VIDEO: 2016 Proton Perdana TVC – director’s cut

Automotive television commercial director Telly Koay has released a director’s cut version of the original 60-second spot for the 2016 Proton Perdana. Despite being the same length, it is rather different from the more calming final version used by the national carmaker.

This video’s quicker cuts and increased use of tracking and panning shots creates an impression of faster pace, bolstered by the use of electronic music. To be honest, I actually prefer the original version because it’s a change from the ultra-aggressive automotive videos seen elsewhere, but to each his own I guess.

Just to recap, the Perdana is Proton’s version of the eighth-generation Honda Accord, significantly redesigned with a sizeable new body that now measures a hair under five metres in length. It is powered by a choice of two carryover Honda i-VTEC engines – a 154 hp/189 Nm 2.0 litre SOHC mill and a 178 hp/222 Nm DOHC unit, both mated to a five speed automatic gearbox. Prices range from RM113,888 to RM138,888.

For comparison, here’s the original TV spot embedded below. Which version do you prefer? Sound off in the comments section after the jump. You can also browse full specifications and equipment on the 2016 Proton Perdana on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Proton Perdana 2.4

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:15 pm

This car is such a big failure. Now so long launched, can never see any on the road. All orders were bought by the Government only.

So how much royalty Proton had to pay Honda? Easily few hundred million. Japs never give anything free.

So how Proton? Spend few hundred million ringgit and sales like ZERO to the public? Government orders are still using our own money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 35
    • ptptn on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:29 pm

why U worry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
      • Kunkuntata Durian on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Saw a few on the road, overall is ok except the fake exhaust design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Roti Kunta copypaste on Oct 17, 2016 at 6:32 pm

The design from side looks quote sleek. Front is premium. Back then so so due to bumper design.

• Sack designer on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Same L0rr on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:11 pm

This Perdana have goood RV. Honda engine & gearbox!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Where are you living? I have seen quite a few, with majority of them in red colour. It is quite imposing due to its size and looks good especially from the side. Too bad about the fake exhausts though.

• azrai on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Perdana proven good kualiti..Proper 5speed auto gearbox dan Parking brake no poblem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Bernard on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:42 pm

kualiti …..poblem???

• Somemore launched so late, so no Takata problem. The 2.4 variant is most safest & reliable of jepunis cars now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • The 2.0 would be a good-valued family car if not for Honda insisting Proton to omit ESC from it.

• saw a black one at night, looks regal, and tail lamps combination is nice..

sad about the unpainted exhaust tips and diffuser…. Looks horrible….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Proton, the 1990s called..
    And they want their beige and fake wood trim back!
    Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Ice Cream Potong on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Storyboard is ok, sfx is superb. But the car isn’t. This TVC should be more suitable for SUV segment.

This TVC, no no for me.

• faizulamin on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:12 pm

I prefer the alternate version. The original version is not so inviting, I would say.

• lolol on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Who the heck at Proton makes those horrid decisions on the interior anyway? The plastic with wood printing is soo 1990s and is out of fashion. Makes it look super old fashion and cheap.

• camtakpro on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Actually quite good looking the car, why can’t they sell it on 90k? Confirm City/Vios/VW/Almera/Altis/Civic all die.

• Cuz tuan Honda dun agree otherwise kirr their new civic

• Ya ya .. stop giving false hope to them …
      Tt is always someone telling them “give manual trans and it will sell like hot cake” or “Built an R3 version and all others will close shop”.

• Proton always good hiding at the back doing one directional communication just like this video.

If you want to sell your crap, come out and face the disgruntled people. Marketing is a 2 directional activity. You are not Ford and this is not 1920s.

• Albert on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Most of the PONDANA s are sold to SPANCO.
    Check it out for yourselves.
    Hardly one i saw,except one on display at a Protong showroom(demo model).
    You call this GAME CHANGER?
    This is game loser.
    Protong,stop fooling around.It wont work,with tons and tons of rebadge,year in year out.

• Actually Accordana is to SPANCO. Perdana2 is to private users.

• Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:27 pm

If anyone want to buy a Perdana ka Accord ka Camry ka, its your honest hard earn $$$. No one can say its wrong or right or which is better.

Just buy which you think will serve you in the long run. This will be one of your “investment” for you to enjoy. So enjoy & not bother with what people say. TQ.

• frankC on Oct 17, 2016 at 8:48 pm

proton doesn’t hide the fact that perdana is built on accord chasis and drive. no point for proton to design all anew when the volume is too small to justify the investment. so this is wise move.
      no matter the volume, it will sure find customer in government use and also some of us… I find it interesting .. I mean the 2.4 variant :)

• Rarity on Oct 17, 2016 at 5:22 pm

New saga and persona looks quite good. But sorry proton, this oversized perdana doesn’t look good, especially the rear. Overly designed rear.