Proton Exora with turbocharged Campro CFE spotted!

Say hello to this interesting looking Proton Exora! The thing that makes it interesting is of course the “CFE INSIDE” decal that can be seen on the driver’s door. We’ve been hearing the CFE term for quite a while now and it started way back in February this year when a test was carried out in the snow.

At this point, we’ve been told by a source that CFE stands for Charged Fuel Enhancement (and not the Campro Fuel Efficient term, as believed), and it’s a 1.6 litre Campro engine fitted with a turbocharger. This engine is also said to function with a continuously variable transmission (CVT) or a manual transmission, and is rumored to produce about 138 hp and 205 Nm of torque between 2,000 and 4,000 rpm.

If you look closer at the image above, you will notice smoked tail lamps and rear disc brakes. This might be the same model that was seen in June this year by reader Dg Hafidz, who said he had trouble keeping up with it on the highway. We are not sure how this Exora CFE will be positioned into the Exora line-up, but it could well be a range-topping variant of the upcoming Exora facelift.

Since Proton isn’t making any attempt to camouflage the vehicle, an official announcement could well be around the corner. Stay tuned! And, a tip of the hat to reader Yus, who snapped the photo. On another note, the Campro CFE engine should make its way into other models in Proton’s stable, such as the new Persona or Satria :)

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Chong on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:44 pm

I just saw one on the truck as well heading to Proton Kota Damansara from Ikea.

• 15 yrs old on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:03 pm

to PROTON MUTIARA DAMANSARA…!!!

• Chong on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Oppps!!! yeap yeap…mutiara…silly mistake..

• gabla on Dec 10, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Exora already has a very nice interior, good ride & handling but the CPS engine was too weak for its size. With this new engine, Exora would be the MPV of choice for most Malaysian Family. Exora should have been released with this engine from day 1.

• Wari Nordin on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:22 am

Also got rear disc brake oooo!!

• Prismo on Dec 12, 2011 at 3:21 pm

With CPS engine also ok for a budget spec for a middle income family… what p2 selling point after this? DVVT (Dual Voltage Vtec Turbo)? internal turbo la katakan… hahahaha…

• Sarcastic Prick on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:48 pm

It’s still in Damansara….

• I quite like this MPV style ! nice color,nice bumpers and the turbocharged ! this time i must thumbs up for Proton and click Excited ! new Avanza and Alza is out of date already !

• payne on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:47 am

We’ll see about that. exora not even a close rival of avanza. what more to innova. alza of perodua maybe yes. someone mention about the price of this exora prime are maybe at the range of rm80k to rm90k. well, new facelftd avanza are on the way. and the new facelftd innova are already on the malaysia market. please somebody tell me the price of avanza here? what? as low as rm70k? what about he interest rate? 3%? no, i dont know yet. you tell me later la.

• HirumaKecil on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Also saw it.. I like the colour.. The tail lamp look nice with body the colour…..

• RAVEN on Dec 10, 2011 at 4:49 am

dont forget to look at the brakes too..
        WOW..
        those disc are huge… rite?

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Indeed, especially at the rear – they look like they’re the same size as the front discs, which would be unusual. They look like they’re even bigger than those on the Perdana V6, which, incidentally, had more power.

• comrade on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:04 am

to kota d;sara? i’ve book my exo there, not yet register.. can I change it to this turbo exo? wonder how much i need to top up…

• so skrg dh ada di proton mutiara damasara’s showroom ke?

• exora bold on Dec 11, 2011 at 7:56 am

exora ni blom dihantar ke showroom lagi.. yang gambar atas lori tu dari proton shah alam ke hub pdi center kat sijangkang.. skang masih dalam proses final PDI… jangka keluar dari hub antara 13 – 15 dec sbb 16 dec lounching ( belum final date )…

• hangmedan492 on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:44 pm

good enough! this machine will smoke Toyol Innova…

• altecs on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:27 pm

This is good news… but there is better news to follow up with this..

“proton official turbo kit for all existing campro models” :)

• farghmee on Dec 10, 2011 at 6:30 pm

is that possible?
        this cfe uses iafm, i.e. non-cps..
        current exo is cps-ed.

• ntah.. on Dec 11, 2011 at 8:48 am

Didn’t you read the tittle of this post?? Proton exora with turbochrged campro CFE.. So the answer is possible..

• farghmee on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:30 pm

yeah i read.

cps is different with campro+iafm.

all existing campro models consist of cps & iafm.

it is troublesome to turbocharged cps.
            but, it is proven to turbocharged iafm.

maybe some otai can clarify this matter :)

• ntah.. on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:58 pm

maybe it is possible to turbocharged the cps.. but why need two different turbocharged engine if the power output is not that different?

• Aman Shah on Dec 11, 2011 at 4:52 am

R u sure ada turbo kit later? then can u install into my CPS?

• “On another note, the Campro CFE engine should make its way into other models in Proton’s stable such as the new Persona or Satria.”

This is what I’m excited about

• rosdi on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Oh yes baby!.. produce Neo S2000 inspired car using this CFE engine lah!!

• amirad on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:27 pm

I want to transplant this engine into my gen2 cps. Then my Gen2 will really fly. 205 Nm of torque. Thats equivalent to a new Subaru BRZ.

• i loike… cant wait anymore

• faliq on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:52 pm

a very impressive movement from proton. good job.

• noname on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:56 pm

exciting.. :)

• damn. This looks good. Exora cfe gonna leave the new avanza biting the dust.

• Out of Luck on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Similar or competitive price but twice the horse power. Yes!

