Proton Suprima X – final design by MIMOS revealed

National research and development centre for information and communications technology MIMOS has finally revealed the final design of the Proton Suprima X, the agency’s crossover reimagining of the Suprima S previously shown only as a sketch. Industrial design boss Saharudin Busri has reimagined the national carmaker’s C-segment hatchback as a more rugged, lifestyle-oriented offering.

It’s certainly an eye-catching design, with slimmer, shapelier headlights carrying Y-shaped LED daytime running lights that flow into the bolder two-bar grille. The Y motif is repeated in the fog lights, forming part of the more aggressive front bumper design.

Moving back, there are fender vents aft of the front wheels, with chrome trim that flows upwards to form the beltline of the car. The rear handles have also been moved to sit within the C-pillars, which itself has been painted black to provide a floating roof look. The ride height has been raised, and the larger wheel arches house five-spoke alloy wheels wrapped in higher-profile tyres.

At the rear of the car, the tail lights are now two-piece items in the style of the Prevé, albeit with a centre bar joining the two. The number plate recess has also been moved downwards to sit within the larger rear diffuser and above the twin trapezoidal tailpipes. Rounding off the more adventurous aesthetic is the black protective cladding around the car, roof rails and silver skid plates.

MIMOS previously produced a hot hatch version, the Suprima R

The Suprima X was created to showcase MIMOS’ expertise in automotive design – the agency, which previously only designed products for its own projects, is offering its design consultancy services to other companies. Its industrial design department has bagged various Red Dot Design Awards for design concepts, and has reached as high as third in the awards’ world ranking in terms of design studio innovation, in 2014.

So, what do you think of the Suprima X? Should it become a reality as a production vehicle to be sold to the public? Could the design be improved? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• A bit redundant, but being a concept, it is acceptable. Good job nonetheless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • Kopi Kopi-0 on May 03, 2017 at 7:52 pm

Paejoe 3008 copy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
      • Not Bad.
        But the part that Proton always fail is the interior(except Inspira).
        It keeps on reminding you are in a cheap pathetic car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
        • OMG… This is the best design i ever seen. Proton deserves more loans from our Gov

Go Proton go ask for more loans… I sapot

• Hafizul MD on May 04, 2017 at 9:45 am

I drive past MIMOS office at Technology Park Malaysia everytime I visit my client there.
          Can only see swathes of Perodua cars park in staff parking area & afew Conti cars just as many as Proton. Atleast MIMOS staff know what’s a good car. They buy & drive P2 but draw P1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • p2macai on May 04, 2017 at 6:17 pm

buy p2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• Rogaz on Sep 10, 2019 at 1:56 pm

It not about Good quality but affordability.

• I actually love my Gen 2 CPS interior

• Rogaz on Sep 10, 2019 at 2:02 pm

There is still no new civic 1.8 can stand in front on the highway because it faster than 200 km/h.

• The Rock Heart Pure Soul on May 04, 2017 at 3:06 pm

No need to think la.We all knew p1 can’t materialise any on this design.We all knew p1 can easily failed any simple task,small challenge and easiest test.. Being Malaysian we all got cheated repeatedly over and over since the rise of super ambitious but useless company.I’ll eat my own dirt if I’m wrong.But no.I’m always right.Right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • karam singh on May 04, 2017 at 11:59 pm

Design depend on individual taste,
          Is Nissan Almera design that good ?
          The Persona far better looking & lots of people agree on that.

• kimi_ on May 03, 2017 at 8:55 pm

If it goes to production, i bet proton going to sell it at least RM 85K++ as current suprima around 70K

WHO is going to buy proton at 85K++, better buy honda brv or top up little at hrv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
        • Proton HPF Steel Autoliv on May 04, 2017 at 11:00 am

WHO is going to buy? People who dont want their cars fold up like wey tissue when rear ended and not fitted with airbags that act like grenade when activated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Kelab Sokong Kunta on May 03, 2017 at 5:08 pm

I have to agree, this design by Shahrudin Busri looks great. But my question is this, why can’t the Proton designers and engineers also come out with such a design?

What are they doing in office? All goyang kaki?

Mitsubishi plant in Thailand has 6000 workers and yet they produce 320,000 cars

Proton plant has 12,000 workers and yet, they produce only 70,000 cars

This means, Proton workers, especially the designers and engineers got lots of FREE time.

