Proton GEN2 Black Interior

gen2blackinteriorjuru.jpg

The Malaysian market Proton GEN2 now has a black interior, as shown above in a photo I took at Proton Edar’s branch in Juru Auto City. The black interior was also launched in the UK. Looks much better than beige and silver doesn’t it?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mofo (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:55 pm

The "plastic" feel even stronger with these color..

Did they change air cond vent ?

• aswad (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:57 pm

it was a good efford from proton……

• Ralliace (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:17 pm

Hopefully it rattles less with this colour and a black glovebox should have looked good! Well done, Proton!

• desmo (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:27 pm

Look better then the previous color…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:50 pm

No comment at this moment. Have to really go to "feel" the plastics.

Proton should come out with good design, using good quality / colour materials, good fit and finish etc. plus exterior too of course at the very first place. If not, they always wasting extra time on minor changes or facelift the same model too many times. Not really good idea. They can actually use that extra time for new models planning, R&D and so on.

All the best Proton. Cheers.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:59 pm

well, definitely looks better for me…

moving in the right direction for proton…keep it up!

• kinwawa (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:06 pm

Only colour changes????? If they make the plastics softer….then only there's improvement …imho

• hazri99 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:07 pm

i think on end 2005 already change with this colour..

• syir1@porsche-centre (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:11 pm

It's actually the same…i took a ride in one of my friend's car and all i can say is that the color scheme is nice but the plastics are still the same like the old one….

• w_lighter (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:40 pm

Alto it makes it look better than wut it was. Its still doesnt change the fact tht the interior is still poorly design. Still hate it……..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:02 pm

the meter board like saga …. it is round aircond vent change to normal ??? it doesn't change much … new model pls …

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:28 pm

Yaa. look likes SAGA! WHY P1! Why no new and better design.. Yawn..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:33 pm

To sxe10r. The meter cluster still like current Gen.2 and aircon vent. for Gen.2 is rectangular shaped as it used to be.

• andre128 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:43 pm

BLACK CUSHION ONLY…

THE DASHBOARD LOOK LIKE NOT BLACK…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:43 pm

hmm, why no glovebox? colour changed only? nope, not going to buy it.

• ganz (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:08 pm

a typical comment on proton (esp gen 2)

-plastic feel product..

i think others used stainless steel for their dashboard.. :)

• piaa (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:12 pm

is there any improve from proton other then colours?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:19 pm

To ganz. stainless steel for car interior. not long all the occupants + driver become blind. too shinning – sun light shines the stainless steel. hahaha…. just kidding.

Since Proton are going to launch the Proton Gen.2 CPS, why not they just put on that model and enhance the interior design instead of just changing the plastic colour for this Gen.2? Right?

Cheers.

• DtG (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:50 pm

#

hazri99 said,

June 25, 2007 @ 10:07 am

i think on end 2005 already change with this colour..

Yeah, I have seen black interiors for Gen-2s for quite some time already, all of which have leather seats… It's not new but maybe they're phasing out the beige interiors completely now?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:11 pm

even the savvy changed their lower part of the dash which use to be biege.now its all dark grey…alot beter…easier to maintain

• gogo2 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:27 pm

proton should just roll over and die :)

• narrowband (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:42 pm

How about improvements/changes in areas less visual?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:59 pm

err i thought it got a glovebox?……but i dont see it here?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:10 pm

To Kei9. It's Gen2 not Gen.2 CPS. Why the still want to change since Gen.2 CPS is nearly here already. Spending too much time to make the colour look nicer? Please read my above post. TQ

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:31 pm

ohhh thats it……….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:34 pm

i hav some suggestion…if you want to make it look good yet soft…go for vinyl or leather to cover the dash and all the panels……..

problem solve……

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:56 pm

hahah… cool. :)

• san_j (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 11:18 pm

haih…still no glove box compartment…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 11:30 pm

better? not really…..

• waimak (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 11:47 pm

For me, these 3 things look and feel better: Steering wheel (last time there are rough edges and some part easily faded), the fabric for the seat ( now it's similar to the fabric found in avanza or p2 cars which is better than before) and lastly the black dash and door interior panel which is much easy to maintain (the previous version was too plasticky too)

• acbc (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 11:54 pm

I'm interested in the black seats. Anyone with new Gen2 willing to let them go?

• rabakshoe (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 11:59 pm

it is was pink i buy itt ! lol

still the same lah old platicky .. i dun feel the blackness

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 12:49 am

Yeahhhh, Pink……….Faggot………….Rules………..

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 2:33 am

better than nothing. but sometime nothing is better.

• szw (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 2:35 am

i agree with paul.

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 3:14 am

the color was available with some limited edition unit, with some italian/spanish football club? the gen2 dashboard design was never bad, just poorly built. if you want bad design, please take a look at kia spectra. eeewwww. the sharp edges in the hyundai getz can split a watermelon/your head.

but i always wonder a few things about the dash design:

1. whats the circular slot beside the driver ac vent?

2. why there is no OD button?

3. do they have passenger air-bag in the HLine model?

4. who gave the ok to beige interior TM or the lady in interior depart?

5. can you upgrade you in-car entertainment sys?

6. how come the sketch visuals of the steering wheel look so much better?

