New Perodua Sedan mentioned in stock research reports – second half, August 2016 launch

perodua-sedan-myvi-based-theophilus-chin-1

We’ve seen and heard plenty of Proton’s upcoming A- and B-segment sedans, the new Saga and new Persona. But what about the sedan that will go head-to-head with the Protons, the sedan that market leader Perodua is planning?

It’s typical of the Rawang-based carmaker to keep plans under wraps until the final moments, when things are already finalised; and company bosses are very guarded when quizzed by journalists, with the usual smile, non-committal answer and “tunggulah” by president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. The same questions have been met with the same answers at P2 press conferences for years now. It’s a big contrast from how things are done over at Proton.

As the Malay saying goes, diam-diam ubi berisi, and this piece of ubi should be pretty heavy. Till now, no timeline has been officially offered with regards to the sedan’s market launch, but now, mentions of the “Perodua Sedan” have appeared in stock research reports.

Maybank Investment Bank’s research report on major Perodua stakeholder MBM Resources Bhd (MBMR) predicts a “tale of two halves” for the stock, where the second half of 2016 will be boosted by the launch of Perodua’s first sedan. Besides having a direct stake in P2, MBMR distributes Perodua cars via DMM Sales, and is also a major shareholder in P2 vendors Autoliv Hirotako and wheel-maker Oriental Metal Industries.

The same research house also mentioned the Perodua sedan in a note on leather upholstery supplier Pecca Group Bhd, which appeared in The Edge Financial Daily. The key catalyst for Pecca’s financial year 2017 growth would be contribution from the Perodua sedan, Maybank Investment Bank said.

“We expect this model to be priced from RM32,000 to RM40,000 range to compete with Proton Saga, which accounted for about 40,000 to 45,000 units in market size in 2015. In our projection for MBMR, we expect Perodua to sell 15,000 units of the sedan model in 2016, beginning August — conservative in our view — and 30,000 units in 2017,” it added.

So, the second half of 2016 and more specifically, August 2016, would be when Perodua’s first sedan surfaces, according to the analysts. This would throw it in the same arena, at the same time, as Proton’s new Saga and new Persona sedans, if the latter’s plans aren’t beset by the usual delays.

What we know for sure is that the design of the sedan will be led by Perodua, as it’s not based on any current Daihatsu model. The in-house upper body design will sit on a proven Daihatsu platform, while engines will be from the Japanese company’s stable (Daihatsu now a wholly-owned subsidiary of Toyota, share exchange will be completed in August).

Proton is readying not one, but two compact sedans for 2H 2016; from L-R: new Saga, new Persona

“Based on our more than 20 years of partnership, Daihatsu has allowed Perodua to be more involved in the design and development of our vehicles. In this process there has been transfer of technical and engineering knowledge as well as transfer of technologies,” Aminar told paultan.org at last year’s Tokyo Motor Show.

“We would like to leverage on Daihatsu’s more than 100 years of experience in the automotive industry to remain relevant and competitive,” he added, affirming the relationship between Perodua and its Japanese partner. Daihatsu has a 20% stake in Perodua and more significant shareholding in the manufacturing side of P2’s business.

Perodua having a growing design role in local models is nothing new, and is a continuation of the trend from the Myvi and Axia. It is something that Daihatsu encourages, too. “Having the car’s upper body designed by Perodua will create a better product that suits the Malaysian market,” Daihatsu Motor Company’s senior managing executive officer Shigeharu Toda told us at the same TMS 2015 function.

It will be an interesting second half for the industry and Malaysian car buying public, that’s for sure. May the best local sedan win.

GALLERY: Perodua Buddyz Concept from KLIMS 13

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ismet on May 24, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Support P2, support Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • Every1canTalk on May 24, 2016 at 6:15 pm

The Buddyz is a joke.
    If new sedan design base on this definitely a disaster!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Get ready for the ESC-less, 2 airbag sedan! As usual, ABS won’t be available on all variants. However, Perodua will be more than happy to throw in a fancy instrument cluster that makes people forget to turn on their lights at night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • when this car comes out, then kiss proton new saga and Persona aka iriz sedan goodbye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 64
    • I choose Proton Saga 1.5TGDi 180hp 250NM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
      • More like 1.0 turbo

• Same L0rrr on May 25, 2016 at 7:54 am

U think saga in a racing car as Honda Civic what? Saga is just a basic car.. 1.3L & 90hp just enough la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • Civic is also a family sedan lor. What’s wrong with our local society’s mentality in associating everything that can move faster than an old 69 beetle with a being a racing sports car.

