PM confirms Proton due diligence audit

Our prime minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi told the press yesterday that Volkswagen was currently conducting a due diligence audit on Proton, confirming the previous report by The Edge. A due dilience audit is ann investigation or audit of a potential investment which serves to confirm all material facts in regards to a sale.

It is important for Proton to be comfortable with its potential partner. And as soon as that is confirmed, then I believe we must tie up the deal as quickly as possible,” he said.

He further added that the introduction of the Proton Persona had nothing to do with the timing of Volkswagen’s due diligence study, but it does prove to the world that Proton is still capable of coming up with a superb product.

The Edge: Due diligence audit for Proton this month

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rosdi (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 4:18 pm

numero uno!

• indigo (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Persona superb meh, re-engineered only.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 4:47 pm

save cost……for the losses..

• ariff (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 5:02 pm

huh?

• happymeal (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 5:03 pm

superb product or superb marketing/brand awareness campaign? from todays newspapers.. it looks like the brand and creative ppl have more work to do than the technical team!!

• adunadun (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 5:20 pm

paklah, if you or ur assistant read this, please help proton to promote proton loh, i could see that u and ur team had a lot of oversea trip, so why dont try some luck to promote p1. all car brand in market not only depend on technology, their are depand of political strong also, then improvement come later, thanks my gov n paultan…muahh

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 6:32 pm

research and analysis of a company or organization done in preparation for a business transaction (as a corporate merger or purchase of securities)

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 6:35 pm

the pro of it…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 7:45 pm

i wish that volkswagen buy over proton,
    would u rather have a future proton that looks like a
    A. VOLKSWAGEN GROUP – VOLKSWAGEN, SKODA, AUDI, PORSCHE(that will be awesome)
    B. GENERAL MOTORS – CHEVROLET, DAEWOO, SAAB, OPEL
    C. A CAR COMING OUT FROM SOME OTHER MALAYSIA FACTORY

THE NEW PROTON PERSONA HARDLY IMPRESSES ME, GOD BLESS THE DING DONG FROM UNITED KINGDOM WHO BUY THE CAR(IF THERE WILL BE ANY)

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 7:54 pm

To indigo. For you Proton Persona is not superb, re-engineered only. However, you think re-engineering so simple? Many people will say “Oh, get the GEN2 and stretched it only.” NO NO AGAIN. All process have to go back to the R&D stage. Instead of cutting out the current GEN2 platform at B-Pillar section and then weld a piece of metal and weld back the rear end GEN2 platform, total redesign 1 piece platform have to be build and without effecting the strength of the car. such as if collision happen).

Anyway, back to the REAL TOPIC. I hope everything is going just fine. All the best to Proton and hopefully Volkswagen will be the one!

• kruzer (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 8:17 pm

No, actually Porsche owns shares in VW, and is one of the big shareholders. Not the other way round

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 8:28 pm

kruzer, w/e it is, Proton can still advertise a new model to be “my first Porsche”, hehehe. Or at least claim to hv same steering wheel as Cayenne, lol.

Well, things are lookin better. May VW’s takeover be a success then.

• GlowJo (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 8:42 pm

kruzer,
    Porsche and VW is same as Renong and UEM long time ago, last time A buy B then B buy back A. It just like a spinning wheel.

Hopefully VW will help P1 to accelerate their innovation, perhaps sub 70k car with smart LED headlight and IR driving assistance, ALS etc laaa…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 9:53 pm

JULIANLEE2, just cause you cant afford to buy a persona, doesnt mean everyone cant afford one also you know ;)

anyways.. i think its just what proton needs.. a bread and butter car. nothing fancy, nothing smart.. keep the price affordable and give all the basic features and sell as many as possible.. that should keep the company going.

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 1:00 am

#
    BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

August 16, 2007 @ 9:53 pm

anyways.. i think its just what proton needs.. a bread and butter car. nothing fancy, nothing smart.. keep the price affordable and give all the basic features and sell as many as possible.. that should keep the company going.
    ____________________________________________________________________________

True that. I haven’t seen the car yet though.
    A lot of progress and improvements seen from proton already. Hopefully they’ll work on their NCAP ratings next.

