Proton Waja Z Supercharged – 150hp

small_proton_waja_z.jpgUtusan Malaysia carried a report yesterday quoting an unnamed source that Proton would be unveiling a new Proton Waja model which would be equipped with a Kleemann supercharger system by the end of the year 2006. Utusan Malaysia’s reporters were given the opportunity to see the model for themselves at an unnamed place in Malaysia, and they took a photo of it.

Apparently the supercharged engine which we could all assume is the 1.6 Campro or the 1.8 Renault makes in excess of 150 hosepower, and the Waja’s suspension and brake system has also been upgraded. The Waja seems to have a new hood (Utusan reports this will be carbon fibre?!) and grille which looks like Volkswagen and Audi’s nose design. Abandoning the Alfa nose? Makes the car looks like a miniature A4. Other aesthetic changes include a new bumper, and wing mirrors which have signal lights on them. There is also a new logo which looks like a circle with a letter Z in the middle of it. Could it be called a Proton Waja Campro 1.6Z?

Proton head of Corporate Communications Yusri Yusuf declined to comment on the matter. Prices are apparently in the RM75,000 to RM80,000 range. Psst, by the way… since the logo has been changed to a Z, this might not even be a Proton, but a tune-up by a third party, emulating the business model of companies like Brabus or Kleemann doing up and rebadging Mercedes Benz cars.

Source: Utusan Malaysia

Satria Replacement Model to get Kleemann Supercharger
Proton Waja R3 rear wheel drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 3:51 pm

Proton Jetta R-GT lolz

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:10 pm

suzuki swift sport front bumper.. hehehe…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:18 pm

The waja has always looked like the Bora from up front… but i guess by adding this grille they can further strengthen the 'family look'. the grille looks unpainted, i doubt this is the final design ;)

• oversight (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:21 pm

the front look so horrible. can't stand look at it.ewww!

• rexis (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:25 pm

I rather have old perdana head with supercharger…

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:32 pm

Interesting to have an OEM Waja supercharged at that price. Hopefully the looks would be improved as the one shown is terrible. The wing mirror with signal lights must be the same one seen on the Lotus APX. Lets pray that its not another car that have to wait for years to be launched as it would be a pity then. Has Proton learned their lessons yet.

• KY (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:06 pm

my god, the front grill is ugly.

• McPadey (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:12 pm

i agree with u KY….look like tiara

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:18 pm

Hmmm..another old model..tambah tu sikit,ubah ni sikit..kasi power sikit..kata model baru..We not stupid la proton..very annoying la you..Even nak tipu orang asli pun susah sekarang ni sebab diorang dah pandai pegi sekolah..hahahaha

Anyway,paul you still make me waiting for your answer haa..macam takde respon jer..huhuhu

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:25 pm

Proton seems to be a bit aggressive now.. they realize the need to provide wider range of selection for the customers. however, is it necessary for a supercharged car whereby our highway speeding limit is only 110km/h?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Wah, tiger head logo now change to "Z" – "Zorro" of Bolehland with 150 horsepower! See see and look look end of this year whether it is really a horse or lame duck ………….. he, he, he, ………………

• raverus (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:44 pm

new body kit, special edition, interior change, limo-style it, sorry to say but i am just expecting more from proton. Some kick azz wow factor; impress me guys! I will glad purchase then.

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:09 pm

Joe Ooi said,

Wah, tiger head logo now change to “Z” – “Zorro”

Not zorro la joe..it should change zebra head..Why?zebra pattern similar to finish flag(black and white)..so..it finish oredi..hahaha

Just my thots only haa..:)

• whatsoever (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:12 pm

75k!! yes, i'll consider…….if the price less down another 25k

• stephenstreets (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:16 pm

Quite a surprise from proton, i thought as time passes by proton would reduce the cars performance to a bull cart, but now looks like some sort of redefining the brand is going on, anyway if proton pulled this supercharge150hp+new grill+ new Z logo,im sure most of malaysians would purchase it over other brands, say toyota,nissan. I mean RM75 000-RM80 000 for 150 hp sounds like a good deal specially in Bolehland

• d1sillusi0ned (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:23 pm

The grille looks photoshopped to me. Look at the top left corner of the grey plastic. It doesn't fit to the bonnet. Then again, nothing fits in a proton!