• U think Honda Civic is a racing car? Get real….

• ahmad hadi on May 25, 2016 at 4:14 pm

saga 1,5TGDI already dead coffin

• donno on May 24, 2016 at 11:09 pm

Proton need to buckle up and lauch the new saga and persona before the new produa sedan. If not can say byebye to any big sales prospect. The new perodua sedan is a new development direction for perodua and daihatsu, with perodua designing the car in house and collaborating with a certain korean design house that was involved previously with proton and naza. So this would be the most undaihatsu-like perodua to date, and hopefully they would still stick rigidly to the Toyota and daihatsu engineering design specifications for this new sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Albert on May 25, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Mc Donno,
        Protong is kissing goodbye,2016.
        When Perodua start collecting orders for the new sedan,Proton will do a short cut.
        With a f..up QC dept,they surrender…and call the bladdy Mus……”tolong,Tun said cannot launch until QC is 99%.sekarang 60% je.Tuan…tolong ask for another 1.5 B.Kami letih,bang…..Raya coming.”
        Slow and steady kura kura Proton lose the race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on May 25, 2016 at 12:19 am

P1 themselves is one of p2 vendor through it subsidiary PHN Industries that provide p2 stamping parts. PHN will oso supply parts for up coming Axia sedan. P2 major shareholder MBM Resources through Autoliv Hirotiko is p1 airbag n seat belt vendor. They are interconnected to each other u like it or not.

• Dont know why proton take so long to launch a car. The perdana, it rebadge the older version accord, until now still havent launch, it already using old technology, still drag for launching, this make the old technology even obsolete…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 33
    • longjong on May 24, 2016 at 8:48 pm

the new perdana is not a rebadge.. only the one currently use by the government official is .
      this new one only utilize accord’s platform aka chassis .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
  • policeman on May 24, 2016 at 6:33 pm

A sedan from Perodua. Will it retain the qualities of Perodua cars – easy to flip, catches fire upon impact, juddery brakes, floaty feel, and weak body structure? If so, then this car will be a success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 37
  • Mane camo test car dulu? Oops. Tak perlu, cuz they only need to clone from daihatsu/toyota and remove all safety features and wrench out vvt first. So tak perlu nak test. Just rebadge onli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
    • pxp154 on May 24, 2016 at 10:11 pm

True bro,

“Daihatsu has allowed Perodua to be more involved in the design and development of our vehicles.”

more like nahhhhh P2, ambik softcopy daihatsu ni, kasi tukar bodykit bagi racing sikit, kurangkan safety & jual mahal sikit dr new saga…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Ko ingat macam proton ke? Accord yang sudah phase out pun masih nak test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • Ng kee hoong on May 24, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Ok. This is so so only but already way better than the up coming proton model.
    So,proton sale still lose to perodua for the next 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
    • we got a bomoh 1 malaysia here on May 24, 2016 at 8:43 pm

i didnt know they teaches fortune telling in school nowadays? you know what? you are the reason that perodua keeps on producing sub par cars and selling it at high prices. (just compare the prices vs spec of perodua cars vs other cars)

without even seeing the car in person and even the specs you can say that it is better than proton? did you come back in time from 2020? if yes then can i have some 4D to win some jackpot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Pakulupapito on May 24, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Wow perodua…not even a spyshot can be seen. High level secret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • B-Unggul on May 24, 2016 at 10:07 pm

No spyshots to be found.

Even more secretive and elusive than BMW and Mercedes. Asyik-asyik spyshot je.

/s

• Keng Huat on May 24, 2016 at 6:59 pm

With the price range just around 32k – 40k,i wouldn’t hard to predict that p2 just fit in max 2 airbags only,as always while p1 definately offer max 6 airbags & more safety gadgets for highest range of saga & persona.. We already know that p1 price is lower than p2 the market even p2 just doing rebadge.. My vote goes to p1 on the new sedan unless p1 spoil it with quality issues again..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
  • Nampaknya laluan proton semakin sukar. Saga dibuat asal boleh, persona x menarik. Hancus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • dodgeviper88 on May 24, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Haha Danny Tan, I see what you did there in regards to the peribahasa ‘diam-diam ubi berisi’, a juxtaposition of ’empty vessels makes the most noise’. I think once this Perodua sedan is launched, another nail in the coffin for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 31
    • Cut and paste job on May 24, 2016 at 7:23 pm

I would like to see Perodua actually manufacture a car on their own , not rebadge all their models. Then we can comment on Perodua quality and engineering capabilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • ProtonGSC on May 24, 2016 at 7:34 pm

P2 remember make it cheaper compared to coming P1 saga…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Perodua is a very cleverly managed company. It sells reliable cars which has great market demand and as a result is a market leader. It is an experienced company which is why Daihatsu trusts Perodua with lots of design and engineering work. Forget about the competitiveness of its cars, the company is financially sound. Proton is the complete opposite of perodua in every regard and frankly a waste of time and taxpayer money.

