BMW Malaysia saw 16% record sales growth in 2016

BMW Group Malaysia delivered a total of 10,906 units of BMW, Mini and BMW Motorrad vehicles in the country last year, which is 16% higher compared to 2015 sales (9,368). It’s the highest ever growth for the brand in Malaysia.

Zooming in, the BMW brand grew by a record 20% in 2016, from 7,515 vehicles sold in 2015 to 9,000. The Mini brand saw a 19% growth from 756 to 902 units last year, while BMW Motorrad delivered 1,004 motorcycles in 2016. Globally, the BMW Group achieved its best ever sales last year with a total of 2,367,603 vehicles, the sixth year in a row Munich has set a new sales record.

BMW Group Malaysia started 2016 with the launch of the G12 BMW 7 Series, and the premium brand also introduced two plug-in hybrid models at attractive prices – the X5 xDrive40e and the F30 330e. In a related development, BMW strengthened its partnership with GreenTech Malaysia to offer its PHEV customers access to ChargeNow services via GreenTech’s ChargEV platform. Other local introductions last year were the CKD X1 and X4, the BMW M2 and the BMW 528i M Performance Edition.

The company is also very proud of its BMW 5 Year Unlimited Mileage Warranty and Free Service Program, the BMW Tyre Warranty Program and the BMW Concierge Services as part of the BMW ConnectedDrive innovation offering. These introductions are leading key differentiators for the brand in the premium segment, it says.

Hipster brand Mini introduced the new Mini Clubman, the Mini John Cooper Works Pro Edition and the special edition Mini Countryman Park Lane last year.

This year will be a busy one for BMW Group Malaysia, which will be preparing its export hub initiatives for the 3 Series, 5 Series and 7 Series models to Vietnam and Philippines in 2018. The company will also see an increase in its local assembly capabilities from over 7,000 vehicles in 2016 to over 10,000 units in 2017 with an investment of over RM10 million.

BMW will also open its doors to its latest Regional Parts Distribution Centre at the Free Trade Zone of the Senai International Airport of Iskandar Malaysia. Occupying over 45,000 square metres of land in Johor and with an investment of over RM130 million, it will be one of the largest BMW facilities in the region.

BMW will implement its ‘Voice to the Customer’ as well as the Road Side Assistant (RSA) programme in 2017. Based on the global standard NET Promoter Score (NPS) concept, Voice to the Customer will be the next level of measurement of customer satisfaction in the industry while the RSA promises to be the most comprehensive service offering in the Malaysian automotive industry for on-road customer care, peace of mind and maintenance.

“We will continue the momentum we have built here over the previous years where we will focus on introducing to our customers the newest products, innovations as well as premium services which will be industry leading to drive the industry,” said Han Sang Yun, MD and CEO of BMW Group Malaysia.

“Our customer satisfaction indexes have been the highest in the industry over the last five years. However, in a move for more relevance in changing times in the premium segment, we will implement a new global measurement standard as well as premium on the road, day to day care programs to ensure our customers here get the very best of our capabilities,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alharris on Jan 11, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Syabas BMW! Mari2 pre-reg BMW Premium Selection Promo.
    Limited units left, high trade-in!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:37 pm

The secret to owning a BMW is either buy pre-reg or buy 2nd hand.

Don’t be a fool to buy full price BMW cause BMW themselves will throw prices selling pre reg cars for peanuts.

For example, the 520i is priced at RM368k brand new, you can buy a brand new pre-reg BMW 520i which has never been used for RM270k.

That is RM120k less. Imagine if you bought the 520i at RM368k, next day already 2nd hand have is about RM250k and below.

Be wise. Never buy a brand new BMW at RRP prices. Cause BMW themselves throw prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
      • Kutuk kutuk on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:56 am

You are yet to afford to buy one and you do not know the rich can afford like buying a peanuts.

• Jonathan on Feb 27, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Kutuk kutuk, who can tell once you are driving? To clear up some doubts, pre-reg means it is a repossessed car. But zero mileage pre-reg means the previous “owner” of the car is Auto Bavaria or Quill and they are simply doing it to boost sales. Of course, the price for zero mileage pre reg will be smaller than for with mileage. Technically they are required to sell the car with 1000km mileage but they can waive it if you are willing to pay a higher price. All cars except the just launched, hot selling models like a G30 can be bought pre-reg.

• Azham on Jan 12, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Any current BMW owners can comment? Resale value?? planning to get 120i. thxx

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 11, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Meanwhile, service at Sime Darby-owned Auto Bavaria continues to slide south. Oh well.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 12, 2017 at 2:37 am

Lol ur better off with Ingress or Wearnes…oops the Segambut outlet is no more.

• Jonathan on Feb 27, 2017 at 2:58 pm

I don’t think this is a big issue. You should be buying the car with some degree of literacy so no salesman should be able to promise you something that isn’t there. Go for the dealer you like, you have the right to service the car at any service centre in Malaysia.

