Proton P3-21A rear end uncovered for the first time?

Remember the yellow Proton P3-21A that showed the upcoming sedan’s face uncovered? It looks like a partial rear shot of that car has been circulating online, showing us the tail lamps without any masking. Even as we analyse it, bear in mind that this may or may not be the final production design.

Shown at funtastickodesign, the lone image shows a rear lamp cluster that’s unlike the wraparound old Subaru Legacy style rear design of the Tuah concept, so perhaps Proton is looking at a more contemporary look. The edges look a bit sharp and abrupt, though.

We can see that there’s a chrome bar visually linking the two sides of the tail lamps, like how Jaguar does it for the XF.

What we see here is also consistent with what’s visible from the masked test mules running around – full red with a clear strip running in the middle, with part of the lamp extended into the boot lid.

Do you prefer this or the rear end look of the Tuah concept?

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express disappointment with the rear design, comparing it unfavorably to the Tuah concept and criticizing Proton’s change from the original, more elegant design. Several feel the final look is outdated, unbalanced, or resembles other models like Kia Forte, Civic, or old Subaru. The LED tail light appears poorly photoshopped or tampered with, fueling doubts about its authenticity. Opinions highlight Proton’s cost-cutting at the expense of aesthetics, and some suggest that vendor limitations impact design choices. While some are hopeful about the tech and engine specs, the overall sentiment is that the car lacks excitement and innovation, with many expressing frustration over Proton’s styling direction and lack of originality. Some comments also warn that the image is likely not the final version, requesting Proton to reconsider its design.

• This picture reminds me of half done Jaguar XF…

• Reminds me of Kia Forte

• OMG..it remind me Kia Optima…

• kimi_ on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:14 pm

This rear shot make me lost interest in the persona-r

Disappointing design….. Proton should fire its head of styling- AZLANO for approving this ugly design!!!

• squall_shinoda on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:38 pm

It’s no use to blame the designer. If it’s the designer’s fault, then the fault should be detected at the very first place when the Tuah concept was unveiled. There are certain cases when the vendors are unable to produce parts exactly like its prototype counterpart. When that happens, the carmaker has no choice but to amend the design of the car. The parts in the prototype model looks perfect because it is being handmade by the carmaker itself. Again, the fault lies to the vendors for producing parts with crappy design.

• the picture look had been tampered…look at white cloth cover and taillight look wierd..like the tail light had been cut n paste by amatuer

• kzm: nope. looks at the reflection on it. It looks well matched with the body

• how can people comment fake picture? It is clearly visible error in the picture

• April fool? Isnt it to early…or marketing prank to hint that P3-21A will be launch in april?

• jimmyc on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Fire the procurement ppl if so. Why accept the items if the vendors were at fault? Corruption? another crazy decision by proton.

• Sure true. I have enough of that nicompoop guy. Azlano made a bunch of weird and unbalance looking design. Such an amateur. Hish!

• azlano tu sape?

• MaskedBearBear on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Reminds me of Civic ES

• ju-on on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:00 pm

op kos bro.
            this kind of designing will not help much of proton to be global car. haha..
            just resign la bro Azlano.. pls.
            we Malaysian need a group of better designer.
            plenty of local talents are available what
            so, DRB-Hicom pls do something about this.
            and i am 100% agree with what bro ‘hudz’ said earlier.
            weird and unbalance design.
            just look at all proton lineup.
            they all look damn unbalance in stock form.
            haih..

• ju-on on Feb 01, 2012 at 7:09 pm

oops sorry. supposed to be ‘imbalance’ not ‘unbalance’.. haha.. sori2. it cant be be unbalanced bkos it’s tunde by lotus/r3.. huhuhu.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:46 pm

The guy who designed the Tuah is not Azlan Othman aka Azlano but actually that famous Italdesign Guigaro.

• prrghh on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:18 pm

azlano muka cam C, nama Cam M.

• CamPor on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:57 pm

just like copy & paste design

• RedBeanBun on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:45 pm

do you know that the top of the management can effect the design? ahhaa…dont blame the designer, they are powerless…or else, how can a waja face-lift with such a lousy model can be release? i never see such an ugly face leave of the waja to change a iconic front view to a ugly robotic front view..

• alldisc on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:33 am

yes, just like Waja original design in 1999. it has 7 wheel designs and the management was having hard time to choose which has the best design.

in the end they asked Mahathir to choose, and he chosed the 7 spoke alloys. everyone kept to themselves lah after that.

• nasha on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:52 am

sometimes they can’t implement their design due to top management decision, account/finance decision, production limitation, and maybe due to patented/copyright issues.

• Guys!! Wakeup! We r in era technlgy..why we focus on the design only..we hv
            to be excited to wait the new tech that proton bring wit low cost superb model as neew global car..

• bongek on Feb 02, 2012 at 5:22 am

OMG, it remind me of my x-girl fren :P

• WUA770 on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:04 pm

remind me not to buy proton :)

• Obama on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:41 pm

The design is neither attractive compare to European nor Korean. Sad to say that, it still Malaysian type of design. Probably looks good for local taxi.

• no i have to say, look a bit sucks~ a bit weirdo~ =.=

• This is the most ugliest thing i have never seen in my life !