• bazet (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:34 pm

Waja resale value is horrible, 29K for Waja 2001(A) 1.6. Well this Type Z Waja will be quite special. Remember the C99 Wira 1.8 DOHC FIA Homologation version, only 2500 have been made by Proton.

1.6 Campro with Supercharger Kit will make the much needed lower torque available for Waja.

But anyway, I will not dare to buy Proton anymore.

Anyone saw any E46 99/00 Japan Spec 5 Spd Manual selling cheap…? I'm looking for one.

• Initial D (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:45 pm

duno true or nt……………maybe just sum crazy ppl doing n nt proton…….so no comment until further details r released……

Cheers!!!!!

• Neo (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:46 pm

Wow, a 150hp Proton Waja!! Proton seems to "understand" the market need. Putting in supercharged engine, change the grill and bumper plus the interior, what about safety features?? Any upgrade?? Can't imagine when this type of car involves in a high speed crash. Semua hancur. With that type of price tag, it sounds affordable. Dear road users, a lot of Ah Bengs can afford this car and, God bless us.

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 6:56 pm

150hp? Who are they trying to kid? With so many chopshop mod cars in Bolehland, they think they could pull out this one? Give us more! Even with the Kleemans Supercharger, I can guarantee, still can "kene tapau" by old VTEC. So kedekut one. I think they could actually squeeze another 40-50 horses out of that Campro.

Anyway, I agree with you lah raptorclans. I thought I was the only one. I don't think the headlights + bumper area are coincidentally similar to the Bora. You guys can check out the Bora on the net and make the comparison. By the way, found some nice bodykitted Bora. Sure nice if "kawin" with Waja. Hehehe….

• oversight (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:14 pm

alo reddevil, if you want questioning about necessary; of couse not la. then you can buy normal waja la. you should ask people who bought evo and skyline la; why they buy if they know our speed limit is 110 km.

• blazer (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:27 pm

"""McPadey said,

June 7, 2006 @ 9:12 am

i agree with u KY….look like tiara"""

Dun insult Tiara…Tiara look much better…ahhaahahahaha

Well, for the price of a car with 150hp i'll say it's reasonable.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:35 pm

eh why the whine? this car is a good thing. I'll be waiting at the srapyard to salvage the kleemann supercharge. the kit probably cost Rm15000 already hoho

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 7:47 pm

If I am not mistaken, the current campro 1.6 is oredi 147hp.. now 150hp.. 3hp difference, what’s so significant about that? Furthermore they want to increase the price more than RM10K?.. want to fool people around ka? VW's 1.4 can produce 170hp…What so super with 1.6 = 150hp?…But I welcome if they want to improve the suspension system, since many of my waja owners frens complained about the suspension….

Super craps…

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 8:10 pm

oh yeah.. i was mistaken, the current 1.6 campro is 110hp only.. now 150hp.. so big difference.. memang powerlah.. sure can go more than 200kmp… so goodlah… dasat ni.. looking forward for this one.. ini mmg for performance driver..

ps: I always wish to own affordable car that can roam safely at more than 200kmp.. just bring it….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 8:36 pm

for me . looks alot like the skoda Octavia Front..n i tink it should hav been more than 150..the waja chassis is actually a good very rigid one n can can take alot more power…bt hav to tink of reliability issues i tink..thats y its limited to 150hp…as long as its manual i dont nmind..our Perdana V6 olso produced 150hp n bcos its only in auto.neva felt like 150hp…bt i tink this is lighter and beter stil..turbo which means alot more torque.around 200nm maybe?

• jiun_sayz (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 8:42 pm

haha….

the car looks like some raceboy's experiment. but if it ever makes it into production,………..

Btw, heard that, Paul, u were chosen by NST to review the 8th Gen Honda Civic. I saw it in the papers today. So, i hope that u write us a good review on the car. I can't wait for the review to be published. Neway, happy reviewing.

=P

• gepochai (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:12 pm

the car looks plain ugly.

• gepochai (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:13 pm

with a price tag like that, i would rather buy a toyota.

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:14 pm

nak buat macam mitsu lancer evo ke hapa???

