Perodua D63D sedan rendered based on Buddyz

perodua-d63d-sedan-theophilus-chin-buddyz-1

In case you’ve missed it, it’s a go – the Perodua sedan, codenamed D63D, has officially been given the green light, as recently revealed by president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid. Now in the prototype stage, Perodua is evaluating the engine, platform and gearbox for the project it’s sort of taking the lead on, since no sedan currently exists in the Daihatsu universe.

The finished product could surface anytime between 2016 and 2018, and will have an upper body designed completely in-house by Perodua. The carmaker is also targeting a five-star NCAP safety rating here – does this mean the sedan will be the first Perodua ever to get electronic stability control (ESC)?

perodua-d63d-sedan-theophilus-chin-buddyz-2

Theophilus Chin has rendered yet another Perodua sedan – his second sedan based on KLIMS13’s Buddyz concept. But while his first Buddyz effort involved very minor tweaks (the car still looked like a concept), this one packs sensible wing mirrors, projector headlamps connected to a slim grille, vertical LED DRLs/fog lamps, a bee-sting antenna, a rear diffuser-like element and a rather generic-looking rump.

Of course, several Buddyz cues remain, such as the tall, angular roofline and the GT-R-like front haunches (I am so sorry, Godzilla fans). The rendering maestro also famously created the Jaguh brochure hoax in 2013, which involved reskinning a Toyota Etios. He has also rendered an A-segment Perodua sedan and one based on the Myvi facelift.

Perodua Buddyz concept at KLIMS13

Learn more: , ,

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hazmin Hamudin on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:20 am

Saga BLM spotted.. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:16 am

I shall buy this car for my son last year. Instead, i bought a junk saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • JB_KIA on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:13 pm

I shall….last year. Speechless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • policeman on Jun 08, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Normal lah. What can we expect from a mentally challenged Toyota salesman.

Why he didn’t get a Vios for his son is the million dollar question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
          • protonjunk on Jun 08, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Habislah Proton, Saga still have no VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • pero2junk on Jun 08, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Habislah, lagi more P2 lagi more ppl die on the road

• irizsedan on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Nothing to worry coz platform for Saga replacement, Iriz is already around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 08, 2015 at 3:08 pm

I have 3 new Lexus at home and buying another one next month. Work harder before you make comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • nameless on Jun 08, 2015 at 5:00 pm

JUst hate the way she smiles at me..

• Sharpeyes on Jun 08, 2015 at 4:58 pm

spot-on, the best attempt to adopt GT-R’s fenders..

• Shame Lorrr on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:48 am

RIP english…I shall konon

• kick buttowski on Sep 28, 2015 at 6:15 pm

the new perdana,arena,aria,ertiga and exora really awesome

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:32 am

Proton better start selling kapchai or bicycles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • Dukun kereta on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Easily 1 million units sales for Perodua soon.

Anybody with redundant empty car factory better sell it off to Perodua. Need extra factory to meet the huge gigantic demand!

#1JutaPeroduaSedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Holofanboi on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:28 am

O.O

I like the rear lol. Everything looks doable from a manufacturing/profit side except for the front haunches :X

Fat chance Perodua OR Proton will ever give proportional wheels for its cars though. but lets hope they give Theophilus Chin’s render a good look.

• Dukun kereta on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:28 pm

This new sedan will easily sells 1 million units success just like Myvi. To meet huge demand, Perodua better rent/buy half-empty factory from Proton.

Perodua buddyz sedan = The end of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • dodgeviper88 on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:46 am

ESP no need. Got ultra garang bodykit to make your car more onz and gaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • DonkeyKong on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:56 am

It costs money to build a car with proper safety features, and it’s quite likely that Perodua will have to price their sedan in the RM70k-RM80k price range considering the prices of their current offerings with minimal safety features and weak body construction.

• Dukun kereta on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Don’t worry about that.

With anticipated demand of 1 million units, maybe Perodua can factored cheaper parts costs by autoparts supplier in advance.

You should be highly confident of your future success by keeping price affordable to rakyat in order to enjoy 1 million car sales.

