New Perodua model in 2009?

Perodua LogoPerodua will be launching a new model in 2009, a news report by The Edge Daily revealed. The report said local accessories vendor Hirotako Holdings Bhd is currently in talks with Perodua to design and manufacture air bags for the new 2009 model.

Hirotako’s 51% owned subsidiary Autoliv Hirotako Sdn Bhd is a JV between Hirotako and Autoliv AB of Sweden. Autoliv Hirotako supplies seatbelts, air bags, and other components for Proton cars.

2008 Perodua Kembara Artist’s Impression
New Daihatsu Terios announced in Indonesia
Toyota Rush long wheelbase suitable for Malaysia
2007 Daihatsu Move launched

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• leongylun (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 3:29 pm

what??? we still have to wait til year 2009 only new model from perodua? sigh…how about new kembara (Terios)? or new kenari (move)?

• scorpicore (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 3:42 pm

Recent news on P1 esp new BLM revealed many positive responses, not so much of negative comments like before. This is sign of warning to P2…..RIGHT PRICING…

Looking at the possible pricing of most basic model of BLM around 30k -34k for 1.3L, i think P2 could still be selling well provided price adjustment be well structured, esp for coming model. P2 should thank P1 for not selling their most basic line of BLM below 27k as they did for the aging saga…

For most malaysians, our hope for this new year 2008 is that our government will be more aware that current high taxes indeed a burden to malaysians esp to those who just start to earn their first pay. With the unavoidable rise in petrol price this year, reduction in taxes of new cars will help to regain support.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 3:55 pm

2009….
    Then 2008 no new car from Perodua?
    Now Proton is catching up. I think BLM will be a competitive model to Viva. But not yet see the real car so cannot comment on it also.

• tpl (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:03 pm

sorry guys, no new kembara. toyota rush on the way due in feb 2008.

• Oregano (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Maybe a nice little mini MPV……what Dihatsu clones can P2 use?

• kerelbort (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 4:39 pm

what i see from the report is Perodua try to stop people from buying BLM by starting a propaganda of a new car which they really are starting to build right now..

also what I can see is that Perodua new car is not BLM now Persona rival… so they can’t used the same tactic of ‘accidental’ spyshot to the net…

Yey! our automotive world is moving forward now..

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:25 pm

most of Perodua model is mini size, people go for family size and for long term used, so now we have a choice for mid size car….SAGA 2008!!!

• Cire (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 5:53 pm

Probably an oversized small compact or a mid-sized SUV, which P1 does not have currently.
    Best bet will be to re-introduce the mid-sized SUV, but with better techs and specs.
    As for the BLM, it is the pricing that played the pivotal role in the turning of P1 from the red to the black.
    With this pricing, it not only “kills” off perodua models, but the rest of the small compacts and vehicles under this price range.
    P1 have found the correct market segment for its cars, and know the purchasing power of this group of consumers and what they wanted.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:02 pm

Even without seeing the BLM…its very competitive even with viva bcoz of its price and size. Maybe P2 has alot of die hard fan

• deepthroat (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:06 pm

what I can see is a lots of stupid Proton fanboys who buy Proton for nationalistic reasons, and not for any rational consumer, right-thinking people reasons, enthusing about a new car that they haven;t even drive from a car-maker notorious for bad quality, bad costumer service, bad PR, bad financial management, bad governance, bad after sales service, bad and then talking bull and crap about propaganda from another national car-maker which has been consistently providing good products and good service.

• dewak19 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:09 pm

i think..there will be MPV 7 seater 1.5 dvvt engine for 2009(myvi with long body), 2008 model is replacment kembara..(bego)..

..just my prediction…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:16 pm

tpl said,

January 2, 2008 @ 4:03 pm

sorry guys, no new kembara. toyota rush on the way due in feb 2008.

============================================

are u sure about this….i think better use perodua than toyota to sell in large volume…why it is so late for perodua….then u all will see who actually bring old model and technolgy to our country…do they wait for two years of existing model then only bring to malaysia?(comparing mira/kancil kelisa viva)

ps: i saw toyota rush in indonesia(over there toyota and daihatsu fight each other for the same model) is very attractive but i dont think fuel guzzlers will be popular anymore in malaysia

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:19 pm

Proton cars are nowadays big and cheap. That itself should be a rational basis for most people. Maybe the profile of Proton buyers these days are not the elegant types from the upper echelon of the society (these people will sell whatever car Toyota and Honda push to the market), but they constitute bulk of the buyers and that’s where the money is.