• Ricc (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:16 pm

Sigh.. I will definitely NOT buy this car, unless it is at 50~60k range.. The front look is so ugly.. and additional 3hp is nothing la… Wuts the point??

150hp, just marketing strategy…

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:28 pm

The original is already ugly, then the engineers said "Malaysia Boleh!!!", and made it even uglier. That's Proton, they take an old model, change the lamps, snap on new bumpers, rims, and then they release it as a new model or better yet, special edition la, limited edition la, exclusive edition la. Proton, just because you are stupid doesn't mean that we are.

• Randy (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:31 pm

Apparently Proton has stopped ordering some major Waja components from its tier one vendors. Are they cooking something for the Waja? I believe they are. So there are some truth in this romour…

• revver (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:36 pm

another scam from proton to fill up buck into their wallet under the name of RnD. Imposture Proton. Shame on you.

• 4wheeler (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:45 pm

whats the point of 150hp waja,u can get double the power if u buy a normal waja and slap on an evo engine it might be cheaper too.I really dont think that kleeman would rebadge a waja and why is this thing not under R3.but whats the point how much fun can u have in a front wheel drive waja.u know what just imagine the fun u can have if take that 80k and splash on a used evo 3.Now thats some serious fun dont u think

• 4wheeler (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:49 pm

whats the point of 150hp waja,u can get double the power if u buy a normal waja and slap on an evo engine it might be cheaper too.I really dont think that kleeman would rebadge a waja and why is this thing not under R3.but whats the point how much fun can u have in a front wheel drive waja.u know what just imagine the fun u can have if u take that 80k and splash it on a used evo 3.Now thats some serious fun dont u think

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 10:58 pm

Damn Ugly. Thats all i can say.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 12:14 am

yeah, u're right aksMs…

if u put them side-by-side they're not the same, just similar. an early reviewer did mention the waja looks like a cross between a VW Bora & the Alfa146… hehe

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 12:36 am

Aiya, copy here and there, cut and paste, copy copy, talk talk, then another working day, another week, end of the month get their salary. What to worry, rakyat ocntribute a lot to P1 expenses and profits!

This kind of modification, ah beng backyard worksho also can do, kereta potong also can do, you want front portion merc and BMW backside they also can weld for you, plus put in any engine you want. All just not more than rubbish.

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2006 at 12:41 am

Joe Ooi: on the contrary, developing a reliable bolt on forced induction kit to an engine that was not designed for forced induction is a pretty hard R&D process. not any backyard workshop can do.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 1:09 am

Paul – noted your comment, thank for the info, improve my knowledge so less "unsubstantiate" statements in future. So supersided my previous comment.

• ahoklah (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 1:31 am

Reading the comments, it seems like many don't like the look of the grils.

My conern is not about the looks but rather about the market. How many would want to buy a super charged Waja. They should instead put their money in improving the quality of the interior materials, after sales service and on new models. Maybe they can learn a thing or two from Naza.

• abe (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 1:52 am

is it the final dsign/product?. look weird coz of color tone..or bcoz of picture quality. the pic look shiny

well some people around here are 'over' bash the proton i think ..

• narrowband (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 1:57 am

What market is Proton targeting, by releasing this beast?

They're losing focus.

Money should go into R&D to produce good quality cars.

As far as target market is concerned, I think they're pretty confused.

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:06 am

Yeah.. let them release the beast… some people need it… there's a lotta hell drivers in msia… they know it.. & this one is for them… i saw quite many highly modified wajas… this one no need modification…. can drive like hell on kl-seremban highway.. i agree with some of us here, this wouldnt be its final look.. imagine if it all coloured black. the grill red… it will look like a monster…

ps:good news to motorheads & helldrivers…..

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:06 am

>>

I agree Paul, IF its reliable (thats a big IF). But so far we dont know how reliable it is, do we?

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:09 am

Paul Tan said: Developing a reliable bolt on forced induction kit to an engine that was not designed for forced induction is a pretty hard R&D process.

I agree Paul, IF its reliable (thats a big IF). But so far we dont know how reliable it is, do we?

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:11 am

Why my quote on Paul Tan posting using (>>) Symbols doesnt seem to turn out right in my first posting?