Btw Sime Darby-owned Euro Auto got into big trouble in Vietnam for paying less tax than they were supposed to. BMW imports there were suspended for some months, and all BMWs there are CBU units!

• Mikey on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:00 pm

MMA data show our car sales have dropped for 2016 but BMW & some upmarket car are selling well.

It also mean those Rich people are not affected much. In fact some wealthy folks are changing their Premium car like they change Hand Phones.

U may ask why they can afford 2 buy these luxuries at this difficult time ??!

I have a friend who just change 2 cars(Mazda6 2.5 & Audi Q5). He said live is short bro. His brother(architect) just died(Rich) at age 56 without enjoying life. He is 59 & his children have all grown up. So he better use his $$$ & enjoy Now B4 he see his dead bro again.

Off course there are not many people like him around but he says All the $$$ he has cannot be taken along when he no longer lives here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Seems like the rich become richer and the other hurm…. merc is doing quite good as well right?

• Stevie on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Can’t see what was wrong with your friend’s argument. People said Malaysia is going bankrupt but a lot of businessmen are still making good money. A lot of people still can afford to travel overseas. It’s all about perception here.

• Hot dog on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:15 am

Very poor country businessman oso make very good money there…cos businessman looking oppurtunities everywhere…so we don supprised could see bugati on Mumbai street..

• Malaysia roughly has 30 thousand millionaires. For BMW to sell 10k is nothing

• 12yrsold on Jan 11, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Most if Not all residents who are staying in One Utama are millionaires. That include Taman Tun, Bangsar Area & it’s surrounding minus those who stay in flats.

Heck, even those who stay in Puchong, PJ, Damansara, Subang Jaya, Mont Kiara Gated & Guarded area are millionaires.

Yeah john, U are quite right there. I’ll say we have at least 5 % millionaires in M’sia & that translate to about 1,500,000 millionaires.

But NOT all Jutawan drives BIG cars. Some are Humble & are happy driving Camry/Accord/Perdana/Hyundai.

• Jimmy on Jan 12, 2017 at 12:31 pm

One of them drives a Teana and stay in a 3-storey semi-D only.
          The other one drives an Altis and stay in a Bungalow.
          Both are multimillionares (not a mere 9 millions owners).
          Surprised right?

• Jonathan on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Being a ringgit millionaire is not such a big deal.

• Aiyaa….many insurance salesman and MLM conman love this car laa. Can get new customers easy, they say.

Corporate rats also love this car since it will give their ego a boost their talent cannot give. Some more their company sponsor installments too.

• tokmoh. on Jan 11, 2017 at 7:44 pm

Maslan : tengok, kfc full, bmw, mercedes laris.

Mana rakyat terjejas? Terbukti ekonomi semakin kukuh, cukuuur

• Tax the rich so…yeah u knows the rest

• bmw and merc mostly EEV status so less tax imposed. plus their hybrids such as c350e and bmw330e are also exempt from tax. so what “tax the rich” are u talking about ?

• Hot dog on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:20 pm

My customer just bought 7 series, i ask why….he said tyres ada warranty juga !!

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 12, 2017 at 2:36 am

It’s not surprising I know friends who buy BMW because of the 5 year free warranty, service and the 2 year tyre warranty. It’s basically maintenance free except for wear n tear stuff like wipers and brake discs where u need to fork out cash to pay.

• so wear and tear parts not included in the warranty? i tot it covers all..

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 12, 2017 at 2:42 am

This year should be a busy year for BMW Malaysia too with the local introduction of the G30 5er most likely in CBU form before CKD kicks in and it will be very interesting to see how they will price the CKD 530e EEV to compete with its stablemates, the 530i and possibly the 520d/i duo and let’s not forget it’s main rival the all new E Class. There’s also the LCI 3GT and 2er Coupe that hasn’t arrive yet either.

• yes looking forward to that. Planning to have the G30 530e EEV as my next car but I have reservations due to how my current A6 Hybrid is getting its RV hammered beyond belief. will never buy brand new again.

• wayang on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:09 am

Meanwhile the poor fags here complain car too expensive, no vsc, no airbags, no increment, tax the rich so the poor can buy car

• Dpillai on Jan 12, 2017 at 2:17 pm

As for the G30 , it’s really interesting to see how they price it. BMW doesn’t seem to have a 520i anymore. I doubt they’ll bring in the 520d. So entry level will be the 530i which is similar to the 528i, 2 liter turbo. Price it above RM400k and there will be very low sales. It’s all in the pricing. Price it too high and everybody will wait for pre reg units. Interesting 2017.

• Jonathan on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:19 pm

They might want to introduce the 520i during the LCI, just like in the E60 days.

• Bini4Best on Jan 12, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Proton last time claimed it is Asia’s BMW. Now, just think how many malaysian are driving “”BMW”.