2016 Proton Perdana revealed in full on Instagram

Proton Perdana Instagram

The 2016 Proton Perdana is all set to break cover tomorrow, and you can catch a livestream of the launch event right here at paultan.org. Ahead of its launch however, Proton’s official Instagram account has revealed the model in full, albeit in collage form.

Visitors to the national carmaker’s Instagram page will be able to see a full three quarter view of the car. Of course, the D-segment sedan has already been sighted on numerous occasions previously – from camouflaged prototypes to its arrival at a dealership in Malaysia.

As you can clearly see, the Perdana gets a significantly remodelled body so as to differentiate itself from the eighth-generation Honda Accord on which it is based on. There are also a number of revisions made to the cabin as well, including new colour schemes and an updated infotainment system.

Under the hood, the Perdana will retain the Accord’s two engine options – 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 178 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre DOHC i-VTEC engines. Both mills will be mated to a five-speed automatic transmission with paddle shifters.

Excited yet? Well, as mentioned earlier, you can catch our livestream of the event right here on paultan.org. All you need is access to the internet and YouTube, and you’re good to go. We’ll also be providing a comprehensive launch report – complete with all the details and a full live gallery of the new Perdana.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wiwiwiwiw on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:09 pm

What is this all hype is all about?
    An old 2007 Honda Accord draped with bright red colour with a different grille design and a rear sloping roof.
    Big deal, we know that people wouldn’t spend more than RM40,000 for a Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 46
    • George Abdul on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Proton just use same tactic as “soft loans excuses” and R&D for more free money… AP Cronies don’t care about Proton they care only the monthly salaries and bonus!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • Who is going to wake up early for this launching? Or watch it during office hour? U can get tons of photos on internet.
        Like=U will watch
        Dislike= U wont

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
        • That is their purpose ma. Standby excuses when viewing number is low.

• Don’t question Proton’s tactic in getting money from the G, just as my loyalty to BN and Najib. AP Cronies tak boleh dipersoalkan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • rogaz on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:46 am

What business you have George and let Proton do the business, This is better than Haval.

• Tgrambutan on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Whenever it is p1 bashers start losing mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
      • Randall on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:25 pm

It is loan not free money.
        This is platform sharing of course some parts are from donor car. You cannot afford more than 40k go for used honda. If badge what you worship most

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • TgMalim -> TgRambutan on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Whenever it is p1, supporters start to butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Wow nice i likeeee…it looks very modern…syabas proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:22 am

Empty talk no use. Wanna support Proton in action? Go BUY the car!!!!

• Andrew Yu Young Earn on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:48 pm

proton iriz is not a bad car for b segment hatchback.It defeat perodua myvi in terms of everything except fc.Bro if you think that perdana is expensive, then go and get iriz mt. it is simple as that. it is also better than vios in terms of everything. it is not a milo tin car anymore. it is a 5 star rating in terms of the rating of safety. Give up on proton perdana v6 or wira and get proton iriz mt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Have you check the number of complaint about iriz before posting your crappy view here?

• The hype is all about the geniuses at Proton building kereta Potong Perdana using obsolete body that Accord users enjoyed years ago! I bet those low achievers are queuing to get conned by Proton.

• rogaz on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:45 am

This is like MyVi, people crazy about it because all the sale use big DEWA (Ginee) to sell the car.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Confirmed by management launch this week! Top spec below RM139k order from me extra discount RM500.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • HaIrI on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:12 pm

It’s been less excited now compared to the Perodua sedan leak news. Proton need to learn from Apple on how to make people excited with their product launching.

• This, over honda civic … good luck.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 18
    • Correction, this over a much newer Honda Accord, proton has no chance lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
      • Same L00r on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Just enlarged version of FLX. Buy used Accord better. At least you don’t need to worry break down here and there.
        Don’t play play with Proton QC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
        • Latuk BN supporters on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Proton top sales again and AP system owners will be proud of the profit that management set!

• Donor on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Used accord might dun have warranty

• The rock on Jun 13, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Honda quality not far from proton nowadays.

• Latuk BN supporters on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:57 pm

More discount on Proton tanjung mlm, Rm1000 off on all spec!