• jolly_idiot on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:14 am

Macam civic es.

• mnazri.tan on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:19 am

It is indeed too abrupt…

looking on how previous models picture leaked one after another, i think this could be the final look….previously what leaked seem to be the final thing….

As much as I want this to be a turning point for Proton, until now I dont find the changes from Prototype model in term of lighting (front and rear) as attractive. But have not seen it in full other than the taped up model , so cant be 100% sure of it…

Looking forward to the launching next month.

• arapaima9 on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Actually if you look at the picture closely you’ll notice that the pic of the rear end light has been edited or tempered with.
      The the white line on the rear light is supposed to cross until the end. But in the pic is does not it is only halfway. Look at the difference between leak pic black colour P3-21A and yellow P3-21A.
      There might be other details that has been blur or erased to make it look unfinished.
      The detail of LED light has also been blur, covering the detail of the rear light. this make’s it look cheap and on style.
      Will have to comment when the real car come’s out.
      To me this is not the actual pic of the true product.

• arapaima9 on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:06 pm

to add up to this, if you look closer, the white cloth is inside the rear light. what i mean is it is sticking out of rear light…what a joke….

• Shadow of previous Audi A4.

• The Tuah looks way better man… this one doesn’t match the car rounded shape.

• OMG…normal lah bro, that Tuah is concept car…sure got different when come to real production. I like it…hope the price will be nice also.

• dari belakang mcm forte.. dari depan mcm honda city.. anyway tahniah proton … kami menunggu kemunculan nya dijalan raya..

• khaix19a on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:31 am

seriously???

• kuriang on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:31 am

European taste design..

• makeitmine on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:33 am

I just don’t understand Proton designers.. DR M looked at Tuah concept and he likes it.. and Proton designers want to deliver another crap looking car that the rear doesn’t match the concept car.

Dr M is the adviser and you the designers are the doers. Do what you are advised or deserved to get fired by your new DRB-HiCOM boss!!

• Crowny supplier cannot supply the original item.. so must redesign most part..

• Wanteh on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:29 pm

btw you need consider the concept can purpose to production or not. that’s why the actual car will look a little bit different then concept car.
      its not easy to produce a new car. actually all this relate to cost.

• sedap sedap je nak fire orang…macamlah kau tu kerja bagus sangat…tah2 kau yang kena fire dulu

• I dont know la malaysia people…..condem people like they r so good but many people here makan gaji tp ckap besar, mcm hebat…buy expensive car but still kuli

• SHAMSUL YAHAYA on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:36 am

When looking behind this car it remember me Gen2 or Persona. Still hopping that Proton can produce this car just like the design of the Tuah concept.

• taboogen on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:03 pm

first they said the rear lamp is ugly like old subaru… now they want the tuah concept rear end…. before want this.. now want that…. typical Malaysian lah…. please be like Mr Lamborghini… hate Mr Enzo Ferrari So much he design his own car…

So malaysian out there… up for a challenge. you have sent your so call brilliant kids to Germany, Japan learning engineering.. where are they now… create lah own car…. dumbass

• donadoni on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:40 am

thats a Jaguar XF rear light RIP OFF!! PfFFFTTTT

• GoProton on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:44 am

reminds me of audi

is it a good thing or a bad thing.

• Alinda on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:46 am

The Tuah will replace Proton Persona. Base line price will be at least RM70,000. The interior space is about the same size of Honda City.

• Anonimus on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:30 pm

What’s the source of your “RM70k-for-base-line-model” info?

Nevertheless, if it’s true, I guarantee no one will buy the new persona b-line at RM70k. Might as well spend a little more for Vios J-spec.

• Alinda on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:28 pm

The source is from Rosmawati a sales advisor from Proton Platinum Mutiara Damansara. She had seen it in person but was not allowed to take picture. I bet by now many Proton sales advisors have seen it too.

Proton MD has promised to make Tuah a ground breaking car. A day time running light is a good start. Yup, she said Tuah’s price begins at RM70,000. No kidding.

• Vios….ur crazy man

• sirimusa on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Your facts are absolutely wrong. If you don’t know, just shut your yapper and don’t pass speculation as truth.

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:39 am

If it’s priced at that level then Myvi sales would soar sky high lah…

• Breadboy on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:59 am

The shape looks like the Persona. :/ Lets see how the front end evolved.
    At this present moment, “Meh”. Doesnt excite me.

• jimmyc on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:00 pm

fugly!

• anakayam on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:01 pm

why so uglyyyyyy? i put too much hope in Proton, and I think i wanted to go to 14th floor and jump :( :(

• confused on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Haihz… Disappointed with all this ripoff design thing…

• man kereta on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:10 pm

TUAH PROTOTYPE SURE LOOKS BETTER THAN THIS? WHY REDESIGN THE GORGEOUS LOOKING TUAH N COME OUT WITH THIS ‘BIASA-BIASA’ LOOKING CRAP THAT LOOKS ALMOST SIMILAR TO GEN2 N PERSONA? MCM NI NAK JD GLOBAL MODEL???? DREAM ON LA PROTON!!!

