Proton looking for deeper collaboration with another strategic partner; request for proposals coming soon

2016 Proton Perdana press con 4

At a press conference following the launch of the new Proton Perdana, Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali revealed that Proton will be looking to formally identify a strategic partner for a deeper collaboration in the near future.

Currently, the national carmaker is involved with Japanese carmaker Suzuki, where it has plans to introduce a new collaborative model in October this year. The new Perdana is also the result of a partnership between Proton and Honda.

“In relation to a strategic partner, there are a few school of thoughts here. The one that we’ve been working with, Honda is considered a strategic partner as well with us. We’re also working with Suzuki as you know already, we’re working on a model to be launched perhaps October this year. That is through our collaboration with Suzuki,” said Fuaad.

However, Proton will be looking for a deeper collaboration with another strategic partner. “In terms of a deeper collaboration, we will be undertaking an exercise to formally identify a strategic partner under the supervision or purview of the task force. As mentioned by Datuk Seri Najib earlier, one of the key priorities for the task force is to identify a foreign strategic partner for Proton,” he continued.

Proton_Perdana_24_Red_Ext_35

The Malaysian government recently approved Proton’s application for a soft loan of RM1.5 billion, where RM1.25 billion of said amount has already been awarded via the issue of redeemable convertible cumulative preference shares (RCCPS).

The loan does come with a few conditions, including the creation of a task force to oversee the national carmaker’s turnaround plan. The task force is led by Performance Management and Delivery Unit (Pemandu) CEO Datuk Seri Idris Jala. Proton has already been awarded

As for the timeline Proton has placed on itself to identify a strategic partner, Fuaad said the company has given itself a year to do so, beginning from the date of the turnaround plan. He added that Proton will soon issue a request for OEMs to submit their proposals for a collaboration.

“We just want to find out if there’s any other strategic partner who is interested. Since the news about the formation of the task force, a few OEMs have come and met up with our authorities to express their interest in Proton.

cougs-proton-suzuki-ertiga-3

“So, we just want to make sure that the process is being done on a transparent basis. So, we are inviting all those potential OEMs who may have interest in Proton to participate in such and such, just to make sure we eliminate those who are not interested, and those who are really interested, we can pursue negotiation or discussion,” he continued.

When asked if such a move will involve equity, Fuaad said the company would not rule out anything because a strategic collaboration can come in any form. “In the lowest form, it will be the sharing of models, but in the higher form, it will be a strategic alliance, maybe with some equity stake. And at the highest level, they may want to have control,” he explained, adding that it depends what they (the OEMs) can bring to the table for Proton in the future.

Fuaad also stated that Proton’s parent company DRB-Hicom will be happy with whatever partnership that best fits the national carmaker, so long as it fits in three key tracks – strategic, operational and cultural. Which company do you think will be a valuable partner for Proton to get into a deeper strategic partnership with? Let us know your thoughts on the matter in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Pauline on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:11 pm

close down the entire company and put the money into good use. habis cerita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 18
    • hailthepurist on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:14 pm

forget outsiders, just merger with p2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • Tango C on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:05 pm

P2 owned by the Japanese and not DRB….. Can’t merge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Looking for water fish tai lan ngong…

• Proton king of rebadge on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Dah mau bankrap lagi mau pilih2. Hahahhaha. Bungkus la proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:59 am

Actually in 2007, if VW had merged with Proton, Proton will be making millions. But unfortunately, cabinet shot down the decision. VW on the other hand wanted to merge with Proton badly.

Here, we must analyse why cabinet shot down the decision. Our brilliant cabinet shot down the decision because the Germans did not agree to the 30% free shares tongkat policy ruling. The Germans were shocked. They have never heard of this tongkat policy. But our Ministers said that in Malaysia, whatever company you set up, you must give 30% shares FREE.

Mat Salleh said cannot lah like this. Then cabinet shot down the deal. Imagine if Proton was to rebadge VW cars, Proton will be worth billions today!

Hidup tongkat policy!

Imagine if Proton sold rebadged German cars, nobody will even bother buying any Japanese cars in Malaysia. Of course not the DSG units but the normal Auto Polos.

Everybody will buy this rebadged Polos cause we know we will be getting a full German car. this is the same principle why Perodua is doing well. People know they are getting a full Toyota Passo when they buy a Myvi.

bodoh Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Yeah right. If P1 had went for VW, u bashers will die-die pin dieselgate to P1 even thou then dun use any diesel engines.

I see what u did there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:28 am

Why can’t Proton find funding from Syed Mokhtar?

Syed Mokhtar is worth over RM20 billion. He owns DRB and now Proton. Ask him to bail out Proton.

Why ask the rakyat to pay rM1.5 billion? Use your own money lah

• down jones on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:23 am

well said… their plan, more on concrete reason to national treasury of releasing the big money only …………..

• LOL…. i cannot drop the image of putting the Proton name over the Honda name over the engine as “Deeper Collaboration” LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Same L00 on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Anything have Proton relation will drop its value. In general, no one likes junk.