Finally, while dumbo proton is still looking around for its calendar to launch TWO lebih-kurang-sama-saiz sedans by this decade, Perodua management coolly readies just one sedan later this year to kill off both the new saga and new persona. Now that is one very confident company. My guess is that the new P2 sedan will sell in three times the volume of the new perdana, new persona and new saga combined annually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 38
    • B-Unggul on May 24, 2016 at 10:41 pm

I’d guess it’s not solely due to the confidence of eating up much of the sedan marketshare.

Some posit that due to the seemingly dwindling demand of their own B-segmenter MyVi, Perodua have realised that things has changed much. Slumping number of overall registration of new car is a reminder that lots of people didn’t care much as long as they can procure a new car, even though they can theoretically afford its bigger brother.

Reminds me of the ‘race to the bottom’ in the ‘netbook era’, only with the effect is much amplified due to the loan that needs servicing.

So back to Proton, some may say they’ve just “Error 404” with the Iriz sales number and introduction of new Persona. Yup, the ship may have sailed for national B-hatchers, but that’s precisely what they’re gunning with the new Persona. Platform sharing will incur cost saving, much like how Axia and the supposed sedan going to be, practically.

• bukapintubayartol on May 24, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Perodua is showing how a national car company is supposed to play the game… unlike a certain ‘other’ company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 39
    • By rebadging a foreign make yet strip of all the safety and engine tech and then sell them moving coffins to MY pipu so that they can go to early afterlife? What kinda national company this suppose to be? Population control?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 21
      • bukapintubayartol on May 24, 2016 at 8:47 pm

KAWAN, read the article first before commenting; it says… “What we know for sure is that the design of the sedan will be led by Perodua, as it’s not based on any current Daihatsu model”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • tokmoh. on May 24, 2016 at 11:54 pm

SAVAGEEEEEEEE

• When P1 rebadge = kutuk kaw2
      When P2 rebadge = good national company

Nice… P2 management will say, do we need to upgrade our car with decent spec of safety for our loyal customer? No need la, they will be always some not to smart customer will buy it.

• chia chia on May 27, 2016 at 11:00 pm

You re literally too stupid to be insult. Even at ur brain can think that way, definitely people with higher iq than u can think on their own.. No need to compare laaaa..

• Silthice on May 24, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Can’t wait to see head to head…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Wow, Just Wow! on May 24, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Perodua is doing a great job for now! Can’t wait for this launch this year. P1 can pack their bags ardy lorr. Hope P2 would improve a little on build quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
  • with the amount of irresponsible drivers getting killed and killing milo tin on the road.. this will make it even worse. If p1 makes saga with inferior parts also shame on them too.

Well the masses prefer price over safety. When it wrecks like a tin can then alot of sob stories later on.

• Directlol on May 24, 2016 at 7:47 pm

So again this will be without VSC too?

• Wiwiwiw on May 24, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Proton is just like those tin Milo Satria Neos, loud but no go for performance. Bising action only, busy go around with camouflaged cars, ugly concept cars, or reveal a portion of their upcoming car under a blanket, but no go. I think those spyshot photos are prepared by Proton PR people to “build excitement.” Cheap publicity. Perodua on the other hand secretly preparing a sedan to kill both Saga replacement and Persona replacement.

Kelisa killed Savvy
    Myvi killed Gen.2 hatchback
    Alza killed
    Axia killed Iriz
    Perodua New Sedan will kill Saga and Persona?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 34
    • Wiwiwiwiw on May 24, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Alza killed Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Alza killed by Exora 2:1

• B-Unggul on May 24, 2016 at 10:23 pm

“Cheap publicity”? So guess that those foreign overlords doing test with camo cars abroad are also being “cheap”, eh?

The point is, either you have such ‘controlled leaks’, or you’re keeping everything under ‘iron curtain’, both are still logically sound marketing strategy. Heck, even company like Apple is allegedly doing both in different point of its life.

