Proton Exora Bold spotted on transporter on the NSE

The official introduction of the Proton Exora Bold is imminent, by the looks of it, what with stocks of the turbocharged MPV making their way to showrooms across the country. Reader Ian snapped some photos earlier today of a transporter carrying a batch load of Bolds on the North-South Expressway, heading north.

In the past week, we’ve seen leaked shots of the supposed Prime variant as well as what are rough draws of a slide presentation offering some details on the CFE mill, and shots such as these of the vehicle. All that’s left is to have the final product arrive on the scene, and that should be very, very soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Prismo on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Smoked front and rear lamp was very nice…

• gabla on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Proton Exora 1.6CFE:
      1.6L 140ps 205Nm RM??k

Toyota Innova:
      2.0L 136ps 182Nm RM102k(AT)

Nissan Grand Livina:
      1.8L 126ps 174Nm RM99k
      1.6L 105ps 150Nm RM90k

Chery Eastar
      2.0L 134hp 185Nm Rm86k(Leather Seat)

• was? so it’s not nice now ?

• Prismo on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:15 pm

the current one was nice, but this one is nicer…. notice front lamp was a little bit different…

• MoFaz on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:49 pm

hopefully Brothers will sell new Exora grille with Transformers Autobot logo…

• White colour is gonna sell like hot cake!!!! Hopefully the Pricing is affordable!!!!

• gabla on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Exora CFE will provide a better “real world” fuel consumption compared to CPS. The figures for both CPS & CFE above is based on constant speed and does not involve any accelerating & braking.

In real world, you need to rev the CPS engine more in daily traffic to move the MPV due to lack of low end torque. The CPS system is designed to give more power at high rev so at low rev, the engine struggles to move the weight of the car. People tend to rev the CPS engine because of this and this hurts the fuel consumption.

CFE on the other hand, addresses this issue with a very high torque right from 2000 RPM. Coupled with the CVT transmission, the CFE engine will improve the fuel consumption greatly in daily usage where you are constantly accelerating and braking. If you know how to keep a constant low RPM, CVT will help a lot in term of fuel consumption compared to Exora CPS

• The Gold color very bold looking!
    I think the best looking MPV in its price range now, Hope the quality improved a-lot by judging by it looks. Then i will trade my avanza for this next year.

Anyone spotted reverse camera?

• taboogen on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:40 pm

rear left… just under the chrome lining…

• pak turut on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:06 pm

if the rain does not dirty the reverse camera?

• taboogen on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:33 pm

then u can also asked other manufacturer.. they did the same… what uninformative question

• eggman01 on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Looks good!

• DewaSemut on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Yup! Confirmed guys this is the real thing… :) :) just come back from the shop for the exlusive preview of Bold (premium) from the tauke… the elegant brown color is nice! Price will be above RM80K. not confirmed yet. Bold est RM81K, Prime est RM89K maybe…

7 seater for Bold, 6 seater (2nd row seat got walkway in the middle) for Prime.

A huge relief is the wooden centre console trim is not there! It’s like carbon fibre called cubic silver. This BOLD (Premium) comes with CFE with CVT (the engine note is sweet), ABS, EBD, cruise control, electric folding mirror etc… etc…

Smoke tail lamp & brown leather trim at the seat and door panel is nice…

The features that really caught my eyes are reverse camera + LCD (like Kia Forte) and new meter panel design.. a breakthru features from Proton.

The current Exora hi line will be revised to Bold Executive (current engine mated with CVT)…

sadly no 2-DIN Bosch headunit though :(.. could be fitted in Prime variant

Overall really satisfying improvement for Exora. I would foresee it is going to sell well.. My brother want to place booking oredi…

• zimmer 600 on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:26 pm

good n briliant info bro thanks.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:31 pm

wow 89k? that’s a bit too much imo, how could the base model and the top model got a such big difference price tag? almost 20k dude.