• Albert on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Klu x nah keje proton, jgn komen pasal global car…

• kudir on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:24 am

belajarlah menghargai serta sokong keluaran negara kita,,,sekurang2nya belajar unyuk adakan sedikit perasaan bangga…..

• smallfish on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:45 pm

No need CAP LOCK bro. We see your point.

• GT-R fanboy on Feb 05, 2012 at 12:05 pm

when the tuah concept reveal,most malaysian hate the rear lamp but now they likes it?typical malaysian people…

• no excitement in proton car because of so much issues i face with wira, exora

• kucau on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:29 pm

may i know whats your issue with exora?

• bongek on Feb 02, 2012 at 5:24 am

yeah, please share…exora and this model is my next target,,,, so ur info is really good input to me

• kaput on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:16 pm

berapa laju boleh pegi ni kalau tekan sampai lantai?

• septzz on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:18 pm

I don’t know how to say but i don’t really like that huge gap of that boot. Can’t they at least not show that cutting? Or cut somewhere else? And yeah at 1st glance it reminds me with Audi A4. But until the real products come out, we just gonna have to wait and see.

• maxer on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:20 pm

i prefer the taped version shown in the prototype (black color car)..

• sawdust on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:20 pm

JAGUAR XF REAR???

http://jaguarpits.com/images/jaguar-xfr-price-in-india/jaguar-xfr-price-in-india-picture-3723.jpg

• zaff1984 on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:23 pm

I like the production rear compared to Tuan concept. Remind me of Jag, maybe because of the light design and chrome bar. The short rear boot remind me of Forte. Overall i like it.

• BADboy on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:25 pm

My previous comment still stays… “nothing is exciting in this car”…. In fact… is getting worst!!!
    Cost cutting exercise again…. I agree with one of the comments earlier… DRB should have fired the Proton designers….

• Just because you don’t like it doesn’t mean everybody else hate it, so why want to fire designer just because you don’t like it? Open ur own company, design it urself, and fire ur own staff will ya? I like the design, you don’t like it..it is not the end of the world..duhh…kita tengok the whole picture dulu baru kita judge…

• BADboy on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:19 pm

oh well…. only those who has no taste one will said that…..

• VWfans on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:16 am

your taste so good ka? international level?

• Perasan gila hang ni Badboy….baik punya taste…malu den……hang tak suka takpa la…takyah cakap taste orang lain teruk…kalau hang punya bini cun pun tak semestinya aku akan tergila-gila..apara…different people have different taste…that is why the English invented the word ‘choice’…

• bongek on Feb 02, 2012 at 5:30 am

designer? cost cutting decision by designer? hehehe u really a malaysian… fired one black goat, then all problem solve

• raz motorsport on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:46 pm

you wrong…for me as a car review panel it is not ugly it come in exceptional or rather unique design…people is normal like this…talk like know averything…do you know how the designer do their job??…are you a car designer??no…

• lchan on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:30 pm

looks good! Hope there is an improvement in quality too!

• zaff1984 on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:33 am

Yup.. I am also hoping for huge quality improvement, especially the interior materials and design.

• Mokmeng on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:32 pm

if this real, a lot of potential buyers will be VERY upset..
    seriously..damn proton.. please take note of your potential buyers comments..
    still can be improve before its launch.. we expecting a ‘global car’..
    previous spyshots already exciting,but this rear end??totally out of our expectation..

• wheeler on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:22 pm

someone please define ‘global car’..proton or whoever knows best..

• Mokmeng on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:47 pm

sometimes ‘a picture worth a thousand words’..
        we don’t need any dictionary to define it..
        by looking at this picture of rear end,its really disappointed some of the potential buyers..
        we always follow up the updates,dream about it..but suddenly proton let us down..
        maybe this is not the finalised product,hoping it just a test model..proton need to put some more effort on the design,take note on those comments.
        we just criticises for your own good,hoping proton get better and better..bcoz at the end of the day,we are the people who gonna buy proton product due to overprice import cars..

• Absolute Rider on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Oh no, if this is the final design, I will say current Persona rear lights looks better.

• BN=barang naik on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:33 pm

that chrome strip spoil everything!

• ayamxxx on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:43 pm

you,proton loss one customer here. buyer mindset already hope it like a tuah concept. but actual it’s like a piece of crap

• wheeler on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:56 pm

a manufacturer has the right change the concept, please dont get angry. It’s a concept..

• Chilavert on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:06 am

a customer has the right not to buy the car with ugly or so-so design. please dont get angry. its just business

• niceone on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:48 pm

if peugeot is able to make RCZ production car almost exactly the same as the prototype, why can’t proton? malas? cost-saving?

• aya why not same with the Tuah concept?? Was so excited when they announce that they are gonna launch Tuah and i was hoping that they wont change the design… :(

• nasir on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:05 pm

7 speed, cc 1.8, price below inspira…………….huhuhuhu…
    nice car rite?…………..

• sp3d2 on Feb 01, 2012 at 1:09 pm

i hope the cheapest 1.6 CFE + CVT to be at just 63K. For those who need more accessories with CFE + CVT, they can buy another higher end P3-21A at higher price. Thumbs up my post plz! Let the Proton hear our price recommendation!

