Perodua to add fourth model – long-awaited sedan?

Perodua_Buddyz_Concept_ 009

Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, has hinted at a new, fourth model that could soon join the firm’s range. As sales of its new Axia model goes through the roof, Perodua is looking to further capitalise on the momentum, Aminar stating that “three models in the line-up are simply not sufficient,” Bernama reports.

Despite the lack of details when pushed for more, it’s common knowledge that Perodua has been eyeing the compact sedan genre for quite some time now. It first tested the waters with the introduction of two concepts in the form of the Perodua Bezza back in 2010 and more recently, with the Perodua Buddyz in 2013.

The potential sedan has even been rendered a number of times by Theophilus Chin – the latest being today’s Myvi-based iteration. In a paultan.org exclusive interview, it was revealed that a potential Perodua sedan will not be derived from any Toyota/Daihatsu sedan model, instead being completely designed from the ground-up in Malaysia. The concept’s chief designer, Muhammad Zamuren Musa, had said that “locals know the local needs best” when demonstrating the Buddyz’s immense boot.

How successful would Perodua’s first attempt at a compact sedan be? Do let us know what you think in the comments below.

GALLERY: Perodua Buddyz concept

Learn more: ,

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Puking! on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:19 pm

Hell NOoo…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Unlike u all..I want both p1 n p2 to be succesful not oni in bolehland but in international market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • karam singh on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:57 pm

safety 1st please ….

• sawwi on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:51 am

Perodua Sedan alone will need entire factory to be produced due to high demand 100k units per year. Perodua should buy Proton Shah Alam factory or lease contract it from Proton. Do not waste big factory to produce low volume low sales cars eg.Iriz, Preve, Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Banyak Masuk Workshop on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:00 am

Not everyone is lucky like you. Can get Government help, free education, discount on houses and many more.

• Abu Sayur on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Shud name this car Perodua Terminator as it will terminate proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • finally….. after 23 years…. I hope they design a better car than Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • 1MDB - 1 Malas, Dolop dan Bodoh on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Perodua, be careful. Don’t be like pariah Proton, come out with so many models and most of them flop.

Even with protectionism also, how many failures. Proton Arena, Proton Savvy and Proton Yellow ugly van (forgot the name).

And we Malaysians have to pay the price of Proton failure. Oh yes, I think Proton lies about their sales figures and it is losing more money than it is reported.

We all know, Government can distort figures and quietly give Proton money to sustain itself.

By the way, do you see any Savvy on the road? Your eyes don’t lie! Figures and sales forecast can lie but your eyes will never lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 45
      • Still seeing some savvy on the road, the yellow ugly van (jaguh) is also seen at night market, although rarely seen arena. Not really die-hard fans of proton, but sir, your argument is invalid about the cars survival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
        • Roger Tan on Feb 10, 2015 at 7:32 pm

The box was called the Juara

Aka Mitsubishi Town Box if I remember correctly. Literally a box

• Stupid comment of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Abu Sayur on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Bro this post make alot proton fanatics butthurt la. You shud give them KY Jelly

• fiore on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Finally Proton Saga have direct competitor. Do or die for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
      • If p1 still have no improvement in quality, p2 will beat them even though they have the best handling and new engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • SUV lah! Remember it’s 1/5 sold worldwide.

• Jimmy on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:36 pm

2 + 0 .

• fiore on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Perodua better use Proton factory to assemble the new sedan on contract basis. Make full use of factory full capacity instead of leave it empty idle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Perodua have New Rawang Based Daihatsu International Standard Factory Plant which started to operated since 2014. It also jump started Perodua into International Quality with even lower defect rate.

Why use Proton Factory? it is only a factory full of machinery which reliability is doubtful.

We already seen Germany car – VW is very worrying with the quality – reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • If perodua can add stability control and 6airbags in their future model, it will be good news for us malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • If Proton close shop, it would be celebration for Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 47
      • Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:50 pm

What if… Perodua becomes the new Proton ?

Jeng jeng jeng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
        • sawwi on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:48 am

Yes Perodua Sedan will replace Proton Saga as the new people’s car. Confirm 1 million sales in 10 years or 100k units per year. Perodua better buy Proton Shah Alam factory, existing structure no need to build new one.

• 2liter bottle on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:26 am

The old proton u mean? Back in the days, Proton was in the same situation as the P2 today. Their rebadge saga was overwhelm in bookings. But P1 started to fall in sales when they introduced their own, build from the ground up Waja. It takes them almost 15 years to recoup and with good platform like the Iriz. Next gen Saga and Persona will also be built from the Iriz platform. All i can say is goodluck to P2.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 2:59 pm

You sir, just hit the nail on the head. I’m glad someone caught my drift.

• You really think other people as incompetent as you people? 15 years? Only Proton muka tak malu clinging on tax payers monies for 15 years.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Dream on. If Proton close shop, there will only be Perodua left making affordable cars, and their cars are unrefined death traps in comparison. Do you think the government wants to give up the tax income? It’s used to benefit the people… fix roads (once in a while, before elections), healthcare, buy expensive apartments in New York, … You would still be paying 70-100k for a foreign B segment sedan, just that you don’t have the 40k local alternative. No choice, have to spend a lot. And without competition they can raise the price even further.