• We want Honda Accord turbo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • hailthepurist on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:15 pm

wait for john..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:07 pm

This car will sell like hotcakes…thats for sure

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:33 pm

What’s there to be so excited about? It’s basically a cheaper obsolete Honda Accord with a cosmetic job. Heck even the engine came from Honda. Too bad people can’t just remove the Proton emblem and stick the H badge on it to feel like they own a Japanese sedan like what they did with the Inspira Lancer wannabes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 9
    • Sack designer on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Every1canTalk on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:23 pm

at least there feel siok sendiri!!! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Loler on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Mazda.biante chassis is derived from older ford. Please feel free to say it is outdated. Jepunis emblem is rubbish, no lotus handling, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • 316isaga on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:33 pm

I saw modified front saga to F30 wannabe is more syiok sendiri owner

• they are still a national carmaker? many people out there would think otherwise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • What’s impressed me from visuals so far are the aesthetics, and the proportions. This car looks massive, and this blog reports it as longer than the Accord it is based on. I hope that translates to rear space comforts.
    I am aware of course aesthetically, the Iriz was also pleasing. Until the engine gave it some negatives.
    Still, this is a Honda mill, so perhaps PROTON has a winner here. For sure, the government acquisitions will ensure some sales. Whether it will become a true sales king for the carmaker, remains to be seen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • Ex VGM staff on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:11 pm

The cabin remains the same as with the 8th gen accord. The extra length comes in with longer bumpers.

Nah Malaysians kena tipu again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • guest on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:24 pm

In case you haven’t noticed, the extra length came from the front and back overhang. The wheelbase is exactly the same as the old accord.

Such a shame that the flagship is just a rebadged OLD CAR. Waiting for proton defenders to come in and say “it’s not worth spending the money to design a brand new D-segment because its a niche market”

A flagship is supposed to be a showcase of what an automotive manufacturer is best capable of. Rather unfortunately, this just showcases proton’s best ability is just recasting bumpers and badges. Ouch!

And to make it worst, they keep building up the hype like it’s something worth waiting.

• org yg bijak on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:42 pm

lol tak ada org komen?

nampak sangat org pun dah tak kesah dgn kereta ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • Piupiupiu on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Wow! Surprise surprise!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Rompin on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Proton, please price it right !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • OMG !! They turn a decent looking 8th gen Accord into a giant dumb-looking Saga on steroid !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
  • waters on Jun 13, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Eh? Belum release lagi? Yawn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:01 pm

I don’t understand..the Persona is already 15 year old design. Why make a bigger version of Persona again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • lilytan on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Should not be priced more than RM100k if want to have any chance of a decent sales. Anything less than 6 airbags is unacceptable for this category.

• Zzźzzzzzz….

• Fred Durst on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Its basically using previous gen honda accord body. If one compare with previos accord, the character line along the side area is same as previous accord, its basicaly the same body. P1 change only hood, bumper, fender, and trunk lid, everything else is sama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • won wan on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Hope the bi xenon will be made standard. If the price is good, why not. Space, comfort are quite premium nowadays.

• God save proton on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:50 pm

For a moment I thought it’s proton saga

• ZacZane on Jun 13, 2016 at 5:55 pm

It all boils down to pricing. If Proton bigwigs price it wrongly (i.e. too high), no amount of Honda DNA can help it.

• those rims are ugly no joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • jolly_idiot on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:22 pm

DOA = Dead On Arrival
    1st. It’s an outdated engine
    2nd. It’s been outdated on design
    3rd. It’s launched by an outdated company
    4rd. It’s overly expired on it’s launch
    5th. It’s really a strategic move to go head to head with All New Civic with All New Engine & Design.

Good Luck Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Viosfan on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Vios oso outdated but been good seller

• Sagafan on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:02 am

Saga more outdated but best seller of Proton

• jolly_idiot on Jun 14, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Then will you buy the new obsolete perdana? Tok so much…

Confirm I will not buy.

Btw. I’m driving a proton tat launched by DSZ with jepunis engine

• Absolute Rider on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Some post saying the price might up to RM144K. Let don’t talk about the segment of the car, I will say people go for Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo Premium or equivalent price range of car models.

• applegreen on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Harap tiada masalah kualiti lagi. Emblem Perdana di belakang tu pastikan di gam kuat, jangan esok sedar-sedar daripada perdana jadi PERDAN saja. Macam my Saga, now becomes SAG !

• Bernard on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:29 pm

I think it would be a best seller if priced from RM50-70k.

Hope the price is around that region. Keeping my fingers crossed:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Dranreb on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Not possible to be RM50-70k

Persona = RM40k – 50k
      Preve = RM 50k – 70k
      Inspira = RM70k- 90k

I am estimating RM 90k and above.