7. and lastly, who f#*k thinks drivers dont need glove-box, coin box, ticket holders, misc compartments, more than one pathetic cup holder, rear door power windows…. sorry, sorry.

oh, before i forget, does the samurai sword like handbrake have any advance safety feature or design rationale, like its derive from a parang from malacca golden days or something, since there is a wau grill.

can wait the new gen2 with a dashboard that i suspect will look lot like satria neo.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:41 am

maybe that circular thing for hand phone hands free device like in kelissa? I actually like beige/silver. Sometimes black can mask the stains

• acbc (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:45 am

Gen2 auto tranny has OD (it's called D). Since it doesn't have any power below the 3500RPM, I have to shift to 2 or 3 to drive it. On my VR-4, it has OD so, just release the button for 3rd gear.

Personally, I prefer to shift than to mess with buttons (u know, they tend to break).

• Coltrain (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:50 am

johanbey,

1,the circular i think just for design.

2.theres no need of OD button,since you can pull it to 3rd gear.

3.For HLine version there is air-bag for both side.

5.yes you can upgrade the car Head unit to others.

oh yah,it seem that u got big problem with Gen2 design.i also hate some of the design of the car,example the dashboard. But there no perfect things in the world,rite.

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:53 am

Definitely way better, cream interior is lame.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:14 am

YUCK!!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:26 am

ryan_foong80 y yuck? dont like the colour meh? or the design id juz simply yuck…..

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:28 am

YUMMY!!!

• transformer (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:16 am

the color change make it looks nicer than its predecessor!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:55 am

trial&error…….all carmakers got this…..

• leonardliew (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 7:29 am

The black interior is nicer than the previous one….. i think the dashboard there should change the design…. always the same just like everyday eat nasi lemak…. Waiting for Gen2 CPS and Waja CPS … hope this two car interior is different compare to the current one… All the best proton… Cheers!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 7:30 am

i wonder how sum ppl can feel da plastic and all before even feeling it and just by looking at da pics..great la u guys….sum1 ask why is da head unit in design such a way..the reason is many manufacturers hv opted to do such away to prevent theft…so it shows proton does care for its customers..hehe..even honda and toyota dont do this…secondly the design i personally feel its great untill other manufacturers begining to copy it….the aircond dials stacked together vertically is cool so even ppl in toyota design have copied it…check ot toyota yaris and upcoming vios…i saw i guy wrote is his review is sum website that gen 2designers hv copied that idea from toyota..so stupid…its protons original design..haha..but having no glove compartment and other storage place in weird..and unique…but stupid cause its not a sports car..it has 4 doors…but look on da bright side..it saves weight..prevent theft…hahaha…da seats r great but rear headroom is limited..but no car is perfect..and never will..so be happy that proton is responding to its customers…changing colours and upgrading its quality…hope they will improve more in a short time and shut all proton bashers mouth…especially those who really talk total crap and bullshit….

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:02 am

compared to other cars in the same segment, P1 using cheap looking material/plastic to its interior parts…not to mention the quality.

no wonder the cars wont sell well in Europe.

P1 has to do extra work and gives more focus on this. Cant they see the quality in other cars?

More quality materials are needed and people dont mind buying it even if its a bit expensive than the current price.

Then P1 can talk about competing with other manufacturers.

This is the truth and P1 should never deny it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:13 am

kei9 said,

June 25, 2007 @ 10:55 pm

trial&error…….all carmakers got this…

—————

Perhaps either P1 adopted this method, or you are damp ignorant about what is R & D! I definitely dare to said it is later because P1 also got R & D although it is crap.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:13 am

Emm… the air-con dials is a long time design already… i remember seeing it on a Honda DC2.. P1 just take and change a bit.. No one is copying in here.. Only cut and paste..

• johanbey (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 12:31 pm

thanks guys, thanks for the answers and help.

still think great design must be balanced with practicality and functionality.

you know why toyota is the world number one car maker? because they started by building car for the masses, when you have enough market share and cash to burn, then they bring on the supras, celicas, mr2 or even scion range. by then you can afford a few misses here and there.

so, no one says gen2 and neo is a bad car but you cant survive by just making car for 2fast 2furios ahbeng wannabes. cause ahbeng 10 years ago, would need to buy a camry or wish cause now he have an ahlian and little ahbeng jr running around the house.

gen2 misses out the vios, city, avanza, matrix, myvi, sephia, getz, kenari, not forgetting 2nd hand camrys, accords, sentras, previa, cefiros, corollas, civics etc etc market. thats a huge chunk of the auto industry in bolehland.

i will still put my money on the neo GTI when its out. since sold my avanza coz decided i want to be an ahbeng for another couple of years before i look for a previa or prado.

but for most decent drivers out there, sufficient cup holders and decent rear head room is a deal breaker to place a booking for a gen2 or avanza. lets you be at peace and pray the VW deal falls through, so we all can have our toureg and golf gti at our car porch. pray very hard

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 3:31 pm

a lot betterla than a beige color…

prem3377…

i hope ull read all d post from them…some of them already saw it in reality…so they know wut they comment….how do u know it is originally from the proton designer not toyota???im not saying dat ure wrong bcoz i dunno whether it is rite or wrong but do u gt a prove dat is originally from proton???btw…wut i saw…n dats d prove…proton already copied the dsg of alfa romeo in some of their cars…dats wut u can c..y??coz they copied the main character of the alfa romeo which is the nose dsg…u know dats an alfa romeo character n ull notice it when u c it…i dun mind if proton wants to copy other dsg but not obviously n nt d main character of the other cars…if dats a good 4 them…kalau nak copy tech frm other then adjust cket…okla tu…n btw…there will b ppl alwiz comment n bashing…even top marque like merc n bmw also…ppl nt stop comment n bashing them…so…in d future kalau xde org comment n bashing proton…dunie terbalik ke??ok…cheers..