• Loneranger on Dec 10, 2011 at 1:52 am

Ppl will still buy Avanza coz of the bagde……am not saying Azanza is a bad car overall but coz of the batch and its country of origin…ppl will opt for it than our P1 Exora..

it is juz the mentality…not more not less……

• Ayecaramba on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:36 pm

I’m really excited to see Proton producing a turbocharger for their engine line finally. I know maintenance would be a pain but to see me smoke another car of the same class with the same price, it’s totally worth it! I want this on the Satria Neo then Proton can say that the Neo is really one hot hatch.

I wonder how much more extra power output we can wring out when we remap this. Haha. Finally a smart move from Proton.

• Just me on Dec 10, 2011 at 3:27 pm

1.6L with 138hp and 205Nm how to smoke other similar class MPV like Touren and 5008 with at least 156bhp and 250Nm? Kena smoke I believe.

• a 70k vs a 100k++and + car.. very SMART!

• Ayecaramba on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:00 pm

My similar class of MPVs with SIMILAR PRICETAG!

i.e. TOYOTA AVANZA, NISSAN LIVINA, ALZA(is slightly smaller tho). You are a blithering i***t, seriously. Read nicely before commenting!

• Loneranger on Dec 10, 2011 at 1:53 am

Ppl will still buy Avanza coz of the bagde……am not saying Avanza is a bad car overall but coz of the batch and its country of origin…ppl will opt for it than our P1 Exora..

• Loneranger on Dec 10, 2011 at 1:53 am

Ppl will still buy Avanza coz of the bagde……am not saying Avanza is a bad car overall but coz of the badge and its country of origin…ppl will opt for it than our P1 Exora..

• khylie555 on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Anyone still want the Avanza?

• I’m sure people will still say the Avanza is good simply cause it’s a “Toyota”… You know lah, people like to bash blindly

• littlefire on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Good, at last P1 is doing some improvement.. Even basher as me already starting to like P1.. :)

Now the next thing P1 have to do it to improve their quality & also safety standard.. Hopefully this CFE unit does have the ESP as those testing unit in Europe.. Keep up the move!

• Out of Luck on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:41 pm

I’m at little sceptical that ESP will be included but i do hope Proton to consider ESP and 6-7 airbags especially for hi-line models. In any case, this introduction is good as it coincides with upcoming Chinese New Year which means more demands for mpv for balik kampung purposes. Even better news is that with Extra turbo out of the bag, the Persona R or Tuah introduction will be just around the corner, hopefully early to mid next year! Huhu!

• ntah.. on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:23 pm

proton actually can include esp and more airbags if malaysians willing to pay more.. you knowlha malaysian, want luxury but with the price of kancil.. anyway, this is a very nice looking car with superb powertrain!! very excited!!

• kadajawi on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Safety features are not that expensive. 4-6 airbags are usually standard in Europe, ABS and ESP too (except you go for sub 35k RM cars perhaps), and that is always including 19% tax. How much tax does Proton have to pay? Profits… they are making big profits, or they just don’t know how to efficiently build cars.

I agree, for Malaysia the price is probably good, the car decent, looks good too for what it is.

(138 hp from a 1.6 liter isn’t that amazing though, if it were a 1.4 then 138 is good. A step in the right direction nevertheless).

• ntah.. on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:33 pm

malaysian automaker never make a turbocharged engine la bro.. step by step la.. of course you can’t compare proton with other well-known automaker in the world.. it is good enough that proton already produced turbocharged-powered vehicle.. and don’t forget the ev,reev and hybrid.. Rm46k for a basic polo(no aircond and whatsoever) in uk? no thanks..

• Out of Luck on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:11 am

That’s why I suggested hi-line because people still have to choice to opt for less safety features fire Lee price in b- or m-lines. But so far Proton never includes them so nobody can get them even if buyer willing to pay for them. Safety features are far more important body kits.

• Quattro on Dec 10, 2011 at 10:34 am

does proton change from it timing belt to timing chain? anyone have the info? please

• littlefire on Dec 12, 2011 at 6:30 pm

If not mistaken still the same as Campro = Timing belt.. a bit let down on this… But at least they put on a turbocharger & direct injection system.. if the news is correct..

• hayden on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:01 pm

now it has turbo”ed” up my day!! :DD

• JeremyNg on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:04 pm

That’s a test drive unit !!!

• Out of Luck on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:48 pm

By sending test drive units around, assuming to showrooms, that mean Proton is preparing for official launch very soon. After all what’s the point of getting the test drive units around if official products not ready? Usually if it’s not for launch, the test drive units will be camouflaged/heavily disguised.

• mamamia on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:46 pm

i think this new exora will launch this month due to its test drive unit have been delivered….peace!

• BeemerFreak on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Yes let this car kill the New Avanza. Only stupid people needs that Toyota when we can have local turbocharged power. Hail Proton

• Out of Luck on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:57 pm

But we got so many fan boys here in Malaysia. So i won’t be surprised if Avanza still one of the best seller. Have you heard iPhone sales down despite economic downturn or when there are plenty of other chapter and better phones around?

• SP_Persona on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:07 pm

this is what I think that suit for CFE.. Charge Fuel Efficient.. just my opinion..

• asyraf on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:07 pm

so, wat happen 2 proton ‘penyet’?

• Wanteh on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:12 pm

what proton penyet? i think proton penyet tuh wat baling ke muka ko..!! hahaha

• Wanteh on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:14 pm

what “proton penyet” ? never heard that…
      i think “proton penyet” tu wat baling ke muka ko!
      hahaha

• Loneranger on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:38 pm

are u hungry dude?

i can pay for your ayam penyet in Kg Jawa if u want to……

pity u too hungry till u look at cars also u imagine food…..

come2…let me belanja u for nice dinner tonite…….

• proton bertuah on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Proton penyet is prototype model for p321a.. to estimate weight..