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 9:44 am

For me selling Proton share to Volkswagen doesn’t improved much on Proton itself.The truth is Proton can’t just survive in introducing lot’s of new model.The local market now is ninche by incoming forgein cars (included photocopy’s Daihatsu). What their shall do now is to expand their market, not just frequently introduce new model. As example Nissan doesn’t make much money cause they have too many model range before it’s taken by Renault alliance.

And selling Proton is also selling our PRIDE that has made by our former Prime Minister, which at the time this ‘essembled’ car manufacture can conquer British and Italian auto manufactures.After the stake monopoly by Volkswagen, Proton loss National car status, lost their developed technology from Lotus, leaking of info to ‘will be’ INVADERS, and don’t forgot there will be BUREAUCRACY especially in DECISION MAKING! Damn I don’t understand why this stupid current management want to sell this PRIDE?

All of you who SUPPORT the VW takeover will soon regret, after all INVADERS has conqured the technology,then there will be one day you could not even buy ‘lampu kalimantang’ cause the INVADERS don’t want to sell it to you…imagine this for FURTHER 50 YEARS AHEAD. No more MERDEKA..just on papers…dude…

• clutch_plate (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 10:45 am

Agree with Alifz opinion. The VW only interested on Proton’s Tanjung Malim assembly plant. You hope for a technology transfer ah? Hey, the VW just want to monopoly Proton by holding 51% shares on it. Believe me, this moron VW don’t interested with Proton actually, they just want to INVADE! :(

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 2:10 pm

ohhh…ur talkin bout history flashbacks now….. :(

• wong (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 2:29 pm

Alifz..u have a point there..I’m sure every steps is taken very carefully..Happy Merdeka Day!!

• khengyi82 (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 2:35 pm

This is just a stupid design and unsafe car, this kind of unsafe proton car no matter selling in UK or other country they did not stated it a malaysia car such as Gen2 just put Lotus-engineered precision handling people in UK will think of this product is from Lotus sport car company. what a stupid lousy thinking, this it means that if putting a malaysia car nobody would interested so they change it to put on Lotus-engineered precision handling on http://www.proton.co.uk/gen-2/ why they don’t dare to put made in malaysia car ? yes that the main reason. the lousy stupid proton just think of money money only does they think about safety ? or qualify ? simple come out a proton persona stated it a new car ? what the different Gen2 and persona ? is it look the same rite ? This kind of people work in proton prove that just think of money only. The lousy stupid proton does not care about qualify and safety because no matter how bad the design and quality there still have people buy it. and have gorverment support. so they no need to worry then just simple come out a model. people in malaysia don’t have a choice to buy a good qualify and safety car with the tight budget because gorverment tax 300% on imported car, such as a toyota corolla altis 1.8 in thailand was selling RM71K but in malaysia selling RM112 means the goverment almost tax RM40K. that why nowaday in the road have a lot illegel imported or stolen car even bank have lelong for those car that owner cannot continue the loan installment, this problem would be worst if the tax still remain higher. IF the lousy proton car technology, quality,design, safety is better then other imported car and every people in malaysia was satisfy then it should be no problem for gorverment to tax the higher with those imported car. BUT now it different way the gorverment SCARE people buy too much imported car don’t want to buy lousy proton car so they put the 300% tax on all imported car for protecting, this is what a stupid thinking. A lousy proton getting accident comfirn die inside the car. that why as i say people buying illegel imported car rather then buy a low quality,low safety, low engine power, low technology and low design stupid lousy proton car. Some car forum even stated the 1st unsafe car in the world ! every day car lost case will be increase day by day why ? because of stupid lousy hell proton car. In the end people have no choice may get up some illegel imported car or stolen imported car, soon and sooner this kind of car will be increase on the road too. WHAT TO DO ? WE HAVE NO CHOICE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• scorpicore (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 4:11 pm