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Dear Prem3377,

'but stupid cause its not a sports car..it has 4 doors…but look on da bright side..it saves weight..prevent theft…hahaha'

– I don't think this is a justifiable argument. First you said it's not a sports car, then you said it saves weight. You're mocking your own intelligence. Hahaha…

'the aircond dials stacked together vertically is cool so even ppl in toyota design have copied it'

– I don't think you know much about cars before the 80's. These were outphased by horizontal dials later due to boredom. Hahaha…

BTW people don't bash for no reason. Proton seems to cheat Malaysians with their quality for 20 years, and you seem to like it. People like you only come up with excuses like "da seats r great but rear headroom is limited..but no car is perfect…". Maybe I can slap you in the face and say "ntah apasal aku baru tampar nko, takdir kot"

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:47 pm

the interior parts still look and feels cheap compared to other cars in the same segment…that is very, very, very disappointing.

P1 has to give more focus and put more effort in upgrading its quality of work and material used for its cars then people wont argue anymore.

thats the truth…

if the quality is there, i think people wont mind spending extra money to have P1 cars.

• farghmee (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:55 pm

hehehe…xkesah la sape tiru sapa :p

tp I really like the Gen2 dashboard, very driver oriented, I think :)

nk bli kete mahal2 xmampu, so try enjoy what U can afford to.

P E A C E ~

• megadisc (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:03 pm

aiyoh…

no difference leh . . .

• xstan (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:25 pm

Hey..I tot the design is already available for Gen 2 launch early of the year. This is not Gen 2 CPS version. Its the existing design. Probably its not for gen 2 sedan as well. W'll just wait for the new interior design for Gen 2 CPS launch soon by on 22nd July 07.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:36 pm

my goodness, to someone please! don't simply bash and bash.

dark grey or beige colours doesn't matter much! it's all depends on individual.

dark grey also need cleaning because very visible to dust and small particles.

beige also need cleaning because very visible to dirt and dark particles.

so why think this and that? both colours also ok to individual needs….

i don't understand why so much nonsense comments. anyway really funny to laugh about. hahahaha…..

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:24 pm

the dashboard P1 got the design from a Lotus car..i saw it in the Top Gear magazine yesterday..very similar design…and no wonder.

other parts, i guess P1 just mix and match from other car models just like what we have in waja.

• hazri99 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:51 pm

remember pertronas advertisement.. ''what wrong with made in gombak?'' we should believe with ourselves.. already 50years.. proud to be malaysian..

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:56 pm

I think paul should label this as dark interior, as opposed to black, what i consider real black is , satria SE's interior, truly look dark

• waimak (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 7:28 pm

Prem3377,

I think those who commented on 'plasticy feeling' on this must have experience the actual thing for themselves. I myself have driven 2004 gen2 as well as 2007 gen2. Both give different experience.

• ganz (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:10 pm

keep on going.. love to read all this..

when it beige color some say it dull

when it turn dark some say it look stupid

when it as horizontal air cond panel.. some say copy from honda

when it is with dial function, they said that old fasion

when proton car caught in fire while on the drive.- they say no safety

when others manufacturer having the same problem, no it just isolated cases

when the car is underpower, they said that the proton engineer stupid..

when the car win over their counter part arc rival, they said that, the arc rival car is for family used not for racing LOL

when this car crash..and the structure still ok.. they said.. LUCK

when the other car crash and the structure totally out.. hell nobody will survive in that crash

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:39 pm

Hi blogster:)

Haha gang,another bashing and another supporter:)

About OD,it’s worth to fit in if ur r speeding above 110km..if not,no need lah..just do the shifting manually..a lot better for putting a cruiser button,it’s better for long distance traveling:)

For the issues try n error,P1 already done it..if not,No CPS or else come up..

Hmm…about the interior that similar with saga,don’t u all think where the new saga got it interior design:)..think carefully b4 make a statement..

To kei9, vinyl n leather..good suggestion,hopefully P1 will read this..fitting to their upcoming cars..

but,we need the plastic too..so consumer can do a choosen,either plastic or vinyl..it’s affordable for the low salary buyer..so..make it 2:)

that’s called “Kerajaan Rakyat”:)

And who’s make a copied..open ur eyes wider n see carefully..there is outsider car maker trying to follow our design..;)

and as a fact,there is a website for posting ur concept car design..and there is a few from our rakyat sending the sketch..this is a website that will inspire a car maker,then made them to choose it as their upcoming car design..

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:42 pm

So..no wrong with Malaysian made..celebrate our 50:)

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:44 pm

ganz,

i totally agree with you!!thats malaysians mentality..they seem to forget that proton is one of the youngest car manufacturers in the world and need to learn alot.if we kutuk our own makes like this…how can it sell in numbers man??everyone do agree that proton does have quality issue but measures hv been takes to help improve it..so chill man..

people say proton dont care bout what customers want..now they are showing they care…responding to logical and acceptable complains so wait till they come out with new products.many car manufacturers are from developed country so they have great r&d power and manufacturing capabilities to produce good cars and quality finish and great people to support thier products!unlike malaysians.toyota,honda and most of the japanese makes have 60 years or more experience in their automotive industries..proton merely 22 years…so what can u expect…waja was their 1st model..ok mistakes made..so gen 2 came out…quality and problem wise..gen 2 made significant improvement over waja..and savvy was given to TUV to check thier quality..n then neo was kinda good and even da die hard proton bashers couldnt complain much..so da next model will be better..and proton has responded to their customers..so i m looking forward for the next model…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:53 pm

LittleFire85,

is this the honda dc2 u mentioned?(da 1st link) the aircond dials are not stacked vertically k??

click the second link…check out toyata yaris dont u think the the aircond dials are similar to proton gen2?

http://www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1993230&a…

http://www.automobilemag.com/auto_shows/naias_200…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 9:07 pm

razor_clawzz,

i dont think car before 80's have any elctronics dial..maybe the old fashion switch which is still used in wira..

i am trying to be sarcastics here for ur info.haha..