Tahniah in advance to Perodua for your 1 million units sedan! :muah::muah::love of d nation::

• This car comes with pajero killing features

• dugongx on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:30 pm

SO what? Greedy perutdua will never pass the cost savings fr economies of scale to the customers. They will surely price this from 45k for tin kosong to minimum 69k for full extreme spec. Then it will be obvious how overpriced are perutdua cars compared to proton.

• minimini on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:57 am

Crysler 300C rear roof. Now to add stancenation 18″ rims.

• Soon to be introduced in Malaysia. As usual like their UMW brother, low spec with no ABS. Highest spec at most only ABS with no ESP. (general sentiment: it’s okay la, just drive slowly nothing will happen).

New features: push start button, bluetooth radio, projector headlamps, tissue box compartment, anti snatch hook, gear shift ornaments and other blink blink. (general sentiment: WOW!! P2 the best! So many features!! Proton sux!!)

One week after introduction: hottest selling sedan in Malaysia.

Lesson of the day: Lives are cheap yo! When you treat your life cheaply, so do the corporates!

You should value your lives and choose something else which is value for money. Think of your loved ones, they are waiting for you to come home every day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Dukun kereta on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:37 pm

What if this sedan also equipped with 6 airbags ESC Traction control?

What excuses craps you will throw again, if rakyat choose to buy it but reject Proton Saga?

You go cry alone inside jamban kah?

• P2 macai on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:17 pm

In your dream la! P2 with 6 airbags and ESP. LOL… go back to your MyVi and enjoy racing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • I love PERODUA on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:29 pm

The new SEDAN will have 5 star NCAP.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:12 am

I dig the front, but until perodua fixes the mess up of the Buddyz roofline, it still looks awkward on the side…

No amount of Theophilus fairy dust can mask that mess.

• Dukun kereta on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Doesn’t matter at all.

As long as rakyat finally have choice, and it’s no longer monopolised alone by Proton Saga as the sole cheap sedan car.

Here is free market, anybody should be allowed to sell any car that market needs. Those rejected by car buyers better close shop and open new business such as new kilang sambal belacan etc.

• i want LED head lamp, Rear Light Bar,VSC, 6 airbags!!! on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:18 am

P2 need to redesign the body shape n curve line. This design to out dated. Hopefully P2 can offer Twin LED headlamp,rear light bar design, 6 airbags, VSC and affortable price.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:35 am

When a Perodua has all those features, it will be priced the same as a Toyota. If you want a proper sedan in the RM60k price range with 6 airbags, VSC, ABS, EBD and a strong body that has high-strength hot-press steel that only a handful of manufacturers in the world employ, there’s the Preve..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Nobody cares about safety, bro. All they care is push start button, touch screen infotainment system, and anti-snatch hook.

ESP? HHA? TSC? NAHHH!! Me got skillz!!

Forget about Preve, though proven as a very safe car (just look at ANCAP rating and real life accident example), nobody will buy. It’s a Proton, brother! It’s a third world vehicle they said.

Same goes to other safe cars like KIA, Ford, etc. Ewww.. Me no want, LOW RV!!!

I only want a 90k VIOS with only ABS, I look wealthier and have more status in a VIOS than “garbage junk” Protons, they said. Forget about wife and son waiting for me at home everyday to safely arrive. Got a VIOS I can pick up more girls with that. /sarcasm

It’s a sad reality the era of tin milo and power window rosak still embedded in majority Malaysians. At the end of the day, a P2 sedan priced at 60k with only ABS, or a T VIOS 90k with only ABS still can sell.

Remember, lives are cheap !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
        • Dukun kereta on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Why blame market preference if Proton being rejected?

If local rakyat no longer support you, go find other market lah. Bangladesh or Mongolia market also can, belum cuba belum tahu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • P2 macai on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:16 pm

BEEP BEEP!! P2 macai detected! LOL… bro, what are you smoking? Please pass it on to all PT readers ok, don’t get too high.

Please speak with sense. FF talks about preference over unsafe cars to the safer ones, not specifically Proton.