• mamamia on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:49 pm

it just a mule to the new ‘persona’,just for testing before use its real body (i already forgotten new car next year)

• aiman adam on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:01 pm

owh,proton penyet tu..maksud u proton exora yang bumbung dia rendah wne putih tu kan??….betul jgk,apa cerita ek??…da buat test kat sweden(icy road)….if not mistaken,yang tu ada esp n ebd…apa cerita??

• chua kai voon on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Woah dats one hot lookin mpv! way to go proton!

• TheInsider on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:10 pm

I bet comment will hit more than 200?
    let guess..

• Kucau on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:10 pm

I toy CFE= charged fuel efficient ? Campro CFE

• SP_Persona on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:26 am

I think its Charged too dude.. but others said Campro Fuel Efficient.. so quite weird when your going to say Campro Campro Fuel Efficient (CFE)… Campro Charged Fuel Efficient make its more likely.. since this new engine has turbocharge…

• GreenFuel on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Great news. Can’t wait for the new proton to come out with this engine

• LFA LOVER on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:16 pm

wow, so good oh proton! Cant believe that this year proton had so much improve. I liked proton now. Hoped proton EV also will be successful project. I will be waiting

• udasalleh on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:18 pm

CPS CFE + CVT would be great..! Now… put it in a crossover design (like the proposed Lekiu) n u’ll have a waiting buyer in me..! hmmmm… r u listening DSZ..?! :-P

• farghmee on Dec 10, 2011 at 6:36 pm

lekiu no-no
      youngman yessza

• yaya .. I want a turbocharged crossover from proton too. but I wonder whether the market is big enough for proton to produce it.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:21 pm

138 hp mean it going to be light turbo only. :-(

• Mega/Liverpool on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Greetings from the UK
    Here (almost) at last, major step forward?…..well lets hope so. In Europe cars sell on their CO2 out put…….the less CO2 the less taxes you pay. Thus a car that makes under 100 grams of CO2 per k is ZERO road tax.

My vRS Skoda is £245.00 a year, so most people want low CO2. While i am delighted with Proton trying to advance i can’t help but think they are still 5-10 years behind in engine tec.

Proton needs high tec/low CO2 engines to sell in the UK/Europe
    Cheers
    Mike

• rosdi on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:06 pm

That is what Saga EV and Exora REEV is for..

• Don Juan De Marco on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:10 pm

I don’t mean to be nasty Mike but with the economic disaster just waiting to happen in the EU, shouldn’t the people in the UK worry more about their personal finances & use public transport more rather than worrying about an engine’s CO2 output?

Plus, with this not so old road tax approach calculation based on CO2 output, how much better is the livelihood of the British people have been improved compared to before?

Cheers!

• kadajawi on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Better air quality = good. Go outside in Malaysia (KL or JB), take a deep breath. Not so nice, right? I love how clean the air is in Europe compared to that.

You can always try to lower CO2 emissions, it gives people an incentive to get a newer, less wasteful car. Isn’t that good?

• Mega/Liverpool on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:32 am

Thats ok Don, i 100% agree with you over the UK
        You might like to watch this:-
        http://maxkeiser.com/2011/12/09/teaser-which-countrys-debt-is-1000-of-gdp/

The UK is about to get kicked out EU!

The reson i go on about the low CO2 is low CO2 cars are cheap to run, many foolish Brits have bought BMW’s…..they don’t have the money to run them & have to borrow to cover the differance. Now that they are BUST they need a cheap “BMW replacment car”.

Mike

• notsogrenn on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:11 am

c02 output? nahh.. we didnt care.. we have enough forest in malaysia to absorb that..

• Hahaha ….Good One!!

• 4545er on Dec 10, 2011 at 1:22 pm

hahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahhaahhahhh

• arzaq on Dec 11, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Of course in Malaysia we dont care about co2 because we have enough trees. They just gave us the idea on how to improve Proton sell in UK. If proton wants to be global car manufacture, then proton should consider this idea

• Overhead kick on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Innova and avanza become junk scrap from now on

• blazer on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:28 pm

So means that this weekend we can test drive Proton Exora at Mutiara Damansara?! Yipppee!

• seriusSAM on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Toyota salesman worst nightmare

• Prismo on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:48 pm

and Perodua will begging for daihatsu’s turbo engine to compete with proton… :D

• kadajawi on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Why? They have been selling … as if it was made out of gold for years, why should this car change anything? People will still buy the Avanza for the badge.

• syntium5000 on Dec 10, 2011 at 4:22 am

THEN TOYOTA SALESMEN WILL SAY…

TURBO TU MAKAN MINYAK KUAT MAA…MENTENEN PON TINGGI…TAK MCM KAMI..VVTI…SAVE MINYAK….TECH BAGUS………

• hiace supporter on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:28 pm

too obvious la proton…..
    spend so much on your online ad campaign…. haha.. can smell fake “fanboy” comments a mile away. fans also must fake.. just die please or sell out to volkswagen.

then everyone will be happy.

• only u la yang happy…talibarut penjajah

• sfssd on Dec 10, 2011 at 8:07 am

Proton will never give up, just like Toyota they never give up despite the floods, tsunami, earthquake and recall controversies, they are still fighting.

Proton is doing the same, they won’t back down simply because of some moron’s comment here.

• The rims are nice! The total look is very impressive which includes the rear brake disc as well as the gold colour and smoked tail lights! I can’t wait! Proud of you Proton!

• arcana on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:33 pm

wow not bad….got turbo + DI somemore and CVT……hopefully its fuel efficient.
    lets see how much this MPV cost….RM85k?

