Mazda CX-8 three-row SUV available in Australia – diesel only, three variants offered, priced from AUD42k

The Mazda CX-8 is now available in Australia, and becomes the second three-row SUV sold in the country after the CX-9. First revealed in Japan back in September last year, the CX-8 will reportedly be introduced in Malaysia citing interest from Bermaz Auto during a roll-out ceremony for the CX-5.

For the Australian market, three variants will be offered, with prices starting at AUD42,490 (RM126,548) for the base Sport FWD, followed by the Sport AWD at AUD46,490 (RM138,461) and the range-topping Asaki AWD at AUD61,490 (RM183,135).

As a comparison, the CX-9 range, which features eight variants, is priced from AUD43,890 (RM130,684) to AUD64,790 (RM192,964), making the CX-8 a slightly cheaper proposition, with one important point to take note of.

All CX-8 variants are powered by a SkyActiv-D 2.2 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel engine mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission with or without all-wheel drive. The powertrain offering is similar to what is available in Japan, with total system output rated at 188 hp at 4,500 rpm and 450 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. The CX-9’s 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G turbocharged petrol engine makes more horsepower (228 hp) but less torque (420 Nm).

In terms of size, the CX-8 measures 4,900 mm long, which is 175 mm shorter than the CX-9. It is also 129 mm narrower at 1,840 mm, shorter by 27 mm at 1,720 mm, but shares the same wheelbase with the CX-9 at 2,930 mm.

For equipment, the Sport variants come with 17-inch alloy wheels (with 225/65 profile tyres), LED headlamps with halogen DRLs, three-zone climate control, MZD Connect infotainment system with seven-inch touchscreen and six speakers, fabric seats, Active Driving Display and a reverse camera.

The Sport also comes with safety and driver assist systems from the Mazda i-Activsense suite, including Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), High Beam Control (HBC), Intelligent Speed Assistance (ISA), Lane-keep Assist System (LAS), Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC) with Stop & Go function, Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA, front and reverse Smart City Brake Support (SCBS F/R), Smart Brake Support (SBS), Traffic Sign Recognition (TSR).

The more expensive Asaki variant comes with more goodies, with the addition of 19-inch wheels (with 225/55 profile tyres), LED DRLs, LED front fog lamps and a power tailgate. Inside, you’ll find Nappa leather power-adjustable seats (10-way driver with memory function, six-way front passenger), second-row sunshades, 273-watt Bose 10-speaker sound system, 360-degree view monitor, Adaptive LED Headlamps (ALH) and real wood trim inserts.

For the Malaysian market, would you welcome a diesel-powered CX-8 as an alternative to the petrol-only CX-9 currently on sale here?

GALLERY: Mazda CX-8 at the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Awang Selamat on Jul 02, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Dont convert, AUD42k is like RM42k for us. It is kacang puteh money for Australians. By the way even Camry is AUD29k

I wish Malaysia had cheap car prices instead of having the most expensive car prices in the world….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Ini salahan MY Gov… oh wai

• jepunis jokes in europe on Jul 02, 2018 at 7:42 pm

Yeah all mcd workers, janitors and menial workers can afford this.

• Manof Ketam on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:48 pm

Xc90 killer. Omg what a beauty.

• Rightwinger on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:33 pm

Really meh? If a can of coke is AUD 3.19 and a pair of 501 is 95.06 then how?

• Undergrad93 on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Proton and p2 cheap already why bother buying expensive cars. Support lokal la

• Hadi75 on Jul 02, 2018 at 11:36 pm

For AUD42k, they can get themselves a brand mazda suv while we, for RM42k can only get a brand new perodua or proton.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Jul 03, 2018 at 9:02 am

CX9 is a joke in Malaysia. In Australia $43k but in Malaysia close to RM300k

• An average Australian working in Australia earns around $80k per annum before tax (full time white or blue collar jobs). The tax rate for a middle income earner is around 25% or equivalent of $19147 income tax to be paid to the ATO (Australian Tax Office). So technically you only left with $60,000 for the year. To say its cheap to buy a $42K car, there goes your 70% of income. What about rent, daily expenses like groceries, dining, cost of running a car (eg, car rego can be as high as $800 per annum depending on different states in Australia), fuel and services?

Even so if you were to be the high income earner of more than $180k, you will be taxed at 45%. Meaning almost half of your income will be gone to the ATO. Leaving you with roughly $100k AUD.

So yeah, to say $42K AUD is like RM42k would be a flawed statement.

• stastasta on Jul 06, 2018 at 2:18 pm

that is still hugely low cost compared to malaysia. in malaysia we spend an average of 2 years salary to buy a car. e.g. someone who earns 2k a month buys a 50k myvi, or someone with 10k monthly drives a 3 series.

• Mamat ni macam tak pernah keluar dari gua ni.

• With the price point in Aussie, I believe when it come to Malaysia, it should be easily cross RM250K. That will be suck! It should be at RM200K and below.

• Mikey on Jul 02, 2018 at 4:56 pm

When come to guts, Mazda have it all. From Rotary engine to diesel engine. The European are banning diesel engines & whats not in their major cities & here we have a Japanese car manufacturer who dare to be different in offering diesel ONLY engines in Australia. I take my hats off to you Mazda. Please Zoom Zoom more. Cheers…

• Mazda CX-5 starts from AUD36,990 and Mazda CX-8 starts from AUD42,490 in OZ. Good gauge how much the CX-8 when it finally reach here

• AkooIm on Jul 02, 2018 at 5:49 pm

2WD SUV is a sin…
    FWD SUV…? May lord have mercy on your soul…

• This is no offroader machine. This is a mere urban SUV. Fuel economy is important thus 2WD is acceptable here lots of weight savings. You get lower maintenance cost as well. If you want an offroader machine with proper 4WD drivetrain, then look at something like a Fortuner and Pajero Sport .

• Rightwinger on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:24 pm

So so true..but to be honest 2wd/fwd ‘suv’ aren’t true SUV. The only off road adventure these will ever see is the grassy road side when the owner stops to buy durians from the hawkers….

• So CX8 for diesel goers and CX9 for petrol fans.

• Notakata on Jul 02, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Confirm takata airbags safe?

• Please include AUD drive away price in your devious post…

• Autobahn on Jul 03, 2018 at 8:06 am

Still fall behind the sorento sold in aussie with 200ps 443nm 8 speed diesel. Mazda still use the old 6 speeder

• stastasta on Jul 06, 2018 at 2:18 pm

mazda has less bhp but more torque. personally i dont trust the koreans. they have been caught overstating their claimed output figures before.

• Can you go through the dimensions in comparison to the CX9 again? Not sure what you are trying to say.