GALLERY: Proton R3 Suprima S, Preve, Iriz Malaysian Touring Car machines on display at Proton CoE

proton-r3-malaysian-touring-car-alami-proton-2015-07

Need another reason to swing by the Alami Proton carnival this weekend? Well, we’ve got three very good ones – aside from the fact that you’ll be getting a glimpse of the Proton Pick-up Concept, that is. Anyway, back to the topic at hand. For the 2015 round of its open day exhibition, local car manufacturer Proton has decided to parade three of its Malaysian Touring Car race machines.

We begin with the Proton R3 Suprima S and its Preve sibling. The race-ready Suprima S is equipped with a naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre Campro IAFM four-cylinder engine that puts out a total of 155 hp at 7,500 rpm and 185 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Said mill gets paired to a close-ratio five-speed dog box transmission.

Other changes include the adoption of a unique lightweight body shell and a six-point roll cage. Also, the fuel tank has been repositioned to the boot for purposes of improved weight distribution while the driver’s seat has been moved closer to the centre of the car for better visibility.

proton-r3-malaysian-touring-car-alami-proton-2015-14

The Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car, on the other hand, employs a reworked 1.6 litre Campro CFE engine sans the turbocharger. Total power output is rated at around 190 hp while the mill itself is mated to a five-speed dog box transmission.

Additional modifications to the cabin include a competition-ready, spartan interior, a six-point roll cage, Sparco steering wheel, Tonnka pedal box and Recaro Pole Position race bucket seats. Also, the Iriz R3 is equipped with Alcon racing brake callipers and Ohlins adjustable coilovers. All those modifications were certainly worth the cost and time as the racer won on its debut at Round 4 of the Malaysia Championship Series (MCS).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Albert on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Today’s Star news advert by Honda Malaysia….
    5 to 8 months free instalment,borne by Honda depending on model,plus cash gift somemore.
    Protong,the verdict is out: Bolehland unofficially in recession now.Of course the professor’s daughter is saying our economy still boleh pakai.
    If you want to wait for official announcement on our horrible economy,you will want to be syiok syiok and buy Protong or Honda.
    Not harmful to buy new cars,but dont let the reposseser tarik your car if your company or business fails. Take a walk around and see for yourself the vacant units in shops/shopping centres.
    Prudent decisions are needed now.
    Protong can keep coming out with the same old tricks.It is already STALE.You cant conquer Everest with the same campro engine with Punch CVT gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 24
    • If you want
      A segment, go for Kia Picanto
      B segment, Iriz
      C segment local, Preve/Suprima
      C segment non-local, City/Sylphy/Cerato
      D segment local, new Perdana
      D segment non-local, Accord/Teana/Sonata
      Small MPV, go for Freed
      Medium MPV, go for Exora
      Large MPV, go for Serena/Elgrand
      Crossover, go for ASX/XV
      Small SUV, go for HRV
      Medium SUV, go for CRV
      Sports car, go for new MX-5

Whoops! Sorry. No place for your piss poor UMW toyotas/Perodua. All are moving coffins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 40
      • Protoon on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Yes, the whole Malaysian has to listen to john and only buy Proton and the cars he said

• bengong on Oct 03, 2015 at 1:23 pm

People like john is bengong that still believes in ketuanan. Jangan persoal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • If you wanna walk out of an accident alive/not crippled, you’d better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • James on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:30 am

Merc and Volvo not in your list so not safe ah? You think you represent Malaysia? What you did is you just represent the lowest class of animal intelligence and a higest level of stupidity for your kind

• Albert on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:24 pm

John, nothing personal here.I know you are an ardent diehard Proton fanboy.
        But do you know the horrible shit and mess DRB has inherited?
        You will be considered lucky if you escape the coming RETRENCHMENT EXERCISE.No VSS or MSS. The mamak will wield the dreaded axe and chop.
        You cant be losing 2 billions of Rm, 3 yeARS IN A ROW, and do nothing.
        MAS already chopped 6,000 jobs.
        Next will be Protong….no way out.

The Middle East Santa only made 1 donation.No more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Nothing personal taken, nothing personal given. I am not just an ardent fan of Proton but an ardent fan of Barang Buatan Malaysia. I support ALL our local industries to come out with ownself local products.

It might be shitty at first and might still be shitty as it goes along. But as long as there’s continous constructive criticism (not bashing w/o ideas/suggestions) and they take them and improve I will continue to give my full support and will spend money on them.

Take your hated Proton for example. The jokes were underpower, milotin body, p/window spoil, no safety. But then they tackled it one by one, giving Campro (one of the highest pwr output in its class), HPF materials, improving the p/window design & intro lifetime warranty, safety features is now market leader with 5star ANCAP.

Now the next step is to improve on fuel efficiency and design, these are not so easy and requires a lot of money. Hopefully they take heed too. So not so bad, is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
          • Yahya on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:11 am

Macai now starts using mat saleh name.