‘but stupid cause its not a sports car..it has 4 doors…but look on da bright side..it saves weight..prevent theft…hahaha’

raybrig85 ,

i tink i have got a prove..check my comment b4 tis..check out da link..see how toyota yaris copied the design of proton's gen2 to aircond dials!!

and yes proton did copy alfa's design cues…but which automotive company dont tiru meniru nowadays man??toyota pun tiru,honda pun tiru,chinese car manufacturers even worst!!!!!so chill man…now proton already stop…even their handbrake handle pun very different from the rest..hahaha

bout the plastic…most car manufacturers use plastic…so if willing to pay more..we can suggest proton to use leather…

• zreen (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 9:11 pm

i also agree with u ganz..

• xstan (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 9:42 pm

Well well said Ganz…eer no well Rap, dude. Can rap along & bring the message accross. Cool….c'mon rap along again:-

keep on going.. love to read all this..

when it beige color some say it dull

when it turn dark some say it look stupid

when it as horizontal air cond panel.. some say copy from honda

when it is with dial function, they said that old fasion

when proton car caught in fire while on the drive.- they say no safety

when others manufacturer having the same problem, no it just isolated cases

when the car is underpower, they said that the proton engineer stupid..

when the car win over their counter part arc rival, they said that, the arc rival car is for family used not for racing LOL

when this car crash..and the structure still ok.. they said.. LUCK

when the other car crash and the structure totally out.. hell nobody will survive in that crash———lyrics by Ganz.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:04 pm

Dear Prem3377,

I didnt mean to be at all offensive ok? I was being logical. Yes so car manufacturers tiru here and there, and we all could be proud of Proton. However they made a mistake by taking the Rakyat for granted i.e quality and safety for many many years, not to mention the MASSIVE protection it gets and the money being spent into this. People would've be very proud of our national car manufacturer. So what's your take on this?

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:12 pm

biasa la tiru sikit.. taknak tidu langsung.. kena la buat arcond bentuk durian… handbrake bentuk ular.. so sama sikit-sikit kira ok la. kalau betul la copy, dah lama proton kena saman.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:23 pm

xstan, I like that. :) But keep it cool.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:27 pm

can anyone put a post / topic about truck / pick up? might help Joe Ooi to get his new car as Toyota Hilux is one of his shopping list? Don't always Proton please as I read many "war" here already. Have to cool down a while. Hahaha…. Cheers to all.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:40 pm

JOE OOI – CAN WAIT FOR THE NEW D-MAX…..

• kody (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:08 pm

wahlaueh,

————————-

Prem3377 said,

June 26, 2007 @ 12:44 pm

people say proton dont care bout what customers want..now they are showing they care…responding to logical and acceptable complains so wait till they come out with new products.many car manufacturers are from developed country so they have great r&d power and manufacturing capabilities to produce good cars and quality finish and great people to support thier products!unlike malaysians.toyota,honda and most of the japanese makes have 60 years or more experience in their automotive industries..proton merely 22 years…so what can u expect…waja was their 1st model..ok mistakes made..so gen 2 came out…quality and problem wise..gen 2 made significant improvement over waja..and savvy was given to TUV to check thier quality..n then neo was kinda good and even da die hard proton bashers couldnt complain much..so da next model will be better..and proton has responded to their customers..so i m looking forward for the next model…

—————————————–

Hi Prem bro, i have some comment for you,

i do agree that P1 still young in term of their years in automobile industries. But this is not a really solid excuse (for me), the auto & manufacturing environments now have change tremendeously/exponentially & the improvements shall follow/ catch up the trend. Can you really say an engineer with 10 yrs of working experience in a particular field still not better or equal to a 20 yrs experience engineer? In technical wise, there is some saturation point (mature) then grow slowly… this P1 just keep in infant stage for too many years than others. They are forced to grow up because of market shares drop.

TUV just apply for their MANUFACTURING PROCESS QUALITY. Not really for the quality of the materials used. TUV will just cater for safety spec, calibrations, international process standards, requirements & etc… but it will never care if you use cheap plastic on your product. P1 just use it to cheat customer for their 'quality improvement'. In other words, just reduce defects in manufacturing process, vendors can't meet the process standards will be eliminated. But, remember the cheap plastic still use to build the car…

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:12 pm

never mind…

just hope that there's no negative comments anymore…

hopefully, the cars are gettng better and better each production…

hopefully Top Gear and Fifth Gear won't give bad rating and comment to P1 cars anymore…

sick and tired to hear that anymore…

• ganz (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:32 pm

xstan…

just a whispering sound of a "proud owner" of GEN2.. with (let say, mmmm) FEW problem still unsolved..

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:35 pm

i agree with Kody about the TUV….

thats why cheap plastic is still used by P1

dunno when they are gonna change it…

• crackho (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 12:10 am

When they limit the choices, people complain no choice

When they create variety, people complain not enough

When they come out low price, people complain not cheap enough

When they use cheap material, people complain not good enough

I really hate to be Proton right now…

Hey Paul, when will the sequel to the VW-Proton tie up story gonna begin? Reading about people expecting Proton-Priced-German-Car is quite entertaining……

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 12:23 am

Prem3377 said,

June 26, 2007 @ 1:07 pm

i tink i have got a prove..check my comment b4 tis..check out da link..see how toyota yaris copied the design of proton’s gen2 to aircond dials!!

