Honda Malaysia’s Ecotint window film promo offers RM1,350 discount on tint – for new, existing owners

Window tint has become more of a necessity than an accessory, and very few new cars today are delivered without some form of protection from intruders and sunlight. Those looking at a new Honda, or considering the freshly facelifted Honda City might want to take advantage of this latest promotion by Honda Malaysia.

The on-form brand says that it will be “celebrating another milestone at the end of this month” (sounds like a production milestone) and in conjunction with that, is having two campaigns to reward customers.

The “Best Time to Get Best Protection” promo sees Honda Malaysia (HM) offer the Ecotint RayBarrier Splendour window film at RM850 to all new and existing Honda owners, valid from now until March 29. This represents savings of 61%, or RM1,350 over the normal price of RM2,200. The warranty is five years. We checked and yes, existing customers are welcome.

According to HM, the Ecotint RayBarrier Splendour tint – manufactured using advanced nanotechnology from Sumitomo Japan – has high heat rejection of “Ultra 99.9% UV-A and UV-B protection” and offers “unparalleled glass break protection” with the firm’s Multi-Layer Film Lamination technology. Further info can be obtained at Honda dealerships.

HM is also organising “The Digital Treasure Hunt Wall Contest”, which is open to all Malaysians. To be in the running to win prizes, visit any Honda dealer from March 16-22 and take a selfie with the jigsaw puzzle piece answer to questions on Honda Malaysia’s Facebook page. Post the image on the same FB post.

These activities are in addition to HM’s ongoing 3S or Best Deals Promotion, where customers get to enjoy two years of free service (parts and labour) or a cash option upon purchase. This promo runs throughout March and April 2017.

We’re still in the first quarter of the year, and there have been two product launches from Honda already – the BR-V seven-seater kicked things off in January and the City facelift made its debut earlier this month. Both have been off to flying starts. The sub-RM100k BR-V sees Honda enter the budget MPV segment for the first time, armed with SUV styling. Buyers are convinced – 9,500 names are in the order books as of today – and you can read our full review of it here.

The City facelift improves on what was already the top selling B-segment sedan in Malaysia. The refreshed car gets a Civic FC-style face and more features for the same money. HM has collected 2,000 bookings in the 10 days following the official launch, with the range-topping V variant making up a significant 44% of the total. Prices range from RM78,300 to RM92,000.

GALLERY: Honda City V

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azhar on Mar 14, 2017 at 3:59 pm

good laa..my HRV till now not tinted yet…rm850 for branded tint sounds great

• govind on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:40 pm

my HRV, my Civic, my BRV, my Accord, my City, my Jazz haiya all make stories

• Frederick Yeoh KN on Mar 14, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Honda should focus on selling cars not accessories.Not enough manpower to cater waiting list and soon many warranty and claims.Don’t emulate UMW attitude,pls.Concentrate on main products itself not side income and cost cutting.Look what happened to Toyota.When they were hot demand like hot cakes,their management start apply cost cutting and side income.SA commission cut,sales incentive cut,insurance commission percentage cut,finance/bank commission cut.Funny thing is the SA need to stack,glue and screw the plate number on the car! More doing sweaty workshop work than sales job.But if no sales every morning got bullshit from the sales managers in meeting.All in the name of cost cutting.No wonder selling perodua or Honda less stressful than Toyota.Yes,i was a Toyota SA for 9 years with 5 times star awards recipient and now happily selling perodua for the past 3 years.More commission and incentives per unit and much freedom.Money i earned selling 8 units of Bezza/axia/myvi are equivalent to 15 units of Vios! With hassle free! In UMW they treat you like slave and dog but in perodua they treat you like real humankind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Frederick Yeoh KN on Mar 14, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Not to mention now Honda manager keep calling me to join their sales team.I’m happily selling perodua without stress,without working like hell,more time for family,more money,more freedom and best team.Sales keep coming even while I’m on holiday.UMW keep stressing on Japanese work ethics but forgot those Japanese workforce the highest number in suicide cases.Stupid management tell u in UMW now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 15, 2017 at 10:29 am

Can pay under market value or not…third world car only pun..no need to spend so much on tint…later people cannot see you when you drive looking up..like sombong bodoh like that…

• Anything But P1, Greedy Toyota on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:00 pm

What a way to get fat profit margins and rip customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • alldisc on Mar 14, 2017 at 5:04 pm

It’s not like Honda forces the owners to take the tint. You are free to go tint free, go out and source own tint no matter cheap or expensive.
      I’m sure if Honda gave it free you will give same negative comment that its probably cheap and ineffective tint.
      Give also complain, don’t give complain, give discount complain so what more do you want??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Honda City owners only or all Honda models? Surely, an Accord will have more expensive tint.

