Perodua and Proton should not fight, says P2 CEO

2015_Perodua_Myvi_facelift_vs_Proton_Iriz_ 001

Amidst ever-strengthening competition from foreign brands, Proton and Perodua should complement each other rather than compete against each other, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid has said.

“Our position is that national makes should have significant market share, about 60%,” he told the press at today’s official launch of the Akashi Kikai plant in Sendayan Tech Valley, near Seremban. “It will be good for the whole industry, we should complement each other rather than compete.”

Yesterday, Proton announced a tie-up with Suzuki to develop a compact car for the former – widely believed to become Proton’s first A-segment car, which is of course Perodua’s stomping ground. But Perodua recently announced it is developing its first sedan, leading many to speculate competition with Proton’s Saga, and fuelling the notion of the former further eating into the latter’s market share. “At the end of the day, consumers make the choice. Perodua is just fulfilling the market demand,” was his response.

Last year, for the first time ever, Proton and Perodua’s combined market share (46.8%) fell below that of foreign carmakers. Despite P2 remaining market leader by a comfortable margin (29.4%), the foreign onslaught has shaken the company into its transformation journey, which it has said it has embarked on since 2011.

This transformation, Perodua chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin said last October, encompasses production, product, R&D, procurement and customer satisfaction initiatives, with the aim of making Perodua products and services on par or better than those of other established brands. Among the results are the hot-selling new Axia, Energy Efficient Vehicle incentives and the Daihatsu Kyushu-mirroring Perodua Global Manufacturing plant.

As incredulous as it may sound, the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) and several research reports expect Proton and Perodua to recover lost market share this year and close the sales gap with foreign brands, if not even regain dominance. Will it happen?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kizashi on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:32 pm

P2 ceo worried already on P1 coloboration with Suzuki..scared it will slash their Axia sales. Yet they wanna come out a sedan to compete with Saga..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 21
    • swift on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

P1 should not jelly P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • George Abdul on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Proton all over just competing in local market, with fail management and marketing.

If Proton “cronies” system never change it will still end with another failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
        • Nazgul on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Are u kidding me Mr. CEO. We love to see both of u fight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
          • Jimmy on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Are you kidding me? No one wants to see both of you fight. The rakyat only want Proton to close shop and car prices to come down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 44
          • banko on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:19 am

Prices cannot go down even p2 and p1 close shops. It’s one of gomen revenues. Look at thai,can you get accord at 120k? No.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:46 am

Who started the fight in first place? Producing an A-segment car was apart of the PROTON transformation plan to regain it’s position as No.1 market holder in Malaysia before penetrating the global market. DRB management will prove to Malaysian and hatred kiasu that PROTON BOLEH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
          • Close Down BOTH Proton Perodua on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:54 am

It is solely because of Proton and Perodua that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about low quality Perodua and Proton when 30 years, Proton and later Perodua rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Perodua, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton and Perodua also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and Perodua and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton and Perodua, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. You still happy with Perodua? This is another rape like how Proton raped us for 30 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 21
          • Low Class Car on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:09 am

Axia is so low quality and ZERO safety features, it is not allowed to be sold in the EU.

Come on Perodua, you selling us a Moving Coffin. If Picanto can give 6 airbags and VSC, that is the least you can do for Malaysians.

Or are you like Proton? Selling us for 30 years cars with no VSC and 2 airbags (hopefully it works)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • stupidthinking on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:43 am

If p1 sells you 30 years without VSC, then people can say Toyota sells 50 years and Merc sells 90 years without VSC before it gets place in their cars!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • diecannnotcomplain on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:17 am

Moving coffin sales of course la good, lol. People dun need those safety features. They cannot complain after die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Help u Help me on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:33 am

How to complement each other?

1. Perodua should rent factory from Proton in order to meet the huge demand.

2. Proton enjoy monthly factory rental sewa money from Perodua rather than keep it idle half empty under-utilise production.