Why aren’t they coming out with such good designs like Shahrudin?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 23
    • arena on May 03, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Seriously dude? Mitsubishi’s rayong plant producing 320k?
      Last time i checked, they got 4k plus employees and produced 130k vehicles.
      While proton tanjung malim got 2k plus employees producing around 100k vehicles.
      Total proton workforce IS around 12k, just not all of them work in production.
      Want to share your source? Because if it is indeed as you said, then proton should fall back to mitsubishi, i guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
      • Kunta Kinte on May 03, 2017 at 9:31 pm

paul tan article 2 weeks ago about rayong. How can Proton produce 100k when they only sell 72k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Nancy tan on May 03, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Find a life bro, get a proper job, keyboard warrior has no job security.

• They make extra units to get them roasted under the coconut tree.

• arena on May 04, 2017 at 1:53 am

72k domestic sales. You forgot the export and rebadge part.

• Aralez on May 04, 2017 at 8:11 am

Weh kau ni apasal?? Produce 100k doesnt mean they can sell all of it. Balance lagi 28k tak laku la tu broo..

• Henry on May 04, 2017 at 8:36 am

Proton’s production capacity and actual sales are two different things.

• ahmad on May 04, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Get your fact right. proton tanjung malim produces only iris, persona and ertiga which sales is about 3,000 per month or 36K per year. It has 4000 workers. Don’t simple shoot out of your backside

• Engineering limit and budget cost

• Tarmizie on May 03, 2017 at 10:26 pm

Both Mimos and Proton no more relevant.

Kolos them all and Save pipu money.

• kimi_ on May 03, 2017 at 8:51 pm

SYOK SENDIRI !!!! AMATUER DESIGN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 52
      • A talented 12 year old kid can produce a nice drawing like this. The real car need a good drive train and that is where we are stuck 10 years behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Lets see your design shall we.

• PSA-PROTON on May 04, 2017 at 11:34 am

BEST DESIGN EVER FROM PROTON…

• Syihabuddin on May 04, 2017 at 6:17 am

Mitsubishi in Thailand just for car production.
      But in Malaysia, Tanjung Malim is for production and Shah Alam for production and R&D.

Tun M has send the student to the overseas but the student work with another car makers. Don’t complain to tun M or Proton. Complain the student who cannot come back to Malaysia and work with national automakers

• One of P1 stylist was my design tutor. When ngeteh time he told me that actually P1 got very talented designer and produced many type of superb car including futuristic one.
      But the main prob is their old timer superior/leader.
      the old timer didn’t approve that sporty/superb design because he/she believed malaysian not ready yet for that type. So thats why all new model just like ‘org tua’ taste.
      Later all this talented designer blah la join other auto maker.
      this is 10 yrs old story, current condition in P1 I dont know

• The profile, Yes
    The details, need more work i think

• For a company that finishes RM1.25Bil last year for nothing and asking for RM1.8Bil this year, I would say the design is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • The back looks ok and relevant in 2017. But the front and side still look awkward. The wheels look too large and disproportionate to the body. How about the interior? The engine and how it drive? The refinement? Is it on par with the Korean and Japanese? If not, then Proton will continue to fail as a car manufacturer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Ah Kow on May 03, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Lepak sangat lepas teh tarik & kuih lapis. They play photoshop…Deswai 1.6 million bloated civil service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 28
  • subaru XV

• Iskandar on May 03, 2017 at 6:17 pm

The idea of this X is good, maybe some more length at the back for luggage is better.

If this concept turn to reality, 1st thing at the most is what type of engine should powered this car. Campro??? Campro perform quite sad in term of torque. 4wd/2wd? Or just 2wd SUV. This should proton ask themselves 1st.

Btw salute to designer. Proton should learn from him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • 4 words… NOT NICE AT ALL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
    • for the price i think it is decent and nice looking car

Where is your taste about car styling ?
      forget those crap design from toyota and honda .

these two brands never seems to amuse and entice me into buying .
      Mazda and subaru seems a better choice

I also had to agree that the design/styling on the new Saga and Persona really looks horrible and totally out . ( lacking of elegance and charisma and energetic looks ) . Can Proton designers come out better design than these saga and Persona half baked design.