• Redwings on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Is it con-job or proton strategy? Why not CPS turbo? IAMF again…

• Bodoh on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:33 am

Why need cps? They r not making a performance car anyway. And then there’s the costs. If the IAFM can deliver what they want, why need to use cps?

• panadoll on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:35 pm

CFE stands for Charge Fuel Efficient, not campro fuel efficient. so long name Campro Charge Fuel Efficient.

• After second batch, maybe i will book one. Let other be test pig first. This maybe the first P1 car i will try on, after so many toyota at home.

• I hope P1 is smart and make this as standard item.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:51 pm

RM79K?

• direct injection? wow.. advance.. same league as fsi/ecoboost/d4-s la camnih..

• exora bold on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:54 pm

new feature on this exora bold

1st -reverse camera – small screen on room mirror
    2nd – auto flip side mirror
    3rd – new version dvd player
    4th – 5 pcs of 16″ sport rim
    5th – new comb meter scheme with 240km/h speed meter
    6th – new colour scheme for interior trim part

the accelaration very2 smooth & responsive.. the price just add 6k ( not comform yet )

• actually don’t mind adding 10K if it is reliable and save fuel.
      1.6 engine but have 2.0 performance adding 10K is nothing.

• justice on Dec 12, 2011 at 2:23 pm

dont say like that..it’ll be good if just change the H-line with this turbo model (same priced)

• zool cool on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:54 pm

like like like, 1st MPV then famili sedan or sport compact… finally Proton Original turbo no need to drive my Wiralution and kena tahan JPJ

• a turbocharged 1.6 with only 138hp is surprisingly low compared to other turbocharged engines. hope the official figure is much higher! :)

• low presure turbo.. why need to high for MPV ? unless for neo/persona then ok la..

• 200nm torque from 2k to 4k rpm.. You can’t get that on most similar price ranged vehicles.. Toyota & Honda, no exception. Can even tapao Honda City.. hahahaha

• I guess the turbo is for lower rpm range. To provide a little extra power for overtaking, hill climbing etc.

• Mr Wancer on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:41 pm

It’s not all about WHP / BHP my friend…since this is a family car, the ability to move efficiently with heavy load is much more important than how fast you reach top speed.

Just have a look at the torque figures…205nm for a low pressure turbo is quite nice…added with piggback ECU, you can make it more powerful + efficient.

• jay8393 on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:05 pm

IAFM? Shouldn’t they use CPS version instead?

• H4dRi on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:20 pm

it will be too complicated, manufacturing & maintenance wise

• jay8393 on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:45 pm

What’s so complicated actually? It’s just a cam profile switching software, no?

• JeremyNg on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:54 pm

It will be pointless to turbocharged with VVT ……. they can make it more efficient with direct injection . U can try read some article in WWW about nowadays direct inject turbocharged engine

• exora bold on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:05 pm

new feature on this exora bold

– reverse camera – small screen on room mirror
    – auto flip side mirror
    – new colour scheme meter with 240km/h speed meter
    – new colour scheme on interior trim parts
    – new version dvd player
    – body colour gold & white
    – RR disc brake
    – 5pcs 16″ rim ( including spare tyre )
    – new FR & RR Bumper with skirting

the accelaration very2 smooth & responsive.
    the price add 6k from old HL ( not conform yet )

• That’s RM82k to 83k range already. A bit pricey if you ask me. I wonder how many of the “excited” people here will buy this CFE. I cant see many of HL Exora on the road, usually people just buy manual or ML. Hope CFE also comes with BL or ML.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 10, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Aha.. Its time for my Manual 1.6 BLM to take a rest….. and do some makeover….

• fanacorner on Dec 11, 2011 at 2:05 am

akhirnya nak keluar juga exora turbo ni. sy dah test drive kete ni bulan 3 tahun ni. verry pickup, verry smooth ride and brake verry mantop!!. NVH verry good. kete sy test ni R&D punya. klau production punya mungkin lagi senyap. Guna enjin baru sepenuhnya. bkn cps lagi dh. cfe+vvt+turbo+cvt. u all pikir lh sendiri ye.

• Absolute Rider on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Why compare with Toyota Avanza…. for my opinion not even a proper MPV!!!!! U guys should say lets smoke the Toyota Innova!!!

• Tombakemas on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:44 am

Of course can smoke Toyota Innova, even with 2.0 engine, only can give 136HP and 182NM, and further to that naik macam sampan jer….

• Firdaus on Dec 14, 2011 at 8:55 am

I wonder why ppl here want to smoke each other with this car.
      IT’S MPV FOR CRYING OUT LOUD… Wanna give your MIL a heart attack??

• rulered on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Cayalah Proton!

• Good timing to compete with Toyota Avanza. Hope the pricing is right with all the goodies they gave. Keep it up Proton.

• maxize on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:22 pm

can’t wait for a test drive..

• Manoq on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Don’t just look at the the bhp la bro, look at the torque …. 205 Nm at 2000 rpm ….. that’s very good. Helps a lot in rolling acceleration.

Can even smoke 2.0L accord, camry and the likes.

Even more powerful than mazda 5, wish, stream. Should be compared with 5008.

• tm_guy on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:23 pm

u may cucuk golf tsi nnt…dun worry, i tried it last time…

• try smoke ford mondeo ecoboost then..

• Firdaus.. on Dec 13, 2011 at 11:51 pm

I wonder why ppl here want to smoke each other with this car.
      IT’S MPV FOR CRYING OUT LOUD… Wanna give your MIL a heart attack??

• ex employee on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:33 pm

i thought CFE stands for “Charged Fuel Enhancement.” I’ve worked for one of the proton vendors before; if im not mistaken CFE stands for what i’ve written earlier

• ex employee on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:36 pm

CFE = Charged Fuel Enhancement

• budak baru on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:32 pm

C.F.E adalah dari singkatan Campro Fuel Efficiency..dan sedang giat dijalankan di prodution line.