3. Win-win situation for both. Perodua happy, Proton also happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • anti competition.... on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:43 pm

This is called anti competition…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • GT3 (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:19 pm

And this is by far one of the most childish issue I’ve seen here.
      In my opinion, Proton should not go into A-segment market at the first place, should collaborate with Suzuki on platform sharing instead. Maybe Vitara platform to be Proton’s first SUV? Or joint-venture producing small, nimble and affordable sports coupe.
      But even if Proton really want to go into A-segment, so what. Malaysians should stop being in ‘comfort zone’ already, have a ‘healthy’ competition please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Perodua scare already on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:44 pm

After Proton collaborating with Suzuki, now only Perodua wants to have good relations with Proton cause scare of losing sales later. Proton’s safety, ride & handling with Suzuki’s fuel efficient engine, can’t wait for this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 28
    • George Abdul on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Don’t forget Proton will get Suzuki transmission in future too…

Proton last two big failure Campro and “punch” CVT will be replace. It will be overall a good car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • dstl1128 on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:32 pm

… that means all current Proton car already EOL right out from factory.

• Proton keep sucking rakyat’s money for useless projects and waste the people’s LHDN money for fail ‘R&D’ like campro. Refund our LHDN money pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • Proton no sales on Jun 16, 2015 at 6:59 pm

P1 no sales, scare what? It’s Proton that’s scared of Perodua and needs to ‘collaborate’ with Suzuki. Why Proton don’t retain CFE engine, not fuel efficient ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
      • Viber on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm

1.6 CFE can tarpau civic 2.0l lor. More for c segmenter. 1.3l iriz FC is better than myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
        • richard on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:21 am

lol. Tapau 2.0 civic. U delusional? This is what poor people keep telling themselves. In the heart they want a civic but since can’t afford, they buy a campro cfe car and keep posting this crap o all comments to lie to themselves and convince other people to buy their lies.
          Btw…Iriz vs Myvi. You really want to compare these two cars?
          At the end of the day, sales speaks louder than any specs. Iriz+savy+ all those crappy little protons can reach myvi sales volume?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
          • 205nm torquey cfe engine. Civic 2.0l not even 200nm lor and only reaches maz torque at higher rpm. Most japs cars are jokes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • Campro inefficient on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:10 am

Comparing a turbo engine with NA of course turbo will win la. Instead you should compare CFE with other turbo engines. Turbo vs Turbo and NA vs NA. No need give reasons that cfe only use soft turbo as it is still considered a turbo.
            Other cars with 1.4-1.6L turbo engines all have higher hp and torque of 240-280nm and not to mention better fuel efficiency. Wait another 1-2 years and Jap cars start to go the turbo route then it would be a fair comparison of turbo with turbo.

• skipod on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:47 am

Turbo or not, still p1 is years ahead Jepunis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • protong on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:23 pm

And yet, P1 need to rebadge Jepunis. Bodoh

• Europeans rebadge Jepunis, are they bodoh?

• Europeans are not bodoh, but P1 is because you said its years ahead of Jepunis but P1 still need to rebadge Jepunis? Isn’t that bodoh?

• Are you european?

• ncpau on Jun 18, 2015 at 6:45 am

Rebadging is normal practise, why so much fuss?

• johan on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:05 pm

You must be really stupid or just plain ignorant. FD has no match for CFE. It’s a different league man.

• daimbiz on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:00 pm

Competition fuels inovation. That what drives automotive indsutry in Europe (specifically Germany)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • badger on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Suzuki rebadge is innovation ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • worthy on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Lol so no innovation from p2 since yesteryears.

How about improvemnt over cooling system of lancer by p1, later rebadged to inspira?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Fight what lar? P1 not paying attention on their car quality, instead dreaming to sell better than Perodua. End up begging the most money from government. Typical Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok but NOTHING DONE lifestyle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
    • steven see on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:01 pm

proton low quality but you bought saga anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • rakyat on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:06 am

bought because of no choice ok? you very happy with your overprice car because of GOM protected p1?

• Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:12 pm

What a bunch of cowards. Competition is healthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • wakaka on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Yes, and why Proton still needs protection with NAP? Really coward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • 2ltrbottle on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:58 pm

P2 also relies on NAP, if not Honda Jazz pricing will be at Myvi price range..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
      • You or not about existence of NAP?