• mohsin on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:13 pm

mahal tu bro!
      Range atas sikit pada persona dah lah
      Suggestion: RM53,000 – RM65,000

• Nazz - P1 Glenmarie on Feb 01, 2012 at 7:24 pm

hahaha… funny.. ur sttment proved u dont study about persona and p3-21a…

• not worth it on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:50 pm

63K for 1.6 cfe + cvt? absolutely no no no. not worth it. make it at least 60K and that it is what we call good bargain.

• where’s all the proton cum worshiper???the one that keep say protong is the best??so this is how protong ‘balas budi’ to their cum worshiper..hahahaha dont get so proud or else this is happened

• Design is not too terribly exciting to me, but who cares if it is not. It is not like you will be looking at your rear light all the time while driving. And if you do that at home, WTH is wrong with you ?

What I do care is the built quality, safety, tech and pricing. If the car produced has improved failures per parts numbers comparable with the likes of Koreans and Japanese, minimum of 4 airbags, all the passive safety features inclusive ESP, start/stop engine and smart key, priced lower than inspira 1.8, Proton will have a very attractive offering.

• kereta lembu on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:00 pm

To be honest, the TUAH concept did look good for a Proton and it showed that we were capable of producing nice looking cars. Then this ‘thing’ came along. Although we can’t be certain it’ll look ugly when we see the real thing, but the spy shots have already made most people upset and disappointed. Oh well…let’s all keep hoping. Maybe one day Proton will finally mature.

• alldisc on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:31 am

1. capable of designing nice looking cars.

2. not capable of manufacturing/producing it.

• kantoi on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Told you guys proton suck big time with all the cronies suppliers…and management. Now look what happen, every single Proton fanboy now so quiet….hahahhahhahahhaha LMAO

• to how comment photoshop picture? Rearlight look cut and paste..look closely white line n rearlight…u all r easily being misled by tampered picture

• Tasha on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:04 pm

i’m European taste… i feel this car and i just consider what this car have inside… look at previously listed ingredients in this car, i will choice this car compare with vios or city… safety first… then design…

• taboogen on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:07 pm

while reading.. all good comment about this car is being thumb down… I wonder why…

oh I know its typical Malaysian… “just pandai cakap…. tak pandai usaha”….

its the truth… thumb down this and it will prove me right…..

• nmpk mcm kurang menarik tp still tunggu la kereta keluar baru tahu cantik atau tidak

• Mazlan on Feb 01, 2012 at 2:43 pm

The Tuah concept car is for sure million times better, but they changed it last minute because Prof. Khoy Kay Kim said hang Tuah is only a myth. :P

• ju-on on Feb 01, 2012 at 7:02 pm

tuah is malay warrior but the prof is chinese.. it’s funny really!
      it’s like the malay said there shouldnt be dragon year in chinese calendar because the dragon never existed. ha ha

• cruel on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:00 pm

I take it that there are some Proton cybertroopers in this paultan blog. So to whom it may concern please take notes to some of the comments here regarding this latest leak in this new upcoming Proton model.

My personal view is that it falls short of causing the buzz this model needs. Proton really needs to relook at its workforce which currently really in need of some creative minds for it to become competitive.

• look like design from mid 2000. sigh. this era we want some brave yet attractive design like what kia/honda did. are proton designers doesn’t have a decent sense in car designing?

• ju-on on Feb 01, 2012 at 7:05 pm

so true!
      dare to be extreme! (design dept)

• squall_shinoda on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Anyone can design as fancy as what we think. But again, the problem is whether the parts vendors are able to produce parts that match that particular design or not. If cannot then the carmaker has no choice but to amend the design to suit those parts. In other words, it is our local parts vendors that are retarded compared to Korean and Japanese vendors.

• Previously a bit dissapointed with the front image.. not double dissapointed with rear image. Even Tuah is a concept/prototype car.. but It’s not a futuristic type concept car which are not possible to produce in 2-3 years time. It’s a “can do” concept car.

• hahaga on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:31 pm

correct me.. but y r the rear door mirror look wierd ek?

• Overkill design.

Look up kamus dewan what ‘overkill’ means.

Told ya this Tuah is OUTDATED design crap. Sorry lah to fight with Elantra and Forte 2013 soon.

Call this global car? Dream on lah Protongkat feel nice for syok sendiri eh!

Real shame just to trying to kill off Forte/RM70K segment when it’s all failure before launching.

Ha Ha Ha there’s enough fools out there fall trap into buying Protongkat crap again.

Protongkat step closer gone bankrap close shop sold off RM1!

Anyway a big SYABAS to Protongkat Saudi Arabia with price RM35K onwards! WoooHooo!

• peYno on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:42 pm

berotua myvi in Indo 40k… in malaysi 50k… thank you beroktua

• prrghh on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:27 pm

peyno have you changed your car?

i’m now driving golf gti. yes, i’m your mother remember?

how’s your savvy? good?

• Pittbull on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:12 pm

sigh… its like u wanna order a delicious colourful ABC in the menu, but the actual is just a plain looking one… potong stim la proton… the frontal light should follow the tuah angle la… dun simply make it look like City… now the end looks crappier…

proton, please forget local designers, doesnt mean that foreign designer will kacau ur 100% local production records… tak boleh pergi la diaorang punya design, just buy any brilliant designer from the big 5 automaker and improve…

i hate to see proton turning back to the likes of Arena, Tiara, Juara and Savvy… whaddahell are u thinking now proton?

