Mazda CX-3 CKD not likely for Malaysia – Bermaz

2016 Mazda CX-3 Dynamic Blue Mica 2

During the launch of the Mazda CX-3, it was reported that Bermaz was looking to locally assemble (CKD) the CX-3 here in Malaysia at its Kulim plant. It has been almost a year since then, and the company has said that the likelihood of that happening is very slim.

A Bermaz spokesperson confirmed that the “CX-3 is definitely not going to be locally assembled for the time being.” Currently, the Honda HR-V rival comes fully imported from Japan, where it is produced at Mazda’s main plant in Hiroshima.

Offered in a sole variant, the CX-3 is priced at RM131,158.30 (on-the-road without insurance), and powered by a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine that outputs 154 hp at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm. The engine is mated to a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic gearbox, driving the front wheels.

2016 Mazda CX-3 Dynamic Blue Mica 9

The Inokom plant in Kulim currently assembles the CX-5 and 3, with the former being one of the more popular models in Mazda Malaysia’s range of vehicles. With the reveal of the all-new CX-5 recently, the company could place more emphasis on preparing the plant for producing the larger SUV (instead of the CX-3), although that could still be a long way to go.

As we’ve seen in the past, CBU units of the CX-5 were first offered to Malaysians before the CKD version was introduced. Production of the new model has since begun in Hiroshima, and will first go on sale in Japan in February 2017, before rolling out to other markets.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Gerard, “Currently, the Honda HR-V rival comes fully imported from Japan, where it is produced at Mazda’s main plant in Hiroshima.”
    It should say CX-3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 63
    • bystander on Dec 07, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Gerard is correct, “the Honda HR-V rival” means “CX-3”

• It’s actually correct. “The Honda HR-V rival” in that context refers to the CX-3.

It’s a fancier way of writing – otherwise would be bland i reckon

• halimy on Dec 07, 2016 at 7:24 pm

Harlo, read properly la….it says ‘Honda HR-V rival…’ which refers to the CX-3

• Henry on Dec 07, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Why must it be called CX3? What is wrong in calling it the HR-V rival? Don’t try to be an English teacher here.

• Oh sorry. My mistake.

• Henry Ford The XII on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Honda H-RV rival = CX-3

• Kunta a/l Kinte on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Nobody buys Mazda anymore. Dead brand. Hype on CX5 is over.

Why nobody buys? Every year Bermaz increase their prices 3 or 4 times. One day they blame Yen, one day they blame USD. Every 3 months increase.

You dare to buy from an unethical company like this???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 30
      • Wahahahanoha on Dec 08, 2016 at 7:44 am

To summarise it, ringgit is the problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Henry on Dec 08, 2016 at 8:35 am

You should go buy a brand which drops the price 3 to 4 times a year instead. And it doesn’t need to blame anything. You know which one.

• Just asking on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:23 pm

The word “rival” means anything to you?

• Johnny on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Aiyoh, Understood lah…. he was trying to
      Point out that cx-3 is rival to HR-V…..

• Ben Yap on Dec 07, 2016 at 6:06 pm

when the sales of CX3 drop, Bermaz will either discontinue it or get it CKD.

• alldisc on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Bermaz can play a better role, export cx3 to other ASEAN countries. It will not be subjected to import tax as per afta agreement. Either that, or import cx3 as ASEAN cbu if Thailand or Indonesia already doing assembly. BTW, u r selling too many models after only several years of making a comeback for Mazda. It can be dangerous because part storage and supply will be a great issue.

• On the contrary, no CKD means the sales volume is very low. Did not justify the effort.

• Henry on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:45 am

If CBU CX3 cannot sell at the expected numbers it is not worthwhile to continue with it. Remember, Bermaz will also have to support the model in terms of spare parts inventory. All this drive up the cost of doing business.

Also, the HR-V being launched earlier and at a much lower price had already mopped up a huge chunk of the market.

• harry on Dec 07, 2016 at 6:07 pm

story about cx3…suddenly talking about crv..copy paste ka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 07, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Sales figures of the CBU unit isn’t exactly exciting so it’s a given they will postpone or cancel the plan.

• karma on Dec 07, 2016 at 8:05 pm

bermaz, do u know why your cx3 can’t be sold well? first of all, your dealers are too stingy to offer test drive…come on, rm130k no test drive? you thought i am buying rm130 car? test drove XV twice, i bought it with no regret…2nd, the cx3 driver seat is too low ( tried in the showroom ), no SUV feel at all…3rd, the car is under-power compare to XV…cx3 looks good but not practical

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Megane on Dec 08, 2016 at 12:08 am

Most Jap car salesmen are like that . Some test drives include circling their showroom building which may take 3-4 mins hahaha . I had that experience before . When asked he said , this car is already very good . Trust me , no need long winding test . Hahaha .

