonaire? (if donote rather directly to govenment why P1, P2 or … Pn)
–>drive lower quality car to create more accident… to support local workshop?
–>just allow rich people to drive good car.(no comment)
–>politic need 'clean funding' (shit I hate politic)
P/s: i'm desperate myvi future owner who need to queue for 6 months.
tori tori…..mitsui,……perfect comment my friends…
B4 this people saw savvi….they started condemning the car…..myvi better, more powerful….good quality……….bullshit….
have to eat their own words. now they seem to accept all car has problems and is about rectifying the car……can really laugh at this people,,,….
if they have preference for MYVI…just shut up and buy it…but no….they chose to condemn…and now…………..justice is served………..
And the are still fellows whom compare this two cars with accord and mitsu 2.4…….lacks iq or what…jeeez
eRis-Aeir4s:
dude.. if u want a cheap merc why don't u just f off to another country.. wat's continental car gotta do with this anyway.. if u want it cheap, the conti-cars outside our country would be CHEAPER if YOU'RE NOT in msia.. ^_^
guys guys…come on…dont la like dat. even if they have to lick their own spit, as a grown up we shouldnt laugh la. they are just like all of us who work hard to own a car. condemning others wont do any good. i agree with tori tori that we should tell the truth so that others could make use of the good information they recieve. why do u wanna fight fire with fire? pls gus, we want healthy invironment here, not clouded by jerebu of hatred and lies.
=) peace!
neurra : That's not rumors but the ppl is driving savvy, as u said ur savvy is ok, my fren's ezi myvi is everything fine for driving 1 month+ too. That's the fact some prob in first batch myvi, for sure i will face it, i'm ready for it, how about u?
what i try to say is carA have 10k ppl driving, 2k ppl complain parts defeat while carB have 1k ppl driving n 200 ppl complain defeat, sometimes u are not gonna heard from the 200 ppl compare with 2k ppl.
n also, since now both car are new, nothing can judge now, if u guys want early bird car, then u have to take the risk, else just wait for another few batch, i'm sure problems above will fixed. driving for 1 or 2 months fine does not mean anything, my idiot 3 years old wira which are over many batch already also quite fine for first few months, i're said it's a good car but who knows 3 years later now i scare about it n decide to sell? proton seem like not gotta fix the known prob like power windows even after many batch wira.
for me, no car are perfect, even mers or bmw or toyota, proton claim that germany guys said savvy is perfect, that's a bullshit for me.
hehe. akari, i think what the german says was right…….DURING the QC. if not how come the car make it to the showroom? nobody knows what happen next. do u? if a car has some defects and still make it to the showroom than the QC guys are negligence.
u were right no cars are perfect. i read somewhere a new batch mercedes got burn on the road in germany because of some electrical fault. some sales people does bullshit about the fact just to sell some goods. not just cars.
"…everything is working. everything is in order. checklist complete. PERRRFECT!"
u'll never know….heh.
Wah Myvi got problems everyone post bigbig but they never check 1st that sawi also has problems I dare them to post here too – pls do some checking before you say sawi no problems….
Those who said savvy gud plz buy 1 and prove it here? xgl
Gay: wat proof u want?
mitsu_galant_2000 said,
September 5, 2005 @ 1:19 pm
heheh..
if i the myvi owner..
i’ll never post the problem of my myvi.. even it leaked every rainy day..
and you know why.. because we myvier is a ready to die.. even we’re wrong..
haha!..
today.. i saw ..
that’s also much savvy on the road.. and not so ugly as u all think..
from the front side is better.. and the backside.. personally i think it’s nice than fat bumper on myvi.. i dont know why i look myvi like SOFT, the body, the lamp, the bumper.. just look so soft.. some of my friend owned myvie.. they said the font bonnet is SOFT! errkk..
dare to tell the truth myvi owner? of course neverlah!
> Even P1-wila has big pob whn launch.. power window jam, power steering oil leaking, gearbox jam, samll aquarium in de spare tyre compartment, etc.. but did not reveal olso wht. How u xplain? Ppl know until car owners write to CBT or Dady Fixit.
