Perodua will continue making parts for 2nd-gen Myvi

Owners of the second-generation Perodua Myvi (launched in 2011 and facelifted in 2015) will be glad to know that the national automaker will continue to provide support for their vehicles with the opening a new parts production line in Tanjung Malim.

The new line dedicated to the model will be operated by Perodua vendor IQM, and will produce body components including bonnets, doors, fenders, quarter panels and roofs.

“For our customers’ safety, convenience and peace-of-mind, we are giving our commitment to them that we will continue to produce high-quality and affordable parts for their Perodua vehicles,” said Takahashi Masanori, president of Perodua Auto Corporation.

“We elected to outsource parts production for the second-generation Myvi because our manufacturing plants are already at peak capacity. Being already a manufacturer of Viva parts since production of the model ended in 2014, IQM was a natural choice for this project,” he added.

Meanwhile, engine parts for the model continue to be produced on a one-shot basis at Perodua Manufacturing (PMSB) in Rawang, whereas other vendors will supply other parts.

Besides the second-gen Myvi, IQM also continues to manufacture service parts for the Viva since 2014 at its facility in Tanjung Malim. The company is also a supplier of metal stamping, body assembly parts and brake tube components to Perodua.

Perodua also notes that original parts for the first-gen Myvi, Kelisa and even the famous Kancil continue to be produced by other vendors in Malaysia to this day.

“There remain a great many users of the second-generation Myvi, of which over 519,000 were produced from May 2011 to October 2017. This is an endorsement by Malaysians and we take this trust seriously,” Takahashi said.

“IQM has been a vendor of Perodua’s since 2002. Over the years, Perodua and IQM have built a strong relationship based on trust, quality and absolute never-ending loyalty to our customers,” added Aidil Azlan Mohd Fitri, executive director of IQM.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Perodua Giant Killer on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:18 pm

If Perodua sells this below 40k.. we all know who will close shop overnight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Tak payah pikir, Tak payah pening. Beli je Myvi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
      • Nanti pening tak dapat 20km/L FC dan mythical RV tak dapat dicari. Baik beli je Iriz…

• leoRNado on Apr 17, 2018 at 11:26 am

Hmm.. last mth (March 2018) I check, sales Iriz only 263 units vs Myvi 8968 units. I think u need to work harder since the game changer aren’t working.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • Samsung sold more Galaxy A than S9 last month. Is the A better than S9? I think u need to work harder on how to justify that lousy car since IT IS lousy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • lolpanda on Apr 17, 2018 at 3:45 pm

This is Car blog. not samsung blog lol

• Predator on Apr 17, 2018 at 6:45 pm

May i know what is the price for Galaxy A vs S9!! So stupid!!

• leoRNado on Apr 17, 2018 at 9:05 pm

Galaxy A and S9 are 2 diff price n 2 diff segment. Whereas Myvi vs Iriz from same segment n price range. I think u need to work harder how to fix your lousy brain.

• yawnz on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:40 am

Deswai pipu buy P2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• yawnz on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:54 am

Pening why cannot get 20.1km.l?
        Why Iriz is more frugal?

• Dukun Mona Fendi on Apr 17, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Euww what are you talking about?iriz engine sounds like an old diesel car. who want to drive. My pet ghost also don’t like.Just chop the car to 18 pieces.

• Ajeeth on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Kudos to Perodua and vendor IQM. Proton dealers should really pay a visit there instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Well done to Perodua !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:11 pm

IQM is oso p1 vendor

• Hahaha! Most din realise that 75% of P2 vendors oso if P1 vendors.

• leoRNado on Apr 17, 2018 at 11:21 am

You are TRULY right.. IQM Plant at Tjg Malim become vacant due to less order from Proton Tg Malim. As a result, IQM outsource to P2 to utilize the space. Now who has helped vendors the most.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Saya boleh kata 80% org yg milik perodua kereta langsung tak tahu pengetahuan ttg automobil kat Malaysia.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Are u sure P2 is still selling original parts for the Kancil? Then why did the service centre said they cannot fix my mom’s Kancil because there are no more original parts coming from the factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Kapil on Apr 16, 2018 at 9:01 pm

No manufacturer produces genuine parts for any model more than 12 years old. That is more than 2 generation cycles for most Japanese cars.