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:12 pm

For what Honda is charging Malaysians for their cars, they should give the tinting FREE. Malaysia is the only country in the world where the car manufacturer makes a huge margin of tens of thousands of ringgit profit per car sold.

Other countries, car manufacturers just make a fraction of the profit Malaysian car manufacturers make.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on Mar 14, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Honda….the power of dreams(making money some more,from tints).
      Toyota(UMW)…the power of bad dreams(sliding sales)
      Protong…….the power of unfulfilled dreams(kaput teruk)

• biker on Mar 14, 2017 at 10:28 pm

Tax dun go to car manufacturers

• Capt Joe on Mar 14, 2017 at 11:24 pm

Work harder bro, get a life. Dont bash for nothing. Dont play too much of coconut, work hard.

• well done honda….keep coming all the promotions etc…ur cars will sell like hot cakes…good strategy

• transformer on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:27 pm

can i send my Nissan for tint?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Mohd Faiz on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:31 pm

rather pay extra for 3M tints.. skip.

• cheapos on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Ecotint is cheap, at least gip LLumar

• Jeffy on Mar 15, 2017 at 9:53 am

LLumar film? You must be kidding…LLumar film are shit & over rated. Look at their OEM film for those perodua or mitsu, serupa tarak film wehh.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 14, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Discounted PWP is a good marketing strategy. Another good deal is the two years of free service (parts and labour).

• mynameisnor on Mar 14, 2017 at 5:15 pm

tak laku ke dah bagi promosi…

• Mikey on Mar 14, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Now I know why car tinting is BIG Business in M’sia bcos “most” car manufacturer are NOT providing its car with tinting.

It is damn hot parking under the sun & some kids even died from the heat when their parents forgot about their kids.

Why don’t our gov make it mandatory for car company to provide tinting B4 selling the cars & save them the trouble of checking the safety & legality of the tinting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Michael on Mar 14, 2017 at 6:02 pm

I rather buy tint or other car accessories without the bank loan interest.

• Becoz tinting reduce the VLT?
      And most manufacturers here wud spec the glass VLT almost to the legal limit?
      And any OEM tint that has to comply is almost transparent cuz of the glass VLT?
      And when JPJ/Puspakom fails them, they have to rip off their OEM installed tint?

• Lawson on Mar 24, 2017 at 11:35 pm

If you put good tint it does’nt mean that the temperature inside the car will go up less if park under the hot sun. Let’s say with a good tint a car interior takes 2hours to get up to 40 deg C under a full sun. An average tint will take the same car interior 1.3hours to get 40 deg C. It just go up slower with good a tint. Color of car interior will play a large role on how high temperature inside a park car will increase. I have two Honda and interior is all black. The interior of my 6 years old livina is more pleasant in cream biege color and using tint of RM1000 vs 3M for one of my Honda. The wife never complain livina being hotter after being left under the sun but for Honda yes. Most of us would accept a good tint having 90% performance of a top end tint but paying only 50% price of the top end tint. Recently found one shop offering a tint with VLT of 67% and IR rejection of 93% at RM350 after replacing a cracked front windscreen for my HV. After tinting l cut a piece of tint for and clip to receipt. This tint performance is validated by a hand held scanner. So Honda offer of RM850 for tinting whole car is very very good. Lagi pun mata wang ringgit dah kuat jatuh!.

• I’ve had ecotint on my Honda and Toyota, both were offered by dealership, and both sucks really bad, didn’t help much compare to other cheaper tint.

• zuchie on Mar 14, 2017 at 6:25 pm

My friend just buy new CRV from Honda B4… Sadly, got nothing … Tint also kena pasang guna duit sendiri… Haiyaa.

• what a shame… even axia got free tint.

• seman on Mar 15, 2017 at 11:45 am

don’t be so stingy la honda…my previous saga blm and preve also got factory tinted…new also just start the car and go…no need for tint search during the first week usage

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 14, 2017 at 11:20 pm

whats the real ori market price..all these salesmen say give u voucher for tint but jacked up price and reduced….

• totota on Mar 15, 2017 at 10:42 am

ecotint? my 2012 city with ecotint, only 4 year the rear mirror tint game over