• raiden on Dec 12, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Craved for Fuel Engine…

• samsam on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:50 pm

if the CFE confirm is Campro Fuel Efficient, it will look weird, turbo cant be fuel efficient.. weather is light or high turbo cant be efficient than NA, all the best proton! im waiting sedan model..

• KageSenshi on Dec 10, 2011 at 8:22 am

low pressure turbo is fuel efficient because it only makes use of the wasted energy on the exhaust to compress the air ..

its about the configuration and finding the optimum point, too much will make it worse, too little would just be inefficient ..

• samsamsam on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:38 pm

erm…

golf tsi with supercharger+turbocharger+direct injection averages 700km per full tank (50liters)

which na engine can do that ?

• protonfans on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:55 pm

T.Avanza and P.Exora is totally different… cant compare!
    My tumbs up for P.Exora

• protonfans on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:57 pm

T.avanza and P.exora is totally different… cant compare!
    My tumb up for P.Exora… two tumbs

• konglokian on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Peugeot 508 1.6 156hp …ha ha proton 1.6 only 138hp!!!

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:59 pm

ya la.. 5008 also so much hp of price. later so much hp lost resale value

• wonder how fast this mpv can go. :))))

• kublai on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Peugeot 508 twinscroll laa bro..

• kadajawi on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:36 pm

VW needs 1.4 liter to get 170 hp (one turbo and one supercharger). They also have a 1 liter engine that develops 133 hp.

• Nizam80 on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:47 pm

No problem with that. The Peugeot is how much ah? Below RM 200K?

From the engine figures, Proton is most definitely not aiming for top speed.

• amenonajib on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:59 pm

hais got so many proton staff give comment here

• Anak Malaysia on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:15 pm

CFE – Campro Force-induced Engine ?

• tm_guy on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:20 pm

it is Charge Fuel Economy with VVT and not direct injection as mentioned by writer above.

• The colour is so tempting.. Hope the ride also does.. Will testdrive this model n believe this may attract back the trust of us malaysian.. Good move proton!!

• mirror mirror on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Interesting power output, this is more like it. If they can maintain the price I think this should do well.

• klaka seram on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:36 pm

wow! I’m really excited. A turbocharged Proton.
    Congrat

• santa claus on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:44 pm

wow…exora cfe so awesome! ho ho ho…

• What turbo is this men low pressure turbo?better just modify the air induction can deliver same horsepower expect it to be around 2.0l engine hp

• Love it.. Finally got more power in the engine.. Good.. Proton.. !!!! Keep it on..

• obiwan kenobi on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:55 pm

exora already smoke avanza. do no need to mentioned them or the like….. this is a step forward for a better proton.

• Ho ho ho I ll save a lot of my money, nearly put up deposit on peugeot 5008.

• tmt1881 on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Abah!!!!!! jom kita cuba proton :)

• Turbo helps in fuel efficiency in newer cars, VW and BMW are some manufacturers who have started using smaller engine with turbo and super charger. Merc C250 blue efficiency has a 1.8 engine with supercharger.
    So well done proton, let’s see which model gets the CFE after Exora.

• Akmal on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:52 pm

a direct injection fuel delivery system? Izzit similar to GDi tech from Mitsu where it is directly inject into the cylinder where it is better than multi point injection MPi?

• tokbatin on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:53 pm

konglokian says:
    Peugeot 508 1.6 156hp …ha ha proton 1.6 only 138hp!!!

why need to high for MPV ?
    need much higher hp??? tunggu neo persona or gen2 bro…

• Give me inspira cfe lol

• xavier lert on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:10 pm

to my fren ntchoon…congratz… i think u’ll be one of the first who’ll get it

• shawal on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:12 pm

13 more bhp, and 50nm more torque than the standard exora ,
    have to test drive it first to feel the difference…

• rosdi on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:30 pm

You are looking it wrong la bro… this time the torque is fully available from 2000rpm to 4000rpm!.. That is what makes the big difference!… previously you need to rev high to get sufficient torque.. hence the sluggish feeling at slow speed.

Full torque is available at 2000rpm!.. wow!!.. handy to potong other kereta!

• omg omg omg proton finally got DIRECT INJECTION. i hate turbo so plz put DI on na engine also plzzz

• setiapaduka on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:19 pm

I have spotted few units of this type exora with little disguise and 1.6 flxse saga convoy on highway toward penang on december 7. Passing easily my 120 kmh exora with one of their passenger smiling to me. Not sure whether this is cfe or new facelift exora.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:32 pm

“Telor satu biji bising satu kampong” a.k.a. “produce one egg make noise one village”, all P1 blind supporters come out in full force praise like there is no tomorrow. There is no ending to these alphabets crunching freak PR exercise for this poor jaguh kampong Cam-Tak-Pro engine!

• if anybody can achieve that….it;s a marketing genius…minimum effort huge impact……unlike u bising satu kampung tapi tarak telur……well if u got one must be a rotten one or empty one……..there’s another saying empty can make most noise anyway….

• taboogen on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:00 am

where got cam-tak-pro anymore.. its cam kepish kepish….. doesnt really matter u can stick to your waja….

• rosdi on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:33 am

I have a feeling this guy is a very sour old man… look at his spelling… telor? kampong?

Telor is not egg my friend…, telor is accent… for egg you want telur.

• kivatt0024 on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:45 am

as expected from this guy…..are u not tired bashing proton…?? or u got paid 4 doing that…?? if u want bash please come with logical issue…..not lame ones….

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:56 am

u need more friends damn badly..!