Already we can see that these national makes are getting more and more competitive. The buyers should be profitting from this, and they already are.

• dewak19 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 6:32 pm

my prediction..

2009 will be mpv 7 seater 1.5dvvt engine (myvi with long body)
    2008 (mid) replacement kembara (bego), & facelift for myvi & myvise

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:47 pm

Let the Perodua come with more model to fight in this cut throat market. At the end, consumers is the winner.

• transformer (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:47 pm

guess…
    Kembara Replacement
    Kenari Replacement

and something with a diesel engine maybe??
    or a small byrid ?
    (act as a try run(market response) for Toyota as Daihatsu are under Toyota)

• transformer (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:48 pm

Not consumer but G wins la….. Tax here and there! Banyak Naik lagi!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 8:49 pm

The Edge Daily! Pathetic reporter always bring news for the sake of goreng share. Don’t know realiable or not based on few previous no basis news about P1.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:07 pm

New Perodua model in 2009? How about this year 2008? I thought Perodua is planning to replace the aging Kembara this year?

More models from Perodua means more royalty fees Perodua has to pay to Daihatsu/Toyota. Hahaha…. Who really makes money? Daihatsu/Toyota. I’m not expecting Perodua to stand alone, well for now. However, I hope one day they will.

The cars from Perodua actually not cheap just to say the pricing alone (perhaps with engine displacement counted) and forget about the segments and those excise duty again. Proton cars are cheaper now. Look at Persona high line with dual airbags and ABS+EBD compare to the Waja used Mitsubishi engine came without airbag etc., more or less RM10k cheaper but better equipped. In long term, if Proton can produce better car and cheaper than Perodua, I’m sure Proton will steal more and more market shares from Perodua.

Anyway, just my 2 cents. Not to bash any car manufacturers.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 9:28 pm

The Unicorns, your comment about P1 car is “misleading”. It is P1 sold at higher price in the first place. The competition in the market and bad reputation on quality “forced” P1 to give “export quality” at lower price. Nothing is new, but for most of blind defenders, they brag it as “improvement” that actually P1 all the way give it to export market.

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 10:27 pm

some ppl still believe perodua produces their own car like P1 meh??
    what??.. extended/long body myvi?? prrrfthh
    just admit.. perodua just rebadging daihatsu cars..

No new model for Daihatsu means no new model for perodua

• tpl (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:09 pm

yes, i am very sure and 100% confirm about the toyota kembara. they badge toyota so they can sell higher price instead of p2(rm60k+). fyi tyt rush will be selling ard rm90k plus. believe me n dont ask me how did i get this info.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:12 pm

P2 is all about marketing..

• mofo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:21 pm

Peyno-1, So what’s wrong re-badging daihatsu’s models ? It’s not a cheap to build up entire new platform. I don’t see anything wrong with P2’s model, except abit overpriced. *Mayb due to loyalty i think.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 11:35 pm

Well i believe u tpl dont worry
    well toyota rush looks very upmarket
    maybe they want to replace the RAV4 with the rush

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 12:40 am

i tink thy r starved of attention…and wait for 2009 jus for thm to copy wateva daihatsu or toyota want to giver thm to badge it as a perodua…..

losers….!

• arcana (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:00 am

2009? it aint gonna work at least for now….. its too far and we’ve just entered 2008 with BLM set to be crown of sales figures this year.
    work harder P2….otherwise its gonna be a reverse fate between national rivals.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:45 am

new Kembara and new Rusa will be nice!!

guys, i heard that BLM is not the only new model that Proton will launch this year, is it true?

• Paul Tan on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:18 am

the other one could probably be the gen2 cps

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:34 am

BigFish said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 8:47 pm

Let the Perodua come with more model to fight in this cut throat market. At the end, consumers is the winner.
    ====================================
    yeahh,, but don’t expect too much..
    If Daihatsu doesnt allow it..

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:39 am

mofo said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 11:21 pm

Peyno-1, So what’s wrong re-badging daihatsu’s models ? It’s not a cheap to build up entire new platform. I don’t see anything wrong with P2’s model, except abit overpriced. *Mayb due to loyalty i think.
    ======================
    bro..
    i was referred to those “malaysians” not a P2 company, they expect perodua will release Myvi sedan and so on, i know they know nuts about perodua and they think perodua can produce their own car without clowning Daihatsu cars

• azrai (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 7:10 am

Do you believe The Edge?