• konkon on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:34 pm

we don’t know the real specs between the two. hope rm20k for h-line will be justified.

• Loneranger on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:55 pm

maybe better space, better interior….better everything….

• just came back from shop ke, just back from briefing from your boss?

• DewaSemut on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:50 pm

I’m not Proton salesman okay… :)

• who said you are a salesman? you are working at coe 1st floor kan?

• DewaSemut on Dec 16, 2011 at 10:13 am

Tettttt…. nice try, but wrong again! I have no connection what-so-ever with Proton other than owning its product…

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Betul ke takde wood panel?? betul ke??!! betul kee??!?!!!!! BEETTUULLL KEE takde wood panel??!!!!!! Waaa!!…. nasib baik!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!…… lega…….

• Nak Tumpang on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Any info when the Prime variant will be released?

• Nizam80 on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Thank you for the details. Good brief description. You already mentioned the key details and also clarified that the wood trim on the centre console is gone….. yet… you still get 1 disagree.

Some bashers never learn..

• kerelbort on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:22 pm

i tot i saw white exora with black roof… estima-ish

but i’m wrong…still look nice..

izit white prime. gold bold?

• I already drove with my wife along n suddenly she fall in love with bold h line n we’re on d way to trade in our vios with this machine… Almost 90%satisfy with the package given…

• Out of Luck on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:41 pm

What’s your feedback from your test drive? Any idea on the waiting time for your order?

• 90%? So which part/specs are you not satisfied with?

• 10%….

• 10% must be the price?? no….. or theinterest rate?? local car has higher rate..

• tiadaid on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:55 pm

High ke? Bru dpt quoted 3.0% Maybank for 7 years Saga FLX 1.6, boleh lagi push 2.94 kalau nak 9 years.

• clutch basah on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:12 pm

10% is the fact it was a Proton, typical Malaysian. :)

• sembilan on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:29 pm

This make me click excited button

• beatnik on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:30 pm

The CFE may or may not have good fuel efficiency. Just hope that the engine is tuned nicely. Look at the Prince THP engine on Pug 308.. modern engine but it has poor fuel consumption.

Btw, the skirtings must be designed by the same ppl who designed the Dugong TRD.. the rear skirt has some resemblance..

• Wan Taufiq on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:31 pm

hohohoh.. the best things is yet to be arrive!!! i’m seeing NEO CPS Turbo, anyone seeing the same??

• apexg2 on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm

i heard there will be new Neo Sedan..looks like caldina maybe…..then if it CFE & CVT…u judge urself..

• Nizam80 on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:22 pm

If Proton is making a turbocharged NEO, I really hope the CFE is tuned to produce much higher output and torque. 138hp will not qualify it as a modern hot hatch. A 6-speed manual gearbox is also a good addition.

• sampai bilalah korang nak faham flat high torque at wider rpm range means more than high hp at high rpm…

• Tang Tu on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:41 pm

It got new bumper, smoked head lamps, body kits, rear disc breaks, new engine segment and 16 inch wheels make it more sportier. I think the reverse camera is under the chrome line at the left (noticed like a small black camera there). Unluckily not fit my budgets to pay the monthly payment. In future maybe. Huhuhu!

• blmers on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:45 pm

next facelift bring us panoramic sunroof.. phew.. ill waiting patiently..

• all showroom already got this model?? even some of u test drive it already???

• Johnny on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Unreliable & fuel guzzler for sure!

• Loneranger on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm

how do you know?
      u have 6th sense?
      have u tested it yet? never assume
      test it and u’ll know whether the FC is high or not……

• taboogen on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:52 pm

do they tape up the upper front headlamp… look much more sportier….

• limping on Dec 15, 2011 at 12:58 pm

spotted in mlk too

• Redrules on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm

If the turbo problem free, I will trade in my Alza for this :-p

• ah bear on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm

emm..campro+vvt + turbo..nice2

• Lim Kopi on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:16 pm

WTF …… BOLD ?!?!!