So, "dare to tell the truth P1 owner? of course neverlah!"
> sawi depends on owner preference. Some c sawi backside has waja front look. Soft or though I believe no body buy car 2 play bumper car..
uefa2k (yet another myvi fanatic fan)
Like i said.. Myvier will never accept any term that = Myvi is BAD..
they will deny and point back to the P1.
here's discussion for current p2 model = myvi..
i m not hear any savvy window problem etc2 yet. but the past model like wira is history.. and no one deny it. READ: SAVVY not WILA (as u spelled )
Almost p1 owner here already tell the truth about their proton.. But MYVier is never! What so ego hah? i owner iswara too b4.. it's really suck.. mudah tertanggal, like bumper.. also door side cover? using double side tape? (and now myvi used for the bumper too.. double side tape? hua hua.. )
SO UEFA2K.. Do you think myvi owner WILL tell you any problem of their myvi ?
Do you think they wanted their car to be call = Mywaste?
// my friend is seeking alternative way to modify backside of his savvy now.. he plan to make a "custom made bumper".. semoga dia berjaya.
eRis-Aeir4s said,
>
> Proton is all the cause of High vehicle prices ,
>
You just confirmed my suspicion, that some bashers hate Proton soo much not because of the so called build quality problem, but because of the higher car price (since the G is protecting Proton).
I never said Proton is not the cause of higher car prices. Like it or not, that is the fact of live (seemingly high car prices) and if you dont like it you can either work smarter to earn enough money to buy whatever car brand you want, or you can spend the rest or your misery life cursing Proton.
It is MUCH easier to change yourself than forcing others to change, you know.
The choice is yours. Good bye.
rikeys quoted,
"Wah Myvi got problems everyone post bigbig but they never check 1st that sawi also has problems I dare them to post here too – pls do some checking before you say sawi no problems…."
The facts are
Not everyone 'post bigbig' about Myvi problem. Please read the thread carefully… "Forumers post about Perodua Myvi problems" , "Future Perodua Myvi owners should take interest in this thread in the Perodua Myvi Forum where owners have gathered together to discuss about the problems they have with their Perodua Myvi"
– Pls check with Paul
I'm a Savvy owner, I admit Savvy got problems too but this is the thread for 'Myvi Problems'. You can read Savvy problems using the below Proton Owners forum but, sadly not much useful information can be gathered because the forum being abused by bashers and myvi supporters.
http://www.autotrade.com.my/forum/summary.asp?sum…
Savvy or Myvi, no car is perfect, until when will the bashers and supporters ever learn…
Maybe telling the truth is the most painful things to do…
at the price myvi/savvy is selling,u will definalty have problems,bcos the price is so low,think about it this way,we all know myvi is 100% toyota rite???well,its giving probems now doesnt it?? so the point is,even if toyota asked to do a car sub 50k , thy will definaly have problems,simply bcos at sub 50k,u jus cant have proper qc n reliability,bmw/honda n who eva it is,thy cant make a car sub 50k n be as good as their expensive alternative,wen u pay a sub 50k fr a car,i dont get it y u all complain so much la , y r u expectation so high?y keep forgeting hat u only pay 50k n expect a 100k quality car/?its simple actually,bt the problem is,once u set ur mind on bashing p1 ,for a valid reason or not,thn nothing stops u,bt its worthwhile to thikn b4 u bash….
Anyone has any clue on whether people can cancel their bookings and get full refund of the money?
on which model naf??
Guys,
Proton will be working with Kleeman to produce their 1.8 engines for their SRM….now we talking business……………
Proton? Bleh.. Kleeman? Another boomer , or not so much a boomer if you're willing to pay for the maintainance fees , which I predict would be quite high, Just like the Renault engines in the Waja/Savvy.
To the guys above that was against what I said :
I maintained absolute neutrality , now if you don't like what I said , Prove me wrong, Will there be a SUPER-HIGH tax for foreign CKD and CBU's?