• napps (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:03 am

talked to a perodua salesperson recently. she claims a mini mpv will be launched in 2008. methinks could be stretched version of myvi.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:36 am

why wait 2009 ?? 1 year u will lose a lot of sell ….. or giving chance to P1 ? no idea …. what model it is ?? the new kembara ( toyota rush ) ??? hey nissan already so slow … y P2 follow them ?? sure hv a new model this year !! This year no new model for p2 …. Kembara kembara kembara …. i waiting for it …

• megadisc (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:50 am

it’s gonna be called talapia..

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:58 am

napps said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 8:03 am
    talked to a perodua salesperson recently. she claims a mini mpv will be launched in 2008. methinks could be stretched version of myvi.
    ==========================
    then u should ask the salesman.
    can u find this mini mpv in Daihatsu Japan website..??
    what Daihatsu mini mpv model which stretched version of Sirion/boon??
    if no.. tell him dont cheat ppl

prrrfthh

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:01 am

sxe10r said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 8:36 am

why wait 2009 ?? 1 year u will lose a lot of sell ….. or giving chance to P1 ? no idea …. what model it is ?? the new kembara ( toyota rush ) ??? hey nissan already so slow … y P2 follow them ?? sure hv a new model this year !! This year no new model for p2 …. Kembara kembara kembara …. i waiting for it …
    =======================
    prrrfth
    this is not about “idea”
    this is all about AUTHORITY
    If Daihatsu doesnt allow P2 to assemble/rebadge their new car..

wat to do mehh

• rexis (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:17 am

2009? Now only start 2008!

Anyhow, people always prefer boot space.

• Niceguy (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:29 am

I am confuse now…if Perodua new model is a rebadge daihatsu, why they need Autoliv Hirotako to re-design the airbag for the new model? just carry over from daihatsu current model la..

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:35 am

Niceguy said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 9:29 am

I am confuse now…if Perodua new model is a rebadge daihatsu, why they need Autoliv Hirotako to re-design the airbag for the new model? just carry over from daihatsu current model la..
    ======================
    Redesign = localize/cut cost maaa

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:59 am

peYno-1 said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 9:01 am

prrrfth
    this is not about “idea”
    this is all about AUTHORITY
    If Daihatsu doesnt allow P2 to assemble/rebadge their new car..

wat to do mehh

so when daihatsu will allow it leh ??

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:39 am

just wonder what model will they launch 2009 or 2008? why does so many think and take it so shallow? if we hv more car manufacturers whether local or foreign in here, we can export it to overseas. that will generate income to our country, it might raise up living standards, purchasing powers, stronger currency, etc……… for example, nissan sentra and perodua myvi (as sirion) export to indonesia. an example, thailand car manufacturers are exporting cars around. even foreign investors prefer in thailand. really sad that so many can’t see further than that.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:45 am

One way they can combat P1 is by launching midi MPV with the price range of RM50~60k….
    So, rebadge the Avanza…….!!!!
    Kah kah kah, maggot P2…….

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:47 am

Could it be the Toyota Ractis Rebadged???

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/10/16/2006-toyota-ractis/

My bet is on this one…hehehe..only heaven knows..

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:55 am

Could it be the Toyota Ractis Rebadged???

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/10/16/2006-toyota-ractis/

My bet is on this one…but of course, with minimal technology due to cost constraints..hehehe..only heaven knows..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Whatever it is, more competition is good for consumers.

Be it Proton, perodua or any locally assembled cars.

If Proton can get the 30k market with the BLM, that will put downward pressure on Perodua to either come up with fresh models or drop its prices.

Lets face it, consurmer pressure has caused Proton to reduce its selling prices for cars (and newer better quality cars), which in turn has put pressure on other marques as well.

If proton gets lazy, the whole industry gets complacent. This is a symptom of a protected market.

I wont underestimate perodua when it coming to launching new models, Toyota and Daihatsu has a lot of platforms and/or cars in the pipeline that can fit Perodua’s product portfolio. And since Perodua is just rebadging them (er..and de-contenting them…) they can bring these units to market in a short time.

As for some dude’s insistant tagline of being nationalistic in buying proton, come on, when are you going to wake up and see it? The day that when all cars, imported or local build or CKD sell without artificial market protection, is the day I will agree with you with the sales figure if buying a local car is nationalistic.