So I won’t class them as wrong, even if it’s Perodua employed such “teaser campaigns”. What’s more important is the ‘thing’ under the wraps itself. You’re buying a car, not it’s marketing campaign right?

• ALZA KILLED EXORA..PROOF??TENGOK AHLI MAOC(MY ALZA OWNER CLUB)PLING RAMAI 10K+++ PALING BOOK OF RECORD…TU BELOM KIRE YG X DAFTAR JADI AHLI…SCREW U MAN

• Henry on May 24, 2016 at 8:17 pm

More bad news for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
  • Aero (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Hmm, I wonder where Perodua is testing their new sedan ? Proton tests their cars all over Malaysia and also abroad (in snowy and desert countries)… well, Perodua has their own test track if I’m not mistaken, but I doubt that alone will suffice. Maybe Daihatsu/ Toyota Group is testing it for them elsewhere. Who knows.

If the price range is indeed under RM40k, that means the new P2 model should be an A+ segment sedan ? The BH Persona is B-segment, and the upcoming Saga is an A+. No doubt, if Perodua plays their cards well, both the Saga’s and Persona’s sales would be greatly affected. But the Myvi and Axia will be just as affected too.

Let us not forget, Proton is the master of sedans (almost every Proton sedan to date has sold well), while Perodua (master of mini cars) is only just learning how to build their first sedan now. Perodua is wading into Proton’s territory for the first time.

It will be interesting to see what the outcome will be. Unlike the Iriz and Axia which are both in different segments, the new P2 sedan and Saga will go head-to-head. This time, it will be a straight fight between the proven Saga and newcomer from Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • spoton on May 24, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Spot on, i agree that it will effect the saga’s sales but if persona is built right im sure the Functions of the car will greatly outdo the p2 sedan. Knowing P2 they will cheap out on everything.

The only regret i have is letting my sister getting the new facelift myvi 1.3. Its reaaaaaly bad compared to the iriz 1.3

So with that i hope p2 does not cheap out on the car. Atleast compete or on par with what the new saga would be. Function over price/form.

• 4g63t dsm on May 24, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Perodua doesn’t need to test ’em. The Toyotas and Daihatsus have been running millions of test miles before Perodua launches it’s versions.

The new sedan is ready to go. Waiting to steal Proton’s thunder yet again as it did with the Myvi (Persona), Alza (Exora) and the Axis (Iriz). It can launch before or after the new Saga and Persona and it would still soften Proton’s market prospects, especially now when the overall market is weak.

FWIW, I think Perodua sedan is nothing but a retaliatory response to Proton encroaching it’s market with the new A segment Saga and smaller B segment Persona. More like showing a well greased middle finger to Proton. 2 can play at this game.

• Bro. P2 dun test their car. They just rebadge from daihatsu/toyota. So why need to test. Their R&D is just to figure out how to remove as much safety and engine tech from donor model until its barely able to function. Oh, and oso to ‘research’ & ‘develop’ how to even more ah beng-fied their bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on May 24, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Let’s speculate.
      1. Won’t have 1.5 to kill myvi n vios
      2. Will have 1.3 to kill persona 45k-55k
      3. Will have 1.0 to kill saga 35k-45k
      4. Will be the next de facto taxi/uber/grab car
      Proton can still lose with 100 airbags unless no more self-disintegrate parts.

If they adds ESC Proton can say bye-bye. However I don’t believe ESC will be there until 2020.

• Accordana on May 25, 2016 at 10:45 am

Proton – master of failure

Perodua – master of success

• P2 – master of sending pipu to afterlife
        P2 – Nirvana’s bestest customer
        P2 – U can rely on them to send u to u maker posthaste

• Malaysian Driver on May 25, 2016 at 3:12 pm

I heard that you have some opinion on the glitches found in your newly bought Iriz. However, your experience is pale compared to us who bought the Gen 2, Savvy and Waja during the 2000’s. That was a full decade of junk and painful ownership experience for Proton owner’s and the begining of Proton’s full decline, which in hindsight, they don’t even have a clue of what went wrong back then. During Mahaleel time, all is just blatant denial and arrogance. Proton actually nearly made a come back under the helm of DSZ, too bad his departure also marked the full decline of Proton since 2012, not even Iriz or Suprima is able to reverse the trend.

