Proton P3-21A build-up process Day 2: Engine

It’s day two of the P3-21A build-up process and it looks like a few items have been added to the P3-21A chassis we saw yesterday.

The engine has now been revealed – it was installed there before but just covered with a blue cloth yesterday. They’ve also installed the suspension and brake parts to the front.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• menzz on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:18 pm

how good if my SAGA can get a 1.3L CFE treatment for free…LOL
    without variable cam-timing, it does suck more fuel but still acceptable; petrol get wasted…

• daamz on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:55 am

The consumer concern about price. But still alot ppl who has big balls will buy this car. Hope service price is @ normal price even though i dont think so. lets give this CFE engine a positive thinking :) . Hope disaster made by CAMPRO become history. CAMPRO -drink petrol. Will CFE perform better? lets see what will happen. Don’t too excited, better be a realistic person.

• If nothing else, I have to say congrats to the Marketing team. They’re definitely doing it right. Lets hope the QC branch and all other departments are up to standards as well.

• originals on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:40 pm

canggih nya keta ini.

ader injin dan 4 roda

• luffykewl on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:42 pm

somehow i do think P3-21A will be launched after this live assembling car is completed..

• inderaloka on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:02 pm

I think P3-21A will be launched after this build-up process completed. Perhaps 18 March 2012 or the day after?

• chin san on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:33 pm

I HATE PROTON,BUT NOW I LIKE IT….

I HATE MY H CITY

• anwar ibrahim on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:20 pm

y u hate ur honda city?.. i tod honda city is a good car.. ya la its expensive ma.. if expensive must be good one..

• driver on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Been there, done that!
      I used to own Honda City, I know how you feel…

• littlefire on Mar 16, 2012 at 8:26 am

Dont worry bro, if u r driving the 1st gen city, u already tested the 7-speed CVT first! :P

• samsam on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:39 am

dont be sad, you are not alone my family had one too, selling soon =]

• Ahmad Zufar on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:36 pm

can proton launch this model immidiately???!!!!!i can’t wait….

• shawal on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:38 pm

wuts the 0-100km/h time!?

• driver on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Now, it’s confirmed using CVT. I was perplexed when watched the promo video..thought I saw gear planets..

• Went to tropicana city mall, saw cars roadshow, proton has a booth there, according to the salesman, launch April 6, all 3 variants has cfe engine, yah the 65k manual one as well, highest spec has the accessoties, 4 airbags…etc 75k

• Ononimos on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:02 am

CFE is only for H-Line, other variants are using IAFM+. Don’t believe 100% what the salesman told u.

• If Campro is local made then its parts replacement should be cheaper than Mitsubishi engines, right?

That is why Protongkat failed to justify where are the price savings passed to buyers when Mitsu engines no longer used.

Instead you see Protongkat car price keep on increasing with local-made Campro engines, contrary to their claim that it should save costs not paying royalty to Mitsu anymore.

Cost savings not really passed to Protongkat buyers eh???

OK next, how much to replace this CFE engine parts for servicings/maintenance:
    – oil filter, air filter, iridium spark plugs or not, timing belt kits, turbo kits (if any) etc
    – power steering fluids, brake fluids, m-oil semi-synthetic not not …etc…

Better tell how much to service this CFE or else stick to normal non-CFE engine?

He He He Protongkat prefer to scare its buyers after the purchase rather than before sales made huh?

That’s why LifeTime Warranty (plus LifeTime free servicings, parts, labour) must be given to the turbo unit for CFE lah…or better still whole car covered by LifeTime Warranty (free servicing parts labour)…

• Thinkb4utalk on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:50 am

well, maybe u haven’t see PERODUA prices yet.. IDIOT :)

• 75 500 full spec mahal lagi? jgn salahkan proton sbb proton pon kena cukai jugak!!

75 500 keta import mana yg dpt full spec? vios? standard je kowt!!

• azman on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:39 am

at 103kw i think its a bit underpowered, haduh, i just put my downpayment last night

• if you want 103kw(138hp) from other brand, it’ll cost you atleast rm100k .. now you save rm25k

• don’t look at 103 kW but 205Nm starting from 2000 RPM. That’s the difference.

• Hammerclaw69 on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Azman , im sure u wont regret for the downpayment…

it wont be underpowered, look at the drag coefficient figure atleast :) n the HP and torque is sufficient even for standard 1.6 Campro IAFM … if u r taking CFE … takkan underpower bro

• cfe makes heavy exora like only a sedan
      then it can make this lighter p3 to a ….lol
      yup believe it can sprint the car from 0-100km/h i less than 10 sec

• makeitmine on Mar 16, 2012 at 10:56 am

I dare Proton to apply “Lemon Law” on this P3-21A model.

To sell this car well and gain new reputation on branding, Proton should provide lifetime assurance services for P3-21A:

– To solve mysterious creaking noises inside the cabin
    – To replace screws on Front and rear bumpers that falls out of place after receiving bumps
    – To solve air leaks or sound intrusion in cabin
    – To solve excessive understeer and oversteer
    – To repair/replace electronics that went hay wired every now and then
    – To replace regular occurrence of broken lamps and tail lights
    – To solve doors, engine lids and bonnets that cannot be closed properly
    – To solve noisy and unreliable power windows
    – To maintain high resale value for the car and save money in the long run

• bonbon on Mar 16, 2012 at 12:31 pm

guess what…H and T dont have any of above problem…. at all :P

• Medic on Mar 16, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Car name like a fax machine..Get it right lar,damn hard to mentioned this new model.

• noise on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:41 pm

…how bout proton 1 malaysia…? or p1m…damn, sounds like pimp la plak…aiya…ahaha…

• noise on Mar 16, 2012 at 3:44 pm

…how bout proton 1 malaysia or p1m ? …damn, sounds like pimp la plak, aiya…ahaha..

• shalia on Apr 05, 2012 at 7:14 am

Proton Preve…Another typical (read lowsy) design by 25 yr old car maker Proton. KIA and Hyundai have moved ahead producing models that rival Audi design. My personal view is this is going to be yet another Saga cum Neo me-too car. 1.6 engine adds up to the boringness let alone the aging Campro. Hicom…pls do something.