• Bernard on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:17 am

Yes they are all overpriced. Need to reduce by 50% at least.

• Stupid Rakyat on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Rakyat pay 2.5B for this junk, proton must thankful to rakyat

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 13, 2016 at 6:46 pm

All I can say is good luck to Proton.

It doesn’t matter it’s an obsolete Honda drive train under the skin; as long as Proton get the basic things right such as no squeaky dashboard, misaligned panels and ultimate lousy cheapo plastics all over. Price it right, sensible people who value decent quality and reasonable price will still buy it.

Now it all boils down whether Proton could make a car with decent quality that is free from tons of nasty QC issues like it’s predecessors. The Preve and Suprima promised so many but delivered so little. The Iriz is good, but not enough. Hopefully, this Proton-made-Accord will show whether Proton has repented in shielding and protecting its crony vendors for far too long.

• This is only for high ranking government officer.
    If you see one on the road,99% the driver is at least a jusa c officer.
    No sane people will spend 100 over k for this car.
    So this car will carry the impression of government officer car.
    Also you wont find it on second hand car dealer coz gov will spend 100k for maintenance every year.
    And this car can easily cross 3 to 4 generation of accord.
    So for those just got intake as a gov servant,you will get this car when you finally promoted after 20 years.

• Buyp1save$ on Jun 13, 2016 at 8:07 pm

I thought you wanna say : please buy civic now, it will be sweet memories when you are old

Lol

• U are late for the party. Civic is selling like a hot cake now.

Good luck.

• kamal on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:01 pm

look like Saga, but in different size…

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:16 pm

There are two important factors here.

1. Is it priced competitively with the new Civic

2. What’s the build quality like

If Proton can get positive answers on both of those, they have a chance.

I’d love to see Proton succeed but after my experience with a Waja, I’d be reluctant to buy another one. It’s up to Proton to give me a reason.

• Positive Malaysian on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Good luck Proton. This is going to be a great product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • gundamrx78 on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:34 pm

looks like a Honda with botox job….gone wrong….

• cendol (Member) on Jun 13, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Very easy to get high sales

Force all Government agency to use this car, by force

• Not all gomen use accord, you dun see SUV and cars from other brands?

• Pokmu on Jun 13, 2016 at 9:55 pm

What’s wrong force buy? Would be good if gov agencies buy this.As we all know gov staffs will abuse this car vigorously on road,it will show this new perdana is reliable.

• The point is less than 2000 followers

• JB_KIA on Jun 13, 2016 at 9:01 pm

betta buy a used 2013 real accord K24 for 98k…

• Still think Proton should have focused on quality and performance improvements on the Persona, Preve,Saga and Iriz and its aftersales service. Makes more sense with the lengthy financial and image problems it has. If this is over 100k, it won’t see it saving its sales performance. It’s like someone having problem walking but decides to go sprinting. Anyway we’ll see what’ll happen won’t we now?

• Ali Ibrahim on Jun 13, 2016 at 9:50 pm

No other citizen hates their national product like we do…since none inflate the car price to create a burden to the rakyat and cronies and AP holder benefit most from the ecosystem…NAP..for handicap, and those wanted to be given instead of earning it create this deep abyss…good luck everyone, the retarded mind only can think of increase tol, gst to benefit own self

• hahah on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:00 pm

sack the stupid chief designer!
    been telling this for a long time …

• Andrew Yu Young Earn on Jun 13, 2016 at 10:50 pm

look at you why dont you buy proton iriz mt? it is better than perodua myvi in terms of everything except fc.Bro if you think that perdana is expensive, then go and get iriz mt. it is simple as that. it is also better than vios in terms of everything. it is not a milo tin car anymore

• ucantcme on Jun 13, 2016 at 11:08 pm

frankly speaking, nothing impresses me.

• *yawn* .. Launch date also tak ong

• Proton forever sui.
    Launched Savvy let Myvi Pijak.
    Launched Iriz let Axia Pijak.
    Now Launch Perdana let Civic turbo pijak.
    Memang doomed from day 1!

• P2 Sedan Coming soon..... on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:48 am

Later, Coming P2 sedan…. Kill all…. Proton 3 sedans……

• WhySoMahal? on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:14 am

First and foremost,

The exterior is stunning.. the loveliest proton to date.

BUT..

Pricing is too much for a local car.. its almost the same as heavily taxed Japan models..

Lastly..

How Many of you VVIPs attending the launching is a proton owner?