According to Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, Proton would have experienced losses of up to RM1 billion this year should DRB-Hicom’s deal with Zheijiang Geely not take place.

During a speech at the launch of the eighth phase of a programme to put up LED street lights in various kampung in the country, he added that the government can no longer use the rakyat’s money to save the national carmaker.

“Proton recently sold just 6,000 units a month, which means 72,000 units a year, so how can it be profitable? In the previous year, it lost RM500 million. This year, if there wasn’t any restructuring, it would lose RM1 billion,” said Najib.

Proton poised to face RM1 billion loss this year without Geely deal – prime minister Najib Tun Razak

“Last year, the government helped by providing a soft loan of RM1.5 billion, and this year, Proton asked for another RM1.1 billion for R&D (reimbursement). This is the rakyat’s money that is being used to save Proton,” he continued.

He continued by saying that this isn’t a matter of emotions, but one relating to the success or failure of a business. “We can’t be proud of a national car but still lose billions of ringgit. We must be proud of a national car that is profitable and beneficial to us,” he said.

Previously, former prime minister and Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad also shared his thoughts relating to the Proton-Geely deal, where he expressed his sadness at what has transpired.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.