• ThePolygon on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Well have to hand it to them this time. Good job Proton!

• adik pak mat on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:42 pm

damn it proton…amazing..awesome
    tak sabar nk bawak pak mat test exora cfe….well done proton.

• Expirate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Expatriate VN cannot accept the reality.maybe SHE can be TopGear host.even ferrari,he can condem it.damn!!Go go proton even i never have proton car.:)

• Norman on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Good job but still room for improvement for the torque.I believe Neo,Persona and probably Saga can fly with this rating but not so for sub 1.4 ton Exora.I was hoping at least it will produce 145hp/225nm..

• Expirate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Expatriate VN cannot accept the reality.SHE can be TopGear hos.even ferrari,they still can condem it

• varrie on Dec 09, 2011 at 11:42 pm

I always have problem with my innova, it is underpowered. I hope toyota too can install turbo to innova. but i love the height, because my place always banjir on the road.

• think bout this on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:00 am

in reality a 1.6 turbo is a great step forward in terms of efficiency for Proton..anyone who doesnt know pls check out european cars…even the big new volvos are with 1.6 turbos… a blend of power and economy……Merc C-class with 1.8 turbos… BMW now with 2.0 turbo..no more inline 6…. the world is downsizing…

Turbo is not for outright power, its efficiency…
    this is not your GTR or EVo turbos…

but where r they japs? yeah they r busy with hybrids, but r they the future? nope..its electric,…for now the best is diesel engines, but our crap diesel quality doesnt allow that in, next best is light force fed engines..n wala proton has one now..thats the right step forward…chassis is already a good in new protons…

only one thing n one thing only…better interiors!

• mamamia on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:04 am

i’m start dreaming satria with CFE rite now…wahhhhh

• Erwan on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:49 am

though I’m driving TW…. But thumbs up for Exora so called CFE… another step forward

:-$

• Mokmeng on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:10 am

Congrats proton..Its getting better n better..
    Basher will always a basher..
    Yet still must take note on criticism from basher that would help proton to improve in future..
    good luck..

• so now where are the bashers?
    come on that’s all you have?
    start to admire what the ‘jaguh kampung’ now has compare to your crappy T,H or N cars?

• as a malaysian who own PROTON (waja), im PROUD …. GOOD MOVE PROTON, GOOD MOVE !!!

• ayamxxx on Dec 10, 2011 at 7:40 am

isn’t that campro design is only for 10years? so after 10 years proton need to obsolete the campro engine design. n make a new engine.
    this is not good. they put the turbo. n they keep producing the old engine

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 10, 2011 at 4:08 pm

T have been using Abarth design engine for 40 years in some of its production. Even N also still use old design engine. But the difference is at the top part not the block. And thats where the EFi, cvvt, dvvt, dual-dvvt, CFE or whatever the name they put. Most engine manufacturer will reuse the proven block design and paired with whatever system they want.
      Samething with this Campro engine, youll notice the bore is the same on both 1.3 and 1.6 but the stroke is different. and they mate it with CPS. IAFM or whatever suitable for their marketing strategy is. And for sure in 30 years time the parts will still be available but at what cost.??
      There is nothing to worry about old engine as long as they are reliable and easy to mantain, its consider good. Even T KE10 engine parts is still in production and easily available.
      The only problem is, is the parts available in the market. Like what happened to SAVVY i.e Renault parts, which is not produced elsewhere and very hard to get.
      And the most important thing, Are you going to keep your car for more thn 10 years. You decide..

• CFE – Crappy Fuel Efficiency ?
    CVT – Campro Very Thirsty ?
    CFE + CVT = still 10km/Liter and CO2 emission >180g/KM ?

Anyway big Syabas to Protongkat Saudi Arabia for this new Exora (20 Airbags, ESP, 3 LCD Monitors plus working power windows) with price RM41,255.37 only.

• uilpo on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:48 pm

dah basi semua tu…

• Loneranger on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:06 pm

don’t u have any other issue to be brought up here? always bout KSA Proton price….

did u learn bout basic economics? or u want me to teach u bout it?

i can teach u for free though i charge my student rm50/hour for same subject…..

really pity u dude……really…..

• payne on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:36 am

If you are really that expert in eco, feel free to share la. Don’t la lokek. Rm50/hour does not matter bah. We’ll pay you rm500/hour. kalau nak we up lagi. But not to teach us. To teach the umno/bn clown leader how to run a country on economic orientation basis. After all, it was known fact that we are BERHUTANG almost 0.5 trillion. Every concerned law abiding citizen of malaysia know about that. Budget deficit 20 consecutive years. Rising price of daily basic needs. Corruption. Bad road. Worst traffic flow and the list will go on. Please liberalize the Proton and Perodua. No more special protection. Fully adapt the FTA. Abolish the AP. No more cronyism. Abolish the “cabotage policy”. And lastly cut the tax and excise of imported car so that the P1 and P2 can inter a fair and just trade. Means if it’s sold rm49k in the middle east, it’s should be sell here by that price as well. That’s how you can measure the true qualities of your mighty P1 & P2 product. If not, set aside your expertize in eco bcoz it’s sure no use.

• syabas ajaw for being an idiot.

you FAILED to realize that Saudi Arabia is a freaking rich country, even car tax is freaking low, and in fact you can get rebate when buying any new cars over there.

you want cheap? GTFO of this country, live there, buy ferraris for 10 riyal, and die.

