2016 Proton Persona rendered by PDC 2014 winner

Proton Persona render

Hot on the heels of the renders of the 2016 Proton Saga that we brought you this morning come these of its larger sibling, the 2016 Proton Persona, this time courtesy of none other than Proton Design Competition (PDC) 2014 winner Pow Ying Hern.

Now, you may remember that fellow rendering wizard Theophilus Chin has also put out his vision of what the Iriz-based B-segment sedan will look like, so it’s interesting to compare the different styles the two artists have taken.

Proton Persona render 2

While the front of both are fairly similar, Pow’s design has a wider chrome bar at the front that stretches across the entire width of the car. The grille here is also thicker than on Theo’s effort, while Pow has added some style with twin-projector headlights, items which will probably not feature on the real thing.

Down below, Pow stuck with the same large trapezoidal lower grille as on the Iriz, but added more intricate fog light surrounds, as well as a four-piece fog light design reminiscent of that on the facelifted previous-gen Kia Optima.

Theophilus Chin’s render of the 2016 Proton Persona

Along the side, both designs feature a C-pillar kink in the glasshouse, differing from the Iriz’s sloping window line. But it’s the rear where the most differences can be seen – although Theo’s design has broader, slimmer two-piece tail lights, Pow’s one-piece items are larger, with a chrome outline and a light guide arrangement reminiscent of the Volkswagen Polo‘s. The bumpers are similar on both designs.

The real Persona will be unveiled some time after the upcoming Perdana, but ahead of the new Saga. The Iriz’s range of 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre VVT engines are expected to be offered on the Persona at launch, but the car could gain Proton’s new 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre direct-injected (GDI/TGDI) engines after production of the new mills begin by the end of 2017.

SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Persona

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 27, 2016 at 6:49 pm

It is a Proton, Bring on a big reliable car for RM45K. People care not how it looks or what technology it has. Just use the old Waja platform give it a new skin and be done. Toyota VIOS can use same platform for 3 generations why not proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Becoz pipu like me will bash P1 if they still use Triassic engine, Jurassic gearbox, and Cretaceous chassis. Thats why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • Btw, I am proud my Proton is doing so well. Tahniah Proton. Tahniah BN dan UMNO. Sekarang sudah terbukti, Najib adalah jujur dan amanah, saya sayang kerajaan lebih!

Thank you UMNO for giving us a great car like Proton! Syukurlah Malaysia aman dan damai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 36
        • Syukur ada RBA tau pun syukur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • Syukur Malas on Jan 27, 2016 at 7:41 pm

syukur lah saya malas pun tapi boleh dapat biasiswa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • savefuel on Jan 27, 2016 at 7:49 pm

1.0l turbo engine in saga will make it much more frugal than Vios 1.5l, not to mention much more powerful, nuff said.

• Balik Tidur Bang on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:03 am

abang john, pergi balik tidur lah

• Albert on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Let me ask you a question,if design competitions can do the job….protong would have beaten perodua for the past 10 years,but why is protong sales only 50percent of perodua’s?
      Have u heard Honda ,Toyota,Nissan organising design competitions aggressively?
      Get it straight,2016 is going to get worst.By Christmas….Protong…u will be lucky to hit 70,000 units.
      People can be fooled once,nut not the second time.
      The buying frenzy has died.people are downsizing and getting used cars instead.
      Mighty Petronas is on the verge of chopping staff.What makes u think Protong is so special,that it can afford not to chop thousands of dead wood?

• Khairul on Jan 28, 2016 at 4:00 pm

you silap bro,
      Toyota anything can,
      Bile proton buat mcm tu, semua akan bash, ape RND buat ramai2, copy and change the skin only? no upgrade?

p/s : Why not using waja platform?
      the reason is, requirement for safety and crash test. Waja platform can’t comply with latest regulation requirement especially to achieve 5STAR NCAP is imposible if still use Waja platform.

No wonder why VIOS not achieved 5STAR but Malaysian still love that model..

• Leafable on Jan 27, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Why copy new Kia Sportage spotlight?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • MitchelJohn on Jan 27, 2016 at 8:55 pm

It’s an unofficial rendering

• Wiwiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Not bad, the front looks like Honda BR-V, the rear looks like the previous Honda City.
      I am not saying it is bad, it looks premium, which is good.
      Proton, how about stretching the Iriz platform to accommodate seven seats?
      The B segment MPV Avanza, Alza, Grand Livina, Ertiga, BR-V needs some competition.

• LoboConq on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:50 am

If im not mistaken, i heard proton will rebadge suzuki ertiga instead of A segment car around the end of this year.

• Chyan on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:05 am

You guys should learn to read the article before commenting, seriously. Then reflect on what you guys have commented here. Save y’all the trouble of backlash comments eh?

• I see current Civic front grill. Rear ia nice though.

• mim79 on Jan 27, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Nice looking car..miles better than current gen persona..reliability is what proton should aim for

• P. Basheer on Jan 27, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Bring back the crop circle tail lights

• Geli Siot on Jan 27, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Geli siot…. Tengkok proton ni… Cepat la gi mampos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
  • choha on Jan 27, 2016 at 8:22 pm

they should really hire this guy to design their cars

• Smarter CEO on Jan 27, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Why on earth the new Persona to be derived from Small Iris platform is beyond me…tis should be the new Saga not Persona

• Azhar on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Good design. At least decent gearbox. What irk me, car with ancient engine, dinasour era gear box, share with vios, avanza, myvi, still like hot cakes. safety low level 2 airbag. Its really upsetting

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Cited from a blog site:
    “Dikatakan illustrasi digital tersebut dibuat berpandukan kepada beberapa foto dan maklumat telah diperolehi. Rekaan ini juga boleh dikatakan hampir tepat dengan model yang sebenar.”

If this impression is indeed close to the production Persona-R, then hats off to their R&D team!! Wish the wheelbase is lengthened and also given softer plush absorbers setting for rear passenger comfort.

• The design is great, but i dont like its proportion at all. It makes the rear tyre seems too small compared to the whole car size.

• looks like mazda 2 sedan.

• Simon on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:42 am

the third brake light under the bumper is impractical, it can’t be seen while in a bumper to bumper situation especially in traffic jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • kenot on Jan 28, 2016 at 7:44 am

that is not third brake light lah. it is rear fog light.

• Wizard Prince on Jan 28, 2016 at 8:33 am

Sir Simon, that is the rear fog lamps, not the third brake light

• simon bodoh on Jan 28, 2016 at 8:51 am

it’s a rear fog lamp you dumb wit

• Simon on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Hey! If its a fog light, where is the third brake light? I don’t see any? even on Theophilus rendering. Moreover, do Malaysian cars have rear rear fog lights?

• superman on Jan 28, 2016 at 9:13 am

what is this supposed to be?? even in rendering they copy? this is exact copy of KIA K5… is this something a winner of PDC!!!!! can show? typical.

• superman on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:35 am

let me guess, people who voted negative are the actual winner of the PDC and his boss in DRB…

• nandakumar on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:48 am

Rendering all very nice but when actual model comes out will sure look horrible.
    That PROTON!!!!!

• So sad of those people commenting (bad or good, who care), indeed the rendering design of our local people, are copy from other car manufacturer. If they can come out with their very own idea, they are not belong here (Malaysia) anymore…

The rendering concept are pretty clear coming from infamous K5 from KIA for front, and Volkswagen for rear. For those said it look like mazda , honda or other manufacture brand are pretty clear they down have eye.