I have say many times, and I’m gonna say it again, Proton could only be saved if it is run strictly as a business entity rather than a crony entity waited to be milk and screwed up by diffrent oligarchs affliated to the power corridoors. Hopefully, with the departure of Mahathir, some bad rotten vendors could be booted out as well, but judging from Proton’s dire financial situation (offering vendors to bater with their unsold cars to clear outstanding debt), I doubt Proton could make a drastic change in its QC, which is the most crucial factor why people reject Proton from the start.

I had drove the best of Proton such as the great Satria GTI and Saga Megavalve, and had equally painful chapter with the junk quality Gen 2 and Waja. But as much I hate to admit, I still want to see Proton successful someday. The boys and girls in Tanjung Malim actually did a great job, is just the cronies infested supply chain that is causing problem, giving consumer nightmarish car owning experience and unreliable cars that ultimately kill Proton.
      The revival if Proton lies in quality, not carnivals, spyshots or empty slogans. If Proton is able to sort out its reliability and QC, then it can really challenge Peordua.

• Hopefull on Jun 29, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Totally agree with u..the main prob with p1 is QC..improve that then the motto will applied..

• Tease & tease on May 24, 2016 at 9:30 pm

This car wil launch earlier than perdana..cox perdana will still keep teasing on their body part until tyre portion…yawn..zzZ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • JoBless on May 24, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Tis model will destoy Prodon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Tong Sampah on May 24, 2016 at 10:37 pm

if P2 launch this faster than P1 new saga…it will be a slap on the face! :D

• Ong Chee Boo on May 24, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Okay i knew i will get a lot of dislikes by saying this, but enough of those “national pride” and “proton make their own car and perodua doesn’t” quarrels.

Perodua is a company who REBADGEs. Sure they do not have what we called engineering capabilities and own design, but they have what proton doesn’t have now: QC consistency and aftersales. You wonder why they choose Daihatsu? They don’t want to sweat on the complexities that they are unfamiliar with. R&D takes a lot of time and money without 100% success chance. Proton did, but failing now not because they are not capable, but because of cronyism and corruption from the top. Perodua doesn’t want all these bullshit. By co-operating with overseas manufacturers, they have strict minimum standards to comply and this cultivates good corporate culture and thus better QC. Like it or not, this is the case to all corporations, not just car companies. Quality based management = good culture = good performance.

Proton while offering great safety rating, but that’s all. It is now plagued by lousy suppliers, lousy QC, lousy after sales service, so-so design, and half-assed developed CFE and their VVTi engine is just starting to take off. In 2015.

Proton needs to restructure its organisation more seriously in this year or that bailout is not even enough to fill the gap it lost to competitors. Now i see their new Iriz is already on giveaway in some contest. (where the car is just out less than a year)

While the safety features Perodua offer is really disgustingly lacking, people who would buy these, don’t give a damn about safety, or they CAN’T AFFORD a better equipped cars. Axia has the worst safety features, yet it is selling like hotcakes, even faster than Honda city and HRV combined. Perodua knew what a malaysian wants right now: Cheap, simple A-B, frugal small cars. Don’t get me started on “well they can buy proton cars. safety top, cheap”, i have friends who are burned seriously by Proton’s QC quality and lousy after sales service. “My proton pakai dah berapa tahun pun ok saje, tak ada masalah besar” doesn’t work on anyone. (some even brought out their 20 years old Wira and waja to compare lol)

And you guys blame perodua for this? you guys should blame yourselves. I knew some of you keep hammering UMW Toyota and Perodua for offering sub-par safety features, but you and your family still took your chances and buy them. Because Perodua is “cheap”, and Toyota is “quality” instead of KIA, Honda etc. Yes Toyota is being punished right now, but the main problem is still govt policies and corruption. I don’t wanna talk about politics here, but sadly this is the case.

Every car company is the same, who would want to add more when they are having a great field day without competition? Perodua is having its killing spree now.

Remember, money is in our own hands. We decide the market. Not them. We did it this first quarter, we can still do it in the long term.

Say no to cars that is poorly equipped. When the buying stops, they will feel the heat.

So far i knew Mazda, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Mercedes, Proton (yes but with cons), are heading the correct direction in terms of safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Totally agree with you. Malaysian people still bought their car even with no standard safety features. Sadly the P2 top management cant see that Malaysia need a safe and reliable car. At this moment, P2=Reliable and P1=Safe (in my own opinion its still reliable depends on what model). I strongly believed P2 body strength are not as good as P1. Those who are following automotive news will understand why.