And about the Myvi..We need to have some facts going on now.. seems like Mr.E-Nabill haven't got his facts straight. It is NOT a car developed by Toyota FOR Perodua , It was a car designed from scratch by Toyota , Daihatsu and Perodua engineers for their own make respectively. (Daihatsu Sirion/Boon , Toyota Passo , Perodua Myvi.)
And it is definitely assembled by Perodua , which would have made it seem lower quality compared to the Passo and Sirion/Boon. Now why wouldn't Perodua have defects? It's not assembled by Toyota nor Daihatsu , it is assembled by Perodua. As far as I see , 50k is quite sufficient , because the Honda Jazz , which models in the UK are priced from RM66k-100k (After conversion.) is still a better car than any local made car in that price range.
'Savvy or Myvi, no car is perfect, until when will the bashers and supporters ever learn…' – This is very true.
Sadly some Savvy owners are maybe jealous of the orders Myvi gets , Heck , I'd be pissed off too if some 1 told me , 'Savvy sucks , Get Myvi instead'. Because I was almost a Savvy owner , UNTIL I found out it has no auto , and it already had a 1 mth waiting list at the launching. Unbelievable , Proton didin't have stock when it launched. That turned me off , INSTANTLY, So now , I have booked a Myvi , and I stick with my decision after considering many facts , including facts that No car is perfect and cars within this price range usually have this/that. End of story.
And to those that said ' Go someplace else to get a cheap Merc. ' Why don't you go? I admit that my family is not really rich , and my dad's business is situated here , and we can only afford a car within the 250-300k Range at Max. How are we going to migrate? We middle-class people actually suffers the most in Malaysia , y'know?
so don't target a Merc CLS, oh humble middle-classed patron..
*about Savvy spare part and service: how expensive it will be *
When the first Kancil was launch 10 yrs ago, its part and service cost was very expensive. It's because you would not find "local" or cheap part for it. Now you can buy its oil filter for RM5.00. I only need to spend no more that RM60.00 to change oil filter and engine lube. Myvi owner also will enjoy this because its engine already been around for 5 yrs.
Not like Savvy's engine where it was totally new for Malaysian consumer (I think). BUT I like the look and the ride so I booked the black one. I think I can spend RM100.00 or so as long as it serves my need…
chow…
Savvy N Myvi…
Build from 2 Dif. Companies.
Savvy build and design from pieces of blank paper locally (Malaysia my lovely country).
Myvi, enhance model / re-design from Daihatsu Sirion/Toyota Passo (Japan).
This 2 type of cars comes from a different history and background.
Back to the early 80's, when Tun introduced the Proton we all so proud about it. Now almost 25 years we went through all the experiences producing our own national car. It takes time to master the automotive industries for competing to the others. Korean car already 40 years old in this industries and Japanese already 60 years old and Americans almost 100 years old in this industries.
When we want to compare our own national car to the others, we should realize this fact also, what happen if we already 50 years or more in this industries? Do you guys agree if I said we can produce MORE BETTER CAR in this industry compare to nowadays?
Note: Hope someday, as a Malaysian we can be proud like Korean or Japanese people proud of their own productïŠ.
LOVE Savvy, LOVE Myvi, LOVE people produced a GOODS for better LIVE!!!
to neurra, the FUCKER
[so don’t target a Merc CLS, oh humble middle-classed patron.. ]
forker, becareful your damm sucker words. i don't care u guys fighting for myVI or SAVVY, plz do not use this kind of 'two meaning's words to others. use your brain and thinK: are u a Malaysian? if yes, shut your forking mouth up. concerntrate the topics. u forker.
Why can't you guys discuss properly? Haih.
neurra said,
September 6, 2005 @ 6:27 pm .
tiorra. u talking like u Owen Malaysia by your self. no wonder proton not improve will in 20 years course have people like u only know how to eat n shit when need it. we support Malaysia car industry not only now. we r paying a tax to government to improve n back to us to get better living in owe country.
we not encouraging them to sale a shit to us, so do u 1 buy a shit.
if u 1 to support your own kind ! see your self in the mirror first n grow up dont b spoon feeding. dont used other people resources to do a thing then u proud of is a national car!. stupid kind make a stupid thing out.