Govt use NAP to binds Proton with ridiculous conditions (min. 70% local content which again AFTA min. 40% local content) just to protect BN cronies vendor interest and also open permit (AP) holders healthy/fat profit (90% AP holder is UMNO Chief Divisions). Produa is lucky cause didn’t binds with this silly condition.

Proton has several times appealed released from the bond and gives complete freedom to the proton to appoint more qualified vendor but rejected by the government until today.

Think again, if New Car price drop by 20% to 30%… How those AP holder (90% UMNO Chief Divisions) to retain/keep their current fat profit?

Proton wouldn’t have a good future even they sign MoU with better brand like BMW, Merc or RR cause NAP Bonds 70% Local Content will keep them failure, unless Govt released Proton from NAP Binds…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Captain Obvious on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Perodua would not change until the last nail is in it’s coffin. Time for Proton to introduce all the safety tech into their A-segment car at the same price range and see how Perodua fairs then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • observer on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Time for Proton to close shop when Perodua sells more than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
      • Your boss on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Can I fire you and move your job to India?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • selsel on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:55 pm

P2 always has better sales number. P1 is still here for good

• Donald Trump on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:20 pm

You can fire yourself when you sell less than Perodua

• p2movingcoffin on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:47 am

Ya, Perodua sells more because of less safety awareness among buyers.

p2 is moving coffin like Toyota

• p1rubbishcar on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Ya, Proton sells less because buyers know it’s quality like rubbish

• Tell that to NCAP, then 5 safety car car is for nothing? Moron.

• Saga got 5 safety ah? Moron.

• albag on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:14 pm

bodo punya Aminar Rashid ni… no competition mana ada improvement… telur mana telur???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Absolute Rider on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:22 pm

This is not fight, Mr P2 CEO. This call healthy competition so that each car company will come out better products.

Just like Honda City vs. Toyota Vios and so many others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Aero (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Since when Perodua became a national car company ?

Perodua is just a puppet of Toyota and Daihatsu. Even the upcoming Perodua sedan will not be a fully in-house product. As far as I’m concerned, only Proton has the right to claim ‘national car’ status because they design and manufacture almost everything themselves, with only transmissions and safety equipment being sourced from abroad. Yes, Proton has a few rebadged models like the Inspira and Perdana, but these are just 2 products out of the current 9 models that are not Proton-engineered. All of Perodua’s current models are Toyota/Daihatsu-designed, with only exterior panels, lights and interior fittings designed by Perodua. Note that the above aspects are relatively simple to engineer when compared to the more complex parts like the engine, transmission, chassis, frame, safety elements, handling etc.. In Perodua’s case, all the ‘difficult’ parts are engineered by their Japanese parents companies. In Proton’s case, it’s all done in-house with help from sister company Lotus Cars. Much of Perodua’s profits go back to Japan in one way or another, but almost all of Proton’s profits remain in our Malaysian economy. Perodua pays royalties to Toyota and Daihatsu for the use for their platforms and engines, Proton only does so for their Inspira and Perdana. That’s why the Iriz packs more features than the equivalent Myvi facelift and yet costs more or less the same, because Proton saves on royalty and licensing costs.

Back to the point; Perodua and Proton SHOULD fight because it leads to competition. And competition is always good because it brings out the best in everyone. Monopolising the market with Perodua focusing on small, cheap cars and Proton focusing on larger, more expensive cars will only lead to complacency in the long run.