==hi mate, the aircond dial of yaris is not copied from gen2, for ur info.

the aircond dials has been used long time ago, even before 1980's. check out the Alfa Romeo Alffeta 1980 or earlier. that claim is very misleading.

Please be specific that it is following the design, trend, looks. and it's not copy! unless it is china chinese make that do have. ok?

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 12:27 am

moreover, the arrangement of the aircond dials is not new. please check out other makes.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 1:05 am

dear razor_clawzz,

i do agree with you…but the blame should not be entirely on proton..its the G fault…they always take rakyat for granted..they do things as they wish..even people in proton wont know who their future patner is!!you must have ambitious and highly motivated people in proton and also national leader someone like tun mahathir!!

we borrowed technology from mitsu just to jump start our outomotive industry..it was a brilliant idea back then!!when proton started making some money they bring good leader..ceo like tengku mahaleel and etc…they then built modern r & d structures,advance manufacturing plant and etc..even discovery channel showed how advance our manufacturing plant is!!then we spent around rm 500 million to produce over very own car and engine..bought lotus to help us..bought mv agusta to help us…so proton was going on a right track…quality was an issue..because proton were force to get parts from vendors who hv close contact wif politician and all..they dont give a damn bout quality..they only care bout money..since proton is a national company they dont really have any power unlike perodua who is controlled by japanese..thats the reason perodua is doing much better than proton!!politician control proton..thats y they change da ceo of proton!!so da new leader can have control…sold mv agusta for rm 1 say its the reason proton losing money…but why are they still losing money after two years??so the fault is not in proton…its da country…people who dont know how to manage da country..so we are the victim as always…the tax is just for the G make money and bullshit us saying our country doing well,strong against US dollars and etc…which is just a gimmick..because our money is still the same compared to sing dollars,pound.euro and etc..so its US dollars which is getting weaker..haha…so again we are da victim..rakyat is this country always become the victim..no matter what wrong move da G does!!!so if u wana blame sum1…its not proton…its the country..the leader and the people!!sorry if i m crapping too much..hehehe

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 1:20 am

kei9 said,

June 26, 2007 @ 2:40 pm

JOE OOI – CAN WAIT FOR THE NEW D-MAX…..

——————

If I change to pick up truck like Hilux or D-Max, first thing on the "wish list" is "smoke out" lawn mover Savvy, Later Waja that I presently use may come second. Ha, ha, once and for all don't need to open door pay tol.

Come back to topic, my view on the colour of interior is a matter of individual preference. Even put in white colour, there are still buyers out there!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 2:13 am

I'd like to say it doesn't matter how many years of experience a car manufacturer have to become good. Just look at Lewis Hamilton, this is his first F1 year career, but already now leading the championship points against other more experienced drivers like Alonso, Kimi, Massa, Coulthard, Button? Sure, you can say he's lucky he got the best car out there, or cuz his turn to make mistake hasn't arrived (including me, heheh) while all other drivers have made a mistake or more in the previous races, etcetcetc, but the fact of the matter remains that he's newer than the others, and he's better than them, why? Is it because he have 200 years of experience n other races other than F1? Or he's just plain focused in his career and thus gets what he deserves?

P2 is much younger than P1, bt of course, any cheapskate can be successful if they just use the cheap tactic of copying other people's car, including P1 in the past. All they need to do is just make sure QC is top notch n all the SC treat customers wit a smile. Bt the fact of the matter remains that P2 is now the no1 local car manufacturer now.

In the past, Proton even had time to boast themselves as the "BMW of Asia", or barking at ideas of them needing a partner (they turned down Ford's and Rover's offer to have a partnership before), lied abt Campro having the Cam Profiling thing, blabla but I guess now, under Syed Zainal, they seemed to learn the value of time, how much they're behind to others, and the need to catch up against the rest. Never, have I felt Proton been this hardworking before, so I would like to believe Proton is serious to change themselves. Nobody's perfect, but so long I see Proton is constantly "doing something", so long I believe Proton still have a hope to reach a level that was once considered impossible with the help of the Germans, hopefully.

So really, it's not a matter of how many years of experience one have, but how much effort is put at one time. Else, Mercedes is eternally the no1 car manufacturer in the world, Monaco is eternally the best F1 track in the world, Coulthard is automatically the F1 driver's champion year after year.

To the bashers out there, if u have the time to come here to bash Proton, I suppose you'll have the time to work harder and get yourself your beloved Toyota, Honda, Mercedes, BMW, blabla. The readers here, I believe, have no need to listen to your experience of seeing double standard in manufacturing cars, or ur pw constantly fail, or your dashboard is hopelessly unrepairable anymore. We hear that all the time, absolutely everywhere. In fact, I suppose they're more pleased to hear how your BMW's exhaust make excellent soundtrack, your Mercedes makes you feel relaxed blablabla.

• ariefin (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 2:14 am

I have seen the dark interior in the Gen2 sold in Indonesia (we already get the facelifted version of the GEN2). In contrast of what I thought earlier of the GEN2. I am very dissappointed with the quality and detail of the plastics. It is utterly horrible and nasty, I don't know why I should buy this car. I did before consider buying the proton because of its cheap pricing, but have now reconsidered. The Suzuki Karimun Estilo (ex Maruti Zen Estilo aka Suzuki MR Wagon) which has just been launched in Indonesia has much better plastics than Proton.