LoL.. i'm not quite clear wat u're trying to say DAN.. i'm driving a proton.. and i don't think of buying luxury cars yet coz i have no money yet.. i just get wat i can afford.. hope u get that clear
Although a bit rough , I agree on what people have to say.
Proton do not deserve credit after all they've done , Rebadging the Wira and Saga's was a long time ago , but I feel Proton should improve on rebadging rather than rolling out its own models , because somehow I feel rebadging is not easy work too , and you need to have good QC , which Proton lacks in , to rebadge good quality cars.
Proton rushed past the phase too quickly , and thus results in low-quality rebadgings. I'd actually like to see a car not w/o defects , but less defects as the years pass , sadly this is nto the case. Look at the Modern Wira's being sold now. The facelift is rather impressive , and the coolness factor is definitely there, but it lacks in the reliability department and as far as cars are concerned , reliability is a serious issue.
I was actually hoping for a rebadged Lancer or other Jap models , although royalty must be paid , I feel that it is worth it as this can improve experience of the workers and give ideas on developing a true national car. Well Perodua is still doing rebadging.. being the Kenari , Kancil and Kelisa all rebadged models. But the difference between the Myvi is that it is not a rebadged model , as I have posted before , the Myvi is the result of a collaboration of engineers from Perodua , Daihatsu and Toyota which the Myvi was rumored to be based off a Perodua concept car. So Myvi is not a rebadge car , I hope this can solve all the arguement about Savvy being an Original car and Myvi a mere rebadge. However , as like all cars , the Myvi also will have problems , so what happens when a Myvi has a problem? – Bashing occurs. I hope this post can clear things up that no car is perfect , as with the Savvy and Myvi and all sorts of cars. The main question that should be debated as I said before should be 'Why Myvi over Savvy? or Why Savvy over Myvi?' Which a lot of people can't seem to give the final answer for it and thus bashing.
I hope people can think it over and give their reasons for their choice , my dad told me that as long as the money is ours , the choice is ours to make , and we should respect others choices and encourage/help them in their course of handling their cars , after all , this blog is supposed to be about cars right?
to neurra : The CLS is not considered SUPER-LUXURY in the States , It may be like what the E-Class is in our country , where the CLS in our country is regarded as SUPER-LUXURY and sold as such. Now , I don't really care why are you targeting me , Is it because I am biased in my opinions? One can tell that as a Malaysian , our fuel is considered cheap due to subsidy but car prices are definitely not. What if later they subsidy is totally removed? (Which it will eventually.) Then our country would have to abolish to extremely high taxes on imported cars to allow middle-classed people like me to actually own a better car than a Proton or Perodua.
For ex : The British sold a Honda Jazz at 60k , where in Malaysia a Jazz (Same variant.) is sold for 100k+ (I forgot the exact values , but I was targetting one before I settled for the Myvi.) After the subsidies end , where does the extra 40k goes? The G. And where did it came from , Our wallets! Imagine paying an extra 40k for a car of a same model. Is it fair? Although if the taxes are reduced after the Fuel subsidy ended it would be another scenario .
That is all, I hope people who don't agree with me can post their ideas as a Malaysian , not as a Savvy/Myvi owner. Because I was arguing about the protection Proton gets all the time , and was never in the Battle between Savvy/Myvi. But I gave my opinions about those two prior to this post.
Good day.
"DAN said,
September 7, 2005 @ 12:59 am
neurra said,
September 6, 2005 @ 6:27 pm .
tiorra. u talking like u Owen Malaysia by your self. no wonder proton not improve will in 20 years course have people like u only know how to eat n shit when need it. we support Malaysia car industry not only now. we r paying a tax to government to improve n back to us to get better living in owe country.
we not encouraging them to sale a shit to us, so do u 1 buy a shit.
if u 1 to support your own kind ! see your self in the mirror first n grow up dont b spoon feeding. dont used other people resources to do a thing then u proud of is a national car!. stupid kind make a stupid thing out. "
I think I sorta get what you're saying , I'll interpret AFAIK.