Can anyone please let me know how can i quote others posting? TQ.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:11 am

Ugly, looks more like aftermarket mod anyone can do.

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:15 am

wrap it with blockquote html tags

like this

• RCM (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:16 am

Waaa…Malaysia is blessed with sooo many CAR GENIUSESS here..who know EVERYTHING how to make good cars, … Proton is so stupid not taking all of these geniussess here…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:46 am

hahahahahahaahahahahaha…really funla…when walter de silva designing the alfa romeo ….they copying the alfa front design in thier waja…now…when de silva in vw group studio…they imitate the design of audi and vw…???hhhmmm….idiotla this proton designer…plzla…dun imitate others…still look ugly but quite okla with the current one…

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:47 am

i'm more excited on the Satria replacement model than this tuned-up Waja…

• szw (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:51 am

get ready to sell da tune up parts 4 normal wajas , yeah !

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:05 am

only blind people say pretty… but hmm 150bhp not bad…

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:19 am

Z=Zero.

That must be somebody waja lah.

Production with such design…oouch…

Can it be boosting their sales???

How u guys think??

• gmtgoh (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:19 am

Wat happen to PROTON R&D? not working or no motivation or no recreation ah? Balik Balik Waja look only . Shame la!

• kai_grandmaster (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:44 am

do drop by at holden.com.au and hsv.com.au and see how australia's motor company, holden, recycles it design for years! for a new company like proton, a mere 20 years, doing that is still acceptable. do support our country's product or else how can we advance?

• kai_grandmaster (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:45 am

by the way i see lots of rebadged cars in australia. more shame on australian car maker than do proton. seriously. i respect proton more for their ever willing to go further.

• PGlang (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:59 am

Copy Audi and VW Passat front grill…Can't they redesign the front lamp to make it nicer!! What an ugly car!

• DAN (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 5:34 am

proton is like (penipu besar!) if like that better tell them to robing! n come whit government make a new law that all Malaysia citizen when first time to buy a car must …must only buy proton .. that better !.

it sin been controlling us sin import car been higher TeX n our national car that export is more cheaper than we have at our own country.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 6:45 am

Hehe… hv u ppl seen Top Gear clip reagarding the crash test for waja? 150HP for wat le… no safety features… normal waja already like tat… how bout big horsepower… macam roti nanti oh… and moreover… fuel prices are so expensive nowadays… n a supercharger for only 150HP… aduh… if its the limit then I can only say tat campro is lousy design… 1.6 for only 150 hp with a super charger… hmmm… well… who's gonna buy? another gimmick of Proton which got the wrong direction in increasing their market shares… will 40 yr old family guy buy this supercharged Waja to pick his family? will ladies buy it? I think the market is limited… only for teens aged 20 to 35 or 40… n moreover… 20 yr old kid cant afford to buy that price car… so the market aiming is in wrong direction if Proton wanna increase sales… hehe… It should make a proper family sedan n build it with quality n start selling… earning back ppl's confidence… not doing all these things just like a kid trying to make ppl saying… wa…. like tat… no use la… haha… even though its quite interesting sawing this waja….

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:02 am

EI!!! why my comments not appear… aiks… haih… write one more time… well… this waja, can say its going wrong direction again if Proton wanna increase sales volume… who's gonna buy? moreover that price… ppl who can afford it will be at at least 35 to 40 yr old if doing usual salary job… and if got family… who's gonna buy a supercharged car to bring his family… with large fuel consumptions… hehe… when got family, i mean usual salary ones… they'll think of buying an economical n fuel saving car to reduce expenses… a superchaged car need extra care duh…. n u ppl got watch Top Gear crash test video? the Waja's safety features are only in usual mode in ordinary waja… how bout this extra powered waja? still same chassis with same safety features? become Roti oh!!! haha… careful!!! it wont be good to increase sales… just to make ppl say 'wa….' hahah… proton should make a proper family sedan with better quality n better fuel consumption to let ppl turn back their head to look for Proton… Proton just can't listen to others' comments… they think they're so great that nobody can beat… I wonder they already learnt their lesson or not….

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:04 am

OMG, now I know why they want to ditch VW!!! They want to copy their design. Apparently they didn't do a great job in terms of design.