I agreed with those against alliance with VW with them controlling 51%. For those who think VW will bring more quality car but also will cause the price to be expensive. Even with VW tech, to maintain the status of natinal car, the component of the future proton car still need to be sourced from local company…then it will be no difference like those during Mitsu-P1 allinace. Only those for export will have more superior quality…

I totally agreed with the point suggested that VW just interested at the P1 assets. Just look at the success of Toyota (Daihatsu) controlling small car segment in p2. They hope they can do the same like toyota in Malaysia, besides penetrating our market minus big taxes…more affordable. And even everyone think our market is small, please think again… Malaysia is the biggest market for cars in SEA. and looking at the numbers of Viva sold within few months only, 16 thousand!!

I personally think P1 doesnt need alliance from VW unless P1 will still have 51%..just like previous alliance otherwise they will end up as if they have just started from beginning…just like P2.

I think our PM will be able to sell our P1 cars overseas esp african countries and other 3rd world countries in view of good relationship created by our government.

P1 doesnt really need alliance to sell affordable car in the country, even if for export. Current management team need to work harder for that. And make sure you have quality vendors!!!

• tanasi (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 6:01 pm

kengyi82 so how the hell do you explain the price of the Mitsu Lancer 2.0GT at RM115k? Still you think G taxes Mitsu 300%???

Everyday people got killed driving Proton? You’re not so bright yah?

• transformer (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 6:21 pm

same as the banks that we had here, one merge with another to grow strong to resist invasion… but does anyone want P1 ??
    yes there are…. cronies eating up cronies….

talk about P1 “technology” or “technologies” ?
    and i couldn’t remember what “technology” or “technologies” that P1 has invented ??

i can only remember one, their highly creative “ABS” which means Advance Braking System.. instead of industry standard ABS, Anti-lock Braking Systems which are totally different animal…
    or maybe their “technology” in coolest Aircon around ? (its from Sanden and now APM)
    or maybe VIM and CPS ? (its from Bosch)

anymore ?

Open up for globalizations and Goodluck P1!

• Paul Tan on Aug 17, 2007 at 6:21 pm

khengyi82: proton has been ramping up efforts with their safety, for example the M-line persona now has a driver airbag.

lets not simply say the persona is unsafe until crash test results are released. it is this kind of baseless comments that are giving blogs a bad name in the press lately.

• transformer (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 7:04 pm

so sorry that the power of “new media” being scrutinized…

• adunadun (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 10:25 pm

I think ASEAN should change AFTA policy for car, The car product that enjoy tax exception should be car that that the engine owner was ASEAN company OR design also owned by ASEAN company. It should not received tax exception base on where is the car was built, but who the owner of the design. Since i think AFTA car objective should be to make sure that ASEAN will be producer n owner of technology , not the trader n the user only .

Actually ASEAN should cooperate with each other to produce car, train, MRT, helicopter,ship for our own use. This will benefit us in long run. we should catch up Korea n Japan.

• SY0H (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 10:46 pm

As’kum / Hello,

I see a lot of good comments up there and some are quite harsh. I’m very amaze with some Malaysians author/bloggers who have remarkable English-essay style writings, full-with-bright-ideas and strong analytical mind and yet they’re lack of two important essence in good communication; please show others some courtesy and respect. Do not throw your anger on us, we are not the ones who produce your P1 and P2 cars instead, you should educate us so that we would understand your plight too. Enough said.

However, I’m not sparing P1 from complaints. “They” deserve to be criticized for as long “they’re” still manufacturing cars for Malaysians. “They” should have joined the food industry; typically in the packaging industry producing “Tin Milos” instead of overpriced cars made from “Tin Milos”. I’m sure “they” will produce the strongest “Tin Milos” safe for food storage and et-cetera.