Wondering how come the Indians can get better plastics than M'sia

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:38 am

You got the point. :) Cheers.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:40 am

Yeah, Transformers fever hot again after my so call creation in this blog. Hahaha…. Sorry mr. proton, kei9, tec96248 and for all the protectors. Too busy so no time to online. But now I’m here. Not only about PROTECT vs DESTROY or LOVERS vs BASHERS or WIN vs LOSE.

To become a successful person we must always think WIN WIN. You win, I win everybody wins. So if Volkswagen and Proton’s meeting successful, then they think WIN WIN. Volkswagen gets the facilities from Proton to assemble their cars for Asean markets as Proton factory = Toyota factory. Then Proton gets technological supports from Volkswagen.

If you don’t want Proton or our government using the tax payers’ money to help them, you must think WIN WIN, that is make sure Proton success so our government NO NEED TO PROTECT Proton anymore.

LittleFire85, if VW buy Proton, VW = Protect as what VW did to Skoda and Seat. Now both companies which under VW management doing well, so much better than before.

However, if the meeting between Proton and VW end without any understanding then is because one or two parties don’t agree in something. Both parties get nothing so it’s more like a LOSE LOSE and not WIN LOSE or WIN WIN.

• F430CS (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:28 am

actually, it is not bad.. but .. yeah..as many ppl have said, plastic.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:44 am

im actually not PROTECTING OR DESTROYING……

I'VE GOT NONE…THATS BETTER..

• Jay (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:00 am

LOUSY CAR NO GLOVE BOX ! WHERE TO HIDE THE PERSONAL ITEMS ? IN THE BOOT ? WHAT A POOR DESIGN !

• p1basher (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:15 am

life is not just about win win or lose lose, we cant really separate someone as winner or loser, protector or destroyer ..sometimes it's still too early to determine whether the deal is win win or lose lose for a short term..but if the management are clear about their objectives, they should know what to do and how to do

• nocrid (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 11:14 am

The Unicons,

You are so true…

I am not sure if VW fellows are aware of what cancerous elements that are eating down Proton. Just by looking at the cars, sales and ALL the written stuff is not really that enough.

I think they should google some of the keywords in the internet:

1. Cronies

2. New Economy Policy

3. Rafidah

4. Power Window from Cronies

5. Umnoputra

6. Shitty power window from Cronies

7. Protectors In Denial (heheheehehehahahaha)

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:54 pm

to tokmoh:

y suddenly switch to f1 ler? seems weird for me.

i think most of the gen2 buyers are malay. only from my observation. most of the chinese like me does not like it because always hit the head.

i think this black interior changes from p1 shows that they have already got done some work just to cheat us that they are not fully sucking our money. btw, just only change the interior is just wasting of money, time, effort and energy. like throwing money into the salt lake sea.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:01 pm

#

nocrid said,

June 27, 2007 @ 3:14 am

The Unicons,

You are so true…

I am not sure if VW fellows are aware of what cancerous elements that are eating down Proton. Just by looking at the cars, sales and ALL the written stuff is not really that enough.

I think they should google some of the keywords in the internet:

1. Cronies

2. New Economy Policy

3. Rafidah

4. Power Window from Cronies

5. Umnoputra

6. Shitty power window from Cronies

7. Protectors In Denial (heheheehehehahahaha)

funny hahahahaz

Time for cup of milo~

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:17 pm

To Driven2020. I don't understand. That was not what I'm trying to say. Perhaps all my terms too "high tech" for you.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:22 pm

The Unicons said,

June 26, 2007 @ 8:40 pm

Yeah, Transformers fever hot again after my so call creation in this blog. Hahaha…. Sorry mr. proton, kei9, tec96248 and for all the protectors. Too busy so no time to online. But now I’m here. Not only about PROTECT vs DESTROY or LOVERS vs BASHERS or WIN vs LOSE.

==hmm……….i m no protector. i m a car lover and love automotives. transportation is an art of machineries. hahaha.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:22 pm

To nocrid. Sorry you too. That was not what I’m trying to say. Perhaps all my terms too “high tech” for you.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:24 pm

Actually, I'm just saying lah. We come here because we are car fans. That's all. Right?

• xstan (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:48 pm

Many still think the interior dash board as posted is for the latest model. As said its already available since early this year.

Just check out the probably new design version of the CPS version launched on 22nd July.

BTW, for 1 dumbS who tot Gen2 for one race, check ur facts..I'm chinese & so is few others. If ur loaded by all means go buy Honda, Toyota…meanwhile those of us with budget like that, I just hope Proton Improved. Never care the political aspect. I 'm certainly smart . Why would I add additional more than RM20K for cheapie model Toyota where I would rather used the cash to invest in properties. Buying a 2nd home. Moreover the RM20K diff can do wonders especially budeget for my car upgrade & effort for service & repair. Think about that…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 8:07 pm

Yup, xstan. I'm not sure whether you read my past comments in other topics here. Just like you. I just want Proton to do well as it is one of the car manufacturers. Not rebadge / car assemble anymore like Perodua, Naza and Inokom. Without Proton now, NAP, AP and high car taxes still will implemented because to protect Perodua, Naza and Inokom. Unless ask all companies close shops like some of you guys has said.

Do you guys really think government will do that especially Naza? You know what I mean….