• pravin on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:28 pm

If its another Campro CPass whatsoever engine
    then don’t bother !!

• Where are those “Waaah, I am going to buy this no matter what.” comments? All Proton cybertroopers halting their operation? or got fired by new boss?

• kia forte mix with honda city=proton p3-21a

• im proud to proton even im not using proton,

• Just me on Feb 01, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Ugly, unreliable, … whatever you want to say. But it can still sell in this boleh land, because the market is price driven.

• zaman on Feb 01, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Perdana V6 is better with this…
    so ugly n bull shit design..sorry to say.. outdate design

• peYno on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:40 pm

maybe this is for global design n global taste.. doesnt suit kampung malaysian taste

• Maybe they had already fulfilled global taste long time ago. That’s why their sales is dropping like bird’s drop.

• gigganet on Feb 01, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Doesn’t look too exciting. But I suppose it’s subjective. Pricing will count a lot in terms of sales. It pains me to see our own national car increasing prices and malaysian buyers have to bear the burden. Care about the buyers and they will care about you. If a company acts like a purely profit-oriented business, then they should be treated as any other company. If it’s a national project, then put the people & country as priority.

Anyway, I think our car prices are just stupid!

• ame_nooooooo!!! on Feb 01, 2012 at 5:27 pm

abviously 3rd world sedan

• Jaybond on Feb 01, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Overall in production form, the design is like what is found in the VW Jetta – simple yet elegant looking. It’s not totally a boring design. Still OK maa..

• it is like a car kia forte!! proton buy a car from korea mold? it is like kia forte That only opinions and what I see because I do not know the true facts

• Wisdom on Feb 01, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Some choose to reject this design and walk away…

The way i see it, beside some hints of editing, the picture is also poor in resolution, and seems like a zoomed version of a full picture.

A low resolution picture of a nicely designed car will always loose to a high resolution picture of an averagely designed car.

I wont put the hammer down until i see the actual car.

• Leonardo on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:06 pm

From the grapevines I heard that this car is actually designed by Guigaro of Ital Design, both the interior and the exterior. Can’t confirm this information thoogh.

• Designed by Guigaro of Ital Design but final words by crownie supplier. If they can’t make the designed item, they would have to modify it.

• jawabandar on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:32 pm

Sharp edges…not good.

• ammar on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Oohhh..Proton..I put sky high dream on ur new model..but… with this kind of design better save more money to buy other brand..so sad…

• So sad to see this ugly taillight.. Please don’t provide this design to the market. If so..I more prefer Inspira.. Copycat better than such bad design. Hope Proton can change it.. Don’t tampal tampal the fake light reflector.

• lookning at the picture of an eye .how can we justify weather shes beautiful r not.

not until we meet her ,in person then ,,,,,,,

• alistair lim li wei on Feb 01, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Omg the design is so dull and boring! Proton step up ur game or be left out! zzz

• Glee Power on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:01 pm

disappointed really.

• Ok Guys this is what i heard.. I am not sure whether its true or not, but this is what i heard guys.. It startz like this.. Lower spec will be wif 1.6 campro cps +cvt .. Mid spec will be wif 1.6 cfe+cvt wif limited accesories.. the high spec will be wif 1.6 cfe+cvt but wif lotsa accesories and wif the body kit!!! .. I am not so sure a bout this but this is what i heard from a friend who is working at proton HQ…

• Obama on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:34 pm

But this is what i heard…dunno true or not. Lower spec will use BMW 3 series engine, mid spec using 5 series engine, high spec using M5 engine…im not sure about this, but this is what i heard from a friend who’s working with Proton CEO…

• bongek on Feb 02, 2012 at 5:21 am

ok,this is what i heard..dunno true or not. Lower spec use capati with dal,,banjir stall, mid spec using yong tau foo, fish ball ketam, high spec using nasi lemak ayam goring paha, sambal manis punya oo, I’m really sure about this, this is what i heard of queen control wife of a fren of CEO driver

• squall_shinoda on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Really? But another source said that the mid and low-spec versions only got 1.6 IAFM+ with 6-speed CVT… damn underpowered and seems like heaven and hell when comparing the top-spec and the low-spec models. Oh yes, and it also got side airbags too.

• Donkey Kong on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Isn’t it OBVIOUS, this picture is a BADLY-DONE PHOTOSHOP. Come on, people. Do you think the cloth just sticks to the side of the car defying gravity, and the boot lights seem to be stuck on with smeared silicone sealant???

• civicEK on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:42 pm

aiyoo hopefully dis is a fake one. i was planning to buy this car until i see d rear lamp aiyooo proton.. make it 60-70k enough la..

• setiapaduka on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:13 pm

I’m sure overall design wont be regrettable if the engine and other spec being upgrade like has been done to exora. The designer of this proton is not so blind so wait for the launch..

• fake!

• Steward on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Huh!……
    Better look for Mitsubishi new model to replace it…….

• Dr. M on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:09 pm

This is a contemporary safe design. Obviously no wow factor. Typical European design I would say.
    Importantly is performance as a family car and low running cost.
    Let’s welcome and we shall review later.