Being a driver and owner of previous P1 models, I have to say this out and loud; P1 is not really a good choice. Even with ‘istiqomah’ (constant) maintenance and less-aggressive style of driving, P1 car models keeps on failing me and the rest of the clan. G**-2 issues with fuel pump failures are very common to G**-2 users, (my father’s G**-2 fuel pump fails twice in less than 1 year, thank god it still in warranty). If you’re thinking I’m just another blogger whom just talk rubbish and accused people blatantly here and there, I’m willing to show my G**-2 job report receipts showing I have changed that dam* fuel pump twice in less than a year! (if only PaulTan.org allows attachments in the post, I’ll be glad to do it). I’m so fed up with P1 up to a point that my P1 most trusted mechanic said something like this; “What to do, it’s a P1 car, what do you expect… it’s not a Merc or BMW”. Laughing out loud, somehow what that mechanic said is 101% true. What was I thinking? Laughing out loud again (hahaha).

Points to ponder? This is just a beginning. P1, I’m watching you! (showing that eye to eye finger style). Improve or perish! If you’re going to be reincarnated, I’m sure god will reincarnate you as a “Tin Milo”.

PS: I’ve cut my lost by selling the overpriced “Tin Milo” with an under-priced tag!

PS: A “Tin Milo” relabeled as “VW Tin Milo”? It’s still a “Tin Milo” to me.

Yours truly,

SY0H

• wong (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 12:46 am

Milo is nice

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 10:37 am

hehe… Now u know… I think maybe that fuel pam causing the Gen.2 to burn..

http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,187.msg5350.html#msg5350

• xylencia (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 12:32 pm

wong said,
    August 18, 2007 @ 12:46 am

Milo is nice

===================================

Too true! Unlike many of the commentors here who think they have a basis of knowledge on the motoring world just because they read things off websites.

No offence to Paul for providing this space though. At least there’s a lot of effort here :)

And even Paul isn’t bias, so why should the rest of u be? You can’t rightly say u know more than what this site provides. Cos if you did, you would be a fool to keep reading here. And you guys aren’t fools now are you?

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 3:21 pm

keeping cool does make ur day…….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 2:18 am

khengyi82 ,

are related to littlefire85???there many similarities between you guys..absolute crap and baseless comment…we are not talking about persona here…we are talking about proton and VW…

and can i know why u think persona is not safe??its just launched a couple of day ago..how can you say so ??did u tried a home made crash test???maybe you did..and u were the crash test dummy with serious head injury!!too bad man!!use dummies next time…just because you r dumb..you are not considered a dummy!!

why do toyota call the new vios a vios when its a yaris with butt???why honda call a city a city when its a jazz with a butt plus different headlights??toyota.the world number manufacturer did a butt job and you feel they are the best..but when proton follow their footstep u say its wrong…smart boy!!!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 2:49 am

LittleFire85,

please dont read the forum and think whatever they wrote there is true man!!!!

watch discovery channel,mythbuster programme…u will know how hard to even explode a fuel tank!!!!even if you put in a match stick into your petrol tank…it wont explode..it will just burn and only on the surface,so cars bursting or burning all of suddenly is really unacceptable…as i know… some people will simply do that to spoil the sales of gen2…

i still remember one incident…when i went for lunch with few of my colleague few years back in damansara…thats when proton gen2 was launch,just a month plus..one of my fren booked the car and was about to get the car…while we were eating..a blue gen2 which was waiting at the traffic suddenly stopped…a chinese guy came out of the car…on the double signal and was waiting there..talkin to someone on his phone…he then open his bonnet and was keep on talking in the phone…we were all saying the campro engine giving problem so fast dy…a few min later a AAM tow truck came and offer for help i guess and the they drove off since the guy did not want their help…a female colleague who wanted to buy a gen2 firmly said she is not going to consider bout dy assuming the new car with a stalled engine…we usually take extra long break on thursday where work will be less so me and a few of my colleague were still there till 2.30 pm…we were watching the guy there who were very actively talking in the phone..even sum policemen offer help to push the car asking were not allow to do so…suddenly at around 2.40..he close the bonnet…wen into the car and drove off…we were all stunned…as we know..no1 help him repair the car,he didnt even fuel the car….we were puzzled at first!!!!a few day later around the same area…some of our frens say the same guy doing the same thing again in another traffic light…so this kinda people have already plan to spoil proton sales…otherwise i dont see any reason why these people have to do so!!