WHAT A CACAT NAME !! LOL !!!

Someone in Proton has been using BLACKBERRY, and decided to call their new cars BOLD …. next one will probably be TORCH ….

AS ALWAYS …. Proton:

LACK OF CREATIVITY,

Yet don’t want to admit defeat and JV with international brands ….

Proton – Always a step BEHIND.

• wow…sour…

• Loneranger on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:42 pm

can;t find anything to bash..even the name also become an issue…..pity u dude…

• RadzLee on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:42 pm

oh shut up…

• err…. then mitsubishi is cacat too? then your brain is cacat too?

• carazy on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Jz wandering how this guy get 1 thumb up for the stupid comment, ooo i know, he went to his friend pc and click it by himself..

• mastermind on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:46 pm

dont blame proton blame BN@UMNO for not creatives..all tun mahathir fault…all
      BN fault…
      hakhkahak…..joke bro……

Proton Always steps behind because their cars have reverse gear so of course steps behind..wakaka…

Haiya Your coffee ada tambah brandy????after this Proton Exora Galaxy Ace/Galaxy Plus…

Proton Exora Galaxy Tab 7.0..hakhak

• sub_zero on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm

is this the best your brain can blurt out?

• pak turut on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:07 pm

global name maa..

• blmers on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:35 pm

high creativity like just name it with a char & a digits like A1 A2 A3, 325, 535, C250, C300 ehh?

• Try to be CEO Proton lah kalau macam tu. Too much complaint maa.

• baru belajar on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:16 pm

If i become Ceo Proton, cukai untuk kereta tempatan akan dihapuskan. so lebih ramai orang malaysia mengunakan kereta tempatan. kereta luar….ermmm……

• squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Ko ingat ko tu PM ke nak hapuskan cukai sumer tu? Kalau takde cukai nanti, abis berlubang la jalan… bayar hospital mahal… pastu yuran sekolah kaw2 mahal… akhirnya ramai la bebudak yang tak gi skolah pastu jadi penagih dadah… nak?

• Darenz on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:18 pm

BOOKED!

• katebang on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:49 pm

ill wait for a while… see whether the engines reliability.. no use getting a new car but stranded besides the road due to engine failure.. ive seen quite a number of proton car tersadai besides the road esp first gen gen2, and first batch saga..

• Darenz on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:06 pm

no need to wait. Every car will have its own problems. if no confident, better dont buy!

• Darenz on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:27 pm

GOLDEN BOLD!

• I wish Exora has 6 airbags.

• Arrian on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:37 pm

be reaonable la bro, for such of price below 100k, to have 6 airbags is too much lahh..

• hopefully the next facelift will have 6 airbags, projector lamps, redesigned headlamps/rear lamps, sunroof, redesigned seats. Santa come grant my wish!

• Aragon on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Where are the P1 bashers??..speechless now..haha..Bravo Proton..I’m gonna book for the white one..

• Oh damn the white colour one is just damn sexy!!! and i hope the white one doesn’t come with the wooden interior..

• kolejeon on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Impressive! Hopefully they have reduce the air-cond compressor sound coz it is extremely loud.

• kolejeon on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Impressive! Hopefully they have reduce the air-cond compressor sound as evident in current exora coz it is extremely loud and annoying.

• It will be launched tomorrow (16-Dec-11)?

I read in http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Exora under Exora FL (2012-) entry. I’m not sure whether the info is reliable.

Anticipate the launching…

• last weekend i went to showroom to see if they already have some info on this machine. unfortunately noting..but the salesman told me they gonna launch it 16/12

• deeen on Dec 15, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Guys,
    if you google Exora Bold images,they are a plenty of pics,including reverse camera and few other stuff on the new Exora.