• mits27 (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:23 am

It is just another old car from potong…

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:05 am

[quote]Paul Tan said: wrap it with blockquote html tags.[/quote]

Thanks Paul.

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:06 am

no. the tag is blockquote, and you're supposed to use the normal tag, not the square tag

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:06 am

Errr,….doesnt seem to work, please help.

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:08 am

Paul Tan said: no. the tag is blockquote, and you’re supposed to use the normal tag, not the square tag

Hope it will work this time.

• MyBoy (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:21 am

wmzhaffran said,

only blind people say pretty… but hmm 150bhp not bad…

"1.6 Campro or the 1.8 Renault makes in excess of 150 hosepower" is hardly impressive. VW (the look that the waja try to imitate) own 1.4 TSI (supercharger-turbocharger hybrid) engine produce 170hp with quite amazingly flat torque curve of 177 lbft (maximum torque) from 1750-4500 rpm, while from as low as 1250 rpm it already delivers 148 lbft of torque. Thats what i called a promissing engine.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:28 am

no. the tag is blockquote, and you’re supposed to use the normal tag, not the square tag

Did I get it?

• shaif (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:10 pm

As it is not the final product of Waja, so the design should be more European feeling. As for market, of course its not for some people here, old man, ladies but it still has its demand. Perhaps it will be only one shot production like Satria R3. Only for pure pleasure and need for speed. Good job Proton for releasing another version of Waja to satisfy the crave of wajalution out there.

• rexis (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:55 pm

Wow many people want to talk about waja zorro

mmm, how many horses in the C-class Kompressor?

C180 = 143hp @ 5200

C230 = 192hp @ 5800

Both 1796 CC

• waimak (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 5:35 pm

To have supercharged engine is a good move but not in the old model. Furthemore, if it's the old models, its a bit too late. Proton should have done that a long time ago..

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:03 pm

JTshin, your comments misinformed. not trying to "taroh" you on purpose, but when you make comments like these, you are opening up yourself to being "taroh".

and if got family… who’s gonna buy a supercharged car to bring his family… with large fuel consumptions…

Many "family" cars today come STANDARD with turbocharging, and supercharging. Mercedes, volvo, saab, subaru…..etc.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:05 pm

please read what paul has said before you post..

OMG, now I know why they want to ditch VW!!! They want to copy their design. Apparently they didn’t do a great job in terms of design.

Car is NOT made, designed, conceived by proton.

• iblisz_petaka (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:49 pm

hey fellas at PROTON,

why are you all so stupid ahhhhhhhhhhhhh? dont understand what people are saying ahhhhhhhh? so horrible la you all. What happen there at PRTOTON? No idea? find some one with ideas lahhhhhhhhhhh? dont play2 with people money lahhhhhhhhhh! so tired of the old model getting the new facelift. how long you will be going like these? tidak lama lagi tutup PROTON. ada LOTUS technology tidak mahu guna. guna pun ciput2 saja. why dont you at PROTON fully optimize the technology at LOTUS. i'ven't seen the new LOTUS model recently. so stupidlah you all. it's right what YB Kinabatangan YB Bung Mokhtar Radin said about the GLC company. it was managed by those who are stupid and greedy.

From me who loves PROTON

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2006 at 7:51 pm

rexis: the C class engine was built for supercharging. to boost higher, you need to change the piston compression ratio as well as strengthen other components. the renault 1.8 engine (or the campro 1.6) was not designed to be force inducted, so you can normally only boost very low (0.3 to 0.5 bar) on a bolt-on forced induction kit, unless you do major mods like change pistons to ones with lower compression ratio and strengthen the block.

for example, the f4p renault 1.8 has 118hp in stock form. boosting it up to 150hp is pretty good already.

• foreverunited (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 8:04 pm

This picture is photoshopped. I got many of it. u guys has been fooled..or maybe Utusan has been fooled also??!

• alamak (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:05 pm

Car for rakyat should focus on fuel efficiency, not fuel guzzling..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:49 pm

TYS – Paul, this page out of alignment, who is the culprit?

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 10:52 pm

interesting, proton's famed recycling program is at it again. they forgot to add the neon lights beneath the car and a prestigious tiger emblem all over the car.

why not use the time and money to design a more competitive family car. the r3 projects are a total waste of time.