in mythbusters…the guys even purposely leaked the fuel pump to see it the car can burn instanteously..but its extremely hard…since the front end of the car is usually made of high quality plastics which has high thermal resistance!!so its not easy to burn and metals too..even alfa cars which was famous these kinda fire incident usualy have a small flame coming out of the car and usually easy to put away unless you dont realise and wait till the fire spread to the entire engine which is very unlikely!!and incase of an accident..you cant blame the car…blame it on the accident!!so littlefire85 please grow up…people are tired explaining to u…please dont believe what u read from a forum or what people say!!

• khengyi82 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 1:10 pm

Prem3377,
    Thank your advise, try to think if the stupid lousy proton was so good then why still having a lot problem on original part ? why the lousy proton car quality so bad ? why the lousy proton car MADE IN MALAYSIA so expensive ? why the proton car in second hand market no value ? why the lousy proton car safety no good beside persona ? why the proton engine still want to copy other company technology ? why stupid proton car selling cheaper in other country compare with MALAYSIA ? why gorverment still want to support this stupid proton company for every year losing few million ? why the design look so out dated ? why lousy proton car cannot produce own technology ? why proton does not come out MPV or SUV ? why lousy proton car loan interest rate is higher then other brand car ? why the proton car selling in other country did not stated MADE IN MALAYSIA, just put lotus technology?

PROTON CAR MADE IN MALAYSIA MADE YOU TO HELL !

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 9:07 pm

khengyi82,

one simple answer for you..it is because lousy people like you in this country!!that why man!!

can you be more specific on what original parts of proton is giving problem??

which did you compared with and saying proton cars have bad quality??

what makes you say proton cars is expensive??the new car is even cheaper than myvi??and who said campro engine is old technology??its just 4 years old and you call it old??its similar age with perodua myvi’s engine..perodua viva has a 5 years old chassis…honda city is just a cut and paste job from honda…toyota vios is also the same…so in what sense do you say proton is lousy compare to the rest???which other car company sell car at rm 45000 with 1.6 engine,430L of boot space,lotus handling,110 bhp engine with 148 Nm of torque and etc??can you give me any example??

why proton does not put made in malaysia label oversea??that show how immature you are!!everyone knows proton is made in malaysia..so why do we need to emphasise on that??lotus handling is because lotus is famous for its handling so its part of promotion!!you dont have to advertise what people already know!!you have to advertise on what people dont know..otherwise its a waste of money!!!

how do you proton cars are selling cheaper in other country??where did you get this info??do you have any proof??

if goverment dont support proton many will be jobless in ou country…its an industry…not just a company…and only losers will close shop when losing money..proton has the guts to fight back and prove every they can still do it…and if the G is just giving away money for proton,why then they are losing money???when you are young your parent will sure help u financially…only after you are old and wise enough to work you parents stop helping you…and when you having any problem..surely u will seek for help…so same goes to proton..but G is not simply giving away money..they are helping proton find a patner!!!

if you feel proton design is dated..maybe you are from the future..proton design is on par with the time…if their design is dated..can you please tell whats the latest design trend current in the car industry??

which engine design did proton copy???can you please explain?

proton did produce own technology..who said they didnt??campro is their own technology..proton waja.gen2 and persona is their own technology…and proton is still coming up with new technology…VIM,CPS and etc…

proton came up with mpv but people didnt like it…proton juara was an mpv for ur info..proton is coming up with an MPV soon and SUV later…and is it a mistake for not producing such a car??

proton has low secondhand value because its plenty in the market…and its normal…since you buy a proton for the price of 50 k plus…and how much do wish to sell it in future??45k??be logical…a 2000 model proton waja is able to sell at around 22K and its about 35% of its value…so its a good price actually…when you compare japanese cars..a 2004 honda accord 2.4 is selling at 90k now…so they losing about 23k per year…that about 15 % per year..so proton cars secondhand value is not so bad actually!!