• harimau malaya on Dec 10, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Cakap kencang = empty can (tin kosong)…:)..i wish to get new persona r with cfe inside it next year :)..hope can trade in my vios at good price

• Quattro on Dec 10, 2011 at 9:25 am

cantik bangat…bagus proton..cepatlah keluarkan persona baru..hopefully by early janaury 2012…..
    ramai sedang menunggu utk beli kereta baru nii…

• fazlisan on Dec 10, 2011 at 10:11 am

because of the basher, proton has improve well..
    congrate :)

jasa mu akan tetap di kenang wahai basher sekalian..haha

• azusa on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:47 pm

ape beza korg yg bash t,h,n and other dengan proton basher??same jela korg pon..kaki basher gak..hahaha

• jejerut on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:07 pm

buta hati ke? lain kali baca semua dalam p.t. baru boleh faham

• ezzra on Dec 10, 2011 at 3:01 pm

don’t be stupid and childish, most bashers bash blindly, although some arguments can be accepted as constructive comments.

if there’s no replies and interaction, how to find the truth ? how to know the the pros and cons? how to compare between products?

if you can’t live with that go and live in cave, noone bothers you

• liuny on Dec 10, 2011 at 6:47 pm

paku dulang paku serpih
      mengata orang kau yang lebih

• budak baru on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:41 pm

C.F.E is Charge Fuel Economy…fullstop..

• xgenomer on Dec 10, 2011 at 3:27 pm

138 hp turbocharged 1.6?? is it a joke or wat? 1.6 cps N/A can go to 135hp.. how come 1.6 turbocharged only 138..

• its all about torque dummy..read more la.. do yourselve a favor by reading more on low pressure turbo and its purposes ..pfffftt

• So tired to explain Turbocharged and bigger or high hp NA engines coz they are different story…just don’t focus the hp and the torque is important too ! 105ps TSI can tapau NA Engine 125ps Engine ! pls learn something…

• eggman01 on Dec 10, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Exora and Inspira are the best Proton vehicles yet!

• Peaceaim on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Alamak dah terbeli proton exora HL dah…. Anyhow good move proton. Still waiting our first hybrid MPV.

• Quattro on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Electric power steering termasuk dlm pakej ani jugak ke tidak?? boleh jimatkan lagi minyak…

• Quattro on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:41 pm

yang ni pakai taming chain ke masih timing belt..pls proton, please put timing chain..just change after 200km

• pacifictuna on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:05 am

what’s the problem with timing belt? is timing chain cheap to replace? and you might change car before it reach 100k anyway. just that T is using doesn’t mean it is good. chain is heavier and cost more to replace. the benefit is small marginally. and campro was designed to use belt. no way Proton will change it if the benefit gain is low. reengineering cost more…. my 2 cent.

• Pak Abu on Dec 12, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Alah, proton tu proton juga. Keta kuat telan minyak gak. Bodoh sapa yg beli. Better beli alza. Minyak lagi jimat, timing chain, cantik dan bergaya. Top speed setakat CFE ni 10 tiang tinggal kat belakang. Harga turbo ni sah2 mahal giler.

Dont be stupid. Beli alza, pilihan bijak masa kini

• Sarcastic Prick on Dec 12, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Haah, belilah Alza. Pastu bila eksiden K.O. macam tu je sebab kete cam aluminium foil je.

Cam ni hah – http://media.photobucket.com/image/Alza%20accident/radhi19/Kemalangan%20Alza/IMAGE_020.jpg

• kawan pak abu on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Biarlah pak abu tu. Dia pandai org lain bodoh, stupid.

• accord on Dec 13, 2011 at 7:18 pm

cantik ke? belakang mcm x siap tu kata cantik Pak.. Chery Eastar lg cantik dr Alza 2 alam tu Pak… sapa yg kena tinggal 10 tiang?? Joke of the day..

• rosdi on Dec 10, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Rumor has it that this 138bhp is the low end version.., there is another campro turbo with 151bhp… jeng jeng jeng….. drum roll….!!….. *hint.. look for proton annual report*

• “In November 2011, the new Exora Turbo will be produced. The new
      engine that is being developed by both Proton and lotus Engineers,
      comes with a powerful 138bhp to a maximum of 151bhp. The exterior
      will also be improved with sport rims, smoke lenses, rear combi
      lamp, chrome front radiator grille with black ribs and deep titanium
      finishing lamp.” – Proton 2011 annual report

• Nizam80 on Dec 10, 2011 at 10:11 pm

I really can’t wait to test drive this. Anyway, a bit off topic here.. Just test drove the Saga 1.6 FLX SE with CVT today. I must say that the interior quality is one of the best so far in a budget car….Comparable to a B segment Japanese make. Everything is tightly fitted… no noticeable gaps whatsoever. Performance… a huge leap above the 1.3. I dare to say here that the 1.6 IAFM+ and CVT is a great combo, and it suits the Saga’s weight. In CVT mode is what it shines the most: smooth, quiet, and effortless, yet maintaining low revs. Quite surprised myself, as the car was carrying 4 full size adults each at 1.75m tall and more than 70kg. I think this is due to the new IAFM+. Got the chance to floor the throttle and I notice that the engine won’t let you rev past 5000rpm… but that’s a good thing as revs a brought up smoothly. The SAT mode is more of a gimmick, BUT ITS A DAMN GOOD gimmick. Apart from space, I can say that it’s much better than my Persona in all others aspects, especially driveability. My little bro getting the car soon, and I’m starting to envy him.

• makeitmine on Dec 10, 2011 at 10:14 pm

There is definitely a market for this kind of car.

Just compare this car with Toyota WISH. A Toyota WISH with 2ZR-FAE (2WD) 1.8L engine produce 142 hp@6400, 176 N·m (130 lb·ft)@4400

If it is true that this car can achieve 138hp 205 Nm of torque between 2,000 and 4,000 rpm, it will be comfortable for anyone to drive one home from the showroom.

Definitely exportable quality!!!!