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:24 pm

Joe Ooi: could you email me a screenshot?

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:38 pm

topgunthang.. please read at least 4 or 5 postings above, or at least what paultan has posted. the car isn't built by proton.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:44 pm

Paul, Now at outside, camera at home, if still out of alignment, will take photo and Email to you. It is out of alignment after waimak – honda_driver posting (cover left side around 2 characters.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 12:59 am

honda_driver, that's my opinion. well, are those turbocharged cars' market big enuf here? I think now the market needs more economical fuel consumption car as the fuel price increased. This Supercharged car can be produced for those who like speed, but the market is not big enough to boost the sales volume of Proton, its not time for Proton to produce this i think.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 1:37 am

yes.. i understand.. thats your opinion, and you are untitled to make it. but sad to say. it is not accurate. ALL current volvos are turbocharged. and they are one of the most well known of all Family cars, malaysia included. Just because a car is supercharged, or turbocharged, doesn't mean its a fuel guzzler. You are probably thinking of cars like the EVO, Subaru, etc.. high boost, high HP pure performance cars.

Also, that supercharged waja, is not built by proton. even if proton built a car like that, it will be for a niche buyer who wants performance and yes, you are right, it sure wont boost overall sales. But, the regular wajas, and fuel economical savvy is still for sale…

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 3:58 am

Yup… n can u afford to buy a Volvo Honda_driver? Well, I know that many European cars now comes with turbo chargers… Is an ordinary turbo… right? which can let the car's engine perform better than the original ones. My point now is that if Proton wanna boost its sales, it shoould still produce a proper family sedan or MPV with quality so Proton can boost its sales again, if not, I really think malaysians are going to pay more taxes someday… to rescue Proton… hmmm…

• steelrage (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 4:59 am

ordinary turbo?

i live with my family.. and yes we have a family car… and its a supercharger..

in fact we've got two.. what gives? jtshin…?? notice all your comments about proton is all about bashing. before anything can happen… i'm not PRO proton or anything, but at least i won't comment on something i don't understand or know enough off… and what does volvo being turbocharged have anythign to do with affordablilty? i dont even see a relevance in that comment..

anyway, yeah the front bumper looks bit weird… somehow i disagree with the two vents at the bottom… maybe because i feel like it just doesn't flow with the profile of the front… but thats just my two cents..

your humble practicing designer..

steelrage.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 4:54 pm

Yeah… u're right… I really hv to do more research on turbos… lets just forget wat I'd said… lets just hope Proton can make a market out of it in Malaysia as turbocharged cars are more popular in Europe…

• sonia2chin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 8:37 pm

guysguys, just a few info on this. 1) car is not done by proton. 2) car is also not done by kleemann. 3) the pic is probably from a handphone so not not clear. 4) my opinion (because i was there) – it's very sleek and have a very fierce hungry look. 5) for certain market sector. 6) price could be lowelower than rm75k otr.

• pinoyrocks (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 2:29 am

hey..this car looks like the old japanese cars that were used in japan as cab..damn..sarao motors is better than this car! waheheh…

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 11:31 pm

Just look at the car shape first. Its kinda boxy and a lil outdated. So what can they do with it? Just think that grille and bumper looks ok on tha car. Just think how can they change the look of it because of the shape? Just my opinion la. I think they really need a major facelift soon and not just change the headlamps. Well for this supercharged kleemann, 150hp is kinda impressive. Think la, you guys want a 300hp engine in the waja izit? The whole car would split into 2 then.

• beduz (Member) on Jun 12, 2006 at 4:14 am

To all, i have told that this new waja is less then 60k…..

• WIRA (Member) on Jun 13, 2006 at 6:03 am

I feel weird looking our national car coming with so much of change in the design for the bumper and skirting…… when are they going to look into something like a better complete change? Waja is nice ….just that the interior and the front look a bit weird and i find it JELAk also

• mtay (Member) on Jun 15, 2006 at 9:40 pm

OMG not only is it fugly but i shudder to think what will happen to the ppl inside when it crashes… anyone remember what happened to the stock waja crashed @ 60mph shown on top gear?

Horrible!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 11:14 pm

testing, testing how to quote in paultan

Did I get it?