the interest rates is given by the bank actually so its nothing to do with proton cars..maybe its due to cheaper price of proton cars….the bank has to make money too…for example…a new honda civic 2.0 interest rate is 2.8% , so each year you take loan you pay rm 3472…and for proton persona the h-line version each year you pay rm 2090…so the bank adjust the rate to suit the car price…vios and city has higher interest rate compared to altis and civic…

why do you say proton cars is not safe??it they are dangerous it wont be able to sell in the UK and australia…proton waja and gen2 has 3 star in euro NCAP crash test and 4 stars in australia i guess…so how can you conclude proton cars are not safe??and what you mean by not safe??in what terms??and if you say wira,saga,and perdana not safe..blame it on the japanese…they designed the chassis….not proton…proton savvy is one of safest car in the class..so how safe you want a proton to be??

next time be specific with your questions…so that people can answer you..and lastly…the whole world knows proton is made in malaysia…so why waste time telling them again???

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 9:21 pm

syoh,

i do drive a gen2,its my girlfriend car but most of the time i will be using it…until today the car is running fine…no problem at all and i do trash the car once in awhile..i dont have any problem yet and hope i wont have any…so can i conclude proton is doing a good job??tell me??i think its fair enough…because you can conclude proton is producing milo tin just because you having some problem with the car..but i dont…

if its a milo tin…it wont be able to sell in any part of the world…we still got 3 star rating in NCAP…milo tins dont!!and about a million plus proton users still on the road…if the car is so bad as you said…why some proton saga which was ou in 1989 still running on the road??

ford recall few million cars this year..are they bad manufacturers??toyota also did…even bmw did recall their mini…so if proton have some flaw in the design…why is it related to a milo tin??or why is it thrash/bashed so badly till everyone feel proton is a bad car without even trying one??people like you should not drive a proton,and of you do…appreciate what you have…if its a milo tin,why buy it at the first place???

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 12:30 am

I can’t believe I’m readin such backwards comments. Pride? Well, obviously somebody nvr heard of Skoda and SEAT, and have no idea how in deep sheez they were in before VW saved them. Today, the changes are clear, to name one: Skoda is Top Gear’s top brand in their last year’s survey made by their readers/watchers. So all of Jeremy Clarkson’s bashings of how boring and uncool Skodas are pretty much redundant as far as real-life ownership experiences are concerned. The fact is that Skodas are cheap, practical, and reliable. Who helped them to get out of their mess and to rise to this status? The good news is, they don’t seem to show signs of laying back and throw champage parties, they just keep to their formula and things should go well until their competitors would force them to respond to their challenges.

Maybe that somebody thinks he’s got some really brilliant idea of how to save Proton from its troubles now, in which I suppose it will be even more effective than those Germans’ formula. Care to share it to the “stupid current management”? In the name of your pride, please do enlighten this country’s future in automotive industry.

—————–
    Bashing Gen2 and Persona again? Sigh……instead of wasting hours here showing how bad they are, why don’t you guys become Msia’s Jeremy Clarkson and have your own TV shows to bash these cars. If the audience agree with you, you’ll get richer, you can own Ferraris, thrash them every week, in short: you’ll enjoy a much better life than you are now: blaming Proton for denying ur dream of exotic cars. Bt if the audience don’t agree with you, sorry lar……you lose, as simple as that. What’re gonna do now? Take the challenge, then we can see who will have the last laugh.

Another thing, concerning safety, the driver ALWAYS play the bigger role in this matter. Look at the news of how safe the “uncrushable” Merc S-Class is here: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/8/10/nation/18554867&sec=nation

So what, blame Merc is still not safe enough? Or the driver’s too reckless, caused by his false belief that “This car safe mah…..drive w/e style oso, sure won’t die one….”? You may say the odds are smaller if you’re in the S-class, bt this accident proves that NO CAR can EVER GUARANTEE you to WALK AWAY ALIVE from a tragic accident. If it wasn’t the car, what else? Blame God?