John = Yahya

James = Jamal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • @Yahya
            Well I prefer john rather than my official name Johannus Cristos, Redeemer of Lost Macais and Zombie Bashers.

Much shorter dont you think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Jamal on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:33 am

I think you are more stupid than your name sounds

• Thank you Mugabejib on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:50 am

Economy is doing so bad. Ringgit is falling so bad. Why? Very simple. You don’t need to be an economics professor.

Mat Salleh is pulling out money big time from Malaysia. It is collapsing the stock market and the Ringgit because Mat Salleh believe we are the same regime as Mugabe’s regime, with no accountability and corruption.

They are also shocked that Mugajib’s party which runs Malaysia also tolerates his corruption, showing that, his whole party condones and approves such behaviour, indicating that it is a way of life for the party to be corrupted.

It is wise not to buy a house or a car at this time. Both are the biggest investments to any Malaysians.

Don’t be stupid like the Red Shirts, so stupid and condone corruption

• Close Down Proton Please on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:04 pm

It is solely because of Proton and Tun M that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Totally agree, but i hope Perodua can close shop 1st then subsequent follow by Proton. Only allow continental car assembly here then everybody affordable buy continental car.

• Proton should close first for making a loss. Don’t you think?

• NAH! Moving coffin should close their lid first! Proton will be the final nail on it.

• under taker on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:40 am

Proton is the coffin, john will be moving in it

• Chris Ong on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:33 pm

I can only remember R3 Super Negative Camber overtake …

• Jobless on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Pls spend more and hire better graphic designers lah for yur ads..today only noticed the Alami ad after 3rd time reading The Sun the ad look like those K4 or Kring cheap sel lelong ads omg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • donno on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:54 pm

What proton needs is a real pickup truck to rival the hilux and Co.

Just get a Chinese chassis and do up a proton styling around it, like the new perdana.

• Sammi Cheng on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:07 pm

these touring cars look so cute, esp. when matched with their small cutey wheels……Cutey cars they are indeed!

• Nurhaliza on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Proton cars = Rubbish cars. Everybody knows that and everybody agrees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
  • Aero (Member) on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:19 pm

All of these R3 Protons are impressive. It’s not just for show, Proton and R3 do learn a lot from racing, and whatever they learn will trickle down into the ‘pedestrian’ Proton models.

Otherwise, there’s no way Proton could have tuned the Iriz to handle so well, while maintaining admirable ride comfort. Apparently, Lotus did not actually help Proton with the Iriz’s handling, Proton did it all by themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Geli siot tengkok proton n perodua… Heeee… Geli!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • MentalKar on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Siapa yg ada duit beli kreta yg dia mampu, klu tak mampu jgn beli. Klu mampu beli kreta yg agak mahal jgn pulak hina atau kutuk kreta org. Behave kita mesti sedar kita lahir di dunia ini belum tiba3 jadi kaya.

• Cloudz on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Hi guys, just chiming in from Australia.

It seems Proton cops a lot of flack from the locals in Malaysia, actually I am a bit surprised. But after doing a bit more research I understand why you feel that way.

Anyway, I just signed up to buy a new Preve GX. I think its a great car for the price after owning 3 Protons here in Perth previously. It might help the international image of these cars if Proton marketed in such a way to appeal to international audiences, such as Australians. For example, I came across a comparison just now published by a fairly influential Australian motoring magazine ‘Wheels’ that were doing a comparison. Unfortunately Proton didnt seem to want to donate a Preve for the test. I think it would have done well against the competion.

“And of the other B-segment sedans, Proton ignored our request for a Prevé, Kia’s expensive Rio sedan ($21,690) is special order only, and Toyota’s ancient Yaris sedan pre-dates the iPhone.”

http://www.wheelsmag.com.au/reviews/car-comparisons/1509/holden-barina-cd-v-honda-city-vti-v-hyundai-accent-active-v-mitsubishi-mirage-es-comparison-review/

This is just an example, but proton should get more involved in these type of international excercises so that the merits of their cars can be discovered against the competition.

• Sellesp on Oct 03, 2015 at 9:05 am

I agree. More promotion needed.

• G’day mate! Here in hazy Malaysia, we are programmed to think that if we buy Made in Malaysia = support Gov. So to unlike the Gov, we are brainwashed to buy import, whether they are on par or worse.

Furthermore, we are programmed to think that whatever made in Malaysia is shit (except for our own work, that is world class jangan persoal). As long as you are Mat Salleh, we will chuck our 50 years of independence and revert back to worshipping you colonial masterrace.

So please do come with your Holdens & Aussie Fords. Oh wait, you dun have that anymore….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Yahya on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:13 am

Proton Australia selling only 50-60 cars per month.

• Cloudz on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Hi guys, just chiming in from Australia.