Proton Power of 1 I-Race winners heading to Europe for a priceless experience – driving an F1 car on an F1 track!

Did you attend the Proton Power of 1 mega event held at Bukit Jalil? 54,565 people did, and some got lucky there as well. No, not with each other, but Cheong Wai Soon from Rawang and Siti Adzilah Salleh from Balakong can look forward to a priceless experience as winners of the Lotus F1-Team I-Race grand prizes.

The duo will be heading to Europe for a fully paid five-star trip to experience a day as a Formula 1 driver and drive a real F1 car on a real F1 track. That’s amazing, and something we’ve never had a sniff at. Truly priceless, i tell you. It will be even more fantastic if they’re F1 fans. They will of course undergo training sessions with the race engineers first, before moving on to drive and be driven in the Lotus GT4. Then the big one.

Cheong won the prize as a result of putting down a booking for the upcoming Proton P3-21A, while Siti Adzilah qualified from the “Buy and Win” contest when buying Proton merchandise.

Besides the F1 experience, three units of the Savvy were given away in the “SMS and Win” contest which saw over 11,359 submissions. Sarah Helmi and Alexius Sagun, two lucky winners from Sabah and Mohamad Nazib Ithnin, an engineer from Johor drove home the new cars, while over 7,000 other gifts and prizes were distributed.

“We at Proton are very happy to have been able to organize this event as we were able to reach out to the Malaysian public in a very personal way,” said Group MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin.

“We feel that we have successfully showcased Proton as a brand and company, and I’d like to record my sincerest appreciation to those who attended and supported us at the Power of 1. The response we received from our track events, in particular, had been extremely encouraging as we were able to demonstrate the ride and handling abilities of our cars on the track. This puts us on a very strong footing as we prepare to launch the new generation of cars, beginning with the P3-21A,” he added.

Speaking of that, since the order books opened last week, 500 bookings of the P3-21A have been collected, and over 669 units of Proton cars were sold at the event. Merchandise sales were brisk, too.

For a recap on what happened and what was on show, just type “Proton Power of 1” in the search box above for our extensive coverage of the show, from funny cars to THE much anticipated car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Savvy!? I thought it was f***ing decommissioned.

Anyway, grats to those winner, even if it’s a savvy, it’s a free 1.

• He looks not so happy…why just win a Savvy lolx get free but have to pay for the fix !

• firefish on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:18 am

why not me won the F1 car experience :)

• Good luck folks for the bookings…”A fool and his money soon parted”…

It shows once again the Dilbert theory is proven right:
    “How do you sell a bad product?”
    “Sell it to stupid people!”

• dilbert on Mar 21, 2012 at 12:29 pm

dont bother other people’s money…bother ur head first..simply calling people stupid

• thelonely on Mar 21, 2012 at 3:36 pm

that would mean they have no options in buying a car, because their choice is so called stupid. it will be just like dictatorship then, no subjective views, other than your opinion, it is stupid.

• FinancialGuru on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:03 pm

I feel sorry for the first 500 buyers too because Proton’s second hand value will DROP 30% TO 40% in the first year! That’s like getting robbed at least 1,000 to 1,500 every month. Maybe they ought to cancel the order……never mind rugi 500 or 1000.

• MoFaz on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:54 pm

guru?? looks like you’re wrong.
          i could still get more than 50% value on my Proton car after 5 years.

• MoFaz on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:32 pm

as usual, bashers are mostly stupid. proton has stop using japanese engine around 6-7 yrs ago. that’s means my engine is malaysian one… aka. campro!

• Ash Menon on Mar 22, 2012 at 12:54 am

I fail to see what his race or nationality has to do with this.

• Prismo on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:12 pm

i believe Cheong Wai Soon not a stupid man because he can afford vehicle above RM70k… stupid peoples is the ones who have very much time sitting infront computer and doing stupid bashing’s routine and keep on blaming Proton and gov tax. And i believe Cheong Wai Soon have a better job than u and he can pay his car’s monthly payment..

• To that Savvy contest owners, please quickly sell off your Savvy better cash it out…don’t trap that RM40K inside Savvy…

Let say in 3 years that RM40K sure worth more in bank account than depreciated to RM10K junk car…

• OMG.What P1 waiting for? Pls launch this car faster lah. Pls dont expect “more” ppl will buy this car before official launching. …

• samsam on Mar 21, 2012 at 12:56 pm

why not me TT, congrat! savvy stock lama…la..

• People who lack self-confidence, think of something always negative. I’m sure the people in his life which do not have any success.

• Everything you said is reflect your personality. Please say good words.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:32 pm

I have only one question: why isn’t the P3 launched yet? What was the whole purpose of this Power of 1 weekend? Blow a few millions and new car not yet launched? Proton is indeed very rich.

• MoFaz on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:05 pm

they’ve booked the venue and all other things in Power of 1 for the launching of P3. but P3 launch had to be postponed due to some issues. they can’t just cancel the Power of 1 because the money has been paid, or maybe they still have to pay even if they cancel it. probably the biggest issue here is the DRB takeover episode, Proton had to wait until the whole process completed.

• dzulx on Mar 21, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Winner sudah ada … kereta belum launch…

IMHO proton missed the sweet spot to launch the car..

• Abang beca on Mar 23, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Yg menang savvy tu g jela jual, gearbox problem punyer lepas setahun dua guna, proton P1 belom launch sbb ade problem pade mounting enjin, adik aku keje kt vendor proton yg buat bahagian mounting enjin, kene redesign balik mounting tu, so for first 1000 buyers, korang dpt la mounting yg bermasalah