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 10:12 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

June 27, 2007 @ 8:54 am

to tokmoh:

i think most of the gen2 buyers are malay. only from my observation. most of the chinese like me does not like it because always hit the head.

i think this black interior changes from p1 shows that they have already got done some work just to cheat us that they are not fully sucking our money. btw, just only change the interior is just wasting of money, time, effort and energy. like throwing money into the salt lake sea.

—————————-

I'm just making a comparison, since I raed a number of earlier comments abt "Proton oni 22years old, that's why so noob compared to 100000years old Toyota, Mercedes, blabla".

My point is, years of experience does not matter at all. Take a look in F1, a newcomer like Lewis can drive better than a two-time world champion, is it because he's already in F1 longer than the others? Nope, just as it really has nothing to do with how long Proton's been around the business, rather, what Proton do with the given time, how much effort they put in a given time frame, that's all. If they're lazy, they'll suck. Bt if they're serious abt being able to survive and to become a global player, they hv no time to screw around.

Chinese ppl all tall meh? I'm 169cm, bt I see there's a LOT of taller Malays too, and I do have a number of shorter Chinese frens.

W/e, I dun give a sheez abt "this car is for Malay, that car for Chinese, blabla". Thing is though, The main reason why Gen2 changes its interior colour is bcuz they know so many ppl are turned off by the horrible beige colour. Although that doesn't change the fact that it still feels like a barbie doll's house, at least black feels more soothing than beige.

• owaief (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 10:59 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

to tokmoh:

—————————————————————

==i'm chinese and i like the gen2….and in my area i see alot of "chinese" driving gen2s…so am i suppose to jump into conclusion and say that "malays" dont like gen2??

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Prem3377, do u know what is cut and paste? U can change it's positon as what u like.. Nissan serena also got long time ago… This design is a outdated design, is just P1 put it in our cars coz a lot of imported cars are not reachable to our peoples hand..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 11:16 pm

What is the meaning of cut and paste? and the meaning look alike? Never say the car is cut and paste if it is actually look alike. You only can see it at the chop shops and mostly are foreign models. ?????

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 11:23 pm

Nothings wrong because if you can not get something / parts in the market so you can go to the chop shops (2nd hand car parts shops) to find something you want as long as don't chop your car and welded it with different part from the car. Safety lar people.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 11:41 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

to tokmoh:

—————————————————————

WTF assumption is this..n cant be concluded..as my area is chinese population n many driving Gen2 so how is that?? haha..funny statement been made by un%%#^ person

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 12:06 am

dont make up things ……make us laugh……

• BKKC (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 12:37 am

Black, grey or rainbow color, the quality is still lousy. How can a family saloon comes without a glovebox?? Wierd. I drive a 2005 Highline Gen 2 (Auto)and I have been having problems with the steering. It will vibrate from 30kmh upwards. At first, I thought it was the balancing but after countless trips to various mechanic, still the same. Another thing is the sensitive hill sensing program and the engine knocking sound. Too sensitive. Sometimes at levelled road, drops a gear and won't changed to higher gear until the RPM goes above 4k. On the engine, there is a knocking sound when moving off. Seems like trying to move off at the wrong gear. I was surprised when told my the Proton service centre. They can make the sound go away at the expense of the enginer power. Means no sound, no power. Got sound, got power. Anyone have any idea or solution for all the problems I've mentioned? Please share. Tried to sell off but will lose a lot of money.

• mohkay (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 12:38 am

wat ever!!!!!!

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 1:58 am

yeah lo, no glove box, where to hide things leh? got to hide under seat and police will think that's drug or something, if u put in the gen2's ass hole, then u need to stop yah car and find yah thing…. haiz…….. this dsg cannot last long la, i think proton need to be rule by new blood or ….. bankrupt…….haiz…….

cars like this got no much use ma, y just the color change? things like this we can get it done by ourself lo, go buy some kedai hardware's paint , same result come out, u want blue? red? silver?etc…etc…etc…bla bla bla… put yah desire color.

Try launch something more usefull and berquality la, i rather spend a bit more money to buy a vios than g2.

1.somehow proton's engine is very very POWERRRRRRRRRRRR-less la,

try improve to around 130-170hp for a sedan 1.6 la

2.a-bag is compulsory for driver and passanger ma, how come only h-line got a bag and abs de?other than h-line no need safety meh?

3.stock car PLEASE don come with sime tyre la, this kinda tyre cannot use de la

4.try make big difference on xterior n interior la, consumer don want to buy a new g2 jus like 1st launch g2 la.for me , buy a old g2+restore=new g2 lo

5.something very useless in the car, thought ala bucket-seat looks sporty, but this is not a sport car, this car is a 1.6 n/a sedan 4 doors passanger and goods carrying's car la, haiyo……

6.plastic material is used on the 60th and 70th's zaman la,y turning back to the sixties?if want sporty look, try carbon interior la, i guarantee all youngster will buy proton if carbon build in(because of the quality)

7.v r malaysian la, how come malaysian buy national car also got high interest rate arr? toyota, honda,…… etc… how's their rate?

8.i beg proton if u can hear me, plz don do cetak rompak la, don't u guys notice waja's front cutting just look exactly like a vw passat? even the side mirror too.haiz……..~~~~~

i think that's all i want to say la, really disappoint with proton already,spending too much time on a useless pruduct,haiz……

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 4:36 am

yeah!!! i 1,000,000% support 1234567 & 8 point from sacker85!!!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 4:40 am

wat!!!! got chinese buyer ka???

oic. i feel very sad bout this coz half of their money got sucked into the G.

all of my relatives, friends and even colleagues has already stop buying p1.

perhaps p2 still got a few of them.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 5:28 am

What I can say, Unbelieveable. We got funny, wierd, laughter, angry, mad, polite way to express, using !!@@%%$#? word starting with f or s and so on also got. Very interesting. Like Astro commercial said "Macam-macam ada".