• roadrunner on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:26 pm

kadang2 pelik jugak commentator dlm blog ni, baru tgk sebelah lampu skit…kutuk kaw kaw mcm dah tengok the whole car…suka sgt nak klimaks dulu sebelum tengok the whole car!
    kalau dah tengok semua skali,dan memang buruk and ugly…fair enough la nak kutuk…attitude problem!

• Mokmeng on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:31 am

better kutuk sebelum launch..biar proton take note..mana tau boleh redesign balik ke..kang dah launch nanti baru nak kutuk dah terlambat la jawabnye..

• yippi33 on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:29 pm

I got a feeling this is not the persona R..p3-21a is just another model…cmon 138 hp does not justify the “R” tag…gotta be at least 160 something..and it should be manual only..or twin clutch ..droool..

be realistic..this is not an audi..this design can be considered good..although im no fan of the chrome lining..i personally hate KIA forte’s rear design..its too short and seemed out of proportion… like its being chopped or something (maybe its the aerodynamic thingy)..this p3-21a design is much better..can’t wait to see it in real flesh..

• Donkey Kong on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:10 am

*facepalm* Persona R stands for “Persona Replacement”. The “R” is not the same as the Ah Beng “Type R”!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:10 am

If you not a fan of the current short rear ends, you are basically out of luck.

In the pursuit of more interior room, cars now are taller than its predecessors and with a higher rear roofline for rear head room, and yet have to maintain the same length. Something has got to give, hence the tall and short rear deck.

Look at the Lancer/Inspira, Forte…they all look the same. I wont be surprised that this would prevail for some time. I’m personally not a fan of this, the tall deck really kills rear visibility…. you wont get the same visibility as you could have from an Old Wira or an EF Civic.

At least this would look better than similarly priced “converted hatchbacks” with really out of proportioned rear ends.

If the rumoured 60-70K price ranges hold any salt (which seems logical), seems that this would try to fit in between the existing Persona and Inspira. As a persona replacement, I find it hard to justify 10-20k more for a base line unit…given the base persona was going on promotion for under 50K. Knowing Proton, the Persona may soldier on for a few more years. I don’t think the Inspira is going to be in Proton’s long term plans, itself being a stop gap measure until they could produce a D segment car to replace both the aging Perdana and the Inspira. its odd that Proton would maintain 3 similarly sized cars (Persona, P3-21 and the Inspira) so it looks like once the the new D segment is ready, they will drop the Inspira and the persona, and probably come up with a new “base” P3-21 to soften the price differential of the Persona.

ahh…it moot point anyways for me. Wife has banned me from even considering a Proton after what she has gone through with hers….. despite the fact, I do like the CFE + CVT powerplants.

• smithy17 on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:22 am

dude, the ‘R’ stands for REPLACEMENT, not RACING..

• r is for replacement.. not same as honda’s type R..

• twin clutch???in ur dream..wakakakaka better design than forte????hahahaha typical proton cum licker..

• MoFaz on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:39 am

you must be very new here. it has been explained so many times already that the “R” is for Replacement, not Race.

• Looks ok to me. My next car.

• ononimos on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:24 am

Baru tgk gambar satu angle.. not the whole model yet, dah komen macam2. Siap cadang pecat designer lagi tu. Dasyat korang semua nih. Hardly to change Malaysian’s mentality from third class to first class. Clap clap. You guys yang komen macam macam ni.. jd la designer Proton lak, prove that you can do better. Tu pn kalau qualified la. Dari ayat2 korang semua, korang macam sgt awesome. I’m sure you guys more than qualified. I have high hope on you guys, to improve our automotive industry. Tschuss. =)

• I was hoping Persona-R would be a damn good replacement to the current persona and compete with the global market as per PROTON’s goal for the car.. from the looks of it, they have a bit of struggling to do..

Persona R suppose to be on par with CIVIC and ALTIS or even FORTE.. but after many2 months or maybe years of doodling on the computer screen, coming out with such a rear end is such a dissappointment.. I dont even like the facia of the front as well (based on the many spyshots taken on the road)

The design of the car shows how un-innovative and un-imaginative Malaysian is. Which should not be happening since we have good (the best maybe?) arts and design schools (LKW, MMU) here in Malaysia. This does not show passion of car-making. Please change this PROTON. Really hope DRB can turn things around for PROTON.

All the best I bid to PROTON but its not the car for me YET…

• eistern on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:41 am

hi,thinking to buy persona h-line but the p3-21a is coming in march..wat will be the price range for p3-21a?should i wait or just buy persona h-line?

• theone on Feb 02, 2012 at 7:50 am

hmm why did i see that when someone likes this car in the comments, it gets thumbs down? it’s double standard right? when u dont like the comment, u thumb down it, but when ppl dont like ur comment, u say “cronies, fanboys, etc”. i thought we are all entitled to our opinion? then if you get into top management one day, all ur employees will be fired eventually

• Guys, hold your comments and bad thoughts and see the car for yourselves in March. The name is not going to be Tuah. The engine option is IAFM 1.6 for exec with 6 speed CVT or 5 speed manual or you can opt for the Premium model,1.6 CFE with 7 speed that will cost you around 75998.00. It’s a C class category and it’s expected to compete with City,Vios and Forte. Torque 205Nm with 140HP.