The fact that the foreign companies have recently taken the upper hand in terms of market share is fated and unavoidable. As Malaysians have become wealthier and more affluent, sales of foreign cars will continue to climb. The fact of the matter is that Proton and Perodua simply do NOT have a single model to challenge the likes of BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Audi etc., or even a D-Segment Camry/ Accord/ Teana rival. Malaysian-badged cars are all from the C-Segment and below only. In some sense, Perodua’s CEO is right in saying that Proton should not fight with Perodua and instead focus on moving upmarket into the D-segment territory and also SUVs. However, this will only kill Proton faster because the cost to engineer larger and more luxurious cars are greater, and few Malaysians are willing to buy a Proton which costs more than RM70k, let alone RM100k and above. Thus, the Return on Investment for expensive Proton cars are FAR lower than their affordable models. The sad truth for both Proton and Perodua is that they’re only surviving because of their low-pricing thanks to the NAP and little else. If Malaysians could afford a foreign-badged car above RM100k, chances are most will max out their bank credit with 9-year loans to afford their dream Vios, City or Accord instead of being sensible and patriotic by buying an affordable Proton Prevé or even an economical Axia. The savings could be spent on health, education and property, instead of cars which ultimately lose most of their value after 3 or 4 years (unlike a house which appreciates in value, or health plans which increase your quality of living and education which will propel your career).

To me, I don’t mind that Perodua does not engineer their products in-house, that’s the nature of their business and it has served them well. However, putting Perodua on the same level as Proton is absurd. This is not about ego, it’s all simple facts; Proton makes their own cars, Perodua does not. Until Perodua gets on Proton’s level by building their own platforms, engines etc., they can never claim to be a national car company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 7
    • So what if P2 not national car? In case you don’t know, Proton is following Perodua footsteps in rebadging cars. So don’t tell me Proton is our national car, memalukan rakyat Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 40
      • historylesson on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Lol. At rarly stage p1 rebadged mitsu cars like saga and wira. Later developed home grown cars and sometimes do rebadging. Problem?

Dun tell me other manufacturers dun do rebadging. They do even they can build own cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
        • Really? on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:24 pm

After 30 years still early stage?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • richard on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:26 am

one openly admits it rebadges cars and is proud of it, the other 1 keeps sucking into the rakyat’s pockets by telling its’ developing its own cars but still has to resort to rebadging when their cars fail miserably.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • historylesson on Jun 17, 2015 at 10:49 am

Go and read again. Since when I said 30 years still early stage?

• historyteacher on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Proton not established since 30 years ago?

• Got many manufacturers still do rebadging, it’s normal. Problem?

• Your boss on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Hear hear! and some of them macais sez that you are BN lapdog for buying national car becoz you are putting money into kroni pockets.

• sepul on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Well said. Many commenter here is good at typing only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Arrow on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Come again when Perodua sedan car launched and kill off Proton sedans altogether.

• Yup, i have never thought of p2 as the national car company. And i dont understand tht people actually root for them. Proton is no way inferior to p2 in terms of quality.

• Captain on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:10 am

you sir! deserved a medal.

• sammy on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Can any lawyer tell me whether the ceo has just made a statement in breach of the anti-competiton act? He seemed to imply openly that Proton and Perodua should “collude” and go into some arrangement that does not promote healthy competition in the market, that will ultimately benefit the consumer.

• fightclub on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Competition? 30 years of NAP protection what competition? You go Langkawi and see how much Proton sells with REAL competition

• vyner on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:49 am

Protections are everywhere including doveloped countries. Not only in car industry.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Nobody said anything about fighting… Its competition… Simple english…. Its the reason why u cant sell in any meaningful numbers exportwise…. In our land, well, the msia consumers arent exactly forcing u to make a proper product…its a diff ball game… P1 now can make a car n sell it as a japanese origin… P2’s very own game… GAME ON!

• It is a good news for consumers to have competitions. USA is one place where competition is liberally practiced and the result is great pricing for consumers.
    Seems like bad news for Proton and Perodua at first. BUT… If they survive this wave of foreign automaker attacks, they will end up becoming stronger. Better managements, better product, better reputation. So it is good for them as well.

• XnkP2 on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:49 pm

P2 boss too fack, corrupted P1 vendors for killing P1 car owner

• Nurul on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Proton you’re the most disgusting lousiest junk crap shit car in the universe

You’re disgrace to Malaysians!

Please for the sake of all Malaysians just be extinct and be gone so all Malaysians can buy affordable and good reliable quality cars from other countries.

I pray that you close shop soon!!

Shit crap proton junk!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
    • youbodok on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:52 am

Why crap?