P1 has ‘repent’ from their sins from the past and its on track to deliver a safe and reliable car. But maybe because of the past, people are too phobia to buy their cars and people still coming up with the past problem but we hardly heard it now.

As for P2, please listen to the rakyat voice as we wanted a safe and reliable car. I dont care my friend or my family using a P2 as long as they are happy with their choice and they know that they are using a safe car. But not all of us has the automotive knowledge so sometime they bought the car just for the sake of the design and price. But when accident happen, you can tell how its going to be.

• krs189 on May 25, 2016 at 11:49 am

The Problem is why call it national car?

National Car should provide jobs for the local especially those high level position.

Did you know how many local people are employed as Manager and above position in Poodua New Plant? I can guarantee you very little, all taken up by Jepunis. Don’t get me to Engineering side of it yet.

And what has Poodua contributed to local economy even-though their volume is very high? just look at Bukit Beruntung township condition, nothing seems to happen there vs look at Shah Alam. Learn economic impact.

Poodua is just a profit milking foreign company disguised as local car manufacturer, and many government official tak sedar diri termakan dedak hasutan Poodua. nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • If there are no tin milo, no milo tabur…if there are no ubi…no lepat ubi….so both of these brands(proton and perodua)are needed by the malaysian for tea time:p

• azrai on May 25, 2016 at 8:35 am

Economy is not good. People get retrenched. Bank interest going upward. Loan approval become stricter. Food becoming more and more expensive. Are you sure Malaysian still put buying a new car for even their third or fourth priority? But for Saga and Persona they still can send to Chile and other country then.

• yestheywill on May 25, 2016 at 8:59 am

yes they will, economy good or not they just pretend all is okey.

i have seen many people with so-so income buying city or vios. they must have spent 1/2 or 2/3 of their income to be a car slave. if this is the case, they are more towards a “Gaya” conscious than an economy conscious people.

pity them……….

• Andas on May 25, 2016 at 10:32 am

Msian will never care if economy down.. u can see toyota and honda in PPRT car park..

• tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 9:51 am

Maslan : KFC penuh orang, jualan Mercedes meningkat, mana ada rakyat terjejas?

Harga Subaru Forester turun 31%, janji ditepati.

I <3 PM.

• isu proton vs perodua ni takkan habis. merge je lah company ni jadi satu; peroton

• long live perodua…!

• tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 10:28 am

The irony when Danny thinks Perodua diam2 ubi, yet we know the car is tin milo stripped naked of safety.

If this car comes with 6 airbags and stability control, i will lari bogel around their rawang plant.

• Dun worry. This car will have 6 airbags and ESC, during facelift number 100 in year 4040.

• Saitam on May 25, 2016 at 12:08 pm

I have a feeling… this will be the first major flop of P2.

• tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 1:58 pm

It wasn’t and it won’t. Nautica was their first flop.

• Saitam on May 25, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Maybe you are right.
        But I consider Nautica a stop gap model as it was mainly CBU with a ridiculous pricing.

• tokmoh. on May 25, 2016 at 7:05 pm

In any case, this car will be a success.

People buy Perodua because they trust it, irregardless it’s tin milo, not as value for money as Proton (based purely on price only). There is almost nothing that can break that trust,

Trust, is something Proton don’t have, so whatever it do also, no one’s gonna trust it. Only way possible is if Proton sold to foreigner, and management change to remove cronies.

I hope one day Proton sold to Geely, and rebadge Volvo with Drive-E powertrains.

• Saitam on May 28, 2016 at 12:18 am

Maybe you are right. or maybe people trust p2 because they know they are actually buying a daihatsu? people use to trust proton too in the wira days… but as soon as they got more involved in the design like savvy, table turned.

this p2 model is not a direct rebage… hence my fear for the first flop. …. but maybe you are right.

• Reliable Source said that the Launch Perodua Sedan is July 2016 (Yes this year).

• Copy new persona?

• This is going to be another rebadge of Toyota Etios from India.

http://www.toyotabharat.com/showroom/etios/

• Azman Razak on Jun 12, 2016 at 7:24 pm

It have a good looking sedan from perodua and wish the sedan will be a prestigous sedan at Malaysia…

• toyota on Jul 08, 2016 at 6:49 am

Proton is original cars, while perodua is a generic cars

Hahaha..

• David Andrews scam on Aug 02, 2016 at 4:34 am

In either case, monitoring your blood sugar is a key part of your therapy program.