• pigsy on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:47 am

i tot C-class cars are civic, altis, lancer, inspira, mazda 3

• Justice on Feb 02, 2012 at 4:24 pm

if C segment..it will compete with Civic,Altis…..not city/vios..

• Well it has better gadgets than some of the Japanese cars like front and rear multilink suspension,ECS,EBD ,BA,TC, front ventilated disc and rear solid disc ,4ABS, keyless entry,push start button,SID and not to mention 4 airbags…508 litres of boot space, basically this car has been awarded 5 star ANCAP and guys there will be no yellow coloured P3-21A… don’t worry ! :)

• nabill on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:27 am

trust me…that yellow color spoils the whole design…i bet if its in black or silver looks alot better…i hope ppl stop saying it looks like a persona bcos its doesnt…looks wider and more rounded in shape….

• good & goods on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:40 am

rear looks like scandinavian cars..nice aka civic yr2003..mantop

• Joe Radzif on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:03 am

is it really the final design?

last time the yellow car shown,
    it was before the wrapped up version hit the road…
    but now the yellow car come out again…

is it the same yellow car?
    or the wrapped up car actually had the latest rear light design that still in disguised and no one had the photo of it…

• Gajen on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:15 am

actually i dont understand why u guys are so upset over the design. yes the concept looks better,everycar the concept will look better. secondly the front and rear of this tuah is not bad, if people can appreciate vios design,i dont see anything wrong here..

what you guys should be concern is the cabin quality and gearbox, these 2 have been proton weaknesses. Design isnt really their weakness, neo looks superb, exora best looking among competitors, saga looks humble and decent,etc. just my thoughts

• i dont care the design. most important is inside the hood. 1.8 or CFE 1.6…. hmm

• not a car enthusiast on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:15 am

For those who says why the actual production car cannot follow the prototype design, here’s some pointers. Actual production car is required to pass homologation. I don’t know the exact requirement, but it goes something like this. When an observer (ie pedestrian, other motorist) view the car at 20m(?), and he must be able to tell with just a quick glance what is the state of the car (whether the tail light is on / brake is applied / turning indicator is blinking etc). The observer must be able to do this from various viewing angles. Directly from the back / front, 30deg, 45deg sideways.

To objectively test this, the homologation spells out the light output must be at certain lux power measured from various angle positions 20m(?) from the car. The amount of lux power is also dependent on the position of one light next to another light. A turn indicator placed directly beside main front beam light has to be brighter than if it sits at some distance away. Otherwise, observer will not be able to quickly distinguish them in operation. To be brighter, it has to have bigger reflective area.

These requirements greatly affect the overall lighting design of the car. Doing a concept car is easy (relatively). A real production car is a different ball game altogether.

• azman on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:29 pm

i learnt a new word today homo-lo-gat-ion

• alldisc on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:31 pm

how come converting LED lights into production not possible? BMW has done that, even all Camrys has LED lamps since 2005.

or is it because proton’s vendor do not have the specialty to produce/manufacture LED tail lamps?

go to Brother’s accesories shop laa

• sneaker on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:18 pm

The tail light are using LED not bulb.

and the designer are not local vendor. it was famous lamp maker for Audi, BMW & even Ferrari.

• samsam on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:20 am

at first i very exciting.. but too much spy shoots d, tired boooooooo

• persona on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:10 am

OMG stupid ppl. they shud have stuck to the concept design and not changed anything. damn fools!!!!

• RB20Dett on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:48 am

At 76K is a hard sales for Proton, as it is too close to Forte & Elantra, the solution is to remove Naza Forte & Inokom Elantra local badge advantage & let them sale as KIA Forte & Hyundai Elantra or else Proton would anticipated low sales figure.

Why is Malaysia helping South Korean Auto Industry anyway ??

• zzzzzz on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:13 pm

lampu belakang kalau cantik2 pon, signal x reti nak bagi tak guna jgak… zzz

• PakAbu on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Wow…. this photo is making rounds on the net… with bad photoshopping and all…

And I’m yet to see the original one. “mrgreen:

• g.i joe on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:37 pm

it is not the design that i worried, but the engine. If it’s true this car is going to use the CFE engine, than better not be among the first to buy this car. Sure will have problem. The same thing when proton introduce the campro engine.. the earlier batch of engines have problems and consumer are used as a guinea pig. Just my thought. For the time being, better buy inspira if you want a good car, but cheap.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Campro engine got problem?? Well, I’m among the first batch using Campro IAFM 1.6 manual (Clocked 146000km to date) . So far the engine itself is very reliable, low maintenance (if you maintain it properly) able to ramp up to 7000rpm with ease, no jerking and FAIRLY powerful. The only problem is the old model IAFM (quite noisy- need to replace with newer model to overcome this), Gear box breather (water ingress), Catalytic Converter over heat (just replace it with 4-2-1 extractor will solve it) and standard air filter (to be replaced with K&N filter)

Other than that, just so so lah…

• Ive seen the actual car. Front-Side-Back. Believe me, it is not something that you’ll like about. Im not making this up, but its a mash up of Honda City’s front grill with Forte tail light. From the side, it looks like City. Interior wise, i cant comment as i havent see it yet, but i think the interior is nice. Just like most people here, i was thinking that “this might be my next car” and is trying to put my faith in Proton. However Protonians mindset is still living in past glory and is afraid to change for better. To Proton designers, i know you are here and telling us ‘crowny supplier’ arent able to provide you with the design you desire. If you are really committed to be better, please change the supplier. Stop giving us this BS. As for the price, i saw someone saying 70k. Yes, thats the price they are targeting. Anyway, i believe there will be people driving this car and find it suitable for them. Dont worry Protonians, people will drive this car but not many. And you wont beat Perodua like this.