• Please Read Carefully on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:31 pm

There stated very clear that it’s “continue to be produced by other vendors”, therefore the service centre staff is not wrong telling u there is no original parts from factory

• Kek. Only end production at 2015 of cuz parts still need to be made. Come 2025 later and lets see if they still stand on this statement. What about kancil, kenari, rusa, kembara parts? P2 only know how to do ambush marketing kah? Bollocks company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
    • Operation Manager on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Masanori-san got it spot on. Myvi offers safety, convenience and peace-of-mind to owners with high-quality and affordable parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • He was referring to the Daihatsu Boon, which pisspoor Mivi isnt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • i can still buy original parts for my mom’s 2001 kelisa from perodua SC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Wiper blade no need to say lah. Like this wipers for ori Saga tank oso can say still got stock lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Bayar bank pun belum habis takkan nak stop production spare part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 5:50 pm

Always nice to see news coverage on industry topics like this. Continued parts production for discontinued models is one of the biggest factors which affect prices in the used car market. The used car market is actually larger than the new car market. A quick search on any online car portal will reveal that Perodua, Proton and Toyota (the latter two especially) have a much stronger presence in the used car market (as opposed to the new car market). Pair this with the fact that car companies make more money from aftersales, and you can see why the used car market is more crucial and valuable than it’s often perceived to be.

• 16042018 on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:02 pm

I have to say this is well management, nothing luxury nothing to shout about, but keep their feet on the ground and keep doing the right thing in their position.

• Tony Wong on Apr 16, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Can the writer arranges the photos properly so that we, the readers can read the sentence easily. Not overlapping. Really very annoying. Thanks.

• Concerned Consumer on Apr 16, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Dirty tactics perodua ni. Kereta yg tak sampai 10 tahun boleh buat news mcm ni.

This is nothing but a clear jibe at proton wira issue.

Pathetic opportunistic ambush marketing that perodua didnt have to do.

Nothing but shameful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • rally_fan (Member) on Apr 17, 2018 at 2:27 pm

agree.. myvi 2nd gen launched in 2011, stopped production in october 2017.. makes an announcement that they will continue to manufacture its parts in 2018. people cheer.

proton launched Wira in 1993, announcement is made that no more oem parts will be made in malaysia in 2018… people throw a fit. Just cause OEM parts not available, doesnt mean there are no 2nd brand items available.

• Same L0rr on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:21 am

Kudos to perodua..

• junkard on Apr 17, 2018 at 5:45 pm

It is junk car so nothing to shout about, no new parts, can source used parts. It is everywhere like junks.

• Anonymous_C on Apr 17, 2018 at 10:25 am

but nothing related to myvi gen.1?

• Philip on Apr 17, 2018 at 10:26 am

Proton should be more responsible to it’s Customers to produce spares for it’s older models like Wira and other models especially when there are a lot of the models on the road otherwise it will lead to cars being stolen for spares. I am aware of the agreement with suppliers but cars are expensive in Malaysia and SINCE THERE ARE STILL ALOT ON THE ROAD. There are alot of old cars which are very WELL maintained by it’s owners especially retired owners.

• Automakers have no obligation to produce parts more than mandatory 10 years after end of model. That goes for P2 as well, why not u ask them r new parts made for 1st gen kancil, kenari, rusa, kembara.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 17, 2018 at 11:47 am

Of course it makes business sense as this is one of P2 best selling model. Manufacturers usually continue to make spare parts for X number of years after EOL. Example, BMW continue making spare parts for 10 (or was it 12) years after EOL. This is THE manufacturer after sales commitment to support it’s own products, even after EOL.

• Ramachandran on Apr 17, 2018 at 12:43 pm

It is almost 2 months already n my daughter is still waiting for her Axis front bumper to be replaced at Perodua ..Dont have spare parts?

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 17, 2018 at 2:35 pm

wira was produced for 11 years, stopping production at the end of 2004 and proton announcing no more oem parts in 2018. 2nd gen myvi ended production oct 2017. lets see if perodua will announce that they still produce parts for this model in 2028.

• I personally drive perodua car they claim can go 20.1km I only manage to go 17km only.perodua need to improve safety on their saw many news perodua is like Milo tin.proton do better in safety but their engine is not good

• loler on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:45 am

Yeah thinner metal sheets to offset the heavy safety gadgets. As a result, it is more tin milo than old tin milo! lol