• apexg2 on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:06 pm

If u notice, it comes with rear camera as standard…

• Pin pin!!! Innova drivers please step aside.. this bold looking turbo MPV will driven as close bump to bump to show who is the king of MPV on the expressway.. huhu.. 185km/h topspeed? proton will always be a proton.. too humble with their topspeed.. :)

• vtecroar on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:40 pm

IMHO, aku rasa bold or prime ni kalau parking sebelah alphard/vellfire/estima masih nampak gah dia. masuk rim 225/18/35 @ 215/17/45..fuhhhhhh.

AWESOME!!!!!

• proton always on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:48 pm

I shud wait the crossover exora based with cfe instead..hope proton make it soon..power good enuff already..the shape still the same and boring looks exccept color.

• seanny on Dec 15, 2011 at 2:53 pm

this is a crap car , piece of junk …

• Hope tak overheat…maybe not in exora but hopefully persona replacement takde issue overheat..packed engine bay maa……but, nice car..nice…kalau ada sunroof…6 seaters tu (dengan captain seat kot)…mantap….good luck proton! engineers Powertrain semua bonus 4 bulan tahun depan…increment 10%! Mintak dengan Encik Fadhil….air cleaner mantap tu Fadzilah buat ke? Macam kenal je pattern tu…hehe

• dzulx on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:02 pm

No faux wood??? Good..

Brown leather doesnt look classy.. but probably pictures are not doing justice..

Looking forward to the launching to see in person…….

• That white is just awesome..handsome..

• Over RM80K+++ price are ya sure waste money on a Protongkat when Livina or Avanza easily the better logical buy…be smart think with brain not kneecaps OK

Pray hard that Turboh gets LifeTime Warranty too if press too hard when racing with Caldina Turbo GT….

Ah, big Syabas Bravo to Protongkat Saudi Arabia with selling price only RM42,255.36 !!!!

• DewaSemut on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:48 pm

mamat nie dah habis modal nak ngutuk… kesian…

• mulanya ada logik jugak hujah kau tapi bila ko sebut avanza…fuh..i know you r a loser…faktup one

• Loneranger on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:11 pm

ko ni xder modal lain ke bro….*sorry kalau aku terkasar bahasa..

ko ni mmg bodo la bab ekonomi…..mak pak antar g skola malas…..ni la akibatnya…..aku kesian dowh kat ko…meh aku nak bg ko class macro/micro ekonomi free jerk……unlimited hours…..special offer ni…..

• Nizam80 on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:18 pm

The car is not meant to be pushed hard in the first place as it meant to carry you and your family and also has good low end torque. And……why you want to race with Caldina Turbo GT? A recond car…. Kereta tu org Jepun dah taknak pakai kat sana, diorang dump kat sini untuk orang mcm ko beli. Even Cusco Junior Rally Team dah beli kita nya Neo untuk competition kat Jepun. huhu.

Anyway, I will not be surprised if at some point cars like the Satria Neo S2000, and Cusco tuned Neo making its way in virtual form to a driving game like the Gran Turismo series.

• Prismo on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:27 pm

at SG Exora was more than RM100k…

• kivatt0024 on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:19 pm

as we expected from this dude..always comparing the between malaysia n saudi arabia…dude go replace Najib and eliminate all taxes la….or the best solution..go change ur citizenship….ur comments only making u embarrass urself….

• peYno on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:37 pm

how much your myvi lady edition price in the UK???

• NEW Proton Exora 1.6CFE??? come on, proton. Your current extremely under power exora is a fail/poor product as usual produce by proton. This new engine shd replace free to compensate the poor design product you have made but not asking more from buyer.

• Loneranger on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Malaysia are becoming like our neighbour .. always want things for free…..pity u..u shld work harder to find more money dude..

Am driving Exora for outstation work and i never have prob with it…myb u shld check ur service schedule…..:)

• Hey dude, my friend bought this car few months ago & sold it. Due to high FC, and I been use this car for period of time conclusion is performance suck. You better think twice if u think of over taking the car as power response very slow after you press hard onto the pedal. This is risk for the driver, hence this new engine shd come as STD package replace existing engine without asking more from buyer. Btw, apple is replacing it iPhone4 with iPhone 4S at almost same price.