When can proton designers can learned to make their cars styling likeable and with a WOW FACTOR. lately the designers designing the new proton cars really looks horrible and not eyes catching at all. that is why the sales is still heading further south instead of north.

Really big problems when these cars are just newly launch and not selling well, Perhaps proton should replace the bad taste designers with some outstanding one coming from other races/foreigners instead like
      Kudos to Shaharudin

To Proton Management , No need to be feel shy now , survival is more important

• Beautiful…now all it needs is latest spec engine and transmission etc. Price it reasonably below rm100k and it could be a hot seller… P1 make it happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Mikey on May 03, 2017 at 6:48 pm

I think the problem with P1 is Not so much on the look department. It’s all bcos we have the “Once Beaten Twice Shy” Syndrome. Ask those who have change car from P1 & U will all know what I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • No Deal Yet on May 03, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Good to see….but I guess its just not going to materialize, esp when P1 gonna lingkup soon….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 03, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Finishing of interior must be of high quality. The raved Suprima is a big disappointment.

• Better to use Exora platform instead of Suprima chassis. Dun wan P1 SUV penyek like BRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • xshiro on May 03, 2017 at 7:51 pm

exora is using preve platform. sama la bro

• Mikey on May 03, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Forgive him xshiro. He has posted too many hence he is confused NOW. He can’t tell one john from another. He is a Very confused or some say Delusional. Hehehe.

• Azahari on May 03, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Exora, Suprima, Preve is using same platform I think.

• horrayooi on May 03, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Nice design especially the rear, the front need to improve a bit. Need to have latest engine and transmission too to make it relevent to market demand. Campro family engine and punch cvt cannot sell. Cannot keep on tweaking and adding
    turbo(CPS), IAFM and etc. Customers are well inform with latest technology because of internet.

• Antoi on May 03, 2017 at 7:47 pm

Built it Proton. Looks great and with right package and price it will be big hit with the current and new customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • I like the exterior design, but it is 3d rendering,which means designer can go crazy unicorns idea to make it look stunning.I hope they could make actual model let us look around

• Agree.. Its still a long way to a working prototype and then further for production design and tooling which may take couple of years and few hundred million ringgit P1 dont have.. And the end product may not even look near like the drawing above.. Sigh.. Sorry for the lack of positive vote

• Wah lauuuu on May 03, 2017 at 8:01 pm

Get that into production!!!!!! I’ll buy 2!!!!!

• Wiralama on May 03, 2017 at 8:29 pm

I am fascinated by both the suprima x and concept c design as well as the technology that will be utilised to realised them. Congratulation. However, I also think that Proton should be the main player instead. What happen to Proton’s R&D team? Now is the right time to deliver ideas and propel national automotive industry. Bila lagi?

• Bernard on May 03, 2017 at 9:10 pm

All show no substance for what?

• BbalingBiru on May 03, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Interestingly good job! This designer smartly put the ‘X’ theme every where quite nicely outside. Anyway, we don’t know how’s the inside.

• Evoque wannabe

• UI/UX on May 03, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Red Dot Design judges like see the physical car to make judgments to award points to a design. I’m amazed the author request anyone can make good comments of a design from video clip and brochure pictures. Ask Proton when the can offer the public view of this model?

• Good some improvement but. How about the engine? 1.5 turbo from exora. Where are the proton E01?

• DonkeyKong on May 04, 2017 at 12:11 am

Retarded-looking front end.. Still obviously a third-world country design, like the cars that China try to design on their own without plagiarizing others’ designs

• Guest on May 04, 2017 at 12:19 am

Can please stop this nonsense !!!! Computer image does not make a car. These are all designed by a novice designer. Proton is dead brand and can not pin themselves to Rakyat after what they have pulled so far.

• camtakpro on May 04, 2017 at 7:38 am

Conceptually look nice, reality when goes to production it will be back to square one – ugly butt, lousy knobs, buttons fall off, missing tether, and the most shit, no 6MT.

• Selipar on May 04, 2017 at 7:57 am

If this is powered by small 1.5cc + light turbo..will be selling well.

And focus in the interior too..

• Well this may be Proton’s wake up call to compete with Japanese giants but price gotta be lower if Proton wana win this sale or else Malaysians will only drop by at the showroom for a look without a buy cause Japanese cars which is built in Malaysia are affortable now.. So price is the main reason for good sale before design in our land cause cost of living is higher thus days.