And even if they cut the car taxes… the day that happens GST will go to 20%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 7:11 pm

They don’t have the expertise for that. They can’t even fit stability control and 6 airbags for models that have it in overseas markets.

• SamTheHaiLatLou on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Front is Volkswagen GTI
    Back is old 20 years model Ford Laser

very cacat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Super on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:26 pm

The above picture is a concept car. It doesnt mean the same with new model. Like proton Tuah concept car, but later they produce Preve which was totally diff shape n design.

• a car without air-con

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:05 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Hasnol Rahman on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Yahoo, finally a sedan that I can replace my 2004 Wira

• while P1 attacks P2 with their iriz and failed..

will P2 wins P1 with their sedan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • I really wanna see how they market this new sedan car with this sort of design. It should be interesting to see the figures.

• Prediction on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:18 pm

My prediction : An ugly-looking sedan, more kontot than the current Saga. At best it will look like the Swift Dzire.

Features wise it will be slightly better than the current Saga, meaning 2010-era specs. 2-4 airbags, ABS, etc. Most likely the same engine, transmission, and other bell and whistles you come to expect from a Myvi.

First batch will have a lot of issues due to having an unproven design since no Daihatsu/Toyota sedan in the low cost segment. No way will the Toyota Keiretsu allow Perodua to cannibalize the Vios market. The Etios is the most likely candidate, but its only been in the Indian market.. which does not inspire confidence.

In short, nothing exciting for a 2016~2017 car. Don’t expect Perodua to introduce cruise control, paddle shifters, or better mechanicals than what they have now. Crossing my fingers for VSC though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 7:16 pm

2 airbags and ABS isn’t 2010 era… that’s 1996 era.

• Prediction on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Have to offset ++15 years for Malaysia standards. Everything we do is more than 15 years behind. See EURO standards for another example.

• sawwi on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:42 am

Perodua Sedan factory in Shah Alam remarks: “(formerly known as Proton Factory Bhd)”

• I think Perodua is the terminator for Proton

• bukapintubayartol on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:25 pm

I like the idea that Perodua is independently developing this car.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Long way more kua…haven’t seen any news on prototypes on the road here in Bolehland yet.

Proton has stepped up its game…its time for Perodua to respond.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:50 pm

OMG IS THIS FOR REAL !?!?! This is… THE BEST NEWS I’VE EVER HEARD FROM PERODUA. EVER.

So…Perodua… making their own OWN CAR ? Really ? Sure no more tunjuk-ajar from Big Brother Daihatsu and Big Daddy Toyota ? The first true, at least 3/4-majority, Malaysian-designed Perodua ? Powertrain, chassis, body and all ?

Well well, Perodua’s finally listening to our comments. Good. Very good. Even if the upcoming Perodua sedan is not very good (I don’t expect it to be, it’s not an easy task), I have no qualms in pledging my full support for Perodua in their ‘pursuit of independence’.

Until then, Proton will remain the only Malaysian national car in my book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • sawwi on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:45 am

Proton Shah Alam factory better sold off to Perodua UMW group. The new Perodua Sedan easily sells for 1 million units in 10 years or 100k units annually similar to Myvi level.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 6:12 pm

I dont’ really understand why Perodua needs to build a sedan, something which is outside their core competency zone. They never even built a compact car ground up. Three line up model is already sufficient for a small market like Malaysia, unless if they want to aggressively going global. But then, the demise of its UK sales operations and dismal popularity of its manufactured Sirion in Indonesia speak louder than words.

By looking at the recent MD’s lack of commitment on achieving 5 star ANCAP safety, Perodua is only gunning for the domestic market with little innovation (bumper facelift & cosmetic changes only). Perhaps as long as that would keep its shareholders happy (Daihatsu & UMW directors), Malaysians should put off high hopes of seeing this company progressing with the likes of Honda, which made huge improvements lately.

I actually have lost hopes with the future direction our auto industry. Luckily Paultan.org gives us the right platform to share our common sentiment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • sawwi on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:56 am

Proton no need to sell of Shah Alam factory lands for property projects. Better sell it off to Perodua, to produce the new Sedan with confirmed big demand 1 million units in 10 years.

• A better question should be why Proton even want to exist? They do not have the knowledge, skills, attitude and everything to exist as a company.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:56 am

It would not take perodua any more compentency to build a sedan.

It would be naive to think they would be starting from scratch, our lower volume (even regional) does not justify the R&D costs for a new platform…. something only Proton think is justified.

It will be based on whatever Toyota platform that can be handed down, with same existing power and drivetrains. It wont be groundbreaking, nor the best handling, nor the safest, but that is perhaps what malaysians are looking for, a reliable A-B car.

The biggest challenge for Perodua is how to price it. With the B segment myvi topping out at an absurd 60K, would malaysians buy a B or C sedan at 60 (kosong spec) to 80k?

Because at 70, you are bumping in to the price ranges of the B segment japanese.