• wong (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 1:17 am

ah dont forget, a guy died in a porche recently also no big deal,how safe is safe?a pedestrian hit by a lorry and died ..blame the road the lorry or the driver?a Bmw less than 10years being towed because of a broken radiator hose and my mechanic says thats normal..hah?imagine if that happens to the proton..sure big issue..maybe in future people start buying imported houses in Malaysia!!???

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 8:46 am

To Prem3377, tokmoh, wong. I agreed with you guys and have gave very good and solid facts and proof about other cars’ brand.

To khengyi82 and SY0H. DON’T BLIND BASHING! Keep talking rubbish including the safety of Proton cars. Don’t tell me those who always dead from car accidents only Proton car users and those who always alive from car accidents were other car made users. On more thing, don’t always refer to crash test as it is only a guidelines for car manufacturers to follow but in the real life it is totally different situations. PLEASE GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT!!!! HOW MUCH YOU KNOW ABOUTCARS AND HOW MUCH YOU KNOW YOUR OWN CAR(S)? What car you are driving anyway?

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 1:33 pm

@wong
    I know abt that news too, after all, it’s mentioned in the link I gave!!

It reminds me of Jeremy Clarkson’s joke on Porsche: “Ppl dun buy Porsches cuz of mid-life crisis, it’s because they want to die doing 180mph,” lol :D.

Abt BMWs, I remembered while exiting from One Utama’s car park, you need to drive up a steep road. Guess what did I see? An E46 318i with hazard lights on, KO-ed on the way out of OU’s car park!! I guess the Kia Rio isn’t the oni one defeated by a hill……..

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 1:34 pm

@SY0H

If u rly want to, why nt upload the pics of your G**-2 job report receipts on rapidshare or sendspace, nden put the link here so we can download n see it?

Another thing, do u drive it with care and respect or ur everyday trip in the car is like WRC race? Cuz a fren of mine (he drives Gen2 too) did break the timing belt after doin just 10,000++ km mileage, bt it didn’t came as a surprise to me. Judging by how he drives the car whenever I’m with him, even a Honda can break down a lot faster…….he even broke the radiator after just doin 5,000++ km, I can only guess he took a hump at 32,857,239,586,131 kmph.

• panzer (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 3:55 pm

I have seen persona,and you know what,the result are the same,another crappy cars from Proton…I dont think the persona can sell very well.People are fed up with Proton.It is better for them(Malaysian) to take the trouble to save some money to buy imported cars rather then Proton.

• panzer (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 3:57 pm

I agree with khengyi82 and sy0h.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 21, 2007 at 7:54 pm

Only BLIND BASHERS are fed up with Proton. Since they are so called “blind”, they couldn’t see. Got improvement or not don’t know. Touch 40 years old car thought that is Proton.

For those who want Proton to do well (NOT PROTON SUPPORTERS AND NOT DIE HARD FANS AND PROTON CARS OWNERS) cheers all.

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 12:27 am

Hehe, I like that attitude, Unicons. I wish to be able to be in touch wit u more outside this blog, bt wonder how….do u post/register in any other forum, say…..motortrader?lowyat?

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 8:35 pm

tinjon14, Max88, cetait, catchcart, Bigfish and all BLIND BASHERS of Proton.

NEWS FOR YOU taken from New Straits Times

KUALA KANGSAR: A woman was killed when a car crashed into a lorry at Km239 of the south-bound route of the North South Expressway yesterday.
    Ong Bee Lin, 31, from Kuala Sepetang, Taiping, was in the passenger seat of the car when the accident occurred at 6.20am yesterday.

The car was travelling behind a van, which tried to overtake a lorry.

Kuala Kangsar district police chief Superintendent Zakaria Pagan said the car then overtook the van when it hit the lorry.

“The car then swerved back into the right lane, hitting the van. The impact caused the car to be thrown onto the path of the lorry.”
    Both drivers of the car and the van, which was carrying six passengers, were warded at the Taiping Hospital with serious injuries.