• yeoooo on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:41 pm

so many caring ppl here which is good. so proton if u’re looking at all the comments, please do something about it. yea we need a global car, but what makes it stand out is to be a global car with a Malaysian touch.

if around RM 60k for an M-line, with all safety features, minor on luxuries, Lotus R&H, i think its okay (relatively to other cars in Malaysian market). cant expect much at that price. and besides, there are several approaches to designs. futuristic/daring or conventional/evergreen?

if want beauty, there’s always alfa romeo :)

• jasjas on Feb 02, 2012 at 5:46 pm

the look of the car as if designed by certain communist country..

• cazran on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:15 pm

lol.. WTF!!.. it must be a fake pic.. dont trust laa.. see the whole pic and baru ble comment mcm2.. ;)

• kenari on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:58 pm

That’s PROTON. Always chasing after superficial exterior looks and gadgets. Under the hood, no change. Fuel efficiency bad and safety is close to nothing.

• zainal abidin on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:13 am

I very much prefer the ‘TUAH’ look…That’s much much much nicer looking.

• izack04 on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:35 am

Bad lamp design………

• Wisdom on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:38 am

I heard it will be called ‘WIRA’
    Is it?

• November on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:43 am

i want the concept design. this yellow car design is boring.

• DahTakProton on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Put this model into which segment? Gen-2, Persona, Waja, Tuah?

• suhaimi on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:23 pm

saw this model weeks ago at kalumpang (near tanjung malim)…the driver stop there to buy durian… =)

http://i701.photobucket.com/albums/ww18/suehighme/nampak.jpg

• define on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:39 pm

I am waiting the new tech proton goin to introduce..
    The power of high torque n cmpetitive price..

Good way proton..

• this is not the final design. either this is a tampered picture, of just a crudely built test mule to test the engine/electronic systems.

• a friend of mine who worked at proton R&D said that the launch of this car would be on the 17th of March 2012…. 1.6 turbo at around 60k-70k…

• inderaloka on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Design fail. Tak guna buat konsep kalau macam ni.

• unnon on Feb 04, 2012 at 1:36 pm

i think it might be okay if the car is in red color or any other color.. the yellow color just not quite right.

n i’m sure they will do something about that rear light design… no use kalo nak kondem giler2 pn.. design your own car la kalo semuanye xbetul.. n see if your design tu so perfect. >_>

• vertu on Feb 04, 2012 at 7:37 pm

bored with its swaying handling makes me sleepy during long journey

• Gti99 on Feb 05, 2012 at 9:31 pm

I have seen the car in flesh. I have complained about the outdated styling in depth to the Proton management to change immediately. Unfortunately during that time, everyone else around me disagreed with me. I told them the final design is far from Global Car Standard. What a waste of time and money.

There are no ‘wow’ factors in the model. Sigh!

• inderaloka on Feb 06, 2012 at 8:41 am

As I said earlier, the design is failed. Other car maker has come out with bold and radical design but Proton…? What happened to Proton’s new design direction?

• farid on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:10 am

so embrasing proton,,,design is so perfect but proton make the p3-21a is so ugly,ugly and ugly…. .huhu why the proton not folow the honda..make the concept car is realy happen
    but who can say..terpaksala tengok jugak desingn ini di lebuhraya. nantii.huhu..design is so old……macam zaman dulu lampu pun kotak2 aje…

• farid on Feb 08, 2012 at 9:33 am

soooo embrassing desingn ,,the designer concept car make perfect design for proton but designer proton change the p3-21a is so ugly ,ugly,and ugly….why the proton not follow the honda ,,honda make the concept car is realy happen and trully..happpen…rekaan ini macam zaman dulu2 dah la lampu pun kotak2 jeeer..x reti desingn dah ker pereka proton niii..terpaksalahh tengok jugak this carr at lebuhraya..huhuh.. naza.forte lagi cantik …

• monshi on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:07 am

i like this design..but why can’t proton produce the same design as the tuah concept car.. i meant the back light in tuah concept car r more elegant n futuristic compared to the one that it is going to be launched ..if proton can make realistic all its ideas in the concept car…i’m sure proton will have its own class…

• monshi on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:21 am

i like this design..but why can’t proton produce the same design as the tuah concept car.. i meant the back light in tuah concept car r more elegant n futuristic compared to the one that it is going to be launched ..if proton can make realistic all its ideas in the concept car…i’m sure proton will have its own class

• trollol on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:35 pm

i hope proton is just trolling with this kind of design.

• zahar on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:33 pm

best2