• And ask yourself, why is a Vios 90k in Malaysia while Langkawi only cost 50k? You talk like only T and P2 no VSC, how about your Saga? I don’t see any safety features in your highly acclaimed Proton if you compare with same segment

• dugongx on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:47 pm

The thing is people that buy vios at a premium (92k) get 2 different perception from people. The car enthusiast will laugh at how stupid the buyer is while the normal people will think this guy is richer than a person driving a c-class because he pays RM10 for something worth only RM2. Imagine paying RM600 for a single 175/70/R14 Tyre. The shop mechanic treats you as water fish as well as thinks you are really loaded. The C-class buyer only pays RM600 for a 245/50/R17 tyre. That is how people get the impression that vios owners are richer than c-class owners.

• wth is this??? this like super ugly! come on theo!

• cifer on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Theo rendering be much nicer than this but I think it’ll dissapoint many readers as the concept is already not that nice.

• Sam Looo on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Toyota vios is better than this, new vios will launch new model come with new feature safety such as VSC, 6 Airbags, Hill Start Assist and also Blind Spot Monitor Price starting at RM60,000. Go for Toyota, good RV.

• Hor Shen Hau on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Bro,this is the little teaser that I will give,a little teaser.The Saga 3 that will be launch this year will have VSC (ABS,EBD,ESC,HA,BA),6 airbags.Better than your Vios.Cheers!

• P1 macai on Jun 08, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Keep on dreaming. P2 will launch this first. P1 until 2023 would still ‘R&D’ this Saga 3. Better than your ‘new’ Saga. Cheers!

• TheDean on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:49 pm

In 1990, this car would’ve been HOT!!!

• Dukun kereta on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:56 pm

I can predict in year 2025, Perodua will organize another record-breaking gathering for its inaugural Sedan car as appreciation for 1 million units sales.

Perodua sedan car = Another future love of the nation!

::love::muah::muah:: #1JutaLovePerodua

• Same L0rr on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Get a life la. Please work harder and buy a real car like vios. Not a fake toyota wannabe for Br1m people.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 08, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Why buy a fake BR1M car? Buy a real BR1M car like Saga la

• Peter on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Seriously, IMHO, when looking at the shape (if it remind you of anything), the the chances of closing the deal has gone for 50% if I’m not budget tight.
    (why must B segment sedan created by Malaysian companies tend to end up in similar … er .. design / profile ?)

• Gosh! on Jun 08, 2015 at 1:07 pm

The front end looks pretty good but the rest look hedious.

• Nenek Kau on Jun 08, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Even though there might be technical reason behind it, to be honest, that Buddy concept design looks like the most stupid design I ever seen on a car.

• azrai on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:04 pm

I think they want to sell this in India.

• robdeniro on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Wow. Design? By definition, thats not a design. A design doesn’t cause convulsions and vomiting.

• Macam the paper car that I burn to my grandpa.

• can someone tell me wtf is this?

• abg misai on Jun 08, 2015 at 3:15 pm

This car reminds me of nissan latio sedan… which is _______________ (fill in your own word). I am so NOT looking forward to this one.

• ROTFLOL on Jun 08, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Heard that it looks like 1st gen Vios here. Proton sure bungkus punya.

• I heard that it looks like a moving coffin, with high keras wood on revolving wheels. Whoever buys it sure bungkus punya

• ahbengah on Jun 08, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Yeah why have to crack heads to install those safety features and run tests if hair dresser cars can be best seller for years? Easy plug and play job, easy money ma.

• letmeanswer on Jun 08, 2015 at 3:56 pm

First! Shitty

• BeemerFreak on Jun 08, 2015 at 4:04 pm

1 word…FUGLY……

• Ya yaya … Proton will repeat its VSC and 10 airbags like broken record.

• picantodr on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:05 pm

They want VSC lor, not repeating p1 at all. Just give what they want. Only butthurt p2 macais SA feel threaten everytime VSC word is written in comments.

• What people want is reliable car which something that Proton does not have despite spending so much for VSC and 10 airbags. Remember, reliable car. Not crap.

• ale uto on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:47 pm

the a pillar looks like suzuki swift model..
    the back looks like 2008 nissan tiida latio / nissan versa sedan..
    i think the first generation proton saga is has a proportional design than this in my opinion..

• DPCraft on Jun 08, 2015 at 9:23 pm

Rear looks Dated

• agree..n it looks kinda retard..the rear bumper and the rear body in a single unit..no lines is seen.

• kick buttowski on Sep 28, 2015 at 6:20 pm

perodua new sedan REALLY AWESOME!!!!!