For the design i find its nicely done but MIMOS need to redesign the headlamps because it looks so sleepy? Try designing the headlamps like a Mazda CX5 then this SUPRIMA X will be appealling..trust me..good luck Proton..have faith in your great job..

• Henry on May 04, 2017 at 8:31 am

Not too late for Proton to jump on the Crossover bandwagon. The Suprima is a good and ready platform for this project.

• common sensor on May 04, 2017 at 8:32 am

Many design many concepts shown .. end up in the drain as Proton can’t materialized it. Nothing in the pocket maaaaaa ….

• OMG.. looks like piece of shit even in these conceptualize designs. Common la if you really want to do it properly, strip the car down, drop in a 2 liter turbo, manual transmission and limit the production. Something like the Porsche 911R. Thats the way to get ppl’s attention back to Suprima S

• Azahan on May 04, 2017 at 10:00 am

I would buy the Suprima X if this was the design. The design is so slick. Good job Mimos.

• kereta_lembu on May 04, 2017 at 10:12 am

Headlights look awkward but overall a good effort in designing a proper vehicle. This proves that we have the talent needed to produce nicer cars but somehow somebody from the approval board might have bad taste and that is why we get sub standard designs for our Proton cars so far. Although looks is very important in a car but they really have to step up their game in the quality of materials used both inside and outside to rebuild consumer confidence. Saying they are how many times better than before is useless, they need to be at least on par with the Korean or Japanese competitors. Can they do that?

• hyundai89 on May 04, 2017 at 10:29 am

no production no talk

• Ah Kow on May 04, 2017 at 10:30 am

Good job Saharudin Busri. Sad thing is, you’re designing for a dying company. Your design would be a waste if it is not going into production. And a company like P1 would take years to actually put your hardwork into production because they are slow and relax. Makan karipap dulu baru buat kerja kind of attitude.

• abam design on May 04, 2017 at 11:01 am

Headlamp not brave enough. Slightly sad. Tail lamp is eye catching. How about the interior?..Is it proton style or European style?..

• Zulfikhar on May 04, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Design menarik..
    Rekaan dalam pn kena mantap..
    Digital meeter headup display..
    Saund system primium..
    Seat kulit yg primium massage function.
    Sunroof yg leh buka electronically..
    Safety ade active lane keep assist.
    Active criuse control
    blind spot detection
    Speed sign recognition.
    Lane change assist..
    7 air bag.
    Autonomous break..
    360 camera..
    Rim 19 inches..
    Semi autonomous drive.
    Engin 2.0 tourbo atau plugin hybrid
    Top speed 250km/h
    Pdl sift.7/8 kelajuan
    Dual clutch wet.
    Boleh sambung dngn mobile.. Ade semua ni harga 120-150 k..
    Air Suspension..yg leh laras..
    Perfume yg buil in..
    Bukan setakat Malaysia luar negara pn leh jual 100 k unit..
    Malaysia myb x laku sbb Malaysia kbnyakan hates proton..
    I love proton..

• Huehue on May 04, 2017 at 5:06 pm

It is impossible. You just asking a car that has technology of a tesla for a price of a camry….

• Sembangkencang on May 04, 2017 at 9:20 pm

I love proton 2..

• TheDean on May 04, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Folks, forget about the issue of copying. Every car has a design dna from another. That said, this design is very well done. Nothing revolutionary in terms of technology, but design wise very commendable. Especially when it’s homegrown.

• Welinkar on May 04, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Looks good on paper, but since SUV’s are all the buzz these days, and sell like hot cakes, why doesn’t Proton ‘pump’ this Suprima X to become an SUV to compete with the Honda HRV ? Sedans are out, hatches are fading, SUV/CUV’s are in globally. Go with the trend.

• They cant materialize this into production. When the real stuff comes out it always look uglier.

• Hodoh nya.. mimos..tak yah la design.

• the_faisals on Oct 01, 2019 at 8:45 am

front end looks should be improved, should be more rugged or muscular looking… the back end and on the sides looks very nice already good job.. proton please do not release the car into production with that front end design
    can hire me as design editor aaa? ill make sure the overall design doesnt flop

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Jul 01, 2023 at 12:41 pm

No to rear bumper mounted rear license plate recess!