• But you didn’t test drive the CX3 and you say it is underpowered? Based on what? Paper figures?

• karma on Dec 08, 2016 at 8:08 pm

test drove in muar after bought XV 1 month later…the feel was just like the 2.0 cx5, underpowered…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • medic on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:25 am

How is it underpowered?It has better hp to weight ratio compared to Subaru XV…Somemore 6 speed auto with paddles definatelt better than cvt.

• karma on Dec 08, 2016 at 8:15 pm

pls don’t look at the figures on paper…it is useless to explain if u never tried xv’s cvt before…there is trick to drive cvt as good as 6 speed auto, pls go and buy and learn urself

• najib best pm on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:44 pm

I have test drove both the XV and CX3 and I ended up buying the CX3.

1. Way better interior design. The XV’s interior looks like 2005.

2. CX3 produces more power and more torque.

3. The CVT on XV is pretty meh. The CX3 6 speed automatic is much more engaging.

4. No projector headlights on XV. What is this 2005?

The AWD system and roomier interior is the XV’s advantage. But with the bland interior, lack of features, much lower power/weight ratio and CVT, nah.

• karma on Dec 08, 2016 at 8:28 pm

1) i have never denied cx3 looks bad
        2) that’s just on paper.
        3) there is trick to drive cvt likes 6 speed, learn urself
        4) led & bi-xenon headlight? it will only cost me less than rmb3k to get it from Taobao…passat, e-class, any pattern u like…
        the interior? maybe can syiok sendiri for the first 3 days only…
        lack of features? the 2016 highest specs crosstrek has everything what cx3 have…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Aero (Member) on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Damn, this is disappointing news. :( But it’s not entirely surprising, I’m sure Bermaz did what they could.

Mazda has been assembling the CX-3 in Thailand for around 1 year now. I don’t see why Mazda would want two CX-3 production plants in ASEAN. Maybe we will get a cheaper Thai CBU CX-3 in the future.

Bermaz should try to convince Mazda Japan to build the all-new CX-5 in Malaysia. Bermaz/Inokom has been assembling the old/current CX-5 here for some time now. They even export some CX-5s to Thailand.

Anyway, we’ll see what happens.

• therevs on Dec 07, 2016 at 10:37 pm

In another perspective, this is great news.
    Generally, CBU automobiles imported directly from Japan have greater build quality than CKD cars here in Malaysia.
    One example is Honda Malaysia, extremely great sales success but poor CKD built quality.
    For those who can afford the extra premium price tag of the Mazda CX3 over the now outdated and hideous HR-V, its a better choice:) Peace:)

• kzm (Member) on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:41 am

No need car manufacturer open plant in bolehland right? better open in thai or indo

• applegreen on Dec 08, 2016 at 8:58 am

Forget CX-3, I hope Bermaz will CKD CX-9 2.5T

• no ckd so got excuse to continue increase price upwards ^^

while the car price shot up, the stock price shot down

• Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 9:40 am

This CX-3 comes fully imported from Japan & priced at RM131,158.30 (on-the-road without insurance) is quite understandable bcos its CBU & some said its better built bcos its from Hiroshima.

• Henry on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:40 am

That is the main reason it can’t sell many. With insurance the price adds up to 135k.

During the Merdeka Sales in August the locally assembled CX5 2.5L was offered at a bit above 150k. It was such a good deal.

• passion on Dec 08, 2016 at 9:44 am

car is too small for tall ppl. i hit my knee on the dashboard when trying to get in to sit in the show car. had to go to the pharmacy to get meds after that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 9:52 am

Ask any young boys/girls which car they would like to own or drive between the CX-3/HR-V. Chance are the youth will go for the CX-3 for its sheer looks.

The mature drivers will go for the HR-V for its practicality, space & cheaper too.

As reported here, this CX-3 will NOT be assemble in M’sia as its not practical for Mazda to do so bcos they are already assembling it in Thailand. Hence, its Not going to be cheaper as what most M’sian are hoping.

• Henry on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:34 am

Just give this car a miss then. Wait for the Toyota C-HR which should arrive sometime next year. I am hoping UMWT will locally assemble the Hybrid version to take advantage of the tax free incentive for such cars.

• Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Agree with U Henry. The C-HR will add an extra choice to the existing CX-3/HR-V/Tucson/Sportage. Just can’t tell which one is better though bcos its not available now for testing/comparison by PT. Am sure PT will run a comparison test for us later. Shalom & Cheers …

• Jjjjj on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:33 pm

Tucson and Sportage are a different SUV class bro, same with CRV and CX5. You should be comparing with Pug 2008 and ford EcoSport

• Cx3 has no space, jacked up m2, looks good but ride is harsh due to torsion beam rear suspension and no awd for 131k..not worth