Proton which currenly produces Shi*ty models are the result of us Malaysians getting spoon-fed by Shi* from Proton (as in low-quality stuff , lousy rebadging and build quality etc.) We , as Malaysians , should give them appropriate feedback as to improve Proton. We should also stop rebadging and name them as our national car , and we should only be proud if the National car is really a national product. And we are encouraging competiton as to improve Proton so that they don't sell shi* to us. "stupid kind make a stupid thing out" – Don't really get this.
I tried to interpret so umm, Correct me if I'm wrong.
Good day.
Any of u guys here has tested or drove both Savvy and Myvi? Feedbacks and comments will be much appreciated.
“stupid kind make a stupid thing outâ€
i think that's a racial slur
Now that you remind me , It actually seems like what you said 'Racial comment'.
Oh well… nothing I can do 'bout that.
aksMS , Yes I did test both of them. Absolutely loved the Savvy's handling and Jet-imitation sounds, speakers are so-so, but the Gears were a bit troublesome at first, not that I get to drive it for a long period of time though.
Myvi? Soft car but no soft body. Handling is soft and steady, engine is tuned to be not as powerful as the Avanza , more spacious interior.(AFAIK)
So why did I pick Myvi ? Simple , it's because my mum can't drive a Manual , which my dad figured the car would be driven by her sometimes. Therefore , the Automatic version of Myvi is my choice.
SORRY I know this is a little off topic….
But i seriously wonder who named the proton cars. Its just so stupid they name it.
PROTON SAVVY…What the hack…..well the next model would be PROTON LEMBU, PROTON ANJING. PROTON KUCING????
DUA-DUA PUN BAGUS, MANA-MANA MAU BELI, SUKAHATI, TAKMAU BELI DIAM…….TALK TALK, AT LAST NAIK BASIKAL………
Thanks, eRis-Aeir4s. I'm tryin to gather more info on these 2 models. My dad is on the look out to buy a car for my sis. We talked about Savvy and Myvi because Getz is a bit too expensive for 1.3 despite the European feels and quality (really?). Anymore comments?
Yes , well I drove a Getz before. My dad's friend's daughter's car. Coz he took my dad's Accord as a Wedding Escort and thus let my dad use his daughter's Getz , It was a 1.3L Auto.
It felt …. Normal , Heck , It's interior was nice but if given a choice , I'd go for the Honda Jazz anytime. Power was adequate and response was good enough , Interior looks kinda crampy though , like the Myvi (Well , I was fitting a family of 5 into it so I can't really comment fairly here.)
But I hate Getz , well it's nothing to do about the car but…..
The day my dad got his Accord back , he was surprised to find the side mirror smashed away. No mirror at the side! The reason : A motorcyclist crashed into it , destroying the mirror instantly and injuring himself in the process of doing that. Cost my dad 1k to replace that mirror , which he later got back from his friend. Never knew that Honda mirrors are so expensive! (It was a Mirror from a 2.4i-VTEC with Signal lights on it.)
Damned Getz. (or just my luck that the Accord was my favorite..)
Dear FiveElements,
i totally disagree with your suggestion re proton lembu, proton anjing, proton kucing; totally inconsistent! more suited perodua, remember perodua kancil, perodua rusa, perodua kenari, perodua kelisa? so it shoul be rephrased peodua lembu, perodua anjing, perodua kucing; nice isnt it? consistent and nice!
;-)
;-P
Knowing that all cars have defects, just how bad and how the manafacturer go about handling it. With those possible problems listed on top on the myvvi, I'm sure many buyers will beware…..
However, there's a difference between "possible" problems and "probable" problems. While Perodua (probably with heavy arm tactics by Toyota to make sure Perodua improves) acknowledge and addresses the problems, I know the "standard" answer Proton would give, "Leh…. ini standard la!!!" Imagine they say "Standard la" like it's actually a feature.