If it prices it any lower than that, it will eat into Myvi sales.

• brazbuz on Feb 10, 2015 at 7:19 pm

booted version of myvi? since launch of axia and myvi fl, i low down my expectation on p2 car design.

• Unknown on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:04 pm

I doubt Iriz capability to fight Axia in terms of sales but seeing so much Iriz now, Myvi might at least face some challenges at last. Perodua’s sedan might also challenge it’s big brother, Vios.

• middler25 on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:23 pm

i think perodua is not ready yet to design their own car
    weird look, all the last and present model copied from daihatsu and toyota

• sawwi on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:54 am

It is Proton that is not ready to fight Perodua Sedan. aka. Perodua Terminator.

Perodua Terminator – sent to kill Proton.

• 2liter bottle on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:15 am

U didnt watch the movie right? At the end the terminator dies.

• Albert on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Congrats,perodua…..you cant deliver even half the 82,000 units of Axia,but this is a good problem..unlike Protong which find lack of orders for the low end manual 1.3 and premium 1.6 Iriz.
    Its embarrasing,just launched in Oct 2014,the Iriz is stagnating in sales now,with CNY discounts of 5-8k.
    With this Perodua sedan,it slowly adding more salt to wounded Proton who is sure to slip below the 100,000 units mark this year.
    Toyota has overtaken Protong in monthly sales now..much to the delight of Same Loor but to the chagrin of diehard Protong fanboys.
    Come April 1,DRB will announce record losses for Protong..to the tune of Rm400-500 Juta.Proton fanboys…I hope you can sleep well and wake up to the reality,Protong is living on borrowed time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • sawwi on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:58 am

Proton Shah Alam factory better off assemble Perodua Sedan on lease contract. Sure huge demand to fill the idle empty factory.

• Albert on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:37 am

Your excellency Mr.Sawwi,you got very noble intentions but reality is different for the founder.Where to put his face,if he rent out the Shah Alam plant to another manufacturer,especially No.1 competitor Perodua?Protong would rather bite the bullet than dimalu malukan .
        By common sense,they should be operating the Tanjung Malim plant alone.Now ,both plants producing only about 50,000 units each.Where is the economy of scale,Protong?
        Mark my words…in 2 years time if sales continue to slide,Proton will be insolvent,bankrupt and sold off to a “Tony Fernandez type savior ” for RM 1.Perhaps,Tony should try buying over Proton for Rm 1 with the slogan” NOW EVERYONE CAN DRIVE”

• IrizX on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Mampuslah Proton kali ini….the bread and butter car Saga now under threat…even the Persona. The Preve and Suprima are to inconsequential to Proton’s survival..

Iriz…certainly far away to dent any sales in Mawi or Axia.

R.I.P Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • This car looks cheap, 1000cc?

• antiP1 on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:01 am

only msia dont protect their own otomotive market..just for the sake of this 1 type of ppl..u search all around the world, yes only in Msia!

• ah choi on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:31 pm

why every produa look so cheap.. the car price should be cheap but at lest make it look descent ..

• driver on Feb 11, 2015 at 7:41 am

kembara replacement?

• antiP1 on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:00 am

wow so many p1 haterz..come n join me now!! we destroy p1 one and 4 all…dis time p2 or so called japanese DNA-ed car surely will fly highly. stupid mesians got 1 type of ppl obviously hate p1 the most..

• Perodua, you better step up your basic safety equipments such as 6 air-bags, stability control and traction control as standard. We are living in a era of 2014 unlike 10 years ago where 2 air-bags, ABS and EBD are considered a luxury equipments for vehicles. Safety equipments like traction control are not considered luxury but a necessity to be safe on the road, especially countries like Malaysia where we experience wet and slippery road conditions all year round.

• symusty on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Agreed. Perodua may lead in sales, but Proton leads in refinement and safety. Its one of the reasons I dislike Perodua, for their lack of innovation and concentration on the domestic market.

Let’s say Perodua is the sole national car maker, selling cheap cars with little innovation, minimal safety features, terrible driving dynamics and since there’s no competition to fuel progress…..they’ll sell for the biggest profit margin with little options for “cheap” (or overpriced for what you get) prices.

And since foreign cars in similar categories cost more, people would of course have to flock to Perodua’s terrible vehicles. You know what this reminds me of? Proton in the late 90s-early 00s. Remember the Waja, Proton’s first in house design? Terrible car built for the masses. At least it got 3 stars in Euro NCAP, which by Malaysian standards at the time were very impressive. But that was UK spec…..

Malaysians need to be accustomed with the idea that safety in their cars are important, and Perodua isn’t helping. Proton is at least trying. Keep up, Perodua, because its time you stop caring only about profits and think of the customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Refinement? haha … If your junks got ‘refinement’ the HOLE company won’t be at this stage.

• Kangkung on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Should ask Theophilus Chin to design…

• apavodo on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:28 am

p1 or p2..both sux at designing car…

• Hasnol Rahman on Mar 28, 2015 at 9:12 am

Very quiet now on this sedan
    Paul Tan, etc … please merisik again :-)