Please people, please wake up. You can express your comments and opinion here but please make sure NO BAD WORDS! Make this forum more like a dump site (rubbish) than about automotive industry.

Cool down guys….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:10 am

hey! The Unicons, you've stole my words! oh well

i just have to say this again(5 times already)

KEEP IT COOL Y'ALL……

HEY? i wonder wheres honda_driver done to…..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 7:18 am

I think honda_driver is testing his NSX for the GT.. Bromm Bromm.. Bye Bye P1! See u another year with ur P1 Gen.2 CPS running with us..

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 4:27 pm

#

The Unicons said,

June 27, 2007 @ 11:17 am

To Driven2020. I don’t understand. That was not what I’m trying to say. Perhaps all my terms too “high tech” for you.

______________________________________________________________________________

Wah even chuckling and milo oso less than 10 words oso kena comment.

Relax bro dun be so sensitivelah hahaha

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 5:19 pm

Come on Driven2020. The thing is that nocrid misunderstood what I'm trying to say that day and agreed with me. Then you think that was what I meant. So just want to make it clear. No offense. Cheers and happy motoring.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 5:33 pm

To Bro kei9. Sorry, I didn't mean to steal your word. Sometimes really can't stand when we actually can use good word to express our anger, comments and opinions instead of bad words. Right? All right, lets more on….

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 8:00 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

to tokmoh:

PTAllTheBest said,

wat!!!! got chinese buyer ka???

oic. i feel very sad bout this coz half of their money got sucked into the G.

all of my relatives, friends and even colleagues has already stop buying p1.

perhaps p2 still got a few of them.

—————————————————————-

as Malaysian, shame on u..

• neo2 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 9:43 pm

let's see … change of interior for Gen2 huh? Does it consider as facelift? Sorry, nope. Does it consider as a new model? Sorry, nope. Does it attract more buyers? Sorry, nope (Since "plastic" still "plastic", Gen2 still Gen2 what, only change in colour and air-con ventilation shape). Okay, so this what P1 can come up with? That's all after P2 hit the market with recent Viva, this is what P1 can conjure with? Sigh … don't worry, by 2008, when P1 has run out of cash reserve, let's just wait n c … how G is going 2 become the saviour of our "national pride" or the culprit behind national shame?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 10:32 pm

life goes on…………

paul…r u allowed ppls to use F**k or @#!$%^$!! ?

• xstan (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 10:37 pm

Bloody dumb Neo2 & AllTheBest ofBad. No nothing but talk rubbish..shows person of a young boy mentality. P2 is for Sissy …lah. Kept comparing with P2. Cant get the idea of a Guy driving P2 cars. Unless u r heairdreasser or ahKua I cant say much of u favouring of this mini cars.

As said the design u see is an existing das board design. Wiat for the Gen2 CPS vesrion & who said its a fecelift. Its upgrade of engine only..wonder if Neo still in kindergarden.

As for AllThe DumbBest..I wonder why Chinese buy Vios since u tot they are tall species. Dont u know they are for MIDGET. I'm 6'2" I hate Vios soooo very much since I cant fit in & yes I'm very well build. Why don u condemn Vios since it also gave problematic accesory problem & plastic thingy equal to kids toys.

Trying to say is don compare P1 & P2. P2 design is Daihatsu's. P1 is own & they cater ofr diffrent category.

Thanks Unicorn for ur advice..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 10:51 pm

You are always welcome. Let's move on to other topics.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Yes, Paul. I agree with kei9 too. Those who use BAD WORDS should be terminated meaning blocked them from this forum.

Please people, please wake up. You can express your comments and opinion here but please make sure NO BAD WORDS! Make this forum more like a dump site (rubbish) than about automotive industry.

Cheers and Happy Motoring!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:57 pm

u know..there maybe kids too in this site…….excluding me..still a stud….

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 10:04 pm

xstan said,

June 28, 2007 @ 2:37 pm

Bloody dumb Neo2 & AllTheBest ofBad. No nothing but talk rubbish..shows person of a young boy mentality. P2 is for Sissy …lah. Kept comparing with P2. Cant get the idea of a Guy driving P2 cars. Unless u r heairdreasser or ahKua I cant say much of u favouring of this mini cars.

==please think before u comment! where the hell u learn the P2 car is for sissy or ah kua or hairdresser to drive. look at the words u use, if in person i will make sure u swallow all alphabet by alphabet. it is a very bad and disgusting example u given, which u insulted urself too.

but now, i should laugh…….hahaha because of u commented others with backstabbed. hahahaha.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 12:20 am

#

The Unicons said,

June 28, 2007 @ 9:19 am

Come on Driven2020. The thing is that nocrid misunderstood what I’m trying to say that day and agreed with me. Then you think that was what I meant. So just want to make it clear. No offense. Cheers and happy motoring.

______________________________________________________________________________

What do you think I'm laughing at?

• Andreas on May 03, 2009 at 12:13 am

I have this car here in cyprus and its almos 3 years old but because of the heat of the inviroment the plastics started to pilling out !!!! I think they should put even more and better materials, also they should change that radio player of come out with a great idea of how to replace it…

• Gramj on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:57 am

The new black color is actually nicer than I thought it would be! The picture helps a lot. I thought it would be a lot more depressing to look at, but the black does not seem too dark or gloomy and could really be nice.