A fourth vehicle was also involved in the crash when it hit the lorry’s rear.

SAME NEWS BUT IN MALAY taken from Berita Harian

Terbunuh kemalangan 4 kenderaan

KUALA KANGSAR: Seorang lelaki maut manakala seorang parah dalam kemalangan membabitkan dua kereta, sebuah lori dan sebuah van di Kilometer 239 berhampiran susur keluar ke Kuala Kangsar di Lebuhraya Utara Selatan awal pagi semalam.

Dalam kejadian kira-kira jam 6.20 pagi itu, Ong Bee Lin, 31, yang berada di tempat duduk penumpang depan, mati serta-merta di tempat kejadian akibat cedera parah di kepala manakala rakannya yang memandu kereta Toyota Vios itu cedera parah dan kini dirawat di Hospital Taiping.

FOR YOUR INFO. THIS VIOS COMES WITH DUAL AIRBAGS, ABS AND EBD, SAFE BRAKE PEDAL, GOA BODY, SIDE DOOR IMPACT BEAMS, WHISPLASH INJURY LESSENING FRONT SEAT, HEAD IMPACT PROTECTION STRUCTURE AND COLLAPSIBLE STEERING COLUMN. TO YOU BLIND BASHERS. WHAT YOU WANT TO SAY ABOUT THIS? FOR ME, I DON’T MAKE CONCLUSION THAT VIOS NOT GOOD. MY CONCLUSION IS WE MUST DRIVE SAFE, KEEP SAFE, ALWAYS AWAY YOUR SURROUNDING.

DO YOU MEAN WITH ALL THE SAFETY FEATURES IN THE CAR, YOU CAN JUST DRIVE WITHOUT THINKING OF OTHERS AND YOURSELF?

WHERE YOU GET THOSE SAFETY FEATURES PRICES? HAHAH… WHERE GOR SO CHEAP. ONE DVD BURNER WILL COSTS YOU RM100+. DON’T TALK STUPID AND NONSENSE HERE!

JUST STOP BLIND BASHING ON PROTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I JUST START LAUGHING AT YOU GUYS TALKING RUBBISH AS IT ALL WITHOUT FACTS!!!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 8:43 pm

Hi tokmoh. For now, you only can see me here. Anyway, if you want to join the lowyat, you could get kei9 to help. Thanks kei9. Perhaps in near future I will join it too. Anyway, you still can always find me here. NOT TO PROTECT PROTON BUT GIVE THE COMMENTS BASED ON FACTS IN THIS REAL WORLD AND NOT IN BLIND BASHERS WORLD.

I DID GAVE SOME PROS & CONS ABOUT PERSONA TOO BASED ON WHAT I’VE SEEN AND NOT BLIND TOUCHING LIKE THOSE BLIND BASHERS. TO ALL OF YOU, DID YOU HERE ME BLIND BASHING TO OTHER CAR FROM OTHER CAR MANUFACTURERS. NO, AND I NEVER SAY PROTON IS 100% PERFECT AS PEOPLE WHO CAN SEE, WILL ALWAYS SAY NO CAR MANUFACTURER PRODUCES 100% PERFECT CAR.

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:56 pm

I am in lowyat, as tokdukun ;).

Well, pretty much the same case for me, I’ve been accused as protonian, b**l licker, etc. Bt I honestly just want P1 to function as a “proper” car manufacturer, rather than politikus’ cashcow.

“pobody’s nerfect”, indeed, the Persona isn’t perfect either, I dun like the steering wheel (discussed 87134117221423546547X alrdy elsewhere), the lifeless buttons, and poor rear vision through the rear-view mirror, bt hey, it is cheap, spacious, the quality is claimed to hv improved than older models. Knowing how disciplined P2 is, I suppose Syed Zainal is implementing his experience in that company in P1 now. The good news is, the effects can be seen, though not instantaniously, bt gradually since he took over as P1 MD, so that couldn’t be any worse than “same old, same old P1 QC”. May nt be the car I’ll buy, bt certainly, a car I can recommend if someone asks me.