• maaajeeedaaa on Dec 10, 2011 at 11:21 pm

huhuhu…tak cukup duit nak angkat CROSS TOURAN, tapi kalu dapat angkat EXORA Turbo ni kira ok dah…..

• alanchai on Dec 11, 2011 at 5:28 am

Campro IAFM only ?!
    not CPS + turbo charge + CVT meh :(

• langit hitam on Dec 11, 2011 at 8:31 am

Just an advise to future owner of Exora CFE.
    Please know the car limitation before you guy start to mods the car. Dont simply taken a short route to get the extra power. There a reason why P1 limit its HP & Nm even for CVT & Manual tranny

• pacifictuna on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:10 am

agreed. very true and very much neglected my many. i know the engine is limited but i guess the 200Nm torque is pretty much near the limit of the CVT box.

• auto student on Dec 11, 2011 at 8:58 am

its far more better if CPS CFE + CVT + VVT

• auto student on Dec 11, 2011 at 9:04 am

its far better if CPS CFE + CVT + VVT …. Terbaik !!!!!

• student,
      learn what direct injection is, and why it is more efficient compared to cps

• Dino77 on Dec 11, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Student,

The CFE entine has VVT. Adding in the CPS will be redundant to the engine.

• anak malaysia on Dec 11, 2011 at 9:15 am

For mpv besar elok pakai diesel, yg penting tork, bukan speed. Buat apa beli kereta yg kuat melahap minyak mcm engin2 proton sekarang ni. Kalau perlu hire org yg tahu buat engine silakan,for the sake of yr future bila afta dh apply mb 2015 nnti !.

• bukan proton tak boleh buat, BOLEH … tapi tengok dulu kualiti minyak DIESEL KAT MALAYSIA NIE DULU SEBELUM BERLAGAK PANDAI !

• Nakal on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:25 pm

macam la ko beli walau proton guna diesel sekali pun… comment je lebih

• Nizam80 on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:26 am

Ya, betul. Torque yang penting. Tapi, ko tahu tak berapa torque engine CFE ni? 200nm@2000rpm. Namakan aku at least satu kete Perodua yg ada torque byk mcm ni….. Okla, bagi chance kat ko…namakan at least satu kete Perodua yg peak torque nya wujud pada sekurang-kurangnya 2000 rpm?

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:32 am

diesel is comming… 2013 or 2014

• civicEK on Dec 11, 2011 at 12:40 pm

finally!! good move proton, hopefully my 1st proton will be next year when launching ur new persona R :)

• LFA LOVER on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:54 pm

aku lebih suka turbo petrol daripada turbo diesel. cuba tgk top gear, range rover evoque depa lg prefer yg petrol daripada yg diesel

• rugaxp on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Harvinder;
    Is this statement really true?

“1.6 litre Campro engine fitted with a turbocharger, IAFM and a direct injection fuel delivery system”

if it is, then is a super good news, Campro is now with Direct Injection!! thats really a wow, so they dump the VVT instead and put on the direct injection?

• Mr Funny on Dec 11, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Ah.. So many choices now.. I don’t know which one to buy already. Tuah or Exora CFE. Own Waja CPS and quite satisfy with the performance but still not enough for me. Need more tourqey ride. Should I trade in my Waja CPS for the upcoming Tuah or buy Exora cfe instead (no trading in)? My second car is Savvy btw :D. If buy Exora then I have 3 Protons in my garage.. wow.. hahahaha

• Sell all 3 cars. Buy Ford Focus TDCI..

• Mr Funny on Dec 13, 2011 at 10:48 am

Wow! what a brilliant idea you have there. Maybe I can sell my kapcai and basikal as well to get extra money to buy the Focus TDCi.

• Visitor on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:05 am

Hello, sorry want to ask noob question here. can someone here give good (easy to understand) example how to compare the X BHP and Y Nm at Z rpm of a car?

thanks in advance yea ;-)

• kawan pak abu on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Bhp determines the maximum speed your car can go, race car wants high bhp. Torque determines how strong you car can pull, lori balak wants high torque. Rpm is your engine rotation per minute, low gear low rpm. If your car has good torque at low rpm (low gear) then your car can potong other cars very easily.

• rezcreep on Dec 12, 2011 at 4:45 am

4 those how want more power just buy the b line normal exora n change da engine with evo plant.dunt kutok2 cps not good etc.just like my friend doing 2 his exora…by the way tumb up p1..gud job becoz u all had a great rnd 2 improve.not as p2 just buying a mole from japan n rebage..hahaha

• vtecroar on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:49 am

now, i should trade in my civic..ngeh ngeh

• i thought it was …CFE = Campro Force-induction Engine :)

• faisal on Dec 12, 2011 at 9:50 am

Bukan dulu Proton dah keluar Wira diesel ke. Trend kereta sekarang CC kecik tapi berkuasa,jimat minyak dan mesra alam sekitar. Proton dah ke arah ke arah tu sekarang. Apapun tahniah Proton. Komited Menjadi Yang Lebih Baik.

• mizzuddin945 on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:17 pm

exora is quite good in term of handling for an MPV…

albeit the good handling cars and MPV they produce, the interior material and build quality have many room though to be improvised…

please don’t let these factors be a let down…

• izack04 on Dec 12, 2011 at 1:09 pm

The exterior looks nice, new color, new rim, smoked rear lights, new skirting design
    Good project

• fadzly @ recaro26 EOCM 390 on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:12 am

Nice turbo enjine
    Nice rear disc brake

• fadzly @ recaro26 EOCM 390 on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:15 am

niec enjin
    nice rear disc

• fadzly @ recaro26 EOCM 390 on Dec 14, 2011 at 9:21 am

nice enjine