That's the diff. With Proton, the standard operative word here is "Probable".
I'll take my bet with Myvi….. SIGH… unfortunately I'm stuck with a Proton with 2 years repayment to go…. If only Myvi came 2 years earlier.
savvy sold only how many unit? myvi how many unit? for example if myvi sold 1000 unit. savvy only 5 unit not enough people to give comments if savvy reach 1000 unit i think more n more complain will appear. wait n c until the savvy reach the sales like myvi……
Some people ciritcise people like me, for criticising Proton. Many don't realise, only through criticisms, Proton can improve. Whatever credit it deserves for the last 25 years are negated by ALL the flaws in which we are paying a HECK OF A LOT MONEY FOR.
Come one guys, in a free market (where no heavy taxes are imposed on other car brands) and market left to compete with each other, where would Proton be?
1) Close down. Bankcrupted and run away with your deposit money
2) If good enuff, bought by other big car manafacturers
3) SELL CHEAP CHEAP LA… must be like half or 1/3 price of the same range car of other makes. ie. real live in UK, Australia and every where else that have Proton, other than Malaysia, then can compete la.
I am a consumer. I work hard for my money. I demand quality, quality I'm not getting from Proton because hey, I have no choice, other car makes are price too high, why, so Proton can sell….. Hey you're paying 62K for a Waja, 62K!! Any idea what you can get, dollar to dollar, 62K can get you in UK?
This place is perfect for anti-Malaysians to kutuk Perodua SAMPAI KE LUBANG CACING. Mitsu_galant_2000's blissful HEAVEN!
Wah… Tuning_Professional, I guess you look very frustrated. I know who is that mitsu_galant_2000. This place is perfect for him to KUTUK Perodua HABIS-HABISAN, until they bankrupt? MAYBE! Because mitsu_galant_2000 is an ANTI-MALAYSIAN! HE HATES MALAYSIA! Perodua, please solve the problem before mitsu_galant_2000 bombard you with MILIIONS of condemns!
Dear Paul Tan, what would you feel if people like mitsu_galant_2000 condemn our car companies HABIS-HABISAN? I'm asking you this because he has been doing the same old filthy, DIABOLICAL and EXTREMELY UNCIVILISED comments in your website. Pls reply me via my hotmail. Thanks.
Good job, Johnny Boy. Better give that to people who his work does nothing but KUTUK. Better give that to mitsu_galant_2000. Dia suka kutuk orang. Kalau dia kena kutuk, nak salah siapa? SALAH DIA LAH SAPA LAGI!!! NO CAR IS A PERFECT CAR! Special delivery to mitsu_galant_2000, the anti-Malaysian!
PROTON LEMBU, PROTON ANJING. PROTON KUCING????
Ini orang BODOH punya recommendation. Cakap biar pakai otak. Tuhan bagi otak SATU, BUKAN DUA! Orang bodoh guna ONE QUARTER otak dia! Proton takkan guna nama macam tu untuk keto diorang! Out of the logic betul!
FiveElements, I guess someone is angry with you. Those three names (Proton Lembu, Proton Anjing, Proton Kucing) does sound OUT OF THE LOGIC like what My_Fairlady_Z said. If Proton wants to use those names, they have to design the cars based on the names given.
PROTON LEMBU- A limousine with bull's horns on the bonnet, just like JBL's limo! (That wrestling guy, you know!) And a full armour plating, as hard as cow's leather. Bulletproof!
PROTON ANJING- A car with a noisy horn that sounds like a barking dog!
PROTON KUCING- A race-spec car that's as fast as a cheetah. (Unfortunately, this car is much faster that any cheetah. 350kmh!)
No comment. No idea what to say!
i got a bad and serious problem! anyone have this problem too? my coolent host is leaking badly! anyone know whats happening, please email me and discuss with me. ill be very appreciate!
my car agent already help me to sealed up the leaking part.. i drive it for couple days.. its leaking again goddamnit
Sorry aah, a slight break for the Savvy/Myvi battle aah.