Right now, the argument because Proton sells well = many patriotic buyers wont hold much water.

• king (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:09 pm

tpl said,
    January 2, 2008 @ 11:09 pm

yes, i am very sure and 100% confirm about the toyota kembara. they badge toyota so they can sell higher price instead of p2(rm60k+). fyi tyt rush will be selling ard rm90k plus. believe me n dont ask me how did i get this info
    ______

i believe u 100%….coz Toyota is Toyo-F*ucking greedy. why would they want to sell a kembara at 50k when they can replace the badge n sell it at 90k.

look at perodua avanza for example.

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:00 pm

2009 is Proton vs Perodua..
    proton will launch the 1st proton’s MPV….
    perodua will launch toyota’s MPV…

• szw (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:55 pm

hav to wait long time , woohoo !!!

• peYno-1 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 2:58 pm

pegawas
    any reason u said perodua will come out TOYOTA mpv but not DAIHATSU mpv??
    just becoz perodua developed myvi from toyota?

so what toyota mpv model??
    ESTIMA?? WISH?? ALPHARD???

prrrfthhh

• b4nd3r (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 5:25 pm

I agree with Cire, dewak19 (with his/her prediction on bego) … Most probably …. the new kembara, but why need to wait until 09? apa da .. in my oppinion this year they’ll launch laa kot .. the price maybe ranging 60k-70k .. lagipun now the suv market is like HOT PISANG GORENG ! betul ke? Wuteva … the suv entry level market is a must grab opportunity … Last time we had Feroza, Jimny, io (but pricY), wut else? Now only Kembara .. Wow .. if Suzuki, Mitsu ….(the list goes on) not taking this opportunity , most probably the price for new kembara stays UP ! it sucks .. kamon .. dont let p2 dominate the market … be competitive .. and indirectly creating bargaining power at customer side .. we as Malaysian will be happily ever after … the end ..

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Why we have to wait till 2009… i think perodua want to introduce a new mpv or suv to againts the proton new mpv in 2009… i guess…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:46 pm

I guess Kembara replacement (Terios).

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:51 pm

4G63T DSM, well said. The game of the future in automotive sector is free market. Not crap protective NAP.

So, year 2009 is near to free market. Perhaps Perodua will come with pricing that is “Langkawi price”!

Good luck to Proton for decent BLM with lowest price in 2008, and come 2009, Perodua joint the bandwagon.

By 2010, every car manufacturer will sell on “Langkawi price”.

Hidup rakyat, hidup consumer right, pergi mampus suck NAP.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:52 pm

Cronies vendors, quickly dig your own grave if you still supplying sub-standard quality components.

• swong (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Perodua definitely will launch 1 -2 models in 2008 as Daihatsu worldwide 2008 budget planning oversea productions inclusive of Perodua is expecting 38% growth which is extraordinary high growth rate compare to previous years. So wait for Perodua compete with our beloved Proten

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:37 pm

peYno-1 said,
    January 3, 2008 @ 2:58 pm

pegawas
    any reason u said perodua will come out TOYOTA mpv but not DAIHATSU mpv??
    just becoz perodua developed myvi from toyota?

so what toyota mpv model??
    ESTIMA?? WISH?? ALPHARD???

prrrfthhh

-i’m sure… but not estima or wish or alphard… this is luxury model…
    they will come out with mini MPV.. u just wait n see…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 2:57 pm

they should send some engineers to toyota and ‘redesign'(refer definition above) a corolla hatch.

should make a killing. even eat up sales of the altis from toyota msia.

whats this thing with after 2010?

• dewak19 (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 3:19 pm

P2 mpv is not same as estima/wish or alphad..totally new dev either in here or japan… ( i think using same avanza 1.5 engine)

the bego will be arroud mei 08.. myvi facelift not a major changing..mybe just exterior such as bumper front & back..

P1 mpv 1.6 campro…

• MrDDR (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 9:05 pm

BigFish said,

By 2010, every car manufacturer will sell on “Langkawi price”.

————————————————————–
    Keep dreaminggg….keep dreamingggg

• ah liew (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 1:53 am

Hey! guys.. if u can’t wait. Go to the half cut shop & modify one yourself.
    Just like Myvi modified to Toyota Passo or Daihatsu Sirion. Not to mention Protong modified to Alfa Romeo bumper… thats the latest trend in JB nowadays… weird!