Mazda Flair mini crossover hustles into JDM market

2014_Mazda_Flair_01

Rebadging may be a bit of a sensitive issue in Malaysia, but there’s no denying that it’s a common practice among other carmakers. Latest to take up such a route is this, the 2014 Mazda Flair, which is identical to the Suzuki Hustler (shown in Tokyo 2013 as a concept), save for the badges.

The new Flair is a mini crossover that replaces the old Mazda Spiano Kei car, itself based on the Suzuki Lapin. It’s not uncommon for the two brands to work with each other. There’s the Mazda Flairwagon tallboy, which is a rebadged Suzuki Palette. Hop over to Indonesia and the Avanza-sized Suzuki Ertiga is also sold as the Mazda VX-1.

Back to the mini SUV-like 2014 Flair, it gets a choice of either a naturally-aspirated or turbocharged 660 cc engine, paired to a CVT transmission. You can also choose between front- or all-wheel drive layouts, with the most efficient variant of all promising up to 29.2 km per litre.

It is unlikely to be taken off-road, but Mazda adds that the Flair has a ground clearance of 180 mm and a 28° approach angle. The AWD version has a hill descent control system too. Pretty decent, don’t you think?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Someguyonthenet on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:27 pm

A bachelor’s car. Looks fun though.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:32 pm

People will say why Mazda rebadge no people complain but Proton rebadge people complain.
    Mazda rebadge latest model from Suzuki.
    Proton rebadge previous generaion model from Honda.
    One is selling competitor’s latest car but use own badge.
    One is selling competitor’s leftover parts and put together sell as new model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Inspira?

• frenzyaustin on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Inspira still ok, but just few years late. Should see how Skoda rebadge VW.

• paultam on Dec 27, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Perodua?

• frenzyaustin on Dec 27, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Perodua are like Skoda, a brand which rebadge it’s owner car to capture the local market.

• RavenAii on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:28 pm

At least the Inspira is way cheaper than the Lancer and the handling is slightly better than the original car. But still people complain a lot. Know why? Typical Malaysian that’s why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Potong on Dec 27, 2013 at 5:23 pm

ooo…nowonder Potong must keep rebadge!!

I understand nao, keep on rebadging yo Potong~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • khairulx19a on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:39 pm

high chance not coming to malaysia

• Bearumaruko on Dec 27, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Bring it to Malaysia!!!nice..

• I don’t mind owning 1 of this baby, good mileage and practical. Tapi exterior macam badak.

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Very cute, and look at the rear legroom! Not too bad.

• farghmee on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:52 pm

it seems that the rear seats can be adjusted to and fro.(sliding).

• Cun Jaguh Bola Tampar on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:45 pm

i’m ok if proton rebadged this n priced it cheaper than the boring myvi..

• Half riz on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:23 pm

It’s maZda. It’s supposed to be zoom zoom. Where’s the zoom?

• bvc100 on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:45 pm

The front end’s styling doesn’t get my vote.
    It looks like a kid screaming to his mother, “Look ma! I’ve got googly eyes!”.

• babon on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:55 pm

new mr.bean should use this one..

• mr_em on Dec 27, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Honey I shrunk the FJ Cruiser?

• D Mitra on Dec 27, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Two things:
    1. This is not Flair. Flair is Wagon R. This is Flair Crossover.
    2. Flair Wagon is Suzuki Spacia. Palette is gone.

Thanks for the article!

• motorhead on Dec 27, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Bring it here. This car is useful for business & hobbyists.

• Leon Loke on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:34 pm

When you rebadge the latest model and launch at the same time, we call it collaboration development of the model just like the Toyota 86 and Subaru BRZ. There is nothing wrong with it. In malaysia , the PM is so free to launch a rebadged car that is used by my neighbor for 4 year.

• SLyshah on Dec 28, 2013 at 4:23 am

Cla I heard launching In February-March. I called to find out from my regular sa. Got quoted cla200 278k and cla 45 amg 398k. Am very disappointed that mbm aren’t planning to bring in cla 250 yet. So far nonews on that.

• CUTE

• mamat on Dec 29, 2013 at 11:22 am

dashboard ala2 passo hana ler.. =)

• I wonder why cars like this n kia soul are not sold here? even the nissan cube must be parallel import