• Sam proton on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:45 am

You also bought your son saga in year 2014 Sept from cheras eon branch?

• sepul on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Proton should look into collaboration more as a merge of two companies, much like the PSA Groupe and Renault Nissan Alliance.

Honestly Proton should continue to deepen the link with Suzuki, they already have strong engineering and basis for future Proton models. Especially concerning SUV and crossovers, where the market trend is leaning towards.

Or if anything, get the Tata Group to buy half the stakes, for financial injection of RnD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Ootai on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Better still to sell log stock & barrel to Tata or Donfeng. Wasting taxpayers’ money for donkey years. The current top guns cant solve proton woes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Proton king of rebadge on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:04 am

Proton mgr think they know everything already. Y need partner. Dsr bodo sombong. Sleeping partner ramai. Jp dgn suzuki la, later with honda la, next who wanna get screwed by proton?

• In another words, they r looking for a foreign partner to come and manage P1.

Najib’s liberalisation vs Tun M’s nationalisation.

Siapa akan menang?

• Tong Sampah on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:54 am

you really think will be liberal? LOL..
      ALL political bs for years still believe?

• J Chong on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Just imagine dressing up but not onto your own body. That’s feel a little weird.
    With so many negative comment here, just wait till you drive one out into the streets.

• Dongton on Jun 14, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Dongfeng from China is good partner for Proton. Can sell 1 million cars there.

• Request for Proposal? Have you ever heard beggars asking for proposal from donors?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • RFP was asked for the penang tunnel project…and look what happened there…habis la rakyat penang..

• quiet on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:32 am

just keep ur comments to yourself. not that proton is asking from u anything,.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:20 pm

The 3rd criteria on maintaining culture will drive everyone who is deeply interested away…only those who wants to make use of proton for local market penetration will want to work with this company. It will be a one way affair without much headway for proton to export their products to other markets.

• Matchy on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:25 pm

How many “strategic partners” that they need?!?! Strategic partner should be a long term thing, not just to re-batch 1 model.

• pomen on Jun 14, 2016 at 6:55 pm

end up rebadge another car brand..rm1.5billion go to cronies pocket…

• I think DAP led government will do even worst, judging by how they are managing the tunnel project…

• Proton king of rebadge on Jun 15, 2016 at 12:09 am

Now proton strategies is rebadge. From inspilancer to Accordana later suzi ertigah. All japs. Better try conti plak. Never try one night stand with conti. Maybe the service is better.

• I dont get it.

Every car manufacturer has a parts bin where components are shared across a few models.

Proton has the Inspira by Mitsubishi, Perdana by Honda, another new model by Suzuki, and is also now looking for a new strategic partner…

What manner of thinking is this? They would have to carry and bear so many different parts / suppliers / manufacturing processes / operation training & special tools, I think they would have a hard time managing inventory and after-sales efficiently… keeping in mind that manufacturers have to make parts available for up to 20 years beyond the launch of the models.

How to be profitable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Couldnt agree more. More model n variants, more complicated n costly. If that model / variants sales not according to projection, then aging stocks / losses. Should follow bmw or merc, mostly looks same. But their cost should be less as some parts may be shared for more than 3 variants

• Jimmy on Jun 14, 2016 at 10:30 pm

I didn’t know the details of the previous talks between VW and Proton.
      I personally think that, since MB and BMW are impossibilities, VW may be a good long-term partner for Proton. The company is hugh, with many strong points. Maybe we will laugh at VW Malaysia for the DSG, however, like it or not, VW and Mazda are still perceived as ‘semi-premium’ brands in Malaysia. Mazda is not a good choice, the company is small.
      Proton needs to rebuild their reputation. QC and reliabilites are very important. These two, I believed, can be done with proper internal management of the company itself, ditching adverse factors like politics and racial preference; Japanese assistance is not a must. Proton needs technologies and innovations that are better than the Japanese, not just equal.

Before establishing a long-term partnership, meanwhile what Proton can do and urgently needs to do so, is to improve its aftersales service/customer service/warranty claims. Without solid and superb aftersales, no Gods can save Proton, not even MB. As an example, imagine a rebadged C-class at rm150k, if Proton cannot handle well its aftersales, the reputation and sales will not improve (there may be an initial surge in sales, but the bad words of mouths will spoil it again). Use your wisdoms, top management staffs.

Finally, to share with you, even brandnew vehicles in luxury category are not perfect in many instances, but the good distributors rectify the defects to your comforts; you don’t feel the pain. And you will buy from them again and again.

• Henry on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:47 am

VW is currently trying to save themselves by selling some assets and merging units. They cannot save others.

• Tong Sampah on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:58 am

yup, we know mothers are women..

• Tong Sampah on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:56 am

thats how the cronies making money with more models..
      the whole proton, like MAS (food catering, etc) as about cronies suppliers untung instead of the product itself…bolehland standard operanti..