• XnkP2 on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Perodua is the most disgusting lousiest junk crap shit in the universe.

The Perodua brand disgrace to Malaysians!

Please sake of all Malaysians just be extinct and be gone so all Malaysians can buy affordable and good reliable quality cars from Proton.

I pray that Perodua close shop soon!!

Shit crap Perodua junk!!!!!!!

• annoy_namous on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Are you sure that u are Nurul?? Or is it somebody@basher who act like she is Nurul coz you don’t seems like Nurul??

• competition on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Competition is good for consumers.
    Japan can have Toyota, Honda, Nissan , Mazda, Mitsubishi , Suzuki, and Subaru competing each other.

So why not Malaysia ? Proton shouldn’t aim at Perodua only. That is very short sighted. Aim at foreign makes.

• das auto on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Perodua boss telur shrinking already. You can build a new sedan to challenge the saga but expect proton to sit down and rot? What a useless coward.

• richard on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:31 am

isn’t proton already rotting?

PS: I’m talking about the sales figures
      just incase you’re gonna start about that cfe crap…yada yada…60503 airbags, ebd, abs shit and all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • stupidrichard on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:50 am

No wonder p2 got more sales, because money is everything and lives are cheap1

• tokmoh. on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:53 am

Competition bukan budaya kita.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:34 pm

MAI will be proven wrong. Will stronger choices and competitive pricing from foreign makes, especially increasing amount of Chinese vehicles like the Haval M4, P2 and P1’s lion share of possession will definitely be diluted further. No doubt.

• kennyjay on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:40 am

for every unit of Iriz sold, there are 1000 units of Myvi plus Axia sold at the same time.

fight? how to fight? you tell me lah how.

better close down the entire Proton factory ASAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • makko on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:07 am

Sales number doesn’t mean it’s good. Still moving coffin like Vios.

• Bla bla on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:01 am

And all you people are fighting here. Now that is funny:))) typical Malaysians

• Jilbaber (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:16 am

I hope proton will rebadge more brand from japs..so can at least abolish some RV rage…I hope there will more new malaysian automaker emerge (Protiga Proemapat prolima) and rebadge rebadge rebadge including BMW and mercedes so I can buy those car with heist price !

• proenam, protujuh, prolapan, prosembilan, prosepuluh… hahahaha

• antiP1 on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:36 am

it’s good actually when they re in the middle of fierce competition..not so called challenging each other..P1 surely need A segment platform as that is the only one they’re missing…suzuki slowly but steadily keep knocking our local market, thanks to swift and alto. Surely this agreement will be win win deal, as Suzuki will use proton’s world class facilities and in return Proton will get the engine, tooling and engineering knowledge. Guys open up ur mind, see what Mazda and Toyota doing, also what BMW and Audi

• John Train on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Erm..
    nowadays, paultan comments;most of it not worth reading.

• henry on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Competition is a kind of complement to both brands as it triggers both to strive for better rather to be contented.

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Why not? If it’s a healthy competition.

• Oh, grow up please.

• pirlo on Jun 17, 2015 at 3:06 pm

dear paultan,

can you disable the comment session? seems lots of unhealthy discussion and stupid comment around here when it comes to proton & perodua, especially.

is this how Malaysians’ level of thinking?

• Then give us your brilliant comment, not only complain like those bashers

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 18, 2015 at 2:30 am

P2 what have you to worry? Yr service is much better than P1. Your Axia is much roomier than Suzuki. P1 & P2 must learn from China how they compete with foreign brands without price protection & among other 20+ local China brands with similar pricing. Everybody have sales growth & buyers benefit from this competition. Time to grow up because price protection did not prevent both of you from slipping in market share against foreign brands.

• alldisc on Jun 18, 2015 at 10:31 am

we all know proton is capable of R&D sedan and hatchbacks (savvy, saga, iriz) while perodua is excellent at changing the looks of those daihatsu boon to become myvi.

why not proton develop its model as usual, than perodua changes the face. proton sells its cars as usual, perodua sells its cars as usual (usually a lot more) but P2 pays royalties to proton.

WIN-WIN.