W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class gets MY2018 updates – EQ Power branding for E350e, new ambient lighting

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has rolled out the latest MY2018 updates for the W213 E-Class range, which includes minor styling changes and cool ambient lighting upgrades. Here’s a short video and a full gallery of the latest Malaysian-market E 350 e Exclusive Line EQ Power in detail.

First of all, the E 350 e plug-in hybrid models get EQ Power branding, following the initial introduction on the C 350 e in April. Like the junior PHEV, the E 350 e also gets EQ Power badges on the front fenders, as well as within the digital instrument cluster. The distinctive but unpopular blue brake calipers have been dropped for plain grey/silver units.

Less apparent but no less significant are the changes introduced for the interior. One of the biggest complaints for the W213 dashboard concerns its piano black centre trim, which, besides looking rather muted, are notoriously prone to scratches.

For MY2018 models – in Malaysia beginning May/June onwards – all variants bar the base E 200 Avantgarde get a new centre console piece to match the top trim panel. In the E 350 e Exclusive Line seen here, it’s open pore brown wood trim all around.

Also new are more elaborate controls for the ambient lighting functions. On top of the usual 64-colour lighting feature, MY2018 models now get multi-colour themes (different colours for the top, middle and bottom LED illuminations), animation (slow cycle of colours), welcome and climate functions. Watch it all in action in the video above. And no, older models can’t be upgraded to have these new features.

The E 200 Avantgarde is now priced at RM315,029.75, while the E 250 Avantgarde and Exclusive both go for RM357,482.58. The E 350 e Exclusive EQ Power will set you back RM370,690.12, slightly under the E 350 e AMG Line EQ Power at RM377,293.90. All prices are GST-free – refer to the full Mercedes-Benz Malaysia pricelist here.

GALLERY: MY2018 W213 Mercedes-Benz E 350 e Exclusive EQ Power

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Zackyrule on Jun 14, 2018 at 6:58 pm

The E- Class. Now with even more terrific refinement, class-leading technology, and incredible interior quality. Selamat Eid al-Fitr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • Dear MBM, instead of adding new aesthetic features, you should add in more safety features such as adaptive cruise control or autonomous emergency braking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 14, 2018 at 7:40 pm

Autonomous Emergency Braking is already standard on all E-Class models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 14, 2018 at 8:17 pm

The new E class is so expensive compared to the BMW 530e. . Many people get 6% corporate discounts too for the BMW. That further reduces the price. Now it is like a hige gap between the two

Better for Mercedes to rethink their pricing. Huge difference in pricing between BMW and Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
      • Don’t worry, Malaysia uncle is easy to cheat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Abu Bakar on Jun 15, 2018 at 1:46 pm

This is the New Malaysia john. We don’t cheat. The New Malaysia is not like your BN. We do things honestly.

• Hahaha! U cant even reply to ur dupe properly. What a failure!

• why big fuss over honesty.

hvin shortcuts and work less is our budaya, keep on feedings and pampers own member. this nation wealth belong to us

• stastasta on Jun 18, 2018 at 11:54 pm

530e is empty spec compare to e350e. 530e no 360 degree camera, no HK sound system, no panoramic roof, no adaptive high beam, no adaptive cruise control

• Can’t drive is it?

• Ex-VGM staff on Jun 14, 2018 at 9:04 pm

how much for 1week rental, Mercedes E350e.

• halloha560 on Jun 15, 2018 at 7:26 pm

Nowadays, Mercedes exterior design looks like very old grandfather design. Not only that, Mercedes only have 4 years unlimited warranty compared to almost all car manufacturer company have 5 years unlimited warranty. Mercedes Benz also paid fatter fined due to cheated emissions regulators with defeat devices as DieselGate Scandal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • halloha560 on Jun 15, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Nowadays, Mercedes exterior design looks like very old grandfather design. Not only that, Mercedes only have 4 years unlimited warranty compared to almost all car manufacturer company have 5 years unlimited warranty. Mercedes Benz also paid fatter fines due to cheated emissions regulators with defeat devices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 16, 2018 at 10:10 am

i rather have the volvo s90 t8 inscription plus….bmw 530i with 5 years warranty and free service is also a much better deal…

• Mr Hakim on Jun 16, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Should have raised the toll 50% instead discount. So less car on crowding the road, wattefak all this people, raya je ke baru ingat mak bapak then terhegeh-hegeh nak balik kampung..

• They removed the air con on the side at the back seats secretly! We only realized that upon receiving LOL

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:49 am

Yeah that was covered here: https://paultan.org/2018/07/06/w213-mercedes-benz-e200-e250-avantgarde-and-exclusive-new-trim-revised-kit-in-my2018-update/