• MoFaz on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:27 pm

those who bought Iphone 4 should get Iphone 4S for free too?

• vk9545 on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i think wat u say is fully true..like hw volkswagen doin…they hv turbo engine in their base models also..and hv 7 speed dsg in their base model too…i think every model in proton should cum wit cvt n and turbo engine as standard…

• Loneranger on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:49 pm

how long they have been in the market?

what is their company capital? and how about their sales volume…..the answer is in terms of economy, VW can afford that but not yet for Proton….

all this is juz a start dear friend…..sooner or later Proton will pack all this in all their cars provived we support our own local product not the recond or 2nd hand car from other country……

• foxis on Dec 15, 2011 at 8:55 pm

When technology is matured, it become cheap. As this turbocharged engine to proton is still consider new, so the costing wont be as cheap as the VW. VW already mastered the technology and using it for quite some time already. Too bad most of malaysian critics their own thing without actually think properly about the logics.

• the official brochure has been circulated on the net now. Em, still remember somebody point out vw cross touran is better, yes,it is better, but then,look at the price, even without tax still around rm110k. Yup,u get what u pay. But it seems that touran is not really that big right.
    Bold, if price around 80k, without tax still around 55k, much lower than vw touran n i think u cannot get vw touran as the same spec in malaysia, cheaper than exora bold in thailand, singapore n even in indonesia sooner. I dunno how some forumer can mention it is cheaper than exora. Weird is it. Bold can have all what in vw cross touran in 140k price, would u mind to buy exora bold @ that price?
    Even bold price speculation @ 80k +-,people already make a noise, how about exora @ 140k? Ithink no chance.
    All they want is bold to be price around 20k n prime will be around 30k, then alfie60, expat n geng will be smiling.
    Even toyota cannot sell their vios j without tax,without profit dealer n without profit@ at cost of production at 20k.
    I know tax is hefty in msia, but if u want really cheap car, start praying tata nano arrive at our shore. I think it will be price around 15k with tax n dealer profit. I think that is what expat n alfie60 dream car, so please tata, bring nano here, u have fans over here

• SAGA BeLum Masak (just a bit more) on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Bold or Prime, Bold or Prime, Bold or Prime…. Very hard to decide. If Bold… can add FLX SE on the list. If Prime….. Budget 130K…. mmmm?????

• Allen on Dec 15, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Just test drive the vehicle at the showroom (not available to public yet), the pickup is smooth and power is decent to drive.

At around 80k, I will get this over Grand Livina anytime.

• sabah on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:01 pm

wooo very the cantik la ini exora bold!!

• kuriang on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:06 pm

I’ve seen on the road already on test at SKVE during raining.. lain macam dia punya laju, lepas lalu toll tengok dia punya pickup… FUIYOOO….

• P1 Basher on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Ko dok puji proton lebih-lebih ni, macam la ko nak beli exora ni.

Cakap kosong boleh la. Beli la exora ni tanda sokongan kat proton.

Baru la orang respek ko sebagai peminat setia proton.

Cakap pandai. Beli taknak. Ehh.. Tapi bagus juga proton ada ramai orang macam ko.

Yang puji 100 orang. Yang beli 2 orang aje. Hahah..

• pelangi on Dec 15, 2011 at 4:34 pm

well done proton. luv it.

• kianmengw on Dec 15, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Well done, Proton !!

• Less verbal..just try it first..

• SparC on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:32 pm

I’m very happy to see this result !!

• Pak Abu on Dec 15, 2011 at 7:46 pm

Go for avanza…. than this…. what we call??? tong drum dengan kaler bling2….

• GTR 2.0 on Dec 15, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Avanza?? G.Livina ok sket… But this new exora is good. But I do think they should put CFE in all level of exora.