Does anybody has a comment on Myvi 1.0? I got to know that you have to wait 8 mths at least for the 1.3, but the 1.0 can get so much sooner. Is the car ok or what?
I rode a my friend myvi and found out that the seat wasnt feel so good. Its like doesnt support your riding posture. And the rear seat feel awkward, it does not support all your thigh, only around 3/4 of my thigh. Maybe it is shorter or I am tall enough. Or maybe its just me because the Gen2 half bucket seat is way much better comfortable as well as savvy’s.
my brother facing a broblem with his manual 1.3 myvi recently.
the car coudn"t start – the foreman told him that the key signal was not syincronized with the comp. board. pls advise whether its tru or not and the maintenance cost b'cause the car was not under warenty.
salam kawan kawan..aku ni pakai myvi gak…kereta myvi ni bagi aku byk sgt masalah nya…dulu aku pakai rosak gear box dan sekarang ni rosak compressor aircond lak..bila minta claim denso tak nak ganti..sakit tul hati aku….aku rasa kereta paling tak bagus dlm malaysia yelah MYVI….bini aku pakai proton walau pun minyak hitam dah kering stedy lagi…myvi pulak baru pakai 1tahun setengah kilometer pun baru 25k..dah mcm mcm rosak meyesal aku beli..klu aku tahu myvi byk problem gerenti aku tak beli..baik aku beli kereta import puas hati..ni myvi dh ler mahal..tapi byk masalah..ini ke kereta yg org bangga bangga kan???fucking too myvi lah
Thank you you all for all the comment on MYVI, at first i am intend to buy 2nd hand MYVI year 2008, now i have decide not to buy and maintain to drive my kelisa-gear is manual more best…save petrol RM0.11/km only, now already 95,000km used and never give me any problem since i bought in year 2005. Best Regards Yomeche Yong 05Apr’11
nape ade bunyi bile kete jalan pad akelajuan 20-30 km/j
proton savvy problem power window.. low quality.. myvi better than proton
aku pakai myvi ok je,,,dah bape bulan pakai.. kaw ni yang tak ok… pakai kete aper pun sama gak…
stupid car getting more expensive but the quality parts is fair only..
Plz open the car market for "OPEN Competitionn"…. no need APs. Minimum duties.
Salam,
Hurm..i bought my Myvi 1.3 Ezi about a year ago. Since the 1st day i brought it home, its callipers were making horrible sounds. i managed to get them changed during 1st service, but the problem is just never ending. And now, Perodua issued a memo to all its service centres not to change any calliper (don’t know why).The only resolution is to apply silicone grease to the gaps at the callipers, but it is only for temporary (approx 3 months), reapllication is a must. And last time when i sent my car for service, I did ask for the grease to be applied but they said I need to wait, as they don’t have the grease stock. “It has been 2 weeks since we run out of stock”..I never believe they would say that..huhuhu..
Now, my radio bluethooth is having a problem. I can pair my handphone with it to listen to the music, but its handfree is malfunction. Whenever I’m in a phone call, i can only listen to the other party speaking while he/she cannot hear me. Perhaps there must be something wrong with the microphone. When i consult Perodua agent, they said they need to take out the whole radio unit for 2 weeks to have it fixed. Why can’t they just replace the unit? Its not my fault anyway and i have to suffer 2 week not to listen to my favourite songs. Totally frustrating. =(
My friend had a 2 1/2 years old Myvi Ezi and one night his car suddenly lost a considerable amount and the aircond stopped producing cold air. So he turned to aircond off and his car ran a bit better but 5mins later at the traffic light his car’s engine died with some smole billowing from the engine. He got his car started though so he went for dinner and then back to his apartment. The next day there wasn’t any pulse at all from the engine.
Since it was still under warranty, I told him to call Perodua up have his car repaired. Its being rectified as I type this
Jangan kuatir bro, penggunaan printer dtg sekarang semakin mudah. Teknologinya juga terus berkembang. Jangan ragu untuk menggunakan printr dtg. Selain efisien, mudah dan praktis. Terus semangat… Salam super!!!