• SpongeWai on Jun 14, 2016 at 7:50 pm

searching a foreign partner and then steal money from their company and us lol

• Unknown on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Judging by the looks, no overhead cam pulley ? Freevalve like koenigsegg ? Or not the final design ?

• Prevefacelift on Jun 14, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Merge with bmw then, I don’t mind driving rebadge bmw

• abdullah on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Will you marry me?
    Will you marry me? Ha Ha Ha
    Old maid Proton. Who want to marry you?

• tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:08 am

They should work with game changer tongsan, Geely-Volvo group.

They can rebadge Volvo upcoming XC40/V40, not only they’ll be safe, but also get fuel efficient Drive-E powertrains, even option to get Polestar tuning for more fun driving.

• muraly on Jun 15, 2016 at 3:03 am

Collaborations with Tesla if u dare

• DRB cant handle proton, they dont have the motivation

• Henry on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:48 am

It is going to be a hard sell for Proton In seeking a partner. At the moment many major car manufacturers have their own problems and facing a global economic slump. The best bet is still Indian or Chinese manufacturers because they have the money.

• reaper17 on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:58 am

After 20 plus years in the industry and still need partnership?

• Tong Sampah on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:53 am

every RFP needs to allocate 30% AND use their cronies suppliers…now who is the idiots want to do such business…end of story.

• UK pistonhead on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:26 am

I am a UK auto specialist and have been following this website for sometime. too many articles with same news on a car like proton makes it boring. it will not work. also based on my talks to people from Lotus and several ex proton staff who were discharged by DRB back in 2012, DRB never had a plan to run the company and don’t have a clue how to do it. we all know that Proton has a very corrupt business culture for some time specially on their parts purchasing department. If an OEM comes in which is very doubtful they will audit all the Proton dealings and when they see what happened for many projects specially the ones with Hybrid car development, many people will have to answer and I am pretty sure they will fire all the Proton staff and re-hire new clean professionals from local and overseas sources and re-hire only the good people who are still alive in Proton and trying to do their jobs but under harsh pressure by their bosses who are basically have no idea of what to do. all senior staff such as GMs, Senior Managers and directors will have to go. then with new fresh blood company can revive. as long as it is funded by Gov and run by DRB it will never , ever progress and will eventually be forgotten and closed down. just an opinion. As for this new car, what is the big bang? it is only a re-badge with cosmetic changes at front and rear which to my idea are not attractive specially the rear which is direct copy if Buick Regal and the designer tried to copy diffuser of Jag XJ and did a horribly lousy job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Taxer on Jun 15, 2016 at 9:54 am

Requirements include: you give us your technology but you don’t tell us what to do or how hard we have to work. Don’t challenge us with your quality standards because this is our land.

• the picture of these three so called specialists reminds me of the Three stooges. they try to look like power figures but actually they are beggars for money from gov. if Gov announce pay cut to all proton Bosses, they will resign the next day. I guarantee it.

• Mohd. Chan maniam on Jun 15, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Is proton really ready for a merge to become international? They’re not even a malaysian company. Its a company made up by a 98%of 1 race internally and on the vendor side. Try to become a malaysian company first. I don’t have to be proud of proton. In fact I’m ashamed of it. Its not even a malaysian company. Its more of a burden for malaysians.

• Seyn Syahabuddin on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Proton should reconsider VW as a strategic partner. Proton will gain more in terms of expertise and technologies,as well as marketing exposure. Yes ,of course Proton already established as Malaysian company but to learn from experience automaker ,we have to put our self ego away.. Proton is still new in this industry.. If Proton want to go far,want to be recognized internationally,then Proton must learn and look for a strategic partner for a longer term..
    P/S : Perodua is a clear example how they exceeded their performances to date . And their strategic partner is Daihatsu.

And VW was looking at the business model set up by Perodua/Daihatsu but was turned down.

So ,please Proton,put your ego away , learn more and learn from the those who are well versed ,well experienced and willing to be part of your strategic planning.

Thank You

• Vignesh on Jun 15, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Such high price one of pm strategy to closedown proton, well done.Soon or later proton sales will drop due to price and lack of R&D… More over perodua going to introduce sedan model soon, it will make drop of sales proton saga(blm-model) as well. For me for that price I’ll go for honda civic…news on TV shows 900 people booked, sure they will regret due to price same as honda civic new model… pity them

• Alifzz on Jun 15, 2016 at 11:23 pm

I have a doubt about Pemandu team lead by Idris Jala will make Proton in success. Look at example what happens to MAS still not recovering back. What happen is just laidoff even the top executive has not have paycut.

Go read all great company that’s now in success do face the situation like what Proton did now. Such company emerged to success when the leaders were selected from internal and not with external and ‘celebrity’ CEO. Go find in Proton own ‘blood vessel’ there will be a ‘one man in the thousands’ that will truly make a good turnover.

All the best Proton.

• down jones on Jun 16, 2016 at 6:27 am

Big plan,….. will create more concreate reason for national treasury of releasing the big big money….. enough for that…. then just produce simple car as evidence that money already use for it… ???????